Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Grafton, Worcester county, Massachusetts, from its early settlement by the Indians in 1647 to the present time, 1879. Including the genealogies of seventy-nine of the older families"

See other formats




CORNELL 

UNIVERSITY 

LIBRARY 




F 74G7 pIT" ""'"""•>' '■"'"^ 




DATE DUE 



A4«fc34 



a 22" 



ffl- 



NVSll-l 



lBB**y 8y^ 



onrjici*' 



PRINTEOIN U-S 



7| 




Cornell University 
Library 



The original of this book is in 
the Cornell University Library. 

There are no known copyright restrictions in 
the United States on the use of the text. 



http://www.archive.org/details/cu31924028820582 





o 




J. 



. f Cjux^J 



HISTORY OF GRAFTON, 

WORCESTER COUNTY, 
MASSACHUSETTS, 



FROM ITS EARLY SETTLEMENT BY THE INDIANS IN 1647 
TO THE PRESENT TIME, 1879. 



INCLUDING THE GENEALOGIES OF SEYENTT-NINE 
OF THE OLDER FAMILIES. 



BY FREDERICK CLIFTON PIERCE, 

Compiler op the Pierce and Peircb GENEltoaiES; Author of 

HiSTORT OF BaRRE IN HISTORY OF WORCESTER COUNTY; 

AND Resident Member of the New England 
Hibtoric-Genealogical Society. 



PUBLISHED BY THE AUTHOR. 



WORCESTER : 

PRESS OF CHAS. HAMILTON, 

Nb. 311 Main Street. 

1879. 






Copyright, ^ 
1879, 

bt pred'k c. pierce. 



1 n.l.).l 



TO THE 

©escenliants of ti}t jFirgt Settlers of ffirafton, 

WHEREVER RESIDING, 

AND TO THE PRESENT INHABITANTS, 

THIS HISTORY IS MOST 

Eegpectfullg Jnscrtfeetr, 

BY THEIR 

FBIEND AND HUMBLE SERVANT, 

FREDERICK CLIFTON PIERCE. 



ACTION OF THE TOWI^T. 



Gkapton, Mass., May 5th, 1879. 



Mk. Fkedeeick C. Piekce. 



Dear Sir : — We, the undersigned, members of the Board of 
Selectmen of this town, heartily approve and indorse the work 
now in course of preparation by you, viz. : that of compiling and 
publishing a " History of Grafton, fi-om its early settlement by 
the Indians to the present time." 

Respectfully, 



samuel c. flagg, 
wm. t. barker, 
james g. putnam, 
a. g. kempton, 
j. p. crosby, 



Board 

of 
Selectmen. 



PREFACE, 



The undersigned presents to the citizens of Grafton, 
native born and foreign, the results of his four years labor 
in compiling a history of his native town. In preparing 
the following pages I have labored under many disadvanta- 
ges, though I have been greatly assisted by facts collected 
from the Colonial records, and the Massachusetts archives, 
a very valuable collection of papers, on a variety of sub- 
jects, in the office of the Secretary of State; also by re- 
course to books and pampMets in the rooms of the Ameri- 
can Antiquarian Society, at Worcester, and the Massachu- 
setts Historical Society, at Boston ; and by copies of the 
excellent oration, at the Centennial celebration, by Hon. 
William Brigham; the valuable Church Record, by Rev. 
Edmund B. Willson, A. M., once pastor of the First Con- 
gregational (Unitarian) Society; and the valuable historical 
oration by Kev. E. Frank Howe, at the celebration, July 
4th, 1876. 

In the genealogies I have endeavored to confine myself to 
the older families, — to those who resided in the town prior 
to 1800. I have commenced as far back, with each family, 
as the emigrant ancestor, of whom I give a short notice, 
then taking the first settler of the same name I have traced 
his genealogy down to the present time (1879). When any 
individual left town I have dropped the genealogy, simply 
giving, in cases where I could, the name of the town to 
which he removed, or in which he resided when last heard 
of, and I have noticed all interesting events connected 



VI. PREFACE. 



with the family or person, as far as I could. If I had 
done as some persons suggested — that is, give the genealo- 
gies of all the families in all their branches — I should have 
had an endless and life-long task. It has been my aim to 
be as accurate as possible, but of course I have made errors 
which were unavoidable. If I have made some marriages 
appear as forced or unnatural, the parties may console them- 
selves, if living, with the reflection that they can separate 
without the trouble or delicacy of a divorce. " And if I 
have prematurely consigned some to the shades, they are*at 
liberty to live on, as though nothing had happened." 

I take this opportunity to express my acknowledgments 
to all those who have kindly aided me by furnishing infor- 
mation and supplying facts. Thanks are particularly due to 
Samuel F. Haven, Esq., librarian of the American Antiqua- 
rian Society, and his courteous and ever-ready assistant, 
Edmund M. Barton, Esq., who placed at my disposal a large 
number of valuable historical works ; to Jolm Ward Dean, 
Esq., librarian of the New England Historic-Genealogical 
Society, for the ire6 use of the works contained therein ; to 
Hon. Henry B. Pierce, secretary of the Commonwealth, for 
copies of records and papers furnished. 

Great credit is due the printer, Mr. Charles Hamilton, 
and his accomplished assistant, Mr. Benjamin J. Dodge, for 
the excellent typographical appearance of the book. 

FKEDERICK C. PIERCE. 

Geafton, July 30th, 1879. 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



CHAPTER FIRST. 

CONTENTS : 



Pages. 
The Nipmuck Indians and their territory — Their Sachems. — 

The Hassanaraesits embrace Christianity — Their town — Their 
code of laws — Their church. — Piambohou. — John Speen. — 
Pennahannit. — Tukapewillin. — Naoas. — Job Kattenanit. — 
Wattascompanum. — James-the-printer. — John Wampus alias 
White. — David Munnalaw.— Abimelich David. — Printer Fam- 
ily. — Andrew Abraham. — The last of this tribe. — The Nip- 
mucks' condition — They surrender. 17 — 28 



CHAPTER SECOND. 

CONTENTS : 

The Nipmuck country. — The country as viewed by the first 
white men. —Rev. John Eliot, the Apostle to the Indians. — 
Major General Daniel Gookin. — The progress of the Christian 
Indians. — Sutton and its boundaries. — The settlement here 
broken up during King Philip's war. — Re-established. — The 
town purchased of the Indians. — The proprietors and their 
meetings. — The colonial records relating to the town. — The 
incorporation of the town. — The origin of the name of Graf- 
ton. 29—48 



CHAPTER THIRD. 

CONTENTS : 

The division of land. — Proprietors' records. — The first white 
settler. — First white child born in town.— The petition asking 
to be released from maintaining preaching and schooling for 



VUl. CONTENTS. 



Pages. 



the Indians. — Land added to the town. — Slavery in town. — 
Grafton road.— Deaths from 1753 to 1779.— An act to prevent 
monopoly. — Shays' rebellion. — The instructions to the Kepre- 
sentative. — The Indian trustees. 49 — 92 

CHAPTER FOURTH. 
GRAFTON'S WAR RECORD. 

CONTENTS : 

King Philip's war — Indian battle on Keith Hill.— Grafton In the 
French and Indian war — Gapt. James Whipple's company at 
Fort William Henry — Major Rogers' expedition to Canada. — 
Grafton in the Revolutionary war — The town meetings in 
1773, 1774, 1775— April 19th, 1775— The Grafton Minute Men 
— Tories in town — The constitution — Soldiers in Captains 
Drury's, Brigham's, Warrin's, and Lyon's companies — Graf- 
ton's quota — Bounties. — The war of the late R_ebellion — The 
patriotic spirit of the citizens — The first company — The day 
before their departure — The 15th, 21st, 25th, 51st regiments, 
with short sketches of each, and the several battles they par- 
ticipated in — A full and complete list of men who enlisted, 
or were drafted, in the service— Death of James E. McClel- 
lan. — Sketches of the North and South companies of militia 
—The Grafton Grenadiers— The Light Infantry— The 81o- 
comb Guards. 93—162 

CHAPTER FIFTH. 
ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 

contents : 

First and Evangelical Congregational Churches. 

The Proprietors' meeting — First and Evangelical Congre- 
gational Churches. — The location selected for the first 
church near Assawossachasuck. — General Court report. — The 
first pastor, the Rev. Solomon Prentice — His biography.— The 
original members. — The meeting-house. — The covenant. ^The 
council. — Mr. Prentice's dismissal. — Sketches of Revs. Aaron 
Hutchinson, Daniel Grosvenor, John Miles. — The church 
secede with the pastor and form a new society, the Evangeli- 
cal Congregational — The various causes assigned for this 
action^Thelr covenant— Their church.w-Sketches of Revs. 
John Wilde, Thomas C. Biscoe, John H. Windsor. — Deacons 
of First Congregational and Evangelical churches. 163 197 



CONTENTS. ]X. 

FiKST Unitarian Church. 

Pages. 
The first meeting. — The church building. — The first members. — 
Slcetches of Revs. Edward B. Hall, Rufus A. Johnson, Caz- 
neau Palfrey, D. D., Edmund B. Willson, A. M., Farrington 
Mclntire, A. M., William G. Scandlin, his funeral and Gen- 
eral Devens' remarks, Gilbert Cummings, Charles A. Tindall, 
William S. Burton. — The correspondence relative to the 
church records. — The deacons. 198—216 



The First Baptist Church. 

The first Baptist Church in 1767— The meetings held at the 
houses of the members — The church letter to the Warrin As- 
sociation. — The churcli building — Its locality. — Rev. Elkanah 
Ingalls. — The church dlsfellowshipped. — The Upton Church. — 
Rev. Simeon Snow. — The covenant — The members. — The 
Grafton church re-established — Their covenant. — The church 
building near Saun'dersville. — The present church edifice. — 
Rev. Thomas Barrett. — Rev. Otis Converse. — Rev. John Jen- 
nings. — Rev. Calvin Newton. — Rev. Benjamin A. Edwards. — 
Rev. D. L. McGear.— Rev. Joseph Smith.— Rev. J. M. Chick. 
Rev. De Forrest Safford.— Rev. A. C. Hussey, A. M.— The 
brethren licensed.— The deacons. 216—229 



The Saundersvillb Congregational Church. 

Its formation. — Preamble and resolutions. — Covenant. — Origi- 
nal members. — Sketches of Revs. Simeon Waters, Alvan J. 
Bates, Harvey M. Stone.— The deacons. 229—238 



The Second Baptist Church. 

The organization— The council— The constituent members. — 
The pastors — Sketches of Revs. Miner G. Clarke, William C. 
Richards, William Leverett, Joseph M. Rockwood, J. D. E. 
Jones, L. M. Sargent. — The deacons. 239—246 



Freewill Baptist Church. 

Primary meetings. — The church and covenant. — Original mem- 
bers. — Sketches of the pastors, Revs. B. D. Peck, D. D., 
George T. Day, A. M., Joseph Whittemore, B. F. Pritchard, 
M. W. Burlingame, G- W. Wallace, Daniel C. Wheeler, 
A. M. Freeman, Francis Read, Andrew J. Eastman. — Deacons. 246—253 



x. contents. 

St. Philip's Church. 

Pages. 
The mission.— Sketch of Rev. J. J. Power.— The church build- 
ing.— Sketch of Eev. A. M. Baret, D. D. 253—256 

Methodist Episcopal Chubch. 6 13 

CHAPTER SIXTH. 
EDUCATIONAL. 

contents : 

The first law establishing public schools in America. — Y" school 
lot. — Proprietors' records. — Data from the first town records. 
— The school-houses in the Centre. — School-houses at Keith 
Hill, Saundersville, New England Village, Brigham Hill, 
Farnurasville. — Rev. Aaron Hutchinson as a teacher. — Samuel 
Hall, Nathan Jones, Phineas Gleason, Sally Leland, David 
Stone, Amos W. Stocliwell and Newell Wedge, teachers. — 
The school districts. — Extracts from the school committee re- 
ports from 1844 to 1880.— The High School.— Eev. Farrington 
Mclntire's private school. 257 — 306 

CHAPTER SEVENTH. 
GKAFTON GEOGRAPHIC ALLY AND GEOLOGICALLY. 

CONTENTS : 

The soil. — Chestnut, George, and Brigham Hills. — Blackstone, 
Assabet and Little or Quinslgamond rivers. — Long Pond. — 
George's Brook. — The boundaries of the town. — Additions. 
— Gneiss and peat. 307 — 312 

CHAPTER EIGHTH. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

CONTENTS : 

Population. — Wealth. — Principal business. — The currying busi- 
ness. — The old Indian burying-ground. — Post-offices and post- 
masters. — Newspapers. — Black.stone Canal. — Boston and Wor- 
cester Railroad.— Providence and Worcester Railroad. Graf- 
ton Centre Railroad.— Euildings.—Powers murder.— Grafton 



CONTENTS. XI. 

Pages. 
Bank robbery. — Old burying-ground. — Poor farm. — Pine 

Grove Cemetery.— Riverside Cemetery. — The great Are. — 
Pubicl Library. — Sabbath-schools. — Fire department. — Societ- 
ies, etc. — First National Bank. — Grafton National Bank. — Sav- 
ings Bank. — Stages. — Telegraph. — Political. — Oldest roads. — 
Grafton's Centennial Celebration. — Fiftieth anniversary of the 
Ladies' Sewing Circle. — Sketch of Saundersville, and Esek 
Saunders and family. — Business at New England Village, 
Centerville, Pisherville and Farnumsville. — Lawyers. — Phy- 
sicians. — College graduates. 313 — 380 

CHAPTER NINTH. 
OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 

CONTENTS : 

Hassanamlsco House. — The old grocery store. — The Green 
Store. — Articles of agreement between Wheeler and Warren. 
— Lovell Stow building. — Old Half-way House. — Harry 
Wood's law office. — Dr. Joseph Wood's property. — The old 
Distillery. — Knox house. — The Forbush house. — Rev. Solo- 
mon Prentice house. — The " Fly Market." — Dr. Lamb's barn. 
— Elijah Brucehonse. — Charles Prentice house. — John Bennett, 
the hatter; his house ami shop — Dexter house.— Residence 
of Rev. John Miles. — Bruce farm. — Dr. Grout house. — Dea. 
Merriam, 2nd, farm. — James Whipple farm. — Benjamin Leland 
property. — Kittville. — Capt. Moses Roberts' house. — Joel Taft 
house.— Benjamin Thurston house. — The David Forbush, John 
Thurston, Abner Stow, Moses Harrington, Aaron Brigham, 
Charles Clapp, Otis Adams, Thomas Axtell, Dea. James 
Whipple, John Whipple, Ephraim Sherman, Samuel Leland, 
Samuel Miner and Daniel Axtell houses, ct als. 381—408 



CHAPTER TENTH. 
OFFICIAL AND STATISl'ICAL HISTORY. 

CONTENTS : 

List of Moderators. — List of Selectmen. — List of Treasurers. 
— List of Assessors. — List of Representatives. — List of School 
Committees. — List of Constables. — List of Town Clerks. — 
List of Deputy- Sheriffs. — Facts and figures from the census 
of 1865 and 1875. 409—440 



XU. CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER ELEVENTH. 

GENEALOGICAL NOTICES OP THE EARLIER INHABITANTS OF 
GRAFTON AND THEIR FAMILIES. 

CONTENTS : 

Pages. 
The Adams, Aldrich, Allen, Andrews, Axtell, Baker, Barnard, 

Batcheller, Bigelow, Bowman, Brigham, Brimblecom, Brooks, 
Brown, Bruce, Child, Clark, Cutler, Drury, Elliot, Farnum, 
Fay, Fisk, Flagg, Fletcher, Forbush, Goddard, Goodale, 
Goulding, Greenwood, Grout, Hall, Hammond, Harrington, 
Hey wood, Holbrook, How, Keith, Kimball, Kingsbury, Leiand, 
Leathe, McClellan, Merriam, Miles, Morse, Peirce, Pierce, 
Phillips, Pratt, Prentice, Putnam, Rawson, Reed, Rice, Rob- 
bins, Rosborough, Sherman, Sibley, Slocomb, Smitli, South- 
wick, Stearns, Stone, Stow, Tainter, Thurston, Turner, 
Wadsworth, Ward, Warren, Wheeler, Wheelock, Whipple, 
White, Whitney, Willard, Wing, and Wood families ; seventy- 
nine in all. iil — 612 

Appendix. 613 



ILLUSTEATIONS. 



Subject. 

Adams, Hon. Otis, 

Abams, Eesidbnce of Hon. Otis, 

Adams, A. H., 

Andrews, William D., 

Bakbt, Eev. a. M., 

Batchbllbk, Gborge C, 

Bates, Rev. A. J., 

Battle of Ball's Bluff, Plan of, 

BiGBLOW, Hon. Abraham M., 

BiGELow, Hon. Edward B., 

BiscoB, Ebv. Thomas C, 

Brigham, Capt. Charles, 

Brigham, Hon. William, 

Brigham, Eesidence of Hon. William, 

Dodge, Residence of L. W. & J. A., 

Dodge, Currying Shop of L. W. & J. A., 

Eastman, Ebv. A. J., 

Eisher's Mill, 

Flint, Hon. Charles L., 

EoRBusH, Capt. William C, 

Forbush, Silas, 

FoEBusH & Brown's Boot aito Shoe Shop, 

GoDDARD, Charles, 

goulding, f. p., 

Grafton, in 1839, 

Grafton, Duke of, 

Gkafjon, Maps of. 

Hall, Capt. Samuel, 

Hussbt, Ebv. A. C, 

Kingsbury, Capt. Benjamin, 

IiBland, Eesidence of Mrs. Joseph, 

liBLAND, Hon. Phinbas W., 

Mberiam, Dea. Joseph, Jr., 

Miles, Ebv. John, 

Nelson, Eesidbncb of Jasper S., 



style. Page. 

JSeliotype 446 

Lithograph 400 

Seliotype 447 

Artoiype 450 

Heliotype 163_ 

Artoiype 456 

Seliotype 163 

Wood-cut 128 

Seliotype 92 

" 92 

" 163 

" 464 

" 466 

" 462 

" ...... 445 

Wood-cut 317 

Seliotype 163 

Wood-cut 363 

Steel Plate 628 

Seliotype 486 

" 485 

Wood-cut 487 

Seliotype 489 

Steel Plate 494 

Wood-cut 407 

" 48 

Electrotype. . Frontispiece 

Seliotype 497 

" 163 

" 614 

" 627 

Steel Plate 622 

Seliotype ...... 534 

" 190 

Electrotype 359 



XIV. 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Subject. Style. Page. 

Nichols, Kesidkncb of George K., Seliotype 503 

NoKCROSs, Residence op D. Webster, " 472 

Park, East Side op. Wood-cut 75 

Park, West Side op, " 100 

Pierce, Delano, M. D., Seliotype 641 

Pierce, Frederick C, " . Frontispiece 

Phillips, Walter P., Steel Plate 544 

Pratt's Mill, Wood-cut 361 

Sargent, Rev. L. M., Seliotype 163 

Saunders, Residence op Esek, " 352 

Saunders' Mill, Wood-cut 355 

SCANDLiN, Rev. William G., Seliotype 163 

Slocomb, Residence of George P., " 564 

Slocomb, Capt. John W., Steel Plate 563 

Stone, Residence of Dea. Albert, Seliotype 568 

Stow, Residence of Silas E., " 671 

Upper Mill at N. B. Village, Wood-cut 356 

Warren, Samuel D., Steel Plate 580 

Warren, Residence of John, Electrotype 679 

Washington Emery Mill at N. E. Village, " 358 

Wheeler, Hon. Jonathan D., Seliotype 92 

Wheeler, Residenceof Hon. Jonathan D., " 688 

Wheeler, Capt. George M., " 590 

Wheelock, Jerome, Electrotype 594 

Windsor, Rev. John H., Seliotype 163 

Wing, Residence of Henky F., " 607 

Wood, Hon. J. Henry, " 92 

Wood, Hon. Samuel, " 92 

Residences, 14; Persons, 36; Steel Plates, 6; Heliotypes, 37; Arto- 
types, 2 ; Electrotypes, 4 ; Wood-cuts, 12 ; total, 61. 



HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 



ERRATA AND ADDENDA. 

Page 39, line 21, for Sider, read Wilder. 

Page HI, to the name of J. Frank Sweeney, add " enlisted as Bugler in 

Co. C, 34th Eegt. Infantry, for three years; mustered July 2i, 1862, 

and discharged for disability Sept. 15, 1864." 
Page 152, line 19, for S&S read S9&. 
Page 805, line 25, drop the words his son-in-law. 
Page 484, line 20, for /S4^0 read /84-S. 
Page 534, line 41, after the last Joseph, add Joseph. 



lg« 


J 636, 


tt 


1 


t( 


(C 


tt 


14 


tt 


tt 


it 


28 


tt 


637, 


it 


24 



HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 



CHAPTEE FIEST. 
Contents : 

The Nipmuck^Indians and their territory— Their Sachems. — The Hassa- 
namesits embrace Christianity — Tlieir town — Their code of laws — 
Their church. — Piambohou. — John Speen. — Pennahannit. — Tulsape- 
willin. — Naoas. — Job Kattenanit. — Wattascompanum. — James-the- 
printer. — John Wampus aZias White. — David Munnalaw. — Abimelich 
David. — Printer Family. — Andrew Abraham. — The last of this tribe. 
— The Nipmucks' condition — They surrender. 

THIS towu was originally a portion of the Nipmuck coun- 
try, so called, by its being owned and occupied by a tribe 
of Indians called Nipmucks, Nipnets, or Nipmuks. The 
tribe which made the location of this town their home were 
called the Hassanamesits, who were in subjection to the Nip- 
mucks. The Nipmuck Indians included the following tribes: 
Hassanamesits, Naticks, Nashuays, Fawtuckets, Pegans, 
Pennakooks, Quabaogs, and Wamesits.* The limits of the 
Nipmuck country were not precise. It is evident, however, 
from the following extract, that, in 1647, the Nipmucks were 
rather uncertain about their sacliem, and probably belonged 



*The Naticks were located at Natick; the Nashuays were on the 
Nashua river, from its mouth; the Pawtuckets were on the Merrimac 
river, where Chelmsford now is; the Pegans were In Dudley, on a reser- 
vation of 200 acres ; the Pennakooks were on the Merrimac river, near 
Concord, N. H. ; the Quabaogs were located in Brookfleld; the Wame- 
sits were, for a time, on the Merrimac river, at Lowell. — Drake. 
3 



18 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

at one time to Massasoit, and at another to the Narragan- 
setts, or others as_ circnmstances iinpellod. " Tlie Nopiiiat 
(Nipnet or Nipmuk) Indians, having noe Sachem of tlieir 
own, are at liberty, part of them, by their own choice, doe 
appertaine to the Narragan setts' Sachem, and parte to the 
Mohegens."* The Nipmncks were at one time tributaries to 
Massasoit. During Philip's war there was a constant inter- 
course between the tribes, and when any of his men made 
an escape, their course was directly into the country of the 
Nipmucks. No such intercourse subsisted between the Nar- 
ragansetts and either of these. But, on the contrary, when 
a messenger from the Narragansetts arrived in the countiy 
of the Nipmucks, with the heads of some of the English, to 
show that they had joined in the war, he was at first fired 
upon, though afterwards, when two additional heads were 
brought, he was received witli them. Koger Williams savs, 
in 1668 : " That all the Neepmucks were unquestionably 
subject to the Nanhigonset Sachems, and in a special man- 
ner, to Mejksah, the son of Cannonnicus, and late husband 
to the old squaw-sachem,t now only surviving." At one 
time, Xutshamakin claimed some of the Nipmucks, or con- • 
sented to be made a tool of by some of them, for some pri- 
vate end. But Mr. Pj'nchon said they would not own him 
as a sachem any longer " than the sun shined upon him." 
Had they belonged to him, Massacliusetts must have owned 
them, which would liave involved them in much difficulty. 
In 1648, by reason of several murders among them, a sepa- 
ration took place between the Pokanokets and Narragan- 
setts and the Nipmucks ; the two former separated them- 
selves for the latter and other inland tribes, and went off to 
their own country. This was the reason they were so easily 
subdued after the separation took place. In 1643, Massasoit 



*Eecords of the U. Col. in Hazard, II., 92. 

tThis squaw-sachem, as we believe, was chief of those inland Indians 
since denominated the Nipnets, or Nipmuclss, and lived in 1621 near 
Wachusett Mountain.— i)j'afte's North American Indians. 



THE NIPMUCK INDIANS. 19 

resided with Nashoonon, chief of the Nipmuoks. In 
Winthrop's journal it is Nashacowain, we suppose* he was 
father of Nassowanno, mentioned by Whitney in his History 
of the County. During Piiilip's war his provisions, women 
and children were removed from his country to that of the 
Nipmncks, near Hassanamesit. 

In 1675, the Nipmucks wore at tliis time chiefly under five 
sachems, which, says IIui)bard, " were four too many to 
govern so small a people." " The Nipnets were under the 
command of the sachem of Mount Hope," which fact is 
verified by numerous passages of our history. The names 
of the five principal sachems were Monoco, Mautamp, 
Shoshanim, Matoonas, and Sagamore John. On the 22nd 
of August, 1675, the Haseanamesits were placed at Marl- 
borough by authority. No sooner was it known that a mur- 
der was committed at Lancaster, than not a few were want- 
ing to charge it upon the Hassanamesits. Captain Mosely,| 
who it seems was in this neighborhood, sent to their quarters 
and found " much suspicion against eleven of them, for 
singing and dancing, and having bullets and slugs, and much 
powder, hid in their baskets." For this offense these eleven 
were sent to Boston, 30th of August, on suspicion, and there 
tried and acquitted. The following are the names of the 
Indians arrested : Old Jethro and two sons, James-the- 



*Drake's Indian History, II., 106. 

fTo this we may add, that Captain Mosely's character was such as to 
render it highly probable that he performed the part which tradition has 
assigned to him. Hutchinson says : "He had been an old prlvateerer 
at Jamaica, probably of such as were called Buccaniers." He com- 
manded a company of 110 volunteers, in the war with King Philip, and 
was one of the most resolute and courageous captains of his day. It 
was he who, on September 1, 1675, went out to the rescue of Captain 
Lathrop, who, with only 80 men, was attacked by a body of seven or 
eight hundred Indians at Deerfield, when all Captain L.'s company, with 
the exception of seven or eight, were cut off. He also led the van in 
the terrible assault made upon the Indians, December 19, in the Narra- 
gansett country. In which six English captains were killed, and nearly 
200 men killed and wounded. 



20 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

printer, James Acompaiiet, Dauiel Munups, John Cquasqna- 
conet, John Asquenet, George Nonsequesewit, Thomas 
Mamuxonqua, Joseph Watapaeoson alias Joseph Spoonaiit. 

James Quanipaug and Job Kattenanit were sent out to 
reconnoiter the enemy, then in the western part of tliis 
county, in the beginning of 1676. They passed through 
Hassanamesit, thence to Manesit (a part of Woodstock), 
where tliey were taken by seven Indians and carried to 
Menimesseg (New Braintree), where they found many of 
the enemy, and among them " the Marlborough Indians, 
who pretended that they had been fetched away by the other 
Indians." Some of them professed to be willing to return. 
Philip is said at this time to have been about half a day's 
journey on tlie other side of Fort Orania (Albany), and the 
Hadley Indians on this side. They were then preparing for 
that memorable expedition, in which the towns of Lancas- 
ter, Groton, Marlborough, Sudbury and Medfield were 
destroyed. This letter bears date 24th 11th mo., 1675 
(Jan. 24, 1675.) It was only sixteen days after this, viz., 
Feb. 10, O. S., that they made a descent upon Lancaster, 
with 1500 warriors, and butchered or carried into captivity 
nearly all the inhabitants of that flourishing village. 

Whether the Indians in this vicinity joined in tliis expedi- 
tion, or left the enemy and returned to their liomes, I have 
not been able, after diligent inquiry, to ascertain. The 
little I have been able to collect, though corroborated by 
circumstantial evidence, rests mainly on tradition. 

Hassanamesit was the third town, which was established 
in 1660 by Kev. John Eliot, for the praying Indians, Punk- 
apoag and Natick being established prior, in 1647. At the 
time it was established it contained twelve families, or sixty 
souls. The following short code of laws were adopted : 

I. If any man be idle a week, or at most a fortnight, he shall pay 
five shillings. 

II. If any unmarried man shall lie with a young woman unmarried, 
he shall pay five shillings. 



THE INDIAN CHUECH. ■ 21 

III. If any man shall beat his wife, his hands shall he tied behind 
him, and he shall be carried to the place of justice to be severely pun- 
ished. 

IV. Every young man, if not another's servant, and if unmarried, 
shall be compelled to set up a wigwam, and plant for himself, and not 
shift lip and down In other wigwams. 

v. If any woman shall not have her hair tied up, but hang loose, or 
be cut as men's hair, she shall pay five shillings. 

VI. If any woman shall go with naked breasts, she shall pay two 
shillings. 

VII. All men that wear long locks shall pay five shillings. 

VIII. If any shall kill their lice between their teeth, they shall pay 
five shillings. 

When the Indian church was established here, Sept. 23, 
1671,* the second of the kind in the country, Piambohou of 
Natick, who was next in authority to Wauban, the ruler, 
was chosen or appointed ruling elder. When this town was 
broken up, in Philip's war, he returned again to Natick, 
where he died. He was one of those confined to Deer 
Island ; hence, he lived until after the war. He was often 
styled Pianibow. John Speen was another teacher, contem- 
porary with Piambow, and, like him, " was a grave and 
pious man." In 1661, Timothy Dwight, of Dedham, sued 
John Speen and his brother, Thomas, for the recovery of a 
debt of sixty pounds, and Mr. Eliot bailed them. This he 
probably did with safety, as John Speen and "his kindred" 
owned nearly all the Natick lands, when the Christian Com- 
monwealth was established there. This valuable possession 



*The following is taken from the original first church record of the 
Congregational Society, in possession of Henry F. Wing, Esq., clerk of 
the Evangelical Congregational Society : " The Indian church, which 
was gathered in this place, was the second native church in New Eng- 
land. It was formed either by Rev. John Eliot, or some one raised up 
through his instrumentality. It is said to have been one of the perma- 
nent establishments of the kind, and yet it did seem as if it continued 
but a short time in its original state. It was formed in 1671, and three 
years after contained, it is said, about 16 members living in the town, 
besides several residing in other places. But 60 years after, as appears 
from this book, it was necessary to form another, and none were natives, 
probably." 



22 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

he gave np freely, to be used in commpn, in 1650. Not- 
withstanding " he was among the first tliat prayed to God," 
at Nonantum (Newton), and " was a diligent reader," yet 
he died a drunkard ; having been some time before discarded 
from the church at Natick. Pennahaunit, called Captain 
Josiah, was "Marshal General" over all the praying towns, 
including Hassanamisco, and used to attend the courts. The 
following is said to be a copy of a warrant which was issued 
by the ruler Wauban, for this court : " You, you big con- 
stable, quick you catch um Jeremiah Ofiseow, strong you 
hold um, safe you bring um, afore me, Waban, justice 
peace."* 

Tukapewillin, son of Naoas, and brother to James-the 
printer and Awawcakin, was teacher here. He was, accord- 
ing to Major Daniel Gookiu, " a pious and able man, and 
apt to teach." He suflfered exceedingly in Philip's war; 
himself and his congregation, together with those of the two 
praying towns, "Maqunkogand Chobonekowhowom," having 
been enticed away by Philip's followers. Naoas, the father, 
was deacon of the church here, and among the number. 
They, however, tried to make their escape to the English 
soon after, agreeably to a plan concerted by Job Kattenanit, 
when he was among Philip's people as a spy ; but, as it hap- 
pened, in the attempt they fell in with an English scout, 
under Captain Gibbs, who treated them as prisoners, and 
with not a little barbarity; robbing them of everything they 
had, even the minister of his pewter cup, which he used at 
sacraments. At Marlborough, though under the protection 
of the officers, they were so insulted and abused, " especially 
by women," that Tukapewillin's wife, from fear of being 
murdered, escaped into the woods, leaving a suckling child 
to be taken care of by its father. "With her went also 
her son, twelve years old, and two others. The others, 
Naoas and Tukapewillin, with six or seven children, were. 



*Allen's Biog. Diet., Art. Waban. 



WATTASACOMPANUM JAMES-THK-PKINTER. 23 

soon after, sent to Deer Island. Naoas was, at this time, 
about 80 years old. 

Wattasacornpanum, called also Captain Tom, chief assist- 
ant to Major Gookin, '■ was ruler of the Nipmnck Indians, 
a grave and pious man, of the chief sachem's blood of the 
Nipmuck country. He resided in this town. Captain Tom 
was among Tnkapewillin's company, that went off with the 
enemy, as in speaking of him we have made mention. In 
that company there were about 200 men, women and 
children. The enemy, being about 300 strong, obliged the 
praying Indians to go off with them, or be killed by them. 
There were, however, many who doubtless preferred their 
company to that of their friends on Deer Island. This was 
about the beginning of December, 1675. Captain Tom 
afterwards fell into the hands of the English, and, being 
tried and condemned as a rebel, was, on the 26th of June, 
1676, executed at Boston, much to the grief of such excel- 
lent men as Eliot and Grookin. 

James Printer, or James-the-printer, was the son of 
Naoas, brother of Tukapewillin and Awaweakin. When a 
child, he was instructed at the Indian charity school at Cam- 
bridge. In 1659, he was put to an apprenticeship of six- 
teen years. If one could not leave his master without the 
charge of absconding, at least, both the master and appren 
tice should be pitied. In relation to this matter, Hubbard 
says : " He had attained some skill in printing, and might 
have attained more, had he not, like a false villain, ran away 
from his master before his time was out." And the same 
author observes that the name printer was superadded to 
distinguish him from others named James. Mather has this 
record of James Printer, July 8, 1676 : " "Whereas, the 
council at Boston had lately emitted a declaration, signifying 
that such Indians as did, within fourteen days, come in to 
the English, might hope for mercy, divers of them did this 
day return from among the Nipmucks. Among others, 
James, an Indian, who could not only read and write, but 



24 HISTOET OF GKAFTON. 

had learned the art of printing, notwithstanding his 
apostasy, did venture liimself upon the mercy and truth of 
the English declaration, which he had seen and read, prom- 
ising for the future to venture his life against the common 
enemy. He and the others now come in, affirm that very 
many of the Indians are dead since this war begun ; and 
that more have died by the hand of God, in respect of 
deseases, fluxes and fevers, which have been amongst them, 
than have been killed with the sword." Mr. Thomas says 
in his history of printing : '' It was owing to the amor 
patrice of James Printer that ho left his master and joined 
in Philip's war." Bnt how much amor patriae he must have 
had to have kept him an apprentice sixteen years is not men- 
tioned. 

In 1683, Rev. John Eliot, in writing to the Hon. Robert 
Boyle, at London, said: "I desire to see it done* before 
I die, and I am so deep in years that I cannot expect 
to live long; besides, we have but one man, viz., the Indian 
printer, that is able to compose the sheets and correct the 
press, with undei-standing." In another, in the following 
year, he said : " Our slow progress needeth an apology. 
We have been much hindered by the sickness the last 
year. Our workmen have been all sick, and we have 
but few hands, one Englishman, and a boy, and one 
Indian." This Indian was undoubtedly James-the-printer. 
And Mr. Thomas adds : " Some of James' descendants 
were not long since living in Grafton ; they bore the surname 
of Printer." In a letter of the commissioners of the U. 
C. of New England, to the corporation in England, we iind 
this postscript: "Two of the Indian youths, formerly 
brought up to read and write, are put apprentice, one to Mr. 
Green, the printer " ;t this was probably James. In 1698, 
James was teacher to five Indian families at Hassanamisco. 
In 1709, he seems to have got through with his appreutice- 

* Referring to the Indian Bible. 
fHistory of Printing, I., 292, 293. 



JOHN WAMPUS. 25 

ship, and to have had some interest in carrying on the print- 
ing business ; for, in the title pages of the Indian and 
English Psalter, printed in that year, is this imprint : " Bos- 
ton, N. E. Upprinthomunneau B. Green, and J. Printer, 
wutche quhtiantamwe Chapanukkeg ut New-England, etc., 
1709." Job Kattenanit was a christian Indian, and belonged 
to this town, where he was for a time a preacher. When 
King Philip made his descent ujion this place he escaped to 
the English, at Mendon. He was subsequently captured, 
taken to Boston, and confined for a time in the jail, where 
he suffered exceedingly. He was afterwards sent to Deer 
Island. July 24, 1676, Ave of the principal Nipmuck 
sachems signed an agreement to meet the Governor of the 
State to treat of peace soon after. They did not appear as 
agreed upon, and Captain Hutchinson, being sent to ascertain 
the cause, was ambushed by them and a number killed. 
The following year the Nipmucks became fully aware of 
their wretciied condition, and on the 6th of July sent an 
Indian messenger to the English with a white flag. 

While Captain Henchman was in the enemy's country he 
made an excursion from this town to Packachoog, which lies 
about ten miles northwest from it. Meeting here with no 
enemy, be returned to this place ; and having got a few miles 
on liis way discovered that he had lost a tin case, which con- 
tained his commission, and other instructions. He therefore 
dispatched Thomas Quanapohit and two Englishmen in 
search of it. They made no discovery of the lost article 
until they came in sight of an old wigwam at Packachoog, 
where, to their no small surprise, they discovered the enemy 
in possession of it.* 

The biography of John Wampus alias White, if it could 
be known, would be a matter of curious interest. Little, 
however, is known of this. Some fragments of the annals 
of the times make it very probable that he was a Sagamore 



* Gookin's History of Praying Indians. 



26 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

of the Hassanamesit tribe. He is mentioned as being some 
time of Hassanamesit. In Jannary, 1666, Robert Wayard, 
of Hartford, Ct., conveyed, by deed, a tract of land situate in 
Boston, to John Wampus, an Indian of Boston, bounded on 
the common, etc., being 300 feet by 30, with a dwelling 
house thereon. Tliis tract is now partly covered by St. 
Paul's Church.* The records of Suffolk County give 
farther evidence of his concern in the sale or purchase of 
real estate. Tradition, pretty well established, makes it very 
probable that he crossed the Atlantic and was in London, 
that he returned to New England in the same ship with a 
Dr. Sutton, that his health failed on his return, and that lie 
received particular attention from him on this voyage.! 

David Munnanaw, or as it was more commonly written 
and pronounced, Munnalaw, was an Indian of some notoriety 
in the Hassanamesits, previous to King Philip's war. After 
this war he went to Marlborough, where he confessed he 
assisted in the destruction of Medfield. This treacherous 
Indian had, it is said, a slit thumb, which circumstance led 
to his conviction. He had been absent from Marlborough 
several months, but after his return would give no account 
of himself whither he had been, or how he had employed 
himself in the meantime. At length, however, an inhab- 
itant of Medfield) one whom Munnanaw had wounded, 
being at Marlborough, immediately recognized him by the 
mark on his thumb, and charged him with his treachery. 
At first he denied the charge ; but, finding that the proof 
against him could not be evaded, he at length owned that he 
had been led away by Philip, and had assisted in the burn- 
ing of Medfield. 

He was, however, suffered to live without molestation. 
His wigwam stood on the borders of the beautiful lake, near 
the public house kept by Mr. Silas Grates, where he lived 
with his family many years, till the infirmities of old age 

♦Nathaniel Bowdich, Esq. 
tDea. Leland, Sutton. 



DAVID MtTNNANAW. ABIMELICH DAVID. 27 

came upon him. He was accustomed to repair to the neigh- 
boring orchards for the purpose of obtaining fruit. There 
was one tree of the fruit of which he was particularly fond, 
and which was accordingly his favorite place of resort. In 
this spot the old warrior expired. Old David Munnanaw 
died a little more than 133 years since, having lived, as was 
supposed, nearly or quite a century of years. According to 
this account he must have been a young man, nearly thirty 
years of age, at the time of Philip's war. In his old age his 
skin was very much wasted and shrivelled. 

The residence of Munnanaw, when here, was in that part 
of Hassanamisco wliich is now Saundersville, and on land 
which formerly belonged to Capt. James Leland, now owned 
by Dea. John McClellan. When Captain Leland settled 
here the marks of the old Indian cornfields were plainly to 
be seen. The method of their rude cultivation was, after 
fixing on a spot suitable for their purpose, to plant the corn 
in hills at convenient distance. In the fall, after gathering 
their scanty harvest, the stalks were left standing, and in the 
following spring they would be burned on the place of their 
growth, and corn planted from year to year in the same 
place. 

Abimelich David, the reputed son of David Munnanaw, 
was well known in the annals of the Hassanamisco Indians. 
He was a well proportioned Indian. Abimelich had several 
daughters, among whom were Sue, Deborah, Esther, 
Patience, Nabby and Betty. They lived in a wretched 
hovel or wigwam, under a large oak, near the dwelling-house 
of Mr. Warren Brigham, when in Marlborough. They had 
become dissolute in their habits, and were exceedingly 
troublesome to their neighbors ; and they are remembered 
with very little respect or affection. 

Yery little is known of the Indians from this period to 
1725, when the number of Indian proprietors of Hassaname- 
sit was thirty-two, viz. : George Misco and wife ; Ami 
Printer and wife ; Moses Printer, wife and family, seven ; 



28 HISTORY OF GRAFTOlf. 

Andrew Abraham and family, eight ; Peter Muckamug (in 
right of Sarah Eobbins, his mother) and family, three; 
Joshua Misco and wife; Ami Printer, Jr., and family, four ; 
Abimelich David (in right of his wife and family) three; 
and Peter Lawrence (in right of Missanano.)* 

These who bear the name of Printer are the reputed 
descendants of James-the-printer, who assisted Eliot in 
printing his Indian Bible. 

Andrew Abraham was well known here. His notoriety 
arose from the circumstance of his location at the fordway, 
the place of passing the Blackstone river previous to the 
erection of bridges over the same. The Indians made but 
little proficiency in agricnltural knowledge, and the pro- 
ficiency to which they' had attained seems to have been con- 
fined quite exclusively to the cultivation of apples, for the 
purpose of obtaining cider, which seemed to be the object iu 
view, the use of which, to a state of intoxication, was uni- 
versal. So far as they had made any attempts at any 
mechanical business, these attempts were confined almost 
entirely to the manufacture of baskets and wooden brooms, 
in the making of which they sometimes discovered surpris- 
ing ingenuity.! Mary Printer alias Thomas, the last of 
the full blooded Indians of this tribe, and the last blood 
descendant of the Hassanamesits, died in "Worcester, Feb- 
ruary 10, 1879, the wife of Prof. Gilbert Walker, Sarah (Bos- 
ton) Walker. Her mother, Sally Boston, was well known 
throughout Worcester County. She was born in Grafton, 
February 21, 1819. 



♦General Court Records, Vol. XII., p. 228. 
fDea. Leland's Papers. 



CHAPTER SECOND. 
Contents : 

The Nipmuck country. — The country as viewed by the first white men. — 
Rev. John Eliot, the Apostle to the Indians. —Major General Daniel 
Gookin. — The progress of the Christian Indians. — Sutton and its 
boundaries.— The settlement broken up during Philip's war.- — Re- 
established. — The town purchased of the Indians. — The proprietors 
and their meetings. — The colonial records relating to the town. — 
The incorporation of the town. — The origin of the name of Grafton. 

AS "WE have before stated, the limits of the Nipmuck 
country were not very v^ell defined, but probably in- 
cluded all the southern part of Worcester County, a few of 
the adjoining towns iu the State of Connecticut, and west- 
ward to the Connecticut River. Like most of New Eng- 
land, when first visited by the English, its population was 
very sparse. It had been wasted away by pestilence, or by 
the fatal incursions of the fierce and warlike Maguas. Its 
inhabitants possessed a milder and less warlike character 
than most of the neighboring tribes, and were accordingly 
brought into subjection to them. What was the nature of 
this subjection, or in what relation they stood to these tribes, 
it is now difficult to state with much accuracy. It is known, 
however, that they paid them a tribute ; and perhaps this, in 
time of peace, was the only acknowledgment of servitude 
required. The first mention made of this country is by 
Governor Winthrop, who, with a number of others, made 
an excursion up Charles River in January, 1632. After 
they had gone up about fifteen miles, he says " they ascended 
a very high rock, where they might see all over Neipnett, 
and a very high hill due west." No white man, probably, 
ever set foot on its soil till the autumn of 1635, when it was 



30 HI8T0ET OF GRAFTON. 

traversed by a company of English, consisting of sixty per- 
sons, who, thinking themselves straitened for land in Massa- 
cluisetts Bay, had determined thus early to emigrate to the 
more fertile banks of the Connecticut. What portion of 
the Nipmuck country they crossed is not known ; but as 
their destined point was at Wethersfield, it is not improbable 
that they crossed this town, and that here, nearly three 
hundred years ago, that small company of emigrants, under 
the broad canopy of Heaven, invoked the blessing of God 
on their arduous enterprise. 

No otlier notice is taken of the Nipmucks, or their coun- 
try, until the benevolent project of converting the Indians 
to Christianity was undertaken. This was in 164-6. Strong 
hopes were then entertained of its success. Among those 
who were willing to devote their time, wealth and talents to 
this cause, none were more conspicuous than John Eliot, 
known in his own day as " the apostle to the Indians." He 
commenced his benevolent labors among the Indians at 
Natick, with whom the Nipraucks had a friendly and con- 
stant intercourse, and by that means they were probably 
first induced to attend his preaching. In an account of his 
success, written to the corporation of London, in 1649, he 
says, " that a Nipnet sachem hath submitted himself to the 
Lord, and much desires one of our chief ones to live with 
him and those that are with him." In another account, 
written in 1651, he says : " There is a great country lying 
between Connectacott and the Massachusetts, called Nipnet, 
where there be many Indians dispersed, many of whom 
have sent to our Indians desiring that some may be sent unto 
them to teach them to pray to God." Soon after this Eliot 
probably came to this town ; for, in 1654, he had met with 
such success that the General Court, on his petition, set it 
apart for tlie use of the Indians. The design of this was, 
as appears from Eliot's petition, to prevent any conflicting 
claims between the English and Indians, and to preserve to 
the latter the quiet and undisturbed enjoyment of lands 



EKV. JOHN ELIOT. 31 

which they and their fathers had held from time immemo- 
rial, but over which the State claimed jurisdiction. From 
that time, for a number of years', Eliot frequently visited 
this town, and made much progress in his benevolent labors. 
" No Indian town gave stronger assurances of success than 
this, at that time. Hassanamesit had become the central 
point of civilization and Christianity to the whole Nipmuck 
country."* A school was here established; where the Bible 
was read and studied in the Indian language. Young men 
were here educated and sent into the neighboring towns to 
preach the gospel. A. regular government was created, and 
the forms of law strictly observed. The population of the 
town was small, yet, by reason of their constant intercourse 
with their neighbors, a large number of the natives enjoyed 
the benelits of this school, and before the year 1674, seven 
new towns of "praying Indians," as they were termed, were 
formed in this neighborhood, most of which were furnished 
with teachers from this place. James Printer was subse- 
quently engaged as teacher at ChabanakangJcomun (Dud- 
ley). He is referred to as " a sober, pious and ingenious 
person, and is well read in the scriptures." He was the first 
that settled the town, and got the people to him about two 
years since. At this place dwells an Indian called Black 
James, who about a year since was constituted Constable of 
all the praying towns, including Hassanamisco* 

The Rev. John Eliot, the celebrated missionary to the 
Indians, was nearly sixty years pastor of tlie church in Eox- 
bury. He was born in England in 1604, and came to this 



*Eliot wrote an account of the gathering of this church, and sent it 
to the Corporation of London, to be printed, as he states in a letter 
dated 1673, and published in the Massachusetts Historical Collections, 
Vol. X., 1st series. It was probably never published. Samuel F. 
Haven, Esq., of the American Antiquarian Society, while in London 
endeavored to find this report, but it was not to be found. He made a 
report of his investigations to the society, which was published in their 
transactions. 

*Gookin's Praying Indians. 



32 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

country ISTovember 13, 1631. Having learned the barbarous 
dialect of tlie Indians, be first preached to an assembly of 
Indians at ISTonantum (Newton), October 28, 1646. He was 
violently opposed by the sachems and pawaws, or priests, 
who were apprehensive of losing their authority if a new 
religion was introduced. He made every exertion to pro- 
mote the welfare of the Indian tribes ; he stimulated many 
servants of Jesus to engage in the missionary work ; and 
although he mourned over the stupidity of many, who pre- 
ferred darkness to light, yet he lived to see twenty-four of 
the copper-colored aborigines fellow-preachers of the 
precious gospel of Christ. He died May 20, 1690. 

Major-General Daniel Grookin, of Cambridge, who was 
born in tlie County of Kent, England, and first settled in 
Virginia and moved to Cambridge in 1644, was the superin- 
tendent of all the Indians that had subjected themselves to 
thu pi'oviiicial government. He was accustomed to accom- 
pany Mr. Eliot in his missionary tours. While Mr. Eliot 
preached the gospel to tlie Indians, General Gookin admin- 
istered civil aifairs among them In 1675, when Philip's 
war broke out, the English inhabitants general!}' were jeal- 
ous of the praying Indians, and would have destroyed them 
had not General Gookin and Mr. Eliot stepped forth in 
their defense. The Christian Indians were for a while kept 
on one of the islands in Boston harbor, through fear of their 
becoming traitors and going over to the enemy. The issue 
proved that these fears were entirely groundless. ISTot a 
single praying Indian went over to the enemy. General 
Gookin died in 1687, an old man, whose days were filled 
with usefulness. 

Gookin describes this town with much greater particular- 
ity than Hubbard, who called it " a place up into the woods 
beyond Medfield and Mendon." Gookin says, " the name 
Eassanamesit signifieth a place of small stones. It lieth 
about liirty-eight miles from Boston, west-southerly, and is 
about two miles eastward of Nipmuck Eiver, and near. unto 



SUTTON BOUNDAEIES. 33 

the old road-way to Connecticut. It hath not above twelve 
families; and so, according to our computation, about sixty 
souls ; but is capable to receive some hundreds, as generally 
the other villages are, if it shall please God to multiply 
tbem. The dimensions of this town is four miles square, 
and so about eight thousand acres of land. This village is 
not inferior unto any of the Indian plantations for rich land 
and plenty of meadow, being well tempered and watered. 
It produceth plenty of corn, grain and fruit ; for there are 
several good orchards in the place. It is an apt place for 
the keeping of cattle and sveine; in which respect this peo- 
ple are the best stored of any Indian town of their size." 
" Here they have a meeting-house for the worship of God, 
after the English fashion of building, and two or throe other 
houses after the same mode, but they fancy not greatly to 
live in them. Their way of living is by husbandry, and 
keeping cattle and swine ; wherein they do as well or rather 
better than any other Indians, but are yet very far short of 
the English both in diligence and providence. There are in 
full communion in the chuix-h, and living in town, about 
sixteen men and women, and about thirty baptized persons ; 
but there are several others, members of this church, that 
live in other places. This is a hopeful plantation."* 

When the town of Sutton was granted to the English, 
May 15, 1704, this town was reserved for the Indians. 
[The tract of land called Sutton was originally purchased by 
a number of gentlemen of Sachem John Wampus, and his 
company, Indians, who claimed it. Wampus first reserved 
four miles square for his countrymen, the Indians, which 
thuy c'dlled Hassanamisco ; this is now Grafton. It was to 
begin at a certain bound, wliich he fixed upon ; and there 
the purchasers above referred to were to have as much land 
as eight miles square would amount to, situated in the Nip- 
mug country, between the towns of Mendon, Marlborough, 



*Gookin's Praying Indiaus. 



34 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

Worcester, Oxford, and New Sherburne (now Douglas), 
and this was confirmed to the purchasers, May 15tli, 1704, 
and formed into a township. That part of the original pur- 
chase which fell to the eastward of Grafton, was, part of it, 
many years ago, annexed to the town of Westhorough, and 
the other part, with some from Mendon and Hopkinton, 
taken to form the town of Upton.] 

In the year 1675, a century before the American Revolu- 
tion, King Philip's war broke out, and during this war this 
promising settlement was entirely broken up,* and, though a 
number of the families returned after the war,t yet tlio 
church was probably never re-established. The Indians 
themselves were divided in their allegiance, some adhering 
to the English throughout, and others taking side with 
Philip, and still others, at first deserting the English, but 
afterwards returning to them. May 24, 1677, an order was 
issued by the General Court settling the pra3'ing Indians in 
Hassanamesit, Natick, Wamesit and Punkapaug. They 
were also ordered not to receive any foreign Indians in their 
societies under a penalty to be fixed by the court. J A num- 
ber of years elapsed after this war, before the few remain- 
ing proprietors of Hassanamesit returned to make it a 
permanent residence. Most of them lived with the ISTatick 
Indians, and came here occasionally only, for the purpose of 
planting corn and making cider. In 1698, five families had 
returned, and among these was James Printer, who was dis- 
tinguished for his agency in printing the Indian Bible, as 
well as for his great intelligence. 

In 1681, the General Court appointed commissioners to 
examine the claims of the several Indians to the Nipmuck 
country. They reported that they found them litigious 
among themselves, and willing to claim the whole. They 
thought, however, that for a reasonable sum their several 

*Mass. His. Col. II., Vol. I., p. 185. 
tWilsoii's Sermon, p. 9. 
IColonial Records. 



PUKOHASE OF THE TOWN. 35 

claims could be extinguished.* And subsequently, the same 
commissioners, having been authorized to treat with them 
for tliat purpose, purchased a large tract of land south of 
the Blackstone River, about fifty miles long and twenty 
wide, for the sum of tifty pounds and a coat. Tiie deeds 
were signed l)y forty-nine ]>ersons. 

The Indians remained the sole proprietors of this town 
until 1718, when Elisha Johnson, of Sutton, was permitted 
to purchase a tract of land on condition that he would build 
and support a In-idge over each branch of the Blackstone 
River. These bridges were built and supported by him 
until 1737, when they were assumed by the proprietors, and 
subsequently by the town, and he was discharged from his 
obligation. Otiier persons, from time to time, were per- 
mitted to purchase land ; so that in 1728, nine English fami- 
lies had already settled here. A road was laid across the 
town to Sutton in 1723. A purchase of the entire town 
was not attempted until May, 1721-, when a number of per- 
sons, principally inhabitants of Marlborough, Sudbury, Con- 
cord and Stow, presented a petition to the General Court 
for that purpose. 

A petition of Samuel Chandler and John Sherman, in 
behalf of sundry inhabitants of the towns of Concord, 
Sudbury, Marlborough and Stow, for leave to purchase of 
tlie Hassanamisco Indians land at that place, was referred to 
Mr. Remington, Colonel Bond and Major Chandler, who 
were to visit the land and report tlie proper price. This 



*In the report of William Stoushton and Joseph Dudley, the commis- 
sioners, dated October 17, 1681, is the following; " The middle part 
above Sherborne and Marlborough, claimed by the Hassanamesit men, 
now resident at Natick, but interrupted by the claim of several executors 
to John Wampus, whom we summoned before the governor and magis- 
trates in Boston, soon after our return, and find their claim very uncer- 
tain, but, if allowed, will be to the ruin of the middle part of the coun- 
try, of which the Indians make complaint to this court. — Colonial 
Mecords. 



36 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

order was non-ooncurred in by the Council, December 13, 
1726.* 

December 16th, three da^'s afterwards, the House of Ilep- 
resentatives and the Council held a conference, and the lat- 
ter body concurred in the above order, and the following 
gentlemen composed the committee : Nathaniel Byfield 
and Samuel Thaxter of tlie Council, and John Clumdler, 
Esq., Major Tileston and Captain Goddard. Tliey made 
the following report September 21st, 1727: " Pursuant to 
the within order, a major part of the committee repaired to 
Hassanamisco, and having carefully \iewed the lands pro- 
posed to be sold by the natives there, containing about seven 
thousand live hundred acres ; about one-half wliereof being 
a good soil, but very stony, the other half pitch pine and 
shrub plain, are of opinion, and have accordingly valued 
and estimated the land at the sum of 2,500 pounds, under 
the conditions dated June 9th, 1726. "f 

February 16th, 1727, the trustees of the Indians at Has- 
sanamisco, Spencer Phipps, Esq., Capt. Edward Goddard 
and Capt. Ephraim Curtis, reported to the Council the diffi- 
culties they were under in their business. It was ordered 
that the committee be impowered to advance or pay any 
part of the purchase money for the relief and support of 
the Indians they deemed necessary.^ 

The following is an exact copy of the original deed for 
the purchase of the town : — 

PEINTEE AND CO. TO THE 40 PETITIONEES. 

So gkll people TO WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME : 

Ami Printer, Andrew Abraham, Moses Printer, and Ami Printer, Jr., 
Indians of Hassanamisco, in the County of Suffolk, within his Majesty's 
Province of the Massachusetts Bay in New England, being owners and 
proprietors of one-seventh part each of and in the Indian native right 
of land in Hassanamisco aforesaid. 



*House of Representatives Records. 
fColonial Records. Jlbid. 



DEEP FOR THE PURCHASE OF THE TOWN. 37 

Peter MucUamaug, and Sarah his wife, of Hassanamisco aforesaid 
(owners and proprietors in tlie right of the said Sarah), of one-seventh 
part of the said native right. 

And Christian Misco, relict widow of George Misco, late of Hassa- 
namisco aforesaid, deceased, and Joshua Misco, of Ilassauamisco afore- 
said, son of the said deceased, being owners and proprietors of two- 
sevenths parts of the said native right — 

SENDETH GREETING. 

WhctCaiS, The Great and General Court or Assembly of the afore- 
said Province, having been thereunto petitioned as well by the Indian 
natives and proprietors before named, as by a number of English 
petitioners, did in their late session, viz. : in the month of December 
last past, in answer to the petition of Samuel Chandler, John Sherman, 
and others, give liberty to the petitioners therein referred to, to pur- 
chase the lands at IIas>anamisco by them petitioned for, contaiuing 
about seven thousand five hundred acres, more or less, of the Indian 
natives and proprietors thereof, for the settlements of forty English 
families of the petitioners, or their posterity, and no others exclusive 
of the English and Indians upon the spots already, reserving for and 
unto the said Indian proprietors, each of them, an equal dividend In 
said land with each of the purchasers, to be laid out so as to compre- 
hend and talse in their present improvements. And also one hundred 
acres more of land there, to be the present Indian proprietors, their 
heirs and assigns, forever. And also the sum of 2,500 pounds, to be 
deposited in the hands of trustees appointed, authorized and impow- 
ered by the said Great and General Court or Assembly, to receive and 
set out the same at interest, on good and sufficient security, and said 
interest to be paid to the said Indian proprietors, and the said court 
shall, from time to time, order and direct together with sundry immuni- 
ties, privileges and enfranchisements, respeciing the settlements and 
support of the ministry and school, as in and by the records of said 
court (relation thereunto being had) doth and may appear. 

^OXU "^nOW "%(, That the said Ami Printer, Andrew Abraham, 
Moses Printer, Ami Printer, Jr., Peter and Sarah Muckamang, Christian 
Misco, and Joshua Misco, being the only surviving proprietors of the 
Indian right of land in Hassanamisco aforesaid, for the consideration 
before mentioned, have given, granted, bargained, sold, alienated, 
enfeofl'ed, conveyed and confirmed, and by these presents do fully, 
clearly and absolutely give, grant, bargain, sell, convey and confirm 
unto each of the persons hereinafter named, being of the proprietors, 
to whom such liberty of purchasing was granted as aforesaid, or other- 
wise admitted by and with the approbation or allowance of the said 
Great and General Court, one fortieth part in common and undivided 
right of, and in, all that tract or parcel of land called, or known, by the 
name of Hassanamisco, situated and bounded by and with the town- 



38 HISTORY OF GEAFrON. 

ship of Sutton, in tlie aforesaid County of Suffollc, and surrounded by 
said Sutton, excepting always and reserving out of this present grant 
and sale such parts and dividends thereof and therein unto them, the 
said Indian proprietors, and to their heirs and assigns forever, as is 
expressed and mentioned in a vote of the House of Representatives, on 
the ninth of June, 1725, and accordingly reserved by the Great and 
General Court as is above expressed, excepting also and reserving out 
of this present grant and sale, all such other parts and parcels of said 
tracts of land as hath been formerly (with the allowance of said court) 
granted unto sundry English people, to be holden of them, the said pur- 
chasers, their respective heirs and assigns forever, conformable to the 
votes, acts and orders of the said Great and General Court, passed 
thereon in their aforesaid session, — that is to say, to James Watson, of 
Boston, In the County of Suffolls, in the Province aforesaid, mariner, 
Benjamin Willard, gent., and Joseph Willard, husbandmen, being both 
of or in the County of Suffolk, In the Province aforesaid, each one- 
fortieth part thereof, to them, their respective heirs and assigns, for 
ever. 

To Joseph Rice, Jonathan Morse, David Harrington, Samuel Biglo, 
Samuel Stow, Zernbbabel Eager, Samuel Brigham, John Sherman, 
John Warren, Nathan Brigham, Sen., Charles Brigham, husbandmen, 
Jeremiah Barstow, trader, and Elizabeth Harrington, widow, all of 
Marlborough, in the County of Middlesex, in the Province aforesaid, 
each one-fortieth part thereof, to them, and their respective heirs and 
assigns, forever. 

To Samuel Chandler, John Hunt, Joseph Merriam, Eleazer Flagg, 
Jacob Taylor, Ebenezer Wheeler, Joseph Barrett and Benjamin Barrett, 
hu.sbandmen, all of Concord, in the aforesaid County of Middlesex, each 
one-fortieth part thereof, to them, their respective heirs and assigns, 
forever. 

To Samuel Hall, Simon Gates, Jr., John Collar, husbandmen, all of 
Stow, In the aforesaid County of Middlesex, each one-fortieth part 
thereof, to them, their respective heirs and assigns, forever. 

To William Rogers, gent., and William Rogers, Jr., bricklayer, both 
of Wenhara, in the County of Essex, in the Province aforesaid, each 
one-fortieth part thereof, to them, their respective heirs and assigns, 
forever. 

To Jonathan Rice and Richard Taylor, both of Sudbury, in the County 
of Middlesex aforesaid, husbandmen, each one-fortieth part thereof, to 
them and their respective heirs and assigns, forever. 

To John Joues, of Hopkinton, In the aforesaid County of Middlesex, 
husbandman, one-fortieth part thereof, to him, his heirs and assigns, 
forever. 

To Jonas Houghton, of Lancaster, in the aforesaid County of Middle- 
sex, husbandman, John Davis, of Ipswich, in the County of Essex, in 
the Province aforesaid, husbandman, and Thomas Weeks, of Shrews- 



DEED FOE THK PUKCHASE OF THE TOWN. 39 

bury, in the aforesaid County of Middlesex, liusbandinan, each one- 
fortieth part, to them and their heirs and assigns, forever. 

To Thomas Pratt, of Hassanamisco, in the aforesaid County of 
Suffolk, husbandman, and Nathaniel Wilder, of Lancaster, in the afore- 
said County of Middlesex, husbandman, each one fortieth part, to them 
and their heirs and assigns, forever. Together with all the rights, 
members, profits, privileges, emoluments, hereditaments and appurte- 
nances to the said granted premises belonging, or iu any wise appertain- 
ing, excepting only as before excepted. To have and to hold the said 
gi'anted bargained premises, with the appurtenances and every part 
thereof, except as before excepted, to them, the said James Watson, 
Benjamin Willard, Joseph Willard, Joseph Rice, Jonathan Morse, David 
Harrington, Samuel Biglo, Samuel Stow, Zerubbabel Eager, Samuel 
Brigham, John Sherman, John Warren, Nathan Brigham, Charles Brig- 
ham, Jeremiah Barstow, Eliza Harrington, Samuel Chandler, John 
Hunt, Joseph Merriam, Eleazer Flagg, Jacob Taylor, Ebenezer Wheeler, 
Joseph Barrett, Samuel Hall, Simon Gates, Nathaniel Hapgood, Phiueas 
Eice, Simon Gates, Jr., John Collar, William Rogers, William Rogers, 
Jr., Jonathan Rice, Richard Taylor, John Jones, Jonas Houghton, John 
Davis, Thomas Weeks, Benjamin Barrett, Thomas Pratt and Nathaniel 
Rider, and to their respective heirs and assigns, forever, to their and 
each of their own proper use and benefit and behoof, in manner as 
aforesaid. 

And they, the said Ami Printer, Andrew Abraham, Moses Printer, Ami 
Printer, Jr., Peter and Sarah (Printer) MucUamaug, Christian Misco 
and Joshua Misco, for themselves, heirs, etc., respectively, do, by these 
presents, covenant, promise and grant to, and with the said grantees or 
purchasers before named, and each and every one of them, their respec- 
tive heirs and assigns, in manner following, that is to say, — that they, 
the said Ami Printer, Andrew Abraham, Moses Printer, Peter and Sarah 
Muckamaug, Christian Misco, Joshua Misco and Ami Printer, Jr., are 
the true, sole and lawful owners of all and singular, the lands at Hassa- 
namisco aforesaid, not otherwise heretofore disposed of in manner 
aforesaid, and they, the said Indian proprietors, and their heirs respec- 
tively, shall and will, from time to time, and at all times forever here- 
aftei-, WARRANT AND DEFEND in said granted and bargained prem- 
ises, with the appurtenances and every part thereof, excepting only as 
before excepted, unto the grantees or purchasers before named, severally 
and respectively, and their respective heirs and assigns, against them- 
selves and their heirs, and against the lawful claims or demands of any 
other person whomsoever, claiming or to claim the Indian or native 
right, or property thereof, or of any part thereof. 



40 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

In witness whereof, the said Indian proprietors have hereunto set 
their hands and seals, the nineteenth day of March, Am Domno, 1727, 
Anrogue Begiii Regis Gregory Secundi Mayims Britannia Prima. 



AMI PRINTER, 


his marlc /J 


MOSES PRINTER, 


ti 


■■ ¥v 


ANDREW ABRAHAM, 


(( 


■• / 


PETER MUCKAMAUG, 


" 


■■ >^ 


SARAH MUCKAMAUG, 


her 


mark ^C 


CHRISTIAN MISCO, 


•• 


/ 


JOSHUA MISCO, 


his mark V 


AMI PRINTER, Ju., 


it 


" tI- 



Signed, scaled and delivered, in presence of 

Nkhbmiah How. 

Jonathan Adajis. 

Isaac Whitney. 
Moses Printer signed in presence of us, 
John Chandler, Jr. 

John Mackintirb, his mark -!V^ 

Suffolk, ss. 

Hassanamisoo, March 20, 1727-8. 
Ami Printer, Andrew Abraham, Peter Muckamaug, Sarah Mucka- 
maug, Christian Misco, Joshua Misco, and Ami Printer, then severally 
acknowledged this instrument to be their respective act and deed, be- 
fore rae, JOHN CHANDLER, Just. Facia. 
Suffolk, ss. 

Woodstock, April 9, 1728. 
Moses Printer then acknowledged this instrument to be liis act and 
deed, before me, JOHN CHANDLER. 

July 2, 1728, received, and accordingly entered and examined, pr. 

JOHN BALLANTINE, Kegr.* 
Anno Prima Megni Begis Georgis Secundi. 



♦Recorded in Suffolk County Registry of Deeds, Lib. 42, Folio 206. 



DEED FOK THE PIJKCHASE OF THE TOWN. 41 

"AN ACT to oblige and require the forty petitioners for a tract of land 
at Hassanamisco, together with the English proprietors of the other 
lands there, to pay the charge of erecting a meeting-house and 
school-house, and of supporting an Orthodox minister and school- 
master in the place. 
Whereas, This court, at their present session, in answer to the peti- 
tion of Samuel Chandler and others, to the number of forty, whose 
names are subscribed to the said petition, did give them liberty to pur- 
chase the lands at Hassanamisco, by them petitioned for, containing 
about seven thousand five hundred acres, more or less, of the Indian 
natives and proprietors of Hassanamisco, upon condition that forty 
English families shall be settled upon the land, which families are to be 
of the petitioners or their posterity, and no others, and yet within the 
space of three years they build and finish a meeting-house for the pub- 
lick worship of God ; and build a school-house for the instruction, as well 
of the Indians as English children. And settle a learned Orthodox min- 
ister to preach the gospel to them, and constantly maintain and duly 
support a minister and schoolmaster among them. And yet all the 
above articles sliall be without charge to the Indian natives- 

And whereas there are sundry English proprietors of other lands in 
Hassanamisco, who will be accommodated by the said meeting-house, 
school-house, minister and schoolmaster, as well as the forty peti- 
tioners. 

Be it therefore enacted, by the Lieutenant Governor, Council and Rep- 
resentatives, in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the 
same, that the said forty petitioners be, and are hereby required and 
obliged to pay, each of them, an equal part of four fifth parts of the 
charge of building the said meeting-house and school-house, and that 
the said English proprietors of the other lands at Hassanamisco, be 
and are hereby required and obliged to pay the other fifth part of the 
above said charge, to be apportioned and assessed by the trustees of 
the Hassanamisco Indians, already appointed by this court, upon the 
said English proprietors, according to their best judgment and discre- 
tion, they having regard unto the quantity of land aud other estate in 
Hassanamisco belonging unto them, and to be collected by such meet 
person as they, the said trustees, shall appoint for that end. The above 
said proportion of charges, together with the method of assessing and 
collecting the same, to be observed and pursued until the said petition- 
ers and the other proprietors be invested with the powers and privi- 
ledges of a township. 

And the said forty petitioners, together with the said English pro- 
prietors of the other lands, as aforesaid, shall be obliged forever here- 
after to maintain a minister and schoolmaster for the Indians, and their 
children, without cost or charge to the said Indians, or their posterity. 
Signed, ABNER STOW, 

Prop's Clerk." 
6 



42 



HI8T0KT OF GEAITON. 



The committee made tlie following report to the House 
of Representatives: — 

"The committee, having concurred the several articles and conditions 
on which the petitioners for Hassanamisco have liberty to purchase a 
tract of land commonly known by the name, of the Indian proprietors 
thereof, are humbly of opinion that tlie petitioners, before the , execu- 
tion of their deeds, shall each one for himself respectively be bound to 
the trustees appointed for said Indians, and their successors, with 
sureties for paying a , with pai't of the cost of building a meet- 
ing-house convenient for the publick worship for themselves and nine 
English families already settled within the said Hassanamisco, and the 
Indian inhabitants of said Hassanamisco, as also for paying the same 
proportion towards building a school house, convenient for ttie teach- 
ing to read and write the children of the same inhabitants, as well 
Indians as English. And that they will set apart twenty acres of said 
land for the use of said school, to remain for said service forever, and 
also for paying the same proportion for and towards the settling a 
learned Orthodox minister, and for settling for the said minister a lot of 
land equal to others' allowances, to be his own as soon as he takes office 
among them, and likewise the building for himself. — Petitioners' 
accounts read — a dwelling-house and breaking up four acres of land in 
the lot or dividend that shall be apportioned and set off to him, all to 
be within the time and according to the limitation in the act of the 
Great and General Court relating hereunto, in thsir present session. 

And for as much there are nine English families already settled on 
lands within Hassanamisco that will be accommodated by the meeting- 
house, school-house, minister and schoolmaster, in said Hassanamisco, 
as above, the committee humbly propose that the said nine families be, 
by special act of this Great and General Court, required to pay each a 
fortieth part to and for erecting and finishing said meeting-house and 
school-house, and to and for the support of said minister and school- 
master. And in as much as the maintaining a minister and schoolmaster 
are to be from generation to generation, and consequently not so proper 
for condition in a bond. — 

The committee humbly conceive that in the aforesaid act of this 
Great and General Court the said forty petitioners, with the other nine 
English families, inhabitants, shall be obliged, from time to time, for- 
ever hereafter, to maintain a minister and schoolmaster for the Indians 
and their children, without cost or charge to said Indians or their 
posterity.* 

For the committee, JOHN STODDAKD. 

Bead and accepted, December 18, 1727. 

Concurred, December 19, 1727." 



♦From Records in Secretary of State's Office. 



COLONIAL EEOOBDS. 43 

March 18, 1728, the trustees met with the residents at 
Hassanamisco, and the proprietors proceeded to lay out lands 
for a first division, viz. : Eighty acres of upland and eight 
acres of meadow to each English and Indian family, who 
were proprietors. This was satisfactory to the Indians. 
After the deed had been signed Moses Printer, one of the 
Indian proprietors, died, as did his squaw, leaving four 
small children with nothing but a gun, and an obligation of 
£120, £60 of which was due in September. One of the 
older ones held the bond. At this time the trustees asked 
the court for further instructions respecting the conduct of 
the Indians, the improvement of their lauds, and the re- 
moval of any and all such persons as may cohabit with the 
Indians. 

April 4, 1728, the trustees presented to the General 
Court a memorial, setting forth the difficulties that had 
arisen in the disposition of the money produced by the sale 
of their land, and other matters. It was ordered that 
Samuel Thaxter and Timothy Lindall, Esqrs., of the Coun- 
cil, and Colonel Tilestone, Mr. Hall and Mr. Saltonstall, 
take the matter into consideration and report. 

May 31, 1728, an order was issued by the Council to the 
trustees of the Indians at Hassanamisco, to lay out seven 
proprietors' shares there, and no more, for the seven Indian 
families, instead of the nine Indian families (making thirty- 
two persons), as previously reported. 

At a meeting of the proprietors of the common and 
undivided lands lying in Hassanamisco,, holden at the house 
of Jonathan How, in Marlborough, on Tuesday the ninth 
day of April, 1728, pursuant to a warrant from the Hon. 
John Cliandler, Esq., bearing date March 22, 1727-8, the 
following notes were made and passed by the major part of 
the proprietors present at said meeting, viz., Edward God- 
dard was chosen moderator of the said meeting for the 
day. 



44 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

Mr. Jonathan Rice was chosen clerk for the proprietors, 
to enter and record all notes and orders, from time to time, 
as shall be made and passed in said proprietors' meetings. 

Yoted, That there be a committee of three persons 
chosen by the proprietors to take a snrvej' of the plantation 
of Ilassanamisco, and the tracts of land formerly disposed 
of witliin the same, agreeable to the grants of tlie General 
Court, and to find out and state the center plot of the plan- 
tation. 

Yoted, One of the committee aforesaid be of Marl- 
borough, one of Concord, one of Sudbury or Stow. Cap- 
tain Brigham of Marlborough, Mr. John Hunt of Concord, 
and Mr. Richard Taylor of Sudbury, were chosen the com- 
mittee. 

The English inhabitants already settled upon the lands of 
Hassanamisco, who were present at the above said meeting, 
consenting to join with the other proprietors of the undi- 
vided land there in concluding npon the place where the 
meeting-house shall be set for the said plantation. 

Voted, That the meeting-honse shall be placed and set up 
at, or npon, the center of the said plantation, in case the 
land at the center be accommodable ; otherwise, at the 
nearest accommodable to the center, to be determined by 
vote of the major part of the proprietors. 

Voted, Four acres of land at or near the meeting-house 
place, be sequestered and laid down for the accommodation 
of the meeting-house, and for a burying place and training 
field. 

Voted, The considerations of the dimensions of the 
meeting-house and school-house, as also the time when to 
proceed to build the same, be referred to consideration at 
the next meeting or assembling of the proprietors. 



COLONIAL EEC0ED8. 45. 

Yoted, The school-house shall be set or placed upon 
some part of the four acres of land which shall be laid out 
for the meeting-house, etc. 

Yoted, A committee be appointed to consider of some 
regular method which may be agreeable to the opinion of 
the trustees for Hassanamisco Indians, for the setting out 
of the lands reserved for them, and lay out the same accord- 
ingly ; also to lay out a lot for the minister, and another for 
the schoolmaster, and to report what private highways are 
of present necessity, and where and how to be stated ; which 
committee shall be likewise empowered to lay out and equal- 
ize the lots of land and meadow in Hassanamisco, for the 
first division, in manner following, viz. : In eighty lots of 
upland, each lot containing forty acres (with necessary 
allowance for quality), and also to equalize the lots of 
meadow after the same manner, so preparing the several 
allotments in two parcels of upland and two pieces of 
meadow to each proprietor for a lot or draught. 

Yoted, That three persons, and no more, be employed as 
a committee for the ends aforesaid. Capt. Natba'n Brigham, 
Mr. John Hunt and Mr. Kiehard Taylor, were chosen a 
committee for the ends aforesaid. Also, further voted tliat 
the committee be desired and empowered to provide a sur- 
veyor and chain men, and likewise to put a man in the place 
of any one of themselves, in case of sickness, lameness, or 
the like. 

Yoted, That the sum of twenty shillings be paid by each 
proprietor, to be collected and paid into the hands of the 
treasurer of the said proprietors, within the space of one 
month next coming, for and towards the defraying of the 
future necessary charges of the proprietors, and to be paid 
out of the treasury as the society shall, from time to time, 
vote and agree. 

Yoted, That the clerk of the proprietors, upon applica- 
tion to him made by any five or more of the proprietors. 



46 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

may direct and order a meeting and meetings, from time to 
time, of the proprietors, by posting up in writing as well in 
the towns of Concord, Marlborough and Stow, as in the 
plantation of Hassauamisco, the occasion for sach meeting, 
and the time when, and the place where, said meeting shall 
be attended, fourteen days beforehand. 

The meeting adjourned to the house of Nehemiah How, 
in Hassauamisco, April 19, 1728.* 

During this year a number of settlements were made, 
consisting principally of the children of the proprietors ; 
the common was laid out ; the meeting-house contracted for, 
and a site for a mill agreed upon. Another division of land 
was made a few years after ; but it was not all appropriated 
till about seventy-five years ago. 

August 28, 1729, the trustees, Phipps, Goddard and 
Curtis, rendered their account, which was accepted, and they 
were discharged of the sum of £217, 14s. accordingly. 

September 25, 1730, John Sherman, Phineas Kice and 
Jonas Houghton petitioned, in behalf of the English 
purchasers and settlers at Hassanamisco, praying the court 
to explain whether it was intended to oblige them to defray 
the expenses of laying out the land, and it was ordered that 
the English purchasers ought to pay the whole charge of 
surveying and laying out the lands.t 

The meeting-house was erected in 1730, and the school- 
house in the following year. The settlement continued to 
increase in population and prosperity. The petition pre- 
sented to the General Court to incorporate the township,, 
was signed by all but two or three of the inhabitants of the 
place, and was presented on the 15th of April, 1735. It 
does not appear that the petitioners selected the name of 
the town. They asked merely for town privileges, and were 



♦Proprietors' Records. 
tColonial Records. 



ORIGIN OF THE NAME OF GEAFl'ON. 47 

williug to leave so animportant a matter as a name to the 
General Court. On the same day that the petition was pre- 
sented, permission was f^ranted to bring in a bill, whicli 
passed its several readings in the House of Representatives, 
and was sent to the Council. It soon passed tliat body, and 
on the 18th of April, O. S., was signed by Governor 
Belcher, in presence of both branches of the General 
Court. 

" I have had considerable curiosity in referentie to the 
origin of the present name.* I find that various principles 
governed in the selection of names for the new towns. 
Early, the towns were named after places in the old counti-y 
— not always, liowever, out of any particular affection for 
the places thus honored. For example,! ^^^'^ battle of Wor- 
cester was, what is quaintly termed, Cromwell's ' crowning 
mercy,' and so tlie name was chosen for our heigliboring 
city in defiance of the king, from 1724 a custom arose 
of complimenting distinguished Englishmen, who were 
friendly to the colonies, by naming towns for them.J Up 
to 1732 it was the custom for the incorporators to select the 
names, but after that period the acts of incorporation passed 
both houses of the Legislature in blank, and tlie name was 
inserted by the Govertior.§ So Grafton is indebted to Gov- 
ernor Belcher for its name. Charles Fitz E.oy, Duke of 
Grafton, was a member of the Privy Council. He was a 
grandson of Charles II., and held many high offices." 
According to Bancroft, October, 1775, " The Duke of 
Grafton hastened to court and complained of the violent, 
injudicious and impracticable schemes of the ministers, 
framed in a misconception of the resources of the colonies ; 
and he added : ' Deluded themselves, they are deluding 
your majesty.' The king debated the business at large ; but 



♦Oration by Rev. E. Frank Howe, July i, 1876, pp. 20, 21. 

fEssay on names of towns In Mass., by Wm. Henry Whitmore, p. 16. 

Jlbid., p. 7. §Ibid., pp. 19, 20. 



48 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 



when be announced that a numerous body of Gorman 
troops was to join the British forces, Grafton answered 
earnestly,: ' Your majesty will find too late that twice the 
number will only increase the disgrace, and nevei' effect the 
purpose.' " 




DUKE OF GRAFTOJSr. 

[.From an English Print.] 



CHAPTER THIUD. 

Contents : 

The division of land. — Proprietors' records. — The first white settler. — 
First white child born in town.— The petition asking to be released 
from maintaining preaching and schooling for the Indians. — Land 
added to the town. — Slavery in town. — Grafton road. — Deaths from 
1753 to 1779. — An act to prevent monopoly. — Shays' rebellion. — The 
Instructions to the Representative. — ^The Indian trustees. 

rpiIE land purchased of the Indians included seven thou- 
jI sand five hundred acres. This land was divided among 
the proprietors at three different stated times. The follow- 
ing gives the number of acres each proprietor received, and 
the date of the receipt : — 

May 9, 1728, Samuel Brigbam's lots of upland and meadow in the west 
range, 40 acres. 

May 9, 1728, Heirs of Moses Printer, west side of Black Stones Kiver, 
4 acres. 

March 9, 1729, Samuel Brigham, 19 acres. 

March 29, 1729, Samuel Brigham, 2 acres and 126 rods. 
- April 28, 1728, John Warrln, 44 acres. 

November 22, 1728, John Warriu, 13 acres, 2nd division. 

May 3, 1728, Ebenezer Wheeler, 41 acres. 

September 29, 1731, Ebenezer Wheeler, 6 acres and 6.5 rods. 

September 30', 1731, Ebenezer Wheeler, 1 acre and 125 rods. 

September 28, 1731, Ebenezer Wheeler, 11 acres and 138 rods. 

November 21, 1729, Ebenezer Wheeler, 7 acres and 143 rods. 

October 17, 1737, Ebenezer Wheeler, 14 acres and 140 rods. 

May 8, 1728, Samuel Bigelow, 40 acres and 20 rods. 

May 8, 1728, Samuel Bigelow, 4 acres. 

May 2, 1728, Samuel Bigelow, 42 acres and 130 rods. 

November, 1728, Samuel Bigelow, 17 acres and 20 rods. 

May 24, 1729, Samuel Bigelow, 3 acres and 140 rods. 

June 13, 1729, Samuel Bigelow, 6 acres. 

September 2, 1729, Samuel Bigelow, 2 acres and 50 rods. 

May 7, 1728, Pliineas Rice, 40 acres and 20 rods. 
7 



50 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

May 7, 1728, Phineas Rice, 4 acres. 

May 11, 1728, Phineas Rice, 51 acres. 

May 15, 1729, Phineas Rice, 5 acres and 20 rods. 

June 26, 1728, Phineas Rice. 

October 29, 1729, Phineas Rice, 5 acres. 

May 4, 1728, Joseph Willard, 41 acres and 140 rods. 

October, 1728, Joseph Willard, 48 acres. 

December 31, 1728, Joseph Willard, 21 acres and 100 rods. 

May 15, 1729, Joseph Willard, 6 acres. 

June 16, 1729, Joseph Willard, 1 acre and 16 rods. 

April 27, 1728, John Collers, 40 acres. 

1728, John Collers, 4 acres. 

October, 1728, John Collers, 46 acres and 20 rods. 

October 17, 1728, John Collers. 

June 26, 1729, John Collers, 9 acres. 

June, 1729, John Collers, 26 acres. 

June 27, 1729, John Collers, 7 acres. 

October 31, 1732, Joseph Willard, 4 acres and 10 rods. 

June 27, 1729, Joseph Willard, 2 acres and 7 rods. 

1729, Joseph Willard, 4 acres. 
1729, Joseph Willard, 4 acres. 

May 3, 1728, Jonathan Rice, 41 acres and 20 rods. 

May 3, 1728, Jonathan Rice, 4 acres. 

October, 1728, Jonathan Rice, 55 acres. 

November, 1728, Jonathan Rice, 20 acres. 

May 16, 1736, Phineas Rice, 12 acres. 

May 3, 1728, Nathan Brigham, 40 acres. 

1728, Nathan Brigham, 4 acres. 

May 9, 1728, Nathan Brigham, 55 acres. 

May, 1728, Nathan Brigham, 4 acres. 

November 21, 1728, Nathan Brigham, 17 acres. 

December 25, 1733, Jonathan Adams, 14 acres. 

January 10, 1743, Eleazer Fletcher, 2 rods. 

April 25, 1728, Thomas Pratt, 40 acres. 

April 25, 1728, Thomas Pratt, 6 acres meadow. 

May 14, 1728, Thomas Pratt, 59 acres. 

May 14, 1728, Thomas Pratt, 4 acres meadow. 

November 2, 1728, Thomas Pratt, 15 acres. 

May 23, 1729, Thomas Pratt, 20 acres. 

September 27, 1731, Thomas Pratt, 6 acres and 10 rods. 

May 3, 1728, John Sherman, 41 acres and 20 rods. 

May 3, 1728, John Sherman, Brook meadow. 

June 17, 1729, John Sherman, 26 acres and 30 rods interval. 

November, 1728, John Sherman, 6 acres and 40 rods. 

November, 1728, John Sherman, 10 acres and 72 rods Interval. 

May 13, 1729, John Sherman, 9 acres and 20 rods. 



DIVISION OF LAND. 51 

June 17, 1729, John Sherman, 10 acres. 

May 2, 1728, John Davis, 40 acres and 20 rods. 

April 27, 1728, John Davis, 52 acres and 30 rods. 

January 13, 1729, John Davis, 7 acres and 20 rods to Isaac Chace. 

December 30, 1728, John Davis, 26 acres. 

June 11, 1733, John Davis, 25 acres and 30 rods to Isaac Temple. 

October 26, 1737, John Davis, 3 acres and 20 rods to Isaac Temple. 

May 10, 1728, Simon Gates, 41 acres and 10 rods. 

May 10, 1728, Simon Gates, i acres. 

May 11, 1728, Simon Gates, 56 acres. 

Api'il 16, 1733, Simon Gates, 5 acres to Mark Batchelder. 

May 14, 1731, Simon Gates, 12 acres and 139 rods to Samuel Dudley 
and Phineas Eice. 

June 12, 1731, Simon Gates, Jr., 14 acres and 67 rods to Samuel 
Dudley. 

May 9, 1728, Capt. ■William Rogers, 51 acres. 

May 9, 1728, Capt. William Rogers, 4 acres pine meadow. 

April 26, 1728, Capt. William Rogers, 44 acres. 

April 26, 1728, Capt. William Rogers, 4 acres brook meadow. 

June 27, 1729, Capt. William Rogers, 15 acres. 

December 30, 1728, Capt. William Rogers, 6 acres and 30 rods. 

June 12, 1731, Capt. William Rogers, 12 acres and 75 rods. 

May 4, 1728, Capt. James Watson, 42 acres. 

May 4, 1728, Capt. James Watson, 4 acres Mercy meadow. 

May 7, 1728, Capt. James Watson, 42 acres and 150 rods. 

May 7, 1728, Capt. James Watson, broad meadow. 

JSovember 21, 1728, Capt. James Watson, 23 acres and 20 rods. 

March 25, 1729, Capt. James Watson, 20 acres and 30 rods. 

May 1, 1728, David Herrington, 45 acres. 

May 1, 1728, David Herrington, 2 acres. 

June 7, 1728, David Herrington, 66 acres and 20 rods. 

April 11, 1745, David Herrington, 20 acres and 120 rods. 

December 2, 1729, David Herrington, 28 acres and 39 rods. 

May 3, 1728, John Hunt, 145 acres and 179 rods. 

April 25, 1728, Benjamin Barrett, 1314 acres.* 

December 21, 1733, Joseph Allen, 13 acres. 

May 14, 1728, Samuel Chandler, 136 acres and 150 rods. 

April 21, 1733, Benjamin Goddard, 30 acres. 

May 10, 1728, Samuel Stow, 177 acres and 39 rods. 

May 9, 1728, Zernbbable Eager, 125 acres and 90 rods. 

May 3, 1728, Samuel Hall, 133 acres. 

May 21, 1733, Nehemlah How, 5 acres. 

May 7, 1728, Benjamin Willard, 1484 acres. 

May 3, 1728, Jonathan Morse, 94 acres and 183 rods. 



*Date of receipt of first division. 



52 HISTORY OF GKAITOK. 

April 25, 1728, John Jones, 146 acres. 
May 25, 1728, Jonas Houghton, 150i acres. 
May 20, 1747, James Miller, 4, acres. 
May 30, 1747, Nathaniel Whitmore, 2i acres. 
May 8, 1728, Joseph Eice, 128| acres. 
May 7, 1728, Joseph Barretts, 1214 acres. 
April 26, 1728, Widow Elizabeth Herrington, 1314 acres. 
May 3, 1728, Jacob Taylor, 108 acres. 
October 28, 1729, Joseph Merriam, 42 acres. 
May 3, 1728, Capt. Richard Taylor, 168 acres. 
May 9, 1728, Charles Brigham, 122 acres. 
April 26, 1729, Simon Gates, Sen., 132 acres. 
- September 2, 1729, John Warrings, 11 acres. 
September 2, 1729, Thomas Brigham, 29 acres. 
November 12, 1728, Phineas Rice, 33 acres. 
May 17, 1729, Christian Misco,t 4 acres. 
May 17, 1729, Joshua George, f 4 acres. 
September 3, 1729, John Sherman, 32 acres. 
September 15, 1731, Jonathan Adams, 16 acres. 
May 10, 1728, Nathaniel Hapgood, 117 acres. 
May 15, 1729, Thomas Weeks, 124 acres. 
March 2, 1738, John Coller, 20 acres. 
May 10, 1728, William Rogers, Jr., 76 acres. 
.Tuly 16, 1729, James Leland, 20 acres. 
May 9, 1728, Eleazer Flagg, 121 acres. 
May 3, 1728, Nathaniel Wilders, 103 acres. 
November 17, 1734, Charles Brigham, 90 acres. 
April 26, 1728, Jeremiah Bestows, 80 acres. 
May 14, 1731, Samuel Dudley, 25 acres. 
May 14, 1731, Elisha Gates, 28 acres in right of his father. 
September 27, 1731, Thomas Pratt, 27 acres. 
September 29, 1731, Jonathan Hall, 25 acres. 
October 28, 1729, Joseph Rice, 9 acres. 
March 3, 1744, Eleazer Fletcher, 7 acres. 
February 26, 1740, Ami Printer, Jr., 262 acres. 
February 22, 1740, Christian Misco, 348 acres. 
February 21, 1740, Andrew Abraham, 87 acres. 
May 9, 1728, Peter Muckamaug, 183 acres. 
May 1, 1728, Moses Printer's heirs, 170 acres. 
April 30, 1728, Abimaleck David, 23 acres in right of A. Abraham. 
November 6, 1738, Rev. Solomon Prentice, 14 acres. 

The following data was copied from the Proprietors' 
Eecords, and shows what business, if any, was transacted 
at each meeting : — 



RKCOEDS. 53 . 

April 19, 1728. — The meeting was held at the house o£ 
Neheiniah How, in Hassanamisco, and the proprietors 
adjourned to the center of the land in order to fix and state 
the particular spot whereon the meeting-house should be 
erected. Upon viewing the place determined for the center 
by the surveyor, it was found not commodious. Another 
place was finally fixed upon, and it was decided to fix tlie 
spot for the meeting-houso near a white oak tree. Captain 
Willard, Mr. Samuel Biglo, Jonathan Kice and Eleazer 
Flagg were added to the meeting-house committee before 
chosen, to lay out and equalize the lots of land and meadow, 
the whole committee to be employed therein when it appears 
to them necessary and beneficial to forward the work, and 
at other times a part thereof only, as they see cause, and 
the committee to employ another surveyor to assist and help 
forward the surveying and apportioning the said land and 
meadows. 

July 9, 1728. — The proprietors held a meeting in Sud- 
bury, at the house of Jonathan Rice, and chose Mr. Samuel 
Biglo, Samuel Ciiandler, Samuel Hall, Capt. Benjamin Wil- 
lard and Jonas Houghton, a committee to take charge of 
the building of the meeting-house. Captain Willard, Capt. 
Nathan Brigham and Mr. John Sherman, were chosen a 
committee to view suitable places for a mill or mills, and to 
agree' with persons to set up and build the same upon their 
cost, who shall set up the same for the advantage of Hassa- 
namisco. 

October 3, 1728. — Whereas, Capt. Benjamin Willard, of 
Hassanamisco, Capt. Nathan Brigham, Mr. John Sherman, 
both of Marlborough, being chosen a committee to view 
places for a saw-mill or mills in Hassanamisco, by the pro- 
prietors of the same, as may appear bj' a vote more largely, 
and to agree with a person or persons to build said mill or 
mills for the advantage of Hassanamisco. The above said 
do agree with Mr. Ebenezer Wheeler, of Concord, Mr. 



54 HISTORY OF ftEAFTON. 

William Rogers, of Wenham, and John Davis, of Ipswich, 
and Simon Willard, of said Hassanamisco, equally to them 
and their respective heirs, the use and benefit of, or at, a cer- 
tain stream which is running into a river called the Black 
Stones River, to hnild or erect a mill or mills, or dam or 
dams upon, as occasion may be, so long as the said persons 
shall continue a mill or mills on said stream, and to have all 
privileges and conveniences for said mill or mills, as occa- 
sion shall servo, during said terms. And in case that the 
said mill or mills cease being continued on said stream for 
the space of three years at any time, then the privileges to 
be forfeited and to be at the dispose of said proprietors ; and 
the said persons above mentioned do promise to build a mill 
or mills so as to go to the next season, 1729, and the said 
persons or their heirs shall have free liberty to dig generally 
for the said mill or mills, as occasion shall serve, in any of 
the undivided lands, or dam or dams. It is to be understood 
that the privileges above mentioned shall extend to the mill 
or mills, or stream, no further than the undivided lands that 
is, or shall be. The committee above said to stake out lands 
convenient for the accommodating of said mill or mills. 

Ebenezee Wheelee. 
William Rogees. 
John Davis. 
Simeon Willaed. 
Benjamin Willaed. 
John Sheeman. 
Nathan Brigham. 

The land laid out for the mill was as follows: Below 
Moses Printer's land, and beginning at a pine tree on the 
south side of the river, near Lieutenant Brigham's meadow ; 
thence southeasterly to a marked pine tree and southerly to 
a stake ; thence about westei'ly to a marked maple tree by 
the river ; thence northerly to a dead pine ; thence to the 
point first named ; about five acres. 



KECOEDS. 55 

November 5, 1728. — A meeting was held at the same 
place as the above. The committee on mills reported that 
they had agreed with Ebenezer Wheeler, William Rogers, 
John Davis and Simon Willard, to erect a mill or mills. A 
piece of land was sold to Henry Flint, Esq. 

February 18, 1729. — The meeting was held at the house 
as above. The money due from Thomas Pratt, for his lands, 
was appropriated for the building of the meeting-house. 
Samuel Chandler was appointed to take charge of the 
bridges, and see they are maintained. 

March 18, 1729. — This meeting was held in Concord, at 
the house of Jonathan Balls. John Sherman was added to 
the committee to take charge of the bridges. Yoied, to 
build a school house. 

May 20, 1729. — At Jonathan Rice's house, in Sudbury, 
Jonas Houghton was chosen to lay out the minister's second 
division of land. John Sherman and Zerubbable Eager 
were chosen to treat with Elislia Johnson about the land 
called the Eleven acres, where John Ward's house and barn 
stands. 

January 6, 1730. — At the house of Jonathan Rice. 
Voted, to lay out three acres to each proprietor's thirty 
acres of land, for the third division. Voted, to raise seven 
pounds of money on each proprietor for the finishing of the 
meeting-house and school-house, the said money to be paid 
in two payments. 

March 31, 1730. — Yoted, to continue the preaching of the 
gospel here, and to support the same until June 1st. John 
Sherman and Thomas Drury were chosen to provide a 
minister. 

May 21, 1730. — Joseph Willard was authorized to sell 
4,472 feet of boards and make a return. Thomas Pratt 
was chosen to take charge of the minister's meadow. Yoted, 
to lay out a road from John Ward's to the county road. 
Thomas Drury, Samuel Biglo and Phineas Rice were chosen 



56 HISTOEY OF GEA^TO^f. 

a committee to take charge of the raising of the meeting- ■ 
house. Voted, to raise ten shillings on eacli proprietor to 
defray the expenses of raising. 

March 19, 1731. — Meeting held in the meeting-house. 
Voted, to continue preaching till the third Tuesday in May. 
Phiueas Rice, Samuel Cooper and Jonathan Morse were 
chosen a committee to provide for a minister. 

May 18, 1731. — Thomas Pratt and James Lealand were 
chosen to provide a minister here until further orders. 

June 23, 1731. — Voted, to go on and complete the meet- 
ing-house as speedily' as may be, according to the best of- 
our judgment and discretion, agreeable to tiie former vote, 
notwithstanding the difficulties arising by the decrees of 
Benjamin Kand. Voted, to hold a fast on the'first Tuesday 
of September, in order to call and settle a minister among 
ns. James Whipple and Thomas Drury were chosen a 
committee to go to some reverend elders to desire their 
assistance in carrying on the work of this day. Benjamin 
AVillard, Zerubbable Eager, Ebenezer Wheeler, James 
Whipple, Phiueas Rice, were chosen a committee to confer 
with some reverend ministers. Voted, to raise twenty shil- 
lings upon each proprietor for the support of the gospel 
and other necessary charges. 

September, 1731. — Voted, to call Rev. Solomon Prentice 
for minister in the work of the gospel. Voted, to give 
ninety pounds passable money, or bills of publick credit, 
annually, for the support of Rev. Solomon Prentice, as 
money now passes from man to man, or as the valuation of 
money shall be from time to time, or as money rises and 
falls. Richard Taylor and Jonathan Rice were chosen a 
committee to wait upon Mr. Prentice and notify him of the 
call. 

October 12, 1731. — Voted, to add ten pounds to the sum 
already named to the salary of Mr. Prentice, if he 
accepts. 



BEC0ED8. 57 

November, 1731. — Isaac Barnard, Phineas Rice, Nathaniel 
Sherman, Thomaa Drary, Jonathan Hall, were chosen to 
appoint a day for the ordination of Rev. Solomon Prentice. 
Yoted, to raise twenty shillings on each proprietor to defray 
the expenses of ordination. 

December 29, 1731. — " We, whose names are hereunto 
subscribed, having been acquainted with Mr. Solomon Pren- 
tice, of Cambridge, in the County of Middlesex, in the 
Province of the Massachusetts Bay in New England, and 
know his qualifications for the gospel ministry, do approve 
and recommend him thereunto when it shall please God in 
his Providence to call him to engage in it, and heartily pray 
he may prove a blessing to the churches. 

Caleb Teowbeidge. 
Nathaniel Applbton. 
Ebenbzbk Paekman." 

Accordingly, the Rev. Solomon Prentice was ordained 
pastor of a church of Christ in Hassanamisco. 

March 20, 1732. — John Sherman, Samuel Chandler, 
Phineas Rice, were chosen a committee in behalf of the 
proprietors, to see if the Indians have their shares of lands 
equal with the others, and to make them equal if wanting, 
and tliey were to confer with the trustees for the Indians. 
Cliarles Brigham, Simon Gates and Samuel Stow were 
chosen collectors. 

May 16, 1732. — Nehemiah How, Samuel Chandler and 
Jonas Houghton were chosen a committee to adjust the 
treasurer's accounts. 

July 11, 1732. — It was voted not to grant any money to 
defray the charges of completing the meeting and school- 
houses. The following committee were chosen to seat the 
meeting-house : Thomas Drury for the nine English fami- 
lies, Zerubbable Eager, Ebenezer Wheeler, Phineas Rice, 
Richard Taylor, in behalf of the proprietors, and also to 
dispose of the pew rooms to their best judgment. 
8 



58 HISTOET OF GKATTON. 

August 22, 1732. — Voted, to raise twenty shillings upon 
each proprietor towards the salary for Rev. Solomon Pren- 
tice, from December 29, 1731, to December 29, 1732. 

March 27, 1733. — John Sherman and Joseph Willard 
were chosen a committee to act in behalf of the proprietors, 
at the next Inferior Court, to be held at Worcester, to see 
that the bridges over Black Stones Kiver be built and put 
in good repair from time to time, at the cost and charge of 
Elisha Johnson, or his successors, according to the act of 
the General Court. Nathaniel Sherman and Phineas Rice 
were chosen to examine the mason work of the meeting- 
house, and ascertain if the work was done in a workman- 
like manner and well. 

June 12, 1733.— Charles Brigham, Nehemiah How, Dea. 
James Whipple, were chosen a committee to ascertain the 
difference between Isaac Temple and John Cotter, relative 
to their third division of land. 

August 7, 1733. — Phineas Rice, Zerubbable Eager and 
Nehemiah How, were chosen a committee to make answer 
to the General Court in person, why the prayer of Capt. 
Elisha Johnson should not be granted. They were also 
chosen to confer with him according to their discretion. 
Note, that John Ward " decented " against the article of 
agreement with the said Johnson. Yoted, to raise forty 
shillings on each proprietor to pay the salary of Rev. Solo- 
mon Prentice. 

December 26, 1733. — Charles Brigham, David Herring- 
ton, Ebenezer Wheeler, were chosen collectors. 

January 16, 1734. — Yoted, to raise forty pounds to defray 
the necessary charge which effects the farmers as well as the 
proprietors. Col. John Chandler, of Worcester, Samuel 
Chandler, of Concord, and Jonathan Rice, of Sndbury, 
were chosen a committee to make Hassanamisco a town, 



EECOEDB. 59 

their expenses to be paid out of the public treasury. At 
this time the treasurer's account was rendered, and the 
amount raised was £1,04:3. 

June 16, 1734. — Nehemiah How, John Sherman, Fhineas 
Kice, were chosen a committee to discourse with Mr. Pren- 
tice respecting his salary. 

September 12, 1734. — Yoted, to give Mr. Prentice twenty 
pounds as a consideration of the value of bills of credit 
sinking. Yoted, to raise one hundred and twenty pounds 
of bills of credit, as they now pass from man to man, to 
pay Mr. Prentice's salary. 

November 26, 1734. — Thomas Pratt, John Sherman, John 
Hunt, were chosen collectors. Nathaniel Sherman, Joseph 
Willard, Thomas Pratt, were chosen a committee to stake 
out a burying-place or field. Isaac Temple, Kichard Tay- 
lor, Samuel Stow, were chosen to examine the school-house 
and see if it was built according to the order of the General 
Court. The two first collectors chosen refused to serve, and 
John Warring and Samuel Hall were chosen in their place 
to fill vacancies. 

January 28, 1735. — The committee chosen to set out the 
land for the burying-place, were directed to stake out three 
acres, if to be found, and report. 

"/« the House of Representatives, April y" 17, 1735 : 

Okdeeed, that Mr. Thomas Pratt, one of y® prisable in- 
habitants of the new town lately made, at the plantation 
called Hassanamisco, in y" County of Worcester, be, and 
hereby is, fully authorized and empowered to assemble the 
freeholders and other qualified voters to make choice of 
town officers, to stand until the anniversary meeting in 
March next. 

Sent up for concurrence. 

J. QUINCT, Speaker. 



60 HISTORY OF GEAPTON. 

In Council, April y' 1 8, 1735 : 

Head and concurred. 

T. MASON, Dep. Secfy. 

A true copy. Consented to. 

J. BELCHEE. 

Examined. 

THAD. MASON, Dep. SeetyP 

January 11, 1736. — The committee chosen to confer with 
Capt. Elisha Johnson in relation to the two bridges over the 
Blackstone River, reported they accepted the said bridges, 
and received one bond for fifty pounds in behalf of the 
said proprietors. The report was accepted. 

December 28, 1736. — Isaac Temple was chosen collector. 
John Sherman, Samuel Stow, Phineas Eice, were chosen a 
committee to take charge of the highways and lay out any 
that were necessary. 

The following is a copy of a deed from the proprietors' 
committee, chosen to lay out the lands, to an individual 
proprietor : — 

" March 29, 1729. 

Laid out for Samuel Brigham two acres and one hundred 
and twenty-six rods of land in Hassanamisco, for allowance 
for a highway through said Brigham land. It lies in the 
lower end of the swamp, which is next to Drury's farm. It 
bounds northeasterly by the river, southwesterly partly by 
the river, southeast and northeasterly by common. It 
begins at a stake at the river by the north side of a spring 
hole that runs into said river, and runs east thirty deg. 
north twenty rods to a stake, then north thirty deg. west 



EECOKDS. 61 

twenty rods, and then it runs by said river mostly to where 
it first began. 
Surveyed by 

JONAS HOUGHTON. 

This part allowed for a highway. 

THOMAS PRATT, ) ^ ... 
JOSEPH WILLAED, 5 ^o'"^^''-"^^- 

A true copy from the Proprietors' Records. 

Attest. 

THADDEUS EEAD, Proprietor's Clerk." 

We now come to the period when this place became a 
town under its present name. The act of incorporation put 
the inhabitants under the same obligations to support school- 
ing and preaching, free of charge for the Indians, which the 
original proprietors had been .under, and when the property 
was conveyed to the town it was upon condition that the 
town should relieve the proprietors from their obligations to 
the trustees for the Indians.* But the bond for that pur- 
pose was not given until 1773,t or nearly thirty-five years 
after the property was conveyed to the town. There is too 
much reason to fear that this unaccountable and inexcusable 
neglect is indicative of the loose manner in which the busi- 
ness relating to the Indians was generally conducted. 
Unfortunately the record in relation to the Indians is not 
altogether such as we could desire, though perhaps the State 
authorities are more at fault than the ofiicers of tlie town. 
The price paid for the land, £2,500, was held by trustees 
appointed by the State, in trust for the Lidians. Of this 
sum, which the State received in gold and silver coin, 
$1,330.89 were lost by substituting therefor depreciated 
paper currency in 1745. Between the years 1772 and 1796, 
the trustees having permitted one of their number to 
become indebted to the fund, on his own personal obligation, 

* Proprietors' Records, p. 91. f Ibid., p. 141. 



62 HISTOKY OF GBAITON. 

to the amount of $1,327.49^, this sura was lost. And then 
prior to July, 1841, the small remnant of the fund, together 
■with some that had been added by sale of other land, was 
invested in " such securities that neither principal nor inter- 
est was ever paid." It certainly seems as if the descendants 
of these Indians have good ground of complaint against 
somebody. 

There is a tradition in reference to the first white man 
who spent a winter in the town. I have not learned either 
the name of the man, or the time when he was here,* but he 
is said to have come from Marlborough for the purpose of 
wintering some cattle upon the hay which had been cut from 
the meadows in what is known as " The Farms."! Sis hut 
was built near the present residence of Mr. Seth J. Axtell, 
and under the shelter of a large rock, which is plainly visi- 
ble from tlie road. And now that I am speaking of the 
first white man owning land, and of the first white man 
spending a winter here, it will be of interest to know that 
the mother of the first white child born here lies in the old 
burying ground. A few years since Capt. Benjamin Kings- 
bury cleared off the old tombstone, and learned from the 
inscription upon it that Mrs. Martha Willard was the wife 
of Major Joseph Willard, and the mother of the first white 
child born in town ; that she died June 3, 1794, in the 
100th year of her age, leaving twelve children, ninety 
grandchildren, two hundred and twenty-six .great-grand- 
children, and fifty-three of the fifth generation. Some of 
the latter, as well as of the sixth and seventh generations, 
and probably of the eighth, are still living in town, and 
more are scattered elsewhere. So far the command to 
"be fruitful and multiply, and replenish the earth," was 
fulfilled in her case. 

The course pursued by the proprietors shows that they 

* Eev. E. Frank. Howe's Oration, pp. 11, 12. 

tThis district derives its name from the fact that it was originally the 
farm of a single proprietor. 



PETITION. 63 

held their land, particularly the low swamp land, at a most 
extravagant estimate. They were continually haunted with 
fears that they should not have land enough ; and that the 
time would soon come when no more could be obtained. It 
was, therefore, an object with all to get as much within their 
grasp as possible ; and he who had the most meadow or 
swamp land thought he had the best farm, and gloried in 
the idea that he should be able to leave so valuable an in- 
heritance to his children. Nor did they place a less value 
on their wood. The very first year of the settlement, when 
the place was comparatively a wilderness, a committee was 
appointed to prevent the cutting of wood and timber on the 
common lands, as though their value would thereby be 
diminished, or the interests of the proprietors injured ! 

In 1738, Samuel Chandler and others petitioned the Gen- 
eral Court, styling themselves " a committee for and in the 
behalf of the original proprietors of Hassan amisco," and 
asking that they be released from their bond to maintain 
preaching and schooling for the Indians. The following 
year, December, 1739, the town sent in a petition, through 
their attorney, William Brattle, Esq., of Boston, as fol- 
lows : — 

" To His Excellency Jonathan Belcheb, Esq., Captain Gen- 
eral and Governor-in- Chief, to the Honorable His 
Majesty's Council and House of Sepresentatives, in 
General Court assembled, the 15th of December, 
1739. 

The petition of the proprietors and the town of Grafton 
sheweth that on the 30th of May last there was a petition 
preferred to this honorable court, signed by Samuel Chand- 
ler and others, as they styled themselves a committee for 
and in the behalf of the original proprietors of Hassa- 
namisco, complaining of said town for that they prefer to 
remove the Indians out of their seats, etc. Wherefore they 



64 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

pray that they may be released from their bond to main- 
tain preaching and schooling for the Indians. As to which 
petition tlie proprietors and town of Grafton beg leave to 
say: That said committee was chose a year and a half ago, 
not to complain of the town as they have done, but upon 
another affair, and therefore they had nt) right so to do, 
doing it of their own hands, and not 'probond' that they 
therein acted the minds of the proprietors of the town of 
Grafton. That as soon as the proprietors heard what the 
committee had done, they called a meeting and dismissed 
said committee, and on the 20th of last October voted that 
the petition should be withdrawn (by the court's leave), as 
by the report. By which the said proprietors and town do 
not by any means propose to hurt the Indians or original 
proprietors, but are sincerely desirous that both may be 
served, and tliat all tlie good ends and purposes designed 
by the General Court, relating to the Indians, might be 
fully answered. 

Wherefore the town of Grafton, December 3d, voted 
that they would forever hereafter perform and accomplish 
all and singular, the obligations which the fir^t proprietors 
were bound to, respecting the maintenance of preaching and 
schooling for the Indians, and that they would do both for 
them and their posterity forever, without their being put to 
the least cost or charge. The case being thus, it appears 
plain to a demonstration that your petitioners have no desire 
to evade the force of any act or order, made in favor of the 
Indians, but are desirous that the town might have that bur- 
den laid upon them, which at present lays upon the original 
grantees, and that they may be under the severest penalties 
if they do not, in any punctilio, perform their duty to the 
Indians, both for their souls and bodies. As to the contro- 
versy between the old proprietors and the new, or between 
the proprietors and the town, respecting pews, this is a mat- 
ter respecting property, and therefore only cognizable in the 
common law courts. There are two questions arising : 



PETITION. 65 

First. — Wliether this honorable court will sustain the 
petition of Mr. Chandler and others any longer, or act any- 
thing further upon it ? Your petitioners apprehend you 
will not, because they are dismissed from acting as a com- 
mittee, and that as soon as the proprietors knew of their 
petitioning in their names, and on their behalf, they legally 
met and voted that with the court's leave the petition should 
be withdrawn, though both old and new proprietors and 
town are desirous that the former may be discharged of their 
bonds as aforesaid. 

The second question is, whether it will not answer every 
good, and as well, if not better for the town, to take all 
that upon themselves which were enjoined the first pro- 
prietors ? Your petitioners apprehend, in the first place, 
that it may prevent contention between the town proprie- 
tors and Indians, which ought always to be left off before it 
be meddled with. Secondly. — The town are as able to per- 
form said obligation as the proprietors, and it seems most 
natural that since they lived upon the spot and owned the 
lands themselves, that they should perform the obligations 
that were annexed to the land, or rather sprang from it, and 
should the town fail in their duty, it is more easy to oblige 
them to do it than it is a number of scattered proprietors, 
all over this province. Since, then, it is the united desire of 
the old proprietors, the new proprietors and the town of 
Grafton, that the burden laid upon the former might be 
taken off from their shoulders and put upon the latter, your 
petitioners pray that the bonds given by the old proprietors 
may be cancelled, and that the town might do and peform 
all that was enjoined said proprietors, and as in duty bound 
shall ever pray. 

WM. BRATTLE, Attorney." 

The following petition was presented to the General 
Court by Ebenezer Cutler, Obadiah Newton, Noah Brooks, 
9 



66 HISTOET 0¥ GEAFTOSr. 

David Eeed, inhabitants of Shrewsbury ; Amos Davis, Sut- 
ton ; Thomas Pratt, Joseph Willard, Charles Brigham, 
Abner Stow, selectmen of Grafton ; Joseph Willard, Aaron 
Hardy, Ebenezer Brooks, of Grafton, and owners of the 
land referred to below, and granted November 28, 1741 : — 

" To Sis Excellency William Shielet, Esq., Captain Gen- . 
eral and Commander-in-Chief in and over His 
Majesty's Province of the Massachusetts Bay, in New 
England. 

To the Honorable His Majesty's Council and House of 
Representatives, in General Court assembled. 

The petition of Ebenezer Cutler and sundry other inhab- 
itants of Shrewsbui-y, in Worcester County, in New Eng- 
land, Amos Davis, of Sutton, in conjunction with the town 
of Grafton, humbly sheweth. May it please your Excel- 
lency and Honorables : Whereas, upon consideration of the 
great distance some of your petitioners subscribed hereunto 
dwell from the place of publick worship in the respective 
towns they belong unto, we, the inhabitants of Shrewsbury, 
made our application to said town praying that they would 
consider our case and vote us oflf from them, that we might 
be in a way to get annexed with the town of Grafton, nigh 
unto which we dwell, and with great conveniency can attend 
the public worship of God there, and accordingly do, and 
have done, almost ever since it has been maintained, there 
being nothing abated in our dues or taxes at Shrewsbury, 
which prayer the town was pleased to grant, as appears of 
record on the town records at Shrewsbury. 

Your petitioners therefore humbly pray, together with the 
town of Grafton, that your petitioners, with their lands, ac- 
cording to the vote and procedure of the town of Shrews- 
bury, as also all that strip or point of Sutton lands that lay 
between said Shrewsbury and Grafton, which is about two 
miles and a half from Grafton meeting-house, and about 



6LAVEKY IN TOWN. 67 

eight miles from Sutton, on which only Amos Davis lives, 
the chief of which is now possessed by said Davis and the 
inhabitants of Grafton, who are also petitioners and sub- 
scribers hereunto, or as much thereof as this honorable 
court, in their great wisdom, shall see meet, may be taken 
off from Shrewsbury and Sutton and annexed to Grafton, 
which will exceedingly commodate us and lay us under the 
strongest obligations of gratitude and obedience. And 
your petitioners, with the greatest alacrity, as in duty bound, 
shall ever pray, etc." 

Some will undoubtedly be. surprised to learn that negro 
slavery ever existed in this town ; yet such is the fact. At 
what time slaves were first brought here is not known ; but 
in 1756, six of the eighty-eight slaves, of sixteen years of 
age and upwards, then belonging to the County of Worces- 
ter, were owned by persons resident here. As this was the 
period when slaves were the most numerous in Massachu- 
setts, it is probable that this number did not afterwards in- 
crease. Two or three of these slaves went into the service 
in the French war ; and one of them acted as trumpeter, in 
which art he is said to have excelled. 

After the close of the French war, another period of 
prosperity followed. This town, like the rest of New Eng- 
land, gradually recovered from the shock it then received. 
Canada was conquered, and peace was established. The 
fears which had so long been entertained from that quarter 
ceased to be felt ; and the whole people appeared to enjoy a 
security that they had never before realized. Their atten- 
tion was again turned to the cultivation of the soil, and the 
development of their own resources. Agriculture in- 
creased ; manufactures received a new impulse ; and com- 
merce agaia revived. But in this period of repose, they 
did not forget the art of war. The new race of soldiers, 
then growing up, imbibed the military spirit which constant 
war had so long cherished. This was but an armistice, 



68 HISTOBY OF GRAJTON. 

during which the people recovered from former losses and 
misfortunes, and made preparations for the emergency, soon 
to arrive, when they were to meet in deadly conflict with 
those whom, before, they had called upon for aid and pro- 
tection. 

The course pursued by the British government towards 
the colonies, produced a strong and universal feeling of dis- 
content; and the early and manly resistance of the people 
of Boston to aggression, met with the approbation of the 
people throughout the Province. In the great contest, 
which severed this country from the British dominions, the 
people of this town were not idle spectators, but felt in it a 
strong and deep interest. The losses and sufferings endured 
in the French war were still fresh in their memories ; yet 
this did not serve to abate their spirit, but made them more 
tenacious of their rights, and caused them to place a higher 
value on their privileges. 

In 1765, there were fourteen Indians in town. This num- 
ber gradually diminished ; but it was not till about 1825 that 
the " last of the Nipmucks " ceased to exist. They received 
their yearly income from their fund in the month of May,, 
at which time they usually had a joyous holiday. Blankets, 
psalters and psalm-books, were distributed among them, as 
well as money. 

In 1830, there were fourteen of a mixed Indian and negro 
race, which still held some of the Indian lands and received 
the benefit of the small remaining fund. 

From 1773 nothing of peculiar importance occurred in 
the civil history of the town for a number of years. It 
continued gradually to increase in wealth and population. 
The enterprising character of its inhabitants, united with an 
untiring industry, soon erected for them convenient dwel- 
lings, and brought into view, on every side, cultivated fields, 
and each one enjoyed to the fullest extent the benefit of his 
labors, and seemed almost to realize his fondest hope-^that 
of being the owner of a large and well cultivated farm. 



GEAFTON EOAD. 69 

The people were no longer contented merely with the neces- 
saries, but began to seek for the luxuries of life. The log 
lint disappeared ; and the spacious fire-place, and the almost 
fathomless oven, were found in every man's habitation. 

This state of prosperity continued till the beginning of 
the Revolutionary war, when again, as at the time of the 
French war, the population diminished, and a season of 
reverses followed. 

The following is a copy of a petition relative to the lay- 
ing out of the "Grafton road," so called, from Grafton to 
Upton, August 25, 1764 :— 

" "WOKOESTEK, SS. 

Anno Regni Regis Georgi Y' Secundus Magna Brit- 
tanne Framecae et Hiberniea Quarto. 

At a Court of General Sessions of the Peace, held at Wor- 
cester, within and for the County of Worcester, on the 
third Tuesday of August, being the 25th day of said 
month, Anno Domini 1764. 

The committee appointed at the last session, upon the 
petition of sundry persons, inhabitants of the town of Men- 
don, to lay out a county road from Grafton to Mr. Peter 
Holbrook's mill, in Upton, by the house of Samuel War- 
rins to Ebenezer Wheeler's, etc., made report to this court 
that pursuant to their orders they notified all persons inter- 
ested, and having mot, and after a full hearing viewed, 
marked, and laid out said road, as follows : Beginning at 
Peter Holbrook's mill, at Upton, at a large rock the north- 
erly side of said road, then as the fence now stands to a 
causeway between the said mill and the house of John 
flewzeltine, Esq. ; thence as the fence now stands to a heap 
of stones near said Hewzeltine's ; bourne thence to a heap 
of stones by a stone wall ; and thence as the wall now 
stands to a maple tree marked in David Wood's land ; thence 
to a small poplar ; thence to a heap of stones on a rock to a 



70 HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 

heap of stones to the northerly side of said Wood's house ; 
thence to a walnut ; thence to an oak ; thence to a white oak ; 
thence to a wall in Grafton ; thence to an oak ; thence to an 
oak ; thence to an oak in Hezekiah Ward's laud ; thence to 
a maple ; then to a walnut ; then to a white oak ; then to a 
black oak ; then to a heap of stones ; then to a black oak, 
west side of said Ward's house, to a large rock in the wall ; 
then turning out of the town road more westerly, to a heap 
of stones on a large rock ; then to a red oak, near the line 
of said Ward's and Benjamin Thurston's land, to a walnut; 
to a heap of stones ; to a heap of stones ; to stones on a 
rock ; to a heap of stones ; to a black oak ; to stones round 
a small white oak bush on the Indian burying-place ; then 
to a white oak ; then to a small oak ; then to a small black 
oak ; then to a white oak ; then to an oak ; then to a black 
oak in Joseph Goodale's land ; then to a black oak ; then to 
a heap of stones between Joseph Goodale and Ebenezer 
Wheeler's land ; then to a heap of stones on a rock ; then to 
a heap of stones by the corner of said Wheeler's stone 
wall; then to aheap of stones near said Wheeler's house; 
then running by the south side of said Wheeler's corn-house 
into the town road, and from thence in the town road until 
it meets the county road, near the house of Josiali Rawson 
in the said road, to be three rods wide except from the 
causeway between Peter Holbrook's and John Hewzeltine, 
Esq.'s, barn-yard, to be but two rods wide ; and also one other 
piece of said road, between Ebenezer Wheeler's house and 
Hezekiah Taylor's house, to be as the fence now stands, and 
the above marks and bounds are all on the northerly side of 
said road, as by said report on file appears. Read and ac- 
cepted, and ordered that the road aforesaid, as laid out and 

described by said committee, be and after known for 

a publick highway. 

The said committee further report, that having considered 
and estimated the damages the several persons sustain by 



GEAFTON EOAD. 71 

having said road laid through their land, excepting sach as 
have freely given the same, as follows, viz. : — 
To Benjamin Thurston, sixteen pounds. 
" Joseph Goodale, three pounds. 
" Ebenezer Wheeler, eight pounds. 

Total, twenty-seven pounds. 

It is therefore further ordered, that the town of Grafton 
pay the aforesaid sums to the said Benjamin Thurston, 
Joseph Goodale and Ebenezer Wheeler, in full for the dam- 
ages sustained by them, by means of said road being laid 
out through their lands.* 

TIMOTHY PAINE, Clerh. 

Signed by 

BENJ^. THURSTON, Jk." 

fApril 10, 1758. — Ebenezer Wheeler, Jr., enlisted to go 
to Canada, and on the 23d he marched to Worcester, and 
returned home on the 5th of November. 

April 2, 1759. — Ebenezer and Jonathan Wheeler enlisted 
to go to Canada ; on the lOtla they marched for the Lake ; 
Jonathan returned November 27th, but poor Ebenezer went 
away with Rogers, September 13th, and never returned. 

May 5, 1761. — Then there was a terrible storm of snow, 
and the snow came of considerable depth, and it was a very 
extraordinary time, for the plum trees ware all in blow, and 
some apple trees and peach trees ware blowed. But the 
snow went all off the next day, and the water run like little 
rivers on the ground. 

July 6, 1766. — James Wheeler enlisted in Joseph Warrins' 
company, and arrived in New York, August 1st. On the 



* This road was known as Grafton road. 

t These thirteen Items were copied from the book now in possession 
of Hon. Jonathan D. Wheeler, which was kept by Col. Jonathan 
Wheeler. 



72 HISTOET OF GRAFTON. 

20th o£ August he was drafted out to go to Bennington, 
and on the 22d he marched, and on the 25th arrived home 
with the other Grafton men, for they were not wanted. He 
again enlisted September 27, 1777, and marched to Still- 
water. 

September 2, 1774. — Then Grafton was rallied, with 
other towns, to go to Boston on the account of the powder 
is being taken away by the Regulars ; also September 6th, 
the people were all rallied again to go to Worcester, on ac- 
count of the Torrymen and of the court's setting. 

April 19, 1775. — This day James Wheeler marched, with 
many more from Grafton, to go to. Cambridge, for they 
were distressed there with an army of Regulars, and these 
men from Grafton marched all night, neither did they give 
sleep to their eyes nor slumber to their eyelids that night. 
It is a night much to. be remembered. 

May 19, 1775. — James Wheeler was in the Continental 
armj just one month, being discharged on this date. 

May 15, 1777. — Then James Wheeler was drawed out or 
pressed to go into the war, and his father, Ebenezer 
Wheeler, paid a fine of ten pounds lawful money for 
him. 

December 26, 1778. — There were several persons froze to 
death, especially one man with his horse. Fourteen persons 
were froze on Boston Neck. 

May 7, 1780. — There was snow on Mr. Joseph Batch- 
elor's ground four foot deep, and the eighth day of May 
there was a good deal of snow to be seen on the said 
ground, and did not go off for some days after. I believe 
that the oldest person in New England never saw so much 
snow oh the ground at once in New England, as there has 
been this winter, for many places lay covered with snow 
above five months, and many foot deep a great part of the 
time. A very severe winter indeed. Oh that we may — . 



DEATH EECOED. 73 

July 27, 1780. — There was such darkness that the men 
could not see to work without a candle during the day. 
The hens went to roost. The darkness was such as made 
our hearts to tremble. It was on Friday. This ought to 
be remembered. And the night, was as dark likewise. The 
following day was a very uncommon light ; as uncommon as 
was the dark. 

July 12, 1791. — Then there was a dreadful thunder storm, 
and Mr. Benjamin May had his barn burnt by lightning. 

March 16, 1796. — In a very tedious storm we hear that 
there was a man froze to death near Mendon, and as people 
say that he was standing right upou his feet when he was 
dead. 

COPY OF A RECORD OF DEATHS NOW IN POSSESSION OF 
HON. JONATHAN D. WHEELER. 

Grafton, October y 16, 1753, then Jonathan. 

" December y 16, 1753, then the widow Deborah. 
" August y" 9, 1754, then Mr. Semson died. 
" September y 7, 1754, then Tabathy Warrin died. 
" September y« 30, 1754, then the widow Stephen. 
January y» 2, 1755, Charles Brigham, Jr., died. 
July, in the year 1764, then Annas, Negro babe, died. 
January, in the year 1755, then Annas, negro woman, died. 
May y 20, 1755, then Joseph Anthony died ; a negro man. 
April, in the year 1755, then Peter Larrons died ; an Indian. 
September y» 9, 1755, then the widow Sirasson died. 

" 8, 1756, then John Warrin was killed in the morning. 

Died in the war. 
December y» 2, 1756, then the child of William Holbrook died. 
In the year 1755, Joseph Pick was killed at Cappertune. Joseph 
Dreen died at Swaggo, the same year. Both died in the war. 
Samuel Adams died at Swaggo, the same year. 
Moses Whitmore died there also. 

Solomon Grover died at Lake Gorg [George], the same year. 
March y 2, 1756, Mrs. Childs died. 
May y" 6, 1756, then John Holbrook died. 

" 27, 1756, then Marsy Printer died; an Indian garl. 
August y= 6, 1766, then the child of Thomas AxtUl died. 
10 



74 HI8T0ET OF GEAFTON, 

September y« 3, 1756, then the child of Moses Ager died. 
" 5, 1756, then another of his children died. 

" 19, 1756, then the wife of Moses Ager died. 

October y 15, 1756, then Peter Larrons died ; an Indian man. 

" 26, 1756, then the son of Joseph Whipple died. 
November y 11, 1766, then the child of David Hearinton died. 

29, 1756, then old Mr. Allen died. 
October, in the year 1756, the child of John Shiarmon died. 
January j' 9, 1757, then Mrs. Wesson's child died. 

" 11, 1757, then Mr. Wesson's wife died in child-bed. 
April y« 26, 1757, then the child of Paul Hezelton died. 
August y" 30, 1757, then Joshua Whenchester died. 
September y 7, 1757, then the child of Mr. Furbush died. 
" 1757, then the child of Jacob Whipple died. 

5, 1757, then the child of Benjamin Wood died. 
" then Charles Bruse died at the Camps, or 

horsptell. 

September y» 20, 1758, another of Benjamin Wood's children died. 

" 1758, then Moses Perry died, in the serves of wai\ 

October, 1768, the child of Aaron Kimball died. 
November y 3, 1758, then Cesor Ward died: a negro man. 

14, 1758, then Mrs. Fletcher died. 
About this time Aseph Lathe died, a coming home from the army. 
November y 27, 1758, then the child of Deacon Joseph Merriam 
died. 
February y 8, 1759, then James Whipple died. 

About the 12th and 13th of March, 1759, I understand there died three 
children, but I do not know who they ware. 
March y 16, 1759, then Nathaniel Steedman died. 

" 25, 1769, then Deborah Mischo died; an Indian. 
" 31, 1759, then John Phini died at Mr. Printase's. 
April y 22, 1759, then Anna Batchelor died. 

" 1759, then the child of Aaron Brigham died. 
" 24, 1759, then Susannah Batchelor died. 
May y 1, 1769, then Jeremiah Batchelor died. 
July y 2, 1769, then the child of Peter Fisk died. 

" 3, 1769, then the child of Bphraim Sharnon died. 
" 1769, then Mr. Brooks' child died. 

August, 1759, then Mary Waight died. 

October y 22, 1759, then Susannah Pratt died ; wife of Phinehas. 
November y« 22, 1759, then the widow Whipple died. 
December y« 9, 1759, then old Mr. Goddard died. 
October y" 24, 1769, then Ebenezer Wheeler, Jr., was left to die on a 
mountain, large' and high, not far from the upper country. 
May y« 3, 1760, then Daniel Rice died. 



ACT TO PREVENT MONOPOLY AND 0PPEES8I0N. 



75 



The following gives the number of deaths each year, from 
1753 to 1779 :— 



1753 . 

1754 . 

1755 . 

1756 . 
1757, 

1758 , 

1759 . 
1760, 
1761 , 
1762, 
1763, 

1764 , 

1765 , 

1766 . 



2 


1767 


4 


1768 


12 


1769 


13 


1770 


8 


1771 


7 


1772 


19 


1773 


7 


1774 


6 


1775 


6 


1776 


6 


1777 


8 


1778 


13 




5 





11 
11 

13 

4 

8 

9 

17 

11 

36 

54 

28 

20 



Total 336 



" Old Mr. G. Perry was y" 375tli parson that had died in Grafton, and 
of Grafton people, since y year 1753. These have died and been killed 
In war; all Grafton people." — From Hon. Jona. D. Wheeler's Record. 



In 1777, agreeable to act of Conrt, entitled " An act to 
prevent monopoly and oppression," the selectmen and com- 
mittee of the town of Grafton, have met, and afiS.xt, and 
settled the price of articles hereafter mentioned, viz: — 

8. d. 

Wheat, Good and merchantable at 6/8 per bushel . 6 8 

Rye Good and merchantable rye 4/4 4 4 

Indian Corn and merchantable at 3/2 3 2 

Wool Good and merchantable at 2/ per lb 2 — 

Pork Fresh pork well fatted and of good quality 

at 4'' per pound 4 

Pork Salt good midlings at 8'' ; 2d quality in pro- 
portion 8 

Beef Good well fatted grass fed at 2^ S'"* per 

pound 2f 

" 2d quality in equal proportion. 



76 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

Beef Stallfed well fatted 3" 31" per pound 3f 

Hides Raw at /3 per pound and Raw Calf at /6'^ 

per pound 3 

Cheese good of the first quality at /S"* 2"i"* 5| 

Butter at /9 pr single pound, — by the firkin /8 pr 

pound /8 

Pees good at 7/ pr bushel 7/ 

Beans good at 6/ per bushel 5/ 

Potatoes good in the fall at 1/ per bus., in spring 

1/4'i 1/ 1 

Stockings best yarn at 6/ pr pair 6/ 

Shoes men's made of neats leather at 7/6 7/ 6 

Barley good at 3/8* 3/ 8 

Oats good at 1/9 per bushel V ^ 

Innholders for a meal of victuals of their best kind 

not to exceed 1/ 6 

And of common kind 8'' /8 

Phlip made of the best New England rum at /8'' 

pr mug /8 

And made from West India rum not to ex- 
ceed/10^ /lO 

Half a gill of W. India at /2'' J a gill of New 

For keeping a horse 24 hours 1/3* 1/3 

" " oxen 24 hours 1/6 1/6 

For lodging a single person over night /3J 

Mutton stall-fed at 3* 2i' /A^ 

Veal good fiom Dec. 1st to May 1st at /3 pr lb. /3 

Lamb good at /S* per pound /3 

Milk new by grass at /l" 34"' by hay at /2'' per 

quart /If 

English Hay best kind 2/6 per hundred 2/ 6 

Barrels good heart barrels at 3/4 3/4 

Cider by the barrel 3/ cash at the press 3/ 

" Spring and Summer 6/ 6/ 

Shoes for making men's and women's shoes at 

2/6 2/ 6 

For shoeing a horse plain 4/4* 4/ 4 



EEBELLION. 77 

For ploughshares, chain, crowbars and hoes, cythes, 
and all other Smith's work according to 
the former custom, making proper allow- 
ance for the extraordinary price of Iron 
and Steel. 

Charcoal delivered /3* per bushel /3 

Ox labour 1/6 pr day, horse 2* per mile. 

Men's Labour from June to 15th of Aug. 3/ per day, from Aug. 
to the last of Sept. 2/ per day, and Mar., Ap. and Nov. 1/8, 
Jan. Feb. 1/3 per day. 
Onions at 3/ per bushel. 

Carpenters labour from Ist of April to Oct. 1st at 3/3"* per day, 
be found as usual, and so in usual proportion iat other seasons 
of the year.'' 

1777. 

" Masons and Masonlabour the same as Carpenters at all seasons 

of the year. 
Tanning. — For tanning hides not to exceed 1/2 per pound and 

skins in proportion. 
Cloth. — Yard wide tow cloth at 3/2 pr yard. 
Maids' wages at 2/10* pr week. 
Mentailors work 2/2'' per day, and women's work at tayloring 

lO"*." 

We should have supposed that the settlement of the civil 
government, and the. restoration of peace, together with the 
blessings of independence, would have secured to the people 
prosperity and happiness. But this was not the case. The 
country has hardly witnessed a darker period than in the 
latter days of the old Confederation. It was loaded with 
debt, and its energies were completely exhausted. For a 
time, it seemed as though independence would prove a curse 
rather than a blessing. The currency depreciated, industry 
was paralyzed, and property sacrificed. The Confederation 
became powerless, and the confidence of the people in the 
integrity of their rulers, began to be impaired. So strong 



78 HISTOET OF GEAI'TON. 

had the spirit of discontent become in the County of Wor- 
cester, that in 1786 it collected and arrayed its forces in 
opposition to the government, and for a time threatened to 
impede its operations. As to the expediency or propriety 
of " Shays' Rebellion," the people of this town were 
divided ; though a majority of them favored his cause, and 
some took up arms for his support. The instructions given 
to Col. Luke Drury, who represented the town in the Gen- 
eral Court, in the following year, probably express the views 
of the " Shays men," and the grievances wliich they then 
felt. He was directed to use his utmost exertions to " obtain 
a general pardon for all that aided, or assisted, or have taken 
up arms in what the Governor and General Court styled 
rebellion, and that all disqualifications, on that account, be 
removed, and that all damages for unjust imprisonment and 
warrants, be made good — that the government troops be dis- 
banded, and that the utmost severity of the law be executed 
on any who shall commit murder, or harm or destroy any 
property, — that the General Court be removed out of Bos- 
ton, to some convenient place in the country, — that all 
licenses be granted by the selectmen of the several towns ; 
that authority should be given them to settle the estates of 
deceased persons, — that all deeds should be recorded in the 
town where the land lay, — that the Court of Common 
Pleas, and the General Sessions of the Peace, be abolished, 
— that manufactures in this country be encouraged, — and 
that the act, suspending the writ of habeas corpus, be im 
mediately repealed." 

The trustees for the Indians, known as Hassanamisco In- 
dians, in 1788, were, Stephen Maynard, of Westborough, 
Edward Eawson, Esq., of Leicester, and Willis Hall, of 
Sutton. The General Court, from the beginning, appointed 
a committee of three, called the trustees of the Indians' in- 
terest ; their business was to take care of their property, 
both real and personal, and dispose of the same to the best 
advantage, for the support and maintenance of the Indians. 



INDIAN TEU8TEES. 79 

This committee, at present,* have httle to do in the execution 
of their trust, as the lands have, by length of time and 
various concurring circumstances, chiefly passed into the 
hands of the white people. There are, indeed, several 
farms in the possession of the heirs of the Indians, married 
to negroes ; but it is said there is not one male in the town 
at this day, who is all of Indian extract or blood. The In- 
dians very soon decreased in this place, and the whites be- 
came possessors and occupiers of the soil ; and so early as 
the 28th of December, 1731, a Christian Congregational 
Church was established here. 

In reviewing the past, nothing strikes us so forcibly as the 
change which has taken place since this town was first 
known to the English. We have seen that Eliot, nearly two 
hundred years ago, came here, and first preached the gospel 
to the Indians. That race, then free and conscious of their 
rightful possession of the soil, had no. suspicion that the day 
of their extinction was so near at hand ; — that their council 
fires would so soon cease to burn ; — that the forests throngh 
which they roamed would disappear, and that their hunting 
and fishing places would be occupied by the habitations and 
improvements of the white man. The land of their fathers 
they fondly hoped to leave an inheritance to their children. 
The groves that had sheltered them from the burning sun 
and the driving storm, they thought would remain forever. 
The birds, that made every tree vocal with their harmony, 
they believed would never cease their song. But in these 
anticipations they were mistaken. Two centuries have 
passed — and they have vanished. 

The first settlers of this country had but a faint concep- 
tion of its future greatness ; and but few, probably, ever 
entertained the idea that it would so soon, if ever, be sepa- 
rated from the mother state. They made no calculations for 
a growth so rapid, nor for changes so unprecedented. The 



* Whitney's History of Worcester County, 1793. 



80 HI8T0KT OF GEAFFON. 

great improvements in the sciences and arts formed no items 
in their estimate. They expected that settlements would be 
extended, and that population would increase, yet they never 
dreamed that within two centuries thirteen millions of people 
would be scattered over this extensive country, and all live 
too, under one government. They knew comparatively 
nothing of the resources of the country — its fertile soil, its 
invaluable mines, and its mighty rivers. They had other 
objects in view of infinitely greater importance. They did 
not come here dazzled with the prospect of a boundless 
country, or with the hope of being the founders of a mighty 
empire. Their highest ambition and fondest hopes were in 
the establishment of a free government, and in securing to 
themselves and their children the full enjoyment of their 
religion. It was with this desiga that they left their homes 
and sought an inhospitable wilderness. It was this holy 
purpose that enabled them to triumph over persecution, to 
endure the inclement skies, to meet the raging elements and 
the savage foe, and finally to establish, sustain and transmit 
the institutions we now enjoy. 

" Ay, call it lioly ground, 

The soil where first they trod ! 
They have left unstained what there they found — 
Freedom to worship God." 

An incorrect estimate of the future growth of the coun- 
try is apparent in every period of our history; and it is 
doubtful now whether any of us can form just conceptions 
of its destined greatness. When the County of Worcester 
was incorporated, in 1Y31, doubts were expressed whether it 
could ever support a suSicient population to authorize the 
establishment of a County Court. No one then imagined 
that it would ever contain one-seventh part of the whole 
population of the State, or that beautiful villages, distin- 
guished for manufacturing and mechanic enterprise, would 
grow up on every portion of its extensive territory. The 



FTTTUEE GROWTH. 81 

first English proprietors of this town, in their petition to the 
General Court for leave to purchase, represent it as " a place 
capable, in process of time, of becoming a small town." 
Had they been told that a hundred years would hardly have 
elapsed before it would contain a population of three thou- 
sand — that convenient dwellings and busy workshops would 
cover its hills and fill its valleys — that the hum of machin- 
ery would mingle with the roar of every waterfall — that 
upon the borders of that common which they set apart for 
" a meeting-house, training-field and burying-place," three 
spacious and beautiful churches, with towering spires, would 
be erected — that the waters of the Blackstone would be 
made navigable by a canal, through which boats laden with 
merchandize would come from tide waters even to its source 
— and that across the northern section of the town iron rails 
would be laid, over which would pass, with the rapidity of 
the wind, a wonderful machine, belching forth fire and 
smoke, and moving by an internal power, dragging in its 
train car after car, and load after load, and never tiring, — 
they would have regarded it as an idle tale — a dream of the 
visionary, and belonging rather to the regions of enchant- 
ment than of reality. 

But reality is more than all this ; and were they to awaken 
from their repose into life again, how few of the scenes of 
a century ago would they witness ! The same beautiful hills 
and deep valleys remain ; the same springs gush from the 
earth ; the same rocks rest on their eternal foundations ; the 
same sun sheds light and heat ; the same stars twinkle in the 
firmament; the same clouds flit along the sky; the same 
streams unite their waters and roll on to the ocean ; but all 
else is changed ! The work of revolution is apparent, not 
only in government, but in manners, fashions and employ- 
ments ; in the comforts and conveniences of life, and in the 
opinions and character of the people. 

The character of the history of the past century cannot 
fail to excite a deep interest in every reflecting mind. Never 
11 



82 HISTORY OF GEAFTOIT. 

was there a period so distinguished for events, that have pro- 
duced such permanent effects on tlie character and condition 
of mankind. Previous to its commencement, but little pro- 
gress had been made in political and religious liberty. The 
whole power and influence of Europe were on the side of 
legitimacy. A large proportion of those, who advocated the 
broad principles of human rights, had been compelled to 
remain in silence at home, or had been driven from their 
country. It was only on this side of the Atlantic, that these 
principles were fully sustained and their influence felt. Yet 
the colonies were then feeble, their population was scattered, 
and their influence hardly extended beyond their own bor- 
ders. They were not then, as now, united under one com- 
mon government, and could not speak the sentiments of a 
great and growing nation. But they did not remain in 
silence. The voice of the advocates of freedom was heard 
in all the colonial assemblies. The flrst principles of gov- 
ernment were there discussed, and the rights of all main- 
tained. It was in schools like these, that were educated 
those distinguished men, who were ever ready to resist 
tyranny in every, form and under every guise, whether it 
came from a Charles, a James, or a George ; it was here 
that the people learned the first principles of free govern- 
ment, and were encouraged and strengthened in their sup- 
port. 

The history of our country is full of instruction ; and the 
young man, who would make himself useful to his genera- 
tion, would do well to learn its lessons. He will there per- 
ceive that the great cause of liberty has been more than 
once sustained by an early and manly resistance to invasion ; 
that the glorious inheritance we uow enjoy was not acquired 
by supineness and neglect, and that it can be preserved only 
by constant care and arduous labor. He will there find 
more than Spartan valor and Roman virtue. Every page is 
adorned with some bright name, and every line bears marks 
of patriotic devotion. Whether he read of the sufferings of 



FTJ'rUEE GROWTH. 83 

the Pilgrims — of the struggles of the early settlers in main- 
taining an existence — their trials in the Indian wars — the 
hostile aggressions of the French, and the unexampled 
courage of the colonists in repelling them — or of the pat- 
riotic spirit of the Revolution — he will find all full of evi- 
dence of an entire devotion to the cause of country. 

It is peculiarly important at the present time, that our 
history be read and studied. The season of danger is not 
yet over. We should learn from the past the true sources 
of our prosperity, and endeavor to preserve them. The tide 
of innovation is rolling onward with a fearful rapidity, and 
there is great danger that we shall lose sight of the beacon 
lights that our past history presents. The most striking 
characteristic of the present age is its revolutionary spirit; 
— a spirit that is not satisfied with overturning governments, 
crumbling thrones to the dust, and destroj'ing institutions 
venerable with the ago of centuries — but seeks for change 
in everything — and in its work of dissolution, gathering 
strength and acquiring a rabidness, would even subvert the 
physical laws of the universe, and make them subservient to 
its eternal fluctuations. This spirit cannot be repressed ; and 
it ought not to be : for when properly directed, it is to 
society what a propitious breeze is to a well managed vessel 
on the bosom of the ocean, giving it an onward progress; 
but when misdirected, our institutions can no more with- 
stand it than can the trees of the mountains the blasts of 
the tornado. Instruction from the past will afford us our 
surest protection. The fathers of American liberty knew 
well the means by which it could be preserved ; they laid 
broad its foundations, and watched with the most scrupulous 
care, and resisted every violation of their chartered rights. 
They knew the force of precedent, and would not tolerate a 
violation of their constitution of government, even if it pro- 
duced no immediate injury. " They judged of an evil in 
government," as Burke said, "not by the pressure of the 
grievance, but by the badness of the principle. They 



84: HISTORY OF GEAFTOlf. 

augured mis-government at a distance, and snuffed the ap- 
proach of tyranny in every tainted breeze." They appeared 
to be sensible that to a certain extent they were forming 
society anew, and that what they did would affect the re- 
motest generations. No one can read of the great sacrifices 
that have been made, and the sufferings which have been 
endured, to establish and protect our institutions, and not 
feel a stronger love for them, and a determination to make 
renewed efforts in their support. Let the young men learn 
tlie origin of this republic ; — let them perceive the toils and 
troubles endured by its founders — their ardent patriotism — 
their love of learning — their reverence for religion — their 
fortitude in trial — their unbending integrity and indomitable 
courage, — and they cannot but feel their obligation to pre- 
serve the inheritance transmitted to them. Their free and 
generous hearts will be warmed with grateful and patriotic 
emotions ; a love of liberty will be cherislied — an attach- 
ment to our institutions strengthened — and the republic will 
be preserved. The institutions we now enjoy, we hold not 
as our own, but in trust for others. We have a right to use, 
but not to destroy them. We are bound to transmit them 
not only unimpaired, but improved. Our faith is pledged, 
and it must not be violated. We will never be so dishon- 
ored, so unworthy of our trust, so ungrateful to our bene- 
factors. The pledge, which our fathers gave us, was sealed 
with their blood. The sacrifices which they made, were not 
for themselves, but for us and those who shall come after 
us. They fought the battles of freedom, and we must pre- 
serve the fruits of their victories. It was their fortune to 
acquire laurels in war ; let it be ours to deserve them in 
peace. They established schools, " to the end," as they said, 
" that learning may not be buried in the graves of their 
fathers." Let us cherish and improve the same system, to 
the end, that liberty may not be buried in the graves of our 
fathers. Ours is a no less arduous task. A struggle is con- 
tinually going on ; and if we would be successful, our exer- 



FUTURE GROWTH. 85 

tions must never be relaxed. If we are true to ourselves 
and to our country, the beautiful prospect before us will 
continue to present still brighter and brighter visions. 

What will be the character and condition of those who 
shall stand here and fill our places one hundred years hence, 
we would not attempt to predict. The changes and events 
of the last century have baffled all expectation ; and can we 
hope that they will be less important in the century to 
come ? The signs of the times indicate an onward progress ; 
the population of the country is increasing beyond all former 
precedent ; the mechanical arts are becoming more extended ; 
the means of difiiising knowledge are continually enlarging; 
science is advancing ; and may we not hope that the moral 
and intellectual character* of the people is improving ? An 
experiment is now in operation, on the result of which de- 
pends the dearest hopes of mankind. The time is not far 
distant when our country will contain a population of one 
hundred millions, who will speak one language, read the 
same books, and, we trust, live under the same and a free 
government. The names of the patriots and philanthropists 
of former days — the founders of the republic — will then be 
held in grateful remembrance. Memorials of their worth 
will appear in the whole social system ; and though dead, 
yet will they live in the improved character and condition of 
society, possessing a power on earth that will be as lasting 
as the earth itself. He who shall then stand here, will speak 
of a prosperous country and equal laws. He will review its 
rapid increase in population, in arts, and in public improve- 
ments ; and when he perceives its immense extent, its inex- 
haustible resources, its flourishing institutions, and its happy 
government, he will acknowledge the debt due to former 
generations, and will feel still stronger obligations to make 
every exertion to transmit these blessings to others. But if 
these beautiful prospects are darkened — if these hopes are 
blasted — if our government is overthrown, and our country 
rent among hostile factions, — let it be through the fault of 



ab HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

others, and not of us. Let our resolve be made ; and stand- 
ing, as we do, on the verge of two centuries, let us declare 
it to be — a faithful perforTnance of our obligations to past 
generations, and our duty to the future* 

As the polls returned in 1803, furnish the only complete 
list of the inhabitants at that day, I will insert them, with 
the number of polls against each householder: — 

COPY TOWN TAX. 

Geafton, Novembee 24th, 1803. 

Jonas Beown, "] 

JOSEPHUS WiLLAED, >A 

Joseph Meeeiam, Je. J 

Polls. 

Thomas Axtell 2 

Samuel Adams 1 

Elisa Adams 

Andrew Adams 1 

Jasper Adams 1 

Nathaniel Adams 2 

Moses Adams 2 

Abner Abbott 1 

Joel Brooks 

Elijah Brooks 1 

Francis Barns 1 

William Brigham 1 

Charles Brigham 1 

Soloman Brigham 1 

Perley Batchelor, Jr 1 

Truman Clark 1 

Ebenezer Cutler 

Ebenezer Cutler, Jr 1 

Moses Cutler 1 

Moses Cutler, Jr 1 

Daniel Cutler 1 

Joseph Cutler \ 

Jonathan Chase 1 

Elisabeth Childs - 

* Address by Hon. William Brigham. 



NTJMBEE OF POLLS. 



87 



Polls. 
1 



Eufus Coda 

Amos Davis . . . .* 

Thomas Davidson 

Josepli Dispeau 

Joseph J. Davis 

Nathan Darling 

Isaiah Fairbanks 

Daniel Fairbanks 

Jedutham Fay 

Silas Fay 

Benjamin Goddard, Esq 

Levi Goddard 

Perley Goddard 

' Ephm. Goulding 

" " occupant on thirds . . . 

Moses Herrington 

Moses Hayden 

Oliver Hayden 

Joshua Herrington 

Aaron Kimball 

Aaron Kimball, Jr 

Isaac Kimball 

Noah B. Kimball 

Oliver Kimball 

Widow Sarah Johnson 

Timothy Johnson 

Nathan Johnson 

Silas Leland 

Zadock Leland 

James H. Miller 

—I- Bufus Newton 

Zadock Putnam 

George W. Putnam 

Tartius Prentice 

Charles Prentice 

Aaron Fierce 

Ezra Phillips 

Lnther Pierce 

Josiah Phillips 

Zebedee Bedding 

Turner Eawson 

Samuel Rawson 

Asa Scott 

Timothy Sherman 

Nahum Stone 2 



88 mSTOET OF GEATTON. 

Polls. 

Albert Stone 1 

Thomas Smith • 1 

Widow Anne Stow - 

Abner Temple 2 

Ebenezer Wadsworth 2 

Ebenezer Wadsworth, Jr 1 

John Wadsworth 1 

••- Jonathan Warren 1 

Josephus Willard 1 

John Willard 1 

Perley Whipple 2 

Joseph Wood, Jr 1 

Joseph T. Wood, 1 

Jonathan Wheeler 2 

— Wheeler & Warren 2 

Abel Watson, Jr 2 

John Wheeler 1 

Joseph Whitney 1 

Isaac W. Wood 1 

Eeuben Wheelock 1 

William Withington 1 

Perley Batchellor 2 

Elijah Brigham 

Jonas Brown 2 

Clark Brown 1 

John Bennitt 1 

Heirs of Melliclent Brigham 

Ezekiel Brigham 1 

John Brigham 1 

Widow Eliza Bruce 

Widow Sally Bruce 

Elijah Case 1 

Thomas M. Baker 1 

Zebulon Daniels 2 

Aaron Day 1 

Widow Abigail Daniels 

Amos Ellis 1 

Silas Forbush 1 

Cyrus French 1 

Samuel Flagg 3 

Benjamin Grover 1 

William E. Green 1 

Timothy Fisher 1 

Widow Betty Forbush - 

Moses C. Hayden 1 



NUTMBEE OF POLLS. 89 

Polls. 

Ephraim Harrington 2 

Moses Holbrook I 

Amaziah Howard 1 

Solomon Hayden 1 

Levi Haywood 1 

Stephen Holbrook 1 

Widow Sarah Holbrook 

Daniel Hayden 1 

Jonathan Hayden 

John Hayden 1 

Beuben Jenks 2 

James W. Jenkins 1 

Royal Keith 3 

William Lamb 1 

Dau. Lamb 1 

Fhinehas Leland 3 

David W. Leland 2 

Benjamin Leland 1 

Benjamin Leland, Jr 2 

Daniel Leland 1 

Eleazer Leland 2 

Ebenezer Leland 2 

Ebenezer Leland, Jr 1 

Levi Leland 1 

John Leland 1 

Zephaniah Lathe 2 

Benjamin Lathe 1 

Benjamin Lathe, Jr 1 

Solomon Lathe 1 

Edward Lesure 1 

Asa Learned 1 

Joseph Merriam 2 

" " on Childs' farm - 

Joseph Merriam, Jr 1 

Timothy Merriam 3 

Joseph Prentice 1 

Abijah Pierce 1 

Ebenezer Phillips, Jr 1 

Lemuel Perham 

Moses Rockwood 1 

Thaddeus Read 1 

Ithamer Stow 1 

Ephraim Sherman 1 

Ephraim Sherman, Jr 2 

Moses Sherman • . . . 2 



12 



90 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

Polls. 

David Sherman 1 

Widow Thankful Sherman - 

Jonathan Stow 1 

" " on Dr. Jona. Slow estate . 

Daniel Stow 

Lovel Stow 1 

Ebenezer Sadler 

Levi Sadler 1 

Samuel Stone 1 

Eliphalet Smith 1 

Aaron Sherman 1 

Joseph Slocomb 1 

Timothy Temple 1 

John Thurston • 1 

Daniel Thurston . 1 

James Wheeler 2 

— Joseph Warren - 

James Whipple « 1 

" " on Josiah Whipple estate . - 

Nathaniel Whipple 1 

John Whipple 1 

" " on John Whipple, Jr., estate. - 

Samuel Wood 1 

David Wadsworth 1 

Jona. Wadsworth 3 

Samuel Wadsworth 1 

Joseph Whipple 1 

Thaddeus Whipple 1 

Joseph Wood, Esq 3 

-» Asahel Warren 1 

Nathan White 1 

Gilbert Coats 1 

Jonathan Bowen 1 

Abraham Haywood 1 

William Croford 1 

Daniel Adams . 1 

Widow Ruth Rockwood . . . - 

Ruth Rocliwood 

Robert Lathe . • 1 

Daniel Prentice 1 

Names op Non-Residents. No. of 

. Acres. 

Aaron Adams, Northbrldge 44 

f Thomas Bowen, Northbrldge ) „ , 

( Do. on John Bowen, " J 



NON-EESEDENTS. 91 

No. of Acres. 

James Adams, Northbridge 4 

James McCallan, Sutton 12 

Mark Batchelor, " 14 

Nehemiah Chace, " 17 

Solomon Whipple, " -24 

Daniel Warren, Upton 24 

Josiah Peas, " 

Ephraim Whitney, " 4 

Enoch Batchelor, " 4 

Nathaniel Flagg, " 24 

Ezra Wood, do. for Sarah Wood - 

John Holmes, Hopkinton 60 

Joseph Goddard, Sutton 20 

Samuel Grout, Westborough 30 



Eli Whitney, 
Daniel Nurse, 
John Harrington, 
Thomas Twitchel, 
Abel Watson, 
Joel Watson, 



30 
10 
4 
2 
20 
12 




1^;^^^^-^^=^ ' (^ rru ^"^yrrr/ix^oi^' 





-v~ti — *4i^ 



^/c:>// 



^-^C&tj- 




^rzrz^ 



GRAFTON'S WAE RECOKD. 



CHAPTER FOURTH. 

Contents : 

King Philip's war — Indian battle on Keith Hill. — Grafton in the French 
and Indian war — Capt. James Whipple's company at Fort William 
Henry— Major Rogers' Expedition to Canada. — Grafton in the Revo- 
lutionary War— The town meetings in 1773, 1774, 1775— April 19th, 
1775 — The Grafton Minute men — Tories in town — The constitution 
— Soldiers in Captains Drury's, Brigham's, Warrln's and Lyon's 
companies — Grafton's quota— Bounties. — The war of the late Rebel- 
lion — The patriotic spirit of the citizens — The first company — The 
day before their departure — The 15th, 21st, 25th, 51st regiments, 
with short sketches of each, and the several battles they partici- 
pated in — A full and complete list of men who enlisted, or were 
drafted, in the service — Death of James E. McClellan — Sketches of 
the North a,nd South companies of militia — The Grafton Grenadiers 
— The Light Infantry — The Slocomb Guards. 

King Philip's War. 

IT WAS during this war that quite an important battle was 
fought on Keith Hill, the English gaining the victory. 
The day upon which the battle was fought was stormy, and 
the Indians were not able to use their fire-arms, while the 
English, protecting their gun-locks with their garments, 
thereby gained a decided advantage. In the early part of 
the war, in order to prevent the Indians who were favorable 
to the English from being either destroyed or tampered with 
and drawn away from their allegiance, and on account of 
the great distrust felt towards them, all the friendly Indians 
of the l^ipmuck country were confined at Hassanamesit, 
and were forbidden to go more than one mile from their 



94 HISTOET OF GKAFTON. 

wigwams, upon penalty of imprisonment or death ; the pen- 
alty to be inflicted by any person meeting them beyond these 
limits. The hostile Indians, however, came upon this com- 
pany of friendly Indians with a force of three hundred, and 
either compelled or persuaded about two hundred of them 
to join in the war against the English. This led to an expe 
dition against the town, made up of two companies of Eng- 
lish troops. Captain Henchman, with some men, marched 
from Boston to Hassanamisco, November 1st, 1675, who, 
on the fourth day, coming upon the Indians in or near that 
place, they fled precipitately, leaving behind them a lad 
unhurt, whom they had taken from Marlborough the week 
preceding ; our men marched on to Boggachoag, which was 
in "Worcester, now Auburn, but meeting with no enemy they 
returned back to Mendon, where, being informed of Indian 
wigwams about ten miles to the west, or northwest. Captain 
Henchman and Lieutenant Curtis, with twenty-two men on 
horses, went up and fought them, but were repulsed ; Lieu- 
tenant Curtis and another man were killed. The men re- 
turned to Mendon ; but the Indians deserted their wigwams 
and went off, which gave the troops an opportunity next 
day to go up, bring away, and bury the two men, who were 
killed.* On April 2Tth, 1676, Captains Still, Cutler and 
Holbrook, with the foot soldiers ; Captains Brattle, Prentice 
and Henchman, with the horse (the latter captain was com- 
mander-in-chief), were sent out to range the woods in and 
about Hassanamisco, who, coming suddenly upon the Indians 
thereabouts, killed and took sixteen or twenty of them, the 
rest fleeing. 

Grafton in the French and Indian War, 1756. 

The suflferings and privations endured in this war seem to 
have been forgotten in the brilliant results of the Eevolu- 

* The heads of these two men were found the next morning fastened 
upon crotched sticks, and facing each other, in front of the wigwam; 
the grim delight of the Indians being thus most characteristically ex- 
pressed. No traces were found of their own dead or wounded. 



FRENCH AND INDIAN WAB. 95 

tion. The hoixor due to the men who then made every sac- 
rifice to maintain our country's rights, has never been 
awarded. We have been accustomed to bestow it all on 
those who were the more immediate agents in obtaining our 
independence, and have not remembered that the French 
war was the school in which the heroes of the Eevolution 
were educated ; and that without the preparatory discipline 
which it afforded, independence could not then have been 
obtained. We do but an act of justice when we say, that to 
these men we are greatly indebted for our present institu- 
tions, and more so than to those who, in that war, met the 
enemy on the borders of Canada, and there suffered not 
only the evils incident to long and dangerous campaigns, but 
all the horrors of Indian barbarity. No men ever possessed 
a more dauntless character, or pressed onward to the con- 
test with a more patriotic ardor. America was the prize for 
which the two great European powers were contending, and 
the principal battle-ground was on our northern frontiers. 
To the people of New England it was not a war of con- 
quest, but of self-preservation ; and in order to protect their 
homes and iiresides, they were compelled to go into the 
wilderness of the north, and resist the enemy in every step 
of his progress. In this war, Massachusetts took a conspicu- 
ous part ; and at different times had in the service a large 
proportion of her able-bodied men, of wliom no portion of 
the State furnished a greater immber, according to its popu- 
lation, tlian Worcester County. During the whole of tills 
war, and in every campaign in New England, several of the 
inhabitants of tliis town were engaged in tlie service. 
When the news of the approach of the enemy on Fort Wil- 
liam Henry arrived, a companj' was immediately raised here 
for its relief. Thirty-six of this company belonged to this 
town, and tlie remainder principally to Upton. They were 
commanded by Capt. James Whipple, and marched on the 
16th of August, 1757 ; but previous to this time, the fort 
had surrendered, and many of our countrymen had fallen 



96 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

victims to the cruelty and treachery of the enemy. In the 
following year, twenty-tliree more were in the service ; and 
in 1759, nineteen were engaged in the Westward Expedi- 
tion, and in the one for the invasion of Canada, under Gen- 
eral Amherst. The whole number of persons belonging to 
this town, who died in the war, either from disease or were 
killed in battle, from 1753 to 1762, was eighty,* and this, 
too, out of a population that did not exceed seven hundred 
and fifty ! Seldom do the calamities of war fall so heavily 
as this ; and still more seldom are soldiers compelled to 
suffer the hardships which those engaged in this war endured. 
They suffered not merely the fatigue of long and tedious 
marches, and the attacks of a treacherous and savage 
enemy, but the pangs of hunger ; and were often compelled 
to eat the most loathsome food to preserve an existence. 
The story of their sufferings and fortitude, if it were all 
told, would overtax human credulity. It cannot be fully 
described. They traversed the wilderness of Vermont, pen- 
etrated the wilds of Oswego, drove back the enemy from 
Ticonderoga and Crown Point, and carried the war even to 
the heights of Quebec. These battle-fields are consecrated 
ground ; for they contain within their bosom the dust, not 
only of patriots and soldiers, but of our own townsmen and 
kindred. 

The following lists were taken from the rolls in the Sec- 
retary's office, at the State House : — 

A list of the training and alarm soldiers in Grafton in 1767; under 
command of Captain Samuel Warrin, Lieutenant Wait: — 

Ensign Willard. Phineas Rice. 

Sergt. Noah Brooks. John Maynard. 

Stephen Prentice. Joseph Temple. 

Joel Brooks. Jacob Slearn, 

Aaron Brigham. Paul Hazelton. 



*From Mrs. Wheeler's Eecord: " 29th May, 1762, then there had 
died, and had been killed in the war, from October, 1753, to the date 
thereof, of Grafton people fourscore persons." — Brigham; Appendix D. 



FRENCH AND INDIAN WAS.. 



97 



Corp. Hezekiah Ward. 
Abraham Brown. 
Joshua Wintchester. 
Nat. Whitney. 

Drum Elijah . 

Abraham Temple. 
Solomon Stow. 
Benjamin Leland. 
James Leland, Jr. 
Phineas Leland. 
John Stow. 
Natt. Sherman, Jr. 
Nath'l Prentice. 
Simon Brooks. 
Phinehas Prat. 
Charles Bruce. 
Peter Brooks. 
Marke Bachelor. 
Thomas Drury, Jr. 
Elisha Brigham. 
William Brigham. 
Natt. Cooper. 
Samuel Cooper. 
Ebenezer Cutler. 
Jonathan Cutler. 
David Cutler. 
Moses Cutler. 
Josiah Child. 
Peter Fisk. 
Eleazer Fleatcher, Jr. 
Nat. Goddard. 
James Goddard. 
Ebenezer Fisk. 
David Forbnsh. 
Joshua Felt. 
Jonathan Hall. 
Moses Eager. 
Aaron Taft. 
Daniel Brigham. 



William Holbrook. 
Thomas Axtell. 
Josiah Eawson. 
Ephraim Sherman, Jr. 
Benja. Pulsipher. 
David Stow. 
Samuel Sterns. 
Joseph Wintchester. 
Zacry Warrin. 
Moses Whipple. 
James Whipple, 3rd. 
Nat. Whltmore, Jr. 
Joseph Arnold, Jr. 
_ William Warrin. 
Abraham Parkes. 
James Herington. 
David Herington. 
John Holbrook. 
Moses Holbrook. 
Aaron Hardy, Jr. 
Amos Lamsoni 
Aaron Kimball. 
Jonathan Child, Jr. 
John How, Jr. 
Joseph Merriam, Jr. 
John Prentice. 
James Rosebrough. 
David Wadsworth. 
Darius Hutson. 
Ephraim Fleatcher. 
William Druce. 
Josiah Goddard. 
Jonathan Stow. 
Seth Miller. 
Jonatiian Child, Jr. 
Joseph Willard, Jr. 
Thomas Maning. 
Eleazer Flagg, Jr. 
Moses Perry. 



A muster roll of the company under the command of Capt. James 
Whipple, belonging to the regiment whereof A rteraas Ward, Esq., is 
colonel, that marched on the alarm for the relief of Fort William 
Henry, August 16th, 1757: — 

James Whipple, Lieutenant-Captain, Grafton. 
Stephen Sadler, Sergeant, Upton. 
13 



98 



HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 



Private, Grafton. 



Nathaniel Sherman, Sergeant, Grafton. 

Jonas Warren, " Upton. 

Abraham Brown, " Grafton. 

Preserved Partridge, Corporal, Upton. 

Aaron Taft, " Grafton. 

Samuel Wright, " Upton. 

Phinehas Lealand, " Grafton. 

Samuel Fisk, Private, Upton. 

Jacob Stevens, " Grafton. 

Isaac Harrington, Private, Grafton. 

James Herrington, 

Peter Fislc, 

Charles Bruce, 

Ebenezer Phillips, 

Peter Brooks, 

Mark Batchelor, 

Paul Hazeltine, 

Joseph Winchester, 

Aaron Hardy, Jr., 

Aaron KlmbjU, 

Nathaniel Sherman, Jr., 

Benjamin Pulcipher, 

Moses Whipple, 

John Converse, 

Moses Holbrook, 

Ebenezer Wheeler, 

Jonathan Child, 

Thomas Gage, 

Samuel Wood, 

Ely Rice, 

Daniel Fisher, 

Francis Nelson, 

John Nichols, 

Aaron Warren, 

Benjamin Farrar, 

Samuel Warren, 

Josiah Fisk, 

Nathan Wood, 

Joseph Wilson, 

Thomas Webster, 

Beriah Eice, 

Timothy Darling, 

Aaron Hardy, 

Ephraim Sherman, 

Joshua Taft, 



Upt( 



To bring 
horses and 
carry packs 
to expedite 
the march. 



Upton. 
Grafton. 



WHIPPLE 8 COMPANY. ALAKM SOLDIERS. 



99 



John Morse, Sergeant, Westfleld. 
John Prentice, Private, Grafton. 
Silas Hemenway, " Westfleld. 
Joseph Borden, " " 

James Rosborough, Private, Grafton. 

Daniel Brigham, " " 

David Wadsworth, " " 

Daniel Leonard, " Westfleld. 

Zacherlah Newton, " " 

Ezeklel Knowlton, " " 

Ephraim Lyon, " " 

William Parker, " " 

John Sherman, " " 

Obadiah Wheelock, " " 

Abner Whipple, " " 

Jonathan Kelley, " " 

Noah Hardy, " " 

Jonathan Whitney, " " 

Henry Balcom, " " 

Samuel Taft, " Grafton. 



ALARM SOLDIERS. 

The following were the Alarm Soldiers who remained in town on 
duty, or who could be called together, in case of necessity, by Rev. Mr. 
Hutchinson, during the French and Indian war, in 1757 : — 



Rev. Mr. Aaron Hutchinson. 

Charles Brigham, Esq. 

Abner Stow. 

Joseph Merriam. 

Benja. Wintchester. 

Nat. Ball. 

Jason Wait. 

Silas Warrin. 

Joseph Whipple. 

Joseph Rice. 

Hezekiah Taylor. 

Nat. Stedman. 

Eleazer Flagg. 

Ebenezer Wheeler. 

Andrew Adams. 

Joseph Bachelor. 

Nat. Warrin. 

Joseph Perry. 



Aaron Hardy. 
Marke Bachelor. 
Joseph Goodale. 
John Sherman. 
Amos Wait. 
Robert Laith. 
Joseph Arnold. 
Jacob Whipple. 
Nat. Flagg. 
Isaac Herington. 
Nat. Whitmore. 
Eleazer Fleatcher. 
Robert Flagg. 
John How. 
Benja. Goddard. 
Rev. Solomon Prentice. 
Luke Drury. 



100 



HISTOKT OF &EAFTON. 



Muster roll of Grafton men, under the command of Capt. Stephen 
Maynard, in 1759, raised by the Province of Massachusetts Bay for the 
reduction of Canada; William Williu, colonel: — 



Benjamin Lealand. 
Jonathan Goodale. 
Asa Leith, Private. 
Ebenezer_Phillips, Private. 
Cornelius Baker, " 

Nathaniel Sherman, Ensign. 
John Prentice, Sergeant. 
Stephen Prentice, Corporal. 
Ephraim Lyon, Private. 
Moses Perry, " 

Charles Bruce, " 



Richard Roberts, Private. 
James Rosbrooli, " 
Ebenezer Wheeler, Jr., Private. 
Benjamin Woods, Private. 
David Warren, " 

Aaron Hardy, Jr., " 
Ichabod Druce, " 

William Druce, " 

Nathaniel Child, " 
Samuel Batchelor, " 



Enlistment roll of men from Grafton in 1759, for the invasion of Can- 
ada, under command of Gen. Jerry Amherst; Abraham Williams, 
colonel : — 



Joseph Willard, Jr. 
Samson (Indian). 
Fortunatus Burnee. 
Cornelius Baker. 
Ebenezer Wheeler. 
Nathaniel Smith. 
William Druce. 
William Warren. 
Nathaniel Whitemore. 



Samuel Whitemore. 
Nathaniel Whitemore, 
Samuel Batchelor. 
Jonathan Wheeler. 
Daniel Dresser. 
Jonathan Child. 
Amos Waighte. 
Ephraim Fletcher. 



Jr. 



Men from Grafton, under the command of Capt. WiUiam Paige, 
1761 :— 



in 



George Gire, Private. 
Jacob Gitchell, " 
Benjamin Gartield, Private. 
Fortunatus Harrington, Private. 
Simeon Keith, Private. 



Henry Prentice, Private. 
Aseph Sherman, " 
John Prentice, Ensign. 
Daniel Druce, Private. 
Samuel Waite, " 



Levi Lealand, 



■"" David Warren, 



One of the most arduous enterprises undertaken during 
the French war, was that of the famous Major Rogers, with 
his Rangers, against the Indian town of St. Francis. This 
town is situated near the St. Lawrence, about middle way 
between Montreal and Quebec, and was inhabited bj a tribe 




WEST SIDE OF PARK. 



EXPEDITION TO CANADA. 101 

of savages which had long been in the interest of the 
French, and had done great injury to the English. The 
English thought that the entire destruction of this town was 
necessary for their safety, and accordingly a secret expedi- 
tion was planned by Major Rogers for this purpose. He 
left Crown Point September 13, 1759, with two hundred 
men, and went down the Lake in boats to Missisquey Bay, 
where it became necessary to leave the boats in order to 
avoid detection, and travel the remainder of the way by 
land. Previous to this, about fifty of his party had returned 
on account of sickness. Their bpats, with most of their 
provisions, were here secreted, with two men, who were left 
to give notice if they were discovered by the enemy. 
Major Rogers,- with his party, had not gone far, before he 
was informed by one of these men that the French and 
Indians had discovered their boats, and were probably in 
pursuit of them. The only chance of escape was in going - 
forward in their expedition as fast as possible, and then re- 
turning to their fort through the back country. The passage 
through the country was very difficult, as appears by the 
journal of Major Rogers, which he kept at the time. "He 
says : " We marched nine days through wet sunken ground ; 
the water was most of the way near a foot deep, it being a 
spruce bog. When we encamped at night, we had no way 
to secure ourselves from the water but by cutting the 
boughs of trees, and with them erecting a kind of ham- 
mocks. We commonly began our march a little before day, 
and continued it till after dark at night." On the twenty- 
second day after their departure from Crown Point, at about 
8 o'clock in the evening, they arrived in sight of the town 
of St. Francis. The party then consisted of one hundred 
and forty-two men. Major Rogers, with one or two others, 
left the main company and went to reconnoitre the town. 
They found the Indians in a high frolic or dance, and ac- 
cordingly returned and prepared for an attack, which was 
made on the following morning just before sunrise. The 



102 HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 

whole town was barnt, and about two hundred Indians were 
killed, and about twenty of their women and children taken 
prisoners. Most of these they afterwards let go. They 
also re-took live English captives, and discovered with these 
Indians nearly six hundred scalps of the English. 

After this, having ascertained that about three hundred of 
the French and Indians were within four miles of them, 
they hastened back through the wilderness, by the way of 
Charlestown, No. 4=, N. H., then a frontier town of the 
English settlements. They had no provisions except a little 
that they obtained at St. Francis. They marched in a body 
about eight days ; but thinking they would be m'ore likely 
to obtain enough to preserve an existence, they separated 
into small companies, agreeing to meet again at Amonsook 
Kiver, about sixty miles above No. 4, where they expected 
provisions would have been sent them from the Fort. While 
traveling through the woods, they were compelled to eat 
groundnuts and lily roots ; and at last, roasted their shoes 
and powder horns, and used them for food. Some of them 
fell into the hands of the enemy, and were killed ; others 
died of hunger and disease ; and but a mere remnant of 
these courageous men returned to tell the tale of their suffei'- 
ings. Ebenezer Wheeler, Jr.,* an inhabitant of this town, 
and then only eighteen years of age, was one of this party ; 
and having become so* feeble as to be unable to walk, by 
reason of hunger, he was left by his companions, and died 
upon a lonely mountain in Vermont, October 24, 1759.t 

Grafton in the Rerolntion. 

The inhabitants of Boston, under the leadership of Sam- 
uel Adams, had voted to appoint a " Committee of Corres- 
pondence, to consist of twenty-one persons, to state the 



*In a record kept by his father, it is stated : "Left to die on a moun- 
tain, large and high, not far from tlie upper country." 
t Rogers' Journal, p. 145. 



EEVOLUTIONAKT WAE. 103 

rights of the colonists, and of this province in particuhir, as 
men, as christians, and as subjects ; and to communicate and 
publish the same to the several towns, and the vporld, as the 
sense of this town, with the infringements and violations 
thereof that have been, or from time to time may be made." 
As early as February 1st, 1773, Grafton, in town meeting, 
responds to one of the letters of this committee, by resolv- 
ing unanimously " that they would defend their rights at all 
hazards ; that they would not suffer their property to be 
taken from them in an unconstitutional manner, and that 
they were ready to co-operate with their brethren in Boston, 
and other places, in any measures to obtain a redress of 
grievances." During the latter part of this same year came 
the excitement concerning the destruction of the tea in Bos- 
ton harbor. A town meeting was held, and a committee 
appointed to " look into a letter sent from Boston." Said 
committee reported January 4, 1774, as follows : " The 
town of Grafton, taking into consideration the unhappy cir- 
cumstances that this country are involved in at this crisis, 
attempts repeatedly being made infringing upon our rights 
and privileges, which we consider justly alarming to all the 
true friends of our happy constitution, which hath been so 
dearly purchased, and which we esteem to be our most in- 
valuable interest and rights as Englishmen, which we have 
ever gloried in ; more particularly at*the glaring injustice of 
that of the East India Company being allowed to send tea 
to America, while subject to a duty payable in America, 
which we view as subversive of our rights as christians, as 
subjects, and as loyal subjects of our most gracious King 
George, whose name and person we ever desire to view as 
sacred ; therefore, 

Resolved, as the people of this town, that any one 
individual, or any body of men, that shall encourage, aid 
or assist, in importing or receiving any such tea, or any 
other article while subject to a duty, the sole purpose 
whereof is to raise money to appropriate to any sordid 



104 HISTOKr OF QKAJTON. 

measure, or any use whatever contrary to our just rights 
of distributing our own property, wherewith God and 
nature hath made us free, can but be viewed as criminal to 
our country, as well as to the mother state, and must be so 
viewed by us. 

Resolved, that this town are in duty bound to join with 
and assist our sister towns and colonies in this, our com- 
mon cause, so as we may be instrumental under God of 
handing down that liberty to our posterity which • hath 
been kept so long inviolate and preserved by our worthy 
ancestors." 

Then follows a resolution approving the stand taken 
by Boston and other towns. These resolutions certainly 
have a ringing sound, which, unless the hint contained 
in them is heeded by the mother country, foretells the coming 
of the Fourth of July, three years later. During this same 
year the dark cloud of war is seen rising on the distant hori- 
zon, a cloud it may be, almost ridiculously small — no larger 
tban one field-piece with powder and bullets- to match — and 
yet one which is destined to spread over the entire land, and 
hang long and low, but finally to be dissipated by the 
glorious sunlight of liberty. The first indication of arming 
is in the action of the town, September 28, 1774, when, the 
record says, " Voted to procure a good field-piece, called a 
six-pounder." " By vote, chose Nathaniel Sherman to pro- 
cure a supply of bullets and shot to load said field-piece." 
" By vote, chose Thomas Davidson to command said field- 
piece." " Put to vote to see if the town will choose a com- 
mittee to provide for the soldiers of Grafton, in case they 
are called to battle. Passed in the affirmative." These are 
the mutterings of war which were heard more than six 
months before the battle of Lexington. The collectors of 
taxes were directed to pay none of their receipts into the 
treasury of the Province. The following February, the 
22nd, it was " voted to pay minute men for the time in 
training in learning the military art." Action was also 



KEVOLUTIONAET WAR. 105 

taken about this time to encourage home manufactures, and 
so become independent of England. March 6th, 1775, it 
was " voted to recommend to each inliabitaut of this town 
to be careful to save their rags suitable for y" paper manu- 
factory ; that they endeavor to their utmost to supply Henry 
Prentice and Timothy Fletcher, collectors of y^ same ; and 
in general support our own manufactories by preferring 
them to foreign ones." The crisis approaches. A warrant 
for a town meeting is issued on April 17, the meeting to be 
held the 24th. It was customary to have these meetings 
called by the constable, who notified each voter in the town. 
In this instance the constable made return that he had noti- 
fied all but two or three, " which by reason of the special 
alarm then existing he was prevented opportunity to com- 
plete." 

Darkness closed in upon the country on the 19tli of 
April, 1775, but it was no night for sleep. Heralds on 
swift relays of horses transmitted the war-message fpom 
hand to hand, till village repeated it to village. On the 
morning succeeding the battle the Massachusetts Committee 
of Safety addressed the following to the several towns in 
the State : " We conjure you, by all that is dear, by all 
that is sacred ; we beg and entreat, as you will answer it to 
your country, to your consciences, and above all, to God 
Himself, that you will hasten and encourage, by all possible 
means, the enlistment of men to form the army ; and send 
them forward to headquarters at Cambridge with that expe- 
dition which the vast importance and instant urgency of the 
affair demands." The people of Massachusetts had not 
waited for the call. The country people, as soon as they 
heard the cry of innocent blood from the ground, snatched 
their fire-locks from the walls; and wives, mothers and sis- 
ters took part in preparing the men of their households to 
go forth to the war. About noon on the day of the battle 
the people of Grafton were thoroughly acquainted with tlie 

fact that the British were on the march to Concord to destroy 
14 



106 HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 

the military stores at that place. Jhe citizens at once gath- 
ered on the Common, and before the setting of the sun two 
companies, consisting of nearly one hundred men, were on 
the march to Cambridge,* where they arrived the following 
morning. These companies comprised nearly the whole 
efficient male population of the town, and included the 
young and old. The whole strength of the town went out 
to war, and left behind none but the young, the feeble, and 
the aged. The fields were deserted and the domestic circle 
broken up — and the places of industry abandoned. When 
the companies arrived at Cambridge, the fatal blow had 
been struck, which eventually led to independence. After 
arriving at Cambridge the several companies were employed 
a number of weeks in forming a more perfect organization, 
and several returned home. From this time until the close 
of the war, several of the inhabitants of this town were 
constantly in the service. Some of them were in almost 
every battle and campaign in the northern section of the 
country ; and at one time, no less than twenty were in the 
army in New York. Many of them fell victims, either in 
battle, or by disease, caused by suffering and privation. 
Some of the sick returned home, and spread pestilence 
among the people. This was the case in 1776, when a 
greater mortality occurred than in any other year since the 
settlement of the town, the whole number of deaths being 
fifty-seven. The average number of deaths in town, from 
1 773 to 1793, was fifteen ; the lai-gest in 1776, and the 
smallest number, four, in 1 793. Not a year passed, in which 
contributions in clothing and provisions for the army were 
not made, — and made, too, with a liberality that but few 
towns of the size surpassed. In 1780, the grants of the 
town for the use of the army amounted to £95,500 of the 
depreciated currency,! which, though very low at that time, 

* They were accompanied a portion of the way by the minister of the 
town, Rev. Daniel Grosvenor. 
t At this time, a pound of beef cost thirty shillings In this money. 



EEVOLUTIONAEY WAK. 



107 



made a sum that pressed heavily on the people, and took 
from them their entire income. After the close of the war, 
when an attempt was made to restore to the Tories the 
property that the government had confiscated, and to permit 
them again to return to the State, the people of this town 
instructed their representative to the General Court, " not 
to give his assent to any act, which shall give the most 
trifling compensation or restitution to those who adhered to 
Great Britain, or to permit them ever to return and live in 
this State." 

From this time, the records of the town bear a striking 
resemblance to those which have been made in our day. 
Committees are appointed to " deal out their family blankets 
to supply the soldiers." It is voted " to order the town 
treasurer to give notes upon interest, at twenty pounds each 
man, to the number of twenty-four men, that shall enlist for 
the expedition for New York," also " to give twenty pounds 
to each man who shall enlist for the northern expedition." 
A vote is passed " to give thirty pounds to each man that 
shall enlist into the army for three years or the war." A 
committee was appointed to collect money and clotliing for 
the Continental soldiers, and the report of said committee, 
with list of donors, and of amounts and articles donated, 
follows. The last warrant issued in the name of His 
Majesty, v/as that of April 17, 1776, of which I have already 
spoken. A month later the warrant was " in pursuant of a 
resolve of Congress," and in May, 1776, it was " in the 
name of the government and people of Massachusetts Bay." 
June 7, 1776, it was voted to *" comply with the resolve of 



* Massachusetts House of Rbpresentativbs, 1 
May 10, 1776. / 

Besolved, as the opinion of this house, that the inhabitants of each 
town in this colony ought, in full meeting warned for that purpose, to 
advise the person or persons who shall be chosen to represent them in 
the next General Court, whether that, if the honorable congress should, 
for the safety of the said colonies, declare them independent of the 



108 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

the House of Eepreseiitatives concerning independence from 
the kingdom of Great Britain." This was only a month 
before tlie declaration of independence. The articles of 
confederation were assented to January 23, 1Y78. In April 
of that same year the town refused, i)y a vote of sixty-six to 
one, to approve of a State constitution submitted by the 
Legislature. The same constitution was rejected in the 
State by a vote of 10,000 to 2,000 ; Boston voting against 
it unanimously.* 

We tind traces of disaffection, however, in these days, 
and, if Grafton did not have actual Tories, there were some 
suspected (characters. In April, 1777, a member of the 
committee to hire men for service in the Continental army, 
was dismissed by vote of tlie town, because " not firm and 
friendly to this State." Tlie following July, however, he 
was restored to his position upon his own petition. They 
also had their financial troubles, and tried the ever popular 
and never successful experiment of seeking relief in legisla- 
tion. An act was passed to "prevent monopoly and oppres- 
sion";! ^n other words, to keep down prices, which, as de- 
mand increased and production diminished, and paper money 
fluctuated in value, manifested a strong upward tendency. 
In our own State a powerful party arose, which complained 
that the Governor's salary was too high, the Senate aristo- 
cratic, the Congress extortionate, and taxes too burdensome 
to hear ; they demanded an issue of paper money, and the 
removal of the General Court from Boston. This party 
finally resorted to arms, and the movement is known as 
" Siiays' Rebellion." The insurgents prevented the holding 
of courts in Worcester and Springfield, and attempted to 



kingdom of Great Britain, they, the said inhabitants, will solemnly 
engage, with their lives and fortunes, to support the Congress in the 
measure. SAMUEL PKEEMAN, Speaker. 

— Journal of the House of Representatives; Note. 

* Barry's History of Mass., 3d period, p. 175. 

t See pages 75, 76 and 77. 



TOWN MEETINGS. 109 

capture the arsenal at the latter place. The inhabitants of 
this town seem to have sympathized with this movement, 
and probably some of them actually took up arms. At all 
events, a company of Shays' men, marcliing through the 
town, were entertained with supper and breakfast by Col. 
Jonathan Wheeler. That this sympathy was general ap- 
pears from the instructions given to their representatives to 
the General Court the next year after the rebellion was 
quelled, which are in favor of almost every change urged 
by the insurgents. In these instructions, direction is given 
to the representative " to use liis utmost exertion to obtain a 
general pardon for all that aided or assisted, or have taken 
np arms, in what the Governor and General Court styled 
rebellion, &c." • This crisis safely passed, the town, in com- 
mon with the country in general, gradually entered upon a 
career of growth and prosperity. 

Among the events of the Revolution, none afford stronger 
evidence of the wisdom and patriotism of the people of 
Massachusetts, than the constitution of government which 
they adopted in 1780. A period of revolution is not pro- 
pitious to the formation of civil government, and to us it is 
a matter of surprise, that one should have been framed and 
ratified with so few imperfections. It was adopted with a 
degree of unanimity, that could hardly have been expected. 
Yet like all otlier civil governments, it had its opponents, and 
at the present time, after an experience of nearly one hun- 
dred years, it is a matter of some curiosity, if not of utility, to 
examine their objections. A meeting was held in this town, 
June 5, 1780, for the purpose of considering the constitu- 
tion, which was taken up, examined, and voted on, article 
by article. To the first article of the bill of rights, there 
was DO objection. To the second, a small majority was 
opposed, because " they thought their duty should not be in- 
cluded in the declaration of their rights." The vote on the 
third article, which required all to support public worship, 
and which was afterwards expunged, was nineteen in the 



110 HISTOET OF GKAFTON. 

affirmative, and forty-three in the negative. They objected 
to it, because "it restricted them in the free exercise of 
their reb'gion, and might be so construed as to affect their 
riglits of conscience." The twelfth article, which secured 
to the citizens the right of trial by jury, was opposed by a 
large majority, because it did not provide that the jurors 
should be chosen, as tliey had been heretofore, and that their 
usual number should be preserved. Sixteen voted in the 
affirmative, and twenty-seven in the negative, on the article 
relating- to judicial officers. They objected to it, because 
they thought they ought to be chosen annually, and should 
have no salary secured to them for a longer term than one 
year. 

The following lists were found in the Secretary of State's 
office, at the State House. The books from which they 
were taken were not indexed, and the papers not ar- 
ranged : — 

A muster roll of the Minute men, under the command of Capt. Luke 
Drury, General Ward's regiment, who marched from Grafton, in the 
County of Worcester, on the 19th day of April, 1775 : — 

Ekturned. Time of 

Service. 

Luke Drury, Captain, 4 days. 

Elijah Rice, Drummer, 5 " 

Zadock Putman, Fifer 5 " 

Jonas Brown, Private, 4 

Solomon Brooks, Private, ....... 7 

Jonah Goulding, " 5 

Mattias Rice, " 7 

William Moore, •• 5 

Ebenezer Melendy, " 7 

Joseph Leland, " 6 

Moses Sherman, " 7 

Samuel Stearnes, " 7 

Ebenezer Leland, " 7 

Ebenezer Phillips, " 5 

Shelomith Stow, " 5 

Isaac Brigham, " 7 

Peter Butler, " 7 

William Walker, " 5 

Thomas Pratt, " 7 



GEAFTON MINUITB MEN. 

Enlistkd. Time of 

Service. 

Nathaniel Sherman, Lieutenant 12 days. 

Moses Harrington, 2nd Lieutenant, ... 22 " 

Benjamin Garfield, Sergeant, 13 " 

Daniel Grout, Private 13 " 

Moses Hayden, " 6 " 

Joseph Warren, " 31 " 

Nathaniel Ward, Corporal, 12 " 

Abner Stovr, Private, 15 " 

Joseph Whipple, Private 33 " 

Andrew Adams, " 32 " 

Nathaniel Batcheller, Private, 33 " 

Nathaniel Brown, " 19 " 

William Rixford, " 16 " 

James Wheeler, " 32 " 

Daniel Warren, " 12 " 

Daniel Druce, " 16 " 

Caleb Rice, " 20 " 

John Thurston, " 27 " 

Joel Turner, " 27 " 

Nathaniel Whitney, .Jr., " 15 " 

Daniel Axtell, " 12 " 

John Clayton, " 12 " 

Samuel Elliot, " 8 " 

Phineas Leland, " 7 " 

Samuel Leland, " 9 " 

Andrew Waters, " ' 15 " 

Solomon Goodell, " 20 " 



111 



" A muster roll of a company of the militia in y Hon. Artemas 
Ward, Esq.'s regiment, commanded by Capt. Aaron Kimball, which 
marched on y alarm, April 19th, 1775, by order, for defense of Ameri- 
can rights, &c.": — 



Aaron Kimball, Captain, . . . 
James Whipple, Lieutenant, . 
Thomas Davison, 2nd Lieutenant, 
Benja. Goddard, Sergeant, . 
Jona. Stow, " 

Timo. Fletcher, " 

Philn. Stacy, " 

Nathan Morse, " 

John Whipple, Corporal, . . 
Perly Batchellor, " . . 



Marched. Dismissed. 
April 19. 



May 


15 




( 


18 




' 


18 




I 


18 




I 


18 




t 


15 




t 


3 


April 


22 


M 


ay 


18 



112 



HISTOKY OF GEAJFTON. 



Nahum Stone, (sic) Corporal,'. 

Thos. Axtell, Private 

Jona. Chandler, " 

Nath'l Grover, " 

Noah B. Kimball, Private, . . . 

Spencer Maynerd, 

Timo. Merriam, 

Jos. Merriam, 

John Willard, 

Joshua Willard, 

Ephm. Willard, 

Simon Willard, 

Daniel Whipple, 

Samuel Whipple, 

Mr. Temple, (_sic) 

Michiah Fay, 

Simon Brooks, 

Zaccra Warren, 

Jonathan Wood, 



Marched. 


Dismissed 


April 19, 


May 15. 


n 


" 18. 


u 


•• 4. 


t( 


April 26. 


" 


" 28. 


n 


" 29. 


tt 


May 1. 


11 


" 15. 


it 


April 29. 


(( 


" 29. 


" 


" 29. 


tl 


" 24. 


tl 


May 4. 


(( 


April 27. 


t( 


" 21. 


(( 


May 9. 


April 20. 


April 27. 


It 


" 28. 


April 21. 


" 26. 



Those after named enlisted into y° army y» day affixed to their 
names : — 

Marched. Dismissed. 

Aaron Willard, Private April 21. April 26. 

Edward Butteric, 



Fortune Barnee, 
Eseck Dexter, 
William Evans, 
David Forbush, 
Nathan Flagg, 
Eliphlet Smith, 
George Smith, 
Elisha Aldrick, 
Joshua Whitney, 



A muster roll of the company, under the command of Capt. Luke 
Drury, in Col. Jonathan Ward's regiment, to the first of August, 
1775 :— 



Luke Drury, Captain. 

Asaph Sherman, 1st Lieutenant. 

Jonas Brown, 2nd Lieutenant. 

Nathan Morse, Sergeant. 

Shelomith Stow, " 

Ebenezer Phillips, " 

Jonah Goulding, " 



Thomas Pratt, Private. 
Benjamin Grover, 
Zebulon Daniels, 
Solomon Stow, 
Thomas Leland, 2nd, 
Edward Buttrick, 
Aaron Willard, 



ALARM MEN. 113 

William Walker, Corporal. Elisha Aldrlch, Private. 

Joseph Leland, " Forten Barnea, 

♦William Moore, " Eliphalet Smith, 

Elijah Rice, Drummer. George Smith, 

Zadock Putnam, Plfer. f Samuel Heard, 

Solomon Brooks, Private. Esick Dexter, 

Mathias Rice, " William Evans, 

Ebeneier Melendy, " Jaoianiah How, 

Moses Sherman, " Ebenezer Wadsworth, 

Samuel Stearnes, " Micajah Fay, 

Ebenezer Leland, " Thomas Wilson, 

Isaac Brigham, " Joseph Anthony, 

Peter Butler, " 

The following is a copy of a warrant drawn on the Treas- 
urer of Massachusetts, for £21, 15s. 4^ pence, in favor of 
Soldiers in the Revolutionary war : — 

" To the Honorable Council of the Colony of Massachusetts 
Hay, now sitting in Watertown : — 

According to your warrant to us directed, we have as- 
sembled the companies within the regiment to which we are 
appointed, for the choice of officers, and the several compa- 
nies have made clioice of the several gentlemen for the 
offices hereafter mentioned." 

The following were from Grafton : — 
First Company. — Captain, Aaron Kimball. 
1st Lieutenant, Seth Rice. 
2nd " Amos Rice. 

Tenth Company. — Captain, Nathaniel Sherman. 

1st Lieutenant, James Whipple. 

2nd " Joseph Warren. -"^ 

Field oflBcers of the Sixth Regiment, in the County of Worcester : — 

John Goulding, Colonel. 

Levi Brigham, Lieutenant- Colonel. 

Job Cushing, Major. 

Moses Wheelock. 
Rutland District, July 3d, 1776. 



* Died 17th day of August, 1775, on command at Canada, 
t Died 17th day of June, in battle of Bunker Hill. 
15 



IM 



HISTOKT OF GEAFTON. 



The following Grafton men were in Capt. Timothy Brigham's com- 
pany, of Col. Job Cushing's regiment, who were called out on an alarm 
to assist the Northern Army, and were discharged at Bennington, 
Vt. :— 

Ebenezer Melendy. Moses Harrington. 

In a list of men procured from the County of Worcester, for the term 
of nine months from the time of their arrival at Fisli Kills, N. Y., are 
the following in Captain Warren's company, of Colonel Cushing's regi- 
ment:— 

Elijah Stanton. James Forbush. 

David Brown. Cesar Powarey (Negro). 

Jacob How. Joseph Aaron (Indian). 

EoU of Capt. Joseph Warren's company, who marched on an alarm 
for Bennington, when the enemy came there : — 

1777. 
Date of Service, Date of 

Engagement. Days. Discharge. 

Joseph Warrin, Captain, , . . . August 21. 6 August 26. 

Joseph Whipple, 1st Lieutenant, " 



Philemon Stacy, 2d Lieutenant, 
Nathan Morse, Sergeant, . 
Andrew Adams, " 
Zadock Putnam, " 
John Whipple, " 

Solomon Brooks, Corporal, 
Abner Stow, " 

Spencer Maynard, " 
Moses Sherman, " 

Abijah Herrlngton, Fifer, 
Nathaniel Adams, Private, 
Daniel Axtell, " 

Ezekiel Bruce, " 

John Brooks, " 

Nath'l Batcheller, " 
Isaac Brigham, " 

Elijah Brooks, " 

Jonathan Chandler, " 
Ebenezer Cutler, Jr., " 
Zebulon Daniels, " 
Stephen Eager, " 

Nathan Flagg, " 

Isaiah Fairbanks, " 
Solomon Goodell, " 
Eliakim Garfield, " 
Nath'l Grover, " 

John Golding, Jr., " 



Service, 
Days. 
6 
5 
5 
5 
5 
6 
5 
6 
5 
6 
5 
5 
5 
6 
6 
6 
6 
6 
5 
S 
5 
5 
5 
5 
5 
5 
5 
5 
5 



ALAEM MEN. 



116 



Jonathan Hall, Private, 
Josiah Holbrook, " 
Noah Brooks Kimball, " 
Levi Leland, " 

Thomas Learned, " 
Timothy Merriam, " 
Winslovf Maynard, " 
Samuel Prentice, " 
Aaron Rice, " 

Jonathan Robardson, " 
Benja. Rockwood, Jr.," 
John Stacy, " 

John Thurston, " 

Timothy Temple, " 
Noah Vilas, " 

Nath'l Ward, " 

Aaron Willard, " 

James Wheeler, " 

Joseph Wood, Jr., " 



1777. 

Date of 

Engagement. 

August 21. 



Service, 
Days. 
5 
6 
5 
5 
5 
6 
5 
5 
6 
5 
6 
6 
5 
5 
6 
5 
6 
6 
6 



Date of 
Discharge. 
August 26. 



N. B. — The above roll does not specify any localities. 



A pay roll of Capt. Joseph Warrin's company, in the regiment com- 
manded by Lieutenant-Colonel Wheelock, in the service of the Massa- 
chusetts Bay militia, raised for thirty days. Including time to return 
home : — 



Men's Names. 
Joseph Warrin, 
Jonathan Grout, 
Timothy Whitney, 
Shelomith Stow, 
Aaron Temple, . 
Daniel Chamblin, 
Jonathan Maynard 
Spencer Maynard, 
Samuel Leland, . 
Job Spafford, . . 
John Baker, . . 
Stephen Tantor, 
Abijah Herrington 
Peter Ward, . . 



Rank. 

Captain. 

Lieutenant. 



Sergeant. 



Corporal. 



Captain. 

Drummer. 

Fifer. 

Private. 



Date of 

Engagement. 

Sept., 1777. 

September 27. 



Date of 
Discharge. 
Oct., 1777. 
October 23. 



17. 
23. 
17. 
23. 



17. 



116 



HISTOBY OF GEAITOlir. 



Men's Names. Rank. 

Abil Holt Private. 

George Smith " 

David Andras, " 

Samuel Andras, " 

Elijah Brooks, " 

Phenihas Brigham, ... " 

Ebenezcr Brigham, ... " 

Moses Cutler, " 

Jonathan Chandler, ... " 

Isaac Davis, " 

Matthew Devenport, . . " 

Seth Fay, " 

Asa Furbush, " 

Stephen Flagg " 

Amos Fuller, " 

David Goodell " 

John Goddard, " 

Israel Keyes " 

Thomas Learned " 

Fortina Miller, " 

Joseph Morse, " 

Daniel Maynard, .... " 

Calvin Maynard " 

Stephen Maynard, .... " 

Nathan Nelson, " 

Daniel Nurse, " 

Daniel Oaks " 

Stephen Partridge, ... " 

Oliver Peirce, " 

Benja. Rockwood, Jr., . . " 

John Stacy 

David Stow " 

Paul Wai-fleld, " 

Jonathan Warrin, .... " 

James Wheeler, " 

John Wright, " 

Daniel Herric, " 

Benja. Hardy " 

Ephraim Lyon, " 

Aaron Keyes, " 

Sworn to before 
Worcester, ss., April 6, 1778. 



Date of 

Engagement. 

Sept,. 1777. 

September 27. 



Date of 
Discharge. 
Oct., 1777. 
October 23. 



7. 
23. 



13. 
23. 
13. 
23. 



7. 
23. 



CHARLES BRIGHAM. 



ALARM MEN. 



117 



A State's pay-roll of Capt. Ephraim Lyon's company of militia, which 
join'd Colonel Wade's regiment for twenty-one days, from the Massa- 
chusetts Bay, who ingaged the 20lh of June, 1778, and joined said reg't 
June y" 22nd, with the allowance of one day for every twenty miles 
'to the place of their abode : — 



• 




Date of 


Date of Time of 


Men's Names. 


Rank. Engagement. 


Discharge. Service. 


Ephraim Lyon, . . . 


. Captain. 


June 19. 


July 13. 27 days. 


SethKice 


. Lieutenant. 


a 






Joseph Bond, . . . 


it 


tt 






Beriah Ware, . . . 


. Sergeant. 


"20. 


26 ' 




Elisha Crosby, . . . 


(( 


(( 






Philip Johnson, . . 


ti 


tt 






Aaron Fay 


it 


"24. 


" 22 * 




Ebenezer Ingelsbee, 


. . Corporal. 


"20. 


26 * 




Nath'l Adams, . . . 


(( 


(( 






Thomas Pratt, . . . 


n 


(( 






Benja. Brigham, . . 


11 


(( 






Calven Rice, .... 


. . Fifer. 


it 






Stephen Taynter, . . 


. . Drum. 


tt 






Elnathan Allen, . . . 


. . Private. 


It 






Jona. Anger 


i( 


tt 






Stephen Barthrick, . 


ti 


tt 






Micha Briare, . . . 


it 


it 






William Bennet, . . 


a 


it 






Joel Brooks, Jr., . . 


(( 


It 






Nathan Ball .... 


ti 


tt 






Timothy Bellows, . 


(1 


tt 






Jona. Brigham, . . . 


ii 


tt 






Humphry Biglo, . . 


it 


it 






Barna Biglo 


a 


it 






Smith Butler, .... 


a 


tt 






Ebenezer Brigham, . 


11 


it 






Joseph Collens, . . . 


It 


ti 






Daniel Cook, .... 


tt 


tt 






Elmer Cushing, , . . 


it 


tt 






William Collens, . • 


tt 


it 






Balph Daniels, . . . 


ti 


tt 






Abraham Eay, . . . 


tt 


it 






Ruben Gorse 


it 


it 






Nath'l Garfield, . . . 


it 


tt 






Jno. Goulding, Jr., , . 


it 


tt 






Moses Harrington, Jr., 


tf 


tt 







118 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 







Date of 


Date of 


Time of 


Men's Names. 


Rank. 


Engagement. 


Discharge. 


Service. 


Elijah Fay, 


Private 


June 20. 


July 13. 


days 26. 


Jacob Hemenway, . . - 


(( 


it 


(t 


a 


David Hastings, . . . . 


<{ 


tt 


({ 


tl 


Jonas Hemenway, . . . 


(( 


tt 


(( 


(C 


Abel Holt, 


(C 


(I 


(t 


(( 


Timothy Haywood, - . . 


({ 


* t( 


(C 


tl 


Caleb Harrington, , . . 


tl 


(I 


tt 


It 


Nath*l Holbrook, . . . - 


ti 


it 


tl 


*i 


Asa Hayden, 


ti 


it 


tl 


tt 


Aaron Kimball, .... 


ii 


tt 


it 


it 


Eber Keyes 


i( 


tt 


ti 


tt 


Calven Maynard, . , . . 


(( 


tl 


it 


tt 


Jno. M. Master, . . . , 


(C 


it 


(C 


tl 


Daniel Maynard,. , . . 


(( 


tl 


(( 


tt 


r th Morse, . . 
^^'^^ I ton Newton, . 


(( 


It 


it 


It 


(t 


t( 


tt 


tt 


Henry Newton, .... 


" 


tt 


tt 


ti 


Josiah Newton, .... 


(( 


ti 


ti 


It 


Nathan Newton, . . . 


It 


it 


C( 


tt 


John Philips, 


11 


(( 


u 


tt 


Caleb Parker, .... 


it 


it 


(C 


tt 


Asa Parker, 


It 


it 


It 


tt 


Jesse Parker, 


tt 


ti 


tt 


tt 


Israel Kice, 


it 


■ 1 


tl 


It 


Jno. Robinson, .... 


tt 


It 


it 


tl 


James Rawson (?) . . 


(( 


tt 


<( 


tt 


Daniel Reed, 


tt 


It 


tt 


tt 


Jacob Smith, 


It 


tt 


tt 


tt 


Lewis Smith, 


cc 


it 


tt 


tt 


Martin Smith, .... 


ti 


tt 


tt 


tl 


Jno. Sadler, 


tt 


tt 


tt 


tt 


Asaph Sherman, . . . 


it 


ti 


11 


tl 


Joseph Sherman, . . . 


tl 


it 


tl 


tl 


Antipas Smith, .... 


tt 


ti 


tt 


tt 


Wm. Taylor Stow, . . 


tt 


tt 


tt 


It 


Samuel Warrin, . . . 


it 


tt 


tl 


tt 


John Wright, .... 


tl 


ii 


tt 


tt 


Aaron Warrin, .... 


tt 


it 


it 


tt 



Dated " Qrafton, June 5th, 1779." 
[Further statement torn off.] 

Pursuant to order of the General Court, Capt. Ephraim 
Lyon, of the 6th regiment, made a return to the Secretary 



ALAEM MEN. 



119 



of State's office of the names of the men who enlisted or 
were drafted into the Continental Army, Grafton, Decem- 
ber 12, 1777 :— 



List of men drafted to serve in the Continental Army, out of Capt. 
Eph'm Lyon's company of the 6th Worcester County reg't : — 



The names of the men 




Towns they 


which enlisted 


name under which for which 


engaged In the service 


belong to. 


or hired. 


they serve. 


they engaged 


Benjamin Grovei 


} 


. Grafton. 


Grafton. 


Putnam. 


Three years. 


George Ross, . 






tt 


it 


Biglow. 


(( tt 


Levi Duntoii, . 






ii 


(( 


it 


During war. 


Cyrus Hill, . . 






It 


cc 


Wesson. 


it tt 


Solomon Stow, 






tt 


tt 


Biglow. 


Three years. 


James Mortain, 






ti 


tl 


(( 


tt tt 


Samuel Stearns, 






(S 


(( 


it 


it it 


Daniel Johns, . 






le 


(( 


Wesson. 


tt It 


JohnReadah, . . 






England. 


tt 


Biglow. 


tt tt 


John Moory, . 






it 


tt 


Wesson. 


It tt 


David Haven, , 






Grafton. 


It 


Biglow, 


tt tt 


William Evens, 






*t 


it 


tt 


tt t( 


Samuel Willard, 






*« 


(C 


tt 


It tt 


Isaac Newman, 






(( 


(( 


it 


tt tt 



Geai'ton, December 12, 1777. 



EPH'M LTON, Captain. 



COMMOIfWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS. 

A RETURN. 

This may certify that the town of Grafton have invited 
the persons hereinafter named, to serve as soldiers in the 
Continental Army for the terra of three years. Being their 
full quota agreeable to a resolve of the General Court, 

dated December 2, , and the whole siam of money 

advanced by the town, as a hire to said soldiers, are £1,095 



120 



HISTOET OF GEAPTON. 



in hard money, £1,153, 14s. in old paper currency, and the 
several sums paid to each soldier are as follows : — 



Hezekiah How, 


£100 hard 


money. 


George Ross, 


£105 


(( 




Jacob How, 


£100 


(( 




Ebenezer Cutler 


£105 


li 




Samuel Rixford, 


£ 75 


it 




Thaddeus Reed, 


£ 90 


it 




Elijah Stanton, 


£100 


it 




John Stacy, 


£105 


'* 




Nath'l Gowing, 


£ 90 


(1 




Noah Viles, 


£ 75 


(( 


" and £180 paper money. 


Samuel Johns, 


£ 75 


(t 


" " £543 " 


Elijah Bruce, 


£ 75 


(( 


«( " £430 " '* 



Tn a return of the male inhabitants from sixteen years old 
and upwards, and also the men engaged in the Continental 
Army from Worcester County, made February 3, 1778, 
Grafton is quoted as having 213 male inhabitants; one- 
seventh part of which were obliged to serve in the army 
(30); number of men in the service, 29 ; number of men 
wanting to complete the required number, 1. Tliese served 
in Col. Job Cushing's regiment. 



List of men drafted to serve in the Continental Army, out of Capt. 
Joseph Warren's company of the 6th Worcester County reg't ; — 



Names. 


Towns. 


Drafted for. 


Colonel. 




Term. 


Moses How 

Peter Butler 


Grafton. 


Grafton. 


Wesson. 


Th 


ree years. 
( It 


David Forbush, Jr., . 






It 




C 4t 


Joseph Antoney, . . 
Andrew Brown, . . . 










I tl 
i It 


Thomas Leland, . . . 






tt 




I It 


Moses Eawson, . . . 






(t 




t 11 


Elijah Stanton, . . . 
Eliphalet Smith, . . . 
Joseph Smith, .... 
Samuel Adams, . . . 






iC 

tl 

CI 

ci 




( It 
t tt 

t tt 
I It 


Michajah Fay, .... 
Eseck Dexter, . . . , 
Edward Bnttrick, . . 






Putnam. 
Angels. 




t tt 
I It 
t tl 


Isaac Vibot, 






(C 




t tt 


Grafton, December 


the 19th, 1777. 









JOSEPH WAERIN, Captain, 



ENLISTMENT EETUEN. 121 

To the Superintendents for the County of Worcester : — 

We, the subscribers, present you with a list of the men's 
age, and stature, and complexion, for the town of Grafton, 
in the sixth and ninth companies in the sixth regiment, in 
the County of Worcester, whereof Job Gushing, Esq., is 
colonel, viz : — 

Elijah Staton, about 22 years of age, 5 feet, 7 inches high, light com- 
plexion. 

David Brown, 17 years, 5 feet, 7 inches, dark. 

Jacob How, 17 years, 5 feet, 8 inches, dark. 

James Forbush, 17 years, 5 feet, 8 inches, dark. 

Ceaser Power (or Powareyj, a negro man, 21 years, 5 feet, 4 inches. 

Joseph Aaron (an Indian), 40 years, 5 feet, 9 inches. 

JOSEPH WAKRIN, Captain. 

EPH;M LYON, Captain. 
Grafton, May 25, 1778.* 

ENLISTMENT RETURN. 

In compliance of a resolve of the General Court, dated 
June 20, 1778, these are to certify that we have complied 
with the resolve of the 20th of April last for tilling up the 
fifteen battalions by a detachment to serve for the space of 
nine months, we have detached six men for the town of 
Grafton, which was the number assigned the town aforesaid 
by a resolve of April 20, 1778. 

Geapton, September 11, 1778 

EPH'M LYGN, ) Captains for the two 
JGS. WAERIN. ) companies in Grafton. 

WoKCESTEE, ss., Graftou, Sept. 22, 1778. 

Then the above named, Jos. Warrin and Eph. Lyon, 
personally appeared and made oath to the truth of the 
above certificate, before me, justice of the peace. 

CHARLES BRIGHAM. 



* Enlistment Kolls, Vol. 41—379. Sec. State office. 
16 



122 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

RECEIPTS EOR BOUNTIES. 

Geafton, April 9th, 1781. 
Keceived of the committee, chosen by this town to hire 
soldiers for three yesirs or during the war, £180 in old Con- 
tinental money, and £75 in hardy money, winch is in full 
for three years' service : — 

Date enlistment. 
Occupation. Age. 1781. 

Noah Vlles, Farmer. 18 years. April 9. 

Samuel Johns, Cooper. 25 " " 

Elijah Bruce, Jr Farmer. 16 " " 

John Stacy • " 20 " June 20. 

Nathaniel Gowing, — May 14. 

Hezekiah How, Farmer. 16 " Juue 13. 

George Ross, " 19 " June 6. 

Jacob How, Cordwainer. 20 " June 18. 

Ebenezer Cutler Farmer. 16 " " 

Samuel Rixford, " 16 " April 9. 

Thaddeus Reed — April 27. 

Elijah Stanton, Cordwainer. 20 " May 17. 

In the return of men belonging to the town of Grafton, 
January, 1781, in the Continental Army, for three years or 
during the war, was Benjamin Grover, who enlisted in Cap- 
tain Goodale's company, Colonel Putnam's 5th Massachu- 
setts regiment, April 19, 1779. 

The patriotic spirit evinced here during the French and 
Revolutionary wars, was the same spirit that pervaded the 
whole of New England. And the greatest honor that this 
or any other town can have from these events, is in the gen- 
erous support it has given to all the measures which have 
created and sustained the free and prosperous institutions it 
is our fortune to enjoy. 
* 

Grafton in the Civil War of 1861-5. 

"When the assault was made on Fort Sumter, the nation 
was roused to the defense of its integrity and existence. In 
Grafton, as everywhere throughout the North, the spirit of 
loyalty and devotion to the Union our forefathers had 



FIEST COMPANY, THEIK DEPAETUEE. 123 

formed, and the government they had created, welded all 
discordant sentiments. The news of the attack upon tlie 
Massachusetts Sixth Regiment in Baltimore, April 19, 1861, 
was received in Grafton on the morning of the 20th, and 
caused great interest and excitement. The selectmen called 
an informal meeting at the Town Hall in the afternoon ; 
messengers were sent to different parts of the town to notify 
the inhabitants. At four o'clock p. m. the large Town Hall 
was filled with citizens. Col. Charles Brigham presided. 
Benjamin Smith, a soldier of the Revolution, ninety-eight 
years old, was present and took a seat on the platform. 
Several patriotic speeches were made, and resolutions 
adopted fOr the immediate formation of a military com- 
pany ; and the selectmen were requested " to call a legal 
town meeting at the earliest possible day," to provide means 
for equipping and driUing the company. A warrant for the 
meeting on the 29th, was issued the same evening. A very 
full meeting was held on the 29th, at which it was voted to 
appropriate $4,000 as a fund for organizing the company ; 
each member was to receive $1 per day while engaged in 
drilling, and when called into active service each was to 
receive from the town the same monthly pay as he received 
from the government. A company was immediately formed, 
which afterwards was sent to " Camp Scott," in Worcester, 
and became Company Q, of the Fifteenth Regiment, Mass 
Vols., for three years service. " It is impossible to forget* 
the scenes presented in two of these churches, the Sunday 
before the company departed, wlien it marciied in a body 
into them to listen to sermons addressed particularly to the 
members. In the morning, the soldiers' true friend, and 
afterwards companion, Rev. Mr. Scaudlin, addressed them 
in the Unitarian Church ; and wha't an impression was made, 
as, in the midst of a terrible thunder and hail storm, he gave 
out that prophetic and cheei-ing hymn, reading to the 



* Oration by Rev. E. Frank Howe. 



124 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

music of rattling hail and rolling thunder, the following 
words : — 

' Through night to light ! And though to mortal eyes 

Creation's face a pall of horror wear, 
Good cheer ! good cheer ! The gloom of midnight flies : 

Soon shall a sunrise follow, mild and fair. 
Through storm to calm ! And though his thunder-car 

The rumbling tempest drives through earth and sky, 
Good cheer! good cheer! The elemental war 

Tells that a blessed, healing hour is nigh.' 

In the afternoon, he who ministered in the pulpit of the 
Congregational Church for upwards of thirty years, and 
whose eloquence there are none to question. Rev. Thomas 
C. Biscoe, delivered to ' the boys ' a most eloquent and im- 
pressive sermon from the text, ' Quit you like men ; be 
strong.' Perchance you can now see the little girls, like 
white robed angels, moving among that band of soldiers 
after the sermon, and giving to each member a copy of 
God's Word of Truth. What stories these Bibles would 
tell if now gathered and permitted to speak ! And you 
cannot have forgotten how, just before starting, solemn re- 
ligious services were held upon the common, nor tliat the 
company was then escorted to Worcester by the selectmen 
and citizens, on horseback and in carriages. That parting 
at the camp, when the soldier-boys were left behind, and 
loving and honoring relatives and friends returned home to 
begin the painful watch for tidings, who but they wiio were 
there can tell its pain, its hopes, its fears ? Cursed be war, 
and thrice cursed be the evil cause that creates the necessity 
for it ! From that early day to the end of the fearful strife 
— and many were the dark and disheartening days when 
evil tidings came — Grafton never faltered in her patriotic 
devotion. Only one less than a round four hundred men, 
out of a population of about four thousand, did she send to 
the war — a number largerby nearly half a hundred than all 
demands upon her. On the base of yonder beautiful monu- 



FIRST COMPANY, THEIE DEPAETUEE. 125 

ment are inscribed, in letters which the patriots coming 
after us for centuries will keep clear and legible, the names 
of the fifty-nine victims whom Grafton gave — rather who 
gave themselves — for the nation's life. Tliese names will 
be read by children, and children's children, for generation 
after generation ; and, as they are read, voices will come 
from the scattered graves of the dead, bidding those who 
read, to love, to honor, to cherish, to defend the institutions 
for which they laid down their lives. 

But while men constitute the most valued treasures given 
to the nation, yet it must not be forgotten that Grafton was 
generous with material aid also. With a valuation of prop- 
erty amounting to little more than a million and a half dol 
lars, she paid, for war purposes, the sum of thirty-nine 
thousand three hundred and fifty dollars, exclusive of State 
aid. Bearing in mind that, in addition to its other burdens 
of taxation, Grafton freely poured out of its material 
treasures nearly forty thousand dollars during the war, and 
gave one in ten of her entire population to stand in the 
ranks of the army, and generously surpassed all demands 
upon her for men, all will agree that it was a well earned 
compliment which Governor Bullock paid the town, on the 
day when that monument was dedicated, as he said, *' I feel 
bound in trnth and justice, to say tliat no other town appears 
to have contributed to the late war a larger proportion than 
yours of its treasures and its men.' And to-day, pointing 
your eyes to that beautiful monument, I say to you in the 
words of the beloved and honored Scandlin, a worthy suc- 
cessor in the ministry of the patriotic Grosvenor of 1775, 
t' I rejoice in the public spirit that could rise above the 
pressure of taxes and the burden of debt — faithful to its 
plighted word — true to those who have honored the town by 
deeds of daring, by the oflfering of life.' In belialf of the 
hundreds of Grafton's sons, whose homes are no longer on 



* The Worcester Daily Spy, October 14th, 1867. t Ibid. 



126 HISTORY OF GEAITON. 

your grand and beautiful hills, nor in your deep and fertile 
valleys, I say, in all honesty, and with the deepest fervor, 
we are proud of your record during the war, and in our 
homes in other villages and cities, and on western prairies, 
we will teach our children to honor the place of their 
fathers' nativity, because it has honored itself by a record 
so grand and glorious ! " 

Abraham M. Bigelow, Winthrop Faulkner, Kufus E. 
Warren, Chandler M. Pratt, Jasper S. Nelson, Alfred 
Morse, Dr. Levi Eawson, Esek Saunders, S. P. Champney, 
Joseph B. Adams, Charles Brigham, Lawson Munyan, Seth 
J. Axtell, were a committee from different sections of the 
town, to whom, in connection with the selectmen, was given 
the management of the expenditure of the money, and the 
general supervision of war matters, which continued during 
the years of the Kebellion. 

It having been ascertained that the monthly pay could 
not be assessed, it was not paid after the men were mustered 
in; The vote, however, shows the liberal and patriotic spirit 
of the people. 

Petitions were presented May 14, 1861, from James W". 
White, and eighty others of Grafton, and of the commis- 
sioned oflBcers of the Twelfth Regiment of Infantry (Col- 
onel Webster), severally, for an act to legalize the appro- 
priations of cities and towns in behalf of the volunteer 
militia, wliich was referred to the Judiciary Committee. 

The Fifteenth Eegiment was recruited in the County of 
Worcester, at " Camp Lincoln," in the city of Worcester. 
Major Charles Devens, Jr., who commanded the Second Bat- 
talion of Eifles in the three months' service, was appointed 
colonel. It left the State on the 8th of August, 1861 ; it 
bore a prominent part in the battle of Ball's Bluff, of that 
year, which made it one of the marked regiments of Massa- 
chusetts. October 20th, Colonel Devens was sent to Harri- 
son's Island in two flat boats, from the Ciiesapeak and Ohio 
canal, bearing four companies of his Massachusetts Fif- 



SHOET SKETCHES OF KEGIMENT8 ANT) BATTLES. 127 

toenth; one company of the same regiment was already 
there. A reserve, numbering about tliree thousand men, 
was held in readiness to co-operate should a battle ensue. 
In the meantime, a scouting party of about twenty men had 
been sent out from Harrison's Island, under Captaiu Phil- 
briclc, of the Fifteenth. They ascended a steep bank on 
the Virginia side, opposite the island, knowp as Ball's Bluff, 
which rises about one hundred feet above the Potomac. 
Philbrick went a short distance toward Leesburg, when he 
discovered, as he supposed, a small camp of Confederates 
apparently not well guarded. Upon receiving information' 
of this fact. General Stone, who supposed that McCall was 
near to assist if necessary, sent orders to Colonel Devens to 
cross from Harrison's Island with five companies of his regi- 
ment, and proceed at dawn to surprise the camp. Colonel 
Lee was also ordered to cross from the Maryland shore with 
four companies of his regiment, and a four-oared boat, to 
occupy tlie island after Devens' departure, and to send one 
company to the Virginia shore, to take position on the 
heights there, and cover his return. Devens advanced at 
dawn, but the reported camp could not be found. It proved 
that otlier objects had been mistaken for tents. After 
marching to within a mile of Leesburg, he halted and sent 
a courier to General Stone for further orders. Devens had 
been closely watched by the vigilant Confederates. He had 
a slight skirmish with the riflemen, in which one of his men 
were killed and nine wounded. He then fell back to the 
bluff, where the remainder of the regiment had been 
brought over by his lieutenant-colonel, George A. Ward, 
and his entire force now was only six hundred and twenty- 
five men. At a little past noon, Devens and his band were 
assailed by Confederates under Colonels Jenifer and Hun- 
ton, in the woods tliat skirted the open field in which they 
had halted. Infantry attacked the main body on the left, 
and cavalry fell upon the skirmishers in front. His men 
stood their ground firmly ; but, being pressed by overwhelm- 



128 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 



ing numbers, and reinforcements not arriving, they fell back 
about sixty paces to foil an attempt to flank them. This 
was accomplislied, and they took a position about half a 
mile in front of Colonel Lee, where he was reinforced by 
Colonel Baker, who took command of all the forces on the 
blnff, numbering nineteen hundred. Tliey immediately 
formed in battle order, and awaited attack. The ground on 
which our forces were compelled to give battle was very un- 
favorable. It was an open field, surrounded on three sides 
by a dense forest, and terminating on the fourth at the brow 
of a high bluff' at the river. 



.rm[-^KUi ._Bnj.iR4i- 




The contest began at three o'clock, and instantly became 
general and severe. Colonel Baker was killed, and Colonel 
Lee commanded. By a wrong maneuver a very destructive 
fire, at close distance, was poured upon the whole column by 
the Mississippi regiment. The soldiers immediately re- 
treated, which instantly became a ront, down the steep bank 
to the Potomac. As the boats were insufficient, there was 
no means left for escape but by swimming, and several were 
shot in the water and drowned. Colonel Devens escaped on 
bis horse, that swam across the turbulent Potomac. Thus 



SHORT SKETCHES OF REGIMENTS AND BATTLES. 



129 



ended, October 22d, 1861, the disastrous battle of Ball's 
Bluff.* The Fifteenth and Twentieth Massachusetts regi- 
ments, engaged in it, behaved with great gallantry, and 
suflfered severely. This disastrous battle carried grief into 
many of our Massaclmsetts families, and depressed the 
buoj-ant and patriotic spirit of our people for a time. J. 
D. Sherman and Elmer JSI. Newton were killed in this 
battle. 

The Twenty -first Regiment was recruited at " Camp Lin- 
coln," at Worcester. The men belonged to the central and 
western portions of the Commonwealth. This was one of 
the five regiments recruited in Massachusetts for special ser- 
vice, designed originally to be commanded by Gen. Thomas 
W. Sherman, but which command was afterwards given to 
General Burnside ; Augustus Morse, of Leominster, one of 
the three major-generals of militia of the Commonwealth, 
was commissioued colonel. A. C. Maggi, of New Bedford, 
who had volunteered as quartermaster-sergeant in the Third 
Regiment of the three months' militia, was commissioned 
lieutenant-colonel. He was an Italian by birth, a citizen by 
choice, and a thoroughly educated officer. William S. 
Clarke, professor in Amherst College, was commissioned as 
major. This regiment, after a brief stay in camp, started 
for the seat of war August 23, 1861, and first encamped at 
Annapolis, where for nearly five months it performed the 
duty of protecting the road to the Capital, and keeping the 
State of Maryland in the Union. In January, 1862, it 
started for North Carolina; its colonel, who had been a 
brigadier-general in the militia, resigned soon after their 
arrival, and Lieutenant-Colonel Clarke was commissioned 
colonel the next day. It made part of General Burnside's 
expedition, and was engaged in the battles at Roanoke 
Island, at Newbern, and at Camden. The regiment re- 
mained South till the famous campaign of General Pope, in 



* Called by Confederate writers the battle of Leesburg. 
17 



130 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

July, 1862, when the command of General Burnside was 
sent in as a reinforcement, and it landed at Aqna Ci'eek so 
as to take part in the battles at second Bull Run, South 
Mountain, Chantilly, Antietam and Fredericshurg. At 
Falmouth it remained on picket duty through the months of 
December and January, and broke camp without regret 
February 9, 1863, reaching Paris, Ky., April 1, where the 
State Fair grounds furnished the men a resting-place of 
four days, when they proceeded twentj'-two miles to Mount 
Sterling, where it remained three montlis, vindicating the 
character and title to respect of Massachusetts troops at the 
hands of Western men. In July they were at Lexington, 
and afterwards at Canip Nelson, and started for East Ten- 
nessee 12th September, marching one hundred and eighty- 
five miles to Knoxville. October 11th, a spirited engage- 
ment occurred at Blue Springs, when the Twenty-first drove 
the enemy from its position, and pursued it twenty-six miles, 
having marched fifty-one miles to reach that point. From 
this time to the end of the year their service was severe, and 
their conduct heroic. They are said to have marched and 
countermarched througli storm and cold without tents, and 
on half rations, poorly clothed and badly shod, twenty men 
doing duty through November barefoot, and yet doing their 
duty cheerfully and with such alacrity as to have acquired 
the name of the " Fighting Regiment." At the siege of 
Knoxville they did active duty, being one night on picket, 
and the next in the rifle-pits ; and the 24th November, in 
company with another picked regiment, they made one of 
the most brilliant charges of the siege, driving the enemy 
from the houses, the fences, and the rifle-pits in the neigh- 
borhood, and keeping up the work constantly till the siege 
was raised the 5th December ; and though only able to have 
for their subsistence two ears of corn per day, yet following 
hard on the footsteps of the retreating enemy, into the 
wocWs of East Tennessee ; and then, with the memory of 
what they had passed through, aind realizing what was before 



8H0ET SKETCHES OF REGIMENTS AND BATl'LES. 131 

them, half starved as they were, they crowned their service 
of two and a half years by a further enlistment for three 
years. If any men ever deserved well of their country, 
surely such as these did. It is worthy of note, that all but 
thirty-six of the regiment, who were alive and present for 
dnty, became veterans. In January, 1864, they came home 
on a furlough, and were honored with an enthusiastic recep- 
tion at Worcester as a regiment. Returning, they were re- 
viewed and welcomed back by President Lincoln, and, 
marching by the battle-fields of Bull Hun and Bristow's 
Station, to the Rapidan, to co-operate with the army of the 
Potomac in the final " pounding out" of the Rebellion, they 
made a part of that force with which Grant said he should 
" fight it out on that line if it took all summer." They 
were on the road to Richmond all that year; and in the 
Wilderness, at Spottsylvania, at North Anna, Cold Harbor, 
Petersburg, Welden Railroad, Poplar Spring Creek, and at 
Hatches Run, they met the shock of arms, and proved vet- 
erans in deed as well as in name. 

The casualties of the service, and the draft which had 
been made upon the physical systems of the men, had re- 
duced the numbers of the regiment to that point that it be- 
came necessary to break up the organization ; and so, on the 
18th August, 1864, the regiment was broken up, and its 
men transferred to the Thirty-sixth Massachusetts, and the 
ofiieers were mustered out of service, together with the men 
who had not re-enlisted. The record of this regiment, dur- 
ing its entire period of service, was a most honorable one, 
and more than once it had the credit of having, by its 
courage and dash, saved and turned the fortunes of the day, 
and either achieved a success or prevented a rout. Espec- 
ially was this true of the first battle of the Wilderness, 
when the Second Corps gave way, and, rushing across the 
lines of the Ninth, threw everything into confusion ; then 
the Twenty-first Massachusetts and the One Hundredth Penn- 
sylvania, succeeded in restoring order out of confusion, and 



132 HISTOKY OF GBAFTON. 

prevented the entire destruction of the army. All honor, 
then, to the officers and men of the Twenty -first Massachu- 
setts ! 

The Twenty-fifth Regiment was raised in Worcester 
County, and was organized at " Camp Lincoln," "Worcester. 
It left the State for Annapolis, October 31, 1861, and 
formed a part of General Burnside's division. The field 
officers were Edward Upton, Fitchburg, colonel ; A. B. R. 
Spragne, Worcester, lieutenant-colonel ; M. J. McCafferty, 
Worcester, major. These men had held commissions in the 
volunteer service, and were possessed of considerable mili- 
tary knowledge. 

The Fifty-first Regiment was recruited at " Camp John 
E. Wool," Worcester. On November 11th, the regiment 
was ordered to Newbern, N. C. A few days afterwards it 
came to Boston, and entered on board a transport, and pro- 
ceeded at once to its destination. A. B. R. Spragne, of 
Worcester, was colonel. 

The following are the names of all persons who enlisted 
or served during the war of the late Rebellion, from this 
town. The figures which follow the name represents the 
age of the person at enlistment ; the first date is the date of 
muster ; and the latter the date of the termination of ser- 
vice, and cause thereof. Where no explanation is given, it 
is understood to be the date of expiration of service : — 

Third Battalion Riflemen. 
Company B. 

Age. . Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Champney, Preston A., ... 20 May 19, 1861. 

Gee, James S. W., 27 " " 

Hayes, Martin M,, 18 " " Disability. 

Company C. 

Dunn, John 23 May 19, 1861. 

Jennings, Edward 20 " " 

POETY-SECOND REGIMENT, INFANTRY. (100 DAYS). 

Company G. 

Age. Date of Mus(er. Discharge. 

Cook, Walter 1 18 July 21, 1864. 

Farrar, George A., 21 " " 



LIST OF MEN WHO ENLISTED. 



133 



Sixteenth Kbgimbnt, Infantry. 
Company F. 



(100 DAYS). 



Age. Date of Muster. 

Dehron, Silvain 32 July 20, 1864. 

Terrill, Edward 20 " " 



DIscliarge. 



Forty-bkcond Regiment, Infantry. (Nine months). 
Company F. 



Age. 
Pratt, Henry W 25 



Date of Muster, 
Sept. 30, 1862. 



Discliar^e. 
Dec. 3, 1802. 
Disability. 



Fifty-first Ebgiment, Infantry. (Nine months). 
Company G. 



Age. 
Greene, Robert E., 19 

Company E. 

William F. Wheeler, Captain . — 

George F. Jourdan, 2nd Lieut. 26 

James Gleason, Sergeant . 35 

John W. Bigelow, " . 28 

James W. McKenzle, " . 32 

John Wheeler, " . 33 

Seth J. Axtell, Corporal . . 20 

John F. Searle, " . . 22 

Daniel C. Brown, " . . 24 

Joseph K. Axtell, " . . 27 

James E. McClellan, " . . 24 

George Ferry, Musician ... 18 

Dwight L. Moore, Wagoner . 29 

Aldrich, Ira C 18 

Balcom, Willard 38 

Bartlett, George A., — 

Biscoe, Arthur G., 20 

Caswell, Moses S. 18 

Chamberlin, Edward F. ... 27 

Copp, William A., 18 

Daniels, Marcus 21 

Davis, James 27 

Drury, John H 18 

Fisher, William H 28 

Fletcher, William C, .... 19 



Date of Muster. 
Sept. 25, 1862. 



Discharge. 
July 27, 1863. 



Sept, 25, 1862. July 25, 1863. 



March 21, 1863. 

Disability. 

July 27, 1863. 



Drowned in Chesa- 
peake Canal. 
July 27, 1863. 



Feb. 7, 1863. 

Disability. 
July 25, 1863. 

" 27, 1863. 
March 3, 1863. 

Disability. 
July 27, 1863. 



134 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

French, Charles W. 18 Sept. 25, 1862. Died M:ir. 1, 18G3, 

Newtiern, N. C. 

French, George H., 21 " " • July 27, 1863. 

Garvin, Lncius F. C, .... 21 " " " 

Gifford, Welcom F., — " " " 

Goddard, Perley 28 " " " 

Hammond, William H., ... 21 " " " 

Holden, Charles J., ..... 31 " " " " 

KemptoD, Russell A. 22 " " " " 

Lathe, Cheney, Jr., 18 " " " " 

Leland, John J 21 " " " " 

Munroe, Charles 19 '• " Died Jan. 28. 1863, 

Newbern, N. C. 

Pogue, John 19 " " July 27, 1863. 

Pratt, George B. 28 " " " " 

Pratt, Otis B., 36 " " " " 

Pratt, Samuel H., 21 " " Died Feb. 2, 1863, 

Newbern, N. C. 

Taft, Emory A 40 " " July 27, 1863. 

Van Curan, Abram 43 " " " " 

"Walker, James S. 24 " " Jan. 30, 1863. 

Disability. 

Walcott, Lyman A., 21 " " Died June 16, 1863, 

Newbern, N. C. 

Waters, Andrew 37 " " July 27, 1863. 

Webster, George C. 18 " " " 

Wesson, Henry A 20 " " " 

Company 1. 
Jonrdan, Asa H., 28 " " " " 

Sixth Regiment, Heavy Artillery. (Three years). 

Company C. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

McLougWin, John 22 Aug. 4, 1863. Sept. 3, 1865. 

Company 6. 

McHenery, James 42 " " Died Aug. 22, 1863, 

in a rebel prison. 

Second Regiment, Heavy Artillery. (Three years). 
Company I. 

Age. Date of Master. Discharge. 

Davis, Mariner 18 Dec. 11, 1863. Died Oct. 20, 1864, 

Newbern, N. C. 

Third Regiment, Heavy Artillery. (Three years). 

Company K. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Skinner, Charles 26 May 12, 1864. Sept. 18, 1865. 



LIST OF MEN 'WHO ENLISTED. 



135 



FiEST Battalion 
Comparry F. 



Heavy Artillery. (Three years). 



Age. 

Fletcher, William C, Sergeant. 20 

Gleason, James " 37 

Searle, John F., " 25 

Chamberlin, Edward F., Corp. 29 
Newton, George M., " 
Plaisted, Simeon M., ' 
Ferry, George W., Musician 
Allen, Simon B., Artificer . 
Axtell, Cyrus E., " 
Balcom, Marcus D., " 

Bartlett, George A 32 

Bigelow, Alden M 18 

Boynton, Ambrose 18 

Brophy, John 29 

Bruce, Marcus M., 32 

Burns, Alanson E 21 

Chickerlng, Jonas H., .... 33 

Drury, John H. 21 

Estabrook, George F., .... 18 

French, George H., 23 

Frissell, George E 18 

Goddard, John H., 21 

Hall, Samuel D., ...... 20 

Hammond, William H 23 

Keith, Edward W., ..... 21 

Kelsey, Darwin N., 34 

Leland, Samuel E., 32 

Magrath, James W., 35 

Mann, Henry 30 

McClellan, John E 18 

Mellor, James 44 

Nichols, Jonathan E 40 

Pierce, Simon T., 21 

Pratt, George B., 31 

Pratt, Luke G. 18 

Prentice, John E., 30 

Putnam, William H., .... 83 

Reniick, Nathaniel P., . . . . 32 

Eiggs, Ira J.,. 36 

Eobinson, Henry F., 21 

Stowe, IthamerF., 26 

Stralton, James B. 35 

Strattou, George K., .... 18 



Date of Muster. 
Aug. 15, 1864. 



15, 



Placharpre. 
June 28, 1§65. 



24 


Aug. 


25 


Aug. 


18 


It 


21 


It 


18 


(C 


27 


(( 



136 



HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 



Age. 

Truax, Richard 2i 

Walcott, Frederick F., . ... 18 
Webster, George C. N., . . 20 

Wliite, Cliarles A., 19 

Wood, Azor B 37 

Wood, William S., 40 

Young, Thomas 21 



Date of Muster. 
Aug. 15, 1864. 



Discharge. 
June 28, 1865. 



Unassignkd Recruits. 



Age. 



Date of Muster. 
Feb. 4, 186S. 



Mulqueeney, Patriclt 26 

Colburn, Franklin C, .... 28 March 22, 1864, 

Faerl, John 26 April 30, 1864. 

Whitney, Frederick 18 July 30, 1862. 

Brigham, Phineas F., .... 32 Jan. 5, 1864. 



Discharge. 

Deserted 
March 19, 1865. 

Deserted 
May 12, 1864. 

June, 1865. 
Jan. 9, 1864, 
rejected recruit. 



Second Regiment of Cavalry. (Three years). 
Company I. 



Age. 
McCallen, John C, 25 

" Heed's Company. 
Amsdeii, Albert D., 19 



Date of Muster. 
March 7, 1863. 



Discharge. 
July 7, 1865, 
Disability. 



Nov. 15, 1861. Died May 13, 1862, 
in New Orleans, La. 



Fourth Regiment of Cavalry. (Three years;. 
Company C. 



Cady, Henry K., Sergeant 



Age. 
32 



Walcott, George W., Corporal. 18 

Claflin, Charles 22 

Peckham, Henry A 38 

Company D. 

Fullerton, William S. 38 

Howe, Charles E 18 

Company F. 

Bigelow, Edward E., .... 18 



Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Jan. 6, 1864. March 1, 1865, pro- 
moted in U. 8. C. V. 
" " Nov. 14, 1865. 

" " April 1, 1865. 

Disability. 
" " April 1, 1865. 



* Originally First Unattached Company of Cavalry ; afterwards known 
as " Reed's Company." 



LIST OF MEN WHO ENLISTED. 137 

Company H. 

A^e. Date of Muster. Discbarge, 

Smith, Edw.ird R., Q. M. Serg't 21 Jan. G, 1864. July 29, 18f!4. 

Disability. 
Gibbs, Ira S., Com. Sergeant . 33 " " Nov. 14, 1865. 

Pratt, Edward W., Corporal . 18 " " " " 

Twelfth Rbglment, Infantry. (Three years). 
Company D. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Putnam, Charles 29 July 14, 1863. Trans. June 25, 

1864, to 39th Inf'try. 

Fifteenth Regiment, Infantry. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Rev. W. G. Scandlin, Chaplain. 33 Aug. 5, 1861. Resigned 

Aug. 12, 1862. 
Walter Forehand, Captain . . 85 Aug. 1, " Resigned 

Oct. 9, 1802. 
Henry T. Dudley, " . . 22 Dec. 3, 1863. Trans. 1864, to 

20th Infantry. 
Sfewell K. Holden, 1st Lieut. . 24 Aug. 1, 1861. Resigned 

April 27, 1862. 
Charles M. Batchelder, " . 33 Jan. 3, 1863. Declined pro- 

motion. 
Stephen L. Kearney, 2nd Lieut. 26 Aug. 1, 1861. Resigned 

Jan. 16, 1862. 
Albert A. Smith, " 30 Oct. 24, 1862. Declined com- 

mission. 

Company A. 

Colburn, Franklin C. 28 Aug. 23, 1862. Dis. Mar. 22, 1864, 

to re-enlist. 

Colburn, Franklin C, .... 30 March 23, 1864. Trans. 1864, to 

20th Infantry. 

Company C. 
Minot, Joseph 24 Aug. 7, 1862. 

Company D. 

Cobb, Andrew S. — July 12, 1861. 

Cummings,. S- L., — " " 

Chikls, George G., — 

Daniels, James — " " 

Blodgett, William — " 

Bond, Herbert 19 " " Aug. 23. 1861. 

Disability. 

Sibley, Augustus 25 Aug. 7, " May 1, 1863. 

Disability. 

IS 



138 HISTOEY OF GKAFTON. 

Company E. 

Ae-e, Date of truster. 

Browu, Horace C, 25 Jan. 30, 1861. 

Hoyle, Henry J8 July 12, " 

Hudson, Archibald B 39 Feb. 28, 1864. 



lilscliarge. 

■ Jan. Ifi, 1863. 

Disability. 
Trans. 1863, 

to V. R. C. 

Trans. 1864, 
to 20th Infantry. 



Company G. 
Oakes, Charles H., 1st Serg't . 25 
Wheelock, George W., " . 23 

Davis, John W., Sergeant 



Howe, Alfred A. " 
Johnson, Charles A. " 

Eice, Abner H., " 

Smith, Albert A., " 

Stow, Jonathan P., " 



36 

19 
38 

23 

29 



Balcora, Gilbert E., Corporal . 20 
Clisbee, Julius A., " . 28 

Davis, George, " . 36 

Fairbanks, Francis P., •' . 19 

Ford, Levi I., " . 26 

Kimball, John H., " . 30 

Macker, George A., " .18 

Eobinson, Fred'k B., " . 22 

Allen, Thomas W., Musician . 18 

Allen, Thomas W., " .20 

Aldrich, Bradford E., .... 21 

Ball, Henry S 24 

Bassett, Harvey 

Berry, Charles W., ig 



July 12, 1861. 

(( it 

(( tt 

U (( 

(( u 

li ce 

(C (1 

(( (( 

Dec. 11, " 

July 12, " 



Feb. 21, 1864. 

" 4, 1862. 
July 12, 1861. 



July 28, 1864. 
Killed July 3, 1863, 
at Gettysburg, Pa. 
Dishonorably dis- 
charged Nov. 4, '63. 
Died Dec. 23, 1864. 
Oct. 12, 1863. 
Disability. 
KillfdMay 5, 1864, 
Wilderness, Va. 
Oct. 28, 18li2. 
Disability. 
Died of wonnds 
Sept. 17, 1862, An- 

tietam, Md. 
Died Dec. 6, 1862. 
Dec. 6, 1862. 
Disability. 
Aug. 20, 1862. 
Nov. 25, 1862. 
Disability. 
May, 1862. 
Disability. 
June 6, 1865, as ex- 
changed prisoner of 

war. 
May 17, 1865, as ex- 
changed prisoner of 
war. 
May 24, 1862. 
Disability. 
Feb. 21, 1864, 
to re-enlist. 

Trans, to 20th 

Infantry. 

Trans, to V. R. C. 

Died Dec. 9, 1862. 

Feb. 6, 1863. 
Disability. 



LIST OF MEN 

Age. 
Bigelow, Thomas M., .... 19 
Boiinor, Joseph 35 

Boyfk'u, Lucius 25 

Brown, Adalbert L., .... 19 

Bryant, A-a T., 22 

Burns, George E., 27 

Campbell, Donald A 18 

Caswell, C. L., 18 

Chappell, John 23 

Claflin, Charles 20 

Clisbee, Harrison J., 18 

Collins, William E., 18 

Daniels, Marcus 19 

Davis, Oriu L., 41 

Day, Horace 35 

Dean, William B., — 

Dennis, James T., 20 

Desmond, John C, — 

Ellis, E. A., 22 

Flagg, Walter J — 

Eairbanks, Alton W., .... 18 

Frlssle, Henry A., 18 

Grovling, Alexander — 

Hill, CrowellL., 18 

Hammond, Edvvin H., . . . . — 
Holland, John 18 

Harris, Daniel — 

Holt, Theodore E., 18 

Howith, John 38 



WHO ENLISTED. 



139 



Date of Muster. Discharge. 

July 12, I8GI. Trans, to V. R. C. 
KilledMay 6, 1864, 
Wilderness, Va. 
" " Died of disease, 

Aug. 26, IhfiL'. 
" " Died of wnunds, 

June 18, 1862. 
" " Killed Sept. 17, '62, 

Antiettim, Md. 
July 30, 1862. Died of wounds 
Nov. 15, 1862. 
" " Died Feb. 16, 1865, 

in Libby prison, in 
Andef>onville, Ga. 
July 12, 1861. Killed Dec. 13, '62, 
ITredericsbnig, Va. 
" Dec. 20, 1862. 

Disability. 
" " Aug. 25, 1861. 

IMsability. 
Dec. 11, " Killed. Sept. 17, '62, 
Anlietain, Md. 
" " July 28, 1864. 

" " Never left the State. 

" " Killed Sept. 17, '62, 

Antietam, Md. 
" " April 25, 1862. 

" " At exp. of service 

he was absent on 
sick list. 

" " Died Dec. 25, 1861, 

Richmond, Va. 
ti tt 

" " Nov. 22, 1862. 

Disability. 
" " Died March 7, '64, 

Richmond, Va. 
(( it 

" July 23, 1862. 

Disability. 
tt tt 

" " April 19, 1862. 

Disability. 

" " Trans. 1803, to 

V. R. C. 
" " .July 23, 1862. 

Disability. 



140 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Huckins, Francis E. 19 Dec. 11, 1861. July 28, 18G4. 

Hughes, James 18 " " Dictl S<pt. 28, 18G2. 

Johnson, E. S., 17 " " Missing Sept. 17, '62. 

Johnson, Richard M., .... 19 " " Dec. 25, 1863, 

to re-enlist. 

Johnson, Richard M., .... 21 Dec. 26, 1863. Trans, to 20th 

Infantry. 

Keating, James li 23 July 12, 1861. Never left the 

State. 

Kelley, James C. 23 " " March 12, 1862. 

Kirkup, James S. 18 Nov. 26, 1861. Dec. 25, 1863, 

to re-enlist. 

Legasy, John 20 July 30, " Nov. 15, 1862. 

Disability. 

Marble, Francis H., 18 July 12, " Died of wouuds 

Nov. 26, 1862. 

Margrum, Frederick C, . . . 21 " " March 25, 1863. 

Disability. 

Martin, John 20 Dec. 11, " Jan. 1, 1864, to 

re-enlist. 

Martin, John 22 Jan. 2, 1864. Trans, to 20th 

Infantry. 

Matthews, William 25 July 12, 1861. Killed Dec. 13, '62, 

Fredericsburg, Va. 

McKenzie, John M., 26 Aug. 6, " Never li-ft the 

State. 

McLaughlin, James 33 July 12, " March 12, 18G2. 

Mitchell, Charles L 45 Aug. 11, 1862. Died Oct. 24, '62. 

Morse, Willie E. 18 July 12, 1861. Died Dec. 80, '62. 

Munroe, George A 18 Dec. 11, " Trans, to 20th 

Infantry. 

V Newton, Elmer M., 23 July 12, " Killed Oct 21, '61, 

at Ball's Bluff. 

Cakes, Sylvester 21 July 30, " Killed Dec. 13, '02. at 

Fredericsburg, Va. 

Cakes, Charles H — July 12, " July 29, 1864. 

Plimpton, Frank A., 20 " " Dec. , SI, 1863. 

Disability. 

Plympton, Webster 21 July 30, " Cct. 20, 1862, 

to enlist in U. S. A. 

Roods, M. A., 23 July 12, " July 28, 1864. 

Robbins, William E. — Feb. 11, 1862. Jan. 18, 1868. 

Disaljility. 

Sargent, John M 36 Aug. 11, " March 26, 1863. 

Disability. 

Sherman, J. D 21 July 12, 1861. Killed Oct. 21, '61, 

Ball's Bluff. 
Sherburt, Peter 23 " " Feb. 12, 1862. 



LIST OF MEN WHO ENLISTED. 



141 



Age. Date of Master, Discliar^re. 

Snow, Charles — July 12, 18G1. Sept. 19, 1862. 

Disaljility. 

Snow, Alfred — " •• Died Oct. 19, 1862, 

of wouuds at Autietaui. 

SmUh, John R., — Aug. 25, 1862. 

Sargent, LucUis M,, — July 12,1861. Camp Scott, '61, 

Ui.-.ability. 

Sibley, William 31 " " Nov. 14, 18C2. 

Disability. 

Sweeney, J. Frank 23 " " Never left the 

State. 

Tiffney, G. E., 23 " " Trans, to V. R. C. 

Wheelock, G. E., — " " Killed July 1, '63, 

at Gettysburg. 

Whitney, Frederick 18 July 30, " Tran.s. to 20ih 

Infantry. 

Wait, Albert — July 12, " 

Whitney, Frederick 33 Feb. 4, 1862. Jnlv 31, 1862. 

Disability. 
Young, Samuel 17 July 12, 1861. Aug. 25, 18C1. 

Company I. 

Burdsley, Joseph 37 July 28, 1862. Killed July 2, 1, ''63, 

Gettysburg, Pa. 

Remick, Alpheus 28 Feb. .10, " Died Feb. 27, 'C4. 

Company K. 

Howe, Adolphus — July 12, 1861. 1863, Disability. 

Howarth, James 31 July 1, " Dec. 15, '63, Dis- 
ability, as "Howard." 

Rhodes, Rufus A., 19 " " Jan. 19, 1861, to 

enlist in U'. S. A. 
Thornton, John G., 20 " " July 28, 1864. 

NlKETEKNTH REGIMENT, InFANTHY. (TiIRKE YEARS). 

Company A. 

A^e, Date of MnstPr, Dlscliargn. 

Nelson, Leroy A 20 Aug. 28, 18G1. Killed Oec. 13, '62, 

Fredericsburg, Va. 

Company F. 

* Case, Harrison E., 



'Among those wounded in the late battles before Richmond, was 
Harrison E. Case, twenty-seven years old, sou of Mr. Elijah L. Case of 
Grafton. He enlisted from Hopkinton into company F, of the 19th 
regiment, Colonel Hinks. Captain Rice, of his company, being in com- 
mand of the regiment since the battle. Lieutenant Hill writes to his 
father as follows : " In the battle of June 30, at Nelson's farm, in 



142 histoky of geafton. 

Twentieth Regiment, Infantry. (Thrkb ybarsJ. 

Age. Date of Muster. Dlscliarge. 

Heury G. Dudley, Captain . . 22 Dec. 3, 1863. March 25, 1865. 

Company G. 

Allen, Thomas, Musician ... 18 Feb. 21, 1864. July 16, 1865. 

Hudson, Archibald B., . ... 37 Feb. 27, " July 24, " 

Johnson, Richard M., .... 19 Dec. 25, 1863. July 16, " 

Twenty-first Regiment, Infantry. (Three years). 

Band. 

Age. Date of .Muster. Dlsobnrge. 

Hathaway, Dexter S., .... 39 Aug. 23, 1861. Aug. 11, 1862. 

Company D. 

Howe, EdwardA 19 Aug. 23, 1861. Aug. 30, 1864. 

Prentice, Henry 24 " " Oct. 12, 1861. 

Disability. 

Whitney, James D 23 " " Jan. 1, 1864. 

Whitney, James D 25 Jan. 2, 1864. Trans, to 36th 

Infantry. 

Company E. 

Tuhy, Peter 38 Aug. 23, 1861. Oct. 20, 1862. 

Disability. 

Webster, Lucius 37 Jan. 2, 1864. Trans, to 36th 

Infantry. 

Company F. 

Gee, James S. W., 27 Aug. 19, 1861. Aug. 30, 1864. 

Twenty-second Regiment, Infantry. (Three years). 

Com,pany D. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Whitney, George T., Sergeant. 22 Sept. 6, 1861. Oct. 8, 1803.- 

Disability. 

White, James 31 " " Nov. 3, 1862. 

Whitney, Luther W 26 " " Oct. 5, 1864. 

Twenty-fourth Regiment, Infantry. (Three years). 

Company A. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Minnahan, John, Corporal . . 28 Dec. 21, 1863. Jan. 20, 1866, 

in Co. K. 

which the I9th suffered severely, your son, Mr. Harrison E. Case, was 
wounded, and it is believed mortally, the wound being in a bad place — 
the left ."ide— and after it he seeming unconscious. He was left on the 
battle-tleld, so I am not able to tell you certainly his fate. He was a 
good man and a brave soldier, always ready and willing to do his 
duty."— ;§py. 



LIST OF MEN 
Twenty-fifth Kegiment, 

Age. 

Pratt, Henry H., Captain ... 25 

Band. 
Chase, David 48 

Company A. 
Wesson, Calvin A., Sergeant . 29 
Brown, George R., Corporal . 23 
Putnam, William W., .... 21 

Putnam, William W 23 

Wesson, Ilale 19 

Wesson, James 18 

Company B. 
Gibson, Henry H — 

Company C. 
Leland, Augustus J., .... 41 

Company D. 
Champney, Preston D., Serg't. 21 

Champney, Samuel G., . . .19 

Hastings, George W., .... 48 

Leland, John W., 18 

Leland, Royal A — 

Leland, John W., 20 

Company E. 

Jamison, Hugh 

Jamison, Hugh 

Company K. 

Currier, Le Roy S., 18 

Currier, Le Roy S 20 

Davis, Augustus E., 20 

Davis, Augustus E., 22 

Grim, Joseph M., 19 

Grim, Joseph M 21 

Johnson, Jerome ...... 20 

Farmenter, Joshua B., .... 45 



WHO ENLISTED. 



143 



Infantry. (Thkbe years). 

Date of Muster. Discliarj^e. 

May 17, 1865. July 13, 1865. 



Sept. 26, 1861. 

Sept. 11, 1861. 
Sept. 10, " 
Sept. 14, " 
Jan. 16, 1864. 
Sept. 16, 1861. 

Sept. 11, " 



Aug. 30, 1862. 
Oct. 20, 1864. 

Jan. 18, 1864. 
July 13, 1865. 
Trans, to Signal 

Corps. 
Oct. 20, 1864. 



Jan. 5, 1864. 

Sept. 27, 1861. 
Aug. 7, 1862. 
Oct. 14, 1861. 

Sept. 10, " 
Dec. 18, 1863. 

Oct. 16, 1861. 
Jan. 19, 1864. 

Sept. 20, 1861. 
Jan. 3, 1864. 

Sept. 17, 1861. 
Jan. 3, 1864. 

Sept. 20, 1861. 
Jan. 19, 1864. 

Dec. 18, 1863. 

Sept. 16, 1861. 



Missing since 
June 3. 

Trans, to Signal 

Corps. 
Died Oct. 10, '64, 
N. Y. C. 
March 12, 1862. 

Disability. 

Dec. 17, 1863. 

Died Oct. 16, 1864, 

at Newbern, of 

yellow fever. 

July 14, 1865. 

Jan. 19, 1864. 
June 29, 1864. 



Jan. 2, 1864. 
Died of wounds 
July 10, 1864. 
Jan. 2, 1864. 
July 20, 1865. 
Disability. 
July 18, 1864. 
Missing since 
May 16. 
Died Feb. 26, '65, 
Florence, S. C. 
Jan. 18, 1864. 



144: HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

Thirty-fourth Kegiment, Infantry. (Three years). 
Company A. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Sherry, William, Corporal . . 23 July 31, 1863. June 24, 1865. 
SiiUivim, Timothy, " . . 18 " " June 16, " 

Stacy, Orrin, Musician .... 16 June 22, " " 

Bigelovv, George M., 25 July 31, " 

Bryant, Thomas C, 31 " " " " 

Burns, John S. — " " Aug. 19, 1863. 

Disability. 

Clapp, Willard 44 " " June 16, 1865. 

Grant, Jos. H. 31 " " Dec. 10, 1862. 

Kelley, Patrick 18 " " June 16, 1865. 

Knights, Benjamin VV 18 Oct. 17, 1863. Trans, to 

24th Infantry. 

Putnam, Austin 42 July 31, 1862. June 3, 1863. 

Disability. 

Savage, John 41 " " Missing since 

Oct. 19, 1864. 

Spring, Charles F 18 July 23, " June 16, 1865. 

Wheeler, Caleb W 19 Aug. 4, 1862. Trans, to V. E. C. 

Whitney, Franklin 18 July 31, '■ June 16, 1865. 

Thirty-sixth Regiment, Infantry. (Three years). 
Company E: 

A^e. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Keyes, John 22 Aug. 8, 1862. June 8, 1865. 

Company F. 
Balcom, Abel II., 35 Aug. 11, " Trans, to V. R. C. 

Company K. 

Smith, Silas W., Sergeant . . 26 Aug. 8, " June 8, 1865, 

in Co. B. 

Fifty-seventh Reglment, Infantry. (Three years). 
Company A. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Rivod, Moses 18 Jan. 4, 1864. Killed May 12, '64, 

Sputtsylvania, Va. 
Walker, William R., ..... — Dec. 7, 1863. Jaly, 1864. 
Company B. 

Terrill, Edward 45 " " . Missing 

July 30, 1864. 
Company D. 

Remick, Augustus 21 Dec. 25, " Fob. 27. 1865. 

Disability. 



LIST OF MEN WHO ENLISTED. 145 

Company G. 

Age. Date of Muster. Dlscliarge. 

White, Albert 20 Mar. 10, 1864. Deserted 

April 17, 1864. 

Company H. 

Shatnboo, Edward 21 Jan. 11,1864. July 30, 1865. 

Shamboo, Christopher .... 18 " " " " 

Webb, Joseph C. 32 " " " " 

Company K. 

Lee, Smith J., 20 April 8, 1865. Sept. 16, 1865. 

Mitchell, John F., 18 April 6, 1864. Trans, to V. B. C. 

Company F. 

Wilson, Joseph — Feb. 2, 1864. Deserted. 

FiFTY-BIGHTH REGIMENT, INFANTRY. (ThRBB YKARS). 

Company G. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Laflin, John 18 Feb. 20, 1864. Deserted 

April 29, 1864. 

Bobinson, John 23 " " Deserted 

April 29, 1864. 

Bobinson, Stephen 22 " " Deserted 

May 12, 1864. 
Company O. 

Byron, Marcus M., 23 Jane 26, 1864. June 30, 1866. 

Lynch, Macls; 80 Mar. 26, " July 14, " 

Veteran Reserve Corps. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Vail, JefiTery 23 Aug. 5, 1864. 

Regular Army. 

Age. Date of Muster. Orgauizatlou. 

Afel, Charles 31 July 19, 1864. First Artillery. 

Cain, Barney 32 " " " 

Cobb, Joel F., 43 Jan. 4, " Band. 

Cryan, John W — April 30, " Signal Corps. 

Doran, John 35 July 19, " First Artillei-y. 

Gay, Charles 25 " " 

Lathe, Cheney — Mar. 18, " Signal Corps. 

Lougee, Stephen N 36 Nov. 23, 1863. Band. 

Lucas, Thomas O., 38 Nov. 28, " 

Malone, Bernard 32 Feb. 3, 1865. Third Artillery. 

Moore, James 30 July 19, 1864. Second " 

Morton, William 25 " " First " 

Wilson, John 28 July 5, " Fourth 

19 



146 HISTOEr OF GEAFTON. 

Second Heavy Artillery. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Dlscliarge. 

Bonner, Edward July 15, 1863. Sept. 3, 1865. 

Brewer, Joshua " " " " 

Brewer, Thomas H " " •• « 

Hennessey, Michael Dec. 7, " July 7, " 

Melney, Charles W July 27, " Sept. 3, " 

First Provo Guard. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Barney, B. F. (drafted). . . . July 14, 18C3. Dec. 18, 18G3. 

Disability. 
Powers, M. V., " ... " " June 29, 1865. 

Snow, Charles " ... " " Dec. 1863. 

Disability. 

Fourth Cavalry. (Three years). 

Company O. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Claflin, Willard G July 12, 1861. Disability, 1861, 

while the reg't were 
at Camp Scott. 

Cady, Curtis " " Killed June 4, '64, 

by a shell, at 
Cold Harbor. 

Hildreth, Martin T., Dec. 15, 1863. Killed Oct. 28, '64, 

in battle at 
Gun Creek. 
Whitney, Sidney H., Jan. 7, 1864, Nov. 14, 1866. 

Thirty-sixth Regiment. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Allen, Benjamin F Aug. 22, 1862. 

Company C. 
Buxton, Joseph Aug. 27, 1862. 

Butler's Brigade. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Barras, Peter Oct. 19, 1861. Died Dec. 19, '62, 

in New Orleans, 
of fever. 

First Battalion, Heavy Artillery. (One year). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Bartlett, George A., Aug. 15, 1864. Sept. 3, 1865. 

Ballou, Job D " " " " 



LIST OF MEN WHO ENLISTED. 14:7 

Fifteenth REaiMENT. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Brown, H. C Jan. 16, 1863. 

Disability. 

Twenty-sixth Regiment. (Thuee tears). 
Company i>. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Davis, Watts E., Mar. 16, 1864. Sept. 23, 1865. 

Gilson, William H May 3, " " " 

Eleventh Infantry. 
Company A^. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Farfey, Patrick Deserted. 

Signal Corps. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Hanson, CM May 2, 1864. 

Kimball, Charles E May 10, " Aujj. 18, 1864. 

Disability. 

Unknown. 

Age. Date of Muster, Discharge, 

Ladnke, Isaac Jan., 1864. 

Simson, Levi Nov. 3, " 

Stampley, Henry " " 

Wigfall, Harry " " 

Twenty-second Regiment, Infantry. 
Company D. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Miller, A. J., 

Twentieth Infantry. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Myott, Charles July 14, 1863. Died May 29, '64, 

of wounds. 

Third Artillery, Heavy. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discbarge. 

\/ Newton, Albert S., Feb., 1864. Sept. 18, 1865. 

Thirty-third Regiment, Infantry. 

Age. Date of Master. Dlscbargo. 

Ryan, John Aug. 7, 1862. Dec, 1862. 

Disability. 



^ 



148 hi8toey of gbafton. 

Fifty-fifth Regiment, Ikfantry. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Shaw, John June 20, 1863. Aug. 19, 1865. 

Co. K. 

Second Cavalry. (Thkee years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Clapp, William A. Bugler . . Dec. 18, 1863. 

Seventeenth Regiment, Infantry. (Three years). 
Company A. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Callahan, Daniel Aug. 5, 186i. June 30, 1865. 

First Cavalry. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Davis, Everett Mar. 2i, 1864. June 29, 1865. 

Ninth Infantry. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Smith, Mathew June 11, 1861. Killed at Gains- 

ville, Jane 27, '62 

First Battalion, M. V. M. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Copp, Andrew J Mar. 13, 1861. 

Navy. 
Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Newton, George M April 12, 1861. April, 1864. 

Pratt, Richard K " 

Jennings, Edward Aug. 19, " 

Wood, Samuel H., 

Turner, Arba T., , 

Thirty-fourth Regiment. (Three years). 
Company A. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discliarge. 

Clark, Lorin S., July 22, 1862. June 16, 1865. 

Pratt, Richard K " " " " 

Thirty-ninth Regiment. (Three years). 

Age. Date of Muster. Discharge. 

Cole, A. M., Aug. 23, 1862. 

Tenth Regiment. 

Age. Date of Muster. Discbarge. 

Preston, Robert May 18, 1863. 



DEATH OF JAMES E. McCLELI-AN. 149 

The following notice of the death, etc., of James E. Mc- 
Clellan, memlior of company E, 51st Regiment, written by 
Rev. Gilbert Robbins, we clip from the Worcester Spy : — 

" On the night of July 7, the 51st Regiment was marching on the road 
leading along the banks of the Chesapeake canal, to Maryland Heighta. 
When opposite Harper's Ferry the men were ordered to halt and rest. 
They sat down with their equipments all on, near the brink of the preci- 
pice overlooking the canal, which at this point was a perpendicular bank 
wall, twenty feet or more from the water, the depth of water being 
about nine feet. After a pause of about an hour, during which our 
lamented young friend, with many others, being overcome with fatigue, 
fell asleep, the order was given to march. Getting up suddenly, and 
not being able, on account of the darkness of the night, to see how 
near he was to the edge of the embankment, he made a misstep, fell 
over into the canal, and was drowned. This occurred about one o'clock 
on the morning of the 8th inst. To save him seemed impossible. One 
or two were about to make the attempt, but so dark and rainy was the 
night, and so high the embankment, that it was thought by the officers 
that a plunge from it would prove fatal to any person attempting to 
rescue hira. After daylight the same morning a small party returned to 
the place, and after several hours' search succeeded in finding his body, 
which was immediately sent to his friends in Grafton. The funeral 
services were attended on the following Sabbath, at the Baptist Church, 
in the presence of a vast congregation of sympathizing friends. His 
pastor, Rev. G. Robbins, preached a very solemn and impressive ser- 
mon, from the text, ' Be still, and know that I am God.' (Psalms 46 ; 
10). The procession to the church, and from thence to the cemetery, 
was escorted by the entire Are department of the town, and embraced, 
besides the large circle of relatives, the present and past members of 
the board of selectmen, the clergy, and a large body of citizens. 

His death at the early age of twenty-five years, adds another to the 
long list of brave, self-sacriflcing, Chi'istian young men, who have fallen 
victims to this terrible war. And it would be difficult to mention one 
exhibiting a loftier patriotism, or a higher degree of moral and religious 
excellence, than he did. Distinguished from childhood by remarkable 
conscientiousness, guileless integrity, and great energy of character, by 
deep filial afiection and strong attachment to home and kindred, he 
carried these qualities with him when he entered the army; and from 
the day of his enlistment till the hour of his death, he exhibited a rare 
combination of soldierly, humane and Christian elements of character. 
As a son, as a brother, as a teacher in the district and Sabbath schools, 
as a church member, as a personal friend, as an instructor of the poor 
contrabands of North Carolina, and as a young man of great prospect- 
ive usefulness in the town, he adorned and blessed every relation In 



150 aiSTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

which he stood, and secured the respect, the confidence, the love of all 
who knew him. Those who knew him best, loved him most. Not only 
was he the light and joy of his father's beautiful home, but he was 
equally a favorite among his comrades in arms. Lieutenant Winslow, 
of company E, in writing the particulars of his death to his friends, 
says : ' This is a sad and painfal duty to perform, to notify the friends 
of the death of one so young and full of promise cut down, without a 
moment's warning, so near the time, too, when he anticipated going 
home and being released from his duties as a soldier. It is sad indeed, 
and a gloom is again spread over our company. This is the seventh 
time that we have been called upon to notify friends of the death of 
members of our company since we entered into the service. And this 
seems the most sad and painful of them all. Though it seems blind 
and unaccountable to us, yet it is the working of an all- wise providence. 
It is a heavy blow upon us as a company, and still a more dreadful 
calamity and bereavement to his family and friends. Corporal McClel- 
lan was a good soldier, a consistent Christian, a true friend ; always 
ready to perform any duty which was put upon him as a soldier. As a 
Christian, 1 never heard him utter one word derogatory to his profes- 
sion, never saw him in the least degree angry, or knew him to utter an 
unkind word to any person. I believe him to be the most exemplary 
person, most true to his profession, that I have ever known. It must be 
a groat comfort to his friends in this bereavement to know that he had 
always done his duty well, and endeavored to do good to all about him. 
He has gone and left us. We mourn his loss sincerely as a company 
and a regiment.' The same testimony, substantially, has been given by 
Colonel Sprague, Captains Wheeler and Wood, and other members of 
the regiment. 

To be good, and to do good, was the highest aim, the noblest ambi- 
tion of our beloved friend. His life was short, but crowded with use- 
fulness. His death was afflictive, but full of hope. Farewell, dear 
friend, a short farewell, till we shall meet again in heaven. 

' If life be not in length of days, 

In silvered locks and farrowed brow. 
But living to the Saviour's praise, 
How few have lived so long as thou I ' 

The following touching lines were sent by young McClellan to his 
friends at home, in his last letter, which reached them but a day or two 
before his death. They seem almost prophetic of his own coming ; — 

WAITING FOR OUR SOLDIERS. 

By the blue Potomac's waters, 

By the Rappahannock's line, 
By the sunny Southern rivers, 

'Neath the holly and the pine, 



DEATH OF JAMES E. MoCLELLAN. 151 

Falling in the shock of battle, 

Wounded, in their blood they lie, — 
Pining with the dark malaria, — 

So our youthful patriots die. 

In the city, in the village. 

In the hamlet far away, 
Sit the mothers, watching, waiting, 

For their soldier-boys to-day. 
They are coming; daily coming — 

One by one, and score by score ; 
In their leaden casings folded. 

Underneath the flag they bore. 

Thinks the mother, weeping, waiting, 

And expectant all the day — 
How his regiment was summoned. 

How her soldier went away : 
With his bayonet a-gleaming, 

With his knapsack on his back, 
With his blanket strapped and folded. 

And his home-fllled haversack. 

Thinking of the courage swelling 

In his eye and in his heart; 
Though a manly tear was welling 

When he kissed her to depart. 
Thinking of his precious letters 

Written by the camp-flre.'s glow. 
Rich in love of home and country, 

And of her who bade him go. 

Counting now the lagging moments 

For the knocking at the door. 
For the shuffling and the tramping 

Feet of strangers on the floor; 
Bringing in their precious burden — 

Leaving her to grief and tears. 
To the sorrowing and the mourning — 

Darkening all the coming years. 

Stay the wailing and the sighing, 

Who in bitterness complain. 
Said'st thou our sons were dying. 

Pouring out their blood in vain? 
God forbid ! He slays the first-born 

That the people may be free I 
Not a drop of blood is wasted ; 

'Tls the price of liberty I 



152 HISTOET OF GKAFTON, 

LINES ON THE DEATH OF JAMES E. McCLELLAN. 

Oh ! dark was the day when we heard the sad tidings 
That our brother beloved had fallen in death; 

That beneath the still stream near Potomac's swift glidings 
He struggled a moment, then yielded his breath. 

And dark is his home, with its charming surroundings, 
■JVhich the light of his presence no longer shall see ; 

And sad are fond hearts, 'mid all their aboundings, 
O'er one so endeared to his friends as was he. 



His life he has yielded, his sacrifice offered, 
And nobler or dearer have seldom been given ; 

The gift which, in love to his Saviour, he proffered, 
God accepted, and gave him a mansion in Heaven. 

Then let us be still, and learn in our sadness 

That He who has taken will surely restore — 
Will turn our dark night to the sunlight of gladness. 

And the bright day of glory on Heaven's blest shore." 

This town furnished 393 men for the war, which was a 
snrphis of forty-seven over and above all demands. Ten 
were commissioned officers. The wliole amount raised and 
expended by the town for war purposes, exclusive of State 
aid, was $39,350.23. The amount of monej' expended by 
the town, during the war, for State aid to soldiers' families, 
and repaid by the Commonwealth, was as follows : In 1861, 
$1,642.50; 1862, $6,112.29; 1863, $6,976.04; 1864, $8,300; 
1865, $5,500; total amount, $28,530.86. 
. The Ladies' Soldiers' Aid Society of the town raised 
$1,025, which was expended in the purchase of undercloth- 
ing, and for other comforts for the soldiers at the front ; in 
addition to which, between two and three hundred pairs of 
woolen socks were knit by the ladies, and sent to the sol- 
diers. Many other contributions were made by citizens for 
the same purpose. 

According to the returns made by the selectmen of the 
towns, and the mayor of Worcester, in 1866, the whole 



SKETCHES OF THE NORTH AND SOUTH MILITIA. 153 

number of men whicli Worcester County furnished for the 
war was 1(5,631, which is veiy near the exact nuwiber. 
Every city and town in the county furnished its contingent 
upon every call made by the President, and each had a sur- 
plus over and above all demands, which in the aggregate 
amounted to 1,397. The total amount of expenses incurred 
by all the municipalities in the county, on account of the 
war, exclusive of State aid to the families of enlisted men, 
was $1,322,693.45. The amount paid for State aid during 
the war, and which was reimbursed by the Commonwealth, 
was $1,008,056.81. To this should be added $165,750.41, 
raised by voluntary subscription for war purposes. These 
make an aggregate of $2,496,500.67. 

Grafton in Massachnsetts Militia. 

As will he seen by the following, which have been copied 
fi'om rolls in possession of persons residing in the town, and 
from the records at the Adjutant General's office. State 
House, Boston, Grafton has furnished a large number of 
her citizens to form the militia companies of Massachusetts, 
which have always ranked among the first in the country. 
The townspeople have always been patriotic, from the time 
of the French and Indian war to the war of the late Rebel- 
lion. At one time, 1830, in this town there were the Graf- 
ton Grenadiers, Grafton Light Infantry, and the Nortli and 
Soutli companies, which for their drill and efficiency in tlie 
manual of arms were well known throughout the State. 

The two companies, known in their day as the North and 
the South companies, were the oldest companies in the Mas- 
sachusetts militia from this town. Of the South company, 
Simon Bruce was the first captain. He was succeeded by 
David Wadswortli, Samuel Warren, Nahura Andrews, 
Ephraim Harrington, Josepli Merriam, Benjamin Leland, 
Amaziah Howard, Joshua W. Leland, Timothy Wheelock, 
Cyrus Leland, Moses Roberts. When Howard was elected 
20 



154 



HISTOEY OF (JBAFTON. 



captain considerable feeling was created among tlie mem- 
bers of tlie company, and he was finally court-martialed for 
" conduct unbecoming a soldier." Cyrus and Joshua W. 
Leland, and Timothy Wheelock, were afterwards colonels of 
the regiment, the second in the second brigade and seventh 
division. Joseph Merriam was afterwards drum major. 
The following is a copy of the roster of the company, 
October 5, 1804:, when Joseph Merriam was captain. This 
company was in the Second Kegiment, Second Brigade, and 
Seventh Division, and a foot company, or what is known 
now as a company of infantry : — 



Roster of Capt.-Joseph Merriam, Jr.'s company of foot, Second Regi- 
ment, Second Brigade and Seventh Division, October 5, 1804 : — 



Joseph Merriam, Jr., Captain. 
Benj. Leland, Jr., Lieutenant. 
Charles Leland, Ensign. 
Wra. E. Green, 1st Serg't and clerk, 
Ebenezer Leland, Jr., 2ud Serg't. 
Ebenezer Philips, Jr., 3rd " 
Timothy Merriam, Jr., 4th " 
Joshua W. Leland, 1st Corp. 
Oliver Ward, 2nd " 

John Batchellor, 3rd ■' 
Gillead Rider, 4th " 

Daniel Prentice, Drummer. 
Clark Brown, Fifer. 
John Scudder, " 
Nathaniel Davis, " 
Levi Wrist, " 

Private, Daniel Adams. 

" Thomas M. Baker. 

" John Bennett. 

" Jonathan Brown. 
Eli Brighara. 

" Bradford Chase. 

" William Croxford. 

" Jonathan H. Drake. 

" Cyrus French. 

" Samuel Pay. 

" Silas Forbush, baggage. 



Private, Mathew Gray. 

" William Hall. 

" Abraham Howard. 

" Peter Holbrook. 

" Nathan Jackson. 

" Nathan Johnson. 

" Edward Lasure. 

" Benj. Lathe, Jr. 

" Zepparlah Lathe, Jr. 

" Asa Learnard. 

" Cyrus Leland. 

" Zadock Leland. 

" John L. Leland. 

" Levi Leland.^ 

" Tarrant Merriam. 

" Amasa Nelson. 

" Ezra Philips. 

" Abijah Pierce. 

" Jacob Pierce. 

" Joseph Prentice, 

" Moses Rockwood. 

" Moses Roberts. 

!' David Sherman, Jr. 

" Samuel Stowe. 

" Ithamer Stowe, baggage. 

" Jonathan Stowe. 

" Silas Stowe. 



SKETCHES OF THE NORTH AND SOUTH MILITIA. 



155 



Private, Benja. H. Sherman. 

" Austin Sherman. 

" Aaron Taft. 

" Daniel Thurston, 

" John Taylor. 

" Samuel Wadsworth. 

" Jonathan Wadsworth. 

" Asahel Warren. 

" John Warren. 

" Silas Wetherbee. 



Private, James Wheeler, Jr. 
" Thaddeus Whipple. 

Nath'l Whipple. 
" Nathan White. 
" Pharnum White. 
" Chollister Wood, 
" Benja. White. 
" Benja. Young. 
" Beiij. Howard. 

(58 present.) 



The following is a copy of the muster-roll of Capt. Joseph Merriam's 
company of foot, May 7, 1805 ; — 



Officers. 
Joseph Merriam. 
Benjamin Lelaud. 
Charles Leland. 

Sergeants and Musicians. 

Clark Brown. 
Levi Wrist. 
Levi Thayer, 
Eli Servey. 
Ebenezer Leland, Jr, 
Ebenezer Philips, Jr. 
Timothy Merriam, Jr. 

XianJc and File. 

Joshua W. Leland. 
Oliver Ward. 
John Batchelor. 
Geliad Rider. 
Daniel Adams. 
John Bennett, 
Thomas Brigham. 
Thomas M. Baker. 
Parley Batchelor, Jr. 
Peter Barus. 
Wm. Croxfdrd. 
Bradford Chase. 
Jonathan H. Drake. 
Nathan Darling. 
John Darling. 
Otis Daniels. 



Rank and File. 
Cyrus French. 
Joseph Flagg, 
Silas Forbush. 
Darius Graves. 
Abraham Haywood. 
Benja. Haywood. 
Nathan Jackson. 
Nathan Johnson. 
Marcus J. Johnson. 
Edward Leshure. 
Levi Leland, 
Cyrus Leland. 
Zadock Leland. 
John L. Leland, 
Joseph Leland. 
Benja. Lathe, Jr. 
Joshua Lathe. 
Asa Laruard, 
Fuller Murdock, 
Moses March. 
Tarrant Merriam, 
Araasa Nelson, 
Joseph Prentice, 
Kussel Prentice. 
Abijah Pierce. 
Moses Rockwood. 
Samuel Robertson. 
Moses Roberts. 
Amasa Bead. 
Jona. Stow. 



156 



HISTORY OF GRAFI'ON. 



Sank and File. 
Samuel Stone. 
Ithamer Stow. 
Lovel Stow. 
Austin Sherman. 
Beiija. H. Sherman. 
David Sherman, Jr. 
Daniel Thurston. 
James Wheeler, Jr. 
ThacUteus Whipple. 
Nathan White. 



Hank and File. 
Benja. White. 
Nathaniel Whipple. 
Jona. Wadsworth. 
Samuel Wadsworth. 
Silas White. 
Cholister Wood. 
Benja. Young. 
Asahfcl Warren. 
Benjamin Bowen. 



Of the Nortli company, Ephraim Gonlding was the first 
captain. Subsequently the company was commanded by 
Jonathan Wheeler, Charles Brigham, Joslina Harrington, 
Moses Harrington, Levi Goddard, Oliver Kimball, Charles 
Brigham, Jr., and Francis Harrington. 

When the Grafton Light Infantry and Grenadier com- 
panies were formed, the North and South companies were 
greatly reduced, and known as the " Kag, Tag and Bob 
Tails." 

The following is a complete list of the men in the North 
company, under command of Capt. Charles Brigham, May 
1st, 1804 :— 

Captain Brigham's company of foot, May 1st, 1804 : — 

Ihnrlps "Rriorlinm Pnntnin_ npr^ro-p W. Pnt.n 



Charles Brigham, Captain. 
Joshua Harrington, 1st Lieutenant. 
Levi Goddard, Ensign. 
Albert Stone, Sergeant. 
Jasper Adams, " 
William Wesson, " 
John Wadsworth, " 
\l Eeuphas Newton, Musician. 
Isaac W. Wood, " 

Jacob Elliot, 
Samuel Prentice, " 

Nathaniel Adams, Jr., Corporal. 
Calvin Pierce, " 

Oliver Hayden, " 

John Putnam, Private. 
Luther Pierce, " 
Josiah Phillips, " 



George W. Putnam, Private. 

Lewis Putnam, 

Luke Baker, 

Leonard Wheelock, 

Timothy Johnson, 

Perley Whipple, 

Daniel Hathaway, 

Joel Knowlton, 

John Knowlton, 

George Walker, 

Asa Mixer, 

Josephus Willard, 

Asa Scott, 

Cyrus Wadsworth, 

Thomas Axtell, Jr., 

William Withlngton, 

Asa Turner, 



SKETCHES OP THE NORTH AND SOUTH MILITIA. 



157 



Joseph Dispeau, Private. 

Turner liawson, " 

John Wheeler, " 

Gabriel F. Wheeler, " 

Josiah H. Stone, " 

Tarteus Prentice, " 

Kuben Wheelock, " 

Solomon Brigham, " 

Oliver Kimball, " 

Aaron Pierce, " 

John Wesson, " 

Thomas D. Wesson, " 

Eeuphas Wesson, " 



Pevley Goddai-d, Pr 
Samuel Rawson, 
Elijah Case, 
Silas Guild, 
Truman Clark, 
Samuel Wesson, 
Perley Batchellor, Jr. 
Joseph Davis, 
Joseph Whitney, 
Nathan Darling, 
John Darling, 
Silas Stow, 



vate. 



The following composed the company when John Wadsvvorth was 
captain : — 



jQhn Wadsworth, Captain. 
Nath'l Adams, Jr., 1st Lieutenant. 
Jolin Wesson, Ensign. 
Isaac W. Wood, Fifer. 
Nathan Clark, Sergeant. 
Daniel Prentice, " 
Samuel Prentice, " 
— { Christopher Nason, " 
Joseph Adams, Private. 
John Barns, " 

Livy Barton, " 

John Bennett, " 

Israel Brown, " 

Lyman Bullard, " 

Truman Clark, " 

Joseph J. Davis, " 
Rubin Eaton, " 

Nathan Elleck, " 

John Firvers, " 

Welcomb Eagar, " 
Joel Flagg, " 

Perley Goddard, " 

Oliver Hayden, " 

Moses Hayden, Jr., " 
Nathan Johnson, " 
Lewis Moredock, " 
Abuer Miller, " 

Joel Prentice, " 

George W. Putnam, " 
Turner Rawson, " 



Charles Richardson, Private. 
Seth Robbins, 
Asa Scott, 
Eli Servy, 
David Sibly, 
Samuel Slater, 
Josiali H. Stone, 
Cyrus Wadsworth, 
David Wait, 
— John Warren, 
Silas Wesson, 
Thomas D. Wesson, 
Rufus Wesson, 
Sewel Wesson, 
Jesse Wesson, 
John Wheeler, 
Leonard Wheelock, 
Gardner Wheelock, 
Perley Whipple, 
James Young, 
Alphens Newel, 
Gideon Burt, 
Abial Farrington, 
Barnebus Rice, 
Artemus Rand, 
David Miller, 
Andrew Smith, 
Israel Taft, 
Benja. Taft, 
Joel Knowlton, 



158 



HISTORY OP GRAFTON. 



THE GRENADIER COMPANY. 

This company was organized in this town, and was in the 
Second Regiment, Second Brigade, and Sixth Division of 
the Massachusetts militia. The company was organized in 
1827, and, by order of the Governor, was disbanded June 
30, 1834. At the time of its disbandment, Benjamin 
Aldrich was captain. He was appointed May 7th, 1833. 
The company had been previously commanded by Lyman L. 
Mason, Benjamin Kingsbury, Charles Brigham, Jr., Charles 
Aldrich, and Henry P. Warren, who was the first com- 
mander. Charles Brigham was afterwards chosen colonel. 
He was succeeded by Franklin Harrington of this town. 
Willard S.Wood was adjutant in Colonel Brigham's regi- 
ment. 

The following is a correct list of the men in the company, May 6th, 
1833, a short time before its disbandment : — 



Benjamin Aldrich, Captain. 
Robert Legate, Lieutenant. 
Ctiarles Merriam, Ensign. 
Sumner Dunsmore, Clerk. 
Solomon Brigham, Sergeant. 
Origen Shephard, " 

Willard G. Kmerson, " 
Joseph Shephard, Corporal. 
Calvin Prentice, " 

John Legate, " 

Eussel Hathaway, " 
George G. Rice, Musician. 
Lawson Munyan, " 
Levi N. Leland, " 

Hollis Chambeilin, Private. 
Francis L. Eddy, " 

Bradford Chase, " 

Leonard Allen, " 

Otis Frissel, " 

Russel H. Berry, " 

Thomas R. Axtell, 
Elijah Kimball, " 

Samuel C. Bennett, " 
Benjamin Goddard, " 
William Gibson, " 



Jeremiah B. Mason, Private. 

John Marble, Jr., " 

Putnam H. Haywood, " 
Alvah S. Davis, 

John Kimball, " 

Martin Jacobs, " 

James B. Bancroft, " 

Calvin S. Thurston, " 

William H. Thurston, " 

Joel H. Wheelock. " 

Russel Wheelock, " 

George H. Smith, " 

James S. Lathe, " 

Samuel , " 

Holland Greenwood, " 

Dexter S. Bragg, " 

Hosea Barrus, " 

Elphonia Barrus, " 

Willard Gibson, " 

Joseph H. Whitney, " 

Isaac Mason, " 

Lincoln Wood, " 

Lovel Stow, Jr., " 

Abial Copland, " 



GEKNADIEE COMPANY. 159 

The following letter will sliow the cause of the disUand- 
ment of the Grafton Grenadiers : — 

" Gen. Aaron S. Gibbs : 

Sir: — The undersigned, the officers, non-commissioned officers and 
privates composing the company of Grenadiers in the town of Grafton, 
and County of Worcester, respectfully represent that said company has 
become so reduced in number that it now contains only sixteen efi'ectivo 
privates. Including non-commissioned officers and excluding conditional 
exempts. That said company is not sufficiently large to appear respect- 
able on parade, or to excite and keep up that spirit of ardour, and for 
military display so indispensably necessary in corps of this description, 
and that there does not seem to be any probability or hope of increas- 
ing its numbers by new enlistments. Wherefore your petitioners pray 
that said company may be disbanded, if in the opinion of the Com- 
mander-in-chief and the Hon. Council such a course shall be deemed 
proper. 

The undersigned wish you would write back to us whether you will 
assist us about this petition, as soon as convenient. 
Youi's respectfully, 

BENJAMIN ALDRICH. ] 
KOBEHT LEGATE. |- Officers." 

CHARLES MERRIAM. J 



The following correspondence explains itself : — 

"COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, SECOND BRIGADE, 
SIXTH DIVISION. 

Brigade Orders: 

Headquarters, West Boylston, ) 
Sept. 4th, 183i. 3 

Capt. Benja. Aldrich : 

/Sir;— You are hereby ordered to return all the non-commissioned 
officers and soldiers belonging to the company of Grenadiers under your 
command, to the standing company in the town in which they respect- 
ively belong, and the officers of said standing company, or regiment, to 
enroll said soldiers in their company, as the Grenadiers have been dis- 
banded and the officers discharged. 

A. S. GIBBS, Brig. General, 

2nd Brigade, Sth Division." 



160 



HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 



GRAFTON LIGHT INFANTRY. 
This company was also formed in this town. At its 
formation Charles Leland was elected captain. The com- 
pany was afterwards commanded by Liberty Wood, Jona- 
than Warren, Lewis Mills, Henry W. Harrington, Franklin 
Harrington, Kufiis E. Warren, Timothy H. Merriam. 



SLOCOMB GUARDS. 

This company was formed here shortly after the late war, 
and named in honor of George F. Slocomb, Esq. J. Frank 
Searle was tlie lirst captain. The subsequent commanders 
were Henry Mann and Arthur Batchelder, the present com- 
mander. On account of the small number who were in the 
company from this town, the headquarters were transferred 
to Millbnry a few years ago, where it was known for a time 
as the Slocomb Guards, and at tlie present time as the 
Millbury Light Lifantry. Captain Searle was at one time 
elected lieutenant-colonel of his, the Tenth Regiment. This 
company was known as Company G. By the resignation of 
tiie first lieutenant, C. A. White, George H. Chaffin was 
promoted to the vacancy, which position he now holds. 

The following is a true copy of the members in the company, fi'om 
the rolls in the Adjutant-General's office, in 1875 : — 



Arthur H. Batchelor, Captain. 
Charles A. White, 1st Lieutenant. 
George H. Chaffin, 2na " 
Burns, Alanson E., 1st Sergeant. 
Brooks, George B., Sergeant. 
Benchley, Julian G., Q. M. Sergeant. 
Burnett, George W., Private. 
Bush, .John, " 

Belvelle, Noah, " 

Baker, Benj. T., " 

Bullard, Moses P., " 

Chauipney, Eben F., Musician. 
Cunningham, Olney E., Private. 
Coffin, John A., , " 

Coffee, Daniel D., " 



Callahan, James W., Private. 
Clark, William H., " 

Day, Warren W., Corporal. 
Degroot, Richard, Private. 
Fay, Edward B., " 

Garfield, Edwin J., Sergeant. 
Gerry, Albert S., Private. 
Geer, Charles A., " 
Green, Ortou G. , Corporal. 
Hakes, Hudson W., Private. 
Humes, W. Alfred, " * 

Howe, George W., Private. 
Ives, John, " 

Joslin, Sumner R., Sergeant. 
Johnston, Daniel, Private. 



GRENADIER COSIPANY. 



161 



Letart, Joseph, Private. 
Lovell, Russell B., Corporal. 
Lake, Edward E., Private. 
Maim, David H., 
Miles, Henry, 
McCarthy, Jeremiah, 
Merriam, Henry T., 
Nehall, Charles F., 
Noyce, William H., 
Eobinson, Alonzo W., 
Elvers, Nelson, 



Sharron, Frank, Private. 
Stacy, Edward E., " 
Stockwell, Lewis, " 
Smith, Charles H., Corporal. 
Simmons, Charles H., Private. 
Tidd, Lewis T., Sergeant. 
Truax, Albert M., Private. 
Thompson, Wm. L., " 
Wood, Charles W., " 
White, Eesdan, " 

Waterman, Geo. A., " 



21 











Clergymen Past and Present. 



ECCLESIASTICAL HISTOKY. 



CHAPTER FIFTH. 

Contents : 

The proprietors' meeting.— The location selected for the first church 
liear Assawossachasuck.—Geaerai Court report. — The first pastor, 
the Eev. Solomon Prentice — His biography. — The original mem- 
bers. — The meeting-house.— The covenant. — The council.— Mr. 
Prentice's dismissal. — Sketches of Eevs. Aaron Hutchinson, Daniel 
Grosvenor, John Miles. — The church secede with the pastor and 
form a new society, the Evangelical Congregational — The various 
causes assigned for this action. — Their covenant — Their church. — 
Sketches of Eevs. John Wilde, Thomas C. Biscoe, Johu H. Wind- 
sor. — Deacons of First Congregational and Evangelical churches. 

First and Evangelical Congregational Clinrches. 

rpHE General Court of MassachusettB, in granting the 
J. forty proprietors leave to effect the purchase of the 
Indians, made it a condition that within three years they 
should build a meeting-house and school-house, and settle 
" a learned Ortliodox minister "; and that they " should con- 
stantly m'aintain, and duly support, a minister and school- 
master among them " ; — all this to be done without charge 
to the Indians, though the benefits of the school and min- 
istry were to be shared by them equally with the whites. 

At a meeting of the proprietors, held April 9, 1728, it 
was voted that " the meeting-house should be placed and set 
up at or upon the centre of the said Plantation, in case the 
land at the centre be accommodable ; otherwise at the near- 
est accommodable place to the centre." The second meet- 
ing was held here at the house of Nehemiah How, on the 
19th of April. When the meeting had been duly organized, 



164 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

it was voted to adjourn to tlie centre of the land to fix upon 
a spot for the erection of the meeting-house. Upon viewing 
the place said to be the centre, it was not found suitable for 
the purpose. This was a spot lying a little to the south, and 
about twenty-five or thirty rods easterly from where the 
Town Hall now stands, and where the land probably was 
thought to be too low and moist. A spot of ground was 
then viewed " westerly therefrom, upon the northerly end 
of a hill called by the Indians Assawossachasuck." That 
conld not have been far from tlie place occupied by the 
Unitarian Ciiurch — a little to the west and south. Still 
another place was afterward viewed, and finally fixed npon, 
a little way southward of this last. That was the site from 
which the old meeting house was removed a few years since.* 
Thus we see these grave pioneers, cherishing the same reli- 
gious zeal which characterized the primitive colonists of 
New England, making it their first care to provide for the 
worship of God. Their Jlrst vote at their j^rst meeting 
relates to tiie selection of a proper situation for the house 
of prayer. Their second meeting was here in the very 
wilderness itself, as it then was, whither tliey had come to 
consummate this vote. We seem to see tliem now, a little 
company of less than half a hundred, passing about among 
the tall forest trees, which stood all over these places that 
are now covered with human habitations. They are asking 
where shall be laid the foundations of a Christian temple, 
before yet the worshippers are come, whose prayers and 
solemn praise are to consecrate it. Their own dwellings are 
not yet to be seen. The stakes are not set to mark the 
places where they are soon to rise. These things are to 
come after. Their Sabbath home first — their week-day tents 



♦Proprietors' Records. This meeting-house, built by the Proprietors, 
still stands on the western line of the Common. It was removed from 
the centre of the Common when it ceased to be used as a house of 
worship, and has been known of late by the name of " The Old 
Arcade." 



PEOPEIETOBS' MKETIfTG, FIE8T CHtTECH. 165 

in good time. To-day the wants of the soul — to-morrow 
the needs of the body. Just one month from the day on 
which tlie " Plantation " was bought of the Indians, the 
place for the meeting-liouse was decided upon. It was 
voted, on the next July, to have a meeting-house built and 
finished at or before November 1, 1730, thus allowing nearly 
two years and a half for the worli.* Its dimensions were, 
length 50 feet, width iO feet, height 22 feet " between 
joynts." 
-> At a meeting of the Proprietors held March 31, 1730, it 
was voted, " to continue the jDreaehing of the gospel at 
Hassan amisco " ; from which it appears that they had begun 
to liave preaching before that time. Afterward tliey were 
probably supplied constantly till June 23, 1731 ; when a 
Fast was appointed for the first Thursday of the following 
September, preparatory to calling and settling a minister 
among them. The Fast was duly kept with the assistance 
of " some reverend elders," in the vicinity. On the day 
following, Mr. Solomon Prentice, of Cambridge, was called 
to be their minister.f It was at first voted to give Mr. 
Prentice, for his support, " ninety pounds of passable 
money, or bills of public credit as money now passes from 
man to man, or as the valuation of nioney shall be from 
time to time, or as said money rises and falls." At a subse- 



* Meeting-house lot. April 23, 1728, laid out y lot to set y meeting- 
house upon, i acres in Hassanamisco, and lieth near thirty rod west- 
ward from y" center stated, and it includes the place pitched upon by 
y society when upon y" spot, and begins at a small oak which is y 
northeast angle, and runs south thirty-two (33) rod; then runs west 
twenty (194) rod; then runs north thirty-two (33) rod; then east twenty 
(20) rod, to y oak first mentioned. Y" three corners from y» oak are 
stones. Surveyed pr. JAMES KEYES. 

Recorded Jan. 6, 1729. — Proprietors' Becords. 

fMr. Prentice, it thus appears, was elected -and invited by the Pro- 
prietors alone. No church had yet been formed. We see therefore 
that it was not deemed essential, in settling a minister, that he should 
be called by a church separately from the town or parish. 



166 HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 

qnent meeting it was voted to add ten pounds to the ninety. 
Mr. Prentice accepted the call, and the 29th day of Decem- 
ber, 1731, was appointed for his ordination. On. the day 
preceding, December 28th, the church was formed. 

The following are the names of the persons then gathered 
into a church, with the places from which they came, and in 
which most of them had been previously connected with 
churches : Three, Kev. Solomon Prentice, Samuel Cooper 
and Benjamin Goddard, were from Cambridge ; one, Capt. 
Benjamin Willard, from Framingham ; two, James Whipple, 
Sen. and Jr., from Ipswich Hamlet ; two, Thomas Pratt and 
Thomas Drury, from Shrewsbury ; three, James Leland, 
Joseph and Simeon Willard, from Sutton ; one, Nehemiah 
Howe, from Sudbury ; three, John Collar, Jonathan Hall 
and Jason Whitney, from Stow ; two, Abner Stow and 
Ephraim Brigham, from Marlborough ; one, James Cutler, 
from Westborough ; one, Eksazer Flegg (Flagg), from Con- 
cord ; and one, Samuel Warren, from Weston ; in all, 
twenty. These names stand subscribed to the original cov- 
enant. We recognize no great names here; at least none 
which the world has agreed to call great. But let not 
" grandeur hear with a disdainful smile." There are good 
names here, names, which, though not to be found upon the 
Scroll of Fame, are written upon a brighter page in the 
Book of Life ; names they are of no mean account in that 
kingdom, whose least citizen is greater than earth's most 
illustrious potentate. 

The meeting-house had porches one story and a half high 
on three sides, and in the porches were stairways by which 
to pass to the galleries on each side of the house. Two of 
these porches are ingeniously put together so as to form a 
dwelling-house, which stands at the foot of Millbury street, 
the last house on the north side. The great feature of this 
house, especially in the eyes of children, was the huge 
sounding-board above the pulpit. *One who has often 

* Capt. Benjamin Kingsbury. 



PKOPEIETOES' MEETING, FIKST CHITECH. 167 

wondered at it, while his elders were absorbed in the elo- 
quence of the preacher, or soundly sleeping, says, " to a 
boy it looked like an island suspended in air. To him it 
was an object of wonder and admiration, and in spite of the 
wise lessons from the pulpit, that sounding-board, with its 
paintings, its panelling, its gorgeous trimmings, the brilliant 
tassels hanging down from it, was the great and central 
power of attraction. And during service he busied himself 
by contemplating, in imagination, the ruin which would 
ensue if it should break from its moorings and come down, 
with a crash upon the head of the preacher ! " And if he 
chanced to take a nap, it would have been easy for him to 
have dreamed that this had really taken place, when, at the 
close pf the prayer, the seats in the pews, which were hung 
with hinges and turned up during the prayer, were let down 
with a crash, which it is said could be heard a half-mile 
away wlien the windows were open. 

At the time of Mr. Prentice's settlement there were only 
nine pews in the meeting-house, the remaining space being 
filled with benches. The pews were large boxes, almost 
square, 4^ by 5 feet, with seats on three sides, and so high 
that when the people sat down thej' could not see each 
other, but could only see the preacher who towered above 
them in his high pulpit, and poured the gospel down into 
these " pits," as they were not inappropriately called. The 
fashions could only be studied while the people were stand- 
ing during prayer. 

The house in which he lived is still standing. It is located 
on Oak street, and is owned by Henry Prentice, and true to 
its first purpose, is still a minister's home, being occupied by 
Eev. A. C. Hussey. 

The covenant which they adopted is as follows : — 

" We, whose names are hereunto subscribed, inhabitants of Hassa 
namisco, in New England, knowing that we are very prone to offend 
God, the Most High, both in heart and life, through the prevalency of 
sin that dwelleth within us, and the manifold temptations from without 



168 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

US, for which -we have great reason to be unfeignedly humble before 
Him from clay to day : Do, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, with 
dependence upon the gracious assistance of His Holy Spirit, solemnly 
enter into a covenant with God, and one with another, according to 
God, as follows :— . 

Fii-st. — That having chosen and taken the Lord Jehovah to be our 
God, we will fear Him, cleave to Him in love, and serve Him in truth, 
with all our hearts, giving up ourselves to Him to be His people, in all 
things, to be at His direction and sovereign disposal, that we may have 
and hold communion with Him as members of Christ's mystical body, 
according to His revealed will, to our lives' end. 

Secondly. — We also bind ourselves to bring up our children and 
servants in the knowledge and fear of God, by His instructions accord- 
ing to our best abilities, and in special by the use of Orthodox Cate- 
chism[s], that the true religion may be maintained in our families 
while we live ; yea, and among such as shall live when we are dead and 
gone. 

Thirdly. — We furthermore promise to keep close to the truth of 
Christ, endeavoring with lively aflfection towards it in our hearts, to 
defend it against all opposers thereof, as God shall call us at any time 
thereunto ; which, that we may do, we resolve to use the Holy Scrip- 
tures as our platform whereby we may discern the mind and will of 
Christ, and not the new-found inventions of men. 

Fourthly.— We also engage ourselves to have a careful inspection 
over our own hearts, so as to endeavor, by virtue of the death of 
Christ, the mortification of all our sinful passions, worldly frames, and 
disorderly affections, whereby we may be withdrawn from the living 
God. 

Fifthly. — We moreover oblige ourselves, in the faithful improvement 
of all our abilities and opportunities, to worship God according to the 
particular institutions of Christ for His church under Gospel adminis- 
trations; as to give reverend attentioi^to the word of God, to pray 
unto Him, to sing His praises, and to hold communion one with an- 
other, in the use of both the seals, viz. ; Baptism and the Lord's 
Supper. 

Sixthly. — We likewise promise, that we will peaceably submit unto 
the holy discipline appointed by Christ in His church for offenders, 
obeying them that rule over us in the Lord. 

Seventhly. — We also bind ourselves to walk in love one toward an- 
other, endeavoring our mutual edification, visiting, exhorting, comfort- 
ing as occasion serveth, and warning any brother or sister which 
offends, not divulging private offences irregularly, but heedfuUy follow- 
ing the several precepts laid down by Christ for church dealing, 18th 
Matt. 16, 17, 18, willingly forgiving all that manifest unto the judgment 
of charity that they truly repent of all their mismanagements. 



proprietors' meeting, first church. 169 

Now the God of peace, which brought again from the dead our Lord 
Jesus Christ, the sliepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the ever- 
lasting covenant, make us all perfect in every good work to do His will, 
working in us that which is well pleasing in His sight, through Jesus 
Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever." 

This covenant, you perceive, is liberal and unsectarian. 
In this respect it resembled those generally used in the early 
Congregational churches of the country. This very cove- 
nant, indeed, was adopted by several other churches in the 
vicinity afterwards, and probably had been in use elsewhere 
before it was submitted to this church.* 

The ordination of Mr. Prentice, as has been observed, 
took place the day after the formation of the church. Tes- 
timonials of his qualifications for the ministry are among 
the Proprietors' Records, signed by Messrs. Trowbridge, of 
Groton, Appleton, of Cambridge, and Parkman, of West- 
borough. 

Rev. Solomon Prentice was born in Cambridge, May 11, 
1705, and was the son of Solomon Prentice of that place, 
lie was graduated at Harvard College, 1727, and was a 
classmate of Governors Hutchinson and Trumbull. His 
ordination over the church here, of which he was the first 
minister, took place December 29, 1731, Rev. Nathaniel 
Appleton, of Cambridge, preaching the ordination sermon, 
lu 1740, the celebrated Whitefield came over to this coun- 
try from England, whose preaching excited a great deal of 
entliusiasm, and was the occasion of much controversy 
among the clergy, and of many unhappy divisions in the 



*It was adopted by the First Church in Sterling in 1744, and by the 
Northborough Church in 1746, as we learn from Rev. Mr. Allen's Centen- 
nial Discourse; and by the First Church in Worcester, with some slight 
modifications making it more doctrinal, in 1746, as we learn from Ml'. 
Lincoln's History of Worcester. Mr. Lincoln, in his excellent work (p. 
171) seems to attribute the autliorship of it to Rev. Messrs. Campbell, 
of Oxford, and Stone, of Southborough, on the authority of Rev. Mr. 
Maccarty. These gentlemen probably brought it forward for the ac- 
ceptance of that church, but could hardly have originated it, as it had 
been long In use before that time. 
i2 



170 HISTORY OF QEAFTON. 

churches of New England. Mr. Prentice was a great 
admirer of Whitefield, and became one of what were called 
" The New Lights." His course was not approved by his 
society; and a controversy arose which led to his dismission, 
July 10, 1747. He was afterwards settled in Easton, Bris- 
tol County, where he remained about seven years. He then 
joined the Presbyterians, but was suspended by the presby- 
tery in 1754 ; after which he returned to this town, where 
he resided until his death, May 22, 1773, at the age of sixty- 
eight. 

ORDINATION. 

At the ordination of Kev. Solomon Prentice, the intro- 
ductory prayer was ofi'ered by Kev. Ebenezer Parkman, of 
Westborough ; sermon by Kev. Nathaniel Appleton, of Cam- 
bridge; ordaining prayer by Kev. Mr. Smith, of Framing- 
ham. Rev. Caleb Trowbridge, of Groton, joined in the 
laying on of hands. Right hand of fellowship. Rev. Mr. 
Loring, of Sudbury. During Mr. Prentice's ministry 178 
were added to the church. 

The Sacrament of the Lord's Supper was administered for 
the first time April 9th, 1732. No provision seems to have 
been made for supplying the communion table with suitable 
furniture, till the beginning of the year 1734, when £8, 4s. 
were raised for the purpose from the following sources : 
Five of the Proprietors living out of town contributed £1, 
7s. 6d. ; the congregation contributed £2, 6s. 6d. ; the Rev. 
Mr. Flynt, of Harvard College, gave £1, 10s.,* and the 
church itself contributed £3. Deacon James Whipple, 
Eieazer Fletcher and Silas Warren, at different times after- 
wards, presented vessels to the church for their use in the 
ordinances. 

The congregation were not then permitted to choose their 
own seats in the meeting-house, nor to become permanent 



*For an Interesting account of this early benefactor of the church, 
see Pierce's History of Harvard College, pp. 260-264. 



PEOPEIETOES' MEETING, FIRST CHTTECH. 171 

proprietors of any particular accommodation in it. A com- 
mittee was chosen from time to time, to assign seats to the 
worshippers, " according to estate and age." This assign- 
ment of seats was called " seating the meeting-house." The 
Indians being entitled to all the privileges of the other in- 
habitants in regard to public worship, were consulted as to 
their choice of seats, and were finally appointed to sit on 
either side of the front door against the walls of the house, 
the men on one side and the women on the other. 

The committee chosen to seat tlie meeting-house, Thomas 
Drury, Zerubbable Eager and Phiueas Rice, reported as fol- 
lows : — 



" The pews— the right hand of the east door, to the Widow Willard 
and hei- son Simeon Willard. 

The second, Ensign Eagers. 

The third, Joseph Merriam. 

The fourth to Captain Barrett. 

The fifth to Captain Hall. 

The sixth to Richard Taylor. 

At the left hand of the west door, Charles Brigham. 

The second, Left. Drury. 

The third, John Sherman. 

The fourth, Phineas Rice. 

The fore seat below, Mr. Flint, Captain Leland, Nehemlah How, Cap- 
tain Willard, Ensign Pratt, Captain Brigham. 

The fore seat of the front, Jonas Houghton, Samuel Stow, Bliazer 
Flagg, John Hunt, Samuel Chandler, Benjamin Barrett, Captain Jones. 

The long fore seat, John Davis, Jonathan Moruy, Captain Watson, 
Samuel Biglo,Widdo Herrington, Thomas Weeks, Jacob Taylor, Simon 
Gales. 

The second seat, Jeremiah Bestow, John Ward, Nathaniel Wilder, 
Thomas Stow, John CoUer, Deacon Hapgood, John Warring. 

The third seat below, Simon Gates, Jr., Jonathan Rice, Joseph Wil- 
lard, David Herrington, Captain Rogers, Ebenezer Wheeler." 



The connection between Mr. Prentice and his people was 
one of uninterrupted harmony for several years. The men 
of those days wore men of prayer, who cheerfully main- 
tained the institutions of Christianity, murmuring at no sac- 



172 HISTOET OF QEAFTOlir. 

1-ifices which were necessary to secure the ministratioBS of 
the word of Grod. They were a people of few wants and 
simple habits. Their ministers, like themselves, lived 
frugally, and usually shared with them, to greater or less 
extent, in the labors of husbandry. If there is truth in the 
lines of the old poet, they were abundantly blessed, scanty 
as were their worldly endowments : — 

" For gold and grace did never yet agree ; 
Keligion always sides with poverty." 

An anecdote, which ti-adition has preserved, gives us a 
vivid picture of the wildness of the country at this period. 
Mr. Prentice, it is said, proceeding to meeting on a Sunday 
morning, observed a bear ranging among the boughs of a 
chestnut tree not far from tlie meeting-house. Probably 
thinking it hardly prudent to leave him to go at large, while 
the congregation were occupied in worship, he returned to 
his house, and taking his gun, brought down the unwelcome 
intruder from his retreat ; after whicli he again took his way 
to the church, where he undoubtedly led the devotions of 
the assembly with more concentration and fervor of mind 
than he could have commanded, if he had suffered the wild 
beast to roa'm through tlie neighborhood in freedom.* 



* This anecdote occasions us no qualms of conscience on onr own 
behalf, but we are almost surprised, we confess, that neither Mr. Pren- 
tice nor his parishoners should have had any scruples as to the pro- 
priety of his act, in those days of punctilious Sabbath-keeping. Had 
it been a question of a few rows of corn, or a sheep or two, we cannot 
think the minister would have turned from his walk to the meeting- 
house. But the apprehension that might be felt for the safety of child- 
ren, or other unprotected persons in the settlement, would perhaps 
justify it to the most exact. 

It seems to us more in keeping with the spirit of the age, that 
" Brother Ezekiel Cole " should have " come before the church," as the 
records say he did, on the 13lh of February, 1743, "and acknowledged 
his fault for going a gunning on the public thanksgiving day appointed 
for the King's deliverance in the late battle on the river Mayne in 
Germany." 



PEOPEIETOES MEETING, FIRST CH0KCH. 



173 



Noveraber 15, 1738, the committee on seating tlie meeting- 
house reported as follows : — 



In the fore seat beloio. 
Thomas Drury, Thomas Pratt, 
John Perliam, James Moore, Nehe- 
miah How, Samuel Colburn, Jona- 
than Child. 



In the second seat. 
Robert Ferguson, Eleazer Fletch- 
er, Jacob Whipple, Marke Bachel- 
lor, Isaac Herrlngton, John Foster, 
Israel Stevens. 



1)1 the fore seat of the long gallery. 
James Harrington, Thomas Ax- 
tell, Jr., Jeddediah Biglo, Nathan- 
iel Whitmore, William Simpson, 
Benjamin Pratt, Jonathan Stow, 
Benjamin Grover, Benjamin Har- 
wood, Robert Moore, James Rose- 
borough. 



The fore seat of ye front. 
Joseph Rice, Benjamin Goddard, 
Caleb Benjamin, Jason Whitney, 
Abner Stow, Francis Herrlngton, 
Hezekiah Taylor. 



The third seat below. 
Joseph Goodell, Joseph Perry 
John Sherman, Jonathan Morse, 
William Perham, David Bachellor 
Jonathan Adams. 



The fourth seat below. 
Silas Wetherbee, Ebenezer 
Wheeler, Robert Flag, Nathaniel 
Adams, Benjamin Leiand, Joseph 
Moore. 



The second seat of ye front. 
Benjamin Chapin, Benjamin Wil- 
lard, Phineas Pratt, William 
Thompson, Andrew Adams, David 
Safford, Samuel Monroe. {^ 



The fifth seat below. 
Moses Leiand, Neheraiah Bach- 
ellor, James Ferguson, William 
Ward, Benjamin Warrin, Jonathan 
Rogers. 



NKHEMIAH HOW, 
CALEB BENJAMIN, 
JASON WHITNEY, 
ISRAEL STEVENS, 



Com. 



No events of partienlar importance, in the history of the 
church, are to be noticed for about ten years after the settle- 
ment of the lirst miiiister. It was about the year 1740, 
that the memorable and wide-spread religious excitement of 



174 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

the last century began to be strongly felt here. It was in 
the latter part of that year that "Whiteficld arrived in Bos- 
ton. The clmrches throughout the land were thrown into a 
state of intense agitation. Kev. Mr. Prentice was one who 
decidedly favored the movement, and encouraged the meas- 
ures of the itinerant preachers, whom he invited freely into 
his pulpit. He became what was termed at that time a 
" New Light," a title, the origin and precise significance of 
which we are not sure that we know ; but we have supposed 
that it referred to that inner light or perception, which some 
of the more extravagant of the revivalists claimed to pos- 
sess, and to the guidance of which they trusted with scarcely 
less confidence than to the light of Scripture.* Whitefield 
is said to have preached here one or more times, though not, 
as we can learn, with any very extraordinary effect. On 
the 16th of May, 1742, Rev. Philemon Eobbins, of Bran- 
ford, Conn., a man who was actively engaged, both at home 
and abroad, in promoting the excitement, preached here, 
when twenty or more persons are . reported to have fallen 
down with distress and anguish.f Ezekiel Coal (or Cole), a 
member of this church, and an Indian, Solomon Paine, 
Ehhu Marsh, and others, who had been ordained as lay 
preachers or exhorters, also came among the people at this 
period and preached. 

The course of the pastor was not approved by all the 
chui'ch. By the beginning of the year 1743, a disaffection 
had sprung up which continued to work till it resulted in 
Mr. Prentice's dismission. Seven members at first with- 



* Many who were then known as belonging to the "New Light" 
party, afterwards, we are told, wt^nt to make up a set of strange fanat- 
ics called " Live-forevers," who had their headquarters hereabouts, and 
professed to believe that they should live an endless life on earth. 
After this bubble of delusion burst, the same elements, as was natural, 
entered into a third combination, and flourished for a while as 
Shakers. 

t Kev. Mr. Farkman's Journal, in Tracy's " Great Awakening," p. 207. 



PEOPBIETOES' MEETING, FIEST CHURCH. 175 

drew from the communion.* This led to disciph'ne and dis- 
cord. Meetings of the church were lield without effect. 
Council upon council was called with no better results. 
Neither party were satisfied nor conciliated. After many 
difficulties, which we have neither the time nor inclination 
to detail, a council was at last agreed on, which met on the 
2nd of October, 1744. It closed its session on the 11th. Tlie 
"result" was printed by the aggrieved brethren, a circum- 
stance which shows that it was regarded as rather more favor- 
able to themselves than to their pastor; It is an interesting 
document, as showing some of the extravagances into which 
even sincere and well-meaning Christians are liable to fall in 
seasons of high excitement, when the passions override the 
reason, and as illustrating some of the peculiar absurdities 
which were not rare at that period. It shows also that Mr. 
Prentice had gone so far as to lose, in a measure at least, 
the confidence of his ministerial brethren of the neighbor- 
hood, as a prudent and discreet minister. Among the doc- 
trines which he was charged with preaching, were such as 
these : That we " are to love none but such as are savingly 
converted"; that the "life and practice are the negative 
part" of Christianity; that a converted man might know 
others, whether they were converted or not, by conversing 
with them; that he might in fact, "give a near guess, if 
they held their tongues." The council judged that he had 
gone too far in his language on these points. Another 
charge was, that he had said that " some ministers would 
advise some persons in distress to prayer, which he said was 
abominable." Referring to the remark of another, " that 
prayer is as fatal to the soul as ratsbane is to the body," he 
was said to have added, "I leave that, but I say it is abom- 



* These seven were Thomas Axtell, Thomas Drury, John Ward, Aaron 
Hardy, Israel Stevens, Jason Whitney and Simon Taintor. It appears 
before the 9th of January, 1743, "they had for some time withdrawn 
from the communiou." Some of them afterwards went so far as to 
sign another covenant. 



176 HISTORr OF GKAFTON. 

inable! abominable!" This doctrine the council pro- 
nonnced nnsonnd and of dangerous tendency. Another 
charge was, that he had said that " the Court of Heaven 
was adjourned for a little space, till one of the members 
came down to take upon him humanity." These expressions 
were condemned as untrue, and as " discovering a want of 
sound knowledge, and implying a variety of absurd 
notions." It was complained that in one of his sermons he 
had said that " persons would follow their unconverted min- 
isters, till they come to hell." It was oue of the doctrines 
broached and much insisted on during this religious agita- 
tion, that those who were truly converted must not only 
certainly know it, but that they had the power of discern- 
ing with hardly less tlian certainty, whether or not others 
were converted, and nothing was more common among the 
over-heated zealots of that day, than the pronunciation of 
wholesale condemnation against the ministers of the land, 
multitudes of whom were denounced as unconverted men. 
Mr. Prentice was thought by the council to have counte- 
nanced these hard and uncharitable judgments too much. 

One other charge against the doctrines he preached was, 
tliat he had said, " to what purpose is it to preach to an un- 
regenerate man," * * * "to tell him he must 
not kill, must not steal, must not do these and those things? 
for he has no power to resist them ; for he is the Devil's 
slave and vassal, and doeth just what the Devil would have 
him do." This was considered bj' the council as " carrying 
the matter too far." The introduction of uneducated ex- 
horters and itinerants into liis pulpit, and the obtrusion of 
himself into the charges of other ministers witliout their 
consent, were also charges preferred against him. The 
council judged it condemnablc, and entreated him to guard 
against such a course in future. Other complaints were 
brought against the preaching of Mr. Prentice, in which the 
council thought it proper to condemn him in part, and cau- 
tion him for the future. Nothing was urged against him 



THE COUNCIL, PEENTICe's DISMISSAL. 177 

affecting his moral character. The council exhorted the 
aggrieved brethren to bury all past dissatisfaction, and to sit 
contentedly and j)eaceably under his ministrations, if he 
should accept their judgment and advice. 

We might suspect from the censures laid upon Mr. Pren- 
tice Ijy this council, that the men who composed it were un- 
friendly to him or to the revival. But this suspicion is for- 
bidden by the fact that it was a mutual council. And we 
find the names of a majority of the clerical members, asso- 
ciated with that of Mr. Prentice himself, in a document 
issued the previous year from an assembly of ministers met 
in Boston, bearing testimony to the genuineness of "the 
late revival of religion."* There can be no doubt that he 
was one of the most zealous favorers of the extraordinary 
means which were employed to produce the tempest of re- 
ligious emotion which swept over the whole country. His 
honesty and conscientiousness are not to be doubted for a 
moment — his discretion may be. Some good probably came 
of his measures ; but that much evil accompanied it there 
can be no question. If there was a revival of religion here, 
there was a revival of some things else which were not so 
good. The excitement bore some fruits which are not to be 
recognized as Cliristian fruits. The result of the council 
was accepted by both parties, but evidently with little hearti- 
ness on the part of the pastor. Indeed lie declared to the 
church that he felt " very much hurt and pressed by it " ; 



* The following seven churches were represented in this council : 
The Third Church 'in Ipswich, then called Ipswich Hamlet, now the 
town of Hamilton — Samuel Wigglesworth, its pastor, was moderator 
of the council; the First Church in Mendou, Joseph Dorr, pastor; the 
Second Church in Mendon, now Milford, Amariah Frost, pastor; the 
Church in Medford, Ebenezer Turell, pastor; the Firist Church in Mai- 
den, Joseph Emerson, pastor; the First Church in Reading, William 
Hobby, pastor ; the Third Church in Salem. We are informed that there 
was no church in Salem designated as the Third, at the time this coun- 
cil was convened. But that which afterwards took the style of the 
Third Church had for its pastor, at that time, Samuel Fisk. It is that 
which is now called the Tabernacle Church. 
23 



178 HISTORY or GEAFTOir. 

but " as he had submitted matters of controversy to the 
council," he acquiesced in their judgment, "so far as he 
could and not infringe upon his conscience." There was 
but a temporary quiet enjoyed by the church after this ad- 
justment of its diflBculties. There had been no real recon- 
ciliation. In the early part of 1746 the disaffection broke 
out anew.* Mr. Prentice was charged with not having fol- 
lowed the advice of the council in all particulars. He re- 
plied that he never intended to in every particular, as he 
must violate his own conscience if he did so. Church meet- 
ings were resumed ; council followed council as before ; but 
all to no purpose. The advicfe of the counsellors was in 
each case voted accepted by all, and then followed by none. 
The church continued in this distracted state till Mr. Pren- 
tice at last " signified that he was discouraged in his station," 
and was willing to receive a dismission. A council was ac- 
cordingly called, by whose advice he was dismissed, July 
10th, 1747. In a communication which he made to this 
council, he alludes most touchingly to his trials and perplex- 
ities, exhibiting a deep and tender interest in the flock of 
his charge, and expressing his desire to continue in the 
sacred office of the ministry, " if it might be for the glory 
of God, and the spiritual good of His church and people." 
It breathes throughout the spirit of the devoted Christian 
pastor, who desires to live only for his Master's great work ; 
and whatever errors of doctrine or practice he may have 
fallen into in the administration of religious truth, none, 
who read his feeling lamentations over the sad dissensions in 
the church, and his humble account of his own labors, can 
fail to be impressed with the belief that he was a " man of 
God," pure in heart, and of true piety. Whatever may 
have been his errors, their root was not in the heart. Mr. 
Prentice erected a house, in which he lived while minister of 



* The length to which it had gone may be inferred from the following 
entry made by the pastor upon the records : " May 4, 1746, Sac't of the 
Lord's Supper administered here. Many, viz. sixty, absent." 



SKETOHES OF HUTCHINSON, GEOSVENOE AND MILES. 179 

the town, upon or near the spot occupied by the house of 
Hon. Samuel Wood, in 1846, now the residence of George 
F. Slocomb, Esq. It was nearly three years after Mr. Pren- 
tice was dismissed before another minister was settled. 
During this interval, in 174t), the church voted to take the 
Cambridge platform as their rule of church discipline " in 
the main things or articles therein contained." They took 
it only " in so far as they thought it to be supported by and 
grounded on the express word of Grod." " As to other 
things that might be looked on as expedients for the well- 
ordering of a church," they adopted it as their " general " 
rule.* 

Kev. Aaeon Hutchinson, from Hebron, Ct., was ordained 
the second pastor of this church, June 6, 1750. He grad- 
uated at Tale College in 1747, and was honored with the 
degree of Master of Arts from Harvard and Dartmouth 
colleges. He was born in Hebron, Ct., — that is, within 
what was Hebron at the time of his birth. After he was 
dismissed from his pastoral charge here, he supplied pulpits 
in the neighborhood for some time. In the spring of 1775, 
he purchased a farm in Pomfret, Vt., and made a contract 
to supply the towns of Pomfret, Woodstock and Hartford, 
each a third part of the time for five years. On this farm, 
to which he removed in 1776, he remained till his death, 
which took place in September, 1800, he having reached the 



* The attempt seems to have been made at a later day to bring the 
church under a more stringent application of the Cambridge platform, 
but without success. The question, as it came before the church, seems 
to have been, " whether the church do now adhere to the Cambridge 
platform, as a full and just system for church rule and discipline, as being 
full well proved and supported by the word of God in each and every part 
and paragraph therein contained." The words italicized are partially 
erased. The vote as passed was, " to adhere to it as a good plan of 
church rule and discipline." We may also infer that this church prac- 
tised a less rigorous discipline than some of the neighboring churches, 
from the fact that one of its members, in regular standing, was refused 
admittance to a church in an adjoining town, because of his unwilling- 
ness to sign their articles of discipline. 



180 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

age of seventy-six and a half years. He continued to 
preach in various places while ho lived, often to destitute 
parishes without receiving or asking any compensation. 
" In his long ministerial life he was never prevented from 
preacliing by ill-health but two Sabbaths, and one of them 
was the last Sabbath before he died." 

ORDINATION. 

At the ordination of Rev. Aaron Plutchinson, Kev. Mr. 
Martyn, of Westborough, now Northborough, offered the 
introductory prayer; Rev. Mr. Pumroy, of Hebron, Conn., 
preached the sermon — text. Acts 20 : 28 ; the charge by 
Rev. Mr. Loring, of Sudbury ; right hand by Rev. Mr. 
Parkman, of Westborough ; ordaining prayer by Rev. Mr. 
Hall, of Sutton. During his ministry eighty -three were 
added to the church. Mr. Hutchinson's salary was four 
hundred pounds, old tenor, " during his contin\iing regular 
in the pastoral office in said Grafton." These four hundred 
pounds were to be paid when the following commodities 
were marketable at the following prices, " and to rise and 
fall in proportion as the several necessaries of life herein 
mentioned are generally bougiit and sold " : — 



£ 


s. 


d. 




' Wheat at 2 . . 


. . . 


. the bushel. ' 




Eye " 1 . . 


. 10 . , 


, . " " 
.0 " 




Ind. Corn " 1 . . 


. 0. . 


OLD TENOR.' 


Pork " . . 


. 2. . 


. the pound. 




Beef " . . 


. 1 . . 


. " " 





Mr. Hutchinson remained in the ministry here till Novem- 
ber 18, 1772, when he was dismissed by the church (though 
not by the town), having been the pastor a little more than 
twenty-two years. The condition of the church during his 
connection with it seems to have been for the most part 
peaceful and prosperous. He was a man of strong natural 
powers of mind, and was considered a learned man and a 
good classical scholar by his contemporaries. Soon after his 



SKETCHES OF HUTCHINSON", GE08VEN0K AND MILES. 181 

settlement tlie covenant was so altered as to recognize the 
doctrine of the Trinity, and to require the Scriptures to be 
understood "in that view as exhibited to us in the well- 
known Westminster Catechism." It v^as tlie hand of Mr. 
Hutchinson that interlined these alterations of the covenant, 
and it was doubtless his counsel that led to their adoption. 
In his theology he was severe and somewhat dogmatical. 
Being called in the year 1767 to Newbury, to sit on an 
ecclesiastical council which was convened by some disaffect- 
ed members of the First Church in that place, a Sabbath 
passed during the time the council was in session, and Mr. 
Hutchinson preached by invitation at Newburyport. His 
sermon was published, and led to a protracted controversy. 
Rev, John Tucker (afterwards Dr.), minister of the First 
parish in JSIewbury, was of Arminian sentiments — senti- 
ments which were then entertained by a considerable num- 
ber of the clergy of New. England. It was his supposed 
heresy which called together the council of which Mr. 
Hutchinson was a member. The sermon that he preached 
was aimed at this defection from Calvin, and those preach- 
ers who countenanced it. It was entitled " Yalour for the 
Truth."'* The main doctrine which it seeks to establish, is 
that of original and imputed sin, which he carries out to its 
full and legitimate results, by urging that infants are ex- 
posed to damnation and eternal misery. He opposes the 
notion that infants are innocent, with argument, satire and 
ridicule, declaring that they are " sinners, guilty and pollut- 
ed, or they cannot be saved in any way pointed out in our 
Bible." This odious doctrine, now abandoned by many Cal- 
vinists of New England, Mr. Hutchinson propounded and 
maintained in all its offensive baldness, without any attempt 
at softening or palliation ; dealing ever and anon, as he Avent 
along, side blows at those preachers whose teaching con- 



*Text — Jer. 9 : 3 — "But they are not valiant for the truth upon the 
earth." 



183 HISTOBT OF GEAFTON. 

formed not to his doctrine, and almost as often at those 
'•'■ If enters" as he-termed them, " who hide their principles, 
hover in the dark, and whose trumpet gives an uncertain, 
sound." If he has little patience with those who deny his 
cherished dogmas, he has less with those who say nothing 
about them, or hold them by halves. Mr. Tucker reviewed 
his sermon, and pamphlets followed from both sides. Mr. 
Hutchinson found he had encountered no contemptible 
antagonist. He was opposed with a set of weapons different 
from his own, but not less effective. He was a son of 
thunder, strong, bold and impetuous. His opponent was 
quick-eyed, practised and self-possessed. The skill of the 
disputants, and the lively interest taken in the questions 
under discussion by the religious world at that period, gave 
considerable celebrity to the controversy. Mr. Hutchinson 
was distinguished for an extraordinary memory. The tradi- 
tion is familiar that he considered himself capable of re- 
writing the New Testament if it should be lost. It is said 
he would enter the pulpit and go tlirough the whole service 
without opening a book of any kind. He appointed his 
hymns and recited them, as well as passages of Scripture, 
with entire confidence in his memory, and without mis- 
take. 

The church records throw no light upon the causes of Mr. 
Hutchinson's dismission from his people. They barely state 
the fact of his dismission, showing that the proposition to 
separate came from himself. DiflBculties are hinted at, but 
neither stated nor explained. We find in the town records, 
that when it was voted, in 1771, to pay Mr. Hutchinson his 
salary as usual, fifteen persons entered their dissent from 
that vote, on the ground, that he had " forfeited his salary 
by his irregular conduct, as had been proved before an 
ecclesiastical council, he having been found guilty of dis- 
simulation, hypocrisy and violation of truth." But the 
charges of these fifteen dissenters bear strong marks of 
being dictated by feelings of personal unfriendliness ; for 



SKETCHES OF HUTCHINSOJST, GKOSTENOR AND MII.ES. 183 

it is not probable that if such flagrant misconduct had been 
clearly proven to the satisfaction of the -unprejudiced, tlie 
number of dissenters would have been so small, nor that 
the town would have refused to dismiss Mr. Hutcliinson 
when a council advised it. Neither can we suppose that the 
church would have recommended him to the fellowship of a 
sister church, as tliey did, if they had believed that such 
charges against his moral character could be substantiated. 
The town refused to accept the result of the council which 
advised Mr. Hutchinson's dismissal in 1771, and voted not 
to release him. And when the question came up a year 
after, whether they would concur with the church's vote in 
dismissing him, they refused to concur. It appears that lie 
had not become generally unacceptable to the people ; and 
that the town never did by vote consent to his dismission. 
Many were dissatisfied that the church should act in the 
matter without the concurrence of the town, and when 
afterwards the town was asked to unite with the chnrch in 
calling another minister, one man, Mr. Abraham Temple, 
objected to any such proceeding being had on the ground 
that " the church had not informed the town what is become 
of their old minister." The church, however, expressly dis- 
claimed the intention of abridging the ri^htc of *^he town, 
or of assuming the power to settle or dismiss a minister 
without the town's consent. It is probable that Mr. Hutch- 
inson, finding that his presence was the cause of dissension, 
chose to retire without waiting for the town to agree to his 
departure. The termination of his pastoral relation to his 
people, we are inclined to believe, was occasioned more by 
some offensive eccentricities in his social habits, than by any 
defect of moral character, or disqualifications as a teacher 
of religion. He was without grace or polish in his manners, 
and his freedom, though he probably was not conscious of 
it himself, must often have verged upon rudeness. This 
trait might naturally produce in some minds, after a time, a 
degree of coolness, and even aversion. And a breach being 



184 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

once made, it is not difficult to conceive tliat it sliould grad- 
ually increase till it ended in an open rupture. 

The house, which stood a few feet south of the " Evangeli- 
cal Congregational " church, was built and occupied by Mr. 
Hutchinson. Several of his sermons were published. Those 
which we have seen bear the same characteristics on which 
we have remarked at some length in one of them. He was 
confident in his opinions and strong in maintaining them. He 
pressed his views vigorously and forcibly upon his hearers, 
and probably carried them with him generally to his own 
conclusions. He must have been a preacher of much more 
than common power and influence. 

The following list of sermons we find in the catalogue of 
the American Antiquarian Society's Library, preached by 
Mr. Hutchinson. It is hardly probable that this is a com- 
plete list of his published discourses. 

" Valour for the Truth, a Sermon preached at Newbnryport, Mass., 
April 27, 17C7, 8vo. Boston, 1767." 

" Sermou at Grafton, Mass., Oct. 23, 1768, 8vo. Boston, 1769." (This 
was a sermon preached the Sabbath after the execution of Arthur, at 
Worcester). 

" Two Sermons at Grafton, Nov. 15, 1772, 8vo. Boston, 1773." (His 
last sei-raous to his congregation in Grafton). 

"Sermon nt Norihh.ndge, Mass., Nov. 29, 1772, 8vo. .Boston, 1773." 

" Sermou at Pelliam, Mass., Dec, 28, 1773, 8vo. Boston." 

In the year 1770, Watts's version of the Psalms, " to- 
gether with his Scripture hymns in the first and third books," 
came into use as a collection of hymns for public worship. 
Previous to this the New England version had been in use, 
and the change to a new book was here, as generally else- 
where, attended with no little difficulty and opposition. The 
hymns were read, line by line, by one of the deacons ; an- 
other set the tune, and the whole congregation joined. The 
same mode of singing was practised in most of our towns ; 
and in them a like revolution took place about the same 
time. This venerable version, which had long been used as 
a part of the religious services in the New England churches, 



SKETCHES OF HUTCHINSON, i&BOSTENOE AND MILES. 185 

could no longer withstand the spirit of innovation. It was 
compelled to give way to the more appropriate version of 
Watts, all of which was then adopted except the second 
book of his hymns. This was rejected on account of its 
supposed unscriptural character. The change, however, 
was not made without opposition ; and for a time, many of 
the elderly part of the society could not be reconciled to it. 
To the old psalms and hymns they felt a strong attachment, 
and with them were connected some of their fondest asso- 
ciations. They had been accustomed to them from their 
youth, and to lay them aside was like discarding an old and 
well tried friend. The psalmody of modern times, however 
harmonious to the ears of the young, struck no chord of 
unison in their hearts ; it excited no feelings of devotion ; 
but on the other hand, seemed like a profanation of the 
temple of the Most High. It was about the same time that 
the church relinquished to selected choristers the authority 
to appoint the tunes which should be sung in church ; 
though not without a reservation, which required all but the 
tune after the last prayer to be " such tunes as have been 
usual of late, and such old tunes as upon tryal may be 
thonglit proper for the public worship." The fii-st persons 
chosen choristers were Jonathan Stow and Moses Harring- 
ton. 

The following is a copy of a letter written to the church, 
June 29, 1753 :— 

" Whereas the solemnity of the Lord's Supper comes in course the 
next Sabbath and being desirous to come all together in the unity the 
spirit and in charity. which is the bond of peace, and understand that a 
number are dissatisfied at my conduct the Sabbath after the last Sacra- 
ment, in admitting some persons to own their baptismal covenant (as 
they supposej without the consent of the bretheren and am desirous 
(if possible) to remove all occasion for such uneasiness let me there- 
fore say, 

1 — That when I spake of taking their selence for consent and pro- 
ceeding I do solemnly say I am not concious I had the lest thot of 
being understood otherwise than as asking their silent consent in the same 
sense I have often used the phraise, so far as it related to their persons ; 
24 



186 HISTORY or GEAFTON. 

but as divers understood me that I asked their silent consent only to 
this that they had nothing of moral scandal to object I am convinced I 
spake too dark and perplexed, and thereby gave allusion of uneasiness 
with the proceeding as contrary to Congregational principles. 

2 — As to my proceeding after an objection was made against one ; that 
I have not altered my mind as to the thing objected, as I understood it 
yet I am free to say, it was neither right nor prudent in me to make 
myself the sole Judge in that affair, nor should I have done it then if I 
had not supposed myself fully acquainted with the thing objected and 
bad received satisfaction about it. 

3 — As to what I said about the disordertiness of objecting moral 
scandal at such a time I am sorry I had not spake in milder terms and 
especially considering that disorder (such as it was) began in me in 
speaking so as to be understood to open the door for such objections. 

4 — As to what I said last of all, of not receiving tatling ill reports 
for objections; but only things brot formally, by rule I clearly remem- 
ber that, what gave rise to that speech was what I had said before that 
no objections had been lodged with me, that it might be understood 
what I ment by objections, and to explain myself, to stirr up the pure 

minds of the church by way of remembrance of the rule inserted 

in our covenant and to let them know I dare not otherwise receive 
objections except in notorious cases. And I am clear In it however 
inadvertant I might be, that it was not then in my Heart to reflect upon 
any particular person as a traitor, talebearer, etc. 

5 — Whereas the matter of receiving persons to own their baptismal 
covenants labors so much with a number, I propose not to propound 
any more till I have laid it before the church to alter or regulate as they 
see cause. 

6 — I take this opportunity to desire the church and congregation not 
only to forgive me wherein I have stept a wrong in this affair, but 
cordially to cover ray imprudances and infirmities with a mantle of Love, 
and I hope and trust God will make me more watchful and cicumspect 
and so overule both my sins and sorrows for my best good. 

AARON HUTCHINSON. 

After Mr. Hutchinson's dismission the church was with- 
out a pastor till Oct. 19, 1774, when Mr. Daniel Geosvenoe, 
from Pomf ret, Conn., was ordained the third minister of the 
town. 

OEDINATION. 

At the ordination of Rev. Daniel Grosvenor, the intro- 
ductory prayer was offered by Eev. Aaron Putnam, of the 
First Church of Pomf ret, Conn. ; sermon by Eev. Ebenezer 



GROSVENOE AND MILES. 187 

Grosveiior, of Scitnate 5 text, Gen. 45 : 24.* Ordaining 
prayer by Rev. Elisha Fish, of Upton ; laying on of hands by 
Rev. David Ripley, of the Tliird Church in Pomfret (now 
Abington), and Rev. Joseph Sumner, of Shrewsbury; charge 
by Rev. David Hall, of Sutton ; right hand of fellowship 
by Rev. Amariah Frost, of Mendon (now Milford) ; con- 
cluding prayer by Rev. Josiah Whitney, of the Second 
Church in Poinfret (now Brooklyn). 

During Mr. Grosvenor's ministry 41 were added to the 
Church. 

The following is a copy of a deed for a pew in the old 
meeting-house : — 

"Kuow all men.by these presents that whereas we, Benjamin Walker, 
Joseph Wood, Luke Drarey, Zebede Reading and Moses Hayden, all 
of Grafton, in the County of Worcester and Commonwealth of Massa- 
chusetts, Gent: are appointed by legal voters of said Grafton, a com- 
mittee for the sale and conveyance of all the Pews in the Meeting 
House of said town, and being duly authorized for the purpose aforesaid, 
for and in consideration of the sume of Twenty-Eight Pounds to us ia 
hand Paid by Simon Bruce of the town aforesaid Trader, the Receipt 
Whereof we do hereby acknowledge, have sold and by these Presents do 
sell, convey and confirm unto him. the said Simon Bruce, hts heirs and 
assigns for Ever, a. Certain Pew in the Meeting House, No. 25, to his 
and their only use Benefit and Behoof forever. In testimony whereof 
We the above Named committee have in the character of a committee 
for and in behalf of said town of Grafton hereunto set our hands and 
seals this 28th Day of Nov.— 1785. 

In Presents of ] BENJAMIN WALKER JOSEPH WOOD 

Nathi,. Sharman J- ZEBEDEE REDDING LUKE DRURY 

Joseph Warrin. J MOSES HAYDEN. 

Rev. Daniel Grosvenor was born in Pomfret, Conn., in 
1749, graduated at Yale College in 1769, and died in Peters- 
ham, J uly 22, 1834, aged eighty-four years. 

Mr. Grosvenor continued in the ministry here till the 
close of the year 1787, when he was dismissed at his own 



* The preacher was an older brother of the pastor elect, at that time 
minister of Scituate, afterwards settled at Harvard. His sermon was 
printed. His text, " See that ye fall not out by the way," gave him occa- 
sion to point out the sources both in minister and people, from which 
fallings out usually come. Its council was judicious and well-timed. 



188 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

request, having lost his voice. He had never constant and 
firm health, and was obliged occasionally to suspend his 
pulpit labors for a while, before the failure of his voice 
entirely disabled him. The success of his ministerial labors 
here is best attested by the unwillingness of his people to 
consent to his removal, so long as they saw any reason to 
hope that he would be able to resume his labors. He was a 
man of very pleasing manners, both in the pulpit and out 
of it, dignified in his bearing, courteous and engaging in his 
address. Rare conversational powers, united with these 
qualities, made him everywhere a pleasant companion. His 
fondness of anecdote, ready wit and plentiful resources, 
also serve to make his presence always welcome to those 
who loved society. In liis doctrines he was said to be 
moderate, avoiding all extremes ; and as his manner of 
speaking was easy, fluent and vivacious, his attractions as a 
preacher were much more than ordinary. The years of his 
ministry embraced the period of our Revolntionary struggle, 
in which crisis he evinced his attachment to the cause of his 
country by " leaving his pulpit, taking his musket and join- 
ing the company of minute men that went to Cambridge 
on the 19th of April."* The church was united and peace- 
ful during his ministry, and consented with reluctance to 
his dismission. 

Mr. Grosvenor, having recovered his voice, was settled 
again in Paxton on the 5th of November, 1794, where he 
remained eight years- He resigned his charge there on the 
17th of November, 1802,t and spent the latter years of his life 
at Petersham. After Mr. Grosvenor's resignation the church 
remained destitute of a pastor nearly nine years. The 
records made during tliis time are meagre, and contain little 
matter of interest. The same year Mr. Nathaniel Howe 
was invited to become the minister of the town, but declined 
the invitation. 



* Brigham's Centennial Address, p. 29. 
t Worcester Magazine, II., 240. 



SKETCHES OF HUTCHINSON; GEOSVENOE AND MILES. 189 

Rev. Mr. Grosvenor was succeeded by Mr. John Miles, a 
native of Westminster and graduate of Brown University, 
E.. I., who was ordained the fourth pastor of the church, 
Oct. 12th, 1796. We here come to a period in the history 
of which some now living bore a part. He was born in 
Westminster, Mass., Nov. 3, 1766, and was graduated, at 
Brown University, Providence, R. I., of the class of 1794. 
After leaving college, he studied for the ministry, under the 
care of Rev. Dr. Sanger of Bridgewater. He was ordained 
here Oct. 12, 1796, over the only society in' the town. 
Accordingly, as in the case of most country ministers at 
that period, he was the minister of the town, and settled 
for life. On account of the great numbers who assembled 
to witness his introduction into office, the ordination services 
were held on the Common in the open air. The marriage 
of a minister, in those early days, was an occasion of almost 
equal interest as that of his ordination. He was married. 
May 1, 1798, to Mary Denny, daughter of Col. Samuel 
Denny of Leicester an event which, in the language of 
another, " did something more than connect him with 
families well known and respected in Worcester County, 
valuable as that was ; it gave him one who, in other than 
the partial judgment of filial affection, was fitted in no 
common degree for the place she was called to fill." " For 
a period of nearly thirty years, embracing, beyond doubt, 
the most embarrassing and trying portion of the history of 
the Massachusetts Congregational churclies, he was pastor 
of the society, and under his ministrations it was in a united 
and prosperous condition. Attention to public schools, the 
sole care of which for the most part fell into his hands, 
absorbed a large share of his time, though he gave a due 
share also to a little farm of sixteen acres." " Many scenes 
of his ministerial life are among the delightful recollections 
of my childhood," " I (H. A. Miles, D. D.) recall, with 
special pleasure, the walk to church on a pleasant Sunday 
morning in summer, when six or eight children would 



190 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

arrange themselves in order, the sons on the side of their 
father, the daughters on the side of their mother ; and 
the platoon would proceed, with all becoming gravity and 
solemnity, to the house of prayer. The old square clmrch 
in the middle of the Common, with porches bulging out on 
three sides, witli its large old-fashioned pews and slamming 
seats, is before me now." " On a salary never amounting 
to $300, he lived in the practice of the hospitality which 
was then more generous than now ; he brought up a large 
family of children, one of whom he carried through college, 
and to all of whom he gave a good education. When, at 
length, divisions arose in the town, he asked a dismission ; 
and his connection with the parish terminated, Oct. 12, 
1825. He died in Shrewsbury, March 20, 1849. 

ORDINATION. 

At the ordination of Mr. Miles, the introductory prayer 
was offered by Rev. John Robinson, of Westborough ; sermon 
by Rev. Asaph Rice, of Westminster ; Text, Isaiah 49 : 4. 
Ordaining prayer by Rev. Zedekiah Sawyer, of Bridge- 
water ; charge by Rev. Daniel Grosvenor, of Paxton ; right 
hand of fellowship by Rev. Joseph Sumner, of Shrews- 
bury ; the concluding prayer by Rev. Ezra Ripley, of Con- 
cord. The additions to the church during his ministry 
were 95. 

In April, 1827, the expediency of establishing a Sabbath 
school was considered by the church, and it was voted to 
make the " attempt." The attempt succeeded. Soon after 
the settlement of Mr. Searle, it became the policy of the 
pastor and church to insist more strenuously than had been 
usual upon . doctrinal qualifications, as conditions of admis- 
sion to the fellowship of the church. It was voted that 
persons coming from other churches with certificates of 
dismission and recommendation, " should be examined be- 
fore the cliurch as was customary in the case of those who 
come forward the first time to make profession of religion." 





Heliotype Printiii;; Cn., Boston- 



SKETCHES OF HUTCHINSON, GEOSTENOR AND MILES. 191 

In 1828, the covenant was revised and altered in such a 
manner as to give it a more sectarian aspect, and a creed of 
many articles was appended to it. It was no strange thing, 
therefore, that when the majority of the society chose to 
dismiss a minister, whose teaching seemed to them neither 
true nor profitable, they should part company with a church, 
every member of which stood committed to a doctrinal 
system which they rejected as human in its origin, and nn- 
scriptural in its character. Such was the case. This society, 
at a meeting held on the third of December, 1831, voted to 
dismiss Rev. Mr. Seaiie. 

OEDINATION. 

At the ordination of Mi'. Searle, Rev. Elisha Rockwood, of 
Westborough, offered the introductory prayer ; Rev. Samuel 
Green, of the Union Church, Boston, preached the sermon ; 
text, 1 Cor. 1 : 23, 24. Rev. Samuel Judson, of Uxbridge, 
offered the ordaining prayer ; charge by Rev. John Crane, 
of Northbridge ; right hand of fellowship by Rev. Joseph 
Searle, of Lynniield ; charge to the people by Rev. Joseph 
Goffe, of Millbury ; concluding prayer by Rev. Benjamin 
Wood, of Upton. There were 162 additions to the churcli 
during jiis pastorate. The members of the church, who of 
course could have been only such as embraced the same 
opinions that their pastor held, since such only were allowed 
in the creed, soon seceded, and with others organized a new 
society with which they voted as a church to connect them- 
selves. They took the name of the " Evangelical Congre- 
gational Church and Society." All the members of the 
church having left the Society, there was now on obstacle to 
the re-formation of a church within the bosom of the 
Society. 

The covenant which was adopted is as follows : — 

" Being desirous of obeying the precepts and enjoying the privileges 
of the Christian Eeligion, and aiding each other in the discharge of its 
duties, we do, by this covenant, unite In a Christian church, to walls 



192 HISTOEY OF GRAFTON. 

together in the faith and order of the Gospel, giving the following 
expressions of our individual belief and desire : — 

I believe In the Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments as the 
word of God and receive them as the proper and only rule of faith and 
duty. I believe in Jesus Christ as the son of God, ' exalted to be a 
Prince and Saviour,' the ' Mediator between God and man,' ' the way, 
the truth and the life.' On his religion I rest my hopes of salvation. 
His precepts I wish to obey. And I now unite myself to His church, 
to commemorate His love in the ordinance which He instituted and gave 
to His disciples. 

I do this as an expression of my firm belief in the divinity of His 
religion, and my earnest desire and solemn purpose to live as His 
disciple, humbly hoping through the grace of God to become an heir of 
salvation." 

The division of the old Congregational Society, in con- 
sequeuee of the dismission of their pastor, Rev. Mr. Searle, 
took place, Dec. 3, 1831. The church in a body, with a 
large minority of the parish, withdrew, thereby relinquish- 
ing their riglit as members of the First Congregational 
Society, forming a new parish, and erecting for their use a 
new and handsome edifice on the west side of the Common. 
Another report says :* " Withdrew and made provision for 
the preaching of the gospel in its purity, finding that there 
was no probability of their continuing to enjoy the labors of 
an Evangelical Pastor while connected with the parish." In 
consequence of this withdrawal of all the meml>ers of the 
church, a new church, consisting at first of nineteen mem- 
bers, was organized Aug. 5, 1832, in connection with the 
old society, under the auspices of Rev. E. B. Hall, who, 
after leaving Northampton, supplied the pulpit of the First 
Parish for several months, prior to his settlement in Provi- 
dence. 

The Evangelical Congregational Society. 

After the dismissal of Rev. Mr. Searle, the next pastor of 
the church was Rev. John Wilde, who was born in Dorches- 
ter in 1803, and was graduated at Middlebury College, Ver- 

* Church records. 



EVANGELICAL CONGEEGATIONAL SOCIETY. 193 

mont, in 1827. He taught school for a few months in the 
Shenandoah Valley, whore he contracted a fever, from the 
effects of which he never fully recovered during the re- 
mainder of his life. He entered the Andover Tlieological 
Seminary, from which institution he was graduated in 1831. 
He was installed pastor of the Evangelical Congregational 
Church here, June 20, 1832. Shortly afterwards he was 
married to Miss Julia M. Forbes, daughter of Dea. Jona- 
than Forbes, of Westborough. In 1839 he resigned his 
pastorate, and removed to Conway, N. H., on account of 
the health of his wife. In 1849 he removed to West Fal- 
moutli. Me., where he preached for eight years. In 1853 
he went to Topsham, Me., where he remained for two years 
in charge of a parish there. Here, on account of his own 
ill-health, he was compelled to give up the settled pastorate. 
After a brief visit to California to regain his health, on his 
return he resided for several years in Brunswick, Me. 
Wiiile at Falmouth he v/as elected on the board of over- 
seers of Bowdoiii College. From 1859 to 1861 he had 
charge of Laurel Bank Seminary, in Deposit, N. Y. Sub- 
sequently he opened a school in Stamford, but in 1866, his 
health being so enfeebled, he sold his interest in the school, 
and removed with his wife and only daughter to Alexandria, 
V^a., the residence of his son-in-law. Here, after a painful 
illness, he died, February 10, 1868. 

ORDINATION. 

At Mr. Wilde's ordination, Kev. Mr. Fletcher, of North- 
bridge, offered the introductory prayer ; sermon by Rev. 
John Codraan, D. D., of Dorchester; ordaining prayer by 
Rev. Elisha Rockwood, of Westborough ; charge by Rev. 
Benjamin Wood, of Upton ; right hand of fellowship by 
Rev. Osgood Herrick, of Millbury ; charge to the people by 
Rev. George Allen, of Shrewsbury ; concluding prayer by 
Rev. John Maltby, of Sutton. There were eighty additions 
to the church during Mr. Wilde's ministry. 
25 



194 HISTORY OF QEAFTON. 

Rev. Thomas Cuetis Biscoe, the next pastor, was born in 
Cambridge, Mass., July 18, 1810. He was the son of 
Thomas and Bathsheba (How) Biscoe, and a direct descend- 
ant of Nathaniel Biscoe, " the rich tanner," of Watertown. 
He gradnated at Amherst College in 1831, and taught tlie 
Academy at Brattleboro, Vt., for a year after his gradua- 
tion. Having devoted three years to theological studies, he 
was licensed to preach in the Fall of 1835. He received a 
call from the Congregational Society in South Weymouth, 
but declined it, yet he supplied tlie pulpit there nearly two 
years. From that place he came to Grafton ; received a 
unanimous call to become pastor of the Evangelical Congre- 
gational Church, which he accepted, and was ordained pastor 
July 18, 1838, and was dismissed July 26, 1868, after a 
longer pastorate than any of his predecessors, that of llev. 
Mr. Miles being nearly as long. 

The following churches wore invited to assist in his ordi- 
nation : The Evangelical Congregational Church in Cam- 
bridge, Calvanist Church in Worcester, churches in West- 
borough, Upton, Shrewsbury, Marlborough, Northbridge, 
Sutton, Epsom, N. H., and the Second Congregational 
Church in Millbui-y. The order of exercises on tlie occasion 
was as follows: Introductory prayer by Rev. Mr. Kitt- 
redge, of Westborough ; sermon by Rev. Mr. Stearns, of 
Cambridge, from 2d Jolm, 9 ; consecrating prayer by Rev. 
Mr. Forbush, of Northbridge ; charge to the pastor by Rev. 
Mr. Wood, of Upton ; riglit hand of fellowship by Rev. 
Mr. Peabody, of Worcester ; address to the people by Rev. 
Mr. Allen, of Shrewsbury ; concluding prayer by Rev. Mr. 
Tracy, of Sutton. 

On his first entering upon the work of the ministry here, 
tokens of God's special presence were graciously vouchsafed. 
For the first seven years not a communion season passed in 
which the church did not receive one or more additions. 
On one occasion the number reached forty-seven. During 
his ministry the church was blessed with five extensive and 



EVANGELICAL CONGREGATIONAL SOCIETY. 195 

precious revivals of religion. And in the thirty years of 
his service four hundred and forty were added to the 
church. 

Kkv. John H. Windsor, the present incumbent, Was born 
in England, and removed to America with his parents in 
1844. He was graduated at Iowa College, July 12, 1854, 
and subsequently, August 6, 1857, at the Andover Theologi- 
cal Seminary. He was in the service of the American 
Home Missionary Society in Iowa, from 1858 to 1864, 
located at St. Charles and Marion. He was installed pastor 
of the First Parish Church at Saco, Me., September 29, 
1864, and over this church September 29, 1868. 

installation. 

The exercises at the installation of Rev. John H. Windsor 
were the following : Reading of the Scriptures, Rev. Wil- 
liam T. Briggs, of East Douglas ; introductory prayer by 
Rev. William A. Houghton, of Berlin ; sermon by Prof. 
Egbert C. Smyth, of Andover Theological Seminary — text, 
1 Cor. 15 : 47 ; installing prayer by Rev. L. F. Clark, of 
Whitinsville; charge by Rev. Setli Sweetser, D. D., of 
Worcester ; right hand of fellowship by Rev. Stacy Fowler, 
of Millbury ; charge to the people by Rev. Royal B. Strat- 
ton, of Worcester; concluding prayer by Rev. A. O. Bates, 
of Saundersville. During Mr. Windsor's pastorate seventy 
have been added to the church. 

Rev. Mr. Windsor preached a sermon in 1878, commem- 
orative of the tenth year of his pastorate over the Evangeli- 
cal Congregational Church, from Deu. 9 : 1st and 3d verses. 
Among the facts of interest connected with the historical 
sketch were the following : " Of the nine ministers present 
at his installation, five have died. The moderator of the 
council was the late Dr. Sweetser, of Worcester. But one 
minister in the conference with which this church is con- 
nected is settled over the church of which he was pastor ten 



196 HISTOBY OF GEAFTON. 

years ago. During this time seventy have been added to 
the church, of whom thirty were from the Smiday school. 
Thirty-two members of the church have died, whose aggre- 
gate ages were 2,127 years, or an average of 66^ years. 
Fourteen died from the congregation. Contributions for 
different Christian benevolencies, $6,777.45 ; of this the 
Ladies' Sewing Circle gave, in barrels of clothing to the 
missionary cause, $2,273.47, or an annual average of more 
than $200. The parish have sustained the gospel at home 
at a gross outlay of $23,000. Besides this regular provision 
improvements have been made upon the house of worship 
to the amount of $400 ; a floating debt also of about $2,000 
has been cancelled. The Sunday school has contriI)uted in 
penny offerings $788. The grand total gives an average 
contribution for all purposes from each member of the 
church and congregation of about $11 annually. The 
weekly offering system has been adopted with gratifying 
success, for the past three years. Those who were members 
of the choir September 29, 1868, are still there, the leader, 
Hon. W. R. Hill, having conducted that part of divine ser- 
vice for forty years. The church and society, notwithstand- 
ing the depletion by deaths and removals, in spite of the 
long business depression, are out of debt. Among the facts 
of general interest in the town, during this period, was the 
lighting of the streets, the chartering and successful work- 
ing of the Grafton Centre Railroad, the organization of a 
Reform Club, that has done good work for the cause of 
temperance, the revival and very eflicient working of the 
Farmers' Club. Two clergymen have died during these 
years ; the respected pastor of the Unitarian Church, Rev. 
Mr. Scandlin, and the esteemed pastor of the church at 
Saundersville, Rev. Mr. Bates. Judge White, who for 
many years had been the efficient clerk of the town, died 
suddenly in September, 1875. Two physicians have also 
deceased ; Dr. Pierce, who had been in practice for fifty 
years, and Dr. Whitteniore, of Farnumsville. During the 



EVANGELICAL CONGEEGATIONAL SOCIETY. 197 

Centennial year a Fourth of July celebration was held, at 
wliicli an liistorical oration was delivered hy Rev. E. F. 
Howe, a native of the town, and now of Newtonville. A 
large number of former residents were also present on that 
occasion, and gave brief reminiscences of their Grafton life. 
The vital statistics of the town for this period give 937 
births, 616 deaths, and 407 marriages. The present popu- 
lation is upwards of 4,000." 



DEACONS, FIRST PARISH. 

Elected. 

James Whipple Jan. 21, 1732. 

Samuel Cooper, " " 

Joseph Merriara, 1st, Nov. 25, 1742. 

Abner Stow, Sept. 27, 1750. 

Joseph Batchelder, Apr. 4, 1765. 

Joseph Merriam, Jr., 2nd Apr. 14,1790. 

Jonathan Stow, " 

Timothy Merriam Oct. 29, 1810. 

Nathaniel Adams Dec. 26, " 

Albert Stone, June 8, 1820. 

Joseph Merriam, Jr., 3rd, June 10, 1824. 



EVANGELICAL CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

Elected. 

Holland Greenwood, Dec. 13, 1831. 

Otis Prince Jan. 4, 1832. 

Otis Adams, Sept. 14, 1838. 

Leandei- S. Pratt, Sept. 3, 1852. 

Francis Winn Nov. 5, " 

Leander Stockwell, July 3, 1862. 

Lewis Holbrook, " " 

William R. Hill July 3, 1874. 

George K. Nichols, " " 

Edward F. Chamberlin, Mar. 1, 1878. 



198 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

First Unitarian Cliurch. 

The first meeting. — The church building — The first members. — Sketches 
of Revs. Edward B. Hall, Uufus A. Johnson, Cazncau Palfrey, 
D. D., Edmund B. Willson, A. M., Farrington Mclntire, A. M., Wil- 
liam G. Scandliu, his funeral and General Devens' remarks, Gilbert 
Cummings, Cliarles A. Tindall, William S. Burton. — 'I'lie corres- 
pondence relative to the church records. — The deacons. 

At a legal meeting of the society, held on Monday, April 
2, 1832, Pardon Aldrich was chosen moderator ; Harry 
Wood, clerk ; Isaac W. Wood, Charles M. Pratt and Charles 
Brigham, Jr., were chosen assessors ; Isaac W. Wood, treas- 
urer ; Noah Kimball, collector ; Samnel Wood, Charles Brig- 
ham, Joseph Bruce, Harry Wood, Henry Parker, Austin 
Holbrook and Liberty Wood, were chosen a committee to 
supply a pastor; Harry Wood, Joseph Bruce, Royal Keith, 
Charles Brigham, Henry Parker, Samuel Wood and Leonard 
Wheelock, were chosen a committee to report what disposi- 
tion should be made of the old meeting-house. At a subse- 
quent meeting it was voted to pay Rev. Moses C. Searle's 
order of $100. The meetinghouse committee reported as 
follows : " That it is expedient for the society to dispose of 
the old meeting-house, and cause the same to be removed 
from off the Common, and for the purpose, to choose a com- 
mittee to cause the old pews in said old meeting-house to be 
appraised by three disinterested and discreet men and free- 
holders, within the County of Worcester, afterwards to soil 
the same at public auction, giving suitable notice of tlie in- 
tended sale, to the highest bidder, on condition that the pur- 
chaser cause the said old raeeting-house to be removed from 
the Common within such reasonable time as said committee 
shall direct. And to apportion the proceeds of the sale 
among the owners of the pews in said house, according to 
the appraisement." The committee of three to make the ap- 
praisal were Harry Wood, Charles Brigham and Jonathan 
Warren. 



FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH. 199 

Tlie followinii; is a copy of the agreement for building 
the First Congregational (Unitarian) Churoli : — 

"It is hereby agreed by, and between Daniel Harrington, of Slirews- 
bury, Martin Harrington, of Grafton, and Jonas M. Miles, of Slirews- 
bury, on the one part, and Albert Stone, Pardon Aldrich, Isaac W. 
Wood, Tliaddeus Read and Phillip Wing, of Grafton, as building com- 
mittee, all of the County of Worcester, on the other part, as fol- 
lows : — 

We, Daniel and Martin Harrington, and Jonas M. Miles, do by 
this obligation agree to build a meeting-house for the use of the Con- 
gregational Society, in Grafton, of the following size and dimensions : 
To be seventy feet long and forty-nine feet wide, with an open projec- 
tion in front of six feet in width, to be supported with four columns 
fluted in the modern doric style, without moulded bases — posts twenty- 
seven feet high— belfry tower to be fourteen feet square — bell deck to 
be seven feet high above the ridge of the house, exclusive of the 
cornice, and said deck is to be covered with zinc. A steeple is to be 
built according to the plan exhibited by said contractors, the stock and 
workmanship to be equal to the new Baptist meeting-house in said 
Grafton,' with some variations in the following particulars : There are 
to be pilasters on all corners of the house, the raking cornice on liie 
extreme end to project out full — frieze to return round over the pilas- 
ters on said end ; there are to be six windows in a tier on each side of 
the house, three windows In front, four windows in the other end, and 
one in the gable end ; said windows to be like those in said Baptist 
house, in all respects, except the glass is to be English crown, and the 
blinds are to be of good workmanship and stock, free from sap. There 
are to be three doors in front, with ornamental lights over each, window 
frames and doors to be capped with lead, and all the other places neces- 
sary about said house for the better preservation of the same. Said 
steeple to be ornamented with balustrades, and not less than one hun- 
dred and twenty feet to the points in height. There are to be twelve 
windows in the basement story, to contain sixteen panes of glass ten 
by twelve inches each, to be covered with boai-d shutters outside, aud 
hung with wrought hinges; two doors are to be made for said story, 
and the supports for the flooring are to be eight-sided white oak posts, 
furnished and well put up, and no other work is to be done in said 
basement story. An elliptical blind is to be put on the pannel in the 
pediment, instead of a glass window. The size of the timber to be 
generally equal to that in the Baptist house. The roof to be framed in 
a similar manner, and covered with first quality shaved northern 
shingles, in a thorough, durable manner. Said house to be externally 
finished with eastern stock. A window over the ridge of twelve lights, 
with a blind on the same, is to be made in the belfry. The inside of 



200 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

the house to be flnished as follows : There is to be partitioned off at 
the front end of the house an entry twelve feet wide, including the par- 
titions, with stairs partitioned off at each end to ascend the galleries, 
with a flight at one end to go into the basement. There are to be 
seventy pews in the lower part of the house, and thirty-two in the gal- 
leries, to be made in the same manner as those in said Baptist house. 
Said galleries are to be like those in the Presbyterian meeting-house in 
Millbury. Three tiers of seats for singers are to be made in the gallery 
over the entry. A corner over the gallery stairs is to be partitioned off 
for stairs to ascend the belfry, and at the other corner a similar space is 
to be partitioned to correspond in appearance with the other. In all 
other respects the inside to be like the Baptist house, as respects the 
style, workmanship and stock for the same, except the pew doors are to 
be closed with brass buttons. At the opposite end of the entry from 
the basement stairs is a space for wood under the gallery stairs, with a 
door for the same. The stairs are to be closed with doors at the bot- 
tom, made like those in said Baptist house. The basement doors, with 
one of the front doors and one of the inner doors, with the door into 
the belfry, are to be furnished with suitable locks. There are to be two 
ai.-les, lengthwise of the body of the house, four feet iu width. There 
are to be seats in the back corners in the galleries, like those in said 
Baptist hou.se, and all other particulars respecting the building of said 
house, not named, to correspond with said Baptist house. In short, 
said house is to bo built, in all its particulars, in a thorough workman- 
like manner, respecting both the external and internal parts of the 
house; plastering on the walls to be hard finish. The house and all the 
materials are to be furnished by said contractors, above the underpin- 
ning, and the painting of all the blinds included, except the rest of the 
painting of every part of the house, all the gilding, varnishing, priming 
sashes, setting glass, &c., which is to be done by the committee.* 

And on the part of the committee it is agreed to prepare the founda- 
tion and underpinning of said house by the 20th of June next, so that 
the said contractors shall not be delayed in the prosecution of their 
work. And they further agree to do all the painting and gilding, &c., 
as excepted on the part of the condition of the contractors. It Is 
understood that the contractors furnish the ornamental windows at 
their own expense. The committee further agree that they will pay 
said contractors, for the fulfillment of this contract, the sum of one 
thousand dollars when the outside shall be completed in an acceptable 
manner, and the further sum of three thousand five hundred and 
twenty-flve dollars when the house shall be completed in a like accept- 
able manner, according to this contract, which said contractors agree to 
finish by the first day of December next, and the committee agree to 



* This description answers very nearly for the Baptist and Orthodox 
meeting-houses. 



FIRST UNITARIAJS CH0RCH. 201 

furnish help necessary for erecting the frame of said house ; and they 
agree to provide for said help while raising said frame. The contrac- 
tors furnish the lightning rod and put up the same. 

lu testimony whereof, we have hereto interchangeably set our hands 
and seals this fourteenth day of April, A. D., 1831. 

IJANIEL HAKRINGTON. 

MARTIN HARRINGTON. 

JONAS M. MILES. 

ALBERT STONE. 

PARDON ALDRICH. 

ISAAC W. WOOD. 

PHILIP WING. 

THADDEUS READ. 
Attest, 

H. WOOD. 
March 27th, 1832, this day reckoned with Martin Harrington and ful- 
filled our part of the above contract, and made void the same. 
Witness our hands, 

ISAAC W. WOOD. 

PHILIP WING. 

MARTIN HARRINGTON." 

The first members were as follows : — 

Joseph C. Luther. Catherine L. Heywood. 

Isaac W. Wood. Betsey Jackson. 

Joseph Bruce. Rufus P. Chase. 

Harriot Bruce. Deborah Keith. 

Charles Brigham, Jan. Tabatha Prentice. 

Hannah P. Batcheller. Sarah Lesure. 

Charles L. Heywood. Martha G. Holbrook. 

Asahel Fairbanks. James Shepard. 

Susannah Wood. Elizabeth Shepard. 

Azubah S. Heywood. Elizabeth Adams. 

Annah E. Brigham. Polly Knowlton. 

Leonai'd Wheelock. Augustus S. Heywood. 

Persis Wheelock. Hepsebah Clisbee. 

Hev. Edward Brooks Hall, who formed this society, was 

born in Medford, September 2, 1800, and was named from 

his maternal grandfather, Rev. Edward Brooks, of North 

Yarmouth. He was a lineal descendant of the Rev. John 

Cotton, who was the second minister of the First Church in 

Boston. Although his father's hotise stood in the square, 
26 



202 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

where the voices of his companions conld assail liim with 
frequent temptations, he shut liimsolf up witli a determina- 
tion to fit himself for Harvard in nine months. His teacher, 
Mr. Converse Francis, told him it was almost impossible; 
but he accomplished it, and entered college honorably in the 
following August. Reserved in his habits, because com- 
pelled to study closely for all that he gained, he formed few 
intimacies ; but the Kev. Dr. Furness, Rev. Dr. Gannett, 
and Rev. Calvin Lincoln were classmates for whom his 
attachment only increased with years. While in college he 
found Ills affections strongly drawn towards the study of 
divinity ; hut he was induced to become a tea,cher for a year 
at a place called Garrison Forest, about ten miles from 
Baltimore — " a happy year " lie always culled it. Aug. 16, 
1826, he was ordained over the new Unitarian Society in 
Northampton; here he remained three years. He resigned 
on account of ill health and went to Cuba. On his return 
he took charge of the Unitarian Society in Cincinnati, for 
nearly a year. He subsequently came to this town and 
formed the Unitarian Society; here he remained a sliort time, 
when he received a call from Providence to the First Con- 
gregational Society. Ho was installed Nov. 14, 1832, and 
here he remained until his death in 1866. He was greatly 
beloved and highly respected by his parishouers and ac- 
quaintances. 

October 16, 1833, Rev. Rufus A. Johnson, a graduate of 
the Cambridge Divinity School, was installed as minister over 
this society, where he continued to labor till his dismission, 
March 12, 1838, five years and five months. During most 
of this period — viz.: from April, 1834, till his dismission — 
he was an active and efficient member of the Worcester 
Ministerial Association. He married Anna Hill in 1834, 
and she died in four months after marriage. The sudden 
death gave him a shock from which he never fully 
recovered, and which caused a temporary insanity. He died 
in Upton, in 1860. 



FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH. 203 

He was succeeded by Rev. Cazneau Palfrey, who con- 
tinued in tiie same office till the spring of 1843. 

Caznkau Palfrey, D. D., son of William Palfrey, for 
many years an officer in the Boston Custom-house, was 
born in Boston, August 11, 1805. His mother's name was 
Lydia Cazneau. His parents were parishioners of Rev. 
Dr. John Elliot, by whom he was baptized in infancy ; and, 
afterwards, of Rev. Francis Parkman, D. D., his successor, 
under whose ministr}' Mr. Palfrey was brought up. He 
received his early education, and was prepared for college, 
in the public schools of Boston, and entered Harvard College 
at the age of seventeen, graduating in 1826. During his 
course of study in the Theological School, he was for one 
year a tutor in the Latin Department in the University. 
On the 5th of October, 1830, he was ordained pastor of 
the Unitarian Church in Washington, D. C. His ministry 
in that city terminated in January, 1836. On the 35th of 
April, 1838, he was installed over this society, where he 
continued until April 25, 1843, — five years; He was editor 
while here of the Monthly Miscellany of Religion and 
Letters, now the Monthly Religious Magazine. His son 
Hersey Goodwin was born here October 9, 1839, and 
graduated at Harvard College 1860. Dr. Palfrey now 
(1879) resides in Cambridge, Mass. His installation services 
were as follows : — Sermon, Rev. Edward B. Hall, of Provi- 
dence, R. I. ; installing prayer, Rev. Jaazaniah Crosby, of 
Charlcstown, N. H. ; charge, Rev. Aaron Bancroft, D.D., 
of Worcester ; right hand of fellowship, Rev. George 
Putnam, of Roxbury ; address to the people. Rev. Joseph 
Allen, of Northborough. " Besides these, Rev. Washington 
Gilbert of Harvard, was present and took a part; but 
whether the reading of the Scriptures, or the introductory, 
or concluding prayer, I have been unable to ascertain. I 
think, though I am not sure,* that Rev. Samuel May of 



* Dr. Palfrey's Letter. 



204 HISTOEr OF GEAFTON. 

Leicester was present, and took one of those parts." He 
was succeeded by Rev. Edmund B. "Willson. 

Kev. Edmund B. Willson, A. M., son of "Rev. Luther 
and Sally (Bigelow) Willson, was born in Petersham, August 
15, 1820. He entered Yale College, but on account of ill 
health, did not graduate with his class. He studied divinity 
in Cambridge with the class of 1843, and received the 
honorary degree from Harvard College in 1853. He was 
ordained January 3, 1844, as minister of this Society, and 
after a useful ministry of over eight years, in which he had 
endeared himself to his people, and made himself favorably 
known in the neighboring churches, he was dismissed, at 
his own request, July 1, 1852. He published a valuable 
historical discourse entitled the " Church Record," delivered 
here December 27, 1846. He now resides in Salem. The 
installation services were as follows : — Introductory prayer, 
Rev. William Barry, of Framingham ; reading of Scriptures, 
Rev. Samuel May, of Leicester ; sermon, Rev. George R. 
Noyes, D. D., of Cambridge ; ordaining prayer, Rev. Alonzo 
Hill, of Worcester ; charge. Rev. Luther Willson, of Peters- 
ham ; right hand of fellowship. Rev. John Weiss, of Water- 
town ; address to the people, Rev. Cazneau Palfrey ; con- 
cluding prayer, Rej^. Henry A. Miles, D. D., of Lowell. 

The minority that withdrew comprised the church. The 
records and furniture of the church were removed by them. 
They were asked to return these to the Congregational 
Church, but refused. This church, although believing that 
they needed only to insist upon the restoration of this 
property to recover it, were disinclined to prosecute their 
claims by litigation. The matter rested till near the close 
of the year 1845, when it was again taken into consideration 
by this church. It was then voted to choose a committee 
to communicate with the Evangelical Congregational Church 
on the subject. This led to the following correspond- 
ence: — " ' 



FIEST TJNITAKIAN CHURCH. 205 

"Grafton, Jan. 20, 1846. 

To THE EVANGBUCAL CONGREGATIONAL ChOECH IN GkAFTON : 

Christian Brethren and Friends : — 

At a recent meeting of the Congregational Church in said Grafton, 
we were appointed a committee to addres.s a communication to you 
respecting certain Records of the Congregational Church supposed to 
be now in your possession and subject to your control. In obedience 
to our instructions, we proceed to lay the matter with which we are 
charged before you. 

You are aware that in the year of our Lord 1832, a part of the Con- 
gregational Society, and ail of the members but one* of the church con- 
nected with the Society, seceded from that parish. You are aware that 
the seceding members of the church tool< with them in their removal 
all the records of the Congregational Church, which had been made up 
to the time of their secession. You are aware that a demand of those 
records was soon after made by a deacon of the Congregational 
Church, upon one who had been its deacon, but who had seceded from 
the Congregational Society, and that that demand was not complied 
with. 

These records we consider ever to have been, and still to be, legally 
and rightfully the property of the Congregational Church,— by which 
we mean the church connected with the Congregational Society. This 
churcli has forborne hitherto to press its claim to this property to the 
utmost by bringing the matter before a legal tribunal. It has forborne 
to do this, not from any doubt of the validity of its claim, nor any 
doubt as to what the decision of such a tribunal would be ; for we sup- 
pose there can be no question that the law, as it has been uniformly 
expounded in our Courts, would award these records to the church 
connected with the Congregational Society. But we have been unwill- 
ing to provoke dissension or bitterness of feeling. We have suffered 
what we have deemed our rights to be long withheld from us, from 
reluctance to exact them at the expense of peace. It is repugnant to 
our minds as Christians, to present to the community the spectacle of 
two Christian churches resorting to litigation to settle their differences. 
We are still, as we have always been, solicitous to avoid giving any 
cause of acrimonious or unfriendly feelings. In that spirit we now 



♦ The records of the church being beyond the reach of this committee 
at the time their letter was written, they may be pardoned a slight 
mistake in supposing that one member was left behind by the seceding 
church, when in fact the one member who did not withdraw in their 
company had been excommunicated, as a step preliminary to their seces- 
sion. The excision of this member took place after the actnal separa- 
tion of the church from the society, though before the formal dissolu- 
tion of the connection. 



206 HISTOET OF GRAFTON. 

address you, and, as we are authorized to do, submit to your considera- 
tion tlie following proposals :— First. We respectfully ask you to sur- 
render to us the records of the Congregational Church before referred 
to; — because we regard the church now connected with the Congrega- 
tional Society as the true Congregational Cliuroh, and the rightful pos- 
sessor of the same. 

Such a request has once been refused. It may be again. We are 
■ therefore willing in the spirit of compromise and concession to make 
other propositions. We do not forget — although it does not affect the 
question of rights — that the seceders from the Congregational Society 
embraced almost the entire church. We consider that it is possible you 
may have incorporated the records of your own church with those of 
the Congregational Church in the same volume, so that you canuot give 
up the latter without the loss of the former. We consent then, for the 
sake of peace, and to relieve yoa from any inconvenience or embarrass- 
ment, to relinquish altogether our claim to the said records upon either 
of the following conditions, viz. : that you will furnish us with a com- 
plete copy of them, giving us the privilege of comparing it with the 
original; or, that you will allow us to take the original records, and 
keep them for such length of time as shall be sufficient for making a 
copy of them, we pledging ourselves that they shall be Safely returned 
to your possession when copied. 

In making. these proposals we conceive that we ask nothing which is 
not clearly reasonable and just. In thus offering to yield that to which 
we consider ourselves fully entitled, we desire to evince the sincerity of 
our wish for harmony and peace. That which we ask, can be, we are 
sure, no loss to you, though it will be of great value to us. 

Wishing you all spiritual blessings in Christ, we subscribe ourselves, 

ISAAC W. WOOD, ) 

CHARLES BRIGUHAM, Jk., [Committee." 
HILLEL BAKER, j 



The Reply. 

" Grafton, Feb. 10, 1846. 
To Messrs. Isaac W. Wood, Charles Briguam, Jr., and Hillel 

Baker : 

Gentlemen : — 

Your communication of January 20th, relative to the Records of the 
Evangelical Congregational Church, was laid before said church at their 
preparatory lecture on Friday last; whereupon, after consultation, 
without expressing their views as to their right to the Records, it loas 
voted to accede to your last proposition made In your communication, 
and loan you the first two volumes of the Kecords, one at a time, and 
furnish you with a copy of what is contained in the third volume up to 
the time of the separation of the church from the Congregational Society • 



FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH. 207 

and that you have opportunity of comparing it with the original if 
desired. At the same time we were chosen a committee to communi- 
cate to you the above proceedings. 

The Records are with our Pastor who will deliver them to au authorized 
agent. 

With .sincere regard, 

We are, Gentlemen, Yours, 
OTIS ADAMS, ^ 

HOLLAND GREENWOOD, \ Committee:- 
OLIVER M. BRIGHAM, J 

After Mr. "Willson's dismissal the church was without a 
pastor until 1858 — six years. Daring tliis interim the 
piilpit was supplied by E.E7. Farrington McIntire, A. M., 
who was born in Fitchburg, June 29, 1819, was graduated 
at Harvard College in 1843, and at the Divinity School in 
1846. In June, 1847, he was ordained over the Unitarian 
Society in Brattleborougli, Yt., where he remained one year. 
July 1, 1849, he sailed from New York for California, 
where, more fortunate than many adventurers, he recovered 
his health, and accumulated a handsome property. Return- 
ing after a residence of a year and a half, he was married 
April 23, 1851, to Caroline C. Frost, who died in three 
years. While living on his farm in this town on Brigliam 
Hill, he was at the head of a family school. In 1857, he 
married for his second wife, Caroline Fisher of Lancaster, 
Mass. In 1858, Rev. William G. Scandlin was ordained the 
next minister. 

Rev. William G. Scandlin was born in Portsmouth, 
England, Feb. 16, 1828. He left home at the early age of 
seven years and a lialf ; previous to which time he had 
attended a primary school in that place. " The balance of 
his education," he said, " I obtained from eleven years 
expei'ience on the ocean, where I came in contact with the 
customs of the diflt'erent nations of the world ; and, in the 
language of the Psalmist, became familiar with the works 
and wonders of the Lord on the deep." Before he became of 
age, he landed on our shores, made a voyage to the West 
Indies, and on his return to Boston found a temporary 



208 ■ HISTOBT OF GRAFTON. 

liome for himself, and as many of his comrades as he could 
pursnade to join him, in the Sailors' Home. He had, by 
tliis time, become deeply interested in religion ; and he 
now formed the purpose to devote himself to the Christian 
ministry. He entered the Meadville School in 1850, and 
graduated in 1854r. In November of the same year, he 
began the Hanover-street mission, under the auspices of the 
Boston Fraternity of Churches-; and was ordained as a 
minister at large at the Hollis-street church, Jan. 14, 1855; 
Dr. Gannett preaching the sermon on the occasion. In this 
service ho continued till the end of May, 1858. The duties 
of this oiBce proving too arduous for his health, and having 
received an invitation to settle over the First Congregational 
Church here, he removed to this place, and was duly in- 
stalled June 23, 1858. At the breaking out of the late 
rebellion Mr. Scandlin offered his services to Governor 
Andrew, and was appointed chaplain of the Fifteenth Regi- 
ment of Massachusetts Volunteers ; at the same time re- 
signing his charge of the society. His resignation was not 
accepted ; but his people gave him leave of absence for 
twelve months, thinking, as we all did, that twelve months 
would suffice for the overthrow of the rebellion. At the 
expiration of his leave of absence, he returned to his parish ; 
soon after which, in 1862, his church was destroyed by fire. 
After making arrangements for erecting a new building, at 
the solicitation of the American Unitarian Association, be 
obtained another leave of absence for thi'ee months, to go 
on a missionary expedition to the army ; and, to facilitate 
his movements, he became a member of the United States 
Sanitary Commission. In this service, while ensao'ed in 
conveying food and comforts to the sick and wounded at 
Gettysburg, he was taken prisoner by Stewart's cavalry, 
and with many others conveyed to Kichmond, and confined 
nearly three months in Libby Prison, and subsequently in 
Castle Thunder. " I look upon the opportunities," he once 



FIRST TJNITAEIAN CHUECH. 209 

said, " opened to me during my imprisonment, as the richest 
of my experience." 

Dr .-McDonald, a fellow-prisoner, wrote to the Sanitary 
Commission Bulletin as follows : — "Mr. Scandlin proved to 
be all, and more than all, he professed. Constantly engaged 
in some good work, cheerful under the most adverse circum- 
stances, ever ready to render aid and comfort to all in 
distress, he has become endeared, not only to the agent of 
the commission, with whom he has been so long associated, 
but to most of the officers and men whom chance and the 
fortunes of war have placed in his path. He sought out 
the sick and inquiring, gave them freely, cheerfully, tem- 
poral and spiritual comfort, at all times and in all seasons. 
He has proved himself to be an honest, faithful worker, 
and a teue man, — ' tlie noblest work of God.' " 

The difficult position of chaplain, he bore as if it was the 
place for which he was specially fitted. Hearty and genial 
in his manners, irreproachably correct in all his habits of 
speech and conduct, fearless of danger, indefatigable in 
duty, wliich, from his point of view, included all that he 
could do to help or relieve any, tender and sympathetic with 
the suffisring, he was beloved and trusted by every soldier 
in the regiment and was the most valued companion of the 
officers, with whom from the nature of the case his social 
relations were more intimate than with the rank and file. 
On the march it was his delight to change places with the 
exhausted soldier, and his saddle was occupied more of the 
time by others than by himself. At the close of the disas- 
trous day at Ball's Bluff when the wounded were brought 
down to the boat to be carried across the river, some un- 
harmed stragglers tried to force their way into the boat. 
Chaplain Scandlin stood at the water's edge and at first tried 
expostulation ; when that did not avail, he is said to have 
made vigorous use of the strong muscles with which nature 
provided him, and to have struck out from the shoulder in 
a way that was more pleasant to spectators than to those 
27 



210 HISTOEY OF GKAFTON. 

who felt the force of his blows. This exploit gave him the 
name of the " fighting chaplain " throughout the division in 
which he served, for his name and good deeds were known 
not by one regiment only. His coolness in danger was 
remarkable, and he was often a most valuable auxiliary to 
the surgeons in attending the wounded on the field and 
under fire. 

In his parish, as in his regiment, he bound all hearts to 
him by his faithfulness, zeal and kindness. No organized 
effort for doing good in which his aid could be of use 
was asked for in vain. He married December 13, 1853, 
Christiana S. Adrain, who died the following April. April 
25, 1855, he married Mrs. Eliza M. Sprague, at Eastport, 
Me., by whom he had Willie I., Lizzie F., Tannic M., John 
"Winthrop, Hortense A. and Mable E. Mr. Scaudlin 
died at his residence on the Saundersville road, March 17, 
1871, of typhoid fever, after a painful illness of a few 
days. 

The following evening succeeding his death the citizens 
held a meeting in the Town Hall. Hon. Jonathan D. 
Wheeler presided and Henry F. Wing, Esq., acted as secre- 
tary. The chair appointed Kev. J. H. Windsor, Kev. A. J. 
Bates and John Wheeler, Esq., a committee on resolutions, 
who reported at some length. The meeting was fully 
attended, which showed the high esteem and affection in 
which the deceased was held by his fellow-citizens. 

The funeral took place in the Unitarian Church on Mon- 
day the 20th. The church was packed to its utmost capacity. 

The Grand Army, Fifteenth Eegiment Association, Free- 
masons, Unitarian Conference and other organizations of 
which the deceased was an active member, attended the 
funeral in a body, and several clergymen of different 
denominations took part in the ceremonies. During the 
hours of the funeral there was a general suspension of 
business in town. 



PIEBT tTNITAEIAN CHtTECH. 211 

"We append the main portion of Attorney-General Devens' 
remarks at the funeral : — 

'■ In the difficult task that our friend, as chaplain of a regiment dur- 
ing the recent civil war, assumed, no man, I thinli, attained more com- 
plete success than he, or was aljle to effect more for the great objects of 
his calling. If it be too much to say that no man succeeded as well In 
the whole army of the Union, it is but just to say that I have never per- 
sonally known any one whom I felt met with equal success. There has 
sometimes been a feeling In the community that chaplains did not effect 
as much as they might in benefiting the men under their charge; and, 
indeed, I have known most excellent men, chaplains in the army, ex- 
press strongly their own feeKng of discouragement at the little success 
of their labors. In this matter we have been sometimes unjust to the 
clerical profession; we have not always remembered how little educated 
for the task thrown upon them they were. The position of a clergy- 
man in New England is one of dignity everywhere. The coarsest men 
treat him with at least personal respect and consideration, and one is 
not often brought into immediate contact with the rough, daring and, it 
may be, profligate men (who must of necessity be met in the army side 
by side. It may be, with the bravest and truest men). In such a way that 
he is compelled to attempt to curb and restrain them. Nor have we 
always reflected how difficult are the surroundings under which the 
chaplains strive to do their work, nor how thoroughly at variance with 
the mild and gentle influence of Christianity the whole machinery and 
the whole spirit of war is. 

For meeting his new duties, and dealing with the vast variety of men 
who go to make up an army, Mr. Scandlin possessed some peculiar ad- 
vantages. A flue natural physique, a fondness for out-door life and out- 
door exercise, such as horsemanship, adapted him for the laborious part 
of his duty, and made to him a pleasure of what to many would have 
been a toil. Lively and spirited in temper, he took with great ease the 
various discomforts of the field, and was always ready to make the best 
of everything ; and although these may seem trifles, they are not alto- 
gether unworthy of notice among the higher qualities he possessed for 
his position. 

In early life he had been a seaman in the British service ; he had lived 
with them and knew what men are, alike their good and bad qualities ; 
he was at home with them, and knew their ways of thinking and look- 
ing at things, and could make them at home and feel at their ease with 
him, when others with a different experience would have been unable to 
approach them. His experience, too. In the missions of Boston, had 
brought him in contact with life in its worst forms, with all the sadness 
of poverty, and all the wretchedness and misery of vice. Yet his view 
of life had never soured, and in the worst of men he found always some 



212 HISTOBY OF GEAFTOlir. 

spot where he would try to plant a seed which should bear frnit in bet- 
ter things, and often with a success which to others seemed marvellous. 
He had never lost his faith in man, and in the most unpromising natures 
he delighted to find something which would encourage and give him 
hope. Nor was the chaplain's influence less marked among a diflerent 
type of men from these. A self-educated man, but well educated, he 
was at home among the most polished and refined ; highly sympathetic 
in his character he placed himself readily in communication with every 
class of men, and every circle felt how true and faithful a Christian man 
he was. His pleasant affability never caused others to degenerate into 
coarseness or vulgar familiarity in his presence, inconsistent with his 
sacred calling. _ He had the art, which all men do not possess, of being 
easy and afl'able without losing that proper personal dignity which 
should mark every man. He is a gentleman who respects himself, and 
yet equally others and the rights of others, and such a gentleman was 
the chaplain. Thus it was in all society that his presence was a rebuke 
to coarseness, ill-manners and profanity, and as I have known the men 
of our regiment to express to him their regret for it when it had oc- 
curred, so also I have known a general oflicer, who, in the excitement 
of a night skirmish, had be6n betrayed into using profane language be- 
fore him, come the next day to make a personal apology. 

The great secret of his success was the thorough earnestness and 
self-devotion which he always exhibited. For his comrades it always 
seemed that he could never do enough to satisfy himself, although he 
always did far more than satisfied the just claims of others. He was 
the friend of every man who was in trouble, ready always to act as 
mediator between any man who was in difiiculty withhis captain, giving 
always the best and soundest advice, and yet not the less sustaining the 
discipline of the military system, the stern exigencies of which~he fully 
realized. No one ever expected to be sustained by him unless on his 
own part he meant to do his own full duty. Into the hospitals, by the 
bedside of the sick and dying, he came in unwearied zeal with his con- 
soling hand and more consoling voice, and men loved him as they love 
a father and a friend — a father who was not afraid to tell them when 
they went wrong and did wrong, and yet who loved them still. In those 
trying hours which came to so many, when he was near, when strength 
was failing and earth was fading away, the last tones that fell upon 
their ears were the consolations and hopes which his manly, trustful 
piety inspired. 

In his public discourses before the regiment, not less than in his 
private teachings, the chaplain was singularly happy. It would per- 
haps, have been a natural course, as it certainly would have been a judi- 
cious one, for any one situated as he was with a regiment of which a 
considerable number were Roman Catholics, and a still more consider- 
able number were Protestants of a different denomination from his own, 
to select rather those great vital truths on which all Christian sects are 



FIEST UNITARIAN OHtlKCH. 213 

agreed, than those upon which they differ; but the constitution of his 
mind made this much easier to him than it would have been to many. 
From the first, every man in the regiment Ijnew that however much the 
chaplain might seek to induce him to lead a better life, he would never 
seek to interfere with any of his individual views or tenets. I have 
known him to ride a half-dozen miles to obtain a Roman Catholic priest, 
when the men of that faith under his charge felt that they could be com- 
forted by the last offices of religion administered by a priest of their 
own church. 

Speaking generally without notes, he did not speak without any prep- 
aration, and no doubt thought out many a brief sermon which he deliv- 
. ered in front of the regiment, and standing between Its colors, as care- 
fully as those which he has delivered from this desk. He did not speak 
to display his own graces of speech, although he possessed these, . but 
to achieve the great objects of speech in making the men who heard 
him better and truer men, and his simple eloquence went home always 
to those who listened. His sermons were of the best, because so forci- 
bly and strongly adapted to their object; practical and sensible in their 
views, illustrated always familiarly, yet so as to be attractive, expressed 
In those clear sentences which leave no doubts on the mind of the 
hearer as to their meaning, they struck upon the hearts of his audience 
with directness and force. With all this it is true that the greatest 
effect of all the chaplain's teaching was owing to the respect inspired 
by his exalted manly character. Every man in the regiment knew that 
there was not a mean, selfish or sordid trait about him ; that he did not 
serve them, or try to serve them, to gain their favor, or from any small 
personal end, but because he felt it was right he should. Brave men 
themselves, they recognized him as among their bravest men ; they saw 
his courage on every battle-field ; they knew that wherever his duty to 
the wounded called him, no matter what the danger, there he would cer- 
tainly be found. They saw in him that religion made a man not weaker 
but more resolute and determined in the hour of danger. 

He was a true soldier, in the noblest acceptation of the word, and you 
cannot wonder that his regiment loved him dearly, as they felt that he 
loved them. You do not wonder that the few survivors who are enabled 
to be here to-day, not alone on their behalf, but on behalf of their 
absent living comrades, and on behalf of their absent dead who sleep on 
so many widely scattered fields, desire even in this hour of sadness to 
express their gratitude that he was permitted to be so much to them, 
and their feeling that they are better and happier for having known 
him." 

During Mr. Scandlin's last absence the pulpit was sup- 
plied by Eev. Gilbekt Cummings, son of Gilbert and Mar- 
garet Jane Ouinmings, who was born in Boston, September 



214: HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

15, 1825. When nearly thirty years of age he relinquished 
the business in which he was engaged, entered Meadville 
Theological School, where he graduated in 1859. He was 
ordained as minister of the Unitarian Society at Austinburgh, 
Ohio, October 20th of that year, and was installed over the 
Unitarian Church in Westborongh, January 3, 1860. Here 
he remained till the breaking out of the late war, when he 
received an appointment as chaplain of a regiment. Having 
served in that capacity, he resigned on account of ill-health. 
At the time he supplied the pulpit he was cashier of the 
First National Bank, subsequently he was cashier at the 
National Straw Works, Westborough, and while in that 
capacity he died. 

After Mr. Scandlin's decease; Rev. Charles H. Tindall 
was the next settled pastor, from September, 1872, to Sep- 
tember, 1875. He was born in New Bi-unswick, N. J., 
October 17, 1841. He received his early education in the 
private and public schools of his native city, entering at 
nineteen the Seminary at Pennington, N. J., for a mathe- 
matical and classical course. After leaving this institution 
he engaged as a writer on the New York press, and in 
school-teaching, for two years, when ho passed examination 
and was regularly admitted as a member of the New Jer- 
sey Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
stationed as the minister of the Methodist Church at Eaton- 
town, N. J. His theological views having changed, he witli- 
drew his official connection with the Methodist denomina- 
tion, and entered the Divinity School of Harvard University, 
Cambridge, Mass., taking there a full course, and graduating 
in June, 1872. He was called to the jiastorate of tiie Uni- 
tarian Society immediately upon his graduation. He mar- 
ried the only daughter of Rev. George R. Noyes, D. D., 
professor of Biblical literature, Harvard University, and 
assumed the pastorate the following autumn. The ordina- 
tion services were held September 5, 1872, and were accord- 
ing to the order as follows : Voluntary and anthem ; invo- 



FIEST TJNITAEIAN CHFBOH. 215 

cation by Rev. Ivory F. Waterhouse, of Clinton, Mass. ; 
reading from the Bible, by Rev. F. L. Hosmer, minister at 
Northborough, Mass.; Congregational bymn, beginning 
" Mysterions presence, sonrce of all " ; tlie sermon was 
preached by Rev. Prof. Charles Carroll Everett, D. D., of 
Harvard University ; anthem ; the ordaining prayer was 
made by Rev. Prof. Oliver Stearns, D. D., the dean of the 
Theological Faculty of Harvard University; the charge to 
the candidate was made by Rev. Rush R. Shippen, secretary 
of the American Unitarian Association ; the right hand of 
fellowship was given by Rev. Charles Noyes ; the hymn was 
then sung beginning with the line, " O God, thy children 
gathered here " ; the address to the people was made by a 
former pastor, Rev. Edmund B. Willson, of Salem, Mass. ; 
the concluding prayer was made by Rev. Joseph Allen, 
J). D., of Northborough, Mass. The Doxology was then 
sung, after which the pastor dismissed the congregation with 
the benediction. Mr. Tindall was called to the pastorate of 
the Fall River Society, and closed his work in Grafton in 
August, 1875, to enter upon his ministry there. 

Rev. William Smith Btjeton, the present minister, was 
born in Norwich, Yt., September 29, 1832. He was named 
after his father, who was a merchant at that place. His 
mother's name before marriage was Nancy Russell. Mr. 
Burton was graduated at Norwich University, and for a 
time published and edited The True A-merican, and The 
Adams Transcript, at North Adams, Mass. His taste 
leading him to the ministry, he studied therefor with Rev. 
O. D. Miller, and his first settlement was as an independent 
minister over the Universalist Society, at Dayton, Ohio. 
He was preaching in Michigan when the war of the rebel- 
lion broke out, and left his work temporarily to accept the 
position of major in the Third Michigan Cavalry. He was 
honorably discharged near the close of the war, and return- 
ing to Michigan engaged for a time in fruit raising at South 
Haven, preaching Sundays there and at neighboring towns. 



216 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

Meanwhile he had married Evelyn S., the daughter of Rev. 
A. W. Mason, of Michigan. In the autumn of 1867 he re- 
turned to New England, and in the following June was 
ordained and installed over the Unitarian Church at Athol, 
Mass. After laboring here about live years he accepted a 
call to the Unitarian Society at Clinton. He began preach- 
ing to the Unitarian Society of Grafton, in January, 1876, 
and is still acting as its pastor. 

DEACONS, FIRST COKTGEEGATIONAL (UNITARIAN) CHURCH. 

Chosen. 

Isaac W. Wood Aug. 9, 1832. 

Augustus S. Heywood, Oct. 3, 1847. 

Gilbert C. Taft, Feb. 28, 1858. 

Elijah B. Knowlton Sept. 24, 1860. 

Willard S. Wood, May 1, 1867. 

Col. Chai-les Brigham, Nov. 1, 1867. 

George M. Dunn Jan. 3, 1868. 

The Baptist Chnrch. 

The first Baptist church in 1767 — The meetings held at the houses of 
the members — The church letter to the Warrin Association — The 
church building— Its locality — Rev. Elkanah Ingalls— The church 
disfellowshipped. — The Upton church — Rev. Simeon Snow — The 
covenant- The members. — The Grafton church re-established— 
Their covenant — The second church building near Saundersville — 
The present church edifice. — Rev. Thomas Barrett. —Rev. Otis Con- 
verse. — Rev. John Jennings. — Rev. Calvin Newton. — Rev. Benja- 
min A. Edwards. — Rev. D. L. McGear. — Rev. Joseph Smith. ^Rev. 
J. M. Chick.— Rev. De Forrest Safford.— Rev. A. C. Hussey, A. M. 
— The brethren licensed. — The deacons. 

For nearly forty years, from 1731-2 to 1771-2, the only 
church in town was the First Congregational, the town itself 
being the only religious society or parish. It was about the 
year 1774 that the second church was formed, composed of 
Baptists, although preachers of the Baptist denominatioa 
began to visit Grafton and hold meetings here at least as 
early as 1758. Samuel Hovey, of Mendon, preached iiere 
several times that year. But it was not till June 17 1767 



FIRST BAPTIST CHtTECH. 



217 



that a charch was gathered. At that time a council met, 
"consisting of Elder Alden's church in Bellinghara, and 
Elder Backus' in Middleborough, wlien a Baptist church was 
regularly formed." Four persons — Joseph Whipple, Jacob 
Whipple, Ebenezer Wheeler and Robert Leatho [Lathe], 
were dismissed from a Baptist church in Leicester to join 
this.* Mr. Wheeler, and probably the others, had previously 
been accustomed to attend worship at Leicester, twelve or 
fourteen miles distant. 

The number originally gathered into this church we do 
not know, but it must have been small, for it was some time 
before they were able to have a preacher statedly with them. 
In the year 1773, it was " voted to get Elder Winchester to 
preach," which was accordingly done. But two years after 
they were destitute, "having no under Shepherd." At this 
time, September, 1775, there were " about twenty-eight 
living members."t They had no regular place of worship, 



* Rev. Nathaniel Green was the pastor of the Leicester Baptist 
Church at the time of the dismissal. — Backus' History of the Baptists. 

t " A copy of a letter to the Association of Churches met at Warrin, 
ft-om a letter from the Church of Christ in Grafton to the Association 
of Churches meet at Warrin, written by me, Priscilla Wheeler." She 
was daughter of Col. Jonathan Wheeler : — 

" Sbptbmbbk y= 2, 1775. 

Unto the churches, or association of churches, which are set or set- 
ting at Warrin, that are sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be saints, 
that call upon the name of Christ Jesus our Lord, we wish grace, 
mercy and peace from God, the Father, and from our Lord Jesus, be 
multiplied to you and to all the saints, for we believe that our God is 
coraming in flaming flre to take vengance on them that know not God 
nor believe the Gospel of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, and we 
believe also that God is about to purge His own church that are here 
upon earth, and He will shake the Hevens and the Earth that those 
things which cannot be shaken may remain. We verily believe the 
time is at hand, for our Lord will not delay His comming. saints 
lift up your heads and reioyce, for your redemption draweth ny. is 
not the time come. O is not the set time come to Saviour Zion. 

H( « * * H< He If' 

Our God, in whome we trust, hath been with us In sum mesure, and 
hath not left us comfortless. Amen. Praise our God we meet this 
28 



218 HISTOEr OF GEAFTON. 

but met from house to house, a few Sabbaths at a place.* 
In March, 1779, it was " voted to get Elder Eustick to 
preach." He remained with them more than three years, 
and enjoyed a good degree of prosperity, reporting in the 
year 1780 " a prosperous state of affairs." 

About three years later, October, 1784, Rev. Elkanah 
Ingalls, from Rehoboth, was employed as pastor. He re- 
mained in this connection three yeai's,t when embracing, or 
more probably only publicly declaring what he had pre- 
viously entertained — the doctrine of universal salvation — 
his ministry to the church abruptly terminated. As soon as 
it became generally known that he and some of the mem- 
bers of the church liad embraced this view, this church was 
disfellowshipped by the "Warren Association, to which it 
belo!)ged, at their annual meeting in the year 1788, and his- 
tory says that Mr. Ingalls shortly after removed back to 
Rehoboth, where he died a common drunkard. As early as 
the spring of 1784, and probably some years earlier, they - 
had a meeting-house, which stood at the junction of the old 
roads leading from Farnumsville and Saundersville to the 
centre of the town, on the triangular plot of land formed 
by the angles of the road, opposite and a little above the 
residence of G. Fred Jourdan. 

The latest entry made in the record book is dated June 
10, 1787. The church probably did not continue in cxist- 

day and chose two of our breathern to send to the Association setting 
at Warrin, namely, Joseph Eice and Ebenezer Wheeler. We have no 
presant difficulty among us, only we have no under Shepard. We have 
had six members added to our church sence the last Association. We 
have lost non — sence we have now about twenty-eight living members. 

JOSEPH RICE, Moderator." 

* " November 10, 17T7, then they kept a meeting at the hous of Eben- 
ezer Wheeler,' and they meet there four Sabath days and a thanksgiv- 
ing, and thanksgiving was y« 18 day of December, 1777, and then they 
moved the meeting to Phinehas Pratt's, in order to have it keept there 
four Sabaths."— ^om a record in possession of Hon. Jona. D. Wheeler, 
under the head of " The Baptist people's meetings." 

t His name is not found in the church records after March 19, 1786. 



PtEST BAPTIST CHUECH. 219 

ence long after. Rev. Peter Whitney, of Northborough, 
when he wrote his history of the county, in 1793, says there 
was neither minister nor church of the Baptist denomination 
in the town, " and very few anabaptist families." 

These families however, remained steadfast in the faith 
and soon after the dissolution reorganized a church, but 
having removed their place of worship within the limits of 
the town of Upton, it was called the Upton Baptist Church, 
over which Eev. Simeon Snow was ordained as the first 
pastor in June, 1791. There was no regular organized 
church in town of this denomination until June 20, 1800 ; 
nevertheless, meetings were held at private residences and 
converts gathered. 

The articles of Faith and Covenant of the first church 
were as follows : — 

" We, the united brethren of the Baptist Church of Christ in Grafton, 
do solemnly profess to believe and to be ruled and governed by our 
Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious and supreme head of the church, as he 
hath given us a rule to walk by, in the Scriptures of the Old and New 
Testaments. And we look upon the printed declaration and confession 
of Faith put fourth by the Elders and bretheren of many congregations 
of the baptized churches in England of the Calvinistical persuasion, to 
be agreeable to the Scriptures of the Old and New Testament; and we 
agree to walk by them in subordination to the Scriptures. We, whose 
names are hereunto subscribed, being a number whom we trust, God 
hath called out of darkness into His marvelous light and revealed His 
son in us ; whereby we believe the Lord is our God ; and having shown 
to us our duty and privilege as believers not only, to separate ourselves 
from the world as to doctrine, practice and worship; but also to con- 
gregate and embody ourselves together in church state; and being 
through grace well satisfied concerning our internal nearness to the 
Lord; and standing together in Christ and being brought in some 
belessed measure into eveness of spirit; being baptized by one spirit 
into one body; and being agreed in the great and sublime truths of the 
gospel; do therefore in the name and fear of the Lord, give up our- 
selves to the Lord, and to one another by the will of God ; to walk 
together as a church of Christ, in the fellowship of His gospel, aud in 
the observance and practice of the law aud ordinances which Christ hath 
appointed His New Testament churches to be in practice of; so far as 
we do know or shall know to be our duty. And as the Lord shall help 
us, we will frequently assemble ourselves together, as a church of 



220 



HISTOET OF GRAFTON. 



Christ, to attend npon our Lord in the services of His honse, and 
especially on the Lord's Day. And as we shall be enabled by His grace, 
and conducted by his spirit, we will stand together for the truth and 
cause of Christ, against all opposition raised against it by the world 
and carnal professions; and by the same help, we will watch one 
another in the Lord. And as we shall be under the conduct of Jehovah, 
we will keep the doors of God's house or church open always to be- 
lievers in Christ, who are bound in the faith, about the salvation of 
God's elect, as it is by the Father's grace, through the Son's redemption. 
And as our God will help us we will keep them always. That against 
visible unbelievers and profligate persons. And now as a testimony of 
our cordial belief in these doctrines above mentioned, and our holy 
resolution to walk together in the fellowship of the gospel of Christ, as 
a church of His, redeemed by His blood and to keep this covenant by 
his grace assisting us, we not only called heaven and earth to witness, 
but sign the same with our hands." 



MALES. 

Jacob Whipple. 
Ebenezer Wheeler. 
Joseph Rice. 
James Leland. 
Thomas Webster. 
Robert Leathe. 
Ephriam Wheeler. 
William Potter. 
Jonathan Webster. 
Phinehas Pratt. 
Jeduthan Fay. 
Isaiah Lesure. 
Stephen Bardina. 
Samuel Webster. 
Joseph Lesure. 
Seth Chase. 
Bradford Chase. 
Josiah Chase. 
James Elliot. 
Abel Chase. 
Daniel Hayden. 
John Noble. 



FEMALES. 

Hannah Rice. 
Jeresah Whipple. 
Rachel Lesure. 
Racliel Lesure, Jr. 
Priscilla Wheeler. 
Priscilla Wheeler, Jr. 
Lucy Leland. 
Elizabeth Webster. 
Rhoda Lathe. 
Mehitable Webster. 
Elizabeth Knap. 
Catherine Cook. 
Rachel Winter. 
Elizabeth Chase. 
Abigail Chase. 
Hannah Chase. 
Miriam Flagg. 
Elizabeth Chase, Jr. 
Elizabeth Warren. 
Mehitable Elliot. 
Jemina Stanford. 
Mercy Whipple. 
Elizabeth Huse. 
Eunice Bauss ? 
Rebecca Elliot, 
Mary Collins. 
Submit Hayden. 
Rebecca Elliot. 



FIE8T BAPTIST CHUECH. 



221 



Accordingly on the 20th of June, by request of several 
Baptist bretliren in Grafton and Sutton, a council composed 
of the pastors and delegates from the Baptist churches in 
North Providence, First and Second Sutton and Eorth- 
bridge, met in the town of Sutton and organized a church, 
consisting of seven male and eight female members, under 
the name of the Grafton Baptist Church, now the First 
Baptist Church. Of this council Rev. Samuel Waters was 
the moderator, and Bev. Samuel King the clerk, both of 
the First Sutton Church. 

The church adopted the following articles of faith : — 

Article 1st. — We believe in one God, who is a spirit, infinate, eternal, 
and unchangeable in His Being, Wisdom, Power, Holiness, Justice, 
Goodness and Truth. 

Art. 2ud.— That there are three persons in the Godhead, the Father, 
Son, and Holy Ghost, who are the same in substance, equal in power 
and glory. 

Art. 3rd.— That the Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments are the 
word of God, which He hath given us for our only rule of faith and 
practice. 

Art. 4th. — That the omniscient and allseeing God hath foreordained 
that whatever comes to pass, either by order or permission, shall work 
for the glory of his great name. 

Art. 5th. — That God, who created the heavens, and the earth, the sea 
and all that in them is, upholds and governs the same by the will of his 
power. 

Art. 6th. — That God made man in his own Image, in knowledge, 
righteousness and true holiness, and made with him a covenant of life, 
the condition of which was perfect obedience. 

On the 8th of November, 1800, the church and society 
purchased a lot of land, on the bank of the stream, 
nearly opposite the house of John Hitchins, of Joseph 
Whipple for tiie sum of $12, and upon it either in that 
year or sliortly after, they erected and dedicated to the 
service of God, a commodious and comfortable house of 
worship, wliicli they occupied till the erection of the present 
house of worship in 1830. The character of this building 
is well remembered by the older citizens ; it was very similar 
in construction to the churches of that day, having a high 



222 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

boxed pulpit, the indispensable deacon's seat, square high 
baciced pews, with the usual claptrap seats and the common 
destitution of any heating aparatus.* It is also reported 
that the old church building was sometimes called " the 
goose-pen " or " the goose-house" ; whether it received this 
name because it was the place of worship of a certain 
denomination or because some made it an escape from the 
taxation for the support of the gospel, I have not ascer- 
tained. 

Probably the church had no settled pastor until Rev. 
Thomas Baeeett was ordained, June 12, 1816. Prior to 
this time the pulpit was supplied by the licentiates, Josiah 
and Luther Goddard; Elisha Cushman and Eev. Job B. 
Boomer preached for over a year. At the 

OEDINAtlON 

services of Mr. Baeeett, Rev. Charles Train, D. D., of 
Framinghara, preached the sermon ; Rev. Jonathan Going, 
D. D., of Worcester, offered prayer ; Rev. D. Pease, of 
Belchertown, gave the charge ; Rev. Abial Fisher, D. D., of 
Bellingliam, right hand of fellowship ; Rev. 1. Dwinnell, of 
Ward, prayer. , 

Mr. Luther Goddard was ordained by this church in June, 
1810, as an Evangelist and not as its pastor. 

During all these years the church seems to have enjoyed 
a good degree of both temporal and spiritual prosperity, as 
is evinced by the fact that in 1819, its membership had 
increased to 114, besides several who were dismissed to form 
a Baptist Church in Boylston and one in Shrewsbury. Mr. 
Barrett, the pastor, was a man of more than ordinary 
natural ability, possessed of sound judgment, a highly 
social nature, good common sense and deep piety, and was 
quite a fluent and pleasing preacher. After serving the 



* Captain Benjamin Kingsbury says, however, that measures for 
warming the church were taken some time earlier than similar ones for 
heating. 



FIEST BAPTIST OHITECH. 223 

church five years, he closed his labores, and from this time 
until 1822 the church was without a pastor; Mr. Ezra 
Going, a licentiate, performed tiie pastoral work for this 
time. 

In November, 1822, Mr. Otis Convbese, a licensed 
preacher, was employed as a supply, and on the 25th of 
June, 1823, he was ordained as the regular pastor. The 
Oedination services were as follows : — Opening prayer, Kev. 
James Boomer, of Gharlestown ; sermon, Abial Fisher, D. D., 
of Bellingham ; prayer. Rev. Z. L. Leonard, of Sturbridge ; 
charge, Jonathan Going, D. D., of Worcester ; right hand 
of fellowship, Kev. John Chase, of Brookfield ; address, 
Kev. Elias McGregory, of Ward ; prayer, Rev. J. B. 
Boomer, of Sutton. Mr. Converse was more generally 
known as " Father Converse." " He was a preacher of 
more than ordinary ability. He was physically large and 
strong ; his voice clear, his manner and utterance forcible 
and impressive. He was deeply interested in the cause of 
education, and was truly one of the fathers of our denomina- 
tion in Central Massachusetts. And to this I will add that 
my own short, but most pleasant personal acquaintance with 
this veteran preacher, convinced me, of the superiority of 
his native ability, and that had he enjoyed the advantages 
of a liberal education, he would have stood as a scholar, 
preacher and divine in the front ranks of the Ciiristian 
ministry of New England. It was his loyalty to the truth 
and his love of souls, however, which gave him such a 
success as a preacher, and which makes his name so fragrant 
among 'us to-day. He died in Worcester, December 1, 1874, 
aged 78 years."* 

The history of the church during his long pastorate was 
marked by varied and eventful experiences. From 1829 to 
1833 the cliurch enjoyed a continuons state of spiritual 
revival and prosperity. In the year ending 1832, 82 were 



* Obituary by Rev. George B. Gow, which was read before the State 
Convention of Baptists. 



224 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

baptized, 22 of this number were received by the I^orth- 
bridge branch of the church, over which Kev. Moses Har- 
rington had the pastoral oversight. In 1833 a total mem- 
bership of 268 was reported, the largest number ever 
returned in the history of the church. In the letter to the 
association that year, it is stated that an addition by baptism 
had been received each month, but one, for 27 consecutive 
months. In the close of tlie letter was the following : — 
" The church laments that the shower of grace, which has 
been falling upon the town for the last three years has 
passed." Mr. Converse resigned his pastorate, March 31, 
1836. It was during liis connection with the society that 
the present Baptist meeting-house was erected in 1830, and 
completed on the first day of November of that year, and 
dedicated the following month.* 

On the fourth of June, 1836, Eev. John Jennings, a 
graduate of the Newton Theological Institute, 1834, was 
called to the pastorate of the church. The call was accepted 
and liis installation took place on the 10th of the following 
August. The Installation services were as follows : — 
Introductory, Rev. J. B. Boomer, of Sutton ; reading of 
Scriptures and prayer, Eev. S. S. Cutting, D. D., of "West 
Boylston ; sermon. Rev. B. Stevens, D. D., of Boston ; 
ordaining prayer, Rev. Mr. Bunson, of Fall River ; charge 
to candidate, Rev. Jonathan Aldrich, of Worcester ; hand 
of fellowsliip, Rev. Mr. Mussey, of Bellingham ; address. 
Rev. Abishai Lamson, of Southborough ; prayer, Rev. John 
Green, of Leicester ; benediction by the pastor. During 
the first year of Mr. Jennings' pastorate the church was in 
a pi'osperous condition and reported to the association an 
addition of 25 by baptism, making a total membersliip of 
266. The following year, 1839, the membership was greatly 
reduced by dismissions to form Baptist churches at Millbury, 



* The building committee consisted of Perley Goddard, Joshua Har- 
rington, John Batchelor and Moses Roberts. 



FIRST BAPTIST CHUBCH. 



225 



and at ITew England Village (Grafton) the Second Baptist 
Clmrcli. 

In 1840 the church was again increased and in 1841 the 
interest declined. In December of this year Mr. Jennings 
received a call to the Pleasant-street Baptist Church in 
"Worcester. He resigned and closed his labors here in 
February, 1842. The parish very unwillingly consented to 
his removal. He is said to liave been a man of very pleas- 
ing manners both in and out of the pulpit, dignified in his 
bearing, and gentllmanly and engaging in his address. He 
was a devoted Christian, an excellent pastor. He died in 
Auburndale, May 26, 1871, aged 61. From the time of 
Mr. Jennings' dismission until April, 1842, the church was 
without a regular pastor. At this time Kev. Calvin Newton, 
a graduate of Union College and the ISTewton Theological 
Institute, 1828, and subsequently Professor, was called to 
the pastoral care of the church and immediately took up 
liis work witliout any formal installation services. The 
pastorate of Professor Newton was attended during the 
first six months, with good results, and 35 were added to the 
church ; this is the largest number baptized in any one year 
in the church in its entire history except the previous one. 
In 1843, Professor Newton of his own accord severed his 
pastoral relation with the church, and it was without any 
regular pastor for some two years. Professor Newton was 
probably the most scholarly man and writer ever settled 
over this church. He died in Worcester, in 1853, aged 53. 

In January, 1845, an invitation was extended to Benjamin 
A. Edwakds, a graduate of Brown University and of Newton 
Theological Institute, to become the pastor. Tliis invitation 
was accepted, and he was ordained as pastor of this church 
March 19th,, 1845. At the beginning of his pastorate he 
was taken sick, whicli deprived the church of the services of 
a pastor. In 1849, Mr. Edwards at his own request was 
dismissed from his pastoral labors. The church, until 
December, was without a pastor ; at that time Rev. D. L. 
29 



226 HISTOET OF GRAFTON. 

MoGeak assumed the pastoral charge. During the first of 
his ministry there was more than the usual degree of 
religious interest. 

At the association in 1850, an addition of 23 by baptism 
was reported, also that the church was in a prosperous 
condition. At the close of this year terminated the 
pastorate of Mr. McGear. During his term of service he 
enjoyed a considerable degree of temporal prosperity. At 
this time the walls of the audience room were frescoed 
and other internal improvements were mide ; the surround- 
ings of the church building were also improved. 

Kev. Joseph Smith, a graduate of Brown University and of 
the Newton Theological Seminary, was called to the pastoral 
office in March, 1851, and in the following May entered 
upon his pastoral duties without any regular installation. 
In April, 1857, the connection which had been so pleasant 
and profitable was disolved by the mutual consent of pastor 
and people. He died in North Oxford, April 26, 1866. 

The next pastor of this church was Kev. J. M. Chick, 
who without any public recognition took up his pastoral 
work in December, 1857. During the three years of his 
ministry here the church was greafly increased. The build- 
ing in the inside was also improved, the floor of the 
audience room was placed on a level, inverting the pulpit, 
pews and choir gallery, and some o1;her betterments. His 
resignation took place October 1, 1861, and in the following 
March, Rev. Gilbert Robbins was employed as stated 
supply and acting-pastor. He was not formally installed. 
In October of the year 1868 he closed his labors liere, 
after a pleasant and comparatively harmonious pastorate of 
a little more than six years, the second longest pastorate in 
the history of the church. In August, 1869, Rev. De 
Forest Safford, who graduated at Harvard University and 
Newton Theological Institute, became tiie pastor. He was 
publicly installed October 29th. Mr. Snftbrd's stay was 
short, his labors closing at the end of the year. For the 



riEST BAPTIST CHtJECH. 



227 



next two years the church was destitute of a pastor, but 
had regular supplies. 

In August 1872, Rev. A. C. Husset, the present incum- 
bent, entered upon the pastoral care of the church. In 
1873, the church and society again remodelled the inside of 
their cluirch, at a cost— ^including a new organ, pulpit furni- 
ture, lights, carpets — of $3,000. The change was very 
noticeable and a decided improvement. The church was 
re-dedicated on the evening of October 9, 1873. The 
house was filled to its utmost capacity. The services which 
were as follows, were interesting and impressive : — Choir 
voluntary; prayer, Rev. J. H. Windsor; Anthem; reading 
of Scriptures, Ecv. I. R. Whcelock, of Worcester ; prayer, 
Rev, George B. Gow, of Worcester ; hymn ; sermon, 
Heman Lincoln, D. D., of the Newton Theological In- 
stitute ; prayer. Rev. S. J. Bronson, of Millbury ; hymn ; 
benediction, Rev. A. G. Hussey. The society at this time 
remodelled the sheds in the rear of the church, which greatly 
improved the appearance of the church and its surroundings. 
The church has had eleven regular pastors, during a period 
of fifty years, and a membership of nearly 900. The pres- 
ent cliurch membership is 172. 

Rev. Albert Christopher Hussey, A. M., was born in 
Fairiield, Me., August 17, 1836. He was the son of 
Benjamin Franklin and Rebecca (Barnard) Hussey, of Nan- 
tucket, in whicli place they resided until a short time after 
marriage, when tliey removed to Maine. He was the 
youngest of five children, two sons and three daughters. 
In an article wliich appeared in tlie Nantucket news^ 
paper written by W. 0. Folgor, Esq., relating to the 
ancestry of the older families, it was stated that Mr. 
Hussey was related paternally to Benjamin Franklin, 
Hon. Daniel Webster and John G. Whittier ; the philoso- 
pher, statesman, and poet. Notwithstanding the dis- 
advantages of residing in a rural district without church or 
scliool-house, he succeeded in qualifying himself, at the 



228 HI8T0ET OF GRAFTON. 

early age of seventeen, for teaching a large and quite 
advanced district school. He continued to teach district 
schools winters and in the summer worked on his father's 
farm, attending a few terms at Bloomfield Academy, until 
the fall of 1857, when he entered "Waterville College, now 
Colby University, Waterville, Me. Here he remained but 
a short time, but nevertheless he made such a record that, in 
1876, at the annual commencement, the honorary degree of 
Master of Arts was conferred upon him. For several years 
after leaving college he devoted himself to teaching, serving 
acceptably in this capacity in Farmingtou, Mercer, Stark 
and New Sharon, Me. ; in the latter town he remained six 
years and served on the Board of Education for five years. 
In 1866, he began to preach, supplying the pulpits of the 
Baptist churches in Stark, Anson and Industry, Me. In 
the spring of 1868, at the suggestion of Rev. H. V. Dexter, 
D. D., of Ealdwinsville, Mass., than pastor of the Baptist 
church in Calais, Me., and Eev. Elbridge Pepper, of Brad- 
ford, N. H., then pastor of the Baptist church in Eastport, 
Me., Mr. Hussey was called to take charge of the mission 
interests of the Baptist churches in the eastern part of 
Washingtion County, Me. He accepted the position and 
removed with his family to Princeton, in that county, where 
he established his headquarters. He was also ordained 
pastor of the Baptist church in that town February 18, 
1869. Feeling the need of a thorough theological training 
he removed to Newton, Mass., and entered the Theological 
Seminary at Newton Centre, in the autumn of 1869. Here 
he pursued the regular three years course of study, graduat- 
ing from the Institution on June 12th, 1872. Six months 
prior to his graduation he received and accepted a unani- 
mous call to the pastorate of the First Baptist cliurch 
in this place, which church he supplied with preaching 
several months before his settlement as regular pastor 
August 1st, 1872. This church he has served acceptably 
and successfully ever since, though having had repeated 



SAtrNDERSVUXE 0ON6EEGATIONAL CHUECH. 229 

opportunities to go to otlier and larger fields, at a much 
larger salary. 

Tlie clmrcli has licensed seven of its brethren to preach 
the gospel, as follows : — 

Luther Goddard Sept., 1808 

John Chase Sept., 1814 

Jonathan E. Forbush May, 182,'i 

Silas Livermore Aug., 1831 

William Fay., Dec., 1852 

S. Johuson Dec, 1852 

Seth J. Axtell, Jr Aug., 1864 

DEACONS, BAPTIST CHUECH. 

Elected. 

Jacob Whipple 1784 

Joseph Rice 1784 

Seth Chase 1784 

Mark Batchelor Aug., 1800 

Enoch Batchelor Aug., 1800 

James McClellan April, 1814 

Mark Batchelor, Jr Jan., 1817 

Jeremiah Bond Aug., 1881 

Martin Jacobs Apiil, 1835 

Hobcrt Pientice Dec, 1841 

John McClellan* Dec, 1841 

Charles Goddard . • Dec, 1817 

Horace Batchelor Feb., 18G4 

James B. Stratton April, 1875 

J. Augustus Goddard April, 1875 

The SanndersTille Congregrational Church. 

Its formation. — Preamble and resolutions. — Covenant. — Original mem- 
bers.— Sketches of Kcvs. Simoon Waters, Alvan J. Bates, Harvey 
M. Stone. — The deacons. 

On the evening of February 13th, 1860, a number of 
persons, interested in the formation of a church in Saunders- 
ville, met at tlie school-house in that place for consultation 
and action. Kev. William Miller was chosen moderator, 



* He has been church treasurer since 1846. 



230 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

and Horatio Slocomb, clerk. The following preamble and 
resolutions were presented, and unanimously adopted : — 

" Whereas, the Great Head of the church has disposed a number of 
persons residing in Saundersville and vicinity to unite together for 
public worship, and the celebration of religious ordinances : therefore 
resolved : — 

First.— That we now proceed to taite measures wliich shall result in 
the organization of a Congregational church in this place. 

Second. — That a committee of five be appointed, whose duty shall be 
to ascertain the number of those who are disposed to unite in the 
organization of such church; to report a name for the new organiza- 
tion; to report articles of faith and a covenant for adoption by the 
church to be organized." 

Rev. William Miller, Washington White, Horatio Slo- 
comb, H. P. Dunham and Solomon W. Leland, were ap- 
pointed on this committee. 

At an adjourned meeting, held on the evening of March 
5th, 1860, the committee reported favorably on the number 
of persons ready for organization. They also reported the 
church, when organized, be called Saundersville Congre- 
gational Church. 

At an adjourned meeting, held on the evening of March 
15tli, 1860, the following question was put to eacli person 
present : " Shall we proceed to take measures necessary for 
the organization of a Congregational church in tliis place?" 
This question received a unanimous answer in the affirma- 
tive; and the name proposed, together with the articles of 
faith and covenant, were agreed to, npon which measures 
were immediately taken, which resulted in tiie assembling 
of an Ecclesiastical council, on the 18th day of April, 1860. 
There were on this council, from the Congregational church 
in Whitinsville, Rev. L. F. Clark and Paul Whitin ; Graf- 
ton, Rev. T. C. Biscoe and Hon. William R. Hill; Sutton, 
Rev. Greorge Lyman and Dea. William Terry; Millbury, 
First;, Rev. E. Y. Garrette and Dea. Leonard Dwinal; Mill- 
bury, Second, Horace Armsby; Worcester, First, Rev. 
Horace James and Samuel W. Kent ; Upton, Rev. A. J. 



SAUNDEESVILLB CONGEEGATIONAL CHtTROH. 231 

Willard and Dea. Horace Forlmsh. This council reported 
it expedient to proceed to the organization of a church. 
The original members were as follows : — 

William Miller. Harriott E. Miller. 

Horatio Slocomb. Eoxellana Slocomb. 

Wliitin Fisher. Esther Fisher. 

Solomon W. Leland. James Chappel. 

Mary Chappel. Hannoli Chappel. 

Maria Liucolu. Emily C. Brown. 

Lydia Saunders. H. P. Dunham. 

Hannah Dunham. Sophia Nichols. 

The public services were observed in the following order : 
Invocation and I'eading of Scriptures, Kev. Mr. Willard ; 
introductory prayer, Rev. Mr. Abbott ; se'ymon, Rev. Horace 
James ; recognition of the church, Rev. George Lyman ; 
constituting prayer. Rev. L. F. Clark ; fellowship of the 
churches, Rev. E. Y. Garrette ; concluding prayer, Rev. 
William Miller; benedictioij, Rev. T. C. Biscoe. 

The following covenant was adopted : — 

" In the presence of God and this witnessing assembly, you now cor- 
dially, and without reserve, give yourselves up to God, the Father, Son 
and Iloly Ghost. You heartily accept the Lord Jesus Christ as your 
Saviour, the Holy Spirit as your sanctifler and guide, and solemnly dedi- 
cate yourselves to God, as the object of your highest love, and to His 
service as your highest joy. You do also covenant to walk witli this 
church in its worship and ordinances, to submit cheerfully to its disci- 
pline, and to labor for its edification, purity and prosperity; and these 
vows you take upon you, with an effecting belief that they are recorded 
in Heaven, and will be reviewed in the judgment of the great day. 

We, therefore, the members of this church, affectionately receive you 
to our communion, and in the name of Christ declare you entitled to all 
its privileges: we welcome you to this fellowship with us, in the bless- 
ings of the Gospel ; and on our part engage to watch over you in love, 
and give you our sympathies and prayers so long as you shall continue 
with us. The Lord bless you, and keep you ! The Lord make His face 
to shine upon you, and be gracious unto you! The Lord lift up. His 
countenance upon you, and give you peace! And unto Hini who is able 
to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the pres- 
ence of His glory with exceeding joy, to tlie only wise God, our Sav- 



232 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

iour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and forever, 
Amen." 

The first acting pastor o£ the church was Rev. William 
MiLLEK, who came herefrom Sterling. He began liis labors 
July 1st, 1860, leaving April 6th, 1862, serving a little less 
than two years. 

Rev. Simeon Waters was the second pastor, who began 
his labors March 1, 1863, and closed April 1, 1866. Ho 
was born in Providence, Penn. His parents dying while ho 
was quite j'oung, he came to Millbury, Mass., where he re- 
sided with an uncle till he was twenty-oue. He fitted for 
college at Leicester Academy, and entered Yale, but owing 
to an injury he received while there did not fnlly complete 
the college course. On account of his health he went 
South, and for five years tauglit and preached in Mississippi 
and Louisiana, riding on horseback hundreds of miles to 
preach and to start Sabbath schools in many parts of those 
states. Mr. Waters was ordained in Iowa. Ho preached in 
Mt. Pleasant eight years, and also assisted in forming sev- 
eral of the churches in that state. He spent not a little 
time in lecturing upon temperance and anti-slavery, and was 
at one time employed by tlie state for tiiis pui'pose. , He 
came East on account of the illness of his wife, and spent 
several years at Deer Isle, Me., where his ministry was re- 
markaljly successful. Between that people and their pastor 
there was the warmest attachment to the end. of his life. 
But the climate was too severe, and in the spring of 1862 
he came to Grafton. He came liere an invalid, and during 
his four years' stay suffered almost daily and increasingly 
from the disease which was fast doing its work. He left 
Grafton in April, 1866. In January, 1867, he went to 
Ocala, Florida, whore he died March 20, 1867. 

" In some respects Mr. W. was a remarkable man. In 
the West he was widely known as a ready extemporaneous 
speaker and a powerful debater. In the metaphysical truths 
of God, his mind was ever deeply interested. He preached 



SAUNDBRSTILLE CONG KEG ATIONAL OHUEOH. 233 

with an earnestness and power that always commanded at- 
tention. His brilliant conversational powers, ready wit, and 
warm grasp of the hand, will long be remembered by those 
who have known him intimately." 

Rev. James E. Hall was the next pastor, installed Febru- 
ary 27, 1867, dismissed March 24, 1868. He removed from 
this village to Quincy, Mass. 

His successor was Rev. Alvan J. Bates. He was the 
son of Isaac and Ursula (Jones) Bates ; born in Brewer (now 
Holden), Me., April 12, 1820. He-was one of eight child- 
ren, of pious and worthy parentage. His mother, I think, 
was granddaughter of old Parson Fisher, of Wrentham, 
Mass., her native town, and sister of the late Rev. Elijah 
Jones, of Minot, Me. Mr. Bates became a subject of re- 
newing grace when eighteen years of age. At the age of 
twenty years he, with many others, among whom was his 
future wife, who yet survives to mourn his loss, united in 
June, 1840, with the church in Brewer, Me., then in charge 
of Rev. J. R. Munsell. 

Soon after he devoted himself to the gospel ministry, and 
began liis course of education the same year, pursuing his 
academical studies at Gorham Academy and Bangor Classi- 
cal School. He entered the Theological Seminary at Ban 
gor in the autumn of 1844, and graduated in 1847. Mr. 
Bates was kind auTi cheerful, with a spice of mother wit, 
and of amiable and obliging manners. His piety was 
unquestionable, active, quiet and unobtrusive. His scholar- 
ship was respectable. He was always a favorite with his 
classmates and fellow-students, and in the seminary acquired 
the frequent title of " Melanchthon," because of his pacific 
turn. 

Immediately upon his graduation, he went to Lincoln, 
Me., and began labor with that cliurch. September 27, 
1849, he was ordained an Evangelist, and was acting-pastor 
there from 1847 to 1865. 
SO 



234: HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

For several years Mr. B. was the only Congregational 
minister in the region. His labors were abundant and 
arduous. His nearest exchanges were at Oldtown, thirty- 
six miles, and at Patten, forty-eight. Young ministers who 
have to preach two sermons per Sabbath, as was the univei'- 
sal custom then, can appreciate tliis. Occasionally a mis- 
sionary was sent to Springiield, twenty miles east of him, 
and another to Burlington, as far in another direction. In 
these circumstances he could have very few exchanges, while 
his labors were constant and exhaustive. And when at 
length Rev. J. E. M. Wright, now of Needham, Mass., 
went to Burlington, sixteen miles away, his heart and his 
wife's leaped for joy, that they were not alone, but had one 
to sympathize with them. 

He attended funerals ten, twenty, forty and sixty-seven 
miles away. There were no railroads then in the Aroostook, 
and he usually went with his own team ; and sometimes was 
obliged to be away over night for the bad roads and mud. 
The nearest Congregational conference of churches was 
twelve miles; Patten was forty-eight, Houlton sixty-seven, 
and Ft. Fairfield one hundred and ten miles. The first at 
Ft. Fairfield, was held in a new' barn. People came from 
near and far, and a blessed meeting it was. They were 
hungry for the gospel and for Christian meetings. Two 
women walked eight and ten miles to attend it ; and though 
Christian women, they had not heard a sermon for many 
years. Would that all people were as hungry for truth 
now. Mr. Bates once journeyed two and a half days with 
several others, with their own teams, taking food for them- 
selves and animals with them, to avoid expense at hotels and 
save their dimes to swell the contribution of the conference 
to the Maine Missionary Society. They dined by a brook 
in the woods, and " ate their bread with singleness and glad- 
ness of heart." Yet those were precious seasons. All were 
glad to see the ministers come among them, and hear the 



SATINDEESVILLE CONGEEGATIONAL CHTTECH. 235 

gospel of Jesus, and their hearts were joyful. This was 
their reward. 

The salary of Mr. B., at Lincoln, was generally $400, and 
never over $500. His name and self-sacrificing labors are 
gratefully remembered by many through all that region. 
For funerals he sometimes received some compensation 
among his own people, but never from entire strangers. 
They forgot that it cost a minister something to support a 
team, or hire one. 

Mr. Bates was elected chaplain to the Maine Second and 
Fourteenth regiments, and served with them from Septem- 
ber, 1862, to January, 1865. While in the Second, in the 
army of the Potomac, he was in the battles of Antietam, 
Fredericksburg and Chancellorville. With the Fourteenth 
he was transferred to the southern department, where they 
remained till August, 1864 ; then were ordered to Sheridan's 
command in the Shenandoah Valley, and he was in the 
battles at Winchester, Strasburg and Cedar Creek. He was 
loved and respected by his regiments as a Christian gentle- 
man ; tenderly sympathizing with, and cheering and aiding 
them every way in his power, carrying the wounded from 
the bloody field, giving a " cup of water " to the thirsty, a 
word of cheer and comfort to the desponding and alHicted ; 
writing letters for them to dear friends whose faces they 
might see no more ; sometimes the farewell words of a lover 
to his betrothed, or to a widowed mother ; or breathing a 
prayer for the dying as death dimmed his eye, and aiding in 
the burial with the tenderness of a brother. 

When the war closed he was invited to Harwichport, 
Mass., where he labored from February, 1865, to March, 
1868, as acting-pastor. Receiving a call to Saundersville, 
in Grafton, Mass., he began labor there June, 1868, was in- 
stalled June 22nd, 1869, and was pastor at the time of his 
death, which occurred almost instantly at Lincoln, Me., 
among the people of his first charge. He had preached 
. once, given notice of an evening service, addressed the Sab- 



236 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 



bath school. While walking a few rods with friends to 
their home, he fell, was borne into the house, and in a few 
minntes his spirit had joined those before the throne. He 
died of valvular disease of the heart. At the request of 
his people, his remains were brought to Sanndersville for 
interment. The funeral was large, and a deepl}' tender and 
solemn occasion. Nearly all the ministers of the associa- 
tion were present, and took part in the exercises. Also a 
classmate and intimate acquaintance for more than thirty- 
seven years, who now succeeds him. His name and memory 
are precious among the people. His remains rest in River- 
side Cemetery. 

Mr. Bates was married November 4, 1847, to Miss 
Martha Maria Cheney, a native of Dunstable, Mass., 
daughter of Kendall and Martha (Blood) Cheney, a sister 
of Eev. Mighill Blood, the first minister of Bncksport, Me., 
his only pastorate. Her parents removed to Boston in her 
infancy, where her father died. When Martha was fifteen 
years of age the family removed to Brewer, Me., where she 
was united in wedlock to Rev. Mr. Bates. 

Rev. Haevet M. Stone, the present pastor, installed 
December 18, 1878, was born in Cabot, Vt., September 1, 
1819 ; was educated in Maine ; pursued academic studies 
four years at Gorham and Bangor ; entered the Theological 
Seminary at Bangor in the fall of 1844, and graduated in 
1847 ; was invited immediately to labor with the church in 
Bluehill ; after one year the call for settlement was renewed, 
and he was ordained and installed November 2, 1848 ; the 
sermon was by Rev. Stephen Thurston, D. D., of Sears- 
port; was dismissed March 9, 1854; began labor the same 
month in Waldoboro, as acting-pastor, and continued till 
June, 1857, three and one-fourth years; was installed in 
Gardiner, July 8, 1857; sermon by Rev. George Adams, 
D. D., of Brunswick ; dismissed December 5, 1860 ; began 
supply with the Central church, Middleborough, Mass., the 
same month; was installed April 18, 1861 ; sermon by Rev. 



SAUNDEE8VILLE CONQEEGATIONAL CHUECH. 237 

E. B. Webb, D.D., of Boston ; was dismissed March 31, 1863 ; 
labored as acting-pastor in South Dennis from October, 
1863, till November 9, 1867; began labors in Laconia, N. 
H., in December following, and was installed successor to 
the late Kev. John Young, D. D., February 11, 1868; ser- 
mon by Rev. James Savage, D. D., of Franklin ; was dis- 
missed December 19, 1870; began labor in Kochester in 
January, and was installed May 18, 1871 ; sermon by Rev. 
S. Haywood, of South Berwick, Me. ; dismissed January 28, 
1875 ; supplied the church at Miller's Falls, Mass., ten 
months, and at Worthington fourteen months ; accepted call 
to Saundersville, and began labors November 1st, and was 
installed over the church, successor to the late Rev. A. J. 
Bates, December 18, 1877. 

The installing services were as follows : — 

Sermon, by Rev. Heman P. Deforest. 
Installing Prayer, Rev. John R. Thurston. 
Right Hand of Fellowship, Rev. John H. Windsor. 
Charge to the Pastor, Rev. George A. Putnam. 
Address to the People, Rev. William T. Briggs. 
Anthem, — " I will wash my hands in innocency." 
Concluding Prayer. 
Benediction by the Pastor. 

Mr. Stone was married to Miss Lizzie S. Parsons, daughter 
of Dea. S. and Hannah G. Parsons, of Orono, Me., October 
4, 1847, who still lives, the faithful companion and sharer of 
his labors, his joys and sorrows. 

Ten members have been added to the church since Mr. 
Stone's settlement. 

During the first seven years of the history of this church 
there seems to have been no special revival in the church, 
yet there were indications of health and steady growth. 
Only seven were added to the church by profession, and 
about as many more by letter. It was a time of sowing 
more than of reaping, a period which we sometimes under- 
rate in our anxiety to accelerate the work. In 1867 the 
church shared in the revival of the town, and received 



238 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

eighteen to its membership ou confession of their faith, and 
four by letter. The following year three others were added, 
tlie next year four, the next seven, the next six, the next 
three, the next, which was 1873, with increased religious in- 
terest, nine were added, and the next year seven. The total 
membership up to this time was ninety-five. The death rate 
has been small. Nearly one-fourth of the present number 
is non-resident. This church labors under the great disad- 
vantage of frequent change of population. This not only 
prevents more rapid growth, but interferes with the social 
relations. Church members lack the usual stimulus to be- 
come intimately acquainted, and are not sufficiently cheered 
on by one another to do effectual church work. The pas- 
tor's work is that of constant reconstruction, together with 
a little seed-sowing here and a little there, which, if it takes 
root, will more than likely spring and grow in another field, 
and under another's care. The Sabbath school has few 
children whose parents are Christians, and but a small share 
of home influence can be relied upon to make Bible study 
in the highest degree efficient. The success, on the whole, 
has been more encouraging than circumstances could reason- 
ably promise. One fact of interest should not be omitted 
in the record. A member of the church has, within the 
last year,* been ordained to the ministry. He was taken 
from the factory and educated by the church, and is now 
doing successful service as a missionary in the western part 
of the State. The church and society has from the start 
been under the fostering care of the manufacturing corpora- 
tion, whose pecuniary aid covers more than two-thirds of the 

running expenses. 

DEACONS. 

Chosen. 

Horatio Slocomb, Sept. 12, 1867. 

Charles H. Searles, " " 

■Washington White, June 10, 1869. 

Esek Saunders, June 2, 1870. 

Edward Fowler June 6, 1877. 

* 1875. 



SECOND BAPTIST OHUEOH. 239 

The Second Baptist Church. 

The organization — The council — The constituent members. — The pastors 
— Sketches of Eevs. Miner G. Claike, William C. Richards, William 
Leverett, Joseph M. Kockwood, J. D. E. Jones, L. M. Sargent. — 
The deacons. 

This chnrch, in New England Village, was organized 
ISTovember 9, 1836, in a hall titted up by the mill owners in 
1834, in the upper story of the east wing of their counting- 
room building, near the " Upper Mill," for the use of per- 
sons of all denominations wishing to hold religious services. 

The council which convened to recognize the new church, 
was composed of the following delegates : — 



I'rom the Baptist Church in Grafton, 



' Eev. John Jennings. 
Perley Goddard. 
Samuel Prentice. 
Martin Jacobs. 



(■Rev. Jonathan Aldrich. 

From the Church in Worcester -( Luther Goddard. 

(_ Nathaniel Stowell. 

From Church in Westborough { fbner'' Wa^rZ!""' 

Services of recognition were as follows : — 

Reading of Scripture, by Rev. Miner G. Clark. 
Introductoi-y Prayer, by Rev. Jonathan Aldrich. 
Sermon, by Rev. John Jennings. 
Prayer of Recognition, by Luther Goddard. 
Hand of Fellowship, by Eev. Otis Converse. 

The constituent members numbered forty-three; twenty- 
four from the church in Grafton, and nineteen from 
churches in Shrewsbury and Boylston : — 

Alexander, James, Jr., Leland, Mrs. Molly, 

Alexander, Mrs. Sally, Leland, Hannah E., 

Allen, Lucy S., Miles, Anna, 

Hapgood, Elijah, Moore, Ezra, 

Hapgood, Mrs. Eunice, '^ Newton, Isaac, 

Harrington, Mary, ""Newton, Nahum, 

Leland, Ebenezer, — Newton, John L., 



240 HISTOKT OF QKAFTOtf. 

^.^ Newton, Mary Ann, Smith, Nancy, 

— Newton, Patty, Shepardson, Moses K., 

— Newlon, Lucinda, Shepardson, Mrs. Laura, 

— Newtou, Adeline, Shepardson, Amanda, 
Noycs, Daniel, Tucker, Eddy, 
Norcross, Josiah, Tucker, Mrs. Betsey, 
Nelson, Louisa, Tucker, Jedediah, 
Putnam, Samuel W., Tucker, Mrs. Sally, 
Putnam, Aurilla, Tucker, Elmira, 
Pickett, John, Thayer, Patty, 
Stearnes, Stephen, Vickers, Dorothy, 
Stearnes, Mrs. Patty, ' Wesson, Charles, 
Stearnes, Sophila, Wesson, Mrs. Charles, 
Stone, Hannah, Wesson, Catharine. 
Blchardson, Abigail, 



The first preaching services in the village of which there 
is any record, were held hy Rev. Otis Converse, tiien pastor 
of the. Baptist Chnrch iu Grafton, in the village school- 
house and private dwellings, as early as 1826, the year in 
which the "Upper Mill" and connected buildings were 
erected. These meetings were continued by him and minis- 
ters of other denominations, with frequent interruptions and 
cessations, for nearly nine years. In the year 1835 a Bap- 
tist Society was formed for the purpose of securing regular 
religious services ; the success of which enterprise led to the 
formation of the church the following year, as before stated. 
Until October, 1838, the church had no settled pastor, 
preachers being secured from Newton Theological Institu- 
tion and other sources. At that time Kev. Miner G. Clarke, 
a graduate of that institution, accepted an invitation to the 
pastorate. In November of the same year the clmrch and 
society took measures for the erection of the house of 
worship now owned and occupied by the church, which was 
completed and dedicated in May, 1839, a building 42 by 60 
feet, with a spire ; arranged to seat about 375 persons ex- 
clusive of the gallery ; the land having been donated for 
that purpose by the Grafton Manufacturing Company. 



SECOND BAPTIST OHUROH. 241 

The pastors of the cliurch, from the date of its organiza- 
tion to the present time (1879), and their terms of service, 
are as follows : — 

Rev. Miner G. Clarke, October, 1838, to April 1, 1840. 
Rev. William C. Richards, May 1, 1841, to July 7, 1844. 
Rev. Alfred Pinney, October, 1844, to December 1, 1846. 
Rev. William C. Richards, April 1, 18'! 6, to April 22, 1849. 
Rev. William Leverett, November 1, 1849, to January 1, 1855. 
Rov. Joseph M. Rockwood, October 1, 1857, to June 1, 1864. 
Rev. J. D. E. Jones, October 1, 1864, to May 9, 1875. 
Rev. L. M. Sargent, June 1, 1875. 

llov. MiNEK Gr. Claeke, first pastor of the church, was 
born December 7, 1809, in Woodstock, Ct., and graduated 
in August, 1837, from Newton Theological Institution, after 
a five years' course. During the last year of this course he 
supplied the pulpit at New England Village. His gradua- 
tion was immediately followed by a unanimous call from the 
church he had supplied to become its pastor. This, how- 
ever, WHS declined on account of financial difliculties, which 
so disturbed tiie business of the country, and manufacturing 
interests especially, that there seemed little to base hope 
upon, and it was thought necessary to abandon the enter- 
prise for a time at least. Accordingly Mr. C. accepted a 
call from the Second Baptist Church in Suftield, Ct., and 
was ordained there November, 1837. Success attended his 
labors, quite a number were added to the church, and pre- 
liminary steps taken for the erection of a new church edifice. 
At tills point, however, Mr. Clarke was obliged to resign his 
charge and go to his old farm-homo in Woodstock, Ct., to 
recuperate. After a few months he so far rallied as to be 
able to preacli, and business having revived he was recalled 
to take up the work in Nev/ England Tillage. A house of 
worship was soon after erected, which continues to this day. 
It was built by hard, earnest labor, and much self-sacrifice. 
The means of the church were so limited, that in addition to 
liis other labors Mr. C. taught school part of the time to 
31 



242 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

eke out his salary. The scattered forces were gathered up, 
and many were converted and added to the church. After 
about a year and a half of successful ministerial work, Mr. 
C. was prostrated with lung fever, and attempting to preach 
too soon brought on hemorrhage of the lungs, which so re- 
duced him that he was again obliged to resign and return to 
his father's home. After several months of rest he was so 
far recovered as to settle in Norwich, Ct. Through his 
labors the Central Baptist Church was soon organized, and 
their house of worship erected. During his six years' pas- 
torate several hundred were added to the church by bap- 
tism. In the spring of 1846 he was called to the pastorate 
of the First Baptist Church of Springfield, Mass. Here 
again he broke down under his arduous labors, and in March, 
1850, i-esigned and left the field. In the following autumn 
he had so far recovered as to be able to assume a secretary- 
ship of the American and Foreign Bible Society in New 
York. In April, 1851, he accepted the pastorate of the 
Tabernacle Baptist Church, Philadelphia, where he labored 
until the autumn of 1856. During this time their substan- 
tial and tasteful house of worship was erected and filled 
with hearers, and large additions made to their membership. 
A partial sunstroke produced congestion of the brain, and 
again he must say farewell to a beloved people. After a 
time he removed to Indianapolis and commenced on his own 
financial responsibility the publication of The Witness, 
which, with the help. of an office editor, he continued six 
3'ears. Traveling much through the malarial districts of 
that new state, he contracted ague, which, combining with 
his former bronchial irritation, necessitated his fieeing again 
for his life. Selling out his interest in the paper (which has 
since been consolidated with The Standard, of Chicago), he 
removed to Chicago for its higher climate and more invigor- 
ating air. Here he acted as financial secretary for the 
Chicago University three years. In 1869 he accepted the 
pastorate of the Evanston Baptist Church, where for two 



SECOND BAPTIST CHtJECS. 243 

years he did a successful work. He left Evanston to accept 
a secretaryship of the American Baptist Home Mission 
Society, having the state of New York as his particular 
field. After nearly four years he resigned the position, 
having become entirely disabled for public labor. His pres- 
ent residence is Sandwich, DeKalb County, Illinois. 

The second pastor of this churcli. Rev. W. 0. Richakds, 
was born in Newton, June 20, 1809. He graduated from 
Brown University in 1837, read theology under the direc- 
tion of President Wayland, was chosen Principal of the 
Bennington Union Academy, Vt., in 1837. In 1839 he 
was elected Principal and also Professor of Ancient Lan- 
guages in the Hancock Literary and Scientific Institution, 
N. H. June 16, 1841, he was ordained to the-work of 
the Gospel ministry over the Second Baptist Church in 
Grafton, Rev. J. Jennings, of Grafton, preaching the 
sermon, Rev. L. Tracy, of West Boylston, Rev. H. Fitts, of 
Millbury, Rev. S. B. Swaim, of Worcester, Rev. A. Harvey, 
of Westborough, and Rev. A. S. Lyon, of Oxford, perform- 
ing the other services on the occasion. He was joined in 
marriage with Miss Eliza G. Willard, of Keene, N. H., 
July 6, 1841. He entered at once upon his ministerial work, 
was abundant and successfnl in his pastoral labors, specially 
in connection with the great revival which, in March, 1842, 
broke out in this church, and the village where it was 
located, and spread thence throughout the town and com- 
munity, receiving to the membership of this body 146 by 
baptism and 20 by letter. He resigned the charge October, 
1844. March, 1846, the church recalled him to the ofSce 
of pastor, which he filled with acceptance and ability, 
baptizing during his second term of labor 42 more persons. 
In 1849, he was called to the pastoral charge of the First 
Baptist Church in Lynn, where he remained in continued 
and active ministerial labors for fifteen years. In 1865, 
he accepted a call to the Second Baptist Church in Newton, 



244 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

which he served with fidelity till April, 1875, and then 
retired to more private life at Newton Upper Falls. 

Kev. William Leveeett was pastor of the church from 
November 1, 1849, to January 1, 1855, about six years. 

Mr. Leverett was born in Brookline, Mass., in the first 
year of the century, and united with Charles-street Church, 
Boston (of which Kev. Daniel Sharp, D. D., was then 
minister), at the age of fifteen years. He graduated at 
Brown University in the class of 1824, and was elected 
pastor of the First or " Dudley-street " Baptist Church in 
Roxbury, Mass. (now Boston Highlands), where he con 
tinned fifteen years. The church there was weak wlien he 
assumed the pastorship, but during his ministry became 
strong in numbers, character, and influence. After resign- 
ing the church in Roxbury, he served the Second Baptist 
Church in Cambridge, as pastor, ten years. From there 
he removed to New England Tillage, from here to Newport, 
R. I., where he has lived in retirement to the date of this 
publication. 

Rev. Joseph M. Rockwood was born in Bellingham, Mass. 
His youth was spent mostly with studies at the Academy, 
College and Theological Seminary — some two years at 
Milford, three at Waterville, Me., one at Hanover, N. H., 
and three at Newton, Mass. In early manhood lie was 
pastor eight yeai'S at Rutland, Vt., for six years at Belcher- 
town, Mass., and seven years at New England Tillage, 
Mass., and for the last fourteen years has been pastor in 
Middlefield, Mass. 

Rev. JoHJsr Davis Edmands Jones, of Worcester, took 
pastoral charge of the Baptist Clnirch, New England 
Tillage, in October, 1864, and continued in that relation 
till May, 1875, ten years and seven months. He was born 
November 11th, 1819, in Charles River Tillage, Needham, 
Mass. He was the third child and the second son of John and 
Sylvia Dudley Jones. He was graduated at Brown Univer- 
sity in 1845, and was a student in the Newton Theological 



SECOND BAPTIST CHUEOH. 



2i5 



Institution in 1846 and 1847, was then principal of the 
Troy, N. Y., Academy for two years, and was ordained 
pastor of the Baptist Church, North Bennington, Vt., 
November 8, 1849. 

After a service of nearly six years in the North Benning- 
ton Church, lie resigned and accepted the pastorate of the 
First Baptist Clinrch in Worcester, Mass. After a pastorate 
in Worcester of four years, he resigned and accepted the 
office of Superintendent of Public Schools in that city. 
This latter office he resigned in January, 1866, and 
accepted an official position in the State Mutual Life Assur- 
ance Company of that city, which position he still holds. 

During the period he held the above secular offices, he 
supplied the pulpits of several churclies, tlie longest- term 
of continued service being in the New England Village 
Church. 

He was married March 26, 1846, to Clarissa Ann, eldest 
daughter of Preston Day, Esq., of North Wrentliam (now 
Norfolk), Mass. In all his work as pastor and preacher he 
always gratefully acknowledged the efficient aid he received 
from the active and self-denying labors of his earnest and 
pious wife. 

The present pastor, Kev. L. M. Sakgbnt, son of Rev. J. 
W. and Mrs. C. F. Sargent, was born in Billerica, Septem- 
ber 12, 1836. Came to New England Village in 1840, and 
moved to Worcester in 1861. 

September 30, 187J, the Main-street Baptist Church in 
Worcester, of which lie was a member, constituted him a 
licentiate. Up to 1872, he pursued the occupation of a 
mechanic. In May, 1872, he accepted a call to supply the 
pulpit of what was then known as the Dewey-street Chapel, 
and on the 5th of the September following was ordained as 
pastor of the newly organized Dewey-street Church, with 
this church he labored one year, and resigned on account of 
failing health. His labors with the church in New England 
Village commenced June 1, 1875, 



246 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

DEACONS. 

The deacons of the church and the dates of their election 
are as follows : — 

Stephen Stearns Dec. 1, 1836 

Moses K. Shepardson Dec. 1, 1836 

Eddy Tucker Oct. 31,1839 

Asa F. Smith Nov. 5, 1844 

N. G. Whitney Teb. 10, 1859 

J. H. Smith March 26, 1859 

George W. Hastings Oct. 31, 1868 

Freewill Baptist Church. 

Primary meetings. — The church and covenant. — Original members. — 
Sketches of the pastors. Revs. B. D. Peck, D. D., George T. Day, 
A. M., Joseph Whittemore, B. F. Pritchard, M. W. Burlingame, 
G. W. Wallace, Daniel C. Wheeler, A. M. Freeman, Francis Read, 
Andrew J. Eastman. — Deacons. 

Late in the year 1838, meetings were established in 
Sanndersville and held in the school-house, through the 
instrumentality of Benjamin Saunders, who had recently 
removed here from Rhode Island. Revs. Martin Cheney, 
M. W. Burlingame, David Morey, M. J. Steere, of Smith- 
field, K. I., and other clergymen of this denomination 
preached here from time to time until the chnrch was 
organized, December 29, 1839. The council for the organ- 
ization included Rev. Martin Cheney, of Olneyville, R. I.; 
Rev. M. "W". Burlingame, of Mendon, Mass. ; and Rev. 
David More}', of Scituate, R. I. The church records are 
here deficient. The last name is given from inemory by 
one of the original members. 

The following is the covenant : — 

"We receive the Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments as a 
revelation from God, unfolding our duty, and opening the way to 
eternal life. We accept Baptism and the Lord's Supper, as ordinances 
designed by Christ to be observed by all his disciples. 

We will constantly endeavor to maintain and promote the spirit of 
piety and faithfulness in ourselves by a diligent use of the various 



FREEWILL BAPTIST CHUEOH. 247 

means of grace ; so that we may have constant communion with God, 
and commend religion to others by means of a holy example. 

We will watch over each other in the spirit of true charity,— seeking 
to assist the needy, strengthen the weak, encourage the despondent, 
sympathize with the sorrowful, instruct the erring, reprove offenders in 
meekness, win back the straying to duty, receive Christian admonition 
and reproof in kindness, and aid in the maintenance of good and 
wholesome discipline. We will severally bear our part in the labors, 
responsibilities and trials which are necessary to sustain the exercises 
and carry forward the objects of the church ; and will endeavor to 
acquiesce cheerfully in the measures approved by a majority of the 
members, for the promotion of the welfare of the whole body. 

We will everywhere hold Christian principle sacred, and Christian 
objects supreme; counting it our chief business in life to spread 
Christian knowledge and diffuse the Christian spirit in every circle of 
society, and among all the nations of the earth,— ever looking, praying, 
and toiling, that the Kingdom of God may come, and His will be done 
on earth as it is done in Heaven. 

May He who has promised His help, strengthen us to keep this 
covenant, bless us with true prosperity, till he shall gather us to Him- 
self. Ambn." 

The following persons were the original memb(y;s of the 
church : — 

Benjamin Saunders. Thomas Putnam. 

Betsey Saunders. Caroline R. Oilman. 

Ira Cook. Abigail Williams. 

Eachel Cook. Achsa Williams. 

Amos D. Johnson. Abigail Williams, 2nd. 

Theodocia Johnson. Orlando Russell. 
Elizabeth Goodale. 

Eev. Benjamin D. Peck, D. D., the first pastor, was 
installed June 4, 1840, and dismissed in September, 1846, 
being in charge about seven years. During this time he 
administered the rite of baptism to between seventy and 
seventy-five persons, and received into the church nearly 
100. He was ordained in the Episcopal Church at Wilkin- 
sonville. Dr. Peck was born in Bristol, R. I., April 11, 
1813 ; he was in school in Providence much of the time 
during his boyhood days, and after he was sixteen he spent 
some three years at a Friends' school in Bolton, Mass., kept 
by Mr. Thomas Fry. Was converted in 1838, and united 



248 HISTORY OF GEAFl'ON. 

witli the Free Baptist Churdi in the village of Georgiaville, 
E. I. Pursued his Theological studies with such aid and 
instruction as he could obtain from the ministers in the 
JRhode Island Association that were near the residence of 
his parents. Preached in Georgiaville about a year, when 
he removed to Saundersville. He now resides at Carolina 
Mills, E. I. 

Eev. Geokge T. Day, A. M., the second pastor, was 
installed in December 184:6, and remained until lie re- 
moved to Ohio in 1850. He was born in Concord (now 
Day), Saratoga County, N. Y., December 8, 1822. When 
he was three years and a half old his parents removed to 
Scituate, R. I., and from there to Hebronville, Mass. His 
early educational advantages were quite limited. His 
parents were Congregationalists and were strict and careful 
in the religious training of theii- children. His mother died 
when he was twelve years of age, and from that time the 
family was scattered. In 1845 he entered the Freewill 
Baptist Theological Seminary at Whitestone, N. Y., and 
left in 1846, to become the pastor of this church. His 
stipulated salary was $350 per annum. At the beginning 
of the second year, fearing this amount was too great for 
the ability of the parish, he requested that it might be 
reduced to $300.* His ordination occurred in connection 
with a session of the Khode Island Quarterly Meeting, lield 
at Olneyville, May 20, 1847; Martin Cheney preaching the 
sermon, and M. W. Burlingame offering the prayer of con- 
secration. 



* Memoir by W. H. Bowen, D. D., p. 35. " Dai'ing the four years in 
this pastorate, his life was almost wholly free from cares beyond the 
limits of his parish. His pastorate closed October 29, 1850. His fare- 
well sermon, proclaiming ' The Duties and Rights of Ministers,' was 
no attempt at self-defence or inculpation of the people, but a robust, 
manly presentation of the mutual relations between pulpit and pew. 
He supplied the pulpit until the following December. In December, 
1866, he began editing the Morning Star and continued until his death, 
which occurred May 21, 1875, in Providence, R. I." 



FREEWILL BAPTIST OHUECH. 249 

Rev. Joseph Whtttemoee, the third, pastor, was installed 
April 1, 1851, and dismissed April 5, 1852. He was born 
in Salisbury, N. H., September 10, 1813. His parents were 
poor and he lived at home but little after ho was seven 
years old. He attended Franklin Academy for a term and 
then engaged some time in teaeliing school. In September, 
1838, he began preaching to tlie Freewill Baptist Church 
in Nashua, where he remained during the winter. He was 
subsequently pastor of the church at Tiverton, R. I., and 
at Pawtucket. During his pastorate in Saundersvillo the 
church removed its place of worship from this place to 
Farnumsville, and some thirty were added to its numbers. 
Bat in the beginning of winter his health failed, and he was 
obliged to desist from preaching. Partially recovering his 
health, he supplied the Olneyville pulpit for a while, in the 
former part of the summer of 1852. He was subsequently 
appointed a Home Missionary. 

Rev. Joseph Thatek, the next pastor, was installed April 
5, 1852. He was pastor one year and a half. After Mr. 
Thayer's pastorate ended the church lost its visibility. 
Preaching was had a portion of the time between this and 
1862, by men representing different denominations and 
supported by a society ; there being no church at this time. 

The church was reorganized however, November 1, 1862, 
by Rev. B. F. Pbitchakd, who began preaching May 5, 1862. 
He was dismissed October 11, 1864. 

He was born in Blackstone, Mass., in 1833, the son of 
Benjamin and Lilies Pritchard, was converted in September, 
1857, and baptized in May, 1858, and united with the 
Freewill Baptist Church in Georgiaville, R. I., taught school 
in Greenwich for three years, until 1801, when he came to 
Grafton. He was ordained at the Roger Williams church 
in Pi'ovidence, R. L, in Jane of the same year. He re- 
mained here two years and a half, and in 1867, he went to 
Cape Ehzabeth, Maine, where he has been pastor for nearly 
32 



250 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

twelve years, and is now located. He was married March, 
1858, in Killingly, Conn., to Caroline L. Hnrchell. 

The next pastor was Kev. M. W. Btjelingame, who was 
installed March 21, 1865, and dismissed October 7, 1866. 
He was born in the town of Gloucester, R. I., in May, 1805. 
He was early susceptible of religions impressions, and his 
mind received its bent. He applied himself to stndj'^, and 
obtained an education in the schools at Killingly, Conn., 
and Wilbraham, Mass., more than ordinary for the young 
men of that day. He devoted himself to the Cliristian 
ministry and received license to preach in May, 1828, so 
that at the time of his death, 1879, he had completed more 
than fifty years of ministerial service. He began his life- 
work in his native town and the towns in close proximity to 
it, and in connection with teaching in the public schools. 
Here he has spent its closing years, and indeed the far 
larger portion of all its years. After a year of useful 
service in Pennsylvania, whither his parents had removed, 
he returned and renewed his labors in these towns. Che- 
pachet was blessed by the ardor and devotion of his young 
manhood. This church was among the fruits of his early 
efi'orts. Eventually he confined his labors to Blackstone, 
where he worked, though only a portion of the time at first, 
for sixteen years, closing his pastorate in 1846. This seems 
to have been the golden period of his life. The church 
grew. The influence of the pastor in the community was 
immense, and the name of the Lord Jesus was magnified. 
It has been estimated that the number whom he baptized 
during this period must have reached five hundred. During 
the three years subsequent to his resignation of the pastorate 
at Blackstone, he was pastor of the church in Greenville, 
and for a second time of the church at Chepachet. During 
the next twenty years he had pastorates in all the New 
England States except Vermont. Notable among them 
were those at New Market and Danville, N. H., and Tops- 
ham, Me. In other fields he labored with varying success. 



FREEWILL BAPTIST CHtTECH. 251 

but always with fidelity. Some nine years since, he returned 
to Georgiaville, R. I., which proved to be his last earthly 
abiding place. 

Rev. G. W. Wallace was installed over this church and 
society April 1, 1867, and dismissed April 17, 1870. 

He was born February 19, 181.4, in Berkley, Mass. At 
the age of sixteen he united with the Freewill Baptist 
Church in Pawtucket, R. I. At the age of twenty he went 
to study and labor as a colleague with the Rev. Junia S. 
Mowrey, who at that time had the pastoral care of two 
churches. This relation continued for some time, until his 
health began to give way. He also attended school for a 
season at the academj' at Taunton. In the winter of 1840, 
he studied elocution under Prof. C. P. Bronson, at Boston. 
In May, 1842, he was married to Miss Canie Luther, and 
was ordained at Rehoboth, Mass., August 23rd, 1848. 

Rev. Daniel C. Wheelee, the next pastor, was installed 
April 17, 1870, and dismissed April 1, 1871. He was born 
in Wells, December 3, 1827, the son of Job and Lucinda 
Wheeler. Ho was baptized by the Rev. Mr. Holman of 
Boston, in Biddcford, Me., at the age of nineteen, and 
soon after joined the Biddeford Freewill Baptist Church, 
T. H, Witham, pastor. In 1867, he married Miss H. A. 
Morrow, of Boston, where he resided ; here he joined the 
Bennett-street Freewill Baptist Church, and in 1868, he 
received a license. During this year he entered the New 
Hampton Theological Seminary. At his ordination here 
Revs. J. Rand, M. W. Burlingame, A. R. Bradbury, C. P. 
Walden, participated. He is now pastor of the First Free- 
will Baptist Cliurch, Wolfborough, N. II. During his pas- 
torate a number of persons were baptized. 

Rev. A. M. Fkeeman, Mr. Wheeler's successor, was in- 
stalled April 1, 1871, and dismissed April 1, 1876. 

He was born in Cumberland, R. I., the son of Willard 
and Aline Freeman. His mother was an Episcopalian and 
was strict and careful in the religious training of her son. 



252. HISTORY OF GBAFl'ON. 

At the age of twenty-four, he was baptized and became 
connected with the Baptist Church in his native town. 
Besides the amount of intellectual cultivation ordinarily 
secured by those in his circumstances, he attended a 
grammar school for some time in the town of Smithfield, 
and subsequently the Academy in Woonsocket. He pursued 
his theological studies under Eev. James Wiley in his 
native town ; studied church history under liev. John 
Warner, of Smithfield, and received his license September, 
1866. In July, 1869, he was ordained and installed pastor 
of the church in Standish, Me., where he remained two years. 
He received a unanimous call from the church in Farnums- 
ville, where he remained five years. He was subsequently 
installed over the church in Waterbury, Vt., and hs now 
pastor of the Baptist Church in North Tunbridge, Vt. 

Rev. Francis Read, the next pastor, was installed April 1, 
1876, and dismissed April 1, 1878. 

He is a native of Grafton, N. H., and was graduated 
from the Theological department of Bates College, Lewiston, 
Me., in the class of 1849. He has held pastorates in Ports- 
mouth, N. H., Farmington and Bath, Me., besides in other 
places. While pastor over this church some prosperity 
.attended his labors, a number being added by baptism and 
by letter. A considerable interest was also maintained in 
the Sabbath-school. He removed to Lawrence, Mass., where 
he supplies the pulpit of a church of the same denomination. 

Rev. Andeew^ J. Eastman, Jr., the next pastor, and 
present incumbent, was installed May 19, 1878. He was 
born in East Parsonsfield, York County, Me., July 23, 1846, 
the son of Andrew J. and Sarah J. Eastman. He was 
fitted for college at New Hampton, N. H., and entered 
Bates College, Lewiston, Me., August, 1870, and was grad- 
uated in June, 1874. He entered the Theological Seminary, 
a department of Bates College, in August, 1874, and grad- 
uated in June, 1877. He was ordained to tlie ministry 
November 1st, 1877, at Steep Falls, Standish, Cumberland 



253 

County, Me., by the following council : — Rev. J. M. Bailey, 
Saco, Rev. C. S. Perkins, Portland, Rev. A. F. Hutcliinson, 
Cape Elizabeth, Rev. W. J. Twort, Gorham, Rev. P. M. 
Hobson, Steep Falls, Rev. A. G. Hill, Topsham. 

DEACONS. 

Elected. 

Orlando Husscll Jan. U, 1843 

Hai-ford P. Panham . . . • .... Jan. 14, 1843 

Keuben Fuller April, 1844 

Benjamin Cragin April, 1844 

Amos D. Johnson April, 1845 

George W. Cromb Jan. 29, 1863 

Elias Chase Jan. 1, 1870 

Thomas Johnson Jan. 9, 1871 

Smith P. Chase . Jan. 6, 1872 

St. Philip's Church. 

The mission.— Sketch of Rev. J. J. Power.— The church building. — 
Sketch of Rev. A. M. Baret, D.D. 

In 1848 a small chapel (St. Philip's Church), about 25 by 
40 feet, was built by subscription on a lot presented by Mr. 
Benchly to the few Catliolics of Grafton. They were at 
that time attended by Rev. Father Sheridan, of Black- 
stone, wlio visited them occasionally during the year. In 
1858, November 25th, the mission was annexed to St. Ann's 
Church of Worcester. The pastor, Rov. J. J. Power, con- 
tinued to visit it several times a year, and had charge of it 
until July 1st, 1869. During the ten years of his adminis- 
tration, the Catholic population having largely increased, he 
enlarged (August, 1866) tiie too small edifice to its present 
capacity of 620 seats, and attended tiie congregation about 
every montii, and later about every two weeks. 

Rev. J. J. PowEB was born in Charlestown, Mass., iu 
1828. He attended the public schools of his native town, 
and began his collegiate course in Holy Cross College, in 
Worcester, from which institution he was graduated in 1851. 



254 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

He continiied his theological studies in Montreal, Canada, 
one year, and at Aix, in France. He was ordained in 1856. 

In 1869, July 1st, Grafton mission was detached from St. 
Ann's, and joined with Millbuiy was made a parish under 
the pastorship of Rev. M. J. Doherty, who attended Graf- 
ton about every Sunday during the four montlis he had 
charge of it. In the month of October, 1869, the mission 
of Grafton was finally made a parish, to which the small 
mission of Upton, formerly attended from Milford, was 
added. The present Catholic population of the parish, in- 
cluding Grafton and Upton, is about 1,200, equally divided 
between Irish and Canadians. 

The first resident pastor, the present incumbent, Rev. A. 
M. Baret, D. D., was appointed November 10th, 1869, by 
Bishop Williams, of Boston, to whose diocese Grafton and 
Upton then belonged. "When Springfield diocese was 
created (1870) from a portion of Boston diocese, Grafton 
became a parish of the former. 

Rev. Dr. Babet is a native of France. After a brilliant 
course of studies in liis own country he went to Rome to 
complete his theological course, and there he received his 
degree of Doctor of Divinity. There also he was ordained, 
being attended on the occasion by two classmates, his 
friends, Louis Creglia di San Stephano and Henry Howard, 
who are to-day cardinals of the Catholic church. After a 
few years of professorship Doctor Baret was called to Paris 
by Cardinal Morlot, archbishop of Paris, and appointed a 
cnratc at the Church of La Madeleine, the leading and most 
fasliionable church of Paris. In 1859, 1)6 accepted the in- 
vitation of Bishop Bacon, of Portland, Me., to accompany 
him to this country as secretary and chancellor of his 
diocese. Leaving the brilliant future tlien before him, hav- 
ing just been appointed to a higher situation in Paris, he 
came to America. But soon after he decided to give up his 
missionary labors, and was about to return to liis native land 
when the good and great John B. Fitzpatrick, bishop of 



ST. Philip's church. 255 

Boston, entreated liim and prevailed upon him to stay with 
him in Boston. After the death of Bishop Fitzpatrick 
(1866) his successor, Bishop Williams, sent Dr. Baret to 
Grafton. 

Father Baret is a scholar of great merit, and has probably 
one of the finest and most extensive libraries of any priest 
in this country. His library numbers some 5,000 of the 
most valuable theological, philosophical and historical works. 
He is a great student, and lives among his books, having 
very little to do in his mission. And how it happened that 
he consented to be sent to Grafton, and is still kept there, 
is a mystery to liis friends, who are legion, and shows his 
spirit of self-sacrifice and humility. It is a pity that a man 
of his great learning, fine talents and genial character, 
should not have been settled in a larger field. 



EDUCATIONAL 



CHAPTER SIXTH. 

Contents : 

The first law establishing Public schools in America. — Y" school lot. — 
Proprietors' records.— Data from the first town records. — The 
school-houses in the Centre. — School-houses at Keith Hill, Saun- 
dersville, New England Village, Brigham Hill, Farnumsville. — Rev. 
Aaron Hutchinson as a teacher. — Samuel Hall, Nathan Jones, Phin- 
eas Gleasou, Sally Leland, David Stone, Amos W. Stockwell and 
Newell Wedge, teachers.— The school districts. —Extracts from the 
school committee reports from 1844 to 1879. — The High school. — 
Rev. Farrington Mclntire's private school. 

ONE of the most interesting and important chapters in the 
history of Grafton, is that which relates to the free 
schools of the town, some details of which will now be 
given. 

This town, like most of New England, has ever regarded 
the education of youth as of primary importance. When it 
was laid out, a tract of land was set apart for the support of 
a school. This land was sold in 1783 ; and the proceeds 
formed a fund, which was held for that purpose. Before 
1737, the school was kept in one place only, and that the 
centre of the town. During this year it was agreed to have 
it kept in five places ; and for a number of years after there 
was but one schoolmaster, who moved about from place to 
place, shedding light and dispensing knowledge, according to 
the wants and convenience of all. The system of school 
districts was established in 1785 ; and its utility became 
33 



258 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

more apparent as the population increased, and tlie means 
of education enlarged. In 1739, the appropriation for the 
school was £40, old tenor. This, when compared with the 
appropriation of the present jear,* appears a small sum. 
But when we consider that all the expenses of the school, 
except for the services of the instructor, were paid by con- 
tribution, we shall see that even so small a sum as this 
would do much towards promoting a knowledge of " read- 
ing, writing and cyphering," — almost the only branches of 
education that the wisest pedagogue of the day taught. 

The first law, establishing public schools in America, was 
passed by the General Court of Massachusetts on the 27th 
of October, 1647. The following is a copy of the pre- 
amble : — 

"It being one of the chief projects of Satan to keep men from the 
knowledge of the Scriptures, as in former times keeping them in 
unknown tongues, so in these latter times, by persuading from the use 
of tongues, that so at least the true sense and meaning of the original 
might beclouded and corrupted by false glosses of deceivers; to tiie 
end that learning may not be buried in the graves of our forefathers, in 
church and Commonwealth; the Lord assisting our endeavors: — 

It is therefore ordered by this Court, and authority thereof, that every 
township within this jurisdiction, after the Lord hath increased them to 
the number of fifty householders, shall forthwith appoint one within 
their towns to teach all such children, as shall resort to him, to write 
and read, whose wages shall be paid either by the parents or masters of 
such children, or by the inhabitants in general, by way of supply, as 
the major part of those that order the prudentials of the town shall 
appoint; provided that those who send their children be not oppressed 
by paying much more than they can have them taught for in other 
towns." 

This was the origin of the common school system, which 
has contributed so much to the prosperity and glory of New 
England, by rearing up a class of men fitted for all tiie 
active duties of life, not only within her own jurisdiction, 
but throughout the United States. 

» $6,800. 



EDtrOATlONAL. 259 

YE SCHOOL LOT. 

May 15, 1728-9.— * Laid out for y« schoole lot in Hassanamlsco, wh. 
contains twenty acres and Is situated easterly from y" meeting-iiouse 
lot, and bounded southerly by y« seventy-flrst lot, easterly by y» 
seventy-second lot, northerly by y» second part of y» ministers second 
upland lot, and westerly, party by common and partly by the twenty- 
second lot. The four angle marks are stakes and stones. Y" north line 
is 65 rod i y" east, 53 ; y» south, 54 rod ; and y" west line is 55 rod. 

Surveyed by JAMES KEYES. 

Recorded Jan. 6, 1728. 

March 18, 1729.— f The school-house shall be twenty-one feet long and 
sixteen feet wide, and seven feet between joynts. Zerubbable Eager 
and John Hunt were chosen a committee to lay out the grounds, and let 
the school-house to be built. 

December 28, 1736.— J Voted to pay John Sherman, Phineas Rice, and 
the heirs of Samuel Biglo, deceased, the sum of twenty-eight pounds of 
money, or bills of credit, for building the school-house. 

The following data was copied from the town records : — 

1736. — Voted to have a schoolmaster, and the following persons were 
chosen a committee to procure one : Nathaniel Sherman, Charles Brig- 
ham, Captain Willard. Chose Nehemiah How, Capt. James Leland and 
Abner Stow, a committee to procure a schoolmaster for the year en- 
suing. Paid Nehemiah How four pounds, one shilling and eight pence 
for keeping school. 

1737. — Voted to move the school into five places, and Nathaniel Sher- 
man, Joseph Willard, Charles Brigham, Thomas Pratt and Phineas 
Hardy were chosen the committee to move the school. Voted to raise 
forty pounds for schooling. 

1738. — Paid Samuel Cooper three pounds and four shillings for keep- 
ing school. 

1739.— Paid James Whipple for keeping school. 

1740. — Voted this year to have the school " in the middle of the mid- 
dle of the town." Voted to have a standing school kept in the school- 
house for six months. Voted in September, of this year, to have a 
moving school till the next of March. 

The school-house was erected in 1731, and the proprietors 
with the other English families acted in concert in support- 
ing the school. This building stood about where the dwell- 



* Proprietors' Records, t Ibid. J Ibid. 



260 HISTORY OF GEAFTOH. 

inai-house of Charles H. Leland now stands, near the Bap- 
tist meeting-house horse-sheds. There are several persons 
now living who began their education in it, and played at 
recess on the walls of the old pound, near by. About this 
time the settlement continued to increase, and marks of in- 
dustry and civilization to become more apparent. This 
school-house was removed from the common about 1832, 
and was used by Mr. George Clapp as a carpenter's shop, 
and is .now the woodshed of Mr. John Whitney. About 
this time a new building was erected on North street, near 
the residence of Mrs. Drake, and after being used for a 
number of years as a school-house was moved farther up the 
street on land owned by Rufus E. Warren, nearly opposite 
his residence, and used as a currier's shop. The i)resent 
brick school-house was built a short time before the other 
was moved. 

The first school-house in the Keith Hill district was 
erected on land where the present building now stands, as 
was the case in the George Hill, and Merriam districts. 

The first school-house in the Saundersville district was 
built on an eminence on the road leading to this village, 
near the residence of Benjamin Heywood, by a Mr. Cun- 
ningham, and was known by the sobriquet of " Science 
Hill." A few years ago the present school-house was built, 
and the old one was vacated. 

The school-house at New England Tillage was first built 
on land opposite the residence of Jasper Putnam. This 
was vacated, and one hnilt near the one now occupied. 

The school-house on Brigham Hill was built on land 
owned by the Brigham family, between their residence and 
the house of Timothy Sherman. When Hon. William 
Brigham came into possession of the property, the school- 
house was moved to its present site, near the foot of the 
hill. 

Prior to 1800, a school-house stood on tlie road to Far- 
numsville, about half-way between the houses of Pcrley 



EDUCATIONAL. 261 

Goddard and Charles "White. This building was built by 
persons who resided in the vicinity, for the purpose of hav- 
ing their children instructed in " reading, writing and cypher- 
ing." This building was subsequently removed to Farnums- 
ville, on land nearly opposite the residence of Josiah Hall, 
to accommodate the scholars in that part of the district. 
When the brick school-house was built this was taken 
down. 

Rev. Aaron Hutchinson, who was ordained pastor of the 
church here in 1750, not only united in himself the clei'gy- 
man and farmer, after the common custom of his time, but 
combined with his clerical and agricultural pursuits the 
office of teacher. Well autlienticated tradition has handed 
down to us the ingenious expedient by which he managed 
so to economize time as to meet his multifarious engage- 
ments. His method was to teach Latin and Greek, and 
probably other branches, as he wrought in the field, — his 
pupils being required to follow him as he followed the 
plough. His classical attfiinments and strong memory 
enabled him thus to cultivate mind and mould at the same 
time. Both soils, we doubt not, were well tilled, though we 
may innocently conjecture that the master at the plough- 
handle would now and then be guilty of an ungrammatical 
apocope, as the share was caught with frequent jerks among 
the roots and rocks of the rough new country. None but 
an accomplished linguist, we are sure, could under such 
circumstances, have administered Greek to the student, and 
English to the cattle, in due proportion and proper order, 
without confusion. 

* Samuel Hall, of Plainfield, in the State of Connecticut, 
is to keep school in the town of Grafton, in the winter 
season, in the year one thousand seven hundred and eighty- 
eight. 

In 1797, JSathan Jones, Jr., taught school for nine weeks 
and three days in the Merriam district. 

♦ Joseph Bruce's old papers. 



262 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

In 1804, Phinehas Gleason, of Westborongh, taught school 
in the Merriam district for nine weeks. 

Mrs. Dea Joseph Merriam (Sally Lelaud) taught school in 
this town from 1806 to 1812, when she was married. 

In 1819, the schoolmaster of the town was David Stone, 
a graduate of Union College, New York, who boarded 
with Josph Bruce. He afterwards went west and died there. 
He is said to have been an inveterate smoker. 

Amos W. StockwcU taught school in the George Hill 
district in 1828, and was employed by Jonathan Brooks, the 
prudential committee, who managed the affairs of that 
district. 

In 1851, Mr. Newell Wedge kept a select private school 
in Saundersville, throngh the liberality of Mr. Esek Saun- 
ders, who gave the use of his school-house for the purpose. 
The school had been previously and was subsequently kept 
in Wilkinsonville. 

The school was composed of scholars from Sutton, 
Wilkinsonville and Saundersville. Miss Augusta M. Taft, 
Miss Emma McClellan and Mrs. Martha Webb were mem- 
bers of this school, who have distinguished themselves as 
teachers. 

The school districts in the town of Grafton, are bounded 
as follows : — Beginning with tlie centre or school district 
No. 1, wliere the Central Manufacturing Company take the 
water from Perley Goddard's pond near to Ferley God- 
dard's mill, being a bound of school district No. 7, and 
running in a direct line southerly to the cross in the Mill- 
bury and Cold Spring-brook roads a little southwesterly of the 
Rev. Otis Converse's house, thence southeasterly by Leland 
or No. 2 school district to the end of a wall on the east side 
of the road leading from the centre of Grafton to Peter 
Farnum's, being the division wall between Joseph Bruce 
and land of the late Joseph Whipple, deceased, and one of 
the bounds of the Farnum school district, or No. 6 district, 
thence easterly on said division wall by said No. 6 school 



EDUCATIONAL. 263 

district to a brook a bound of No. 6 school district, and the 
Read or No. 5 to Upton between Joseph Bruce's and the 
late John Warren's land by school district No. 5, thence 
northeasterly in a direct line to a point thirty rods due north 
of Samuel Prentice's house, these two last lines by the Read 
or No. 5 school district, and is a bound of the Merriarn or 
No. 8 school district, thence northerly in a direct line by 
the school district No. 8 to the northeast corner of Charles 
Aldrich's barn, a bound of school district No. 8, and a 
corner of the Farm school district or school district No. 4, 
thence westerly in a direct line by school district No. 4 to a 
ledge of rocks nortli of said Aldrich's dwelling-house in the 
road the top of said rocks has recently been blown off, 
thence westerly in a direct line by said district No. 4 to the 
bridge over the brook in the road a little north of the 
dwelling-house of the late Abner Temple, deceased, thence 
down the thread of said brook to the line of John Wheeler's 
land, and is the dividing line between the said Wlioeler and 
said Temple, deceased, and is also a bound of the New 
England Village or No. 9 school district, thence southwesterly 
in a direct line by the school district No. 9 to a large rock 
on the land of Jonathan Wheeler, Esq., at the eastern edge 
of Perley Goddard's Mill Pond by what was once called 
the fordway westerly from Joseph Dispeau's dwelling-house, 
being a bound of No. 9 and the Brigham Hill or No. 7 
scliool district, thence turning and running southerly by said 
district No. 7 in a direct line over a part of said pond to the 
bound first mentioned. 

The Leland or No. 2 school district is bounded as follows : 
— Beginning at the corners of land of Joseph Bruce, and 
the late Joseph Whipple, deceased, on the eastei'ly side of 
the County road leading from the centre of Grafton to 
Northbridge through the Farnum Village, and running by 
school district No. 1 in a direct line northwesterly to the 
cross of the Millbury and Cold Spring-brook roads a little 
southwesterly of the Rev. Otis Converse's dwelling-house, 



264 HISTOET OF QEAFTON. 

thence by the school district No. 7 in a direct line westerly 
to a point on the line between the towns of Millbury and 
Grafton, thirty rods north of the road leading from Grafton 
to Millbury by Charles Daniels' house, thence southerly on 
the said town line and the line between Sutton and Grafton, 
crossing the Blackstoue E.iver and Canal to the southwest 
corner of Grafton, thence easterly on said Sutton line to 
the Blackstone River, thence on the threads of said river 
and the Little river by the Farnum or No. 6 school district 
northerly to the line between Joel Sibley and Samuel 
Leland's land at the corner of the district No. 6, thence 
easterly to the bound first mentioned. 

Tlie George Hill No. 3 school district is bounded as 
follows : — Beginning on the town's line between Grafton 
and Upton where the old county road leading from Upton 
to Sutton crosses the line, thence northwesterly by the 
Fannura or No. 6 school district in a direct line to a point 
thirty rods southeast of the house where Ebenezer Burril 
now lives, thence by school district No. 5 or the Read dis- 
trict in a direct line to the northeast corner of Royal Keith's 
land near Joseph Knox's dwelling-house, thence by said 
district northerly to a spring on the easterly side of the road 
leading from Joseph Prentice's to Jeremiah Flagg's on the 
line between Joseph Prentice and Jeremiah Flagg's land, 
thence southeasterly by the school district No. 8 to an old 
mill dam between Thaddeus Read's and Moses Rockwood's 
laud, thence by said district in a direct line northeasterly to 
the forks of the roads leading from tlie late Jonathan Stow's 
dwelling-house to Jeremiah Flagg's and to Upton line, thence 
due oast by said district to Upton line, thence on said town 
line southerly to the first mentioned bound. 

The Farm or No. 4 school district is bounded as follows : 
— Beginning at the centre of the road leading from Grafton 
to Westborongh near Russell Fay's, thence southwesterly 
by the Merriam or No. 8 school district in a direct line to 
the northeast corner of Charles Aldrich's barn, thence by 



EDUCATIONAL. 265 

tlie school district No. 1 in a direct line northerly to a ledge 
of rocks in the road a few rods north of Chai-les Aldrich's 
house, a part of wiiich has recently been blown off, thence 
by said district No. 1 westerly in a direct line to a bridge 
over the brooli in the road north of tlie late Abner Temple's 
dwelling-house, thence by said district on the thread of said 
brook to the division line of land between the said Abner 
Temple and John Wlieeler, thence by the school district 
No. 9 northerly in a direct line to the forks of the roads 
between Elijah Brooks' and Moses Adams', thence by said 
district nortlieasterly in a direct line to the town road east 
of Daniel Cutler's dwelling-house, thence on said road by 
said district to Slirewsbnry line, thence by Shrewsbury and 
Westbovongli town lines to the said bound first mentioned. 

The Read or No. 5 sciiool district is bounded as follows : 
— ^Beginning tliirty rods due north of Samuel Prentice's 
dwelling-house, thence by school district No. 1 in a direct 
line southwesterly to the southerly side of the County road 
leading from Grrafton to Upton to a point between Joseph 
Bruce's and tiio late Jolm Warren's land on said road, thence 
by said district soutliwesterly to wliere the brook crosses the 
line between land of Joseph Bruce and the late Joseph 
Whipple, thence by school district No. 6 southeasterly in a 
direct line to an old cellar formerly occupied by Isaac New- 
man, tlienco soutlierly on said school district No. 6 to a 
point thirty rods southeast of the house where Ebonezer 
Burril now lives, thence by tlie school district No. 8 in a 
direct line to tlie northeast corner of Royal Keith's land 
near Joseph Knox's house, thence northerly to a spring at 
tlie northwest corner of the school district No. 3, thence by 
school district No. 8 in a direct line to the bound first men- 
tioned. 

The school district No. 6 or Farn urn's is bounded as fol- 
lows : — Beginning at the corner of land of Joseph Bruce 
and the late Joseph Whipple, on the east side of the road 
leading from Grafton to Northbridge and running by the 
S4 



266 HISTOKT OF GEAFTON. 

school distrct No. 1 in a direct line easterly -to where the 
Bruce Brook crosses the line between Joseph Bruce and the 
late Joseph Whipple's land, thence southeasterly by the 
school district No. 5 to an old cellar formerly occupied by 
Isaac Newman, thence hy said district No. 5 soutlierly in a 
direct line to a point thirty rods southeast of the bouse where 
Ebenezer Burril now lives, thence by school district No. 3 
southerly in a direct line to Upton line, thence southerly 
and westerly on Upton and Northbridge town lines to the 
Blackstone Eiver, thence northerly on the Blackstone and 
Little rivers by school district No. 2 to the line between 
Samuel Leland's and Joel Sibley's land, thence northeasterly 
in a direct line to the first mentioned bounds. 

The Brigham Hill or No. 7 school district is bounded as 
follows : — Beginning at a large rock on Jonathan Wheeler's 
land at the edge of Perley Goddard's Mill Pond, a bound 
of district No. 1, and running in a direct line by school 
district No. 9, northwesterly to a stone bridge a few rods 
southwesterly of the late Col. Jonathan Wheeler's dwelling- 
house, thence northwesterly by district No. 9 to a heap of 
stones in a wall on the east side of the road leading from 
Joshua Harrington to the New England Village, so-called, 
and was the southeast corner bound of Moses Adams' 
pasture and also the ancient bound of the Flint Farm so- 
called, known as the great white oak tree, thence by district 
No. 9 due west to Millbury town line, thence southerly on 
the said town line to a point thirty rods northerly of the 
road leading from Grafton to Millbury being northwest 
corner of school district No. 2, thence easterly by district 
No. 2 in a direct line to the cross of the Cold Spring-brook 
and Millbury roads a little southwest of the Rev. Otis Con- 
verse's dwelling-house,- thence northei'ly by school district 
No. 1 in a direct line to where the Central Manufacturing 
Company takes the water from Perley Goddard's Mill Pond 
near the said Goddard's mill, thence by said district No. 1 
in a direct line to the bounds first mentioned. 



EDUCATIONAL. 267 

The school district No. 8 or the Merriaru district is bounded 
as follows : — Beginning wliere the County road from Graf- 
ton to Westborongh crosses the town line between Antipas 
Fay's and Russel Fay's, thence by the Farm or school dis- 
trict No. i to the northeast corner of Charles Aldrich's 
barn, thence in a direct line by school district No. 1 to a 
point thirty rods due north of Samuel Prentice's dwelling- 
house, thence by school district No. 5, southerly to a spring 
at the northeast corner of the said school district No. 5 and 
the northwest corner of the school district No. 3, thence by 
school district No. 3 to the Upton town line, thence north- 
erly on the Upton and Westborough town lines to the first 
mentioned bounds. 

The New England Village or No. "9 school district is 
bounded as follows : — Beginning at a large rock on Jonathan 
Wheeler's land at the edge of Ferley Goddard's Mill Fond, 
a bound of districts No. 1 and No. 7, and running north- 
westerly to school district No. 7 in a direct line to a stone 
bridge a few rods southwesterly of tiie late Col. Jonathan 
Wheeler's dwelliiig-liouso, thence northwesterly to a heap of 
stones in a wall on the east side of the road leading from 
Joshua Harrington's to the New England Village and was 
the southeast corner bound of Moses Adams' pasture, and 
also tlie ancient bound of the Flint farm, so-called, thence 
by district No. 7 due west to Millbury town line, thence 
northerly by Millbury town line, the Gore and eastern edge 
of Flint's Pond, so-called, to tlie Shrewsbury town line, 
thence easterly by the Shrewsbury town line by several 
angles to the town road leading from Daniel Cutler's to 
Slirewsbury, and the corner of the school district No. 4, 
thence by said town road and district No. 4r, thence south- 
westerly in a direct line by district No. 4 to the fork of the 
road between Elijah Brooks and Moses Adams southerly to 
the County road by Daniel Cutler's, thence southwesterly in 
a direct line to where the division line between Jonathan 
Wheeler and the late Abner Temple crosses a brook and a 



268 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

bound of No. 1 school district, tlience in a southerly direc- 
tion by school district No. 1 to the first mentioned bound. 

CHARLES BRIGHAM, Jr. 
MOSES EOBEUTS. 
CYRUS LELAND. 
EPH'M GOULDING. 
JOSHUA W. LELAND. 
LUKE LELANU. 
THADDEUS READ. 
OTIS ADAMS. 
SAMUEL WOOD, 

Committee chosen to define the limits of the 
several School Districts in Qrafton. 

In 1844 the school in the Centre was divided in the sum- 
mer into three departments, and int6 fonr during the winter. 
During the summer term, of eigiit weeks, the schools pro- 
gressed well under excelleiit teachers. The committee refer 
to the school in the third department as a model school. 
The winter term in this district was shorter tlmn tlio sum- 
mer, being only seven weeks long. A new and commodious 
room was fitted up for the additional department, in the east 
end of the house, on the first floor. 

At Leiand district the scholars, during the summer term, 
made considerable advancement. The committee refer to 
the school-house here as follows : " In taking leave of this 
school, the committee wish they could likewise take a finjal 
leave of the old school house. They hope they do not 
wound the antiquarian sensitiveness of any, or disturb the 
pleasing associations of any one's cliildhood, by venturing 
the suggestion, that they do not consider this school-house 
as either ornamental or convenient. There' was a painful 
feeling of insecurity as they traversed the room, lest some 
of the yielding boards beneath their feet sliould prove 
treacherous, and launch them suddenly into ' unexplored 
regions,' or lest some projecting fragment of board should 
prove a snare to their feet, and tripping tiieni up, involve 
them in a mortifying embarrassment. It is verily a place in 



EDUCATIONAL. 269 

which it behoves all to take heed to their ways. Thesj'mpa- 
thics of your coiniiiittco were strongly moved also for the 
scholars, many of whom, they perceived, were unable to sit 
down at all ; the seats being so high that they could only sit 
up — or, more appropriately, hang themselves up. They beg 
leave to inquire if this mode of suspension is found to be a 
decided improvement on the old custom of down-sitting, and 
whether it is extensively practised in the dwelling-houses in 
that district. The only object in the room which seemed to 
be comfortably seated was the stove, which rested upon a 
huge rock in the centre. Its scat was certainly wider than 
those intended for the scholars, a little lower, and perhaps 
no harder. The door was unique. The panels were vari- 
gated, and such, that in case any accident should render the 
removal of one necessary, the nearest wood-pile or door- 
yard would certainly supply a suitable substitute. The com- 
mittee would not recommend the district to be at any ex- 
pense to improve the ventilation of the house ; lirst, because 
the ventilation is perfect now (the only perfection they have 
the pleasure to mention) ; and secondly, because they think 
annihilation better than ventilation. They very much fear 
that the educational structures, reared within such a honse, 
may resemble the house itself. The committee undei'stand 
that the district intend to erect a more comely and commo- 
dious building, but that they are delaying on account of the 
difficulty of determining wlierc it shall stand. We defer- 
entially submit the qncry, whether delay will make the ditS- 
cnlty any less ?" In the Farm district the school showed the 
effects of past misfortunes. The evils of an unfit teacher 
do not cease with his own term of instruction. At the 
Keith Hill district the school was creditable to the teacher. 
The school at Farnumsville was divided, both terms, into 
two departments. In the younger school a change of teach- 
ers took place without the knowledge or consent of the 
committee. They advise that the law, authorizing a town 
treasurer to pay a school-teacher's wages only when he or 



270 HISTORY OF GEArrON. 

she files with him a certificate of qualification from the com- 
mittee, be enforced. The teachers in the Brigham Hill dis- 
trict were faithful. The school at Merriam district was 
neither decidedly bad, nor wonderfully good. The only 
fault found was that it had not more character. The 
schools at New England Village did not quite come up to 
the expectations of the committee. The infant school was 
obliged to vacate their own room during the winter term on 
account of its unfitness. The school in the Saundersville 
district was very good, during both terms. 

In 1869, the committee report: " The Centre should have 
a new house this season. Select an acre of land, a good 
acre — it is not too much — in a dry place, if it can be found, 
if not, drain it thoroughly ; fence it ; put the building on the 
side farthest from the streel — no school-house should be on 
a busy street, it is not safe — if there are four departments, 
have, if possible, as many entrances ; make the rooms high 
and ventilate them ; place in them the modern cherry-wood 
seats on iron supports ; surround the walls with blackboards 
of generous dimensions, and especially have out-buildings 
which will not be a disgrace to civilized society. All these 
and more you can give your children, and they will repay 
you tenfold for them. They have done their studying now 
several years in a house sadly behind the times ; during 
recesses, and intermission at noon, they have been turned 
out into tlie dirty, muddy street to play, to be frightened and 
run over by horses and carriages. And your committee 
think it would be poor economy, poor morality and meagre 
justice, to allow this state of things to remain. Meanwhile, 
we would say to the children, be patient as you have been ; 
treat the old house with that tender respect which is always 
due to sad infirmities and tottering decrepitude. Your pa- 
rents, wlien they can agree on the location, and can see 
clearly what is needed, will make up, it is hoped, for all 
delays. Again, we say, it is time to have a new school- 
house in the Centre." The teachers employed at the Centra 



ED0OATIONAL. 271 

were: Miss Jane E. Warren, Miss M. L. Hewett, Miss A. 

E. Flagg, Miss 0. Harrington ; four excellent teachers. 
Miss S. E. Batchelder was employed as teacher in Leland 
district, and the change for the better in the deportment of 
the scholars was noticeable. The George Hill school was 
under the tutorship of Miss L. K. Smith. At the Farms 
district. Miss A. M. Pratt taught in the summer, and Mr. H. 
H. Merriam in the winter. At Keith Hill, Miss S. K. Ham- 
mond taught in the summer, and Miss Jane L. Case in the 
winter. The school at Farnumsville was, in the summer, 
under Miss L. M. Pratt and Miss K. Thayer ; in the winter, 
Mr. J. M. Hammond and Miss E.. Thayer. At Brigham 
Hill, Miss R. L. French taught in the summer, and Mr. P. 
Goddard in the winter. The Merriam district school was 
taught in the summer by Miss M. S. Warren, and in the 
winter by Mr. S. N. Rogers. The teachers at New Eng- 
land Village were Misses A. 0. Redding, A. E., Mills and 
S. E. Pinkham ; at Saundersville, Miss S. J. Brown ; at 
Waterville, Misses M. I. H. Allen and E. L. Allen. 

In 1862, the chairman of the school committee, Capt. W. 

F. Wheeler, a gentleman who felt a deep interest in the edu- 
cation of the young, and who was himself a successful 
teacher, feeling that the country, in that hour of peril, had 
a claim upon his services, gave up his employment as a 
teaclier, resigned his place as member of the school com- 
mittee, and went forth to defend those rights which were so 
dear_ to every loyal heart. Rev. William Miller was ap- 
pointed to fill his place on the board. The committee re- 
ported of the school in the Centre : " Many schools have 
done well, but this, if it has not excelled them all, stands in 
the front rank. Seldom do we hud a school of so high an 
order as this." Miss Case had the hearty thanks of the 
committee for the faithful manner in wliich she has dis- 
charged her duties. Miss Mary L. Hewett had the superin- 
tendence of the second department through the year. Miss 
H. .maintained her rank as one of our best teachers. She 



272 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

•was accurate in lier drill, earnest in her efforts, efficient in 
her government, and devoted to her work. Miss Katie Har- 
rington had tlie charge of the third department througli tlie 
year. Miss H. was an experienced teacher. The many 
little ones of the fourth department were committed during 
the year to the care of Miss L. E. French. The Leland dis- 
trict scliool was through the year under the management of 
Miss Adelia Drnry. At George Hill, the summer school 
was tauglit by Miss Mary 11. Coggin ; the school in the 
winter term was under the instruction of Mr. T. Dwight 
Biscoe. The summer term of the scliool at the Farms was 
taught by Miss S. J. Axtell ; Miss Mary L. Lewis taught the 
fall and winter terms. Wlien Miss L. entered upon her 
labors, at the commencement of the fall term, she found the 
school " demoralized." 

Miss Addie Tidd was the instructor of tlie Keith Hill 
school through the year. There has notliing occurred to in- 
terrupt the harmonious relation between teacher and pupils. 
The teacher labored earnestly and faithfully. She had tact, 
an easy method of communicating instruction ; loved her 
work ; and, by her persuasive manners, exerted a good influ- 
ence over hor pupils. The summer and fall terms of the 
first department of the Farnumsville school were taught by 
Miss Caroline L. Nichols. She was a good teacher, and well 
adapted to her work. Miss M. Clark was the teacher of the 
second department, summer and fall terms ; the winter term 
was taught by Miss Caroline L. Nichols. 

Mit^s Caroline Ayres had the charge of the Brigham 
Hill scliool through the summer and fall terms, and Miss 
Lucy B. Gilbert during the winter. During the summer 
and fall the school, though a backward one, made good im- 
provement. At Meri'iam district Miss Ellen J. Goodell was 
the teacher. "With her few scholars Miss G. did quite well. 
Progress was apparent. The first department of tlie New 
England Village school was in faithful hands — Miss J. E. 
Warren — an able, experienced teacher. The order of this 



EDUCATIONAL. 273 

school was most excellent. No whispering was allowed or 
practised. Quietness and stndionsness were the order of the 
day. The school made steady progress from term to term, 
for eacli day accomplished something; each week much. 
Second department, Miss F. L. Howland and Miss Helen 
Harlow were .the teachers. This was regarded as a difficult 
school, and through the year fully sustained its character. 
The third department: This company of little ones was in- 
trusted to the care of Miss Abbie Mory. As a skillful 
officer, she secured order and respect. Miss Carrie S. 
White, to whom the Saundersville school was intrusted, was 
a good teacher. She was not afraid of work, of hard work. 
The Waterville school was, through the year, under the 
superintendence of Miss M. I. H. Allen. 

In 1864, in the Centre District, an efficient corps of 
teachers labored successfully during the year. Much hard 
work was performed, and good progress made, especially in 
the first department, over which Miss Jane E. Warren had 
charge. 

Miss M. L. Hewett had charge of the second depart- 
ment, and she succeeded well ; the scholars were accurately 
taught, and made good progress. 

Miss Katie Harrington and Miss Addie Tidd were the 
teacihers in the third and fourth departments. Their rooms 
were crowded with scholars ; the first having sixty, between 
the ages of seven and ten ; and the second over eighty, all 
undei; eight years of age. In the Leland District, Miss 
Emma A. Howe taught in the summer, it being her first 
experience as a teacher. Tiie scliool was very small, averag- 
ing but eight. The results were fair, all that could be 
expected under the circumstances 

In the fall and winter terms. Miss Carrie S. White had 
charge of the school, and exhibited so much tact in instruct- 
ing and governing the scliolars as to gain their good-will 
and hearty co-operation. The George Hill school was under 
the care of Miss Amelia White through the year. The 
85 



274 HISTOKr OF gkafton. 

closing examination of the summer terms gave, evidence 
that she had succeeded v^ell in the instruction and govern- 
ment of her scholars. 

Of the school at the Farms, the summer term was taught 
by Miss M. I. H. Allen. In the fall term Miss M. E. 
Knovylton taught for the first four weeks, when a lurking 
insanity developed itself and she was obliged to give up her 
school. The term was finished by Miss Allen. 

The winter terra was taught by Miss A. C. McCrillis, and 
gave satisfaction to the committee and to the people of the 
district. Miss Loresta French taught the Keith Hill school 
in summei", fall and winter. . It was smaller than last year. 
The people of the district have, also, done themselves credit 
by repairing, at a cost of $160, the school-house. The new 
seats, the clean walls, and other improvements add greatly 
to the attractiveness and convenience of the building. 

In the summer and fall terms of the Farnumsville school. 
Miss C. L. Nichols had charge of the first department and 
Miss F. I. Wood of the second. They were prosperous 
schools. 

In the winter Miss Wood taught successfully in the small 
school, and Mrs. S. A. Spalter in the large. As Miss 
Nichols, who bad taught this school so long and so well, 
was unable, on account of sickness, to teach, the district was 
fortunate in securing the services of so experienced and 
thorough a teacher as Mrs. Spalter. The school at Brigham 
Hill was unde'r the care of Miss A. C. McCrillis during the 
summer and fall terms. Good order prevailed, and fair 
improvement was made. The winter school, in charge of 
Mr. Perley Goddard, made commendable progress. Mr. 
Goddard taught the school several winter terms previously, 
and always with good success. " But the school can never 
be what it ought to be, until it has a greatly improved house. 
It much needs the refining influence which a liberal expendi- 
ture of money in repairs and improvements, in and around 
the school-house, would impart." Miss 0, A. Wood had 



EDUCATIONAL. 275 

charge of the Meriam District school during the year, and 
a decided improvement was made in the school by her 
labors. She drilled her scholars well. Of the school at 
New England Village, the first department in the summer 
was under the instruction of Mrs. H. A. Copp. The 
improvement was quite satisfactory. The scholars were 
animated and recited with promptness and accuracy. Miss 
A. E. Hawes taught the school in the fall and succeeded 
well. In the winter Miss L. A. Eaton taught for a few 
weeks, when on account of her health failing, she resigned, 
and was succeeded by Mrs. R. Thayer, who completed the 
term. The second department in the summer was in charge 
of Miss A. F. Morey, whose affectionate manner and ener- 
getic administration made the school a decided success. Miss 
M. A. Lewis taught and governed the school, in a very 
satisfactory manner, in the fall and winter terms. ■ The third 
department was under the care of Miss M. S. Goodrich 
through the year. And her patient, cheerful temper, her 
interest in the little ones committed to her care, and her 
ability to train them in singing made the school pleasant and 
useful to the scholars. The Saundersville school was under 
the care of Miss Emma C MeClellan through the year. 
She had prosperous terms in the summer and fall. In the 
winter the school was large, and difficult to manage on 
account of its numbers. 

In the fall the school was so large that twenty-three of 
the smaller scholars were taken out and placed under the 
care of Miss Augusta Taft, who succeeded very well with 
her little charge. Tlie teacher of the Waterville school in 
the summer and fall was Miss L. E. Balcom, who labored 
with earnestness and a good degree of success. Mrs. H. A. 
Copp taught the winter term of this school. She was an 
experienced and successful teacher. 

In 1865 the first department of the school in the Centre 
was under the charge of Miss Jane E. Warren during the 
year. Miss Mary L. Hewett had the care of the second 



276 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

department during the year. She discharged lier dnties 
with dilisence. The scholars, at the several visitations of 
the committee, appeared orderly and attentive to their books, 
and engaged vyith interest in their recitations ; and at the 
closing examination gave evidence that they had made good 
progress iu their studies. 

Miss Katie Harrington had charge of tlie third depart- 
ment for the year, and well sustained her previous good 
reputation as a teacher. Her willing and patient labors were 
well seconded by her numerous little flock. 

The fourth department was taught by Miss Addie Tidd, 
in the summer and fall terms. She was kind and gentle, 
patient and winning in her ways, as it is highly desirable 
every teacher should be who has charge of three score little 
ones. The result of Iier labor was a well trained and 
successful school. This department, for the short winter term 
of six weeks, was committed to Miss Loresta Fi'ench. 

The school at Leland District was under the care of Miss 
Susie M. Champney through the year ; that at George Hill 
under the care of Miss Emma McClellan, and the fall term 
under the charge of Emily Eames. In the summer and fall 
the school in the Farms District was taught by Miss A. C. 
McCrillis, and the winter term by the same lady under the 
name of Mrs. H. A. "Wesson. Miss Fannie M. Daniels 
taught the summer term in the Keith Hill District. Of the 
fall term Miss Carrie E. A. Knowlton had charge ; a teacher 
of some experience, and gave good satisfaction. The ser- 
vices of Miss Nelson were secured for the winter term. Siie 
was well acquainted with a teacher's duties, and had taught 
this school before. Her success was satisfactory. Farnums- 
ville District, in the first department the summer and fall 
terms were taught by Mrs. L. A. Spalter ; a thorough 
teacher and a good disciplinarian. The summer terra was 
broken up near its close by sickness in the district. There- 
fore there was no examination. The winter term was taught 
by Miss Annie E. Heath. The school, under her care, fully 



EDUCATIONAL. 277 

eiistaiiiGcl the position whicli it iiad attained under the former 
teacher. Tiie second department in tlie summer and fall, 
was under the care of Miss Maria A. Spalter. The winter 
term was taught by Miss Emma Bellows. Being a new 
teacher and quite j'oung, the committee did not expect to 
find a perfect school. At Brigham Hill, Miss L. M. Bellows 
was teacher through the year. The committee hope, for 
the credit of the district, that tiie dilapidated, worn-out 
structure, will bo displaced by a far better one. The school 
at Merriam District was taught in the summer by Loresta 
French, fall by Miss Alice Wood, and winter by Jane Case. 
The first department of the New England Village school 
was in charge of Miss C. Wood, who after teaching accept- 
ably a few weeks, was obliged, owing to the failure of her 
health, to give up the school. She was succeeded by Miss 
E. W. Lowell, who apparently did all for the school that 
any one could do in the short time it was under her care. 
Miss Lowell also had charge of the school in the fall, and 
by the dignity of her manner, the thoroughness of her 
teachings, and the strictness of her discipline, she gave 
evidence to the committee that she was the right teacher in 
the right place. The winter term of this school was, at the 
opening, under the charge of Miss E. L. Biscoe, but her 
health, which was much impaired when she commenced, 
became so poor that she was obliged, after a few days, to 
resign her place. Mr. Henry Merriam was obtained to 
succeed her, and as the result of his faitJiful teaching and 
efiicient discipline, the school was carried to a successful 
close. In the second department Miss Carrie S. White, well 
known as a faithful, animated teacher, had charge of the 
school in the summer and fall terms, and, under her care, 
the scholars made good progress, both in their studies and 
their general behavior. Miss C. L. Nichols, also well known 
as a successful teacher, had charge of the school in the 
winter. The third department was under the care, through 
the year, of Miss S. M. Goodrich, of whom it is enough to 



278 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

say, that, in respect to good order, animation and progress- 
iveness, she made this almost a model school for little 
children. The school in the Saiindersville District was 
under the instruction of Miss Augusta Taft during the three 
terms of the year. The committee would award much com- 
mendation to the teacher for her devoted faithfulness to the 
interests of the children committed to her care. The Water- 
ville District scliool was fortunate in employing through the 
year the services of so intelligent, experienced, conscientious 
and laborious a teacher as Mrs. H. A. Copp. Under her 
wise management and thorough training the school attained 
a high degree of excellence. During the year the prelimi- 
nary steps were talcenin district No. 2, to remove the venera- 
ble house from " the hill of science " to some more accessible 
location, rejuvenate and enlarge it. 

In 1866, at the Centre District, the schools were taught 
by tlie same teachers through the year : The first depart- 
ment by Miss Emma C. McClellan, the second by Miss M. 
L. Hewett, the third by Miss Katie Harrington, and the 
fourth by Miss Loresta E. French. Miss Harrington and 
Miss Hewett have taught so long and so well among us, that 
any vi'ords of ours in commendation of their schools would 
seem superfluous. The school of Miss French was pleasant, 
cheerful and orderly. In Miss McClellaii's department there 
was not wanting proof that the pupils had been carefully 
and faithfully taught in the principles of good reading, cor- 
rect spelling and neat penmanship. 

The teacher at Leland District, Miss Irene A. Fay, consid- 
ering that this was her first school, did remarkably well; all 
parties, so far as we know, were satisfied with her school. 

Tlie school at George Hill, through the summer and fall 
terms, was in charge of Miss Emily Eames ; Mrs. Kate 
Weld taught the school in the winter. 

Miss Mary K. Oliver had charge of the school at the 
"Farms," and the fall and winter terms were taught by Miss 
Jennie P. Fisk. The school made good progress through 
the' vear. 



EDUCATIONAL. 279 

At Keith Hill, the summer and fall terms were under the 
charge of Miss Harriet D. Nelson ; in the winter term, Miss 
Nellie A. Perry taught the school. 

In the first department of the Farnumsville school. Miss 
Frances Beane taught the summer and fall terms. The 
school was not kept during the winter term. The second 
department was under the care of Miss Emma F. Bellows 
through the year. And there seemed to be a pleasant rela- 
tion existing between the teacher and her pupils, and a cred- 
itable degree of improvement. 

At the Brigham Hill District, Miss Ellen Whitney occu- 
pied the position of teacher in this school through the year. 
Her manner in the school was very quiet and mild — too 
much so. She needed more energy, and more independence 
of her books, to make her an effective and successful 
teacher. 

At the Merriam District, in the summer term, the school 
was taught by Miss J. L. Case ; in the fall by Miss N. A. 
Hayward ; in the winter by Miss Irene A. Fay. These 
teachers labored diligently for the improvement of their 
scholars, and with a good degree of success, especially in the 
summer and fall terms. 

The several schools of the New England Village District 
were under the care of the same teachers through the year. 
The first department was in charge of Miss Jane E. Warren, 
of whose ability as a teacher we have expressed ourselves in 
the reports of previous years. Groat praise was due to the 
teacher for her labors in behalf of the scholars. Not only 
did she instruct them in the usual branches of school study, 
but also in politeness and good manners. Miss L. M. Bel- 
lows was the teacher in the second department. She had 
some experience, and was a good disciplinarian. Her school 
was orderly, and the examination at the close of the sum- 
mer and fall terms showed that it had made good improve- 
ment. The third department was under the charge of Miss 
S. M. Goodrich, wljo, as in former years, labored faithfully 



280 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

and successfully for the welfare of her scholars; and the 
promptness with which they performed their various exer- 
cises was very commendable to both teacher and pupils. 
This we consider among the very best of our primary 
schools. 

The school at Saundersville was fortunate in again 
securing the services of Miss Augusta Taft. She had 
charge of the school through the year. It was large during 
the summer and fall, averaging fifty-five pupils ; and the 
comtnittee would aveard to the teacher great credit for her 
fidelity to her numerous charge. Good order, promptness 
and accuracy in their recitations, characterized the pupils 
through the year. In the winter, through the liberality of 
Mr. E. Saunders in warming an extra room, the school was 
divided into two departments, Miss Taft continuing in the 
first, which she carried through successfully, and Mrs. M. J. 
Webb taking charge of the second or primary department. 
Mrs. W. was eminently successful with her little school. 

Mrs. II. A. Copp, who had taught the Waterville school 
the previous year with so much success, was again secured 
for the past year. A good school was expected ; and the 
expectations were realized. 

The committee, in their report on the condition of the 
school-houses in the Second and Eighth districts, say : " It 
is high time, wc believe, for the people in these districts 
either to apply to these buildings the axe of the destruction- 
ist or the skill of the reconstructionist for the purpose of 
displacing them by better ones, or of rendering them more 
convenient, comfortable and attractive than they are at pres- 
ent. Perhaps the description which a certain poet gives of 
his old school-house will not, in all its particulars, apply to 
these ; but we never enter them without thinking of that 
ancient edifice of which he says : — 

• A high desk ranged around the room, with many a penknife hacked ; 
The windows rattled with the wind, their panes were out or cracked; 
The benches, made of saw-mill slabs, with auger holes and pegs, 



EDUCATIONAL. 281 

Had neither backs to lean against, nor place to rest the legs ; 
The dingy ceiling overhead, looked like a little sky, , 
For there, as thick as shining stars, stuck paper pallets dry ; 
No maps or globes to meet the eye, no blackboard on the wall ; 
The house, a relic one might think, had stood since Adam's fall.' 

But the work of improvement is going on. Since our 
last report was made the people in district No. 2 have done 
a noble thing in expending several hundred dollars in im- 
provements on their schoal-house. It is now a neat, pleas- 
ant, convenient structure." 

In 1867, at the Centre, Miss Jane E. Warren had chaji'ge 
of the first department ; Miss N. M. Fernald took charge of 
this department in the winter. Miss M. L. Hewett had 
charge of the second. Miss Katie Harrington the third, 
and Miss Clara Putnam the fourth. 

At Leland District, the school was under the care of Miss 
N. M. Whitney, during the summer term ; in the fall, Miss 
E. C. McClellan had charge of it. She also commenced the 
winter term, but, owing to sickness, she was obliged to 
resign her position at tlie end of the second week, and Miss 
L. A. Searles taught during the remainder of the term. A 
better school-house, a larger number of scholars, and as a 
consequence, more enthusiasm on the part of both teacliers 
and pupils, have made this a far better school than it was a 
few years ago. 

At George Hill District, Miss S. J. Leonard was the 
teacher of the school through the year ; and considering that 
it was lier first attempt at teaching, and that she labored 
under the disadvantage of beginning in her own district, she 
succeeded very well. The closing examination was quite 
satisfactory to all who were j)rescnt. 

At the Farm District, the school was taught through the 
year by Miss J. H. Allen, a teacher of much experience. 
She had taught this school for a number of terms before, 
and the committee found at the close that she had lost none 
of her vigor and efficiency as a teaclier. 
36 



282 HiSTOEY or gbafton. 

At Keith Hill District, Miss E. S. Leland was the teacher 
of the school in summer, fall and winter. The school was 
larger than usual, averfigiiig thirty-four. 

At Farnumsville, in the first department, Miss C. L. 
Nichols, who had taught the school successfully for many 
terms, had charge of it in the summer and fall terms, and 
discharged her duties to the satisfaction of all parties. Miss 
L. E. French was the teacher in the winter term, fully sus- 
taining the interest, and giving proof of her fidelity to the 
pupils committed to her care. The second department, com- 
posed largely of children of foreign parentage, was under 
the care of Miss A. B. Wheeler, and was a very good 
school. 

At Brigham Hill, the summer term of the school was 
taught by Miss Mai-y Adams. Miss Mary T. Coburn taught 
this school in the fall term. Under her faithful and judi- 
cious care the scholars made good progress. The winter 
term was under the charge of Miss Emma F. Bellows. She 
graduated from the State Normal School. 

At Merriam District, the school-house was remodeled and 
much improved during the year. A marked improvement 
in the school itself has been tlie agreeable and natural re- 
snlt. The school was taught through the year by Miss N. 
A. Hayward, whose faithful, earnest and successful efforts 
to elevate its character have been appreciated by the pai'ents 
and the committee. 

At New England Village ; the schools in the three depart- 
ments in this district have sustained their good reputation, 
especially the Primary School, taught by Miss S. M. Good- 
rich. On account of the illness of Miss L. M. Bellows 
— teacher of tlie second department, who was compelled to 
resign in the third week of the fall term — Mrs. R. A. Thayer 
taught her school the remainder of the year. Both of 
these teachers discharged their duties conscientiously and 
well, and the school, notwithstanding the interruption, was 
a success. The first department was taught in the spring 



EDUCATIONAL. 283 

term by Miss M. N. Walker, and in the fall and winter by 
Miss N. M. Fernald. These teachers were experienced, 
capable and well qualified for their work. 

At Saundersville and WaterviUe the same teachers were 
employed as last year. 

In 1868, the schools in the Centre were all under the 
same teachers as in the previous year. 

The summer term of the Leland District school was taught 
by Miss Emma McClellan, with her usual ability and success. 
Miss Mattie N. Allen taught the fall term. Tliis was her 
first e£fort at teaching. The winter term was taken charge 
of by Mr. Perley Goddard, the prudential committee 
Good progress was made in study. 

The George Hill District school was taught both in the 
summer and fall by Miss Irene Fay, with a good degree of 
vigor and success. Miss Nellie M. Fernald had charge of 
this school in the winter. The general appearance of her 
school was. good. 

Miss Abbie M. White had charge of the Farm District 
school for the year. Miss White was energetic and apt as a 
teacher, and interested in her work. The school-room was 
always found neat and cheerful ; the scholars prompt and 
thorough. 

Miss E. S. Leland, the teacher of last year, continued to 
have charge of the school in the Keith Hill District. 

Miss Loresta French taught the first department of the 
Farnumsville District school, in the summer and fall, and 
Miss Emma Bellows the second. The winter term of the 
first department was taught by Mr. Charles Searles, and the 
second by Miss Mattie N. Allen. 

Miss E. L. Dwyer had charge of the Brigham Hill Dis- 
trict school. 

Miss Sarah Leonard was teacher in the Merriain District in 
the summer, and Miss E. F. Golding in the fall. They were 
very fair schools. Miss N. A. Hayward taught the winter 
term with her usual ability and success. On account of the 



284 HISTOET OF GKAFTOH'. 

sickness of the teacher the school closed without an exarnina 
tion. 

The Waterville school was taught by Miss R. A. Law- 
rence, a very efficient teacher. 

The schools at Saundersville were under the same teachers 
as last year. Miss N. M. Fern aid had charge of the tirst 
department of the New England District school in the 
summer and fall. She labored hard and faithfully for 
the best interests of the school. Miss L. Young had charge 
of this school in the winter. She was an active and en- 
ergetic teacher, and the improved condition of the school 
clearly demonstrated her ability to teach and govern. 

The second department was taught in the summer by 
Miss S. A. Russell. On account of sickness she was com- 
pelled to resign a few weeks before the close of the term, 
so that the school was of but little profit. But the very 
successful manner in whicli Mrs. R. A. Thayer conducted 
the fall and winter terms made ample amends foe this loss. 

The third department was taught in the summer by Miss 
S. Goodrich ; in the fall by Miss E. Rockwood, and in the 
winter by Miss M. A. Gavren. 

In the committee's report for the year was the follow- 
ing :— 

"In regard to our public schools ; after careful thought and some- 
what extensive observation, we are prepared to earnestly recommend 
the abolishing of our present district system, and the placing of all our 
schools under the more immediate care of the town ; with such changes 
in school buildings, agents, officers, and other incidentals as are neces- 
sary to carry this into effect. By so doing, we not only retain our 
annual state appropriation — otherwise no longer ours — but, as we 
believe, greatly augment the worliing force, the interest and success of 
our schools." 

In 1869, repairs were made upon the school buildings and 
out-houses on Keith and George Hills, at Farnumsville, 
"Waterville, and on the High School-house, including the 
fence and yard, at an expense of $2,500. In the latter 
there was a new floor laid ; the students' desks raised ; 



EDtTCATIONAl. 285 

a furnace substituted for the stove ; the entire school-room 
renovated ; the old and shaky fence replaced by a new and 
strong one ; the well made useful ; the out-buildings and 
grounds put into a decent and attractive condition. 
Throughout the town the teachers' desks in each school- 
room have been furnished with the text-books used therein, 
at an expense of eighty dollars and twenty-eight cents, with 
call bells, clock where needed, and every black-board 
reslated. 

Of the schools in the Centre the first department was 
under the charge of Miss E. McClellan ; the second under 
Miss M. L. Hewett ; the third under Miss C. Putnam ; and 
the fourth under Miss M. N. Allen and Miss L. French ; all 
excellent teachers. Of the New England Yillage schools, 
the first department was taught by Miss A. E. Eockwood 
and Miss M. J. Metcalf. In the second department every 
term furnished a new teacher. The several sessions were 
taught by Miss E. McClellan, Miss E. F. Spaulding, and 
Mrs. E. A. Thayer. The past efiiciency of the last teacher 
in this school was a pledge of success for the winter, and 
needed no additional commendation. The third department 
was in charge of Miss E. Daniels for the whole year. It 
being her first experience in teaching. 

At Saundersville in the first department Miss A. Taft 
taught. The thoroughness and critical training of this 
school was very commendable. 

In the second department Mrs. M. J. Webb kept the 
school for the year, holding it well in hand, and calling out 
the increasing ambition of her little flock. In the first 
department of the Farnumsville school each term supplied 
a new teacher, as follows : — Miss A. White, Miss E. F. 
Bellows, and Mrs. L. Spalter. In the second department 
there were also three teachers, viz. : — Miss E. F. Bellows, 
Miss E. Aldrich and Miss E. F. Spaulding. At the Leland 
District Mrs. S. E. Aldrich had charge for the year. 

Miss E. Dwyer taught the school at Brigham Hill through- 



286 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

out the year. Tlie attendance was small. Other schools may 
offer more attractions to the teacher, but none will furnish 
larger opportunity for educational tact. 

The summer terra of the school at Waterville was taught 
by Miss J. H. Allen with her former efficiency and success. 
Mrs. Cbpp had charge of the fall and winter sessions. She' 
was an energetic and thorough teacher, maintaining good 
discipline, and keeping up a full attendance. The closing 
examination was saddened by the accidental drowning of 
one of the scholars. 

Sickness interrupted the attendance, and therefore ad- 
vancement, of the Merriam District school. Towards the 
close of the year the school was almost broken up by the 
measles, which, with the sickness of the teacher, prevented 
the closing examination. Miss M. Whitney taught this 
school through the year. 

The " Farms " school this year did well. Orderly deport- 
ment, steady advance, and a good degree of enthusiasm 
were its main features. This department of the public 
schools was under the charge of Mrs. Henry "Wesson for the 
entire year. 

For the first two-thirds of the year Miss Irene P'ay taught 
the George Hill school, and the committee regretted that 
sickness at home prevented her continuing in the school-room 
for the remainder of the time. Miss M. N. Allen had 
charge during the winter. One scholar was expelled for 
insubordination. 

The summer and fall terms of the Keith Hill school were 
taught by Miss E. Keitla, the winter by Miss H. E. Horn. 
" There would seem to be a little disproportion of the 
defiant in boy-nature in the allotment to this department, 
which infelicity has been a check in the advance that the 
school might otherwise have made. The expelling of one 
scholar, and the general efficiency maintained during the 
latter portion of the year, are bringing the school into a 
more orderly, quiet, and prosperous state." 



EDUCATIONAL. 287 

In 1870, l)y the increased appropriation, the schools were 
extended to tliirty-foiir weeks, instead of twenty-nine. The 
teachers employed were as follows : — 

Centee District. — First Department.— Spring Term, Miss E. C. Mc- 
Clellnn; Fall Term, Miss E. A. Kendall; Winter Term, Mrs. A. F. 
Chandler. Second Department. — Spring Term, Miss M. L. Hewitt; Fall 
Term, Miss H. E. Horn; Winter Term, Miss Caroline Hewitt. 2'hird 
Department.— Misn C. M. Putnam, for the year. Fourth Department. — 
Miss L. French, for the year. New England Disnucr.— First Depart- 
ment. — Spring Term, Miss A. E. Kockwood; Fall Term, Miss Harring- 
ton, and Miss M. I. H. Allen, for the remainder of the year. Second 
Department. — Miss Lucia Young, for the ye.ar. Third Department. — 
Miss E. Daniels, for the year. Saundersville. — First Depattment. — 
Spring Terra, Miss A. F. Taft; Fall Term, Miss Taft; Winter Term, 
Miss E. L. Pickering and Miss A. F. Taft. Second Department. — Mrs. 
M. J. Webb, for the year. Farnumsville. — F^rst Department. — Spring 
Term, Miss E. A. Kendall; Fall Term, Mrs. L. A. Spalter; Winter 
Term, Miss M. L. Warren. Second Department. — Miss E. F. Bellows, 
for the year. Brigha.m Hill.— Spring Term, Miss M. L. Allen; Fall 
Term, Miss Ella Sawyer; Winter Term, Miss I. F. Taylor. Water- 
ville. — Mrs. H. A. Copp, for the year. Farms. — Miss M. E. Mason, 
for the year. Mekkiam. — Spring Term, Miss L.J.Young; Fall Term, 
Miss Young; Winter Term, Miss S. J. Leonard. George Hill. — 
Spring Term, Miss I. A. Fay; Miss M. N. Allen, for the rest of the year. 
Keith Hill.— Spring Term, Miss H. E. Horn; Fall Term, Miss E. L. 
Pickering; Winter Term, Miss A. B. Smith and Miss J. G. Norton. 
High School. — Mr. Eoward Malley, Principal; Miss J. E. Warren, 
Assistant. 

" The varied success with which these teachers have prosecuted their 
work, has depended largely upon the nature of their particular field of 
labor, as well as the tact and talent with which they were endowed. No 
fact is more apparent than that all the good qualities for successful 
teaching are seldom combined in one individual. Hence, the partial or 
total failures of any are not, necessarily, a just cause of disparagement, 
providing there has been carried into the work a conscientious purpose, 
and an honest application of studies. Some suggestions that promise 
a still wider usefulness for the High School were made in the last report 
which have been in part carried out, and it is hoped will be completed 
ere long. The change then proposed was to be made with no additional 
expense for teaching ; accordingly it will be noticed that in the appro- 
priation usually asked for the High School alone, we have embraced the 
Grammar school also; and as the reasons for the organization of this 
department were discussed in Ihc report of 1869-70, the above reference 
to the fact is sufficient. The truth is, your committee are thus persist- 



288 HISTORY OF GBAFTON. 

ent, because, iu common with every other citizen they confess to a little 
local pride in being able to say to our youth, as they are passing their 
last days of study, ' you shall have at home every opportunity for a 
thorough, practical, academic training, such as any other town equal in 
its thrift, progressive spirit and population can offer.' 

The school in Leland District was discontinued at the commencement 
of the year and the property disposed of at public sale. This step was 
deemed advisable, as most of the scholars could be equally well accom- 
modated at Saundersville and much could be saved in expense. The 
few who are incommoded can readily see that it is one of those cases 
where generous sacrifice is promotive of the public good. 

Your committee would respectfully recommend to the town, the rais- 
ing of the same sum for schools this year as last ; the appropriation 
usually given to the High School to be used for the High and Grammar 
schools. Also that money be raised for the purpose of erecting a suita- 
ble school-building at Farnumsville, and if it be thought practicable 
this year, for Waterville also. These two districts are sadly in need of 
school accommodations. The town should also take into consideration 
an Item of expense, which we trust will not be large, for putting the 
upper room of the High School building in condition for a Grammar 
school." 

In 1871, the following was the list of teachers : — 

High School.- Spring Term, Mr. Edward Malley, Principal; Miss J. 
E. Warren, Assistant ; Fall and Winter Terms, Mr. Henry Tatlock, Prin- 
cip.il; Miss H. P. Dennis, Assistant for 3 3-5 weeks of the fall, and the 
whole of the winter term. Grammar Schooi,. — Eall and Winter Terms, 
Miss J. E. Warren, Principal. Centre.— Isf Department. — Spring, Miss 
M. E. Whiting and Mis.s C. J. Marshall; Eall and Winter, Miss L. D. 
Stockwell. 2,nd Department.— ^prmg. Miss C. Hewitt; Fall, Miss A. 
White part of the term, and Miss J.Putnam the remainder; Winter, 
Miss J. Putnam, ird Department. — Spring, Fall and part of Winter, 
Miss C. Putnam, remainder of Winter, Miss E. McClellan. ith Depart- 
ment. — Miss L. French, the entire year. New England. — 1st Depart- 
ment. — Spring, Miss J. M. Allen ; Fall and part of Winter, Miss M. F. 
Park ; remainder of Winter, Miss J. M. Allen. 2nd Department. — Spring 
and Fall, Miss Lucia Young ; Winter, Miss Lucy M. Bradish. Srd De- 
partment.— TAiss Ella G. Daniels, the entire year. Saundersvillk. — 1st 
Department. — Miss A. F. Taft, for the year. 2nd Department. — Mrs. M. 
J. Webb, for the year. Farnumsville. — Ut Department. — Spring, Miss 
1. A. Fay ; Fall and Winter, Miss A. M. Spalter. 2nd Department.— Uiss 
E. W. Bailey for the year. Keith Hill. — Spring, first week, Miss J. G. 
Norton, remainder. Miss K. C. Fuller; Fall, Miss I. A. Fay; Winter, 
Miss J. G.Norton. Gkoroe Hill.— Spring, Miss M. N. Allen; Fall, 
Miss H. A. Little; Winter, Miss N. Covell. Merriam.— Miss L. J. 



EDUCATIONAL. 289 

Young, for the year. Farms. — Miss M. A. Mason, for the year. Wateb- 
viLLE. — Spring and Fall, Mrs. H. A. Copp ; Winter, Miss A. J. Sporr. 
Bbigham Hill — Spring, MissJ. 0. Bowers, part of the term, and Miss 
J. Dennis, the remainder; Fall, Miss J. Dennis; Winter, Miss A. G. 
Dwyer. 

" It is very ■gratifying to your committee to report at last 
from a Grammar school, now well established and efficiently 
trained. Nearly two years since, the town authorized the 
School Board to make the alterations needful for fitting up 
the hall over the High School for this purpose. The way 
was not open, however, for carrying out this vote, until last 
August, when the armory was removed, and the work of 
alteration commenced. The refitting and furnishing of the 
room itself for school purposes, as well as the alterations 
that were necessary to conform to the general plan in the 
front of the building, were all done under the supervision 
of your committee, wJio were greatly indebted to the judg- 
ment and good taste of Mr. Eeuben Taft for one of the 
most convenient and attractive school-rooms in the town. 
As to the school itself, its success has already placed it be- 
yond an experiment, and its quickening influence is a stimu- 
lus throughout the town. The closing exercises of the 
winter term evidenced the effect of hard work and patient 
drill, the only sure conditions of success. The good order, 
the general air of neatness, and the manifest attachment of 
pupil to teacher were not otherwise than we should have ex- 
pected towards one who has taught so long and well. The 
attendance, particularly for the winter term, is very com- 
mendable ; bat four tardy marks are recorded during that 
term, and tiiirteen are reported for the same time as neither 
absent or tardj'. The course of study in this school 
embraces two years. At the close of the next fall term, it 
is expected that the advanced class of about twenty will be 
prepared to enter the first year of the High School." 

In 1872, the teachers were as follows: — 

High School. — Mr. Henry Tatlock, Principal ; Assistants, Misses N. 
Maria Fernald, L. M. Dodge and J. E. Putnam. Gbammab School. — 
87 



290 HIBTOEY OT GEAFTON. 

Miss J. E. Warren. Cbntrb District. — \st Department.— Spring and 
Fall, Miss Abbie Morse; Winter, Miss Abbie F. Eastman. 2nd D'>part- 
ment.— Spring, Miss J. E. Putnam; Fall, Miss E. L. Dwyer; Winter, 
Miss E. 6. Searle. Srd Department. — Spring, Miss E. L. Dwyer; Fall, 
Miss E. G. Searle; Winter, Miss E. S. Billings, ith Department. — Miss 
L. E. French, the entire year. Nbw England. — ist Department. — Spring, 
Miss M. H. Allen; Fall, Miss Abbie F. Eastman; Winter, Mi.ss M. H. 
Allen. 2nd Department. — Miss Lucia Young, entire year. Zrd Depart- 
ment. — Miss L. J. Young, entire year. Satjndersviixe.— Isi Depart- 
ment. — Miss A. F. Taft, the year. 2nd Department. — Spring, Mrs. 
M. J. Webb; Fall, Miss C. I. Powers; Winter, Miss E. W. Bailey. 
FARNtTMSViLLE. — l.sJ Department. — Miss A. M. Spalter, the year. 
2nd Department. — Spring and Fall, Miss E. W. Bailey ; Winter, Miss E. 
F. Farnum. Keith Hill. — Miss Jane R. Albee, the year. George 
Hii.L. — Spring and Fall, Miss N. A. Coville; Winter, Misses C. M. 
Crocker and F. C. Carpenter. Merriam. — Miss M. N. Allen, the year. 
Farms.— Spring, Miss M. E. Mason ; Fall, Miss E. F. Farnum ; Winter, 
Miss I. F. Boyden. Watervillb. — Spring and Fall, Mrs. H. A. Copp; 
Winter, Misses Marion Benedict and L. N. Taft. Brigham Hill. — 
Spring, Miss A. G. Dwyer; Fall, Miss M. E. Mason ; Winter, Miss N. 
A. Coville. 

" The schools in Farnnmsville are to be congratulated in 
at last getting into neat and convenient school-rooms. The 
new house was opened for occupancy at the beginning of 
the fall term. The same teacher has' been retained for the 
first department through the year. The winter term was 
not so successful as the spring and fall, owing to interrup- 
tions the first few weelis by reason of insufficient heating 
apparatus. This difiiculty was remedied as soon as circum- 
stances would permit. One scholar was suspended for will- 
ful insubordination ; and yet there has been a marked up- 
lifting of this school during the year, and the pupils, with 
reason, have the utmost confidence in their teacher. The 
first two terms in tlie lower grade exhibited the growing 
tact of the teacher who has had the school nearly two years 
in charge. The children have become ambitions and 
sprightly in study and recitation. We regretted that a more 
difiicult school necessitated the temporary transfer of this 
teacher. Her successor labored under the same disadvan- 
tages at first — of a cold room — as in the other department. 



EDUCATIONAL. 291 

The number was diminished as a consequence. "With larger 
experience, this teacher will talce good rank with her asso- 
ciates in the educational worls." 

In 1873, the teachers were as follows : — 

High School. — Principal, Spring Term, Mr. Henry Tatlock; Fall, 
Mr. Wm. T. Souther; Winter, Mr. Ciias. L. Clay; Assistant, Miss J. E. 
Putnam, for the year. Grammar School. — Miss J. E. Warren. Cen- 
tre District. — 1st Department. — Spring, Miss Abbie E. Eastman and 
Mrs. M. L. Wheeler; Fall and Winter, Miss E. G. Searle. 2nd Depart- 
ment. — Spring, Miss E. G. Searle; Fall and Winter, Miss E. S. Billings. 
'6rd Department. — Spring, Miss E. S. Billings; Fall, Miss L. J. Packard; 
Winter, Miss F. C. Carpenter, ith Department. — Spring and Fall, Miss 
L. E. French ; Winter, Miss M. E. Mason. New England. — \st Depart- 
ment. — Miss M. H. Allen. 2d Department. — Spring and Fall, Miss Lucia 
Young; Winter, Miss Nellie H. Greene. 3rd Department. — Miss L. J. 
Young; and Assistant for Winter, Miss Ida S. Wheelock. Saundeks- 
VILle. — 1st Department. — Miss Augusta F. Taft. 2nd Department. — Miss 
Isadore Haskell. Farnumsvillb. — Is* Department. — Spring and Fall, 
Miss A. M. Spalter; Winter, Miss M. E. Fowler. 2nd Department. — 
Mrs. George F. Ford. Keith Hill.— Miss C. M. Crocker. George 
Hill.— Spring and Fall, Miss F. C. Carpenter; Winter, Miss Isabel Has- 
kell. Merriam. — Spring, Miss M. N. Allen ; Fall and Winter, Miss 
Josephine A. Dennis. Farms. — Miss E. F. Fariiham. Waterville. — 
Spring and Fall, Mrs. H. A. Copp ; Wiuter, Miss E. H. Whittemore. 
BuiGHAM Hill. — Spring, Miss L. J. Packard; Fall and Winter, Miss M. 
N. Allen. 

These teachers have been employed at prices averaging 
per week, — for High School, principal, $34.37; assistant, $12; 
Grammar school, $12 ; Common schools, $8.t)3. The sudden 
death of Miss Katie E. Baldwin, during the second week of 
the present term, was a great sorrow to the High School. 
She was a prominent member of the graduating class, and 
had ever been esteemed for her conscientious diligence in 
study, and the highly moral tone of her daily life. 

" The amount now annually raised and expended for the 
support of our schools is about $1,500 more than it was five 
years ago. This fact, at first sight, suggests the inquiry, 
why may not our terms be proportionally prolonged ? The 
answer is found in the increased demand for wages in almost 



292 HISTORY OF QEAFTOS', 

every department of labor, and especially in that of teach- 
ing. Five years ago the salaries of our best High School 
teachers for country villages ranged at $1,000 and under. 
The average paid our female teachers of common schools, 
$7.25 per week. We are now obliged to increase fifty per 
cent, on the pay of the former, and twenty-three per cent, 
on the pay of the latter. In addition to tliis there is an in- 
creased demand for the care of school-houses, and the fuel 
consumed in them. With this increase in thei expense, 
which, in the pay of teachers alone is $1,300, we have been 
able to continue the same number of common schools but 
two weeks longer than they were kept five years ago, — the 
length in 1868 and 1869 being twentjMiine weeks. Bnt set- 
ting aside these figures, no thouglitfnl citizen will fail to see 
that progress in matters of conmion school education must 
necessitate a constantly increasing amount of expenditure. 
We ought to have not less than thirty-three weeks per year 
for our common schools, under deserving and well-paid 
teachers. Education is costing us considerably less than 
most tov/ns in the Commonwealth. We raise $7.04 per 
scholar. There are 247 towns, out of the 342 in tlio State, 
that raise more. In 1870, there were but 221 in advance of 
us. Others have advanced within this time faster than we. 
In our own county, Nortlibridge raises ninety cents more 
per scholar than Grafton ; Millbury $1.22 more ; Uxhridge 
$1.97; Leicester $4.02 ; and Worcester $5.53. The annual 
cost of educating a High School scholar in Woi'cester, as 
per last report, is $60.17. In the common schools the cost 
is $20.57. Witii us the High Scliool costs $40 per scholar, 
and the common schools less than $8. Wo cannot, of course, 
compete with cities, nor indeed with those towns where fac- 
tory children are not so numerous, whose parents do little 
toward meeting the expenses of education. But the com- 
parison with towns similarly situated, shows that many do 
more with no larger valuation. The efforts of your com- 
mittee in looking up factory children and keeping them in 



EDUCATIONAL. 293 

school eleven weeks in the .year, have been attended with 
encouraging successj though not without some difficulties. 
Tiiere has been an inoi'ease last year of eighty-five, spring 
term ; sixty-seven, fall term ; and sixty -four, winter term. 
Manufacturers have heartily co-operated with us, and tlie 
only hinderance now to thorough work is that which arises 
from the coming and going of families from towns where 
the law is iTot enforced. The State Constal)le lias collected 
three separate fines of $50 each, for non-compliance with 
the school law, one of which was contested in the Supreme 
Court. With the exception of New England Village, all 
the scliool-liouses are now in good repair, and with rooms 
adequate to present demands. A new and commodious 
house has been completed at Waterville, and occupied during 
the winter term. We congratulate that school in beinjj; 
able, after long waiting, to reach so comfortable and conve- 
nient quarters." 

In 1874, the teachers were as follows : — 

High School.— Mr. C. L. Clay. Grammak School. — Miss Jane M. 
Warren. Centre. — First Department. — Miss Edith G. Searle, first and 
second terms ; Miss Lottie L. Cory, third term. Second Department. — 
Miss Mary A. Brown. Third Department. — Miss X'annie C. Carpenter, 
first and second terms ; Miss Eliza B. Kichaidson, third term. Fourth 
Department.— Miss M. E. Mason. New England Village. — First De- 
partment. — Miss Emma F. Pierce, first term; Miss Ella M. Williams, 
second term ; Miss Marion I. H. Allen, third term. Second Department. 
— Miss Emma S. Billings, first term; Miss Emma F. Pierce, second 
term. Third Department. — Miss L. Jennie Young. Fourth Department. 
Miss Ida S. Wheelock. Saundersville. — fVi's( Department. — Miss 
Augusta F. Taft. Second Department. — Miss Isadora Haskell. Farnums- 
\IUJE.— First Department.— Wxfss M. X. Fowler. Second Department. — 
Mrs. 6. F. Ford and Mrs. Nellie Davis. George Hill.— Miss Isabelle 
Haskell. Keith Hill.— Miss Clara M. Crocker. Merri.oi's. — Miss 
Ella M. Browne, first term; Miss Ann G. Dwyer, second and third 
terms. Farms District. — Miss Nellie M. Longley, spring; Miss I. Belle 
Taylor, fall and winter. Waterville. —Miss Ella F. Farnum. Brigham 
Hill. — Miss Margaret N. Allen. 

" There has been general quiet in the schools throughout the year, 
and less complaints made to the committee than usual. No school h.as 
been closed on account of inefficiency of the teacher; in a majority of 



294: HISTORY OF GEAPTON. 

the schools the same teacher has been retained through the year. The 
winter term has been broken in upon by sickness to a considerable 
extent. 

The yearly examination of the High School took place in March, and 
the first class was graduated ; the exercises were held in the Town Hall. 
This was the first fruit of our graded system of schools. The school 
the coming year will be able to take the course of study prescribed. 

Drawing has been taught in the High and Grammar schools by Misa 
A. M. Spalter. Your committee improved the opportunity of securing 
the services of Miss Spalter to instruct our teachers in drawing, thus 
preparing the way for the general introduction of drawing in our com- 
mon schools. This was done at the expense of the teachers. As a 
resuU we find that in most of the schools, the lessons received by the 
teachers have been taught to the scholars with gratifying success. 

The second term of the New England Village school was opened in 
the new and commodious school-house, built during the summer. The 
teacher had many excellent ideas of teaching, and a pleasing manner of 
imparting instruction; we would especially commend the improvement 
in reading made by the first class. But the term as a whole, was not as 
successful as we desired, owing to a lack of efficient discipline at the 
beginning of the term. The teacher was unable to retrieve lost ground, 
though improving towards the close. The winter terra, under a teacher 
with whom order is a cardinal principle, was much more successful, and 
the examination was satisfactory to both committee and the large num- 
ber of friends present. 

• With the completion of the school-house the schools are now occupy- 
ing comfortable quarters, with the exception of those in the Centre, on 
account of the crowded condition of these schools, and the want of any 
adequate system of ventilation." 

The committee appointod the following men as truant 
officers : — Mr. James Gleason, at the Centre, Mr. J. H. 
Thomas, at New England Village, and Mr. W. S. Fullerton, 
at Saundersville, and fixed their compensation at three 
dollars per day, wliile in service. 

In 1875, the teachers were as follows : — 

High School.— Mr. C. L. Clay, Principal. Miss Julia E. Putnam, 
Assistant. Number of scholars for the year, 51. Grammar School. — 
Miss J. E. Warren. Number of scholars, 52. First Department.— U\sa 
E. B. Richardson, Miss Ella P. Parnum, Miss Carrie Hevvett, Number 
of scholars, 44, 43, 50. Second Department.— Ella, F. Carpenter. Num- 
ber of scholar^, 51, 51, 49. Third Department.— EUa. M. Brown, Lucia 
A. Wiley. Number of scholars, 50, 50, 57. Fourth Department.— Miss 
M. E. Mason. Number of scholars, 56, 46, 66. Sub-Primary.— Uiaa 



EDUCATIONAL. 295 

Carrie Hewett. Number of scholars, 44. New England Village. — 
First Department. — M. I. H. Allen, Bella King.sbury, Lizzie S. White. 
Number of scholars, 24, 42, 40. Second Department. — Mi.ss L, Jennie 
Young. Number of scholars, 36, 38, 39. Third Department. — 
Miss Ida S. Wheelock. Number of scholars, 40, 35, 29. Saun- 
DBRsviLLB. — First Department. — Miss Augusta F. Taft. Number of 
sctiolars, 35, 30, 39. Second Department.— Miss Isadora Ha.skell. Num- 
ber of scholars, 52, 56, 49. Faknumsville. — First Department.— M\ss 
Ella F. Farnum, Miss Ida A. Maynard. Number of scholars, 24, 35, 36. 
Second Department. — Miss Estelle S. Rogers, Mrs. Nellie L. Davis. 
Number of scholars, 60, 59, GO. Watervillb. — Annie E. D\yyer. Num- 
ber of scholars, 35, 48, 45. Farms District. — Lizzie E. Bartlett. Num- 
ber of scholars, 24, 25, 27. Geokge Hill. — Miss Isabelle Haskell. Num- 
ber of scholars, 22, 28, 19. Kbith Hill. — Miss Clara M. Crocker, Miss 
Ruth Ella Johnson. Number of scholars, 29, 36, 30. Merriam Dis- 
tuict. — Miss M. Agnes Dalrymple. Number of scholars, 17, 19, 21. 
Bkigham Hill. — Miss Martie N. Allen, Miss Hattie R. Jewett. Num- 
ber of scholars, 18, 24, 21. 

" Considering the crowded state of the room in which the sub-primary 
school was kept, and the extemporaneous furnishing, the drill of this 
little band of infantry was very creditable to their leader ; she seemed 
possessed of an aptness to teach things ' both new and old,' such as all 
children need to know and are interested in knowing. It was thought 
best to limit the confinement of the children to the school-room to four 
hours a day, believing this to be more satisfactory to parents, and for 
the best interest of the school." 

In compliance with the statute of 1874, the committee, in 
the month of May, took the census of such children as the 
law recognized as Scholars, and found the number to be, of 
boys 468, girls 463 ; making a total of 931. The committee 
closed their report with the following : — 

" A great saving of fuel has been realized by substituting anew furnace 
for the old, at the High School building; and the unhealthy air is 
removed by improved ventilation. Some other improvements have been 
made, at slight expense, to accommodate the rooms to the need of the 
scholars. 

The iron tube chimney at Farnumsville has been removed, and a sub- 
stantial one of brick constructed. While materially strengthening the 
centre of the building, we have completely remedied the obstruction to 
the draught by this change, and economized fuel and labor. 

The buildings at Biigham Hill and Merriam Districts have been 
thoroughly painted, the underpinning of the latter repaired, and the 
culvert near the front rebuilt, and so secured that scholars can occupy 



296 HISTORY OF GEAKTON. 

their playgronnd without danser; some complaint having heretofore 
buen m;>eK' that they trespassed upon the neighboring fields, for whioli 
there is no longer an excuse. 

The new scliool-house at New England Village will need painting the 
coming season; and the bricli building at tlie Centre is fast apprbacliing 
that dissatisfied condilion where the query arises,— Wliat shall be done? 
Your committee hardly feel justitied in malving alterations or extensive 
repairs, as, without addition, it will no longer accommodate tlie scholars. 
AVe recommend that a committee be cliosen to make investigation in 
reference to further scliool accommodations in this district. In view of 
the fact that a fifth school must hereafter be maintained, and tlie further 
facts tliat the brick building is too much straitened in its halls and stair- 
ways for the proper supervision ot two hundred children at recess, and 
the main entrance, which is far too small, is ooustantly exposed to the 
northwest blasts, we find strong reasons for the above-named measure, 
and trust that such committee will be chosen to report at the April 
meeting. 

In conclusion, we ask for our schools the continued interest and aid 
of the intelligent voters of the town; trusting that we shall not, by any 
mistake, go back upon an honorable record, but, by a generous policy, 
lay the best of all foundations for future prosperity in the education of 
the young." 

In 1876 the teachers were as follows: — 

High School. — Mr. Edmund P. Barker, Principal. Miss Julia E. 
Putnam, Assistant. Grammar School. — Miss Jane E. Warren. Cbntre 
District. — Miss Viola G. Roys. Miss Carrie Hewett taught the first 
department the first term, and was succeeded by Miss Viola G. Roys, 
who continued the remainder of the year. Second Department. — Miss 
Ella F. Carpenter. Third Department. — Mrs. Annie E. Elliott. Fourth 
Department. — Miss M. E. Mason. Sub-Primary. — Miss Agnes M. 
Dalrymple. Nicw Exglaxd Village.— J^trs{ Department. — Miss Julia 
L. Hopkins, Mr. Henry W. Brovrn. Second and Third Departments. — 
Miss L. Jennie Young, Miss Ida S. Wheelock. Saundbrsville. — Miss 
Augusta F. Taft. Second Department. — Miss Isadora Haskill. Faknums- 
ViLLE. — Miss Nellie F. Reed. Second Department.— Mrs. Nellie F. 
Davis. George Hill.— Miss Emma J. Forbusb. Keith Hill.— Miss 
Ella R. Johnson. Brigiiam Hill. — MissM. Etta Brown. Watervjllb. 
— Miss Isabella Haskell, Miss Hattie R. Jewett. Farms.— Miss Lizzie 
E. Bartlett. Meuriam.— Miss M. Etta Brown, Miss Isabella Haskell. 

" The census of last May shows a marked decrease from the previous 
year in the number of children in town ranked as scholars. This is to 
be attributed to depression in the manufacturing interests, and a conse- 
quent removal of many families from the villages. The decrease has 
not, however, enabled the committee to reduce the number of schools. 
In reviewing the iciults of the year, the committee find satisfaction in 



EDUCATIONAI.. 297 

the belief that our teachers, for the most part, have realized their re- 
sponsibilities, and aimed to discharge them. In some instances their 
labor has been attended with constant trial and anxiety, and they have 
felt more keenly than some of the parents, the failure to enlist the in- 
terest of their children. Indifference and neglect in a few families in a 
district often doubles the task of a teacher, and lessens more than one- 
half the value of the school. Results, as a whole, have met our expecta- 
tions, but not our desires. The detriment experienced from the 
shortening of the terms was anticipated, not only by your committee, 
but by all citizens who have made school interests a study. It is well 
known that our best educators have fixed upon forty weeks of the year 
as the period during which pupils can be profitably engaged in study. 
The law fixes the minimum of its requirements at twenty-four weeks. 
School buildings have been painted at New England Village and Keith 
Hill, and the former supplied with lightning-rods. A porch has also 
been put up at the front entrance of the brick house at the Centre, 
which proves a great saving of fuel and increase of comfort. Next 
year new stoves must be furnished in each room of this building, as the 
old ones are entirely worn out and unsafe. This is not so much to be 
regretted, as they have for a long time failed to warm the building with- 
out consuming an extravagant quantity of coal. It is to be regretted 
that a building requiring accommodations for so many scholars should 
have so limited space for its out-buildings, and a location inclined to 
dampness a large portion of the year." 

In 1877, the teachers were : — 

High School.— Mr. Albert Warren, Principal. Miss Julia E Putnam, 
Assistant. Grammar School. — Miss Jane E. Warren. Centre. — Miss 
Viola G. Roys; 2nd Department. — Miss Emma E. Taft and Mrs. Annie 
Elliott. Srd Department. — Miss Hattie R. Jewett. ith Department. — 
Miss M. E. Mason. The Sub-Primary. — Miss Agnes M. Dalrymple. 
The Saundersvillb Schools.— 1st Department. — Miss Augusta E. 
Taft. 2nd Department.— Miss Isadore Haskell. New England Vil- 
lage Schools. — \st Department. — Miss Augusta C. White, 2nd and 
3rd Departments. — Miss L. Jennie Young and Miss Ida S. Wheelock. 
Watbrville.— Miss M. I. H. Allen and Mr. Frederick K. Burton. 
Farms. — Mr. F. R. Burton and Mr. John C. Worcester. Merriam. — 
Miss Maggie C. Lynch. Keith Hill. — Miss Isabella Haskell. George 
Hill. — Miss EmmaJ. Forbush. Brigham Hill. — Miss M. Etta Brown 
and Miss Ruth Ella Johnson. Farnomsville Schools. — 1st Depart- 
ment.— Miss Nellie F. Reed and Miss R. E. Johnson. 2nd Department. 
—Mrs. Nellie F. Davis. 

"The census of last May shows a decrease, as compared with the 
two previous years, in the number of children of school age, but this is 
38 



29S HISTORY OF GEAFTOTf. 

to be acconntod for on the groiincl of the dullness and suspension of 
trade for a time in three of the manufacturing districts. The following 
figures state that the whole number of children in May, 1876, between 
five and fifteen years of age, was 842; and in 1877 the number was 783. 
In looking over our schools, and the work accomplished for the year 
ending this date, that while we have no room to boast, yet at the same 
time we can safely congratulate ourselves, with the exception of two 
or three instances in those schools where some children were foolishly 
sustained by the mistaken kindness of their too credulous parents, that 
sufficient good has been done to merit the continued confidence of an 
intelligent community. The old stoves were sold, and realized the price 
of old iron. As to the second item, twenty-eight new seats were put 
into the New England Village school, as the old ones were found to be 
too small, and otherwise unfit for use. In relation to SaundersviUe, it 
will be sufficient to state that the proximity of the water-closets to the 
main body of the school-house endangered the health of the teachers 
and pupils by the constant emission of noxious odors, at war with the 
laws of sanitary reform. Before the final examinations, the committee 
requested the teachers not to prepare any special order of exercises, 
other than those of their daily tasks, in order to find out the exact 
standing of each school, all of which the teachers punctually attended 
to, and in this way there was no chance for brass to pass current for 
gold, nor boldness to carry oflT the palm due to modest and retiring 
worth. 

We cannot close this report without adverting to the unhealthy sur- 
roundings of the brick school-house, and without advising the town, if 
not now, yet at some time not far distant, of the propriety of erecting 
a new building suitable for the wants of the scholars, and free from 
those unhealthy exhalations that are common to its present site." 

The census taken during the month of May, 1878, shows 
a slight increase over the past year in the number of child- 
ren of school age, and is as follows : — For May, 1877, be- 
tween five and fifteen years of age, 783 ; and for the year 
ending May, 1878, the whole number was 789 ; being an in- 
crease of six over tlie previous year. 

The following teachers were employed for the year 
1878 :— 

High School.— Mr. A. Warren, Principal, whole year. J. E. Putnam, 
Assistant, whole year. Ghammar ScriooL.— J. E. Warren, Principal, 
whole year. Centre Common Schools.— 1s« Department.— Y. G. Roys 
and M. E. Sykes, during the Spring term ; and M. E. Sykes the rest of 



EDUCATIONAL. 



299 



the year. 2?!^ Department.— U. K. Jewett, whole year. Zrd Depart- 
mmt.—l. Haskell, whole year, ith Department.— M. E. Mason, whole 
year, hth Lepartment.-A. M. Dalrymple, whole year. New England 
Village Schools.— 1s{ Department.— A. E. Cutting and C. E. Wood, 
the fornaei- during the Spring term and near the close of the Fall terra ; 
the latter the rest of the year. 2nd Department.—h. J. Young, Spring 
term; A. C. White, Fall and Winter terms. Srd Department.— I. S. 
Wheelock, Spring terra; and C. E. Smith, rest of the year. Another 
department has been opened, and will be known in the next year's re- 
port as the second department, and this school, since its opening, has 
been taught by L. J. Young. Watervillk School, during the first 
four weeks of the Spring term, was under the instruction of L. Chapin. 
Keith Hill. — M. E. Chase, whole year. Geokgb Hill. — E. J. For- 
bush, Spring term and part of the Fall term ; and R. E. Johnson the 
rest of the year. Brigham Hill.— S. L. Odlam, whole year. Farms.— 
L. M. Rice, whole year. Mekriam. — M. C. Lynch, whole year. Satjn- 
DERSVILLE SCHOOLS. — 1st Department. — A. F. Taft, whole year. 2nd 
Department.— I. Haskell, whole year. Farnumsvillb Schools.— IsJ 
Department. — F. Smythe, the first four weeks of the Spring term; and 
A. C. White during rest of term ; and C. A. Goodwin the remainder of 
the year. 2nd Department.— F. A. Putnam, whole year. 

The condition and present standing of the above schools 
are about the same as last year ; if anything, better. 

The Teachers' Association held its first meeting in 1877, 
at the house of D. W. ITorcross, Esq. Papers were read by 
Mr. Barker, master of the High School, on " The Manner 
of the Teacher in the School-room " ; by Eev. A. J. Bates, 
chairman of the town school committee, on the " Needs of 
the Common Schools of Grafton." These papers were sug- 
gestive, practical and timely, and called out an animated ex- 
change of views. The general exercises were enlivened 
with singing by Mrs. Elliott, and a choice entertainment 
furnished by Mrs. Norcross. At the close of the meeting a 
vote of thanks was passed to host and hostess for their gen- 
erous hospitality, and an adjournment for four weeks. Out 
of the twenty-one teachers in the town eighteen were 
present. 

High School. 

The school report of 1839 says : — " The subject of most 
anxious deliberation, and of the greatest practical diflSculty, 



300 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

which has occupied the committee, Rev. John Jennings, 
chairman, during the year, has been the organization of the 
High School. It is unfortunate that this undertaking, 
which, it is to be remembered, was not optional on the part 
of the town, but was absolutely required of it, under a 
penalty, by the statute of the Commonwealth, should have 
begun with the opposition of a considerable minority." 
There was no suitable place in town for holding such a 
school ; each village wanted it, and as usnal it became a 
" bone of contention," almost before it had an existence. 
It was finally located in the basement of the Evangelical 
Congregational Church, in the Centre, and when that place 
could no longer be had, a room was leased in the " Arcade " 
and " furnished with a stove and seats for forty scholars." 
Who should be admitted to this school was a great problem, 
difficult to solve, but all applicants for admission were sum- 
moned to appear before the committee for examination, " at 
the tavern." Seven passed tlie first day, and two the 
second. The school began with fourteen pupils, only four 
of whom were living in 1876. The school continued thirty 
weeks; whole number, forty-seven; average, twenty-five. 
The report says of it : " This school was kept by Luther 
Hunter, Jr., and its appearance at the examination was very 
gratifying. To say it was all that could have been desired 
is more than often falls to the lot of a committee to say of 
any school." The committee did not exceed the appropria- 
tion, $450, or even use it all, $314.12 ; the balance, $135.88, 
was all the town required for the next year, when Mr. Hun- 
ter taught thirteen weeks. In 1841, the " minority " had 
grown into a majority ; the report of the committee, Otis 
Adams, chairman, shows the spirit of the " opposition." 
The High School had been discontinued for " want of an 
appropriation." The State Board, with its able and devoted 
secretary, Horace Mann, and through its Normal School, 
was trying to give Massachusetts better schools, but Grafton 
wanted no " teachers made to order " ; its youths should not 



EDUCATIONAL. 301 

be corrupted, or even " imbubed with the motives, views and 
crotchets of that central power" (Board of Education). Of 
course a High School could not live in such a rank growth 
of weeds and tares, and it was not until after some private 
culture by Mr. Hunter, Elias White, and Alauson Wedge, 
who taught in the vestry, in what is now Samuel Flagg's 
house, and in the " Arcade," that a second attempt was 
made to plant a High School. In 1 849, $500 extra were 
appropriated to be divided and used as follows : — " $75 in 
the Centre, in Farnum's, in New England Tillage ; $37.50 
in each of the other districts." Teachers were to be em- 
ployed with qualifications requisite " to teach history of the 
United States, surveying, geometry and algrebra." Either 
the teachers did not give satisfactory instruction in " survey- 
ing," or a " tidal wave " of economy struck the town, for the 
usual appropriation of $2,000 was cut down to $1,800 the 
next year, with no extra for " higher branches." In this 
same year (1849) the High School Association was formed, 
and the Academy — the present High School biiilding — was 
erected and finished in 1850. Whenever there was a public 
High School at the Centre, the town rented this building 
until 1867, when it bought it. At other times private 
schools were maintained in it. For the next five years a 
small sum was appropriated annually " for High School pur- 
poses," to be expended in the tliree main villages. T. E. 
Harrington, " a teacher of multiplied communications," will 
be remembered at Farnumsville ; Newell Wedge at New 
England, " a good teacher, though one not pained when he 
fell upon a slovenly exercise as some men would be," also 
Alfred P. Gage ; at the Centre (Alanson G. Wedge, Acade- 
my), L. E. Shepard, Stephen E. Seymour, (C. P. Frost, 
Academy), and Dana J. Jocelyn, were the teachers. In 
1856, the school was rotary. The term at the Centre was 
taught by George Mason, assisted by' Miss Kate F. Leland ; 
at Farnumsville, by R. B. Hatch ; at New England, by W. 
F. Wheeler. The folly of a school on wheels was seen after 



302 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

a year's trial, and the next year, 1857, $800 were appro- 
priated " to expend where the general school committee saw 
fit." As far as is known advanced schools were held in the 
three villages in the winter, C. G. G. Paine teacliing at the 
Centre. In 1858, an unsuccessful attempt was made to 
divide the appropriation, $600, and a regular High School 
was taught at the Centre by D. B. Hubl)ard, an excellent 
and thorough teacher, and Miss E. L. Biscoe ; both remained 
through the four following years. An advance school was 
supported one term at Farnumsville, C. W. Palmer, teaciier, 
and at New England, taught by H. J. Crippeu. 

In 1859, the new method of choosing the committee for 
long terms was adopted, and Kev. O. Crane was chosen for 
three years, and Kov. T. C. Biscoe for two years. The re- 
port for this year says of the High School : " This has not 
been a favorite child with the town, but rather an unwel- 
come guest, to be tolerated as short a time as possible ; and 
yet some have wished to entertain it around the town, and 
get as much out of it as possible. The relation lias been 
that of a step-mother who would not cherish and foster the 
child. Yet it has grown into form and comeliness of late, 
we judge, as the friends and foes have decided to let it have 
an abiding place and liome. 

We hope it will now be owned and loved and cared for 
as a veritable and worthy child. * * * One thousand 
dollars have been raised for its support the present year, 
and to the surprise and credit of all, there was no murmur- 
ing ; which indicated a reconciliation and acquiescence on 
the part of the people. The Grafton High School is an 
established institution." 

But the struggle for existence was not yet over; the 
" reconciliation " was only a calm that precedes a storm; for 
at the March meeting of 1862, men with plenty of money, 
but having no children to educate, so far forgot their duty 
to their town as to vote "to abolish the High School." 
However, after " the reading of the Statutes," and from a 



EDUCATIONAL. 303 

■wholesome fear of the law, the vote was reconsidered, and 
$800 were appropriated for the scliool. C. G. G. Paine an 
" earnest, efficient and faitlif ill teacher," assisted by Miss 
Mary Paine, taught the spring term. In tlie fall, H. L. 
Eeed, " an experienced, faithful and thorough teacher," was 
engaged. Mr. Reed remained until the spring term of 1869. 
Miss E. L. Biscoe was assistant. During these years the 
school was very prosperous and generously supported by 
the town. The report of 1865, says, " There never was a 
time before probably when so many were anxious to secure 
the needed qualifications to gain admission to the High 
School." 

In 1867, the town bought the Academy building, paying 
$3,500 for it. The summer term of 1868, was taught by 
0. W. Gray and Miss J. E. Warren. In the fall, Edward 
Malley came, wlio was an efficient teacher, and one kindly 
remembered by his pupils. Mr. Malley and Miss Warren 
remained until the end of the spring term, 1871. In this 
year the Grammar school was niado a separate department, 
and the upper room of the High School building was fitted 
up for it ; Miss Warren, teacher. From this time the town 
has made an appropriation for the High and Grammar 
School combined. 

Henry Tatlock was the next Principal ; an excellent 
scholar, an enthusiastic, competent teacher. Miss H. P. 
Dennis, Miss N. Maria Fernald, Miss L. M. Dodge and Miss 
J. E. Putnam, followed each other as assistants during the 
two years and a term of Mr. Tatlock's stay. In 1872, the 
committee devised and put in operation a systematic curri- 
culum. During the next year through Mr. Tatlock's efforts 
$600 were subscribed by the citizens ; this sum, with $300 
generously voted by the town, was expended for the chemi- 
cal and philsophical apparatus, skeleton, heliotellus, maps, 
globes, etc. It was during this year also that the curriculum 
allowing " no optional studies during the first year " was 



304 HI8T0EY OF GEAFTON. 

revised, the present courses of study adopted, and the first 
catalogue published. 

At the close of the school year the first pupil completing the 
new course of study, Miss Anna Pierce, was graduated, and 
received a diploma. 

The fall term of 1873, was taught by W. T. Souther and 
Miss Julia E. Putnam. 

A new Principal, Charles L. Clay, took charge of the 
school January 2, 1874, who with Miss Putnam as Assistant, 
conducted it to 1876. Through the efforts of the Principal, 
one of Miller's school pianos was purchased ; the sum paid 
for it, $315, was raised mainly through entertainments given 
by the school. 

There were six graduates in 1874, one of whom, Alice 
Wing, entered Vassar College, and another "Williams College, 
and two are teachers. Six graduated in 1875, two entered 
Williams College, and three are engaged in teaching. In 
1876, the Principal, C. L. Clay, after holding the position 
for a period of two years, with commendable success in his 
work, sent in his resignation, which was accepted, and E. P. 
Barker, a graduate of Amherst, was employed in his place. 
Mr. Barker at once entered upon his work, without friction 
in management, and " showed skill in organization as well 
as tact in securing ambition for study." The teaching was 
thorough in all the branches. The assistant remained faith- 
ful in her work. 

The school sent a sample of the work of each class to 
the Centennial Exposition. 

During the end of the spring term of 1877, Mr. Edmund 
P. Barker was compelled to resign the principalship of the 
school in consequence of ill health superinduced by excess- 
ive study and hard labor brought to bear on his school 
work. The public examination under Mr. Barker never 
appeared to better advantage ; especially those classes in 
Latin, French and Mathematics were worthy of marked 
notice. The scanning of the Yirgil class was taught with 



EDUCATIONAL. 305 

scholarly correctness. Upon the resignation of Mr. Barker, 
the committee received many applications, and after due 
deliberation, the present principal, Albert Warren, was 
selected. 

Mr. Warren is a graduate of Tale College, besides 
bringing to his work the experience of seven years labor in 
the Spencer High School. The school accepted Mr. War- 
ren with a good grace, and he has labored ever since with 
commendable acceptance and faithfulness.. His review exer- 
cises during each Monday forenoon in general studies can- 
not be too highly valued, and show the good sense of a 
true teacher. 

In a word, there is a substantial amount of work going on 
in all the departments, and the High School, as a whole, is 
highly creditable to the town of Grrafton, and ranks among 
the best high schools of Worcester County. 

Although the High School building is at the Centre, every 
year the town determines by vote, where the High School 
shall be held during the ensuing year. For the last four 
years the town has appropriated annually for the High and 
Grammar Schools $2,500. 

Ber. Farrington Mclntire's Family School. 

This school was established in September, 1853, by Rev. 
Farrington Mclntire, A. M., in the house now occupied by 
his son-in-law, John A. Swe'etser, on Brigham Hill. The 
school was called a family school for boys, and Mr. Mclntire 
had the sole charge. The school was started with two pupils, 
and during the five years of its existence there was an 
average attendance of twenty. During this time he had in 
all over one hundred different scholars. Mr. Mclntire says : 
" I have the satisfaction of believing that I was of some 
use to them in various ways, for I am not aware that any 
ever fell below the standard which they had on coming 
under my instruction and influence. Some became mer- 
39 



306 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

chants, some manufacturers, one has long been a sea captain 
on a large vessel and occupies a position of great responsi- 
bility ; in variolas walks of life they are all influential, good 
citizens, so far as I know." Mr. Mclntire was greatly 
assisted a portion of the time by his sister, who had much 
to do in securing the usefulness and welfare of the school. 
The scholars were instructed in Latin, Greek and French as 
well as in the common English branches. In referring to 
Captain Wheeler's school and his own, he says : " And we 
both think, no doubt, that we were no small pillars in the 
great fabric of our national education and refinement ; as it 
is a harmless mistake if we were not, I pray that we may 
be allowed to enjoy it, as we are growing old." 



GEAFTON GEOGEAPHIOALLT AND GEOLOGICALLY. 



CHAPTER SEVENTH. 

Contents : 

The soil. — Chestnut, George's and Brlgham Hills. — Blackstone, Assabet 
and Little or Quinsigamond Rivers. — Long Pond. — George's Brook. 
— The boundaries of the town. — Additions. — Gneiss and Peat. 

GRAFTON is a most excellent township of land. The 
face of the town is hilly and uneven, and in general 
rocky ; but the soil is moist and strong, rich and very pro- 
ductive. It is good for Indian corn, wheat, rye, oats, barley 
and flax. The lands are naturally warm and not subject to 
frosts ; and as they are high and rocky, they are well adapted 
to orcharding and all kinds of fruit trees. There are three 
noticeable hills in town. The first to be mentioned is called 
" Chestnut Hill," as abounding in that sort of wood. This 
is situated but a little east of the Congregational meeting- 
house, and is the highest land in town, hiding it from West- 
borough. This is not large ; the land is moist and good. 

On the easterly side of the town lies " George's Hill," 
two miles and a half in length. It took its name from one 
George Misco, an Indian, who dwelt upon it. This is a hill 
of most excellent land, and there are a number of very 
fine farms upon it. 

A third is denominated " Brigham Hill," from a number 
of that name who have lived upon it. This lies in the 
westerly part of the town, is high, about two miles in length; 
has upon it several excellent and large farms, though some 



308 HISTOKY OF GBAJFTON. 

parts of it are rough, broken lands. The general growth 
of wood is walnut, oak of all kirtds, chestnut, some pitch 
pine, butternut, buttonwood, black and white ash, and 
birch. There is some pine plain land in the town near the 
rivers. 

Blackstone River, from the north parish in Sutton, enters 
Grafton in the southwesterly part of the town ; this then 
becomes a large and beautiful river, and runs about three 
miles in the southerly part of Grafton, and then passes into 
Upton. 

Little River or more properly Quinsigamond, being the 
outlet from the Lake of that name, runs along on the west 
side of the town, within about half a mile of the meeting- 
house, and between that and " Brigham Hill," and about 
one mile and a half south from the meeting-house joins 
Blackstone River. This stream forms tlie beautiful lake 
known as Goddard's Pond, and also Flint Pond. There are 
eight bridges in town on this river. 

Lake Quinsigamond or Long Pond is four miles in length 
between Worcester and Shrewsbury, and extends from this 
town on the south to West Boylston on the nortii. This is a 
beautiful sheet of water, having within its borders ten small 
islands. 

On Blackstone and Little Rivers before and after the junc- 
tion, there are considerable bodies of good meadow, and 
rich interval lands. The River Assabet, which runs north- 
east and empties into the Merrimack, has its source in 
Grafton, about one mile and a half northeast from the 
meeting-house. This passes through the northwest angle of 
Westborough into Northborough. 

Besides these, on the west side of George's Hill, runs 
George's Brook, which rises in the northerly part of Grafton; 
this passes to the south. On this stream there are large and 
good meadows. There was no pond in town in 1793. 
Upon the several rivers and streams above-mentioned, there 
were at this time four grist-mills, several saw-mills, three trip- 



GBAFTON GEOGEAPHIOAILT AND GEOLOGICALLY. 309 

hammers, and one fulling-mill. The town abounds with 
rivulets and springs of water. Bummet's Brook is in the 
northern part of the town and empties into Quinsigamond 
just below New England Village. There are three bridges 
on this brook, and also the same number on George's Brook, 
in town. 

Blackstone River above referred to, which passes through 
this town on the southwest, is forty miles long, extending 
from Worcester to Providence. Upon the banks of this 
river probably more manufacturing is done than upon any 
other stream of equal size in the country. It has several 
tributaries in the town. This river was called by the 
Indians the Nipmuck Kiver. There are three bridges on 
tliis stream in town. 

The people subsist mainly by the cultivation of the soil, 
and they are amply recompensed for all their labor. They 
have the usual number of tradesmen, manufacturers and 
mechanics, etc.* In 1800, potash-making was carried on 
here quite extensively, as it was throughout the county. 

In 1837, there were five cotton mills, 14,054 spindles ; 
2,053,320 yards of cotton goods were manufactured ; value, 
$278,014; males employed, 134; females, 226; one woolen 
mill, four sets of machinery ; 70,000 yards of cloth were 
manufactured ; value, $1,120,000 ; males employed, 34 ; 
females, 25. There were 18,672 pairs of boots, 671,538 pairs 
of shoes manufactured ; value, $614,141 ; males employed, 
906 ; females, 486. 

Grafton, though not a large tract of land, has an exceed- 
ingly rich and good soil, and the inhabitants have become 
wealthy by tilling it. In former times the town was greatly 
benefited by the travel through it. Grafton is forty miles 
from Boston, to the southwest. It is tliirty-four miles from 



* Eight groceries, three drug stores, three provision stores, one law- 
yer, three hotels— Grafton Hotel, Quinsigamond House, Farnumsville 
Hotel, one tailor, four currier shops, five manufactories of boots and 
shoes, one bakery, one emery-mill, five cotton-mills. 



310 HIBTOET OF GEAFTON. 

Providence, to the northwest, and eight from the Court- 
house in Worcester, a little to the south of east. " In the 
elevated region, east of Connecticut river, a large number 
of villages have been built upon heights commanding wide 
horizons ; and some of these, being in a superior style of 
architecture, are most attractive objects to the distant trav- 
eler. What, for instance, can be a finer object, than the 
beautiful village of Grafton, seen at a distance of six or 
eight miles ! "* 

Since its incorporation one-half a mile of land was taken 
from Shrewsbury and added to Grafton, on the north, and 
about lialf a mile of Sutton, on the south, was annexed to 
it ; so that Grafton is now five miles in length, from north 
to south, and four in width, from east to west. This town 
is bounded on the north, by Shrewsbury ; on the east, by 
Westborough and Upton ; on the south, by Upton and Sut- 
ton ; and on the west, by Sutton. 

By an act of the Legislature of March 22, 1838, " that 
tract of incorporated land, called Grafton Gore, south of 
Lake Quinsigamond, bounded west by Worcester, south by 
Millbury, east by Grafton, and north by Shrewsbury," was 
annexed to and made part of the town of Worcester, which 
extended the territory of that city to the limit it now pre- 
sents in that direction. 

Gneiss abounds here in large quantities.! This differs 
from granite only in having a slaty structure, and occupies 
more of the surface of the town than any other rock. 
Large beds have been quarried here, and much of the stone 
can hardly be distinguished from granite, even by the 
geologist. 

Schistose gneiss also abounds here. This is probably the 
most common variety of gneiss. The structure is foliated 
like that of mica slate. It passes frequently into mica slate 
by the disappearance of the feldspar. 



* Professor Hitchcock's Geology, f Ibid. 



GRAFa'ON GEOGEAPHICAILY AND GEOLOGICALLY. 311 

Laminar gneiss is found here. In this variety the differ- 
ent ingredients occupy distinct layers. This rock is com- 
posed of alternating layers of gneiss and mica slate. 

Sienitic gneiss is naet with abundantly here. This is quar- 
ried for building purposes. This rock is a granitic gneiss, 
composed almost entirely of quartz and feldspar, through 
which are disseminated numerous black crystalline masses of 
hornblende, which have a parallel arrangement. 

The south part of the range of gneiss, east of "Worcester 
Yalley, extends from Worcester to Grafton in a southerly 
direction, several degrees west, with a dip of from 45 de- 
grees to 90 degrees west. There is also a small range which 
extends from this place to TJpton, in the following direction : 
Southeast and northwest ; northeast, small. 

Peat is also found in large quantities here. Various 
causes are in operation to produce an accumulation of mud 
upon the bottoms of ponds, lakes, estuaries, etc. In this 
mud various aquatic plants will take root, and by their decay 
will swell the deposit. At length the pulpy mass nearly 
reaches the surface, when sphagnous and other mosses take 
root in it, along with numerous other plants, and by their 
gradual decomposition the pond becomes converted, in the 
course of ages, into a swamp or marsh. This is the simple 
account of the origin of peat, the value of which for fuel is 
generally known. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 



CHAPTER EIGHTH. 

Contents : 

Population. — Wealth. — Principal business. — The Currying business. — 
The old Indian bnrying-ground. — Post-ofllces and postmasters. — 
Newspapers. — Blackstone Canal. — Boston and Worcester Railroad. 
— Providence and Worcester Railroad. — Grafton Centre Railroad. — 
Buildings;— Powers murder.— Grafton Bank robbery.— Old burying 
ground. — Poor farm. — Pine Grove Cemetery. — Riverside Cemetery. 
— The great fire. — Public Library. — Sabbath-schools. — Fire depart- 
ment.— Societies, etc. — First National Bank.— Grafton National 
Bank. — Savings Bank. — Stages. — Telegraph. — Political. — Oldest 
road.— Grafton's Centennial Celebration. — Fiftieth anniversary of 
the Ladies' Sewing Circle.— Sketch of Saundersville, and Esek 
Saunders and family. — Business at New England Village, Centre- 
ville, Fisherville and Farnumsville. — Lawyers.— Physicians. — Col- 
lege graduates. 

Fopniation. 

WITHIN the last fifty years the population of this town 
has increased surprisingly. In 1765, there were 371 
males, 371 females, colored 21 ; houses, 109 ; families, 109. 
According to the Colonial census in 1776, it had advanced 
to 861. By the first United States census, under the gov- 
ernment, in 1790, there were 872. By the second census, 
in 1800, there were 985. In 1810 the population was re- 
duced to 946. In 1820 there was a population of 1,154, 
three times as many as in 1765, fifty-five years before. 
Since 1820, the increase has been very rapid. In 1830, the 
whole number of inhabitants, according to the census taken 
40 



314 HISTOEY OF GKATTON. 

that year, was 1,889 ; in 1840, it was 2,943 ; in 1850, 3,904; 
in I860; 4,317 ; in 1870, 4,594. In 1875, the population 
diminished over 150 on account of the business depression, 
and was 4,442. In 1875, the number of dwellings was 716, 
and number of families 951. 

According to Mr. Brigham, the population in 1835 was 
3,036. 

Wealth. 

An almost uninterrupted increase of the population and 
business of the town, since the present century, has vastly 
increased its wealth. Some judgment of this increase may 
be formed by comparing the taxes of 1832 and of 1860. 
In 1832, the sum assessed for town purposes was only 
$1,950. But in 1860, the sum total assessed for all pur- 
poses, State, county and town, was $11,626.81. 

In 1860, the personal property assessed was $536,213 

The real estate l,05i,772 

Total valuation . $1,890,985 

Whereas the total valuation in 1832, was 890,968 

Showing a gain in 18 years of $700,027 

The total valuation in 1865, was $1,777,973 

In 1772, Grafton paid £2, 17s., 3d. of the State tax ; in 
1778, £2, 15s., 3d. ; in 1782, £2, lOs., 5d. ; in 1786, £2, 12s., 
6d. ; in 1793, there were 237 polls in town, and they paid 
£2, 8s., 3d., 3q. 

Principal Business. 

The original settlers were doubtless principally employed 
in the tilling and cultivating of the soil, for which each re- 
ceived his proportion of the seven thousand five hundred 
acres purchased of the Indians. At the present day (1879) 
the employment pursued, more than any other, is work upon 
leather. 



CttRBttNG BTTSINESS. 315 

The Carrying Bdsiness. 

The principal business carried on in the Centre is carrying 
leather and manufacturing boots and shoes. Jonathan 
Warren bought out the tannery on North street, in the year 
1820, and began currying in what is now known as " the 
Old Red Shop," and he was also extensively engaged in tlie 
manufacture of boots and brogaus, which business he car- 
ried on until the year 1870. Mr. Warren died in Decem- 
ber, 1875. 

K. E. Warren began currying in 1830, and continued in 
the business up to 1869, employing from eight to twelve 
persons. 

Messrs. E. B. & A. M. Bigelow began currying in 18&3, 
in the shop next to the Baptist Church, which building they 
occupied for four years, when they built the shop now oc- 
cupied by A. & A. Bigelow, where they curried and also 
manufactured boots and shoes until about the year 1861, 
wlien the company dissolved, and each one engaged in busi- 
ness on his own account for several years. 

B. K. Moulton also did quite a business at currying, mov- 
ing from Dudley to this place in 1851, and continued in the 
business up to 1871, in the shop owned by E,. E. Warren, on 
North street. 

John Whitney began in the business in 1836, and con- 
tinued it on South street up to 1870. 

George W. Estabrook came to this town from Worcester, 
in 1851, and entered at once into the employ of B. K. Moul- 
ton, where he remained seven years. In 1858 he formed a 
co-partnership with Hiram Fernald, and engaged in curry- 
ing in a building above the engine-house, on North street, 
until 1863, when the business was conducted in his name 
alone by his son Frank, until February, 1874, when the 
business was discontinued, he being engaged by a wholesale 
leather house in Boston as salesman, where he has since been 
located. 



316 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

Messrs. Estabrook & StrattoD began currying in 1862, 
and remained in the business up to the death of Mr. Esta- 
brook, wliich occurred in the year 1865. Mr. Stratton car- 
ried on the business for a number of years after the death 
of his partner, and has a shop on North street at the present 
time, but he is not doing any business in it. 

J. W. McKenzie began currying in 1863, and is still en- 
gaged, to a small extent, in the business on North street, 
and he is also starting the manufacture of boots and shoes 
on a small scale. 

Thomas Hall began currying several years ago, in a shop 
in the rear of Mr. McKenzie, on North street, where he is 
in the business at present. He employs about ten men, and 
has steam power. 

L. W. Dodge began the currying business on his own ac- 
count in 1837, on North street, and stocked a tannery in 
Otis, Mass., for a number of years, and also one in the town 
of Weston, Vt., for several years, and curried his own stock 
up to the year 1872, when he built his new shop on North 
street, in the rear of A. & A. Bigelow's. In June, 1868, 
his son, Joseph A. Dodge, was admitted as a partner nnder 
the firm name of L. W. Dodge & Son. 

The main shop is three stories high, 84 by 40 feet, and an 
addition was built on the shop in 1877, 40 by 30 feet, two 
stories high. The first floor is used for a wet and stock 
room, tiie second floor for whitening, fitting up and finisli- 
ing, and the third story for a stufliiig loft. The firm employ 
twenty-two hands, with an average pay roll per month of 
$1,200, and curry 1,200 sides and splits a week, on the aver- 
age, for A. M. Bigelow & Co., of Boston. 

A. & A. Bigelow employ twenty-two hands, and use tlie 
same amount of oil and tallow as L. W. Dodge & Son, with 
the same pay-roll per montli, and curry 1,200 sides and 
splits a week, on the average, for A. M. Bigelow & Co. 
Their shop is 163 by 32 feet, two and a half stories high, 
and was built about the year 1840. 



318 HI6T0KY OP GEAFTON. 

The two firms use, in the course of the year, 250 tons of 
coal for furnishing power and heating purposes. There is 
also connected with the engine two steam pumps for use in 
case of fire — one to each shop. At present tlie shops are 
running on full time. 

There is a boiler and engine-house owned by L. W. Dodge 
& Son, and A. & A. Bigelow, 26 by 26 feet, with a chimney 
seven feet square at the base and sixty-live feet high. The 
engine is twenty-five horse power, and furnishes power for 
both shops. 

The Indian Bnrying-Gronnd. 

The Indian burying-ground, where the last remnants of 
the race were interred, is situated a few rods from the resi- 
dence of Fred. Jourdan, on the Farnumsville road, in a field 
belonging to the old Whipple farm. The burying-ground is 
covered with wild grass and loose stones. When the cross- 
road was cut through several of the graves were uncovered, 
and were found to contain kettles, pots, dishes, knives, tom- 
ahawks, etc., besides a few bones. A few years since, as I 
have been informed, as many as twenty or thirty graves 
were plainly distinguishable, though they have now almost 
wholly disappeared. Two of the graves were situated with- 
out the bounds of the rest, and in a direction perpendicular 
to them ; the former being from north to south, the latter 
from east to west. Many aged persons can remember when 
the last degraded remnants of the race, once inhabiting the 
soil we occupj', inclosed in rude coffins of rough boards, 
hastily put together, and without any religious ceremony, 
were conveyed to this repository of the dead. 

Post-Offlces and Tostmasters. 

The post-ofiice was established in this town, March 12, 
1811, with William Lamb as the first postmaster. The post- 
office was first kept in the old building known in its day as 



NEWSPAPEE8. 319 

the " Ply Market," owned by David Sherman. The follow- 
ing is a complete list of the postmasters : — 

Samuel Wood, Henry G. Grout, Major Otis Adams, 
Major Ebenezer Aldrich, Charles A. Pierce, H. D. P. Bige- 
low, Silas A. Pierce, Charles A. Pierce, Silas A. Pierce, 
Major J. Frank Searle, and Miss Susie E. Searle the present 
incumbent, who was appointed June 6, 1876. The post- 
ofiBce was formerly kept in the old Warren block. 

The post-ofEce at Saundersville was established February 
19, 1851, and Gilbert C. Taft was appointed postmaster. 
He has held the office twenty-eight years. 

The post-office at Farnumsville was established January 1, 
1831, with Dr. Levi Rawson as postmaster. He was sue - 
ceeded by Alfred Morse, who was succeeded by Clark C. 
Willis, the present incumbent. 

The Kew England Village post-office was established 
July 18, 1832, with Chandler M. Pratt as postmaster. 
The subsequent postmasters have been Robert W. Flagg, 
Samuel B. Dolliver, Joshua W. Harrington, Robert D. 
Chase, Simon B. Allen, and Mrs. Simon B. Allen the present 
incumbent. 

Newspapers.' 

The first Grafton newspaper was called The Sheaf. This 
was published and edited by B. Winslow Packard in the 
Warren block here and in Eagle block in Westborough, 
appearing in both towns on the same day of the week. The 
sheet was short-lived, whether on account of the want of 
brains in the editor or lack of subscribers we have been 
unable to determine. It was published in the year 1856. 

The second and last newspaper started here was the 
Grafton Herald, established January 29, 1874, by Cook & 
Sons, of Milford. This paper is quite similar to the Mil- 
ford Journal, Watick Bulletin and Medway Gazette in 
make-up ; all being published in the Journal office. At 



320 HISTORY OF GEAFTOW. 

one time the circulation of the Herald was claimed to be 
300 by the publishers. This paper still exists. 

The Blackstone Canal. 

This canal, which extended from Worcester to Providence, 
a distance of forty-five miles, passed through this town. It 
was eighteen feet wide at the bottom and thirty-six at the 
top of the banks. It was built alternately on both sides of 
the Blackstone Kiver, and passed nearly all the great manu- 
facturing establishments in the valley of the Blackstone. 
The first boat which passed through the whole extent 
arrived at the upper basin October 7, 1828. The expense 
of the work was about $750,000 ; of this amount more 
than half a million of dollars was paid by the citizens of 
Rhode Island. The canal was more useful to the public 
than to the proprietors ; the amount of transportation, how- 
ever, increased during the following years, but was of short 
duration as it was superseded by 

The Providence and Worcester Railroad Corporation 

In 1847. This road follows nearly the same route as the canal 
and has two stations in this town, one at Saundersville and the 
other at Farnumsville. William H. Jourdan, Esq., of Graf- 
ton, now of Worcester, was one of the conductors on the 
first train, and had for a number of years the charge of the 
depot and company's interests in Worcester. 

The Boston and Worcester Railroad 

Was incorporated June 23, 1831. The road extending 
forty-four miles eastward, was first laid with a single track 
of edge rails, on cast iron chairs, resting on wooden sleepers, 
bedded in trenches filled with stones. The cost of construc- 
tion was $1,500,000, including land, labor, cars, engines, and 
buildings. At that time passenger trains went in each direc- 
tion three times daily during the warm months, and twice in 



EAILKOADS. 



321 



the cold season, except on Sundays. This road was con- 
solidated with the "Western road, forming a line from 
Boston to Albany, N. Y. At the present time the road is 
one of the .best managed and equipped roads in the country, 
having a double track of all steel rails. The company a 
few years ago erected a new passenger station in Grafton, 
on the site of the old freight depot and opposite the old 
passenger station, which is standing at the present time and 
used for storage purposes. 

The Grafton Centre Bailroad, 

Narrow gauge, which runs from the depot of the Boston 
and Albany railroad in New England Village, is three miles 
in length and was completed in the fall of 1874. The road 
is at the present time equipped with two dummy engine 
passenger cars made by Jerome Wheelock, of Worcester, 
a native of this town, also freight cars operated by the same 
motive power. 

At the annual meeting last January the following officers 
were elected: — President, Jonathan D. Wheeler; clerk, A. 
A. Ballou ; treasurer, Henry F. Wing; superintendent, 
Edward P. Capron ; directors, J. D. Wheeler, Winthrop 
Faulkner, G. K. Nichols, G. F. Slocomb, S. A. Forbush, 
Franklyn BaldwiTi, Alden M. Bigelow, J. A. Dodge, J. B. 
White, Eeuben Taft. The gross receipts of the road for 
the year were $3,995.07 ; total cost of running the road, 
$3,202.45; net income, $792.62. During the year the 
number of passengers carried was 22,327. A freight depart- 
ment has been added within the past five montlis, at a cost 
for construction and equipment of $375.39 ; its earnings 
for the time have been $511.90. The cost of fuel per day 
was- $1.38. Winthrop Faulkner, Esq., who has been 
intimately connected with the enterprise from its beginning, 
and for some years its superintendent, has resigned his 
office. It is but justice to say that the success of the road, 
whether as an accommodation to the public or fiaaneially, is 
41 



322 HISTORY OP GKArTON. 

very largely owing to the judicious personal care he has so 
faithfully exercised over its interests. Mr. Oapron, his suc- 
cessor, has been the eificient conductor of the road from its 
beginning, and will bring his experience to promote the 
future efficiency of this popular line of travel. 

The only fatal accident on the road occurred in 1878. 
The engineer, Mr. Daniels, saw something on the track and 
gave two whistles, but there was no movement. As he 
neared the object it proved to be a boy lying on his face 
with his neck across the rail. -It being down grade he 
passed over the body, cutting the head entirely off. The 
boy was twelve years old, named Thomas Connors, and was 
working for one Sullivan and had not been from the house 
over five miimtes when killed. He was subject to fits, and 
one of them is supposed to have been the indirect cause of 
his death. 

The superintendents have been Hon. J. H. Wood, E. P. 
Capron, Winthrop Faulkner and E. P. Capron. 

Buildings. 

Since the present century came in the vast increase of 
wealth in Grafton has effected a marked improvement in its 
buildings of every description. In 1800 the only considera- 
ble public edifice was the old church on the common ; and 
that though then capacious enough to accommodate the 
people in their weekly worship, was erected without steeple 
and had nothing of elegance to recommend it. And as to 
the private dwelling-houses of the town at that period, 
though, generally speaking, they were substantially built, 
neat and convenient, yet there was nothing beautiful or 
attractive about them. But now we see scattered in all 
parts of the town, and quite thickly in the centre, large and 
costly residences, beautiful to look at. "We see a convenient 
town hall instead of a church vestry to hold town meetings 
in. We see elegant school-houses, which are ornaments and 
do honor to the town. We see five churches and three 



POWERS MUEDEE, GRAPTON BANK EOBBEET. 323 

hotels, all respectable in appearance and well adapted for 
their intended use. And here we see farms all in tine cal- 
tivation, with farm-houses which are among the best in Wor- 
cester County. 

The Powers Murder. 

The Supreme Court of the State met, by special assign- 
ment, in Worcester, June lith, 1836, for the trial of Jona- 
than Brooks, a cordwainer, charged with the murder of 
Henry Powers, laborer, in the employ of Mrs. Eunice Hay- 
den, in this town, October 30th, 1835. Judges Barton and 
Allen defended the prisoner. The following facts were 
brought out during the trial : — The parties resided on 
George Hill, and had some conversation relative to Powers 
throwing apples at Brooks' boys. The conversation ended 
in blows, and in Brooks' stabbing Powers in the shoulder, 
from the effects of which he died. After a very lengthy 
and exhaustive trial of nearly three days, the jury, after an 
absence of an hour and a half, returned a verdict of man- 
slaughter, and the court sentenced the prisoner to the State 
Prison for six years at hard labor, and one day solitary con- 
finement. 

Grafton Bank Kobbery. , 

The First National Bank of Grafton was robbed of every- 
thing contained in its safe, on Tuesday night, October 25, 
1870, by burglars, who left ample evidence that they were 
professionals. They were tracked to Worcester, to which 
city they went, in a team which they stole from Mr. Far- 
well, in New England Village. Everything showed that it 
was a deliberately planned affair — a job put up by some one 
who had made himself familiar with the premises ; and the 
forces were so distributed that the work went on safely, even 
while people were moving about the street, for one of them 
was left outside to inform those at work of the approach of 
any one, by means of a cord under the door. It was the 



324 HISTORY or qeafton. 

most daring and extensive robbery that ever occurred in this 
section. The greatest excitement prevailed among the citi- 
zens, and throughout the day and evening following the rob- 
bery crowds of them gathered about the door of the Banis 
to talk over the robbery that seriously affected many of 
them. The following persons were subsequently arrested 
and tried before the Superior Court, Pitman, judge, June 1, 
1871 : — Eeuben Ferris, Samuel Perris, Daniel Docherfy alias 
Daniel Potter, Charles Gleason and James M. Welch. 
After a two days' trial the court found Docherty, Gleason 
and Samuel Perris guilty. Reuben Perris was found not 
guilty, and ho was subsequently indicted for participation in 
the crime. 

The Old BnryiDg-Oronnd. 

The original Grafton burying-ground is situated near 
Goddard's Pond, and bounded by the old Worcester and 
Yalley roads. The action first taken in relation to this was 
in 1734, November 26th, when Nathaniel Sherman, Joseph 
Willard and Thomas Pratt were chosen " a committee to 
stake out a burying-place or field." In 1735, this committee 
were instructed to stake out three acres for the lot. The 
committee reported : — 
* 

"YE BUEYING LOT. 

September y 5, 1737. — Laid out one acree and one hundred and thirty 
rod of land, by order of the comtte., for a burying-place, bounded as 
follows : Begining at the southeast corner of said land, by the high- 
way leading to the mill called Ward's mill, and running west thirty- 
eight degrees north seven rods and an half to a white oalt, to the land 
of Nathaniel Sherman. Then south thirty-seven degrees west by said 
Sherman's land thirty-one rod to the land belonging to the Biglo's. 
Then east thirty-three degrees south ten rod by said land to the high- 
way. Then by the highway to the first corner mentioned. 

Surveyed, &c. 



JAMES CUTTER, 

THOMAS PRATT, ]. Comtte." 

NATHANIEL SHERMAN, 



J' 



POOE FABM. 325 

Poor Farm. 

April 7, 1834:. — The town purchased, throngli a commit- 
tee, a farm of Benjamin Kingsbury, in the westerly part of 
the town, containing nearly one hundred acres, on which to 
support the town's poor, for $3,086.73. 

This old poor farm was located on Brigham Hill, and 
when the present poor farm, formerly the farm of Ool. 
Cyrus Leland, was purchased, this farm was sold. Previous 
to this time the town's poor were boarded in private 
families. 

During 1853, there were twenty-one persons supported on 
tlie farm at an average cost of twenty-four cents a week. 
1854, there were eighteen. The overseers reported as 
follows : — 

" Agreeable to a vote of said town, in March last, said Overseers 
have contracted for a barn to be erected on said town farm, which is 
now in process of building, and will probably be completed about the 
middle of June next. Said barn is 40 feet by 80, with IS-feet posts, and 
to be made convenient for from 20 to 30 head of cattle, and calculated 
to hold a sufBcient quantity of hay for the same. Said Overseers, hav- 
ing the two old barns on the farm left to their disposal, have concluded 
to remove one of them on to the north end of the new barn-yard, there 
to be used for a barn or a shelter for carriages, carts, farming tools, 
&c., &c,, as is most needed, and to sell the other at public or private 
sale to the highest bidder. Said Overseers also report that said town 
farm is now in no better condition for agricultural purposes than it was 
when the town first purchased it. Therefore they would recommend 
that the farm be improved hereafter, annually, by removing large quan- 
tities of meadow mud or peat, from the low lands, to the barn cellar 
and yafd, there to be manufactured into manure, and large quantities of 
earth or ground from the high lands on to the low, to improve the same 
for grass, as the nature of the two soils is such that both may be very 
much improved by a mixture of the same. They would still further re- 
port that said farm should be managed and used for a milk farm, making 
the proceeds of nearly, all its sales to consist of cash, received each 
month for milk." 

In 1855, twenty-six were supported on tlie farm. During 
this year the barn was completed at a cost of $2,331.57. 
During 1856, twenty-two were supported at a cost of $2.25 



324 HISTORY OF GEAFTOlir. 

most daring and extensive robbery that ever occurred in this 
section. The greatest excitement prevailed among the citi- 
zens, and throughout the day and evening following the rob- 
bery crowds of them gathered about the door of the Bank 
to talk over the robbery that seriously affected many of 
them. The follovying persons were subsequently arrested 
and tried before the Superior Court, Pitman, judge, June 1, 
1871 : — Keuben Perris, Samuel Perris, Daniel Docherty alias 
Daniel Potter, Charles Gleason and James M. Welch. 
After a two days' trial the court found Docherty, Gleason 
and Samuel Perris guilty. Keuben Perris was found not 
guilty, and he was subsequently indicted for participation in 
the crime. 

The Old Bnrying-Ground. 

The original Grafton burying-ground is situated near 
Goddard's Pond, and bounded by the old Worcester and 
Valley roads. The action first taken in relation to this was 
in 1734, November 26th, when Nathaniel Sherman, Joseph 
Willard and Thomas Pratt were chosen " a committee to 
stake out a bnrying-place or field." In 1735, this committee 
were instructed to stake out three acres for the lot. The 
committee reported : — 

"YE BURYING LOT. 

September y" 5, 1737. — Laid out one acree and one hundred and thirty 
rod of land, by order of the comtte., for a burying-place, bounded as 
follows : Begining at the southeast corner of said land, by the high- 
way leading to the mill called Ward's mill, and running west thirty- 
eight degrees north seven rods and an half to a white oak, to the land 
of Nathaniel Sherman. Then south thirty-seven degrees west by said 
Sherman's land thirty-one rod to the land belonging to the Biglo's. 
Then east thirty-three degrees south ten rod by said land to the high- 
way. Then by the highway to the first corner mentioned. 

Surveyed, &c. 

JAMES CUTTER, \ 
THOMAS PRATT, \ Comtte." 
NATHANIEL SHERMAN, j 



POOR FARM. 325 

Poor Farm. 

April 7, 1834. — The town purchased, througli a commit- 
tee, a farm of Benjamin Kingsbury, in the westerly part of 
the town, containing nearly one hundred acres, on which to 
support the town's poor, for $3,086.73. 

This old poor fai-m was located on Brigham Hill, and 
when the present poor farm, formerly the farm of Col. 
Cyrus Leland, was purchased, this farm was sold. Previous 
to this time the town's poor were boarded in private 
families. 

During 1853, there were twenty-one persons supported on 
the farm at an average cost of twenty-four cents a week. 
1854, there were eighteen. The overseers reported as 
follows : — 

" Agreeable to a vote of said town, in March last, said Overseers 
have contracted for a barn to be erected on said town farm, which is 
now in process of building, and will probably be completed about the 
middle of June next. Said barn is 40 feet by 80, with 18-feet posts, aud 
to be made convenient for from 20 to 30 head of cattle, and calculated 
to hold a sufficient quantity of hay for the same. Said Overseers, hav- 
ing the two old barns on the farm left to their disposal, have concluded 
to remove one of them on to the north end of the new barn-yard, there 
to be used for a barn or a shelter for carriages, carts, farming tools, 
&c., &c., as is most needed, and to sell the other at public or private 
sale to the highest bidder. Said Overseers also report that said town 
farm is now in no better condition for agricultural pui-poses than it was 
when the town first purchased it. Therefore they would recommend 
that the farm be improved hereafter, annually, by removing large quan- 
tities of meadow mud or peat, from the low lands, to the barn cellar 
and yafd, there to be manufactured into manure, and large quantities of 
earth or ground from the high lands on to the low, to improve the same 
for grass, as the nature of the two soils is such that both may be very 
much improved by a mixture of the same. They would still further re- 
port that said farm should be managed and used for a milk farm, making 
the proceeds of nearly, all its sales to consist of cash, received each 
month for milk." 

In 1855, twenty-six were supported on the farm. During 
this year the barn was completed at a cost of $2,331.57. 
During 1856, twenty-two were supported at a cost of $2.25 



326 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

per week. One of the old barns was sold this year for $70. 
1857, one hundred and fifty-one were supported on the 
farm, at a cost of $2.86 per week. 1858, two hundred and 
nineteen were supported. 1859, four hundred and twenty 
were supported. During the year one of the inmates died, 
leaving but four at the farm, who were apparently in a com- 
fortable and contented condition. In 1860, there were three 
hundred supported. In 1861, four hundred and fifteen. 
During this year a wagon, harness and robe were stolen from 
the barn on the farm. 

The number of persons who were inmates of the alms- 
house during the year 1865 was 10. Six were discharged. 
One was temporarily absent. The present number was 
three. " We have re-engaged the services of Mr. and Mrs. 
Warren Landers to superintend the almshouse and farm 
for the ensuing year, at a salary of five hundred dollars 
($500). They are to furnish all the help in the house at 
their own expense." The number of persons who were 
inmates of the almshouse in 1866 was seven. Two died. 
Two were discharged. The present number, three. " We 
have re engaged the services of Mr. and Mrs. Warren 
Landers, at a salary of six hundred dollars ($600), they to 
furnish all help in the house at their own expense. We 
have been much pleased with the management of the farm 
and almshouse the past year." The number of persons at 
the farm in 1867 was four ; families lodged, liS ; number 
in almshouse, seven ; discharged, two. Whole number 
supported or assisted on the farm during 1868, 252. Num- 
ber of weeks board, 110. The number of persons at the 
almshouse, seven. Died during the year, two : George T. 
Clark and Roland Oobb. " Wo have contracted with Mr. 
and Mrs. Landers to remain at the town farm one year from 
April 1st, 1869, at the same salary as the previous year." 
The town farm consists of about 286 acres of land and has 
on it 500 cords of wood or more, has been appraised at 
$6,000 and can be sold for $8,000 or more. Whole nnm- 



POOR FABM. 327 

ber supported or assisted on the farm during 1869, 158. 
Number of weeks' board, 238. Number of persons at the 
almshouse, four. In consequence of the Act passed by the 
legislature in 1868, "in relation to the settlement of paupers," 
it has cost the town about $400 more by their gaining a 
settlement. Whole number supported or assisted on the farm 
during 1870, 248. Number of weeks' board 306. Number 
of persons at tlie almshouse at the present time, 11 : Charles 
Hayden, Mrs. Elijah Harrington, Henry Prentice, his wife i^ 
and five children, and two Jennings boys. We have paid 
some large bills for aid away from the farm, which could 
not be avoided, in cases of sickness and death. Mrs. Jen- 
nings and Shepard Cooper, who are in the insane hospital at 
Worcester, will probably cost the town $400 per annum. 
Deborah Warren, who died last fall, had been aided annually 
for twenty-four years. We have put up two hundred and 
thirty-eight vagrants or traveling paupers the year past, — 
some of them did not forget to call the second or third 
time. Whole number, of tramps put up in 1871, 518, and 
260 more had meals without lodgings. Number of persons 
at the almshouse at present time, six. Whole number of 
weeks' board, 368. Whole number supported or assisted 
on the farm during 1872, 304; of this number 195 have 
been lodged and 102 have had meals. Number of weeks' 
board, 209. Number of persons at the almshouse at the 
present time, six : Charles Hayden, Mrs. Betsy Harrington, 
Joseph B. Duncan, Daniel F. Brooks, Ellen Brooks and 
child. Whole number of tramps put up in 1873, 180, and 
137 more have had meals. Number of persons at the 
almshouse at present time, six. Whole number of weeks' 
board, 274. Whole number of tramps put up in 1874, 837, 
and 298 more had meals without lodgings. Whole number 
of persons at the almshouse at present time, six. Whole 
number of weeks' board, 388. The following persons who 
have been aided by the town have died : — John Jennings, 
Betsy Harrington, John Aldrich, Zebina C. Lincoln, Jane 



328 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

Jourdan and Michael Horgan. Whole number of tramps 
put up at the almshouse in 1875, 616, and 110 have had 
meals without lodgings. Whole number of persons at the 
almshouse at the present time, 10. Whole number of 
weeks' board, 568. Whole number of tramps lodged and 
fed at the almshouse in 1876, 585. Whole number fed at 
the almshouse without lodgings, 150. Whole number of 
tramps lodged and fed at the lockup, 168. Total, 903. 
Whole number of tramps lodged and fed at the almshouse 
in 1877, 526. Whole number fed without lodging, 135. 
Whole number fed at the lockup, 642. Total, 1,303. Cost 
per night at the lockup, 16| cents each. Whole number of 
persons supported during the year at the almshouse in 1877, 
12. Number of persons now at the almshouse, 10. Whole 
number of weeks' board of paupers at the almshouse, 355. 
There have been three deaths of persons who have been 
assisted by the town the past year. The cost of supporting 
paupers at the farm is $2.11 per week. The overseers would 
recommend that the almshouse be painted the coming year. 
There were eight deaths of persons who had settlements 
in and been assisted by the town in 1878, to wit. : — Mrs. 
John Aldrich, Philena Daniels, Mrs. Harriet Robinson, Mary 
McFarland, Mrs. Abigail Phillips, Timothy E. Wheelock, 
Joel Flagg, Fred. G. Plympton. The three last named died 
at the almshouse. Whole number of persons supported at 
the almshouse during the year, 19. Number of persons at 
the almshouse, seven. Whole number of weeks' board of 
paupers at the almshouse, 530. The cost of supporting 
paupers at the farm, including interest on farm, painting the 
almshouse and improvements on farm during the year, 
$3.35 per week. Whole number of tramps lodged and fed, 
1,100 ; cost per night at tramp-house, 12| cents each. 

Pine GroTe Cemetery. 

September 21, 1846, the town purchased of Ebenezer 
Leland three acres and ninety-nine and nine-tenths rods for. 



EIVEESIDE CEMETERY. 329 

$106.96 for a cemetery in NewEngland Village, and Albert 
Stone, Asa F. Smith and Austin Holbrook were chosen 
trustees. 

October 8, 1849, the town purcliased land for the 
cemetery of Ethan R. Thompson. 

Riverside Cemetery. 

The Riverside Cemetery, which contains eleven acres of 
land, was purchased on the Cold Stream Road, by the town 
in 1849. At the consecration of the cemetery the following 
programme was carried out : — Invocation and reading of 
tlie Scriptures, Rev. Mr. Whittemore ; hymn, composed by 
Miss Elizabeth Bruce ; address, Rev. E. B. Willson of the 
First Congregational Society, fi-om which we take the fol- 
lowing : — 

" This enclosure we devote, to-day, to other purposes. We dedicate 
it to silence and repose. Here we have selected and made ready a spot 
for the burial of our dead, and to that sole and sacred use we consecrate 
it now. In mindfulness of that coming and infevitable hour, when our 
dust shall return to its dust again, and the spirit unto God who gave it, 
we have sought out this solitude ; and here, amid these shades and by 
this river's side, we have marked the places where the dust we wear, 
and the dust of those we love, may lie and mingle; 

We deem this spot not ill-chosen for its purpose. It is withdrawn 
from the crowded thoroughfares of men. The din of business, the 
clamor of competition, the rush and hurry of men of care, will scarcely 
be heard in this distant retreat. The only prevalent sounds, which 
shall break its common stillness, shall be the soothing sounds of nature, 
— the notes of birds, the drone of insects, the voices of waters, the 
soft rustling of leaves, and the spirit-like whisperings of the wind 
among the pine-tops. Here quietness and peace shall reign, and nothing 
shall need to hinder the contemplation to which man is invited by the 
emblems of mortality about him. The language of nature is, indeed, 
the very speech of God its Author, and is, like Himself, perfect truth. 
It is when man is in his truest moods, — and these come never oftener 
than in his sorrows and self-communings, — that he finds himself most 
in harmony with nature, and most rejoices in her kindly and wholesome 
influence. Here, with the dead, with nature, and with God, will be 
found, we trust, that privacy and seclusion which are always so grateful 
to sensitive minds in the days of their sorrow." 
42 



330 HISTOEY OF GKAPTON. 

Consecrating prayer, E-ev. T. C. Biscoe, of the Evangeli- 
cal Congregational Society ; hymn, entitled and altered, 

" A resting-place we have sought for the dead, — 
Not where the busy world will daily tread, 
By dusty walks and noisy streets, but where 
The balmy breath of the free summer air 
Through these pines may softly sigh, as they wave 
Their evergreen arms o'er the new-made grave." etc. 

The history of the Cemetery hy Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
was as follows : — 

" The introduction into our country of rural cemeteries is of recent 
date; and Mount Auburn, in the vicinity of Boston, is believed to be 
the first of the kind among us. This enterprise, happily conceived and 
well executed, led the way to the establishment of rural cemeteries in 
the neighborhood of other cities and large towns. That the sentiments 
and feelings of our own community have been affected by this change in 
public taste, has been apparent, probably to all among us who have had 
their attention directed to the subject, in the growing disposition to 
ornament and improve the ' old burying-ground.' But this, though not, 
strictly speaking, all filled, yet has been so appropriated in lots to 
families which have lost one or more of their numbers, as rendered it 
necessary that new grounds should be provided. At a town meeting 
held September 24, 1849, a committee of thirteen were chosen to pur- 
chase a lot for a burial place ; which committee, after due examination, 
bargained with the former owners of the grounds, which we have since 
consecrated to the purposes of a rural cemetery. The land, thus 
secured, is in extent about eleven acres, and is situated on the Cold 
Stream Road, so-called. It is believed that no other lot could befound 
in our town, that embraces so many natural beauties of wood and water, 
hill and vale, together with the delightful prospect that may be enjoyed 
from many parts of the ground, that so peculiarly fit this for a cemetery. 
The substratum of the soil on the most of the grounds being gravel, 
and the whole free from any ledges of rock or boulders, is regarded as 
very favorable for the purposes of interment. It is doubtful whether 
an area of the same size can be found elsewhere in our town, that 
furnishes a greater variety of forest trees, than adorns the spot of our 
choice. The two ponds within the premises, besides furnishing the 
proprietors with a large amount of decayed vegetable matter, which 
will be just what is needed upon the grounds, will, when properly exca- 
vated and ornamented, add greatly to the beauty and interest of the 
scenery. We deem it a matter for congratulation, that so beautiful a 
spot has been found within so convenient a distance of our village. 



EIVftKSIDE CEMETEEY. 331 

In accordance with the recommendation of the committee on the pur- 
chase of the lot, the town, on the 8th of October, A. D. 1849, made 
choice of five trustees or commissioners, who should have the care, 
superintendence and management of the cemetery ; one to go out of 
office each year, and his place to be filled by a successor who -shall be 
chosen by ballot. The trustees fortunately secured the services of 
General Dearborn, of Roxbury, in the arrangement of the grounds; 
who, with an experience in this particular department probably exceed- 
ing that of any other gentleman in this country, spent four days With 
us, both planning and laying out the necessary avenues and fool-paths ; 
at the same time giving us such information as has been of much ser- 
vice to Us in the improvement of the grounds. His labors and liberality 
will be held in grateful remembrance, as he declined all compensation 
for his services, except the payment of his necessary expenses. The 
avenues and foot-paths have been laid out in such a manner as to 
furnish easy access to all parts of the grounds ; while, at the same time, 
special regard was had to the development of the beauties of the place. 
The avenues are a little more than three-fourths of a mile in extent, 
and there is nearly the same length of foot-paths. These have all been 
named, and guide-boards have been placed at both ends of the avenues 
and paths. All the grounds have not, as yet, been lotted out; nor Is it 
regarded as necessary, or even desirable, that they should be at present. 
But lots of different sizes have been laid out In diflferent parts of the 
grounds^ so as to afford all purchasers an opportunity to suit their taste 
and ability as to locality and size. And, if any individual wishes a lot 
in any part of the ground that is not surveyed, it has been decided by 
the trustees that he may have it, and of such a size as he may desire, 
provided it is not so laid out as to Interfere with the appropriate ar- 
rangement of the adjoining lots. After much labor and expense, the 
ground was judged to be in such a state of preparedness for its destined 
purposes, as to warrant the trustees in fixing upon a time for Its conse- 
cration as a rural cemetery. This was done by appropriate religious 
services on Tuesday, April 29. The day was a beautiful one, and pecu- 
liarly favorable for the services, which were attended by a large, atten- 
tive and deeply afffected audience. Tlie ground in all parts of the ceme- 
tery having been priced at two and a half cents per foot, the right of 
choice was disposed of at public auction; the choice-money amounting 
to nearly seventy dollars. At the time of sale, notice was given that, 
by vote of the trustees, after the expiration of fourteen days from the 
time of consecration the price of the lots would be raised to three 
cents per foot. Within that time seventy lots were sold. All lots that 
have been, or may be sold, are subject to such by-laws as the trustees 
have euacted or may establish to secure and promote the general 
objects of the cemetery. Thus, by a liberal outlay on the part of our 
town, the citizens may now, for a trifling sum, secure for themselves 
and their families a quiet resting-place in this pleasant ' garden of 



332 HISTOET OF GEATTON. 

graves,' when death shall have sevei-ed the brittle thread of life. The 
lot seems so well designed to the purpose to which it has been devoted, 
that it would be difficult to name any particular that would have im- 
proved it to that end. Whether considered in reference to its position 
and accessibility ; the availableness of most of its surface for the pur- 
poses of interment, and of the remainder for ornament; the diversity 
and beauty of the grounds ; its native and varied forest-growth, or the 
loveliness of the surrounding scenery ; it seems to be all that could be 
desired." 



Town Hall, Warren Block and Unitarian Clmrcli Destroyed by Fire. 

One of the largest and most destructive fires that ever 
visited Grafton, occurred early Thursday morning, Scptern 
ber 11, 1862, destroying Warren Block, the Unitarian 
Church (llev. W. G. Scandliu's), the Town Hall, the adja- 
cent buildings, and a large amount of personal property. 
The fire originated in the Protective Union store in Warren 
Block, soon after midnight, extending to the otlier buildings 
before it could be checked. The Union store was com- 
pletely burned out. Loss, $4,000 ; insured for $3,000. The 
store of J. H. Wood & Co., dry goods dealers and merchant 
tailors, in the same block, lost all its contents, valued at 
$5,500 ; insured for $3,500. Warren, Conant & Co., shoe 
manufacturers, succeeded in removing some of their stock 
from the basement and first floor. The town safe, contain- 
ing all the archives and documents of the town, in an ad- 
joining room, fell through into the cellar, but not a leaf of 
its contents was injured. On opening it everything was 
found safe. A. L. Hawes, jeweller, occupied the next store. 
His goods were partially saved. The hall occupied by the 
Odd Fellows and Freemasons, and a large hall used by the 
Methodists for a churcih, were both consumed. Warren 
Block was situated on the north side of the Common, and 
was owned by Capt. Jonatlian Warren. Its cost was $12,- 
000, and it was insured for $8,000. The Town Hall, with tlie 
Unitarian Church in the second story, was only a few feet 
distant. The carpets were removed, but the building was 



FREE PUBLIO LIBRAET. 333 

consumed. The church was insured for $3,000. The entire 
loss was estimated at $50,000 or $60,000. 

Free Public Library. 

The citizens of the town are primarily indebted to their 
worthy townsman and fellow-citizen, Joseph Leland, Esq., 
for his timely and voluntary gift for the establishment of 
this public institution, which is of such general and decided 
utility. But for his practical sagacity in devising, and his 
liberality in endowing it, upon such conditions as almost to 
compel the co-operation of the town in promoting its 
efficiency, years might and probably would have elapsed 
before either public or private generosity would have sup- 
plied the means for carrying into effect so desirable an enter- 
prise. But with the donation of $1,000 from Mr. Leland,* 
increased in a generous spirit, in accordance with his sug- 
gestion, by the appropriation of a like sum by the town, the 
institution was at once placed on a stable foundation, and its 
trustees proceeded to render its funds available to the pub- 
lic. Due acknowledgment should be made to the old Graf- 
ton Lyceum, and the Farmers' Club, whose stockholders 
cheerfully contributed the libraries of those organizations, 
containing many choice books, to constitute a part and to 
circulate with this. To enable the transfer to be made, that 
the trustees might thus guard against purchasing books sure 



* In a communication to the Selectmen, dated November 3, 1866, after 
alluding with tender words to this, the place of his nativity, and to the 
desire he felt to promote its prosperity, he says :— " I have thought that 
the establishment of a free public library and reading-room would con- 
duce as much as any other plan that could be arranged by which I 
might evince that interest, and leave- some evidence of my desire to 
elevate and improve the rising generation. I have therefore concluded 
to offer the town of Grafton the sum of one thousand dollars, trusting 
that the town will contribute an equal amount, which would place the 
library on a sure footing." 

On the 26th of the same month the town accepted the offer, and ap- 
propriated an equal amount for the end proposed. 



334: HISTORY OF GEAPTON. 

to become available to the library in time, some little delay 
was occasioned in their action, and yet the result showed 
that such delay was wisdom and economy in the end. The 
reading-room, provided for by the terms of the donation, 
was first opened to visitors January 28, 1867, while the 
library, owing to the delay above alluded to, and in procur- 
ing cases, preparing books for circulation, and other inter- 
ruptions, was not made accessible to the public until 
April 24. 

The operations of both departments of the institution 
during the first year were in a high degree satisfactory, 
having more than equaled the most sanguine expectations 
of those charged with their immediate oversight. Under 
the accommodating and careful management of Mr. Wliite, 
the librarian, both seem to have been centres of increasing 
interest to visitors, and the number of those who are dis- 
posed to avail themselves of such means of entertainment 
and culture is rapidly enlarging. Records kept by the 
librarian for a few weeks after the reading-room was 
opened, showed that an average of twenty-six persons made 
it a daily resort for reading, which is perhaps not an over- 
estimate of the number of those who have continued to 
frequent it, even since the library with its more varied and 
substantial treasures of information has been competing 
with it for popular favor. Here are at all times to be found 
the leading monthly, and several of the popular weekly 
publications of the country, whose racy and instructive con- 
tents deserve, and would doubtless receive, far more attention 
from many, especially ladies, if its location was more retired 
and favorable for the legitimate use and purposes implied 
in its name. To many who have had occasion to resort to 
it, either for reading or study, it is manifest that otlier and 
larger accommodations are, to say the least, very desirable. 
A space equal to that now given to both the library and 
reading-room, and free from the intrusion of all foreign 
interests is required for the convenient arrangement and 



FEEE PUBLIC LIBEAEY. 



335 



most profitable use of the magazines and papers now taken 
and desired by the reading public. But until the town 
shall deem it expedient to provide more ample quarters, or 
some generous donor, prompted by the laudable desire to 
confer a lasting benefit upon the community, shall appear, 
to offer the means for the erection of a building for the 
exclusive use of the library, this department must more than 
share with that the inconvenience of too contracted and 
ill-suited apartments. Though no public notice of the open- 
ing of the library was given, and therefore the fact was not 
generally known, yet a very respectable number of readers 
began, at once, to draw books from its shelves. Tliis class 
continued steadily to increase, though much more rapidly 
during the latter part of the year, until the number of 
volumes delivered per week was about 300. The entire 
number delivered from April 24, 1867, to the first Wednes- 
day in February — when the books were called in for examina- 
tion — a period of about nine months, was 5,311, and to 
482 different persons ; not a single volume during this time 
was missing. The trustees reported : — 

" The books ai-e generally in good repair, and show careful usage on 
the part of most of those who have drawn them. We wish the young 
especially, and all who are permitted to share the gratuitous privileges 
of the library, to remember the cost of books, and that all wanton or 
careless defacing of the property of the town is an index of the culture 
and public standard of morals among us, and of necessity is a discredit 
to the town. 

The public library has now become an institution of the town. Some 
pecuniary outlay, as contemplated by the legislature, will be necessary 
to continue it in a creditable condition, and the trustees hope such a. 
sum will be cheerfully appropriated, believing that no expenditure of 
the same amount in any other manner will conduce more to the general 
welfare." 

In 1868, nine thousand six hundred and thirty-six volumes 
were taken from the library by six hundred and forty-six 
different individuals. At the examination of the library on 
the first Wednesday in February, but one volume was miss- 
ing, showing great care both on the part of the librarian 



336 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

and that of the people in their general use. Twenty-three 
volumes of magazines and reviews were bound ; while it 
was found necessary to re-l)ind twenty-six volumes worn by 
their frequent use. The reading-room was liberally provided 
with a good selection of our periodical literature and the 
use of the same gave unquestioned evidence touching the 
want which this public provision meets. 

At the annual examination of the library by the trustees, 
in 1869, it was found, from the report of the librarian, 
J. W. White, that 9,188 volumes had been taken from the 
library, by seven hundred and four persons, — an increase of 
fifty-eight over the number who availed themselves of its 
privileges in the preceding year. One volume was damaged 
beyond possibility. of return. One other volume — "Freaks 
of Fortune" — was taken from the library without being 
charged. So that, in three years, one book has been de- 
stroyed, one carried out of town, and two lost, without 
leaving any trace as to their direction, — revealing care com- 
mendable in the highest degree. 

The library is under obligations for books presented by 
Hon. J. J). Baldwin, Hon. George F. Hoar, and from the 
family of the late Hon. William Brigham. Two hundred 
and twenty volumes were added during the present year, at 
a cost of $312.10. Thirty volumes of magazines and reviews 
were bound. Twenty volumes were re-bound. Whole num- 
ber of volumes belonging to the library at date, about 1,951. 

The reading-room was well provided with periodical litera- 
ture, and, if we may judge by its use, fully appreciated. 

The whole number of volumes taken from the library 
during 1870, was ten thousand five hundred and eighty-two, 
or one thousand four hundred more than the previous year. 
The number of persons taking books was seven hundred 
and eleven, or six more than last year. 

The number of volumes added to the library for the same 
time was three hundred and six, or nearly one hundred more 
than the preceding year. The number of volumes in the 



FREE POBLIO LIBEAET. 



337 



library diiriDg 1871, was two thousand four hundred and 
twenty-three. Number of volumes added within the year, 
about one hundred and fifty. Number of volumes taken 
from the library during the same time, eleven thousand four 
hundred and seventy-five, or nearly one thousand more than 
last year. Number of persons who have drawn books, seven 
hundred and thirty, or about twenty more than the previous 
year. Number of books charged but not yet returned, three. 
Number of books taken from the library since its founda- 
tion neither charged nor returned, four, or less than one for 
each year. 

In 1872, the trustees adopted a card system of drawing, 
instead of a plan, in which this library was almost alone, of 
going to the shelves and drawing for oneself, thereby keep- 
ing the books in better order, by less handling. Blank cards 
were furnished, free of cost, to every one eligible to the 
library ; the method of using them was very simple, and 
was explained by the librarian. It was advisable for families 
to provide themselves with the published catalogues and 
addendas, which were obtained of the librarian at a merely 
nominal charge. From these, or from manuscript catalogues 
found in the reading-room, selections were made. For 
variety, for scope, for value, either in the range of the more 
strictly entertaining and transient, or in that of a standard 
and permanent literature, our library will favorably compare 
with that of any town of an equal population, and in which 
a similar library has been sustained for an equal length of 
time. The number of volumes in the library at this date is 
two thousand six hundred and seventy-three. Added dur- 
ing the year, two hundred and seventy-four volumes; taken 
out within this time, ten thousand one hundred and thirty- 
two volumes, by six hundred and seventy-six persons; num- 
ber of books charged but not returned, six ; number of 
books taken from the library since its organization, neither 
charged nor returned, nineteen. 

43 



338 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

The volumes added this year, 1873, numbered one hun- 
dred and eighty-seven. Persons taking them out, six hun- 
dred and seventy-four ; volumes taken out, nine thousand 
four hundred and sixty ; books chai-ged but not returned, 
twenty-six; books unaccounted for since the founding of the 
library, sixteen ; number of volumes in the library, two 
thousand eight hundred and sixty. 

The additions of new works for 1874, three hundred and 
fifty-eight volumes, besides twenty-four volumes replaced, 
making the whole number of volumes purchased within the 
year three hundred and eighty-two ; the number of persons 
taking books, seven hundred and eiglit; the number of 
volumes taken, eleven thousand four hundred and forty-five ; 
the number of volumes charged but not returned, two ; the 
number of volumes unaccounted for, five ; the whole num- 
ber of volumes in the library, thi-ee thousand two hundred 
and fifty. On the first of December, James W. White, 
who had held the office of librarian from the foundation of 
the library, was compelled by failing health and numerous 
duties, to tender his resignation to the board ; in accepting 
it the trustees recognized the unfailing fidelity and courtesy 
with which he fulfilled its duties. The trustees secured as 
Mr. White's successor, the services of Mr. D. W. Norcross, 
whose well-known thoroughness and method were a guaran- 
tee for a like trustworthiness for the future. 

Number of volumes added in 1875, two hundred and 
twenty-six ; number of volumes replaced, twenty-nine ; 
making a total purchase of two hundred and fifty-five 
volumes, with an aggregate of volumes in the library, at 
this date, of three thousand four hundred and sixty-two. 
Twelve thousand two hundred and forty-five volumes have 
been taken out, by seven hundred and seventy-five persons ; 
volumes taken out and not returned, none; unaccounted 
for, one ; new patrons, one hundred and fifty-four. 

Number of volumes added in 1876, eighty-seven; replaced, 
seventeen ; purchased, one hundred and four ; in the library 



KEEE PUBLIC LIBRARY. 339 

at this date, three thousand fonr hundred and forty-five ; 
taken out, fourteen thousand six hundred and eighty-three ; 
number of persons drawing books, six hundred and sixty- 
eight ; not a yolame unreturned or missing ; number of now 
mambers, one liundred and ten ; total number of members 
to this date, one thousand three hundred and seventy. In 
addition to the aggregate of volumes in the library there 
is a large number of pamphlets, as well as of State and other 
valuable papers. 

Number of volumes added in 1877, one hundred and 
thirty-nine ; replaced, thirteen ; purchased, one hundred and 
fifty-two ; in the library at this date, three thousand five 
hundred and eighty-two ; taken out, tliirtcen thousand four 
hundred and six ; number of persons taking books, six hun- 
dred and fifty-seven ; new members, fifty-six ; total member- 
ship, one thousand four hundred and twenty-six ; one volume 
is charged and not returned ; fonr volumes are unaccounted 
for. Since the organization of the library, and in accord- 
ance with the vote of the trustees to gradually lessen the 
circulation of a given line of fictitious works, one hundred 
and thirty volumes have been withdrawn from the library 
catalogue. The trustees made tlie following suggestion : — 

" The attention of our citizens, however, is especially called to the 
limited accommodations for any increase of the lit>rary beyond the 
current year. Every available space in the town hall is filled with its 
book- case, so that we shall be obliged very soon, either to furnish a 
building or room suitable for the library, or to stop the purchase of 
books. The trustees would respectfully urge some early action of the 
town in this respect." 

Number of volumes added in 1878, seventy eight ; re- 
placed, four ; purchased, forty-eight ; on the catalogue of 
the library, three thousand six hundred and ninety-one ; 
taken out, eleven thousand seven hundred and sixty ; num- 
ber of persons taking books, six hundred and forty-nine ; 
new members, one hundred and one ; books charged and 
unreported, none ; books unaccounted for, three. The 



340 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

whole number of persons drawing books throughout the 
year was distributed through the town as follows : — From 
the Centre District, 407 ; Farnumsville, 40 ; Saundersville, 
29 ; New England Village, 44 ; other outlying neighbor- 
hoods, 129. The number of new members was nearly 
double that of last year. 

The gentle and cnlturing influence of books in the house- 
hold, in the community, in giving scope to thought and 
strength to mind, in diffusing a broad and generous educa- 
tion, in fostering a spirit for the acquisition of useful knowl- 
edge, in its restraining and healtliful energies, — these well- 
attested facts are proving the Free Public Library to be one 
of our most valuable and indispensable agents in qualifying 
a people to be both fitted to govern and to be governed. 



Sabbath-Schools. 

With this laudable means of imparting and widely diffus- 
ing religious instruction among the young, Grafton is well 
provided. In former days, heads of families in this as well 
as in other towns throughout New England, appear to have 
been very diligent and conscientious in teaching their child- 
ren the great principles of the Christian religion and morality 
by frequently exercising them in the catechism then in use. In 
olden times every family was a Sabbath-school, and pastors 
of churches, too, were accustomed to consider themselves 
as under indispensable obligations to hear and examine the 
children and youth of their respective charges, at stated 
times, in the catechism. Since the introduction and estab- 
lishment of Sabbath- schools in this town, they seem to have 
been welcomed here and elsewliere as a means much prefer- 
able to the catechism for insti'ucting the young in the 
knowledge of Christian truth and duty, and to have dis- 
placed, in very considerable measure at least, the public 
catechetical exercises of former years. 



FIRK DEPARTMENT. 341 

Grafton contains at the present day (18T9) seven distinct 
Sabbath schools, viz. : — 

Number of Scholars. 

1. Evangelical Congregational 168 

2. First Baptist 140 

8. Congregational Unitarian 75 

4. Second Baptist 74 

5. Congregational (Saundersville) 83 

6. Freewill Baptist (Farnumsville) 60 

7. St. Philips, Catholic 200 

Making a total of 800 

Children and youth, who enjoy the inestimable privilege 
of weekly instruction in the all-important truths and duties 
of religion and morality, of whom a considerable proportion 
derive no benefit of these topics from parental teachings 
and example, and who, destitute of the advantage in these 
respects which the Sabbath-schools afford them, might be 
left to grow up in heathenish ignorance, the pests of civil 
society, and the grief of any Christian community in which 
they resided. 

Fire Department. 

" A Are department is hereby established In the town of Grafton, 
subject to all the duties and liabilities and with all the powers and 
privileges set forth and contained in an act entitled ' An Act to regulate 
Are departments,' passed on the 9th day of April, 1839. This act shall 
take effect from and after its passage. 

House of Representatives, March 26, 1853. Passed to be enacted. 
Approved. JOHN H. CLIFFORD." 

The following was the first board of engineers : — John 
W. Slocomb, chief; Josiiua W. Harrington, clerk; Esek 
Saunders, Jonathan D. Wheeler, Asa F. Smith, Erastus 
Fisher, Leander S. Fratt, David Jourdan, Samuel B. Dol- 
liver. Hon. A. M. Bigelow was foreman of the Kescue 
Company; M. M. Elliot of the Emperor; A.J. Eobbins, 
Blackstone. 

Rescue Engine Company, No. 1, Centre, consists of forty 
members. They have charge of a very fine Howard & 



342 HISTORY OF 6EAI"T0N. 

Davis hand engine, and all the apparatus usual with such a 
machine. Captain Henry Mann, foreman. 

Hook and Ladder Company, No. 1, Centre, consists of 
about forty- members. They have a serviceable truck, well 
supplied with hooks, ladders, ropes, axes, etc. These two 
.companies are located on North street. 

Emperor Engine Company, No. 2, consists of forty mem- 
bers. Their machine is one of tlie Howard & Davis make. 
They are located in New England Village. 

Blackstone Engine- Company, No. 3, consists of forty 
members. The machine is the same as the others, a Howard 
& Davis. They are located in Farnumsville. 

The following we clip from a report of the Engineers of 
tlie Fire Department in -1856, Hon. Jonathan D. Wheeler, 
chairman, relative to the companies, machines and prop- 
erty :— 

"The citizens can feel assured that they have three powerful fire 
engines, In perfect order, manned by companies of superior ability, 
-which has been practically demonstrated by two of the companies as to 
the power of the machines, and of their skillful management, the past 
year. No. 1, Rescue, attended a fireman's muster at Milford, at which 
a large number of machines were present, many of which were cele- 
brated for their power and skillful management, but the superior power 
of the Rescue, together with its excellent management; enabled the 
company to bear away the first prize of sixty dollars with apparent ease. 
No. 2, Emperor, attended a like muster at Brookfield, and all the quali- 
ties of the Rescue, together with superior management of the company, 
were fully exhibited with like success, and they gallantly bore off the 
first prize of fifty dollars ; and the Board do not hesitate to give it as 
their opinion, had Company No. 3, Blackstone, availed themselves of 
the opportunity to have visited Lowell, at the muster called there, they 
would certainly have borne off another prize, and would have done 
themselves much credit." 

The following real estate is the property of the town be- 
longing to the Fire Department : — Tiiree buildings, each 
twenty-eight by eighteen feet, two stories high ; the lower 
story finished for the use of the machines and hose, the 



SOCIETIES, FIRST NATIONAI, BANK. 343 

upper stories finished for the convenience of the members 
of the companies. 

Societies, etc. 

The General A. B. R. Sprague Post, 24, Grand Army of 
the Republic, was chartered September 25, 1867. The fol- 
lowing were the officers for 1879 : — William C. Fletcher, 
P. C. ; James C. Kelley, S. Y. 0. ; Caleb W. Wheeler, J. Y. 
C. ; James Gleason, Q. M. ; Edwai'd F. Chamberlain, Chap- 
lain ; George W. Hastings, Surgeon; John Brophy, O. D. ; 
C. W. Aldrich, O. G. ; C. Snow, S. M. ; Peter Goodnow, 
Q. M. S. ; Edward F. Chamberlain, delegate ; James Glea- 
son, alternate ; Henry Mann, Adjutant. 

Franklin Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons was insti- 
tuted March 10, 1852, and contains at the present time, 
1879, eighty-four members. Benjamin F. Gibson, Master. 
Past Masters, Dr. Levi Rawson, Capt. John W. Slocomb, 
George W. Cromb, Jr., Charles B. Jencks, Willard D. 
Wheeler, George F. Slocomb, John W. Bigelow, Frederic 
Waterman, Gilbert Cummings, Silas A. Forbush, Herbert 
F. Allen, Andrew Kerr, J. F. Searle and M/E. Steere. 

No. 98, Welcome Lodge, Independent Order of Good 
Templars, was chartered February 15, 1866. It has a mem- 
bership of 250. 

The Reform Club was established in June, 1876. It has 
a membership of nearly fifty. Richard Odium is president. 
The former presidents were Silas A. Forbush and Col. 
Charles Bigelow. 

First National Banli. 

This Bank was organized in October, 1863, with a capital 
of $100,000. Began business in January, 1864, with the fol- 
lowing Board of Directors : — Jonathan Warren, president, 
Luke F. Allen, Winthrop Faulkner, Augustus Slocomb, 
and George F. Slocomb. John L. Ordway was the first 



344: HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

cashier. He resigned October 29, 1864, and Gilbert Cura- 
mings was apjiointed to fill his place. In June, 1870, Mr. 
Cummings resigned, and was succeeded by M. B. Goodell, 
who resigned in January, 1871, and was succeeded by A. A. 
Ballou, the present cashier, who entered upon his duties 
March 1st of that year. In March, 1866, George K. 
Nichols was chosen a director in the place of Augustus 
Slocomb, deceased. In January, 1867, Samuel C. Flagg 
succeeded Mr. Nichols. Horace S. Warren, in November, 
1875, was chosen to fill the vacancy occasioned by the death 
of liis father, Jonathan Warren, and Mr. Slocomb, vice- 
president, was acting president until January, 1876, when 
he was made president. The officers at present are as fol- 
lows : — Directors,' George F. Slocomb, president ; Luke F. 
Allen, Winthrop Faulkner, Samuel 0. Flagg, Horace 8. 
Warren; A. A. Ballou, cashier; Winthrop Faulkner, assist- 
ant cashier. 

Grafton Bank and Grafton National Bank. 

Tliis Bank was incorporated March 29, 1854, and organ- 
ized May 1, 1854, with a capital of $100,000. The Direc- 
toi-s were as follows : — John W. Slocomb, Edward B. Bige- 
low, Jonathan D. Wheeler, Erastus Fisher, Calvin W. For- 
bnsh and Alfred Morse. Jonathan Carey was elected 
cashier June 12, 1854, to begin August 1, 1854 ; Walter T. 
Sutton was elected cashier March 7, 1859, to begin April 4, 
1859. Captain Slocomb resigned June 18, 1860, and the 
same day Ezekiel B. Stoddard was elected president. Henry 
F. Wing was elected cashier April 18, 1864, and began his 
duties April 25, 1864. Jonathan D. Wheeler was elected 
president October 3, 1864. February 18, 1865, organized 
as a National Bank, under the name of Gbafton National 
Bank, and began business April 1, 1865, with the same cap- 
ital as before. The Board of Directors were as follows: 
— Hon. Jonathan D. Wheeler, president; Esek Saunders, 
Alfred Morse, William E. Hill, Samuel Harrington, Willard 



SAVINGS BANK, STAGES. 345 

D. Wheeler and John D. Warren. The present officers are 
as follows: — Hon. Jonathan D. Wheeler, president ; Hon. 
Jonathan D. Wheeler, Hon. William E. Hill, George K. 
Nichols, Samuel Harrington and Joseph A. Dodge, direc- 
tors ; Henry F. Wing, cashier. The Bank has a surplus of 
$17,750. 

Savings Bank. 

This Bank was incorporated March 10, 1869, and organ- 
ized March 29, 1869. The following were the officers : — 
President, Hon. Abraham M. Bigelow; Vice-Presidents, Esek 
Saunders, Edward B. Bigelow, Samuel Harrington, Seth J. 
Axtell, Jesse H. Smith; Trustees, Hon. Jonathan D. 
Wheeler, George K. Nichols, Thomas T. Griggs, W. D. 
Wheeler, H. C. Greenwood, A. W. Kice, John Wheeler, 
George F. Slocomb, Alfred Morse, Joseph Adams, Lewis 
W. Dodge, H. S. Warren, 0. E. Whitin, J. H. Wood, S. A. 
Forbush and L. V. Leland ; Secretary and Treasurer, Henry 
F. Wing. The following are the officers for 1879 : — Presi- 
dent, George K. Nichols ; Vice-Presidents, Samuel Harring- 
ton, Thomas T. Griggs, Gilbert C. Taft, George F. Slocomb 
and Horace S. Warren ; Trustees, Hon. Jonathan D. 
Wheeler, Joseph Adams, Ashley W. Rice, Silas A. For- 
bush, Silas E. Stowe, John B. White, Joseph A. Dodge, 
Luke F. Allen, Seth J. Axtell, Lewis W. Dodge, Luther V. 
Leland, Silas Vinton, Samuel C. Flagg, David White, Per- 
ley Goddard and Jonathan B. Sibley. Deposits, $127,- 
774.10 ; interest, $5,491.80 ; guarantee fund, $1,000. Secre- 
tary and Treasurer, Henry F. Wing. 

Stages. 

The first public conveyance of any account which was run 
between the Boston and Worcester Railroad depot and the 
centre of the town, was owned by John B. White, in 1846 
44 



34:6 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

This line was subsequently purchased by David White and 
Silas Vinton, in 1852. In 1854 David White purchased 
Mr. Vinton's share, and continued tlie business until 1863, 
when he sold his property to Henry Holden, who, after a 
few years, sold to JRoswell A. Smith, who continued until 
the Dummy Railroad was completed, in 1874, when his 
stages, horses, etc., were sold at auction. Previous to 1846, 
a one-horse carriage carried the mail and such passengers as 
it could. O. S. Pond, now of Worcester, and James H. 
Cheney, of Stow, contracted for carrying the mail prior to 
1846. 



Telegraph OflBce. 

The office of the Western Union Telegraph Company was 
opened in this town in September of 1855, in Warren Block. 
The office was moved in 1878 into the Post-office building. 
Hon. Jonathan H. Wood has had charge of the company's 
business here since the opening. 



Political. 

In 1800, the vote of this town for Governor was as fol- 
lows : — Strong, 11 ; Gerry, 72 ; Gill, 1. Lieutenant-Gov- 
ernor — Gill, 62 ; Ames, ; Kobbins, ; scattering, 2. Sena- 
tors for Worcester County — Town, 81 ; Brigham, 41 ; 
Stearnes, 83 ; Hale, 36 ; Taft, 81. 



Oldest Road. 

The oldest road in town is the Nipmuck road, over which 
the first settlers from Boston to the Connecticut Valley and 
Wethersfield passed, in 1635 and 1654. This road was 
subsequently known as the Hassanamisco road, and lately 
as the Grafton road. This road started in Worcester at 



CENTENNIAL CELEBEATION. 



347 



Plantation road (now Plantation street), and continued down 
Harrington street by the " Farms," coming out near the 
Half-way House, nearly opposite the Boulevard, continuing 
nearly to the Poor Farm, near New England Village, and 
into town over " Brigham Hill." 

Grafton's Centfinnial Celebration. 

From the early move made by the town it became pretty 
well known that Grafton would do something towards cele- 
brating our nation's centennial anniversary.* The general 
committee of arrangements chosen at the April meeting 
consisted of G. K. Nichols, G. W.- Fisher, S. E. Stowe, 
D. W. Norcross, Eev. J. H. Windsor, G. F. Jourdan, P. S. 
Maher and Richard Long. The sons and daughters of 
Grafton were invited home to participate in the exercises of 
this grand occasion. The schools were put to learning and 
rehearsing national airs, and the people generally seemed to 
spare no pains in making the day a success. The people 
seemed to realize that the old century was passing away, 
and an appropriate quiet reigned in our village during the 
evening and early night ; but after the " passing " all the 
exuberance of young America burst forth at the birth of 
the new century. 

Special pains were taken by many of the citizens to 
decorate their houses and grounds, and the abundancy of 
" red, white and blue," attested the loyalty and devotion of 
Grafton people. 

At 8 o'clock people begun to gather, and at sharp 9 
o'clock the procession begun to be formed, under J. B. 
Sibley, chief marshal, which at 10 o'clock moved in the 
following divisions : — 



* Worcester Daily Spy, July 6, 1876. 



348 HISTORY OF GEAFTOHf. 

FIRST DIVISION. 

J. F. Searles, Marshal. 
Shrewsbury Brass Band, H. C. Reid, leader. 
84: Mounted Members of the Farmers' Club — George 
W. Estabrook, President — in costume, con- 
sisting of wide-brimmed straw hats 
with national bands, in shirt 
sleeves and overalls. 
A. B. R. Spragne Post, J. K. Axtell, Commander. 

SECOND DIVISION. 

6. F. Jourdan, Marshal. 

Rescue Fire Company, No. 1, Henry Mann, Foreman. 

Emperor Fire Company, No. 2, Henry E. Brooks. 

Blackstone Fire Company, No. 3, S. E. Crumb, Foreman. 

THIRD DIVISION. 

p. S. Maher, Marshal. 

Carriages containing the Committee of Arrange- . 

ments, Officers of the Town, Clergymen, 

Orator, Chaplain, Reader of 

the Declaration. 

Officers of the Day. 

Invited Guests and Citizens. 

FOURTH DIVISION. 

S. C. Knowles and C. H. Elliott, Marshals. 
600 School Children by Schools — Each School having 
a Banner with Motto and Designs, and 
each Scholar carrying a flag. 

The division was led by the High Scliool. Tlie banner 
was white bunting with a red silk back, wrought in blue 
and gold letters, reading " 1839 — 1876. High School- 
Union and Liberty." All the banners were finely executed, 
and no two were alike in design or sentiment. Following 
the High School came the other schools. The procession 
marched up North street to Col. Coggswell's, counter- 
marching via. the boulevard down to Worcester street to Mrs. 
Brigham's, countermarching to the square, down Clark 



ladies' sewing ciecle. 349 

street, through County street by Church street, down South 
street to Joseph Bruce's, countermarcliing to the common. 
Platforms for the orator and band had been built, and 
among those occupying seats upon the former were Capt. 
Samuel Hall, aged 90 years ; Joseph Bruce, 86 ; Jonathan 
Hall, 83; Silas Forbush, 81; James Morrison, 80; and 
other old citizens as invited guests. H. A. Miles, D. 1)., 
Hingham ; C. E. Keith, Needham ; Isaac Southwick, Provi- 
dence ; Charles E. Miles, Jonathan Forbush, J, S. Stone, 
C. "W. Forbush, and Charles L. Flint, Boston. At a few 
minutes past eleven, the chief marshal introduced the presi- 
dent of the day. Rev. J. H. Windsor. 

After dinner the president introduced the toast-master, 
Mr. E. P. Capron, who, with some pleasing remarks, pro- 
ceeded to dispense his " feast of i-eason and flow of soul " 
with the following sentiments : — 

The Event we Celebrate, Rev. A. C. Hussey. 

Our Country, our Whole Country, Rev. A. J. Bates. 

The President of the United States, George K. Nichols. 

The Congress of the United States, A. A. Ballon. 

Our Commonwealth, Rev. H. A. Miles, D. D., Hingham. 

New England, Charles L. Flint, Esq., Boston. 

The Town of Grafton, S. J. Axtell. 

Our Fathers, Capt. Benjamin Kingsbury. 

The Citizens of Grafton in other Towns, Charles E. Miles, Boston. 

Our Honored Dead, Rev. L. M. Sargent. 

Our Town OfBoers, Hon. George F. Slocomb. 

Public Education, F. M. McGary. 

The Ladies, E. P. Capron. 

The Medical Profession, Dr. W. E. Rice. 

The Military, George P. Bigelow. 

France, Rev. A. M. Barret. 

The Grand Army, J. K. Axtell. 

The oration was then delivered by one of the sous of 
Grafton, Rev. E. Frank Howe, of Torre Haute, Indiana. It 
was unfortunate that seats could not have been provided for 
all the people, but when they could stand and listen an 
hour and a half to an address, it is commendation enough 
for the excellent quality of the oration and the speaker. 



350 BISTORT OP GEAFTON. 

Fiftieth Anniversary of the Ladies' Sewing Circle. 

Wednesday, the 5th inst., tlie ladies of the sewing circle 
connected with the Evangelical Congregational Church and 
Society celebrated, with appropriate exercises, the semi-cen- 
tennial of their organization. The exercises were held in 
the vestry of their church. The beautiful day brought a 
large number from abroad. They came from Newton ville, 
Westborough, Holliston, and a large delegation from Wor- 
cester, while many, whose years and feebleness keep them 
generally within doors at this season, ventured out to the re- 
union, so that there were nearly 200 present — 'forty from 
abroad, and five of the original members. 

At 12 o'clock over 160 sat dov/n to the dinner. The 
social cheer, and the quiet joy of many of the aged mem- 
. bers, as they thus came together for the first time in such a 
connection, was one of the pleasing features of the day. A 
centre-table was set apart for those ladies whose ripe years 
and general feebleness entitled them to extra care. This 
table, at which about thirty sat down, was one of the marked 
features at the dinner. The united ages at this table would 
exceed 2,000 years. After an hour spent in partaking of an 
excellent collation. Miss Carrie Flagg was called upon to 
preside as toast-mistress. The toasts, which abounded in 
keen wit, called, out frequent and hearty applause. The 
history was a succinct and very carefully wrought sketch of 
the rise, progress and work of the organization. From this 
it appears that the society was originally styled a " Chari- 
table Society." It then held its meetings near the spot now 
occupied by Forbush & Brown's shop. Subsequently it re- 
ceived the title of the "Young Ladies' Sewing Circle." Its 
mission of Christian love and labor was wholly, or in part, 
the ministry of four pastors, viz. : — Rev. Messrs. Searle, 
Wilde, Biscoe and Windsor. Its benevolences have gone to 
the foreign missionary field, Rev. Dr. Groodell's family having 
at one time been a recipient of its fellowship of service. It 
has sustained colporteurs, theological students, and in later 



SAUNDEESTILLE. 351 

years worked almost wholly for home missionaries. During' 
these fifty years the society has sent forty-five barrels or 
boxes to missionary families, and have made a total contri- 
bution to the missionary cause of more than $7,00.0. Its 
aggregate membership is 370. Its present list numbers 
sixtj', of which eighteen are gentlemen. The mortuary 
sketch was very impressive. As one after another from 
among the list was alluded to, the falling tear and tender 
countenance gave their response. The necrology list num- 
bered ninety-six ; of these nine were gentlemen. The paper 
was an able production, and should be put, as indeed the 
entire programme of exercises, into published, permanent 
form.* A society that can give such a history, covering so 
long a period of uninterrupted and harmonious co-labor, is 
worthy of more than such a fragmentary report as this. 
The historian closed his sketch as follows : — " Fifty years 
ago this circle was united to benevolence. Their union has 
never been regretted, discord has never come between them. 
Engraven on the wedding ring are these words : ' The fruit 
of the spirit is love, joy, peace, long sufiisriug, gentleness, 
goodness, faith, meekness, temperance ; against such there is 
no law.'"! 

Sanndersville. 

Saundersville is situated in this town, on the line between 
Grafton and Sutton, upon the Blackstone Eiver. This is 
one of the many manufacturing villages that have sprung 
up so suddenly in our State, within the past fifty years. It 
is nestled cosily among the surrounding highlands, present- 
ing a landscape very beautiful and picturesque, especially in 
the summer. Mr. David Wilkinson began here with a small 
cotton-mill, in 1829. In 1835, the three brothers Saunders 
purchased the privilege, together with most of the territory 
now included in the village. They found 1,000 spindles 
and twenty-four looms in two wooden buildings, and but 
four dwellings. They soon erected a large and very hand- 

* This has since been done, f Worcester Daily Spy, March, 1879. 



352 HISTOEY OF QEAFTON. 

some stone mill, 175 feet long and 51 feet wide, three stories 
high, with an ell 78 by 38, and a porch and tower 24 by 18, 
live stories high. The capacity of this mill is 12,000 spin- 
dles and 210 looms, em])loying 200 operatives. There are 
now in the village nearly iifty houses, and a population of 
aboiit six hundred. There is also in the village a grist-mill, 
with two runs of stones and a bolter ; a blacksmith shop 
with three forges ; a wheelwright shop ; and one store. The 
Saunders Cotton Mill Company, of which Esek Saunders, 
Esq., is the principal shareholder, have a fine farm of two 
hundred acres, on which eight or ten men are employed. 
There are a large number of cows, and nearly all the milk 
and the vegetables for the village are here provided. There 
is a boarding-house, where many of those employed in the 
mill are boarded. The company have the principal control 
of the village, and it is one of the most quiet and orderly 
places on the week day and the Sabbath to be found in New 
England. The village is noted for its cleanliness. For 
tliirty-three years there have been only two cases where the 
police- has been called to settle quarrels. The Sabbath is 
perfectly quiet ; no boys or young men are seen playing ball,, 
or in any manner preventing the peaceful observance of the 
day. There is a fine library in the village, to which Mr. 
Saunders has given $1,000, that is accessible to all. The 
Congregational Church is the only one in the village. 

About two-thirds of the operatives in the mill are Irish 
and French. Many of the former are Protestants, and they 
have a little church of their own at Wilkinsonville, about 
half a mile west. The Protestant and Catholic Irish live 
together — many occupying tenements in the same building — 
very harmoniously. 

Esek Sannders, Esq., 
Has been a remarkably busy, enterprising man. He was 
born in Seituate, R. L, May 21st, 1800. He is the son of 
Ebenezer and Deborah (Howard) Saunders. He left home 




w 



Pi 
w 
p 

< 

W 
w 
W 

fa 
o 

w 
u 
2: 
w 
g 

M 
(4 



EBEK SATTNDEK8. 353 

at the unripe age of eight years, and always lived away 
frona his parents after that time. At sixteen years of age 
he became connected with the extensive staging and express 
business between Kewburyport and Boston, owned by the 
Eastern Stage Company. Here he remained for over seven- 
teen years. The books of this corporation are now in the 
possession of the Essex Institute, Salem. The main route 
of the old stage company, in the winter of 1818, is sketched 
as follows : — 

" A coach left Portsmouth for Boston at 9 a. m., running through, 
dining at Topsflelrl, then through Danversport and Salem to Boston, 
and hack the same way the following day, dining at Newburyport. The 
company became prosperous, having in 1828 substantial stables at all 
the chief points on the route, and owning hotels, or a controlling inter- 
est in them, at Boston, Newburyport, Exeter and Dover. Its shares 
were at a premium of fifty dollars, and semi-annual dividends of eight 
per cent, were paid to the holders. What, indeed, of the hundred and 
fifty good, sound, trusty men, who from first to last, drove stages over 
these routes in the employ of regular or opposition lines I Men who 
combined energy and good-nature in a ratio not likely to be developed 
by any vocation now in vogue — men who cracked their joke as they 
swung their whip — men who knew what it is vouchsafed us to know of 
that fascinating uncertainty, the horse, and supplemented this with a 
wonderfully shrewd appreciation of human nature."* 

Mr. Saunders left this company in September, 1833. 
Large numbers of the business men of Boston, in those 
days, and the students of Harvard University, as well as 
others, will remember him as the careful, gentlemanly, tee- 
total stage driver, who so often and so safely conveyed them 
to and from the town of Boston. His acquaintance, while 
engaged in that employment, and since he has been so suc- 
cessfully connected with manufacturing interests, and also 
while a member of our State Legislature, has been very ex- 
tensive. So much at home does he feel here in this cosy 
little village, that he has had so much agency in creating, 
that he has erected for his permanent residence a new and 

* E. S. Eantoul, Esq., in Historical Collections of the Essex Institute. 
45 



354 HISTOET OF GEAFTOir. 

splendid mansion. It is three stories, with an observatory, 
all finished in massive black walnut, with panels in various 
places of chestnut, and containing all the modern conve- 
niences. It is situated near the bank of tlic river, and near 
his naill, and surrounded with pleasant grounds, artistically 
laid out, and filled with the choice&t shrubs and flowers, 
ornamental and fruit trees, and elegant fountains — an estab- 
lishment that would grace any of the surroundings of a 
city. 

Mr. Saunders was first married, July 21, 1825, at South 
Deerfield, Mass., to Minerva Boyden, daughter of Daniel and 
Lucy "W". Boyden, and began housekeeping in Newburyport, 
Mass. Children : — 

1. Emily B., b. July 19, 1826; m. Oct., 1850, to William H. 

Jourdan, of Grafton. She d. Sept. 19, 1872, leaving one 
son, William Saunders. Mr. Jourdan was one of the 
first conductors on the Providence and Worcester rail- 
road, and for nes^rly ten years had the charge of the 
company's interest in Worcester. For a number of 
years past he has been engaged in the wholesale and 
retail coal business, having an office in the Lincoln 
House block. He has held important offices of trust 
and honor in the city in which he has resided most of 
the time since his marriage, and is one of its success- 
ful business men. His father still resides here In 
Grafton. 

2. Harkiet M., b. Oct. 23, 1828; m. June, 1853, John D. 

Chollar, who was born in Killingly, Conn., April 20, 
1829. She d. Oct. 8, 1865. He resided in Worcester in 
1849, as clerk in a store, and in 1857-8-9, he had charge 
of the store in Saundersville. He returned to Worces- 
ter where he has since resided and conducted an exten- 
sive furniture business. His only child was John H. 

3. Minerva, b. Nov. 3, 1833; m. Sept. 12, 1855, Robert W. 

Taylor, d. Jan. 24, 1865. She d. Dec. 21, 1884, leaving 
one son, Bradford V. They resided in Providence, 
E. I. 

Mr. Saunders m. 2nd., June 6, 1867, Margie E. "White, 
daughter of Dea. Washington and Lydia White, of Saun- 
dersville, formerly of JSTorthbridge. 



BUSINESS m NEW ENGLAND VILLAGE. 



355 




SAUNDERS MILL, AT SAUNDERSVILLE 



Business in New England Village. 

In the year 1825, September 26th, WiHiarn Hovey of 
Worcester, conveyed to Darins B. Holbrook and Charles P 
iJexter, merchants and co-partners, of Boston, and to Levi" 
Merrmm and Levi Brighan., merchants and co-partners, of 
±ioston, the upper water privilege in New England Village 
upon which Hovey had built a dam to supply the Blackstone 
Oanal with water, then and now known as the Hovey Dam 
together with about one hundred acres of land, lying on 
both sides of the river. In the month of February, 1826 
Holbrook and Dexter purchased the remaining water power 
and connected real estate, of Lewis Thayer, of Grafton, and 
Adam Harnngton, of Shrewsbury, the privilege next below 
the Hovey Dam, now known as the Middle privilege on 
wh>ch was a small "fulling-mill" of John Putnam ' the 



356 



HISTORY OF GEAPTON. 



privilege on which now stands the Lower Stone Mill — then 
used as a saw and grist-mill privilege — of George W. Put- 
nam, the Scythe Shop privilege next below, now called the 
Grist-mill privilege, of Albert Stone, about one hundred 

and twenty-five acres of land adjoining the mill premises 

and of Gardner "Wheelock, certain land and buildings also 
adjoining. 

On the 22d day of March, 1826, Holbrook and Dexter 
conveyed to the New England Manufacturing Company, 
from which corporation the Village took its name, all the 
property thus purchased of Hovey and others, and the com- 
pany immediately proceeded to erect the stone factory 
building now known as the Upper Mill, and other buildings 
and tenement-houses. The mill was filled with linen 
machinery, and under the superintendence of Thomas A. 
Dexter, Esq., the manufacture of twines and bagging was 
carried on for some years. 




UPPER MILL, AT NEW ENGLAND VILLAGE. 



BUSINESS IN NEW ENGLAND TILLAGE. 357 

On the 30th day of April, 1831, the New England Com- 
pany closed up its business and conveyed all its property in 
the Tillage to the Grafton Manufacturing Company, a cor- 
poration created by special charter March 12th, 1830, " for 
the purpose of manufacturing at Grafton, cotton, woolen, 
linen and other goods." The persons named in the act of 
incorporation, were Samuel Cabot, Israel Thorndike and 
Robert G. Shaw ; Samuel Cabot was president, and Richard 
C. Cabot, treasurer. 

On the 31st day of August, 1831, the Grafton Manufac- 
turing Company sold to Cyrus Leland and Joseph Batchelder 
the saw and grist-mill privilege formerly owned by John 
Putnam. Leland and Batchelder proceeded to erect the 
Lower Stone Mill and two blocks of tenement-houses. 

The death of Mr. Leland soon after, resulted in the sale 
of this property to Edward H. Robbins, Esq., physician, 
of Boston, who filled the mill with cotton machinery, and 
continued the manufacture of cotton cloth until the premises 
were leased to A. F. Smith and C. M. Pratt in 1843. In 
1844, Smith & Pratt leased the Upper Mill property of the 
Grafton Manufacturing Company, which had previously 
been occupied under lease by Chase, Luther & Co., and 
Harvey and Samuel B. Chase, for the manufacture of cotton 
goods (the linen machinery having been previously taken 
out and sold) — and filled the mill with new cotton machinery. 
Tiiey continued the business at both mills, until the year 
1854, when the Grafton Manufacturing Company assumed 
the business at the Upper Mill and continued it until 1857. 

The property in 1858, passed into the hands of Lee 
Claflin,of Hopkinton, who continued the business. In 1862, 
the property was purchased by the Grafton Mills, a corpora- 
tion which carried on the business at both mills for about 
fourteen (14) years, until the fall of 1875. The Upper 
Mill property is now (1879) owned by Franklin Baldwin, 
of New England Village, and the Lower Mill property by 
the Washington Mills Emery Company. 



358 



HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 




WASHINGTON EMERY MILL, AT NEW ENGLAND VILLAGE. 



Ethan Allen, the well-known inventor and manufacturer 
of revolving fire-arms, first began business in New England 
Village in 1832, as a manufacturer of poclfet cutlery, but 
soon engaged in making pistols. He preceded Colt in tliis 
business, and one of his earliest inventions was the " pepper- 
box revolver." He removed to Worcester and formed a 
co-partnership with his brotlier-in-law, Hon. Charles Thur- 
ber, and in 1837, their business was removed to Norwich, 
Conn. They returned to Worcester in 1845, and hired 
power and rooms of W. T. Merrifield, Esq. In 1854, they 
wore burned out by the disastrous fire of June 14th. Dur- 
ing the latter portion of his life he was in partnersliip with 
his sons-in-law, Sullivan Forehand and H. C. Wadsworth, 
and their business was conducted with eminent success. 
By his inventive skill, his resolute perseverance and his 
unwearied industry he accumulated a handsome property. 




Residence of Jasper S. Nelson, Esq. 



BUSINESS EST NEW ENGLA:i!fD VILLAGE. 359 

He once said to a friend : " Some persons envy me what 
they consider my prosperity. But they would not be will- 
ing to pay for it, what I have paid. I commenced business 
with a capital of $12. I often went hungry that I might 
save the price of a meal. I dressed as none of the 
mechanics, that I see about me, would do." 

The manufacture of shoes at the " Depot," so-called, was 
commenced November 1st, 1848, by James S. Stone of 
Boston, a native and former resident of Grafton. Jasper 
8. Nelson, who had previously manufactured for three years 
in Shrewsbury, was employed by Mr. Stone to take charge 
of the manufactory here, which was at this time located in 
a building owned by Squire Allen, recently used for the 
manufacture of valentines by Messrs. Taft & Son. In 
1850, Messrs. Stone & Nelson purchased the real estate 
formerly owned by Solomon Brigham, which had been 
erected for a livery stable, and which they converted into a 
shoe factory. The business was continued under the same 
management until November 1st, 1857, at which time Mr. 
Nelson purchased the property and continued the manufac- 
ture of shoes at the same place. January 1st, 1869, George 
H. Rugg, who had been in Mr. Nelson's employ for a 
number of years, was admitted as partner. In 1873, Mr. 
Nelson's son, Charles H. Nelson, was also admitted to the 
firm. January 1st, 1877, Mr. Rugg disposed of his interest 
to the other partners, and the business has since been con- 
ducted by Jasper S. Nelson & Son. 

The factory, which was originally 30x45, two stories high, 
has been enlarged by Mr. Nelson, as his trade has increased 
to a large extent. The present building being 30x104, 
three stories high, with French roof. The firm also use 
steam power, having put in a twenty-horse-power steam 
engine, of the Haskins Manufacturing Company's make, of 
Fitchburg. The firm gives employment to nearly 200 
operatives. The Boston oflBce is at 22 High street. 

Mr. Nelson, the senior partner, who has so successfully 



360 HISTOET OF GEATTON. 

managed the business for this long time, was born in Shrews- 
bury, June 2, 1822, the son of Josiah and Sophia (Goddard) 
Nelson. Married in Shrewsbury, October 31, 1848, Mary 
E., daughter of Gardner Wheelock. (See Genealogy 
Wheelock family). Their children : — 

Emma B., b. July 31, 1849 ; d. December 3, 1865. 

Charles H., b. January, 1852; unmarried; resides with his 

father. 
Carrie G., b. September 24, 1855; d. July 9, 1869. 

Mr. Nelson, by his close attention to business, strict in- 
tegrity, and enterprise, has succeeded in accumulating a 
handsome property. He was selectman for two years, and 
representative to the General Court in 1870-71. His 
residence, shown in another part of the book, is one of the 
handsomest and finest in town. 

Business in Centrerille. 

A mill was erected here by a stock company, composed 
of Hon. Samuel Wood, Joseph Batchelder, Royal Keith, 
Colonel Mason of Medfield, and a son-in-law of the latter, 
named Tucker. Before the mill was entirely completed 
Gerry Putnam, of New England Yillage, used the lower 
floor, in which he manufactured satinets. Thomas Tucker 
was superintendent here several years, while the mill was 
run by the stock company. In 1844, or thereabouts, the 
company sold the mill and privilege to Waterman A. Fisher, 
who disposed of it to Leander S. Pratt and Benjamin Kings- 
bury, in 1846. In the spring of the following year, 1847, 
a division was made of the property, Mr. P. taking the mill 
and privilege, and Mr. K. the grist and saw-mills. In 1860, 
or thereabouts, Mr. Pratt purchased the mills of Mr. Kings- 
bury. The saw-mill was taken down prior to 1870, and the 
grist-mill was used as a waste-house until it was consumed 
by fire. The mill, at this time, contained thirty-two looms 



BUSINESS IN CBNTEEVILLE. 



361 



and preparation ; its utmost capacity being 7,000 yards per 
week; but by changing and adding more machinery this 
amount was increased to 10,000 yards per week. This 
wooden building was destroyed by Are in April, 1861. The ' 
following year, 1862, the present brick building was erected. 
This is 82 by 44, four stories high. In 1875, a new brick 
pick(!r-house was built, 40 by 22, one story. In September, 
1877, a new dam was built in place of the old one. At this 
time most of the old machinery was taken ont and replaced 
by that of new and improved manufacture from the 
Whitins' and Lowell machine manufactories. Tiie present 
capacity of the mill, known as Pratt's mill, on Quinsiga- 
mond river, the outlet of Quinsigamond lake, is nine feet 
head and fall, with American turbine wheel, built by Stout, 
Mills & Temple, of Dayton, Ohio ; seventy -live horse power ; 
sixty-four fortj'-inch looms and preparations, producing 80,- 
000 yards per month of thirty-seven and thii'ty-eight and 




THE PRATT MUX, AT CENTEEVILLE. 



46 



362 HISTOKT OF GBAFrON. 

one-half inch goods, known as "Quaker" sheeting, 38,000 
yards of which, in red, white and blue, were used to decorate 
the Coliseum building in Boston, at the World's Peace 
Jubilee, in 1872. 

Fisherville. 

The first start in manufacturing, at this place, was made 
by Timothy McNamara, who, having purchased the land 
where the mills now stand of Moses Sherman, and the water 
power rights of Austin Holbrook, in 1830 began work upon 
the dam, building it jointly with the Blackstone Canal Com- 
pany, they using it as a feeder for their canal. At this 
point, in 1831, he sold his riglits to a company composed of 
Peter Farnum, Luther Wriglit and Daniel Pitts, called the 
Canal Cotton Company, wlio at once began building the 
factory, a four-story brick building, 84 by 44, which was 
completed and in full operation, with sixty looms and the 
necessary preparation, in the" fall of 1832. It was operated 
by this company until 1842, when Peter Farnum and W. A. 
Fisher, wlio had been connected with it from its first start, 
bought the property of the company and run it jointly until 
1845, when W". A. Fisher bought out Peter Farnum's inter- 
est, and the same year sold Erastus Fisher one-quarter, and 
the following year a second quarter. They, as W. A. Fisher 
& Co., continued until 1857, when E. Fisher bought the re- 
maining one-half. In the following spring he sold one- 
quarter interest to Henry D. Fisher. Up to this time no 
changes liad been made in the buildings or machinery. In 
1859 they built an addition to the mill, 44 by 25, two 
stories, and on the site of the canal locks a building which 
was used as a grist-mill until 1864, when this machinery was 
removed and replaced by cotton machinery, and the number 
of looms increased from 60 to 106. In 1868, E. Fisher 
transferred one-quarter each to George W. Fisher and 
Albert L. Fisher, the firm name being E. Fisher & Sons. In 
1869, the frame mill was enlarged to its present size, 100 by 



BusiisrKss iisr faenctmsville. 



363 



55, three stories, and tlie capacity increased to 160 looms 
and the necessary preparation. Tiie annual consnniption of 
cotton is 400,000 pounds, producing 1,500,000 yards of 
cloth. 




FISHER'S MILL. 



Business in Farnnmsville. 

In '1827, Peter Farnum & Sons built a stone mill 74x36, 
four stories higli, with a wooden ell 40x30, two stories high. 
The main mill was tilled witii four sets of satinet macliinery, 
and the ell was used for manufacturing shuttles. Very 
soon a company was formed called the " Grafton Woolen 
Company," composed of Farnnm, Wright & Pitts ; Peter 
Farnum, agent. In 1830, the mill was burned and a brick 
structure took its place 84x36, four stories high, with four 
sets of machinery, sixteen satinet and twelve broad looms, 
and was run April 1, 1831, by tiie Blackstone Woolen Com- 
pany, Messrs. Farnum, Wright & Phillips; C. B. Long, 



364 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

agent. This company failed in the fall of 1842. The mill 
was started up again by Farimra & Houghton ; S. Hougli- 
ton, agent, who run it till December 31, 1842, wlien 
the mill was again burned. In 1844, the mill was 
re-built of brick 42x100, four stories high, and filled witli 
cotton machinery, seventy-five looms, and started up by 
Messrs, Houghton, "Wright & Bufium. 

Soon after Alfred Morse bought the interest in the prop- 
erty of Messrs. Houghton & Buffnm, and run under the 
firm name of "Wright & Morse till 1857, when they bought 
the mill of John Farnum, and continued the business till 
1860, when A. Morse bought out "Wright and run the mill 
till 1870. He then took into partnership with him, his sou, 
James A. Morse. 

A. Morse died very soon after this but the business was 
continued by James A., under the firm name of A. Morse 
& Son, till the fall of 1873, when owing to the " hard 
times " and consequent financial embarrassment, the mill 
was stopped. 

In September, 1874, the mill was bought at auction by 
Peter Simpson, Jr., John Rhodes and William H. Andrews, 
who formed a company nnder the name of the "Farnums- 
ville Cotton Mills," "William H. Andrews, president ; John 
Rhodes, treasurer ; P. Simpson, Jr., agent, by whom the 
mill has since been operated. 

This company have built an addition of 100 feet to the 
mill, making it 200x42 feet, four stories, with ell 30x50 feet, 
two stories. Eight thousand spindles, 200 looms, being the 
present running capacity. 

Lawyers. 

Erasmus Babbitt. — Probably the first lawyer who ever 
practised in this town was Erasmus Babbitt, who was the son 
of Dr. Thomas Babbitt, the son of the second practising phy- 
sician in Sturbridge. Erasmus was born in Sturbridge, July 
2, 1765, and entered Harvard University, from which institu- 



LAWTEES. 365 

tion he was graduated in 1790. He married Mary, the 
seventh daughter and ninth cliild of Thomas and Lucy 
(Smith) Saunders, of Gloucester. He removed to Boston 
from Grafton, and died June 30, 1816, leaving two daugh- 
ters ; Mary Eliza, one of tlie daughters, married Elkaiian 
Onshman, and her eldest child was Charlotte Saunders 
Cushmau, the celebrated actress. 

Haeky Wood was born in Grafton, and died here August, 
1838. He did not receive a collegiate education, and for 
some time resided in Maine. He finally returned to this 
town and practised law until his death. His oflice is now 
the residence of Silas A. Pierce. He served the town in 
many offices of trust and honor, and was representative a 
number of years. 

Joseph B. Caldwell, graduated at Harvard University in 
1802, the son of William Caldwell, Esq., sherifi" of Worces- 
ter County from 1793 to 1805, was born in Rutland ; 
studied with Hon. Nathaniel Paine ; practised in Grafton 
in 1809; Worcester in 1810; Rutland in 1812. He 
returned to Worcester in 1813, and died there in that year. 

Chaeles a. Uolbeook was horn in Grafton, December 6, 
1827, and received as thorough an education as could be 
obtained in the schools in the vicinity ; studied law with 
Lorenzo Leland, Esq., and afterwards entered the office of 
Calvin E. Pratt, Esq., of Worcester, and was admitted to 
tlie bar December, 1857, when he formed a co-partnership 
in business with Mr. Pratt, which continued for one year. 
He practised in AVorcester until his death in May, 1876, 
with success. 

William Elijah Geekn was a son of Dr. John Green 
the first, of Worcester, by his second wife, Mary Ruggles, a 
daughter of Brigadier-General Timothy Kuggles, of Sand- 
wich, afterwards of Hardwick. 

He was born at Green Hill, in Worcester, January 31, 
1777. He married first Abigail Nelson, daughter of Josiah 



366 HISTOEY OF QEAFTON. 

Nelson, of Milford ; second, Lucy Merriam, dangliter of 
Deacon Joseph Merriam, of Grafton ; third, Julia Plimpton, 
daughter of Oliver Plimpton, Esq., of a section of Stur- 
bridge now included in Southbridge ; fourtii, Elizabeth D. 
Collins, a widow. Mr. Green survived his last wife, but she 
is now dead. He was first called William, and after the 
death of his brother Elijah he assumed the middle name. 
By his first wife he had one child, the late Judge William 
Nelson Green, of Worcester ; by his second marriage one 
child, Miss Lucy Merriam Green, who was born in Grafton, 
and was for many years teacher and proprietor in connec- 
tion with her sister Mary, of a young ladies' seminary, 
No. 1 Fifth Avenue, New York ; and by his third marriage 
nine children, of whom seven survive. 

Among the latter are Hon. Andrew Haswell Green, late 
comptroller of the city of New York, and Dr. Samuel Fiske 
Green, for many years a missionary physician in the service 
of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign 
Missions, in the Island of Ceylon. 

Mr. Green graduated at Brown University in 1798, and 
after visiting the city of New York studied law with Judge 
Edward Bangs, of Worcester. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1801, and began to practice at Grafton, where he 
resided. Returning to Worcester he became a partner in 
the practice of the law with Judge Bangs. This partnership 
continued until the appointment of the latter gentleman to 
a place on the bench, in 1811. Mr. Green was afterwards 
connected in the law practice with Edward D. Bangs, Esq., 
until 1816. 

As a lawyer he was well read and astute in developing 
the strong points of causes entrusted to him. 

During the latter portiou of his life, Mr. Green was not 
in active practice. 

He continued, with an occasional visit to other parts of 
the country, to reside at his farm at Green Hill, upon which 
were exhibited the results of a' marked fondness for farming. 



LAWYERS. 367 

His experiments with new fertilizers and new implements 
were at the time the subject of very wide interest. He is 
believed to have been the first to use plaster in the county 
as a fertilizer, and had it drawn by teams from Boston, and 
reduced on his farm to a fit form for use. 

Mr. Green was one of the foremost promoters of the 
Blackstone Canal. 

He was for many years captain of the Worcester Light 
Infantry, and a volunteer of the war of 1812. 

He was one of the earliest advocates of the temperance 
reform, and a zealous worker for the establishment and 
elevation of tiie public schools. 

He was alike affable to those of all conditions, most per- 
severing in the accomplishment of his purpose, and unsub- 
missive to what he deemed unjust. 

He died at Green Hill at the age of 88 j'ears, in the room 
in which he was born, and is remembered as a man of wide 
hospitality, and of great geniality and cheerfulness. 

SAMnEL H. Allen was born in Mendon, Mass., in the 
year 1790, and studied law in his native town. After his 
admission to the bar of Worcester County, he commenced 
the practice of law in that part of Mendon called Millville, 
now a part of the town of Blackstone, and continued to 
reside there until 18 — , when he removed to the town of 
Grafton, where he resided and pursued his professional 
labors until his decease, April 21, 1864. 

Mr. Allen was a well read lawyer, and pursued his labors 
with great industry, and was persistent in pressing his causes 
to the last. He seldom gave 'up a cause until successful, or, 
until he reached the " last ditch " if unsuccessful. He was 
enabled by industry and frugality to accumulate a consider- 
able property. 

Mr. Allen lived and died a bachelor. 

He was fond of literary pursuits and took a lively interest 
in the lyceura, when that institution was looked upon as a 
public educator, and frequently served on committees ou 



368 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

lectures and books. He was conservative in his political, 
social and literary views and opinions. He eschewed mod- 
ern books, esjjecially if they partook of the nature of 
so-called " light literature." Addison and Lord Bacon were 
favorite authors of his. He was especially fond of The 
Spectator, and of the essaj's and legal writings of Lord 
Bacon, and would cite the latter with great reverence with a 
" My Lord Bacon says." .... 

Mr. Allen had a ready wit, and at times would rival 
" Lord Bacon's apothegms." On one occasion he served 
on a lecture committee of the lycenm with a Mr. B. and 
others. Mr. B. was the opposite of Mr. Allen in his views 
generally, being radical where the latter was conservative. 
It was at a time when the appearance of a lady on the 
lecture platform was a novelty, to say the least. The ques- 
tion arose, when the committee came to consider the subject 
of making up their list of lectures for the course, whether 
they would invite a lady as one of the lecturers. Mr. B. 
favored it, and Mr. Allen opposed with much warmth. As 
the discussion went on it partook of something of a per- 
sonal character, in which the single life of Mr. Allen was 
alluded to as having something to do with his opposition, 
and in a way tliat provoked a laugh at his expense. Mr. 
Allen complained that lie was not treated just as he ouglit 
to be, when his opponent accused Jiira of beginning the 
personalities, and said "you began to throw swill" — to which 
Mr. Allen replied as quick as thought, " I never throw 
swill unless I see bristles." This equalized tlie laugh, in 
which Mr. B. engaged as heartily as any one, and the com- 
mittee were enabled to go on with their labors pleasantly 
again. 

This tendency of Mr. Allen occasionally brought him in 
conflict with the court before whom he was trying causes, 
especially a magistrate's court. On one occasion the court 
ruled against him as to the admissibility of certain testi- 
mony, but, notwithstanding this ruling, Mr. Allen persisted 



LAWYERS. 369 

in introducing the excluded testimony, when his honor 
remarked with some sternness, " Mr. Allen, I have ruled 
that that evidence is inadmissible." Mr. Allen remarked 
aside, but so that the court heard the remark, " that is 
owing to the supreme ignorance of this court." But this 
time the thrust came near costing something, as it was only 
by a generous apology that he saved himself the penalty of 
a contempt of court. 

William A. Ceafts was born in Roxbury, Mass., in 1819, 
graduated at Harvard College in 1840, and soon after being 
admitted to the bar opened an office in Grafton, but after a 
few months removed to Boston. Was president of the 
Common Council of Roxbury three years, and represented 
that city in the Legislature in 1853, 1854 and 1861. Was 
assistant clerk of the House of Representatives for several 
years, and has been clerk of the Board of Railroad Com- 
missioners since its first establishment in 1869. Has given 
some attention to journalism, and is the author of a con- 
temporaneous " History of the Southern Rebellion," and of 
" Pioneers in the Settlement of America," both published 
as illustrated serials. 

William F. Slooum. One of Grafton's prominent and 
valuable men was Mr. Slocum, who was born at Tolland, 
Mass., January 31 st, 1822 ; the eldest son of Oliver E. and 
Polly Slocum. 

He was admitted to the Bar in Berkshire County, Octo- 
ber, 1846, and commenced the practice of law at Grafton 
in the following December, and continued in practice there 
until 1866, when he formed a co-partnership with Hon. H. 
B. Staples, present District-Attorney for Worcester County. 
They opened an office in Boston, but Mr. S. continued his 
residence in Grafton until 1869, when he removed to New- 
ton, Mass. 

About this time he became associated in business with a 
new firm, composed of Mr. Staples and F. P. Goulding, 
47 



370 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

Esq., of Worcester, where the business was carried on in 
the name of Staples ,& Goulding, and in Boston, under the 
name of Slocum & Staples. This arrangement continued 
until 1871, when this firm dissolved, Mr. Slocum taking tile 
Boston business and Staples & Goulding the business of 
the firm in Worcester. 

In October of 1871, Mr. Sloeum's oldest son, Winfield S. 
Slocum, was admitted to the bar, and immediately became 
associated with him in business, under the firm name of W. 
F. & W. S. Slocum, and their present place of business is 
at 328 Washington street, Boston. 

While in Grafton, Mr. S. had a large practice from most 
of the towns in the southeasterly part of Worcester County, 
and was engaged in very many of the most important cases 
in that section. 

The reports of the decisions of the Supreme Judicial Court 
of the State show that he argued quite a number of cases be- 
fore the full bench, in many of wiiich important -questious of 
law and practice were discussed and settled. Many of the 
decisions resulting from these will remain very valuable in 
the courts. Mr. S. united marked ability with the most 
thorough preparation of his cases, before going into court. 

He represented the town very ably in the Legislature, in 
1861, and was on the school committee for a number of 
years; and was also on the Board of Selectmen, and served 
at times as chairman of both boards. 

Mr. Sloeum's excellent judgment, together with his inde- 
pendence of action and his sterling integrity of character, 
made him one of the very valuable citizens in all of the in- 
terests of the town. 

Mr. Slacum gave his sons a liberal education, sending 
three of them through Amherst College. His second son, 
Edward T., is practising law at Lee, Mass., and his third 
son, William F., Jr., is a clergyman, and settled over the 
Union Amesbury and Salisbury Congregational Church. 



I.AWTEES. 371 

His youngest son, Henry O., died at Newtonvillc, at the age 
of twenty-three, in 1878. 

Col. Joseph A. Titus was born in Leicester, January 21, 
1838. In 1854, at the age of sixteen years, he removed to 
Grafton, and lived witli Hon. E. B. Bigelow, working for E. 
B. Bigelow & Co., in the boot business. He remained in 
Grafton three years and a half, and then attended the 
Leicester Academy a year and a half, finishing his prepara- 
tion for college. 

He then entered Amherst College in the year 1869, and 
was graduated in 1863. In 1862, August 20th, he enlisted 
and served in the Forty -second Regiment, Massachusetts 
Volunteers, and served for the term of nine months. 

Daring his college course he taught the Centre District 
school in Shrewsbury, and after his term of service in the 
Forty-second Regiment he taught school one winter in North 
Brookfield ; then taught the High School in . Leicester for 
two years, except for five months in the autumn of 1864, 
when he was again in military life, holding the commission 
of 2nd and 1st lieutenant in Company F, Sixtieth Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts Volunteers. After his terra of teach- 
ing in Leicester, he removed to Worcester and commenced 
the study of law; was admitted to practice in January, 
1868, and opened an ofiSlce in Worcester, where he now re- 
sides. Since he has been in Worcester he has been in the 
Massachusetts militia, as captain of the Worcester City 
Guards, for about four years. Afterwards served as Assist- 
ant Inspector-General and Assistant Adjutant-General, on 
the staff of Brigadier-General Robert H. Chamberlain, 
commanding Third Brigade, M. V. M. 

In 1873, served as a member of the House of Represen- 
tatives in Massachusetts Legislature. 

For about five years was Associate Justice of the Munici- 
pal Court of Worcester ; until the organization of the pres- 
ent Central Distiict Court. 



372 HISTOKT OF GKAFTON. 

John McIlvene was born January 27tli, 1850, at Glaser 
ton, near Wigton, Scotland. Came to the United States in 
1856 ; was educated in the public schools of East Abington 
(now Rockland), Mass. While preparing for admission to 
the bar, taught school about four years with a good degree 
of success. 

Read law under direction of J. B. Harris and F. F. Fay, 
of Athol, and L. W. Pierce, of Winchendon, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar at Worcester, at the December term of 
the Superior Court, in 1875. Commenced practice at Span 
cer, wliere, after a short time, he sujBFered the loss by fire of 
his library, etc. Then removed to this town in January, 
1876, where he has since resided. 

Physicians. 

De. William Lamb. 

De. Joseph Wood ; see Genealogy. 

Delano Pieeoe, M. D. ; see Genealogy. 

Thomas T. Geiggs, M. D. ; see Genealogy. 

Heney Paekee, M. D., son of William Parker, was born 
in Worcester, in 1786. Studied with Dr. Eaton, of Dudley, 
and Dr. Green, of Worcester, and attended medical lectures 
in Boston. 

Commenced practice in 1811, in Grafton, and continued 
there about forty-six years, when he removed to Worcester. 
Dr. Parker married first, Catharine, daughter of Lemuel 
Davis, Esq., of Holden ; second, Maria W. Norris, of 
Salem. 

Dr. William Thoenton, the son of Stephen and Philena 
Thornton, was born in Gloucester, R. L He graduated 
from Bowdoin College, Maine, and settled in New England 
Village about 1830, where he resided in the practice of his 
profession until his death, in 1862. 

Watson E. Rice, M. D., was born in Shrewsbury, Mass., 
December 15th, 1846, the son of Rev. Gardner Rice. He 



PHYSICIANS. 373 

fitted for college under his father, and then followed the 
profession of teaching for .four years. Subsequently, be- 
ginning the study of medicine under Dr. W. F. Breakey, 
of Ann Arbor, Mich., he entered the University of Michi- 
gan in September, 1869, and was graduated from that insti- 
tution March 27th, 1872, and settled at New England Vil- 
lage June 14:th, 1872. Was married June 23rd, 1875, to 
Emma F. Pierce. 

F. A. Jewett, M. D., son of Dea. Henry Jewett, of Pep- 
perell, Mass., and brother of Dr. H. A. Jewett, Eev. J. E. 
E. Jewett and -Charles F. Jewett, was born September 6th, 
1824, the third of the four brothers. After a series of 
years spent in his preparatory studies, teaching, and in con- 
nection with Dr. N. Cutter's Insane Asylum in Pepperell, 
he entered the medical department of Harvard University, 
from which he graduated March 1st, 1852. 

Soon after graduating he commenced the practice of med- 
icine in Abington, Plymouth County, Mass., where he con- 
tinued for seven years, when he removed to Shrewsbury, 
Worcester County, Mass., where he continued for eleven 
years, wlien he removed to Grafton, where he now is located 
in the practice of his profession. 

After being in practice two years, he married Harriet C, 
daughter of Dea. Joseph Torrey, of South Weymouth. 

The physician at present residing in Saundersville, is 
FoKD Kendrick, M. D. He was born March 10, 1851, in 
Rowe, Mass., where he spent the first twenty years of his 
life. In 1872, his father, H. A. Kendrick, removed to Sut- 
ton. He then began the study of medicine with Dr. G. C. 
Webber, of Millbury, and after pursuing courses of study 
at the Medical School of Maine, and the medical depart- 
ment of the University of the City of New York, graduated 
at the latter college in the spring of 1876. He began prac- 
tice in West Warren, and remained there until June, 1877, 
when he removed to Saundersville. 



374 HISTORY OP GEAFTON. 

The resident physicians in Farnumsville, are Drs. W. B. 
Maxwell and Thomas Willmot. The former was born in 
Wells, Me., October 1 8, 1848. He was prepared for college 
at New Ipswich, N. H., and was graduated from the classical 
department of Dartmouth College in 1873. Pursued the 
study of medicine under C. P. Frost, of Hanover, N. H., 
professor of medicine in Dartmouth College, and graduated 
from this department in June, 1876. He attended past- 
graduates' course at Harvard Medical College, with hospital 
practice in 1876 and 1877. He located here in September, 
1877. Married April 16, 1878, Mary E. Taylor, of New 
Ipswich, N. H., and resides in a house which he has re- 
cently erected just north of the Dr. Whittemore house. 

Dr. Thomas K. Whittemoee was born in Temple, Frank- 
lin County, Me., February 7, 1838, and was at his death 
thirty-nine years of age. He learned the carpenter's trade 
with his uncle in East Douglas, serving with him three years, 
and after completing his apprenticeship his health failed, 
and he removed to Uxbridge and studied medicine with Dr. 
Bennett for four years. He then entered Bellevue Medical 
College, New York, where he remained for two years, and 
was graduated in February, 1863. The following spring he 
began to practice medicine in Farnumsville, taking the place 
made vacant by the death of Dr. Levi Eawson. He gained 
a large practice, and was considered a very skillful physician 
and surgeon, and one who was greatly respected by the 
poor people. His sudden death cast a gloom over the com- 
nmnity in which he moved. The funeral was largely at- 
tended, and it was estimated that fully seven hundred per- 
sons were in attendance. 

Dr. Levi Kawson ; see Genealogy. 

Thomas Willmot, M. D., one of the physicians at Far- 
numsville, was born at Tardebigg, in the County of War- 
wick, England, March 11th, 1826, the seventh son of Wil- 
liam and Elizabeth Willmot. From childhood he had a 



PHYSICIANS. 



375 



leaning towards the medical profession, and was in conse- 
quence bronght up and educated in accordance with 
his tastes. He remained under private tutors at home till 
eight years old, and was then sent to the celebrated board- 
ing school of Little Compton, where he remained for five 
years. He then went to King Edward's school at Chipping 
Norton for two years ; then went as an apprentice to Dr. 
Goodall and served five years with him, previous to his re- 
moval to the University of London, in which he remained 
nearly ten years, when he emigrated to British America. 
In 1864 he was elected a member of the Nova Scotia Medi- 
cal Society ; in 1867 received the royal commission as Health 
Ofiicer for the Strait of Canso ; in 1872 was commissioned 
Coroner and Justice of the Peace for the County of Inver- 
ness, Nova Scotia ; in 1875 was elected a Fellow of Massa- 
chusetts Medical Society, and removed to Farnumsville, 
where he has since resided. 

De. W. 0. Haedy, homoeopathic physician here, is a 
native of Nelson, Cheshire County, N. H. He attended 
the common and high schools of his native place, then grad- 
uated from the Concord Commercial College, and connected 
himself with a wholesale grocery house at Boston, where he 
remained a number of years. He was united in marriage 
to Miss Mary E. Putnam, of Boston, and studied prepara- 
tory to entering a medical college. Matriculated at the 
Boston University School of Medicine, took the complete 
graded course of three years, and graduated with the class 
of '79. Came to Grafton on the 1st of April, 1879. 



376 



HISTOBT OF GRAFTON. 



College Graduates. 

Otis H. Adams, graduated 

EbV. SeTH J. AXTELL, Jr., " 

Walter I. Bigelow, " 

Arthur Gardner BisoOB, " 

Thomas Dwight Biscob, " 

Rev. George Street Biscoe, " 
John Foster Biscob, " 

Walter Stanley Biscob, " 
Arthur A. Brigham, " 

Charles B. Brigham, M. D., " 
Edward A. Brigham, " 

Hon. William Brigham, " 

William T. Brigham, " 

Frederic A. Balcom, " 

The son of Madison A. and Rebecca F. (Cook) Balcora, born January 
26, 1853. Removed to West Millbury : attended Millbury High School. 
Afterwards returned to Grafton ; toolf preparatory course at Grafton 
High School. Studied at Williams College four years, graduating July 
3, 1878. Entered the Tale Divinity School September 12, 1878, at which 
place he is at present pursuing his studies. 

Elmer I. Balcom, ' graduated Williams College. t 

The son of Madison A. and Rebecca F. (Cook) Balcom, born in Graf- 
ton, Mass., December 22, 1856. Prepared for college in Grafton High 
School. Entered Williams College in September, 1876, in which 
institution he studied for three years. He is expecting to enter soon 
upon a course of study for the medical profession. 



Williams College, 


1879 


Brown University, 


1864* 


Yale College, 


1877* 


Amherst, " 


1862* 


(C (( 


1863 


tt (( 


1857* 


it (( 


1874 


(t tk 


1874 


Institute of Technology. 


* 


Harvard University, 


1862* 


Boston Latin School. 


t 


Harvard University, 


1829* 


11 (( 


1862* 


Williams College, 


1878 



Chandler Flagg, M.D., graduated Brown University, 

Benjamin Flagg, M. D., " 

Rev. S. Benjamin Flagg, 

Augustus Forbush, 

Capt. William C. Forbush, 

John M. Case, 

Edson C. Chick, 

John S. Chick, 

Stephen Cutler, 

Andrew James Copp, 

He was born May 26, 1846 



" Brown University, 

" v^ntioch College. 

" WestPoint M. A.' 

" Yale College, 

" Brown University. 

t( K It 

" R. I. College, 

" Yale 

traveled extensively thereafter 



1803* 

? * 

1850* 

t * 
1868* 
1827t 



law, but immediately after being admitted to practice went 
iron business, and is superintendent of the Phoenix Furance 



179S* 

1869 

; studied 

into the 

and Iron 



* Refer to Genealogy. 
? Uncertain. 



t Entered college, but did not graduate. 
' West Point Military Academy. 



COLLEGE GEADUATES. 377 

Mine, at Millerton, N. Y. He was married to Carrie Bostwiclt, of 
Salisbury, Conn., in 1878, and lias one son. 

William A. Copp, graduated Yale College, 1869* 

He was born November 30, 184.3. His father was Andrew J. Copp, 
son of William Copp, a descendant of William Copp, who came from 
London in the " Blessing," in 1635. Copp's Hill, Boston, was part of 
his farm. He married Harriet A. Eddy, one of the Eddy family of 
Auburn, Mass. The Eddy's also came from England, and were among 
the first settlers of Auburn. His parents moved from Auburn to New 
England Village in 1851, when his father purchased the residence now 
occupied by his widow. The father was in the 32d Massachusetts regi- 
ment. He died and was buried on Antietam battle-field. 

William A. was in Company E, of Grafton, 51st Massachusetts regi- 
ment. He graduated at Yale College in 1869. He rowed upon the Yale 
University crews at Worcester, in '66, '67, '68 and '69, pulling stroke in 
"67, and starboard stroke the other three, being the first to row four 
years. 

He was regarded as an excellent gymnast and participated in the 
annual exhibitions at Yale gymnasium. He took a first prize, junior 
year, in the annual prize debate i and second prize, senior year. He 
was admitted to practice law in New York City, after a course in Colum- 
bia College Law School, in 1870, and has since devoted himself continu- 
ously to the practice of the law in that city. Was married to Emily 
Maltby, of New Haven, Conn., in 1872, and has a son and daughter. 
Has held no office and sought none. 

Hanson L. Ebed, graduated Amherst College, 1848* 

William Eked, " " " 

Asa E. Stratton, " Brown University, 1873* 

Edward T. Slocum, " Amherst College. * 

William F. Slocdm, " « i. * 

Rnv. Williams. Slocum, Jr., " " " * 

Rev. William B. Smith, " Harvard Divinity School. * 

Elhanan W. Wheelek, " Harvard University. * 

Artemas Wheelek, " Dartmouth College, 1817* 

George Kerb, " Edinburgh University, Scotland. 

He received the rudiments of a Latin and Greek education at the 
Grafton High School, and fitted for college under liev. P. Y. Smith and 
E. M. McGarry, A. M. Entered Edinburgh University, November 1, 
1876, and after studying one year, went to Heidelberg, Germany, where 
he spent a year and a half, chiefly in pursuing the study of the German 
language. He returned to Edinburgh in October, 1878, whence he will 
graduate in April, 1880. 



* Refer to Genealogy, t Entered college, but did not graduate. 
48 



378 HISTOEY OF GRAFTON. 

Henry Brown, entered Williams College, 1875t 

Walter S. Bosworth, graduated Colby TJniversity, 1880 

He was born here, and fitted for college at the High School. 

John Goulding, graduated Yale College,' 1821* 

JuBAL Harrington, " Brown University, 1825* 

George K. Nichols, M. D., " TJniversity of Pennsylvania. * 

Rev. E. Frank Howe, " Tale College, 1859* 

F. P. GouLDiNG, " Dartmouth College, 1863* 

Edward Kingsbury, " Harvard University, 1875* 

Rev. John Leland, " ? * 

Hon. Phinbas W. Leland, " Brown University. t * 

Ira Leland, " " " 1833* 

Col. Cyrus Leland, Jr., " Harvard University. f * 

Thomas T. Griggs, M. D., " Harvard Medical School, 1849* 

Rev. Henry A. Miles, " Brown University, 1829* 

Arthur U. McClellan, " u „ * 

Rev. Joseph Mbrriam, " " " 1819* 

Hersey Goodwin Palebby, " Harvard University, 1860 

He was born in Grafton, October 9, 1839. Prepared for College at 
Phillips, Exeter, Academy. Graduated at Harvard University, 1860. 
In the war of the Rebellion, entered as a private, August, 1862, the 13th 
Massachusetts Regiment. January, 1864, was detailed to civil service 
in the Adjutant General's Office, Washington. In April, 1864, received 
a Captain's commission, and went to Louisiana. Was placed on Gen. 
Granger's staff as Assistant Engineer. Was in the trenches before 
Mobile when intelligence of the end of the war was received. Engaged 
in the business of civil engineering. Married Mary Durfee Lovcjoy, of 
Bradford, Mass. Is at present employed in a government survey of 
the Missouri and Mississippi Rivers. 

Rev. Josiah Prentice, graduated Dartmouth College, 1795* 

Levi Rawson, M. D., " Brown University, 1825* 

Rev. Hezekiah Taylor, " Harvard " 1770 

He was born in Grafton, November 28, 1748; graduated at Harvard 
in 1770, and was settled as pastor of the Congregational Church in 
Newfane, Vt., June 80, 1774. The church was organized the day of his 
settlement, and at that time there were but fourteen families in the 
town, and the church consisted of only nine members. He died August 
23, 1814. He was possessed of a firm and vigorous constitution, of 
great endurance, an indomitable will, and a resolution un.shaken by the 
care of his flock and the labor and hardship incident to the early settle- 
ment of the town. Possessing habits of great industry, with a liberal 
education, and a disposition of great kindness and benevolence toward 



' Refer lo Genealogy, t Entered college, but did not graduate, 
f Uncertain. 



COLLEGE GRADUATES. 379 

all with whom he was connected, he faithfully ministered to the spirit- 
ual and temporal wants of his people. Of an exceedingly genial tem- 
perament, overflowing with wit and humor, he was the delight and 
ornament of the social circle. His efforts and example contributed 
eminently to the happiness and prosperity of the early inhabitants of 
Newfane. 

He married March 31, 1774, Sarah Frost, b. May 24, 1751, d. March 3, 
1840. They had seven children. Their eldest, Hollis , b. May 20, 1776, 
d. in Rotterdam, Holland, August 14, 1793. 

Lucius P. Mbkriam, graduated Amherst College, 1873* 

Jessie Frances Smith, " Vassar " 1880 

She entered the preparatory department of Vassar College in the fall 
of 1874, having previously attended the schools of Grafton and the city 
of Newton. She Is now (June, 1879) a member of the class of '80, 
and a senior literary editor of the Vassar Miscellany. 

William H. White, graduated Amherst College, 1867* 



Alice M. Wing, 




Vassar " 


1878* 


Abbie M. White, 




Cornell " 


t * 


Joseph Whipple, 




Harvard University, 


1765- 


Frank W. Wood, 




Amherst A. C." 


* 


Edward R. White, 




Technical Institute, 


* 


George H. White, 




(C it 


» 


Lieut. George M. Wheeler, 




West Point M. A.> 


1866* 


John C. Worcester, 




Colby University, 


1881* 


Joseph Wellard, 




Harvard University, 


1765* 


Charles A. Wheeler, 




Amherst A. C.^ 


t 



* Refer to Genealogy, f Entered college, but did not graduate. 
'West Point Military Academy. 'Amherst Agricultural College. 



380 HISTOEY OF GEAFTOM. 

By Colleges. 

Amherst College, Mass 12 

Amherst Agricultural College, Mass 2 

Antloch College, Ohio 1 

Latin School, Boston 1 

Brown University, Providence, U. 1 12 

Cornell College, Nevy York 1 

Colby University, Maine 2 

Dartmouth College, N. H 3 

Edinburgh University, Scotland 1 

Technical Institute, Worcester 2 

Harvard University, Mass. lo 

Harvard Medical School, Mass 1 

Harvard Divinity School, Mass 1 

University of Pennsylvania, Penn 1 

Vassar College, New York .2 

West Point Military Academy, New York ... 2 

Williams College, Mass 4 

Institute of Technology, Mass 1 

Yale College, Conn 6 

Ehode Island College 1 

Total 66 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 



CHAPTER NINTH. 

Contents : 

Hassanamisco Honse. — The old grocery store. — The Green Store. — Arti- 
cles of agreement between Wheeler and Warren. — Lovell Stow 
building.— Old Half-way House.— Harry Wood's law office.— Dr. 
Joseph Wood's property. — The old Distillery. — Knox house. — The 
Forbush house. — Rev. Solomon Prentice house.— The "Fly Mar- 
ket. "—Dr. Lamb's barn. — Elijah Bruce house. — Charles Prentice 
honse. — John Bennett, the hatter; his house and shop. — Dexter 
house.— Residence of Rev. John Miles. — Bruce farm.— Dr. Grout 
house. — Dea. Merriam, 2nd, farm. — James Whipple farm. — Benja- 
min Leland property.- Kittville.— Capt. Moses Roberts' house. — 
Joel Taft house.— Benjamin Thurston house.-The David Forbush, 
John Thurston, Abner Stow, Moses Harrington, Aaron Brigham, 
Charles Clapp, Otis Adams, Thomas Axtell, Dea. James Whipple, 
John Whipple, Ephraim Sherman, Samuel Leland, Samuel Miner 
and Daniel Axtell houses, et als. 

rpHIS chapter is devoted to sketches of a few of the 
jL older buildings in the town ; when built ; who by ; and 
the several occupants. Much matter will undoubtedly be 
overlooked, as the compiler has relied mainly on the infor- 
mation of the 8lder inhabitants, but is nevertheless as accu- 
rate as could be obtained. 

The hotel in the centre of the town, now known as the 
Grafton House, and formerly as the Hassanamisco House, 
was built nearly seventy-five years ago by Samuel Wood, 
Sen. At his decease the property passed into the hands of 
his son, Hon. Samuel Wood, who disposed of it in February, 



382 HISTORY OF GEAITON. 

1826, to Lovell Baker, Sen. He owned the property nearly 
thirty-one years. In 1857, after his death, the property 
passed into the control of his son, Lovell Baker, the present 
owner. The real estate now owned by Mr. Baker in this 
town, includes the hotel, barn, two houses and three shops, 
all on the east side of the Park ; the Arcade and Cheney 
house, on the west side. The following is a partial list of 
the several occupants : — Samuel Wood, Hon. Samuel Wood, 
Nahum Andrews, Lovell Baker, Franklin Harrington, Timo- 
thy Wheelock, Jonathan Busden, Almon Adams, Green & 
Leonard, Ebenezer Aldrich, James H. Cheney, Charles C. 

Chamberlin, Keuben Eames, Reuben Monroe,^ Evans, 

Tyler Harrington, Mclntire, Horatio Cogswell, 

Jndd, Hunt, Collins Hathon, F. M. Marble, George 0. 

Newton, George Bundy, and Mr. Bowles, the present 
occupant. 

Jeremiah Barstow was one of the original forty proprie- 
tors who purchased the land of the Indians. He is the only 
one in the original deed who was not styled husbandman ; 
his occupation was that of a trader. He came here in 
1733-34, from Marlborongh, where he had resided. He 
had been a miller, and owned the mills and all the land now 
covered by the village of Feltonville, in that town. He 
sold this property to Robert Bayard. He kept store here in 
a very small one-story building, which stood on land between 
the " Green store " and the old red house, which latter 
building stood on the site of Warren Block. When the 
Green store was built, in 1806, this store was taken down. 
There was a well in the old store, and when the new Wor- 
cester road was laid out the well was exactlj^ in the centre 
of the road. When Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., and John War- 
ren first began business they occupied this old store, and 
purchased the stock of the heirs of Benjamin -Kingsbury, 
Sen., who had a few years before this bought out Whitney 
& Dorr, who came here from Boston about 1790. 

The " Green store," so-called from the color with which 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 383 

it was first, and for years continued to be painted, was 
erected by Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., better known as Squire 
Wheeler, abont 1806. At that time the firm was Wheeler 
& Warren (Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., and John Warren). 

The following were the articles of agreement indented 
and between Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., of Grafton, on the one 
part, and J ohn Warren , of Grafton, on the other part : — 

" First of all, the said Jona. Wheeler, Jr. and John Warren have 
joined themselves to be co-partners together in the art of trade of all 
kinds of merchandize, between this and Charleston, S. C, or any other 
part we may judge advantageous to our co-partnership, and all things 
thereto belonging; and also in buying, selling, vending and retailing of 
all sorts of wares, goods and commodities belonging to the said trade 
of all kinds of merchandize between this and Charleston, S. C, or any 
other part we may judge advantageous to our co-partnership, which 
co-partnership is to continue from the first day of September, one thou- 
sand seven hundred and ninety-six, for and during, and unto the full 
end and term of one year from thence next ensuing, and fully to be 
complete and ended, and to that end and purpose he, the said Jona. 
Wheeler, Jr., hath, the day of the commencement of these presents, 
delivered in as stock the sum of four hundred dollars, and the said John 
WaiTen the sum of four hundred dollars, with liberty of either of the 
said co-partners to make such additions to their stock as from time to 
time him or them shall think fit, with this privilege, that when either 
make an addition to his stock the other shall allow six per cent, per 
annum on one-half of the amount from the time such addition is made, 
which shall be made known by a book kept for the use of the said co- 
partners, and to be laid out and employed in common between them for 
the management of the said trade of all kinds of merchandize between 
this and Charleston, S. C, or any other part we may judge advanta- 
geous to our co-partnership, to their utmost benefit and advantage, and 
it is agreed between the said partners to these presents, and the said 
co-partners ask for himself respectively and for his own particular parts, 
and for his executors and admin ustrators doth severally and jointly cov- 
enant, promise and agree to, and with the other partner, his executors 
and administrators, by the presents in manner and form following (that 
is to say) : That they, the said co-partners, shall not, nor will at any 
time hereafter, use, exercise or follow the trade of any merchandize be- 
tween this and Charleston, S. C, or any other part as foresaid, or any 
other trade whatsoever, during the said terms, to their private benefit 
or advantage, but shall and will, from time to time, and at all times 
during the said term (if they shall so long live), do their, and each of 
their endeavors, in and by all means possible to the utmost of their 



384: HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

skill, power and cnnning, for their joint interest, benefit and advantage, 
and truly employ, bny, sell and merchandize with the stock aforesaid, 
and the increase thereof, in the trade of all kinds of merchandize be- 
tween this place, Charleston, S. C, or any other part or place aforesaid, 
without any sinister intention or fraudulent endeavors whatsoever, and 
all that the said co-partners shall and will, from time to time, and at all 
times hereafter, during the said terms, pay, bear and discharge, equally 
between them, the rent of the shops which they shall rent or hire for 
the joint convenience or managing the trade aforesaid, and that all such 
gain, profit and increase that shall come, grow or arise for or by reason 
of said trade, any joint occupancy as aforesaid shall be, from time to 
time, during the term, equally and proportionally divided between them, 
share and share alike, and all such loss as shall happen in the said joint 
trade by debts, ill commodities or otherwise, without fraud or covin, 
shall be paid and born equally and proportionally between them. And 
further it is agreed by, and between the said co-partners, parties to 
these presents, that there shall be had and kept, from time to time, and 
at all times during said term and joint occupying and co-partnership 
together, as aforesaid, for first just and true books of account wherein 
each of the said co-partners shall daily enter and sit down, as well, all 
money by them received, paid, expended and laid out in and about the 
management of the said trade, as also all wares, goods, commodities 
and merchandize by them, or either of them, bought and sold by reason 
or means, and. upon account of the said co-partnership, and all other 

matter and things whatsoever to the said joint trade and the ma. 

thereof, in any wise belonging or appertaining, which said book shall 
be used in common between the said co-partners, so that either of them 
may have free access thereof without any interruption of the other, and 
also that they, the said co-partners, once in three months, or oftener if 
need shall require, upon the reasonable request of one of them, shall 
make, yield and render, each to the other, or to the executors or admin- 
istrators of each other, a true, just and perfect account of all profit and 
increase by them, or either of them, made, and all losses by them, or 
either of them, sustained, and also of all payments, receipts, disburse- 
ments, and all other things whatsoever by them made, received, dis- 
bursed, acted, done, or sufifered in the said co-partnership, and jointly 
occupying, as aforesaid, and the same so made shall and will clear, ad- 
just, pay and deliver, each unto the other, at the time of making such 
account, their equal share of the profits aforesaid, and at the end of the 
said term of one year, from the first of September, one thousand seven 
hundred and ninty-six, or other sooner determination of these presents, 
Be it, by the death of one of the said partners, or otherwise they, the 
said co-partners, each to the other, or in case of the death of either of 
them, the surviving party to the executor or administrators of the par- 
ties deceased, shall and will make a true, just and final amount of all 
things as aforesaid, and divide the profits aforesaid, and in all things 



OLD HOUSES AND BriLDINGS. 385 

well and truly adjust the same, and that also upon the making of such 
final amount all of the stock and stocks, as well as the gain and increase 
thereof which shall appear to be remaining, whether consisting of 
money, wares, merchandize, debts, &c., shall be equally parted and 
divided between them, the said co-partners, executors or administrators, 
share and share alike ; and it is further agreed, for the benefit of the 
said co-partners, that all obligations after this date of these presents, 
drawn by either or made payable, shall be under the firm of Wheeler & 
Warren, and shall be equally binding on both. 

In witness whereof, we hereunto set our hand and seal this first day 
of September, in the year of our Lord one thousand seven- hundred and 
ninety-six. 

JONATHAN WHEELER, Jr. 

JOHN WARREN. 

In presents of 

William Lamb. 
Ephm. Hakeington. 

The parties to the within indentures do agree to continue it in full for 
the term of one year longer, which will end the first day of September, 
one thousand seven hundred and ninety-eight. 

In witness whereof, we have hereunto set our hand and seal this first 
day of September, one thousand seven hundred and ninety-seven. 

JONATHAN WHEELER, Jb. 
JOHN WARREN. 

In presence of 

Moses Harrington. 
Sam. Harrington. 

1 Sept., 1798. — It is agreed by the parties to this instrument that 
It remains in force until dissolved by consent of both parties. 

JONA. WHEELER, Jr. 
JOHN WARREN." 

In 1815, Mr. Warren sold his interest in the firm to 
Elijah Case, father of Elijah Case, now of Athol, and 
purchasing a farm, now known as the Chestnut Grove farm, 
lately owned by Frank "Wood, resided upon it until his 
death. Wheeler & Case were succeeded by Charles Pren- 
, tice, grandson of Kev. Solomon Prentice, in 1820, who con- 
tinued the business until 1824 or 1825, when he sold to 
49 



386 HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 

Samuel Harrington, who had previously been engaged by 
Mr. Prentice as elerk for three j'cars, at a yearly salary of 
fifty dollars and his board. Mr. Harrington after continu- 
ing a few years sold out to Jonathan D. Wheeler and 
Ebenezer Aldrich. Mr. "Wheeler sold his interest to 
Jonathan Warren, and the business was continued a short 
time under the firm name of Warren & Aldrich. The 
stock of goods was subsequently disposed of to Winthrop 
Faulkner, who remained here a short time and finally moved 
to his present building opposite the Unitarian Church. In 
184:3, Samuel Harrington again became the occupant of 
the building, and in company with Jonathan D. Wheeler 
continued the business for about ten years, until 1853, when 
Mr. Wheeler sold his interest to Mr. Harrington. He con- 
tinued the business until 1860, alone; at this time he formed 
a co-partnership with his son-in-law. Dr. George K. Nichols. 
Mr. Harrington retired February 1, 1877, upon the results 
of a close application to business for fifty years, and the 
business is now conducted by Mr. Nichols. 

" The history of a business house in a quiet country 
village seldom ofifers any unusual incidents, and generally 
goes on in its modest routine of patient application and 
industrious enterprise. And still the annals of a country 
store will be found to embi-ace very much of the social 
history of the region of the community in which it is 
located. Those were days before these rushing, steam 
driven times. Times, when the last batch of news that had 
worried its perilous way, for days, through mud or slush, in 
the teeth of storms that would shake everything but the 
granite hills of these New England towns, or plunging 
through snow-drifts more taxing still — that men would 
gather round the big box stove, red hot, yet inviting, with, 
perchance, the added stimulus of an occasional draught from 
the last arrival down cellar, to discuss alike the policy of 
governments or the state of the markets. Men lived slowly 
' them days,' and could afford to while away the long winter 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 



387 



evenings at the store. The Green store was no exception. 
If its hard oak timbers could have spoken, they would 
furnish material for many an exciting discussion, and many 
a chronicle of the earlier times. Times are changed, and 
so are many of tlie manners of the people. In the place 
of the old time-honored green-painted store, with heavy, 
nail-studded shutters and hugely bolted doors, there is a 
fine three-storied, French-roofed block." 

The building now owned by Mrs. Leander Stockwell, 
was built by Lovell Stow, in 1840, or thereabouts. The 
lower part was first used by Griggs Brothers (Salem and 
Thomas T.) for a store. Mr. Stow resided in the upper 
part. , After Mr. Stow's death his widow sold the property 
to Leander Stockwell, who carried on the tailoring business 
until his death in 1875. The upper part Was used at one 
time as the office of the Grafton National Bank ; and sub- 
sequently as the residence of S. Swan. 

Probably the most central point in town during the earlier 
days was the old Half-way House, which stood nearly on 
the site of the present residence of Henry F. Wing. Here 
the mail-coach used to stop, which ran over the post road 
from Providence to Worcester, and here the passengers and 
horses were refreshed. At this time this was the only 
inn or tavern in the town. During the latter years of its 
existence it was kept by Francis Barnes, and owned by 
" the Dr. Wood." Barnes first came from Marlborough, 
and kept the Hassanamisco House. He was brotlier-in-law 
to Dr. Wood ; they married sisters ; he removed to Phila- 
delphia. The" house was then owned by Jabez Brigham 
and by Philip Wing, who erected the present building, now 
owned by his son, Henry F. 

The house now owned and occupied by Silas A. Pierce 
was formerly the law oflBce of Harry Wood. At that time 
it was one-story high and contained two rooms. When Mr. 
Wood died the property was bought by William Brown and 



388 HISTOET OF GKAFTOM. 

Sullivan Newton. It was used by Dr. Bnrnstill, a homoeo- 
pathic physician, for his office. He subsequently removed 
to Boston and became quite noted for his skill. Benehley 
& Eddy, of Millbury, now purchased the property and laid 
out the land into building lots. It was through their 
instrumentality that Church street was laid out. They 
gave the land on which the Catholic Church now stands to 
the society. Eddy bought out Benehley and leased the 
office to William Mecorncy, in which he manufactured 
clothing and carried on the tailoring business. He after- 
wards moved to "Warren Block. Eddy sold this property to 
Col. Charles Brigham and Nathaniel Smith. Col. Brigham 
made repairs and changed the building into a dwelling- 
house and sold it to Silas A. Pierce, who has made two 
additions since that time. 

This town has always had its share of physicians. Prior 
to 1800, there were two Doctors Joseph Wood, residing 
here. One was known as " Dr. Wood " and the other as 
" the Dr. Wood." We have found nothing as yet to guaran- 
tee the assertion that the latter was a skilled physician. 
The former resided in a red house on the corner of what is 
now Pleasant street, on land now owned by Silas A. Pierce. 
He kept a store in which he sold West India Goods, and 
according to several accounts some of the goods were wet 
and in a liquid form. This buildmg stood nearly on the 
site of the present Evangelical Congregational Church. 
Tlien came his barn and another house of his known as 
" the Dr. Parker house." Between this latter house and 
the house of Perley Goddard in Centerville there were but 
three houses, and Dr. Wood was the owner of nearly all 
the intervening land. By the death of Dr. Wood, the prop- 
erty came into possession of Harry Wood, his son, who 
resided on it until his death in 1838, when the property 
was purchased by Col. Charles Brigham and Nathaniel 
Smith. The latter resided in the house until his death in 
1854. His widow sold it to her son-in-law, Silas A. Pierce, 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 389 

wlio disposed of it to Rufus E. Warren. It was moved to 
North street, and now stands fronting the street adjoining 
the school-yard. 

One of the three houses previously referred to between 
Dr. "Wood's and Perley Goddard's, was the Capt. Samuel 
Hall house. This was formerly owned by Dr. Wood, who 
sold it to one Forbes. Capt. Samuel Hall purchased the 
house in 1815, of Mr. Forbes, and resided in it for a short 
time, when he built the house now standing, in which he 
lived for about fifty years, until his death. 

Where the house now stands which was formerly owned 
by Caleb Wood, there stood an old building which was used 
as a Distillery for the manufacture of apple brandy. I have 
been unable to ascertain the name of the owner of the 
building (probably Dr. Wood), but a man by the name of 
Sherman carried on the business for the proprietor. 

There was formerly, prior to 1800, an old red house which 
stood about on the site of Hon. Jonathan D. Wheeler's resi- 
dence, owned and occupied by John Knox. Here he mar- 
ried his second wife. Colonel Wheeler purchased the 
property about 1806, and erected a new and handsome 
house. 

Dr. Lamb sold the lot, on which the Forbush house was 
built, to James Whipple, who subsequently sold it to Joseph 
Wood and Amazi'ah Howard. They erected the frame for 
a house, which stood without being covered for nearly three 
years, when it was completed. When the frame was raised 
the timbers used were new, but rotten. The carpenter who 
did the work said : — " I have put up all sorts of frames, but 
never before have I put one up in the shape of a letter F." 
The building, when completed, was used as a hotel, and was 
kept by CoUester Wood, then by Joseph Duncan, his 
brother-in-law. At this time the Hassanamisco House was 
kept by Samuel Wood, who was anxious to be the only inn- 
keeper in the Centre, and when the property was sold at 



390 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

auction he purchased it, so as to prevent there being another 
hotel. Calvin W. Forbush next owned the house. In the 
east part there were manufactured boots and shoes, by 
Wood, Kimball & Co. This firm dissolved, and Samuel 
Wood continued the business until he failed. During this 
time a West India goods and grocery store was kept and 
known as the White store. The firm also used the base- 
ment of the Baptist Church for their business. Noah Kim- 
ball removed to Westborough, Calvin W. Forbush con- 
tinned the business, and sold the vestry of the Baptist 
Church to the society. He subsequently removed to Lan- 
caster, and formed a co-partnership with Edward Forbush, 
his nephew, and continued manufacturing, having an office 
in Pearl street, Boston. Prior to his removal to Lancaster, 
he sold out to Forbush & Wheeler, who continued for a 
while, when Silas A. Forbush sold out to Willard D. 
Wheeler. He continued manufacturing and keeping the 
store until the war broke out, when ho was appointed pay- 
master in the army. Silas A. Forbush went to Buffalo and 
was employed by Forbush & Brown a short time, until they 
came here and purchased Hancock's Block, and began the 
manufacture of boots and shoes. Since then he has had 
charge of their business here. During some of tiie time 
this house has been used as a hotel, and was at one time 
kept by Timothy Bosworth. John Wheeler purchased the 
house, which is still occupied by his widow. 

Some time after the Rev.^S olomon Pre ntice, of Cam- 
bridge, was ordained minister of the town, he built a house 
near the present residence of George F. Slocomb, Esq., and 
between that and the Forbush house. He besides being a 
clergyman, was also an extensive farmer. After his death 
the house was occupied by Kev. Aaron Hutchinson, then by 
Rev. Daniel Grosvenor, and finally by Dr. William Lamb. 
When Dr. Lamb bought the property of Mr. Grosvenor, he 
only partially paid for it, and gave Mr. Grosvenor a mort- 
gage on the real estate for the balance, which he left with 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 391 

the doctor to be recorded. This he neglected, or purposely 
failed to do, although he claimed it had been done. This 
controversy finally led to a law-suit, in which tiie doctor 
figured as defendant, and the clergyman as plaintiff. Tiie 
Ifitter came out victorious, and consequently Dr. Lamb re- 
linquished tlie property, or a portion of it, reserving the 
house, which he finally disposed of to £!harles. Pre ntice. 
This house was finally moved down " Congdon Hil l," and 
formed the front of the present house of Henry Prentice, 
a relative of Kev. Solomon, its first owner. 

The house which was owned and occupied by David Sher- 
man stood next to the Baptist meeting-liouse, on land which 
was formerly used as a barn-yard by Dr. William Lamb. 
The building he occupied was very large. In the front part 
of the lower floor he kept a dry goods and grocery store, 
and in the roar part he manufactured boots and shoes, em- 
ploying some fifteen hands. He resided in the upper part 
of the building. The land on which his building stood he 
purchased of Dr. William Lamb, who resided on the oppo- 
site side of the street. Some time after the purchase the 
parties had some dispute relative to the bounds of the land, 
and Mr. Sherman took down the front part. The ell part 
was removed and formed the house on " Congdon Hill," now 
owned by Benjamin Kingsbury. This building was known 
in its day as the " Fly Market." He removed to Farnums- 
ville, and resided in the Samuel Sherman liouse. He died 
in New Bedford. 

Dr. Lamb's barn was on the opposite side of the road 
from his house, and his barn-yard extended from the Baptist 
meeting-house to the house of Mr. Daniel Gibbs. After 
tlie death of Mrs. Lamb the doctor went to Ehode Island 
and resided for a while with his son, but finally returned to 
this town where he was supported by his friends, and finally 
died, very much broken down. 

Joseph Leland purchased the land on which he built his 



392 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

residence, now owned and occupied by his widow, of the 
heirs of Elijali Case. 

Between tlie .diaries Prentice house and the house of Dr. 
William Lamb stood the house of Elijah Bruce. This was 
near the site of the present house of John W. Bigelow. 
After Mr. Bruce's death his widow resided in it. She sold 
it to Moses Adams, and he took it down and erected the 
house of Mr. Bigelow. 

The old house which stood near the site of the house now 
owned by Lovell Baker and occupied by A. M. Bigelow, was 
formerly owned by Benjamin K. Moulton. This was known 
as the " Charles Prentice house," and was occupied from 
time to time by Charles Prentice, Captain Ephraim Har- 
rington, Samuel Leland, John^JWarren, Elijah Case and 
Jonathan Wheeler, Esq. The latter and John Warren were 
in company in the old " Green Store," and one resided in a 
house which stood where the Warren Block now stands, 
and the other in the Charles_Prentice housOj^ and vice versa. 
Elijah Case died in this house, fie married twice : Sarah 
Leland, daughter of Pliiueas Leland, Jr., who died in 1808, 
and Elizal)eth Merriam, da ughter o f Jogfiph Mfrrvmfij ■T'-i-t 
After Mr. Case's "death she marrieSTt C harles Prentlfl fiJ 
Elijah Case, Jr., born in 1807, married Lauremia Stone. 
They had Sarah L., born 1831; Jane L., born 1833; Har- 
rison E., born 1835; Julia E., born 1837. He died in 
Athol in June, 1879. The old house was purchased by 
Rufus E. Warren and removed to North street, on the 
opposite side of the street fi'om his house. 

The house now owued and occupied by Silas A. Forbush, 
was purchased by him of the Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, who 
built it. The house which stood on the land now occupied 
by this house was owned by John Bennett, who married a 
daughter of Jeremiah Flagg. Mr. Bennett was a hatter, 
and carried on the business in a small shop which stood 
north of and very near his house, only a narrow passage- 



OLD HOUSES AND BCTILDINGS. 393 

way being between the two. The house ended on the line 
at Eev. John Miles. Mr. Bennett owned ten acres of land 
on the opposite side of the road, which he subsequently 
sold to Eev. Mr. Miles. When Mr. Biscoe purchased the 
property, the old house, or part of it, was moved back and 
converted into a woodhouse. Rev. Mr. Biscoe was born 
July 18, 1810, the son of Thomas Biscoe. His ancestor 
was Nathaniel Biscoe, " the rich tanner," who was in Water- 
town as early as 1642. In that year he wrote and circulated 
privately a pamphlet " against the way of supporting minis- 
ters," that gave great offence, and for which he was fined 
£10. In that year, his barn, with leather and corn, amount- 
ing to £100, was destroyed by fire. He was so dissatisfied 
with the prevalent ecclesiastical intolerance that he returned 
to England about the end of 1651, or early the next year. 
Ho had four children whom he left in Massachusetts. He 
descended from Nathaniel^ as follows : John^, Thomas', 
John*, Thomas^ Josiah*, Thomas', Rev. Thomas C* 

There was formerly an old house which stood near John 
Bennett's house ; this was owned by Nathaniel Dexter, who 
subsequently sold it to Captain Liberty Wood, and he 
resided in it until he built his house on North street. The 
old house was finally sold to Rufus E. Warren, who moved 
it to North'street, and converted it into a shop. Austin 
Holbrook resided in this house at one time. The house of 
the late Hon. A. M. Bigelow was erected near the site of 
this old house. 

Next comes the residence of Thomas Thurston Griggs, 
M. D., who was born in Sutton in 1818. He was tlie sou of 
Lieutenant John Griggs, " a man of much public spirit, 
possessed of every moral excellence of character, and iden- 
tified with all enterprises designed to promote the interests 
of the community." His grandfather, Thomas Griggs, Jr., 
went from Brookline to Sutton, where he died. Dr. Griggs 
came into possession of the estate by the death of his 
50 



394 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

fatlier-in-law, De]ano Pierce, M. D. Dr. Pierce when he 
first caaie to this town, resided in the honse now owned and 
occupied by Charles A. Pierce. Tliis house was formerly 
owned by Ephraim Wilson. Dr. Pierce came into posses- 
sion of the Miles honse by the foreclosure of a mortgage 
which he held upon it. The house was sold to Wood, 
Warren & Co., by the Eev. John Miles, once " the minister 
of the town." Mr. Miles owned sixteen acres of land, six 
in the rear of the house, and ten across the road, which was 
reached by a lane between the Lesure honse and Charles A. 
Pierce's house. When he owned the property, the dwelling 
was rery small, but when Dr. Pierce came into possession 
of it, the house was entirely remodeled. The old house 
formed the ell and in front he built two stories with large 
doric pillars, then the most fashionable and expensive. 
Before the alterations were made by Dr. Pierce, while the 
house was in possession of Wood, Warren & Co., it was 
leased as a tenement-house. 

The house was owned prior to 1794, by Dr, William 
Lamb, who sold it April 17, 1795, to Royal Keith, who 
resided in it for two years, and subsequently sold it to 
Rev. John Miles. 

The old house now occupied by Joseph Bruce, was erected 
by his father and grandfather, Joseph and Simbn, in 1789, 
nearly a century ago. The barn was built a few years after 
the liouse. When this house was built there were but few 
houses between this and town. There were none on the 
opposite side of the street. The present owner, Joseph, is 
now in his 90th year, and still retains all his faculties. His 
memory is thoroughly stored with incidents and narratives 
i-elating to the older inhabitants of the town, and the com- 
piler is greatly indebted to his kindness and uniform courtesy 
in relating them and giving much other valuable informa- 
tion. Tlie following copy of an old paper relates to the 
Bruce farm : — 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 395 

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS. 

In the House of Representatives, Jan. 34, 1794. 

Whereas it appears by a Resolve of the General Court on the Nine- 
teenth day of November, A. D. 1787, that Edward Rawsou, Willis Hall 
and Stephen Maynard, Guardians of the Grafton Indians, were ira- 
powered to sell about sixteen acres of Land, lying in said Grafton, and 
that they by their Deed in their said capacity on the Twenty-first day 
of May, A. D. 1788, conveyed to Joseph Bruce and Simon Bruce of 
said Grafton, Sixteen acres and five rods of land. And whereas it 
appears to this Court by the Petition and Representation ol the said 
Joseph and Simon Bruce, and by the Certificate of the said Guardians, 
that by mistalce the land described in said Deed is not the land intended 
by the Parties to have been conveyed as aforesaid. Therefore, 

Resolved, that the present Trustees or Guardians of the Grafton 
Indians be and they are hereby empowered to make and execute a good 
and sufficient deed in fee simple, of said Land so Intended to be con- 
veyed to said Joseph Bruce and Simon Bruce. Provided the said Joseph 
and Simon shall at the same time by a good and sufficient Deed in fee 
simple reconvey to llie said Guardians in trust, for such of the said 
Indians as are entitled thereto the said sixteen acres and five Rods of 
Land, contained and described in their Deed as aforesaid. 
Sent up for Concurrence, 

EDW'D. H. ROBBINS, Spltr. 

In Senate, Feb'y. 27, 1794. 

Read and Concurred. 

SAM'L. PHILLIPS, Prsdt. 

Feb. 27, 1794. 

Approved. 

SAM'L. ADAMS. 

True Copy. 

Attest. 

JOHN AVERY, Jun., Sec'y. 

The honse now owned by John Fahey, on the old Upton 
road, just above " Bruee Hollow," is a very old house. This 
was first owned by the Bruce family, wlio came here from 
Mendon. When the house now owned by Joseph Bruce 
was erected, in 1786, his grandfather and grandmother re- 
sided in it, his father and mother residing in the old house 



396 HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 

until the death of the old folks, in 1799, when they removed 
into the new honse. The old house was then rented for three 
years to Nathan Darling. Benjamin Lcland, Jr., resided here 
for a while. When Joseph's father died the estate was divid- 
ed, and this house came into possession of Eliza (Mrs. William 
Eager, of Boston), who rented it for a number of years. 
At her death the administrator disposed of it to the present 
owner and occupant, John Fahey. 

The house of Jeremiah Flagg, which he now occupies, on 
the old Upton road, is also one of the oldest houses in town. 
This was occupied by Dr. Jonathan Grout for a number of 
years. The doctor sold the house to Reuben Cummings, 
who moved here from TJxbridge about 1795. He remained 
but a short time, and iinally returned to that town. The 
next owner and occupant was Isaac Sonthwick, father of 
Hon. Isaac H. Southwick, of Providence, E,. I. Aaron 
Fay next owned the house, and sold it to his sister, Mrs. 
Samuel Wheelock, who in turn disposed of it to the present 
owner, Mr. Flagg. Edward Lesure at one time resided 
here. 

The house now owned and occupied by Jonathan B. Sib- 
ley, was built by Elijah L. Case, who sold it to Rodney S. 
Dennis. It was next owned by his son, Edward P. Dennis, 
who built the present barn. After his death the property 
was sold to Michael O'Keef, of whom it was purchased by 
Mr. Sibley. The old house, which stood near the site of the 
present dwelling, was built by Dea. Joseph Merriam, 2nd, 
probably 125 years ago, and at his death the property passed 
into the hands of his daughter, Mrs. Elijah Case, and was 
next owned by her son, Elijah L. Case. The old house was 
moved just below the barn, and subsequently moved on to 
the new Upton road, where it now stands. 

The house now owned and occupied by David L. Fiske 
was built in 1797, by Royal Keith, his grandfather. The 
old house just south of the present house was purchased by 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 



397 



Mr. Keith of James Whipple, February 6, 1797. The farm 
included fifty-three acres of land, and was sold for £400.* 

The house now owned and occupied by Eoyal Adams 
Keith was built by his father, Eoyal, in 1827, who resided 
in it during his lifetime. The old house on this farm was 
taken down when the present one was built. The property 
was purchased of Benjamin Leland, in 1805. 

The privilege in Kittville was built and first owned by 
Jonathan Whipple and Dr. Levi Eawson. They began the 
manufacture of shoemaliers' tools. Whipple sold his inter- 
est to Eawson, and he disposed of it to E. P. Leland & Co. 
They were succeeded by Nelson Leland, who owned the 
property when it was destroyed by fire. 

The old Eed house, north of Charles Wesson's house, 
was built by Amos Ellis, and subsequently owned by Capt. 
Moses Eoberts, his son-in-law. It was afterwards owned by 
E. P. Leland & Co., and Nelson Leland, the present 
owner. 

The old house near the Upton line, in which Michael 
Maroney now lives, was built by a Mr. Wood, who had a 
currier's shop near it. It was afterwards owned and occu- 
pied by Timothy Fisher, Joel Taft and Joel Taft, Jr. 

Benjamin Thurston came to this town from Mendon and 
purchased land on George Hill, in September, 1774, of 
Fortune and Abigail Burnee. On this land he erected a 
house, in which he resided during his life. It was afterwards 
owned by his son, John, and his grandson, Daniel. The 
latter removed the old house and built the present dwellino- 
which, at his death, passed into the hands of Mrs. Lawson 
Munyan, his daughter. It is now owned by Lawson 
Munyan. 

David Forbush came to this town from Westborouo-h, and 
purchased of Eleazer Flagg his house on George Hill 

♦ This house was consumed by Are in 1879. 



398 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

which stood nearlj' on the site of the Red house which joins 
the honse formerly owned by Silas Forbnsh, Jr. In this 
honse he resided a short time, and then built the Red house 
above referred to, in 1784. After his death the farm, 
which included eighty acres, was divided equally between 
his sons, Silas and Jonathan. Silas Forbush, Jr., built the 
house, which he formerly ownedjin ISii, now owned by the 
Perry family. David Forbush was a member of the com- 
mittee of safety during the war of the Revolution. 

The house of Augustus Johnson, situated between the 
Stow and Forbush farms, was built in 1816, by Jonathan 
Hayden. Hayden purchased the old house on the opposite 
side of the road of John Thurston, who built it. When he 
built, in 1816, he took the old house down. 

When Abner Stow came here from Marlborough he 
located on land given him by his father, who was one of the 
original forty proprietors. This land was on George Hill, 
He built a log hut on the site of the present house of Silas 
E. Stow, in which he resided for about a year, when he 
erected a frame house, in 1735, just in front of tlie log hut. 
This farm has been owned and occupied by his descendants, 
as follows : — His son, Jonathan ; his son, Jonathan ; his son, 
Jonathan W. ; and his son, Silas E. Stow, who came into 
possession of the property in 1867. He resided in the 
house six years, and in 1874 erected his present residence, 
which is without exaggeration the finest appointed farm- 
house in town. In 1847, Jonathan W., his father, built the 
barn, which is 107 by 40, with an ell 48 by 26. In 1832, 
Jonathan W. built a shoemaker's shop on the opposite side 
of the road, which was finished and remodelled into a dwel- 
ling house for his farm hands, in 1836. This latter building 
has since been taken down. 

The house of Fred. Jourdan was built and occupied by 
Capt. Joseph Whipple. Here he resided and died. It was 
next owned by Capt. Amaziah Howard, and when he died 



OLD HOUSES AND BtTILDINGS. 



399 



here he was buried in a brick vault, which he had had con- 
structed under liis own supervision while alive. His body was 
subsequently re-interred in the burying-ground. The prop- 
erty was afterwards owned by Henry D. Howard and Eoyal 
A. Keitli, who disposed of it to Mr. Jourdan. 

Capt. Moses Harrington built the upright part of what is 
now the old Yellow house, owned by Horace S. "Warren, and 
situated nearly opposite Bigelow Brothers' currying estab- 
lishment. A few years prior to 1800, and some years after 
this date, he kept a hotel here. He was a tanner by trade, 
and carried on the business in the old tan-yard, in the rear 
of where Rufus E. Warren's house and barn now stand. 

The house now owned and occupied by A. A. Ballou was 
purchased by him of Sumner Dinsmore, who built it. Mr. 
Dinsmore removed to Worcester, where he is at present 
residing. He was born in West Boylston, in 1804, and came 
to this town in 1820 to reside with Oliver M. Brigham, with 
whom he remained until he attained his majority. In 1828 
he married Rachel Clemens, of Charlton, and had a family 
of five children. All of them died young, and in 18M his 
wife died. In 1845 he married Harriott M. Putnam. Mr. 
Dinsmore was engaged for a number of years in shoemak- 
ing and cutting shoes. He was Deputy Sheriff for some 
time, and also kept an apothecary store. He began the 
business in this town of manufacturing innersoles, heels and' 
stiffenings, which business he followed until he sold his real 
estate. Mr. Ballou came to this town from Winchendon, 
where he had been engaged as cashier in the National Bank, 
to act as cashier of the Bank here. 

The house now owned and occupied by Colonel Cogswell, 
was built by George Clapp. Mr. Clapp was born in Peters- 
ham. He came to this town, and while here erected a large 
number of the best buildings. He subsequently removed 
toRehoboth, and the property was then owned by H. D. P. 
Bigelow. 



400 HISTOKY OF QEAFTON. 

The next farm is known as the Otis Adams place. The 
house was built in 1799, by Nathaniel Adams. At his 
death, January 24, 1829, the property catne into possession 
of his son, Hon. Otis Adams, who resided upon it until his 
decease. The property was then- owned by his widow, who 
sold it to Franklin Worcester, the present owner and 
occupant. This farm is one of the best in town. 

When Thomas Axtell came to this town from Marl- 
borough, he purchased and took deeds of land here from 
Ephraim Sherman and Nathan Sherman, in 1734, including 
some two hundred acres. A portion of this land is now 
owned by Capt. Benjamin Aldrich. The old house stood a 
few rods east of the house of Nathan Chaffin, on the West- 
borough road, and was destroyed by fire several years ago. 
He sold his property, including land and buildings, and came 
and lived witli his son on the place where S. J. Axtell now 
lives. The farm upon which he now lives was deeded to the 
first wife of Thomas Axtell, Jr., born May 11, 1713, and 
"her heirs, for and in consideration of the love, good-will 
and parental afiection which I bear my dutiful daughter, 
Elizabeth Axtell, of Grafton," by John Sherman, of Marl- 
borough. The Axtells have owned and occupied it since. 
This deed is dated 1746. There have been three houses on 
the same spot, on this farm. Tiiis Thomas' wife, Mary 
Axtell, was the mother at one birth of three sons — Abraham, 
Isaac and Jacob. They lived about three weeks and all 
died. 

Colonel John Goulding resided in a house which he 
erected on the site of the house now owned and occupied 
by Henry Wesson, on the Westborough road, in the Farm 
District. He was a tanner by occupation and his tan-yard 
was situated on land which is now owned by Harvey 
Putnam. 

Joseph Willard erected a house in the Farm District in 
which he resided until his death, when the property came 



OLD HOrSES AND BUILDICTGS. 401 

into possession of Josephus Willard, who demolished the 
old house and erected the house now standing about 1825 ; 
here he resided during his lifetime. The property is now 
owned by Mrs. Ephraim L. Goulding. Josephus Willard 
and wife when in their prime of life were considered the 
strongest and largest couple in this town ; each tipping 
the scales at 250 lbs. He held many town offices and was 
respected by his fellow-citizens. His wife was held in high 
estimation by her many friends. 

The house now owned by Mrs. Lucy Mitchell, situated 
nearly opposite the Goulding house, was formerly a part of 
Captain Ephraim Goulding's shoe-shop and was moved to 
its present location about 1835. 

Ebenezer Brooks, of Concord, came to this town in its 
early settlement. He located on land now owned by his 
descendant, Samuel H. Knowlton. He erected a small 
house and blacksmith shop. This property was subsequently 
owned by his son Joel, his son Elijah, his daughter Polly, 
who married Joel Knowlton; and their son was Elijah 
Brooks Knowlton, father of the present owner. The black 
smith shop was burned in 1859. A portion of the old 
house is still standing, to which a large addition has been 
added. 

The house now owned by Perley Goddard, was purchased 
by him of A. L. Hawes, who had previously bought it of 
Charles Leland's widow. The house was built by Lieut. 
James "Whipple, about 1775. After his death his son, Thad- 
deus Whipple, purchased it and sold some of the land. The 
property was subsequently sold to Charles Leland, and after 
his death was owned by his widow as above. The old 
Whipple house, built by Dea. James Whipple, who came to 
this town from Ipswich Hamlet in 1735, stood on the oppo- 
site side of the road from the present house, at the west of 
the present barn. 

51 



402 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

The house now owned and occupied by Charles K. White, 
came into his possession by the death of his father, Samuel 
White, who removed to this town from Pomfrot, Conn. 
He purchased the property in 1851, of Oliver Adams. Mr. 
Adams purchased of Morey Farnum, who had owned the 
farm for about twelve years. The house was probably 
built by John Whipple, who resided here until his death. 
The house was two stories in front, with a gable roof run- 
ning back nearly to the ground. After John Whipple's 
death the property was owned by Jonathan Whipple. 

The Luke Leland house on the Farmimsville road, was 
built by Eleazer Whipple, who took down the old house and 
barn. These were owned by Ephraim Slierman and Ephraim 
Sherman, Jr. 

The old Sherman house, built by Ephraim Sherman, in 
which he resided during his life, stood nearly on the site of 
B. Bassett's house in Farnumsville. This is claimed by his 
descendants to have been the third frame house built in this 
town. This house was afterwards owned by Moses Slierman 
and his son Samuel, who had it taken down and built the 
house now owned by his son, Tarrant Sherman. 

The house on Pleasant street now owned by Mr. Ilitchins, 
was built by Samuel Leland. He was a blacksmith and had 
a shop here. The house now owned by Mr. Pullard stood 
between the Hitchins house and the blacksmith shop, and 
was moved to its present site about 1855, and sold to Royal 
Leland. It was subsequently sold to Samuel Leland, who 
in turn disposed of it to the present owner, PuUard. 

On the site of the house formerly owned by Rev. William 
G. Scandlin, stood an old house which was built by Samuel 
Miner, who resided in it until his death, when John Roberts, 
his son-in-law, came into possession of it and took down the 
buildings and erected the present ones. 

The house in which Charles Batcheller and his mother 
reside, was owned by Joseph Batcheller, his father. He 



OLD HOtrSEB AND BUILDINGS. 4:03 

purchased it of Isaac Southwick, who erected the buildings. 
The old house stood on the opposite side of the road from 
the present house, and was probably built by Daniel Axtell, 
who resided here some time. Timothy Temple next owned 
it, of whom Mr. Southwick purchased it. 

The first house north of the Benjamin Heywood place, 
was once owned and occupied by Levi Leland; he built the 
present grist-mill and privilege, and died here. There was 
a clothier's shop near this house in which Benjamin and Levi 
Heywood conducted this business. It had previously been 
carried on by Holly Dorr ; he wont to Boston and engaged 
in business with John Whitney. A Mr. White also lived 
here and carried on the business ; he came from Boston, and 
had a large family. White sold to the Heywoods. Ben- 
jamin Leathe at one time owned the mill property. The 
Heywood brothers took down the old house and built the 
house recently owned by Benjamin Heywood, Jr. 

The old Phillips house, where the families of Ebenezer, 
John and Andrew Smith resided, is situated between Wil- 
kinsonville, in Sutton, and Grafton Centre. There are two 
routes, one through Saundersville, and the other via. the 
road which passes the house. Here Saundersville can be 
seen half a mile distant. This house was at one time owned 
by Samuel Leland, who had a blacksmith shop here. He 
moved from here to the Charles Prentice house in the 
Centre, and had his blacksmith shop on tiie site of George 
F. Slocomb's boot and shoe manufactory. He subsequently 
owned the Hitchins house. 

The house and land now owned by Deacon John McClellan 
was purchased of the heir of Col. Joshua W. Leland. Dea- 
con McClellan resided on the farm in Sutton, which he 
acq«ired from his grandfather ; it was sold in 1865, to 
Reuben R. Dodge. On this spot more than one hundred and 
fifty years ago, James Leland, who came here from Sher- 
burne, settled. He was the ancestor of all the numerous 



404 HISTORY OF GRAFTOH. 

family by that name in this town. He was succeeded by 
his son, Phineas Leland, and he in turn by his son, Phineaa 
Leland, Jr., and finally by Col. Joshua W. as above. Col. 
Leland died without issue. This farm of Major McClellan's 
is one of the best in town, situated in Saundersville, on 
the banks of the old Blackstone Eiver. The present house 
was erected in 1792. 

The next house is owned by the heirs of the late "Wash- 
ington White. Deacon White was born in Northbridge, the 
son of Jesse W. and Anna (Mason) White. Her grand- 
father Mason died from a casualty at Thompson, Ct., aged 
upwards of 103 years. Mr. White belonged to a family of 
eleven children. In his death the town lost another of its 
honored and aged citizens. Moving for the last few years 
of his life amid the quiet scenes of home, to which ho was 
ardently attached, and under whose affectionate care his 
growing infirmities were alleviated as far as it was possible 
for them to be, he was not prominent in public affairs. He 
was one, however, who took a deep interest in the welfare 
of his town. For years he filled the oflBce of deacon in the 
church in Saundersville ; confided in for his simple piety ; 
honored for his integrity ; esteemed by his neighbors ; the 
centre of filial love to his devoted children. The house was 
sold to Mr. White by George K. Nichols, M. D., who re- 
moved to the Centre. 

Prior to 1800, an old house stood near the present site of 
the blacksmith shop in Saundersville. This was owned and 
occupied by a Mr. Pierce, who had a grist-mill about where 
Saunders' cotton mill now stands. 

Another old house stood near the site now occupied by 
the residence of Esek Saunders, and was the residence of 
Caleb Leland. After his removal to Yermont the house was 
owned by Charles Leland, who built a new house and took, 
the old one down. This was occupied by Mr. Saunders 
until he erected his present residence. 



OLD HOUSES AND BUn^DINGS. 405 

The house of Jonas Brown, situated near the Sutton line, 
in Wilkinson ville, was a very old house. It was occupied 
by his sons, Clark and Jonas, Jr. ; the latter removed to 
Paxton. Clark Brown had the largest number of children 
born in this house of any person ever a resident in this 
town. He had the old house taken down, and built the 
present house, now owned by his son, Horace Brown. 

Aaron Brigham, the ancestor of the family of this name 
in this town, removed here from Marlborough, and erected 
his dwelling nearly on the site of the house now owned and 
occupied by John Crosby, about 1734:. The present house 
of Mr. Crosby was built about 1835. 

The house in which Ezekiel Brigham resided was built by 
him just below the house now occupied by Miss Diadamia 
Brigham, on Brigham Hill, about 1750, at which time the 
only way of reaching this beautiful elevation was by a 
bridle path through the dense forest. 

Lieut. Ezekiel Brigham, son of the above, erected his 
dwelling on the opposite side of the road from his father's, 
about 1784, which he occupied until his death. The house 
was consumed by fire in September, 1869. 

Elisha Brigham erected his dwelling about 1745, on the 
summit of Brigham Hill, and beyond the present house of 
Miss Diadamia Brigham. He continued to reside in it until 
his death, when the property came into possession of his 
daughter, who had married! Zebulon Daniels. Here she re- 
sided until about 1800, whelrtf^as vacated on account of 
its unfitness. The house and barn were demolished by the 
wind, during the gale, in the year 1815. Oliver M. Brig- 
ham purchased the property in 1823. The spots where 
the above houses of the Brighams have been located are 
fixed by the cellar holes, which still remain unfilled. 

The house in which Ebenezer Wheeler, who came here 
from Concord, lived, is still standing. He was dismissed 



406 HISTOEY OF GEAJTON. 

from the Baptist Church in Leicester, to form a church of 
the same denomination here. The house is now used by 
Edmond F. Wheeler, a descendant, for his carriage and 
wood-house. The house in which Mr. Wlieeler now lives 
was erected in June, 1786, by Col. Jonathan Wheeler, who 
at his death was the owner of a large estate. This house, 
notwithstanding it lias been built nearly one hundred years, 
is in an excellent state of preservation. The timbers, which 
are of oak, are all perfect, and the masonry in the cellar is as 
good, if not better, than it was the day it was done. Persons 
wishing to see what was called one of the best houses in the 
country, in its day, are invited to call and examine this 
house. Nothing is more pleasing to Mr. Wheeler than to 
show visitors over the place and relate the several incidents 
and sketches connected with it, and his ancestors. He came 
in possession of the estate through his father, Gabriel F. 
Wheeler. 



Among the older houses in New England Village is the 
house now owned by Lewis Bigelow. This was buih by 
Nathan Johnson, who resided in it, and sold it to Ebcnezer 
Leland, and it was finally purchased by Mr. Bigelow. This 
house is situated on the Westborough road, near- Pine Grove 
Cemetery. 

The old Zadock Putnam house is one of the oldest. He 
came here from Salem, Mass. The house is now very much 
dilapidated, and stands unoccupied in the lower part of the 
mill-yard of the Washington Emery mill. The house can 
be seen quite plainly from the car as the Dummy passes 
through the village. 

Another old house is the Nahura Stone house, situated on 
the eminence in the rear of the Baptist Church. 

The house now owned and occupied by John Putnam, 
was built by Captain Remington, in 1806-7. 



OLD HOUSES AND BUILDINGS. 



407 



Samuel Harrington had a hotel, from about 1795 until 
his decease, Marcli 27, 1838, aged 84, on the old Grafton 
road, now Harrington street, Worcester, near the Worcester 
and Grafton line. 

The old hotel, which stood on the site of the present 
hotel in New England Village, was moved and converted 
into a dwelling-house. It now stands just below the hotel, 
on the road leading to the depot, and is owned by Mrs. 
Hartwell. The. hotel was kept about 1800, by Thomas 
Smith ; subsequently by Pardon Aldrich. This house was 
probably built by Col. Luke Drury. 




( VIEW OF GEAFTON AS IT WAS IN 1839. 



The above engraving shows the appearance of Grafton, 
as it was seen about half a mile distant, on the old Upton 
road, near the house of Mr. Frederick Waterman, in 1839. 
The spire seen on the left is that of the Congregational 
(Orthodox) Church ; tlie next is the Baptist ; that on .the 
right is the Congregational (Unitarian). The large building 
on the right, with a cupola, is the Hassanamisco House, now 
the Grafton House. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOET. 



CHAPTER TENTH. 

Contents : 

List of Moderators. — List of Selectmen. — List of Treasurers. — List of 
Assessors. — List of Representatives. — List of School Committees. — 
List of Constables. — List of Town Clerks. — List of Deputy-Slieriffs. 
— Facts and figures from the census of 1865 and 1875. 

rpHIS chapter contains the names of persons who have 
J. filled the principal town ofiices. The matter, though 
not very readable, will be interesting to the individuals and 
their friends, and valuable for reference. 

The word Selectmen in the old records is written Select- 
Men and Townsmen ; they exercised a great variety of 
powers, anything and everything, not expressly provided 
for, fell by custom at least, within their jurisdiction. To 
be a Selectman in olden times — to be regarded as one of 
the " fathers of the town," and a depositary of almost un- 
limited power, was considered no small honor. 

MODERATORS AT PROPRIETORS' MEETINGS. 



Edward Goddard, April 9, 1728 

William Rogers, June 18, 1728 

Samuel Chandler, July 9, 1728 
Zerubbablb Eager, Sept. 1, 1728 

Phinbas Rice, Nov. 5, 1728 

Phineas Rice, Nov. 19, 1728 

Zerubbable Eager, Feb. 18, 1729 

Zebubbable Eager, Mar. 18, 1729 
52 



Samuel Chandler, May 20, 1729 
Zerubbable Eager, Sept. 2, 1729 
Zerubbable Eager, Nov. i, 1729 
Samuel Chandler, Jan. 6, 1730 
Capt. Nath. Brigham, Mar. 31, 1730 
Zerubbable Eager, May 21, 1730 
Zerubbable Eager, Mar. 19, 1731 
Zerubbable Eager, May 18, 1731 



410 



HISTOKY OF GEAFTON. 



Jonathan Morse, 


June 23 


1731 


Zerubbable Eager, 


Sept. 4 


1731 


Zerubbablb Eager, 


Oct. 12 


1731 


Jonathan Morse, 


Nov. — 


1731 


Zerubbable Eager, 


Mar. 20 


1732 


Zerubbable Eager 


May 16 


1732 


Samuel Chandler, 


July 11 


1732 


James Houghton, August 22 


1732 


Phineas Rice, 


March 27 


1733 


Phinbas Rice, 


June 12 


, 1733 


Zurubbable Eager, 


Aug. 7 


1733 


Phineas Rice, 


Dec. 25 


17,S3 


Phineas Rice, 


Jan. 16 


1734 


Nehbmiah How, 


June 16 


1734 


Nbhbmiah How, 


Sept. 12 


1734 


John Sherman, 


Nov. 26 


1734 


John Sherman, 


Jan. 28 


1735 


John Sherman, 


May 21 


1735 


Jonas Houghton, 


July 10 


1735 


Jonathan Rice, 


Oct. 21 


1735 


Jonathan Rice, 


Dec. 9 


1735 


Jonathan Rice, 


Jan. 11 


1736 


Samuel Chandler, 


Feb. 24 


1736 


Jonathan Rice, 


June 11 


1736 


Jonathan Morse, 


Nov. 2 


1736 


Jonathan Morse, 


Dec. 7 


1736 


John Hunt, 


Dec. 28 


1736 


John Hunt, 


Jan. 13 


1737 


John Hunt, 


Feb. 3 


1737 


Zerubbable Eager, 


June 14 


1737 


John Sherman, 


Nov. 1 


1737 


Zerubbable Eager 


Dec. 6 


1737 


John Sherman, March 21 


1738 


John Sherman, 


May 16 


, 1738 


Richard Taylor, 


June 1 


1738 



John Sherman, Nov. 7, 

Zerubbable Eager, Nov. 7, 
Zerubbable Eager, Dec. 5 
Nathaniel Sherman, Jan. 2 
Nathaniel Sherman, Jan. 23 
Nathaniel Sherman, Feb. 21 
Thomas Pratt, July 24 

Thomas Pratt, August 7 
Thomas Pratt, Sept. 25, 

Thomas Pratt, Oct. 26 

Nathaniel Sherman, Dec. 11 
Nathaniel Sherman, Feb. 19 
Thomas 1'ratt, April 15 

Thomas Pratt, May 28 

Nathaniel Sherman, June 



Thomas Pratt, August 5 

Thomas Pratt, Oct. 31 

Charles Brigham, Dec. 1 

James Whipple, March 23 

Thomas Pratt, April 14 

Thomas Pratt, May 19 

Thomas Pratt, May 28 

Thomas Pratt, Jaly 7 

Jonathan Morse, July 

Thomas Pratt, Oct. 13, 

Joseph Willard, Dec. 30, 

Joseph Willard, Feb. 9 

Joseph Willard, March 29 

Joseph Willard, May 19 

Joseph Willard, June 15 

Joseph Willard, July 

Thomas Pratt, Oct. 5, 

Thomas Pratt, Oct. 19 

Thomas Pratt, Dec. 28, 



MODERATORS AT TOWN MEETINGS. 



, 1738 
, 1738 
, 1738 
, 1739 
, 1739 
, 1739 
, 1739 
, 1739 
, 1739 
, 1739 
,1739 
,1740 
, 1740 
, 1740 
,1740 
, 1740 
, 1740 
, 1740 
, 1741 
, 1741 
, 1741 
, 1741 
, 1741 
, 1741 
, 1741 
■, 1741 
, 1742 
, 1742 
, 1742 
, 1742 
, 1742 
, 1742 
, 1742 
, 1742 



Thomas Pratt, 1735, '36, '37. 
Samuel Cooper, 1738. 
Charles Brigham, 1739. 
Thomas Pratt, 1740. 
Capt. Joseph Willard, 1741. 
Nathaniel Sherman, 1742, '43. 
Thomas Pratt, 1744, '45, '46, '47, 
'48, '49. 
Nathaniel Sherman, 1750, '51. 



Charles Brigham, 1752, '53, '54. 

Nathaniel Sherman, 1755, '56, 
'57, '58, '59, '60, '61. 
^Rev. Solomon Prentice, 1762. 

Nathaniel Sherman, 1763, '64, 
'65, '66. 

Joseph Batchelor, 1767, '68, 
'69, '70. 

Abraham Temple, 1771. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTORY. 



411 



Joseph Batchelor, 1772. 

Nathaniel SSBRMAisr, Jr., 1773. 

John Sherman, 1774. 

Nathaniel Shbrman, Jr., 1775, 
'76, '77. 

Perley Batchelor, 1778. 

Joseph Bruce, 1779. 

Perley Batchelor, 1780, '81, 
'82. 

Dr. Timothy Darling, 1783. 

Perley Batchelor, 1784, '85, '86. 

Nathaniel Sherman, 1787, '88, 
'89, '90. 

Col. Luke Drury, 1791. 

Dr. Joseph Wood, 1792, '9.B, '94. 

Perley Batchelor, 1795, '96, '97. 

Nathaniel Adams, 1798, '99, 
1800. 

Perley Batchelor, 1801, '02. 

Samuel Adams, 1803. 

ephraim goulding, 1804. 

Joseph Wood, 1806, '06. 

David Wadsworth, 1807, '08. 

Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., 1809, 
'10, '11. 

JOSEPHUS WiLLARD, 1812. 

Samuel Adams, 1813. 

EpHHAIM GoULDlNG, 1814. 



JOSEPHUS WiLLARD, 1815. 

Ephraim GouldUstG, 1816, '17, 
'18. 

Oliver Kbtball, 1819. 

Ephraim Goulding, 1820, '21, 
'22, '23. 

Cyrus Leland, 1824, '25, '26. 

Ephraim Goulding, 1827, '28. 

Cyrus Leland, 1829, '30, '31. 

Joshua Harrington, 1832. 

Pardon Aldrich, 1833. 

Harry Wood, 1834. 

Joshua Harrington, 1835. 

Joseph Bruce, 1836, '37, '38, '39. 

Charles Brigham, Jr., 18-10. 

Joseph Bruce, 1841, '42, '43, '44. 

Charles Brigham, Jr., 1845, '46. 

Joseph Bruce, 1847, '48. 

Otis Adams, 1849, '50. 

EsEK Saunders, 1851. 

Joseph Bruce, 1852. 

Otis Adams, 1853, '54. 

Frederick Bbimblecom, 1855. 

Charles Brigham, 1856. 

Liberty Wood, 1857. 

S. Davis Hall, 1858, '59, '60, '61, 
'62, '63, '64, '65, '66, '67, '68, '69, '70, 
'71, '72, '73, '74, '75, '76, '77, '78, '79. 



SELECT-MEN. 



1728.— Nathan Brigham, Zerub- 
bable Eager, John Sherman, Phin- 
eas Rice, Samuel Stow, Jonathan 
Morse. 

1729.— Samuel Chandler, Zerub- 
bable Eager, John Hunt, Samuel 
Brigham, Jonas Houghton, Simon 
Gates. 

1730.— Zerubbable Eager, John 
Sherman, Samuel Biglo, Phineas 
Rice, Samuel Hall, Richard Taylor. 

1731. — Zerubbable Eager, Samuel 



Brigham, Samuel Chandler, Phineas 
Rice, Samuel Biglo, Eleazer 
Flagg. 

1732. — Jonas Houghton, Samuel 
Chandler, Zerubbable Eager, Rich- 
ard Taylor, Samuel Stow. 

1733. — John Sherman, Samuel 
Biglo, Zerubbable Eager, Jonathan 
Morse, Samuel Stow. 

1734. — Zerubbable -Eager, John 
Sherman, Jonathan Morse, Samuel 
Stow, David Harrington. 



412 



HISTOKT OF GEAFTOtf. 



SELECTMEN. 



1735. — James Whipple, Samuel 
Cooper, Thomas Pratt, Nehemiah 
How, Capt. Joseph Willard. 

1736.— Oliver Ward, Nathaniel 
Sherman, Charles Brigham, Thom- 
as Axtell, John Foster. 

1737. — Nathaniel Sherman, Capt. 
James Leland, John Foster, Charles 
Brigham, Simon Willard. 

1738. — Samuel Cooper, Nathaniel 
Sherman, Samuel Warrin, Phineas 
Hardy, Thomas Stow. 

1739. — Charles Brigham, Jr., 
Thomas Pratt, Thomas Stow, Is- 
rael Stevens, Samuel Warrin. 

1740.— Thomas Pratt, Captain 
Joseph Willard, Thomas Stow, 
Charles Brigham, Abner Stow. 

1741. — Phineas Hardy, Joseph 
Willard, Jonathan Hall, Samuel 
Warrin, Benjamin,CbapiD. 

1742. — Capt. Joseph Willard, 
Nathaniel Sherman, Ebenezer 
Brooks, Thomas Drnry, Charles 
Brigham. 

1743. — Samuel Cooper, Nathaniel 
Sherman, Ebenezer Brooks, Marke 
Batcheller, Samuel Warrin. 

1744.— Capt. Joseph Willard, 
Charles Brigham, Samuel Warrin, 
Joseph Merriam, James Whipple. 

1745.— Charles Brigham, Joseph 
Willard, Abner Stow, Joseph Mer- 
riam, Ephralm Sherman. 

1746. — Charles Brigham, Joseph 
Willard, Abner Stow, Joseph Mer- 
riam, Ephraim Sherman. 

1747. — Capt. Joseph Willard, 
Charles Brigham, Jonathan Hall, 
Ephraim Sherman, Israel Stevens. 

1748. — Joseph Merriam, Abner 
Stow, Capt. Joseph Willard, David 
Wadsworth, Jacob Whipple. 



1749. — Joseph Merriam, Abner 
Stow, David Wadsworth, Hezekiah 
Ward, Samuel Warrin. 

1750. — Joseph Merriam, Abner 
Stow, Samuel Warrin, Charles 
Brigham, Nathaniel Sherman. 

1751. — Joseph Merriam, Abner 
Stow, Nathaniel Sherman, Charles 
Brigham, Joseph Batcheller. 

1752. — Phineas Eice, Nathaniel 
Sherman, Charles Brigham, Joseph 
Merriam, Israel Stevens. 

1763.— Joseph Merriam, Charles 
Brigham, Abner Stow, Ebenezer 
Brooks, Nathaniel Sherman. 

1754. — Joseph Merriam, Abner 
Stow, Charles Brigham, Ebenezer 
Brooks, Ephraim Sherman. 

1755. — Ephraim Sherman, Joseph 
Batcheller, Joseph Rice, Nathaniel 
Stedman, Hezekiah Taylor. 

1756.— Ephraim Sherman, Thom- 
as Drury, Hezekiah Taylor, Andrew 
Adams, Nathaniel Stedman. 

1757. — Ephraim Sherman, Heze- 
kiah Taylor, Joseph Ejce, John 
Sherman, Benjamin Goddard. 

1758. — Joseph Merriam, James 
Whipple, Noah Brooks, Joseph 
Batcheller, Nathaniel Stedman. 

1759. — Ephraim Sherman, Joseph 
Merriam, Joseph Batcheler, Abner 
Stow, John Sherman. 

1760. — Ephraim Sherman, John 
Sherman, Israel Stevens, Hezekiah 
Taylor, Joseph Batcheller. 

1761. — Thomas Drury, John 
Sherman, Ebenezer Cutler, Noah 
Brooks, Timothy Darling. 

1762. — Joseph Batcheller, John 
Sherman, Ebenezer Cutler, Timo- 
thy Darling, James Leland, Jr. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOET. 



413 



1763. — Charles Brigham, Abra- 
ham Temple, Joseph Merriam, Sol- 
omon Stow, Silas Warrin. 

1764.— Ephraim Sherman, Joseph 
Batcheller, Joseph Merriam, John 
Gouldiiig, Noah Brooks. 

1765. — John Sherman, Ephraim 
Sherman, Simon Brooks, Timothy 
Darling, John Goulding. 

1766. — Ephraim Sherman, John 
Goulding, Simon Brooks, Joseph 
Batcheller, Timothy Darling. 

1767. — Joseph Batcheller, John 
Sherman, Timothy Darling, David 
Forbush, Joel Brooks. 

1768.— Joseph Batcheller, Eph- 
raim Sherman, Joseph Willard, Jr., 
James Leland, Noah Brooks. 

1769. -Joseph Batcheller, Eph- 
raim Sherman, David Forbush, 
Phineas Leland, Abraham Brown. 

1770.— Joseph Batcheller, Eph- 
raim Sherman, John Goulding, An- 
drew Adams, Timothy Darling. 

1771. — James Leland, John Sher- 
man, jJJTathaniel Prentice, Elisha 
Brigham, David Wadsworth. 

1 772.— Joseph Batcheller, Charles 
Brigham, John Goulding, Nathan- 
iel Prentice, James Whipple. 

1773. — Joseph Batcheller, Abra- 
ham Brown, Luke Drury, Asaph 
Sherman, Benjamin Garfield. 

1774. — Joseph Batcheller, Simon 
Brooks, John Sherman, John 
Goulding, Nathaniel Sherman, Jr. 

1775.— Joseph Batcheller, Simon 
Brooks, Hezeklah Taylor, Nathan- 
iel Sherman, Jr. . Joh n Prentice. 

1776.— Joseph Batcheller, Na- 
thaniel Sherman, Jr., David For- 
bush, Aaron Kimball, Hezeklah 
Taylor. 



1777. — Joseph Batcheller, John 
Sherman, Benjamin Goddard, Jona- 
than Stow, Asiaph Sherman. 

1778. — Benjamin Goddard, Wil- 
liam Brigham, Elisha Brigham, 
Ephraim Lyon, Perley Batcheller. 

1779.— Benjamin Goddard, Silas 
Warrin, Timothy Sherman, Andrew 
Adams, Moses Harrington. 

1780. — Jonathan Stow, Joel 
Brooks, Moses Holbrook, Elijah 
Drury, Joseph Bruce. 

1781.— Perley Batcheller, Elisha 
Brigham, John Whipple, Phineas 
Leland, Andrew Adams. 

1782. — Benjamin Goddard, Sam- 
uel Flagg, Ephraim Sherman, 
David Forbush, John Goulding. 

1783.- Perley Batcheller, Luke 
Drury, Moses Holbrook, Timothy 
Sherman, Nathaniel Adams. 

1784. — Benjamin Goddard, James 
Whipple, Joseph Whipple, Joseph 
Warrin, Shelomith Stow. 

1785.— Perley Batcheller, Timo- 
thy Sherman, Zebadee Redding, 
Joseph Wood, William Brigham. 

1786.— Benja. Walker, Thomas 
Bicknell, Thaddeus Read, Moses 
Hayden, Nahum Stone. 

1787. — Benjamin Goddard, Na- 
thaniel Sherman, Joseph Wood, 
Jonathan Wheeler, Ebenezer Wads- 
worth. 

1788. — Joseph Wood, Nathaniel 
Sherman, Ebenezer Wadsworth, 
Benjamin Walker, Thomas Bick- 
nell. 

1789. — Benja. Goddard, Joseph 
Wood, Luke Drury, Eleazer Le- 
land, Noah B. Kimball. 

1790.— Perley Batcheller, Na- 
thaniel Sherman, Joseph Wood, 



414 



HI8TOET OF GEAFTON. 



Phineas Leland, Ephraim Sherman. 

1791. — Joseph Wood, David 
Wadsworth, Luke Drury, Benjamin 
Wallier, Eleazer Lelanrl. 

1792.— Joseph Wood, Ebenezer 
Wadsworth, Nahum Stone, Benja- 
min Goddard, Benjamin Walker. 

1793. — Joseph Wood, David 
Wadsworth, Nahum Stone, Eleazer 
Leland, Noah B. Kimball. 

1794. — Joseph Wood, David 
Wadsworth, Nahum Stone, Eleazer 
Leland, David W. Leland. 

1795.— Perley Batcheller, Nahum 
Stone, Moses Hayden, Phineas Le- 
land, Jonathan Warren. 

1796. — Perley Batcheller, Phineas 
Leland, John Whipple, Andrew 
Adams, Moses Adams. 

1797. — Perley Batcheller, Andrew 
Adams, William Brigham, Daniel 
Hayden, Elijah Brooks. 

1798.— Col. Luke Drury, Nathan- 
iel Adams, Timothy Sherman, Eli- 
jah Brooks, Moses Adams. 

1799. — Nathaniel Adams, Col. 
Luke Drury, Perley Batcheller, 
Phineas Leland, James Wheeler. 

1800.— Nathaniel Adams, Col. 
Luke Drury, Perley Batchc41er, 
Phineas Leland, James Wheeler. 

1801. — Perley Batcheller, Samuel 
Adams, Nahum Stone, Samuel 
Flagg, Ephraim Goulding. 

1802.— Perley Batcheller, Samuel 
Adams, Nahum Stone, Moses Har- 
rington, Ezekiel Brigham. 

1803. — Samuel Adams, Nahum 
Stone, David Wadsworth, Samuel 
Wood, Royal Keith. 

1804. — Nahum Stone, David 
Wadsworth, Samuel Adams, Eph- 
raim Goulding, Jonathan Wheeler, 
Jr. 



1805.— David Wadsworth, Sam- 
uel Elagg, Noah B. Kimball, Sam- 
uel Wood, Eleazer Leland. 

1806.— David Wadsworth, Noah 
B. Kimball, Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., 
Joshua Harrington, Aaron Kim- 
ball. 

1807. — David Wadsworth, Jona- 
than Wheeler, Jr., Samuel Adams, 
Aaron Kimball, Joshua Harring- 
ton. 

1808.— David Wadsworth, Ebene- 
zer Wadsworth, William Lamb, 
Joshua Harrington, Silas Forbush. 

1809. — William Lamb, Jonathan 
Wheeler, Jr., Elijah Brooks, Joshua 
Harrington, Josephus Willard. 

1810.— Jonathan Wheeler, Elijah 
Brooks, Josephus Willard, Perley 
Goddard, Pardon Aldrich. 

1811.— Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., 
Elijah Brooks, Josephus Willard, 
Perley Goddard, Pardon Aldrich. 

1812. — Joshua Harrington, Jose- 
phus Willard, Perley Goddard, 
Aaron Kimball, Moses Sherman. 

1813. — Jonathan Wheeler, Samuel 
Adams, Phineas Leland, Ephraim 
Goulding, Royal Keith. 

1814.— Phineas Leland, Ephraim 
Goulding, Royal Keith, Jonathan 
Wadsworth, Perley Whipple. 

1815.— Pardon Aldrich, Phineas 
Leland, Ephraim Goulding, Royal 
Keith, Oliver Kimball. 

1816,— Pardon Aldrich, Phineas 
Leland, Royal Keith, Oliver Kim- 
ball, Cyrus Leland. 

1817.— Oliver Kimball, Josephus 
Willard, Royal Keith, Joseph Mer- 
riam, Albert Stone. 

1818.— Royal Keith, Nathaniel 
Adams, Pardon Aldrich, Joseph 
Merrlam, Jonathan Wadsworth. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HI8T0ET. 



415 



1819.— Oliver Kimball, Pardon 
Aldrich, Peter Farnum, Perley God- 
dard, Albert Stone. 

1820.— Royal Keith, Pardon Aid- 
rich, Perley Goddard, Peter Par- 
num, Charles Brigham. 

1821. — Ephraim Goulding, JoSe- 
phus Willard, Silas Forbush, Clark 
Brown, George Putnam. 

1822.— Josephus Willard (de- 
clined). Col. Cyrus Leland, Clark 
Brown, Capt. Charles Leland, 
Isaac W. Wood, Charles Prentice. 

1823. — Col. Cyrus Leland, Isaac 
W. Wood, Charles Prentice, Albert 
Stone, Perley Goddard. 

1824. — Cyrus Leland, Isaac W. 
Wood, Paul Farnum, Albert Stone, 
Moses Roberts. 

1825.— Cyrus Leland, Isaac W. 
Wood, Moses Roberts, John Batch- 
eller, Joshua W. Leland. 

1826.— Peter Farnum, Perley 
Goddard, Elijah Brooks, Moses 
Adams, Charles Cleveland. 

1827— Peter Farnum, Perley 
Goddard, Elijah Brooks, Moses 
Adams, Pardon Aldrich. 

1828.— Peter Farnum, Perley 
Goddard, Elijah Brooks, Moses 
Adams, Joseph Adams. 

1829— Samuel Wood, Harry 
Wood, Joseph Adams, Joshua W. 
Leland jt Joseph Bruce. 

1830.— Harry Wood, Joshua W. 
Leland, Joseph Bruce, Moses 
Roberts. 

1831.— Samuel Wood, Cyrus Le- 
land, Joseph Bruce, Moses Roberts, 
Moses H. Adams. 

1832.— Samuel Wood, Joseph 
Bruce, Moses H. Adams, Luke 
Lelaud, Peter Farnum, Jr. 



1833.— Samuel Wood, Luke Le- 
land, Moses H. Adams, Thaddeus 
Read, Joshua Harrington, and Joel 
Forbush in his place. 

1834.— Samuel Wood, Luke Le- 
land, Joel Forbush, Jonathan War- 
ren, Charles Aldrich. 

1835. — Pardon Aldrich, Jonathan 
Warren, Charles Aldrich, Nathan 
Hancock, Oliver M. Brigham. 

1836.— Oliver M. Brigham, Na- 
than Hancock, Chandler M. Pratt, 
Joseph Adams, Luther Wright. 

1837.— Oliver M. Brigham, 
Charles Brigham, Jr., Joseph 
Adams, Luther Wright, Silas For- 
bush, Jr. 

1838.— Charles Brigham, Jr., 
Joseph Adams, Silas Forbush, Jr., 
Benjamin Kingsbury, Elijah Kim- 
ball. 

1839. — Benjamin Kingsbury, Eli- 
jah Kimball, Joseph Batcheller, 
Liberty Wood, Noah Kimball. 

1840.— Liberty Wood, Silas For- 
bush, Jr., Esek Saunders, Leonard 
Wheelock, Jonathan Warren. 

1841. — Benjamin Kingsbury, Luke 
Leland, Levi W. Leland, Joseph 
Kimball, Samuel W. Putnam. 

1842,1 — Benjamin Kingsbury.Luke 
Leland, Levi W. Leland, Joseph 
Kimball, Samuel W. Putnam. 

1843. —Noah Kimball, Lavpson 
Munyan, Levpis Holbrook, Samuel 
Houghton, Willard S. Wood. 

1844.— Leonard Wheelock, Sam- 
uel Houghton, LevFis Holbrook, 
Charles Aldrich, Eufus E. Warren. 

1845. — Lewis Holbrook, Leonard 
Wheelock, Samuel Houghton, 
Charles Aldrich, Rufus E. Warren. 

1846.— Luke Leland, Charles God- 



416 



HISTOET OF GKAFTON. 



dard, Esek Saunders, Philip Wing, 
Asa F. Smitli. 

1847. — Esek Saunders, Asa F. 
Smith: John W. Slocomb, Luther 
Wright, Abraham M. Bigelow. 

1848.— Esek Saunders, Asa F. 
Smith, John W. Slocomb, Luther 
Wright, Abraham M. Bigelow. 

1849. — Abraham M. Bigelow, 
Joseph Batcheller, John Waterman, 
Jonathan W. Stow, Gilbert C. Taft. 

1850. — Abraham M. Bigelow, 
Joseph Batcheller, Jonathan W. 
Stow, John Whitney, Jefferson 
Bellows. 

1851.— Fred'k Waterman, Lewis 
Holbrook, Samuel B. Dolliver, 
Samuel F. Redding, Erastus Fisher. 

1852. — Fred'k Waterman, Erastus 
Fisher, Charles Goddard, Charles 
Prentice, Benjamin W. Fay. 

1853.— Benjamin W. Fay, Charles 
Prentice, Stephen R. White, Au- 
gustus Slocomb, H. D. P. Bigelow. 

1854.— Benjamin W. Fay, Charles 
Prentice, Stephen R. White, Augus- 
tus Slocomb, H. D. P. Bigelow. 

1856. — Leander G. Pratt, Barna- 
bas Newton, Calvin Wesson, Cal- 
vin Clisbee, Calvin S. Thurston. 

1856. — Leander S. Pratt, Luke F. 
Allen, Levi N. Leland, T. A. Buf- 
tam, Rufus L. Witherby. 

1857.— Luke F. Allen, Rodney 
Leland, George F. Slocomb, Horace 
Batcheller, S. E. Goulding. 

1858. — Rodney Leland, George F. 
Slocomb, Horace Batcheller, S. E. 
Goulding. Silas A. Forbush. 

1859.— Horace Batcheller, Silas 
A. Forbush, Gyrus D. Aldrich, 
Samuel C. Flagg. 

I860.— Horace Batcheller, Elijah 



B. Brooks, Jonathan D. Wheeler, 
Horace S. Warren, George W. 
Estabrook. 

1861.— Jonathan D. Wheeler, 
Horace S. Warren, George W. 
Estabrook, John McClellan, Ashley 
W. Rice. 

1862.— Jonathan D. Wheeler, 
John McClellan, Ashley W. Rice, 
Joseph B. Adams, Cyrus D. Aid- 
rich. 

1863.— John McClellan, Joseph 

B. Adams, Lowell White, Jasper 
S. Nelson, John B. White. 

1864. — Joseph B. Adams, Jasper 
S. Nelson, William F. Slocuin, 
George F. Slocomb, George K. 
Nichols. 

1865.— William F. Slocum, Geo. 
F. Slocomb, George K. Nichols, 
Silas E. Stowe. 

18G6.— William F. Slocum, Geo. 
K. Nichols, Silas E. Stowe, S. A. 
Kuowles, C. W. Stratton. 

1867.— Silas E. Stowe, Charles 

C. Wood, Charles Fowler. 

1868.— Charles C. Wood, Charles 
Fowler, H. C. Greenwood, Willard 

D. Wheeler, S. B. Dolliver. 

1869.— Willard D. Wheeler, 
Charles Fowler, H. C. Greenwood, 
Henry F. Wing, George H. Rugg. 

1870.— Henry F. Wing, George 
W. Rugg, Joseph Adams, C. C. 
Willis, Warren L. Munyan. 

1871.— Warren L. Munyan, 
Joseph Adams, Aaron Elliott, J. 
W. McKenzie, C. C. Willis. 

1872.— Abraham M. Bigelow, J. 
W. McKenzie, Aaron Elliott, J. 
Henry Wood, G. F. Jourdan. 

1873.— G. F. Jourdan, J. Henry 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOEY. 



417 



■Wood, FrankliQ Baldwin, J. J. 
Powers. 

1874.— Franklin Baldwin, J. J. 
Power-s, Silas Vinton, Reuben Taft, 



1875.— HoraceBatclieller,Thomas 
T. Griggs, Silas Vinton, A. 0. 
Sliattuck, Jeremiah Kobinson. 

1876.— George F. Slocomb, S. 
Davis Hall, L. S. Davis, S. H. 
Knowlton, Horace S. Warren. 

TREASUKEES 



1877.— Alden M. Bigelow, Joseph 
K. Axtell, George W. Fisher, David 
L. Fiske, S. H. Knowlton. 

1878.— Alden M. Bigelow, George 
W. Fisher, David L. Fiske, William 
T. Barker, Edward A. Estabrook. 



1879.— Samuel C. Flagg, James 
G. Putnam, William T. Barker, A. 
G. Kempton, John P. Crosby. 



Capt. James Leland, 1735. 

Samuel Cooper, 1736, '37, '38. 

Jonathan Hall, 1739, '40, '41, '42, 
'43, '44, '45, '46, '47. 

Abner Stow, 1748. 

Ebenezer Brooks, 1749, '50, '51, 
'52, '53, '54. 

Joseph Rice, 1755, '56, '57, '58, 
'59, '60. 

Joseph Merriam, 1761, '62, '63, 
'64, '65, *66, '67, '68, '69, '70, '71, '72, 
'73, '74, '75, '76, '77. 

Joseph Merriam, Jr., 1778, '79, 
'80, '81, '82, '83, '84, '85, '86, '87. 

Joseph Whipple, 1788, '89, '90, 
'91, '92, '93, '94. 

Nathaniel Adams, 1795, '96, '97, 
'98, '99, 1800, '01, '02, '03, '04. 

Joseph Whipple, 1805, '06, '07, 
'08. 

John Warren, 1809, '10, '11, '12, 
'13. 



Joseph Goddard, 1814. 

ASSESSORS 
1736.— Jonathan Hall, Isaac Bar- 
nard, Phitieus Hardy. 

1737. — Nehemiah How, Jonathan 
Hall, John Foster. 

1738.— Jonathan Hall, Phineas 
Hardy, Samuel Warrin. 
53 



John Warren, 1815. 

John Bateheller, 1816, '17, '18. 

Cyrus Leland, 1819. 

Samuel Wood, 1820, '21, '22, '23, 
'24, '25, '26, '27. 

Jonathan Wheeler, 1828, '29, '30, 
'31, '32, '33. 

Jonathan Whipple, 1834. 

Isaac W. Wood, 1835, '36, '37, 
'38. 

Liberty Wood, 1839, '40. 

Jonathan Warren, 1841, '42, '43, 
■44, '45, -46, '47, '48, '49, '50, '51, '52. 

H. D. P. Bigelow, 1853, '54. 

Augustus Slocomb, 1855, '56, '57. 

Rufus E. Warren, 1858, '59, '60, 
'61. 

Horace S. Warren, 1862, '63. 

George F. Slocomb, 1864, '65. 

Rufus E. Warren, 1866, '07, '68, 
'69, '70, '71, '72, '73, '74, '75, '76, '77, 
'78, '79. 



1739.— Phineas Hardy, Jonathan 
Hall, Samuel Warrin. 

1740.— Phineas Hardy, Jonathan 
Hall, Samuel Warrin. 

1741. — Abner Stow, Phineas 
Hardy, Benjamin Goddard. 



418 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 



1742. — Benjamin Goddai'd, John 
Tery, San)uel VVairiii. 

1743.— Phineas Hardy, Sanuiol 
Warrin, Abiiei- Stow. 

1744. — Phineas Hardy, Abaer 
Stow, Samuel Warrin. 

1745. — Samuel Warriu, Abuer 
Stow, David Wadsworth. 

1746. — Samuel Warrin, Abner 
Stow, David Wadsworth. 

1747.— Samuel Warrin, David 
Wad.sworth, Abner Stow. 

1748.— Abner Stow, David Wads- 
worth, Charles Brigham. 

1749. — David Wadsworth, Abner 
Stow, Samuel Warrin. 

1750.— Abner Stow, Charles Brig- 
ham, Samuel Warrin. 

1751. — Abner Stow, Samuel War- 
rin, Benjamin Willard. 

1752. — Phineas Rice, Benjamin 
Willard, Nathaniel Sherman. 

1753.— Benjamin Willard, Phin- 
eas Rice, Nathaniel Sherman. 

1754. — Samuel Warrin, Hezekiah 
Taylor, Joseph Batcheller. 

1755. — Benjamin Willard, David 
Harrington, Nathaniel Ball. 

1756. — Samuel Warriu, John 
Goulding, Charles Brigham. 

1757. — Nathan'l Stedraan, Joseph 
Merriam, Hezekiah Taylor. 

1758. — Benjamin Willard, Abner 
Stow, Hezekiah Taylor. 

1759.— John Goulding, David 
Forbush, Hezekiah Taylor. 

1760. — John Goulding, Benjamin 
Willard, Hezekiah Taylor. 

1761. — Abner Stowc, Samuel War- 
rin, Benjamin Willard. 

1762.— Hezekiah Taylor, Samuel 
Warrin, Abner Stow. 



17G3. — Joseph Merriam, Charles 
Brijjham, Abner Stow. 

1764. — Jolm Goulding, Tiuiotliy 
Darlinff, Josepli Batcheller. 

1765. — lohn Goulding-, Simon 
Brooks, Jo.siph Batcheller. 

17(16. — John Goulding, Simon 
Brooks, Joseph Batcheller. 

1767.— Joseph Batcheller, Samuel 
Warrin, Simon Brooks. 

1768.— Charles Brigham, John 
Goulding, John Prentice. 

1769. — John Goulding, Nathaniel 
Prentice, Charles Brigham. 

1770.^John Prentice, Hezekiah 
Taylor, Abraham Brown. 

1771.— The Selectmen. 

1772.— [None]. 

1773. — John Prentice, Joseph 
Merriam, Simon Brooks. 

1774. — John Prentice, Joseph 
Merriam, Benjamin Goddard. 

1775.— [None]. 

1776.-^Joseph Merriam, Jr., Ben- 
jamin Goddard, Jonathan Stow. 

1777.— Benjamin Goddard, Eph- 
raim Lyon, William Brigham. 

1778.— Joseph Merriam, Jr., Ben- 
jamin Garfield, Jonathan Stow. 

1779.— Joseph Merriam, Jr., Dr. 
Joseph Wood, Jonathan Stow. 

1780.— Benjamin Goddard, Wil- 
liam Brigham, Thomas Uicknell. 

1781.— John Thurston, Joseph 
Merriam, Jr., Nathaniel Ward. 

1782.— Timothy Sherman, Joseph 
Whipple, Nathaniel Ward. 

1783.— Jonathan Stow, Benjamin 
Goddard, Timothy Sherman. 

1784.— Jonathan Stow, Timothy 
Sherman, Thomas Bickuell. ' - 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTORY. 



419 



1785.— Jonathan Stow, Timothy 
Sherman, Thomas Bicknell. 

1786.— Benjamin Walker, Thomas 
Bicknell, Thaddeas Read. 

1787. — David Wadsworth, Joseph 
Wood, Ephraim Lyon. 

1788.— David Wadsvvorth, Benja- 
min Walker, Jonatliau Wheeler. 

1789. — Jonathan Stovif, Thomas 
Bicknell, William Brigham. 

1790.— David Wads worth, Joseph 
Wood, Joseph Whipple. 

1791. — .Toseph Wood, David 
Wadsworth, John Whipple. 

1792.— David Wadsworth; Joseph 
Wood, Benjamin Guddard. 

1793. — David Wadsworth, Joseph 
Wood, Benjamin Goddard. 

179+.— Col. Luke Drury, Joseph 
Merriam, Jr., Timothy Slierman. 

1795. — Col. Luke Drury, Joseph 
Merriam, Jr., Timothy Sherman. 

1796. — Col. Luke Drury, Joseph 
Merriam, Jr., Timothy Sherman. 

1797. — Benja. Goddard, Joseph 
Wood, Thaddeus Read. 

1798.— Joseph Wood, Thaddeus 
Read, Joseph Merriam. 

1799.— Thaddeus Read, Andrew 
Adams, Benjamin Goddard. 

1800.— Thaddeus Read, Benjamin 
Goddard, Nahum Stone. 

1801.— Thaddeus Read, Benjamin 
Goddard, John Warron. 

1802.— Thaddeus Read, Ephraim 
Goulding, Jonathan Wheeler, Jr. 

1803. — Jonas Brown, Josephus 
Willard, Joseph Merriam, Jr. 

1804. — Thaddeus Read, Jonas 
Brown, Josephus Willard. 

180S.— Jonas Brown, Josephus 
Willard, Joshua Harrington. 



1806.— Josephus Willard, Jonas 
Brown, John Warren. 

1807. —Joseph Willard, John 
Warren, Oliver Kimball. 

1808.— John Putnam, Oliver Kim- 
ball, Albert Stone. 

1809.— Oliver Kimball, Albert 
Stone, John Putnam. 

1810.— Oliver Kimball, Albert 
Stone, John Warren. 

1811.— Oliver Kimball. Albert 
Stone, Joseph Merriam, Jr. 

1812. — Joseph Merriam, Jr., 
Thaddeus Read, Levi Goddard. 

1813. — Joseph Merriam, Jr., 
Thaddeus Read, Stephen Holbrook. 

1814. —Joseph Merriam, Jr., 
Thaddeus Read, Charles Brigham. 

1815.— Joseph Merriam, Jr., Al- 
bert Stone, Cyrus Wadsworth. 

1816.— Thaddeus Read, Cyrus 
Wadsworth, Joshua W. Leland. 

1817.— Joshua W. Leland. Nath- 
aniel Adams, Jr., Charles Prentice. 

1818.— Joshua W. Leland, Nath- 
aniel Adams, Charles Prentice. 

1819. — Josephus Willard, Amasa 
Roberts, David Sherman, Jr. 

1820. — Amasa Roberts, Nathaniel 
Adams, Jr., Paul Farnum. 

1821.— Albert Stone, Charles 
Prentice, Joseph Bruce. 

1822.- Albert Stone, Joseph 
Bruce, Charles Prentice. 

1823.— Moses Roberts, Paul Far- 
num, Thaddeus Read, Jr. 

1824. — Amasa Roberts, Harry 
Wood, Jonathan Wheeler. 

1825.— Josepi) Bruce, Thaddeus 
Read, Austin Holbrook. 

1826.— Austin Holbrook, Luke 
Leland, Oliver M. Brigham. 



420 



HISTOKT OF GEAFTON. 



1827.— Isaac W. Wood, Harry 
Wood, Philip Wing. 

1828.— Harry Wood, Cyros Le- 
land, Isaac W. Wood. 

1829.— Cyi'us Lelaiid, Moses 
Roberts, Thaddeus Read. 

1830.— Cyrus Leland, Austin Hoi- 
brook, Lulie Leland. 

1831.— Cyrus Leland, Harry 
Wood, Isaac W. Wood. 

1832.— Isaac W. Wood, Chandler 
M. Pratt, Charles Goddard. 

1833.— Isaac W. Wood, Chandler 
M. Pratt, Charles Brijjham, Jr. 

1834.— Isaac W. Wood, Nathan 
Hancock, Oliver M. Brigliani. 

1835. — Joseph Bruce, Philip 
Wing, Austin Holbrook. 

1836.— Austin Holbrook, Philip 
Wing, Luke Leland. 

1837.— Luke Leland, Chandler M. 
Pratt, Benjamin Kingsbury. 

1838. — Luke Leland, Benjamin 
Kingsbury, Philip Wing. 

1839.— Philip Wing, Lewis Hol- 
brook, Samuel Houghton. 

1840.— Philip Wing, Charles 
Brigham, Jr., Chandler M. Pratt. 

1841.— Philip Wing, Charles 
Brigham, Jr., Chandler M. Pratt. 

1842. — Chandler M. Pratt, Lewis 
Holbrook, Samuel Harrington. 

1843.— Philip Wing, Joseph 
Batcheller, Oliver M. Brigham. 

1844. — Charles Brigham, Jr., 
Samuel Houghton, Bev. Otis Con 
verse. 

1845. — Charles Prentice, Lewis 
Holbrook, Isaac S. Harrington. 

1846.— Charles Prentice,Chandler 
M. Pratt, Oliver M. Brigham. 



1847.— Charles Prentice, Oliver 
M. Brigham, Samuel Wood. 

1848.— Samuel Wood, Charles 
Prentice, William Rice. 

1849.— Oliver M. Brigham, 
Charles Prentice, Samuel Wood. 

1850. — Samuel Wood, Charles 
Prentice, William Rice. 

1851. — Chai-les Prentice, Samuel 
Harrington, Benjamin Kingsbury. 

1852. — Charles Prentice, Luke 
Leland, Oliver M. Brigham. 

1853.— Charles Brigham, Lewis 
Holbrook, John B. White. 

1854.— Charles Brigham, John B. 
White, Benjamin Kingsbury. 

18.55. — Benjamin Kingsbury, B. 
D. Wingate, T. A. Buflum. 

1856.— Nathan Hancock, Gilbert 
C. Tan, J. H. Wood. 

1857.— Gilbert C. Taft, J. H. 
Wood, S. B. Dolliver. 

1858.— Gilbert C. Taft, William 
R. Wheelock, J. H. Wood. 

1859.— J. H. Wood, John Mc- 
Clellan, D. B. Wingate. 

I860.— J. H. Wood, John Mc- 
Clellan, Robert Morey. 

1861.— J. H.Wood, Robert Morey, 
Lawson Munyan. 

1862. — Robert Morey, Lawson 
Munyan, Winthrop Faulkner. 

1863.— Samuel Harrington, Gil- 
bert C. Taft, Chandler M. Pratt. 

1864.— Gilbert C. Taft, Chandler 
M. Pratt, S. Davis Hall. 

1865.— Gilbert C. Taft, S. Davis 
Hall, William T. Barker. 

1866.— Gilbert C. Taft, S. Davis 
Hall, William T. Barker. 

1867.— Warren L. Munyan, Wil- 
liam T. Barker, Gilbert C. Taft. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTORY. 



421 



1868.— Gilbert C. Taft, Warren 
L. Munyan, S. A. Knowles. 

1869.— Gilbert C. Taft, J. H. 
Wood, Jesse H. Smith. 

1870.— Gilbert C. Taft, Ashley 
W. Kice, S. D. Hall. 

1871.— Gilbert C. Taft, S. Davis 
Hall, Adin B. Davis. 

1872.— Gilbert C. Taft, Barnabas 
Newton, Ashley W. Rice. 

1873.— Gilbert C. Taft, Barnabas 
Newton, S. A. Knowles. 



1874.— Gilbert C. Taft, Barnabas 
Newton, S. A. Knowles. 

1875. — Barnabas Newton, S. A. 
Knowles, George W. Fisher. 

1876.— Gilbert C. Taft, Ashley 
W. Rice, Barnabas Newton. 

1877.— Gilbert C. Taft, Ashley 
W. Rice, Barnabas Newton. 

1878. — Barnabas Newton, Ashley 
W. Rice, Gilbert C. Taft. 

1879.— Gilbert C. Taft, Barnabas 
Newton, Ashley W. Rice. 



REPRESENTATIVES. 



None chosen from 


1735 to 1755 


Dr. William Lamb, 


1809, 1810 


Ephraiin Sherman, 


1756 


Joshua Harrington, 


1811, 1812 


None chosen from 


1758 to 1765 


None chosen in 


1813 


Ephraim Sherman, 


1766, 1767 


Jonatlian Wheeler, 


1814 


None chosen in 


1768 


None chosen from 


1815 to 1819 


Ephraim Sherman, 


1769, 1770 


Voted not to send from 1820 to 1822 


None chosen from 


1771 to 1773 


Cyrus Leland, 


1823 


John Sherman, 


1774 


Voted not to send, 


1824 


Dea. Joseph Batcheller, 


Cyrus Leland, 


1825 




1775 to 1777 


Voted not to send. 


1826 


Capt. Nathaniel Sherman, 1778 


Harry Wood, 


1827 


Joseph Batcheller, 


1779 


Jonathan Wheeler, 


1828 


None chosen in 


1780 


Harry Wood, : 
Samuel Wood, : 


1829 


Capt. Ephraim Lyon, 


1781 




None chosen in 


1782 


Samuel Wood, 


1830 


Dr. Joseph Wood, 


1783 


Harry Wood, ', 
Samuel Wood, ' 


1831 


Capt. Nathaniel Sherman, 




1784, 1785 


Samuel Wood, j 




Dr. Joseph Wood, 


1786 


Joshua Harrington, > 


1832 


Col. Luke Drury, from 1787 to 1789 


Joshua W. Leland, J 




Dr. Joseph Wood, 


1790 


Samuel Wood, 


1833 


Col. Luke Drury, from 1791 to 1793 


Samuel Wood, •\ 




Joseph Wood, Esq., 


1794 


Thaddeus Read, i 


1834 


William Brigham, 


1795 


Luke Leland, ) 




None chosen in 


1796 


Royal Keith, 


1835 


Joseph Wood, Esq., 


1797 


Oliver M. Brigham, 


1836 


Nathaniel Adams, from 1798 to 1801 


Oliver M. Brigham, 1 
Samuel Wood, / 


1837 


None chosen in 


1802 


Joseph Wood, from 


1803 to 1806 


Joseph Bruce, ' 
Noah Kimball, j" 


1838 


Eleazer Leland, 


1807 


Joseph Wood, 


1808 


No choice in 


1839 



422 



HISTOEY OP GRAFTON-. 



Albert Stone, 


1840 


1841 


Rev. Otis Converse, 


1842 


1843 


Jonathan Warren, 




1844 


Esek Sannders, 


1845 


184G 


Joseph Bruce, 




1847 


No choice in 




1848 


John Whitney, 




1849 


Dr. Levi Rawson, 




1850 


Abraham M. Bigelow, 




1851 


Charles Goddard, 




1852 


Benjamin Kingsbury, 




1853 


Samuel C. Flagg, 




1854 


Chandler M. fratt, 




1S55 


Luke F. Allen, 




1850 


Rufus E. Warren, 




1857 


Gilbert C. Taft, 




1858 


Charles Brigham, 




183'l 


William F. Slocomb, 




i8(;o 



Seth J. Axtell, 

Rev. William G. Scandlin, 

Joseph M. Rockvvood, 

Stephen R. White, 

S. Davis Hall, 

John McClellau, 

J. H. Wood, 

George IC. Nichols, 

Thomas Rice, 

Jasper S. Nelson, 

George F. Slocomb, 

George H. Harlow, 

Charles L. Pratt, 

Dr. Thomas T. Griggs, 

Col. John F. Siarle, 

Henry B. Osgood, 

Rev. Lucius >1. Sargi-nt, 

Krancis E. Fowler, 



1861 
1862 
1803 
1864 
1865 
1866 
1867 
1868 
1869 
1870 
1871 
1872 
1873 
1874 
1875 
IS'6 
1X77 
ls78 



SCHOOL COMMIT TEES. 



1737.— Nathnniel Sherman, Capt. 
James Leland, John Foster, Charles 
Brigham, Simeon Willard. 

1738. — James Whipple, John 
Foster, Samuel Cooper, Nehemiah 
How, Thomas Drury. 

1739. — Capt. James Leland, Capt. 
Joseph Willard, Nehemiah How, 
Caleb Benjamin, Nathauiel Sher- 
man. 

1740.— The Selectmen. 

1741.— Thomas Pratt, Phineas 
Hardy, Nathaniel Sherman, Samuel 
Warren, Israel Stevens. 

1742.— The Selectmen. 

1743.— The Selectmen. 

1744. — Ebenezer Cutler, Charles 
Brigham, Eleazer Fletcher, Phineas 
Hardy, Nathaniel Sherman. 

1745. — Capt. Jas. Leland, Joseph 
Axtell, Dea. Merriam, John Sher- 
man, Joseph Rice. 

1746. — Israel Stevens, Aaron 
Hardy, Jacob Whipple, John Sher- 
man, Ebenezer Wadsworth. 



1717. — Joscpli Kice. Joseph Ax- 
tell, Ephraim Shi^rman, Ik'iijauiin 
Chapin. 

1748.— John Shrrman, Eljinezer 
Wadsworth, Joseph Rice, Charles 
Brigham. 

1749.— Nathanii'l Shermini, John 
Holbrook, Israel Stevens, James 
Moore, Abraham Temple. 

1750. — Nathaniel Sherman, Israel 
Stevens, Ephraim Shermau, Abra- 
ham Temple, Charles Brigham. 

1751. — Joseph Merriam, Nathan- 
iel Sherman, Ebenezer Cutler, John 
Sherman, Benjamin Leland. 

1752.— Mark Batcheller, Obadiah 
Newton, Ephraim Sherman, Solo- 
mon Stow, Charles Brigham. 

1753.— Israel Stevens, Joseph 
Whipple, Samuel Cooper, John 
Maynard, Benjamin Leland. 

1754.— Benjamin Winchester, 
Jacob Whipple, Isaac Harrington, 
John Sherman, Nathaniel Steed- 
meen. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOET. 



423 



1755.— James Leland, Silas War- 
rin, Ephraim Slienniin, Charles 
Biisham, Aaron Hardy, Nathaniel 
Sherman, Hezeliiah Taylor. 

1756. — Joseph Merriam, Jacob 
Wliipple, Ebenezer Cutler, Heze- 
kiah Taylor, John Sherman. 

1757.— Benjamin Winchester, 
David Forbush, Phineas Leland, 
Joseph Rice, Ezekiel Brigham. 

1758. — John Goulding, Jacob 
Stevens, Ephraim Sherman, Capt. 
Thomas Drury, Joseph Whipple. 

1759. — Aaron Brigham, Silas 
Warrin, Nathaniel Sherman, Na- 
thaniel Cooper, Phineas Leland. 

1760.— Joseph Willard, Jr., 
Joseph Merriam, Nathaniel Sher- 
man, Ephraim Sherman, Ezekiel 
Brigham. 

1761. — Nathaniel Sherman, John 
Goulding, Benjamin Thurston, 
Phineas Leland, Aaron Brigham. 

1762. — Abraham Temple, Jacob 
Whipple, Hezekiah Taylor, Simon 
Brooks, Solomon Stow. 

1763.— Hezekiah Ward, Ephraim 
Sherman, Hezekiah Taylor, John 
Sherman, Aaron Kimball.. 

1764.— [None chosen]. 

1765.- Silas Warrin, Phineas 
Eice, Samuel Warrin. 

1766.- Simon Brooks, Mark 
Batcheller, Peter Fiske, Moses 
Harrington, Capt. John Goulding. 

1767.- Joseph Winchester, Chas. 
Brigham, Esq., Jacob Whipple, 
Nathaniel S. Prentice, Silas War- 
rin. 

1768.- Andrew Adams, Ebenezer 
Sadler, John JIayuard, John Gould- 
ing, David Forbush. 



1769.- Sith Miller, Luke Drury, 
Nathaniel Sherman, Jr., Ephraim 
Sherman, Ebenezer Cutler. 

1770. — Asaph Sherman, Silas 
Warrin, Simon Brooks, Joseph 
Winchester, Samnel Warren, Jr. 

1771. — The Selectmen. 

1772. — Nathaniel Sherman, Jr., 
Benjamin Rockwood, Ephraim 
Sherman, Joseph Willard, Jr., 
Lieut. Pliineas Leland. 

1773. — David Grout, Elisha Brig- 
ham, Silas Warrin, Ephraim Sher- 
man, Asaph Sherman. 

1774. — John Goulding, John 
Thurston, Simon Brooks, Nathan- 
iel Sherman, Timothy Sherman. 

1775. — Aaron Kimball, Elisha 
Brigham, Jonathan Stow, Moses 
Harrington, Ebenezer Sadler. 

1776. — James Whipple, Samuel 
Warrin, James Leland, Daniel 
Grout, Moses Hayden. 

1777. — Jonathan Stow, Benjamin 
Goddard, John Sherman, Deacon 
Joseph Batcheller, Asaph Sherman. 

1778.— John Whipple, Daniel 
Hayden, Nahum Stone, Lieut. 
Joseph Bruce, Solo. Brooks. 

1779.- Capt. Ephraim Lyon, Capt. 
Luke Drury, Amos Davis, Nathan- 
iel Batcheller, Joseph Perry. 

1780.— Phil. Stacey, Joseph Whip- 
ple, Phineas Leland, John Thurston, 
Amos Gale. 

1781.— Capt. Joseph Warren, 
Noah E. Kimball, Benjamin Gar- 
field, Col. John Goulding, Lieut. 
Moses Hayden. 

1782.— Timothy Merriam, Stephen 
Allen, Col. John Goulding, 
Jonathan Whipple, William Brig- 
ham. 



424 



HISTOBT OF GEAFTON. 



1783.— Thomiis Bicknell, Benja- 
min Goddarrl, Jonathan Whet-lef, 
Benjamin GarfielJ, Joseph Mer- 
riani, Jr. 

1784.— John Whipple, Elisha 
Brigliani, Perley Batchellei', Aaron 
Kimball, Shelomith Stow. 

1785. — Nahura Stone, Benjamin 
Walker, Timothy Merriam, Josiah 
Fairbanks, Moses Holbrook, John 
Thurston, Ebenezer Leland. 

178S. — Joseph Bruce, James 
Whipple, Timothy Johnson, Perley 
Batcheller, Andrew Adams, Wil- 
liam Brigham, Benjamin Leland, 
Jr., Joseph Wood, Jr. 

1787. — Zabedee Redding.Ephraim 
Lyon, Samuel Flagg, Elijah Drury, 
Zebulon Daniels, Phineas Leland, 
Thaddens Road, John Thurston, 
David Wadsworth. 

1788. — Joseph Wood, Amos 
Davis, Thomas Axtell, Jr., Timothy 
Johnson, Ezekiel Brigham, Benja- 
min Lathe, James Wheeler, Daniel 
Hayden, John Whipple. 

1789. — Moses Harrington, Ebene- 
zer Wadsworth, Elijah Brooks, 
Timothy Sherman, David W. Le- 
land, Nathaniel Ward, Nathaniel 
Batcheller, Timothy Merriam, 
Jonathan Forbush. 

1790. — Joseph Grout, Aaron Kim- 
ball, Jr., Nahum Stone, Elijah 
Brigham, Timothy Garfield, James 
Whipple, Abner Stow, Shelomith 
Stow, Timothy Fisher. 

1791.— Ephraim Wheeler, Elijah 
Drury, Daniel Rand, Samuel Le- 
land, Lieut. John Whipple, Benja- 
min Thurston, Jr., Samuel Flagg, 
Silas Forbush, Benjamin Goddard, 
Esq. 
■ 1792.— Dr. WUliam Lamb, Llcnt. 



Noah B. Kimball, Lieut. Ezekiel 
Brigham, Phineas Leland, Ephraim 
Sherman, Jr., Samuel Warrin, 
Jonathan Warren, Timothy J. 
Thurston, Ephraim Gouldiug. 

1793. — Francis Barnes, Col. Luke 
Drury, Zebulon Daniels, Eleazer 
Leland, James Whipple, John Pratt, 
James H. Miller, Ebenezer Wads- 
worth, John Thurston. 

1794. — Levi Mason, Amos Ellis, 
Joshua Harrington, Benjamin 
Latlie, Ephraim Sherman, Sylvauus 
Morse, Daniel Warrin, Josephus 
Willard, Timothy Thurston. 

1795.— Simon Bruce, William 
Brigham, Eleazer Leland, Ebenezer 
Sadler, Thaddeus Read, Jonathan 
Stow, Samuel Adams, Silas For- 
bush, Nahum Stone. 

1796.— William Lamb, Timothy, 
Sherman, Moses Holbrook, David 
Wadsworth, Benjamin Leland, 
Joseph Merriam, 3rd, Benjamin 
Goddard, Jonathan Forbush, Noah 
B. Kimball. 

1797.— Francis Barnes, Jonathan 
Wheeler, Lieut. Ezekiel Brigham, 
Phineas Leland, Lieut. James Whip- 
ple, Jonathan Wadsworth, Capt. 
Tliaddeus.Read, Jonathan Hayden, 
Samuel Flagg, Ebenezer Wads- 
worth. 

1798.— Reuben Cummings, Moses 
Adams, Charles Brigham, Jonas 
Brown, Lieut. James Whipple, 
Jonathan Wadsworth, Capt. Joseph 
Warren, Amos Ellis, Nathaniel 
Adams, Moses Cutler, Jr. 

1799.— John Bennett, Ebenezer 
Cutler, Jr., Jonathan Stow, Phineas 
Leland, Ephraim Sherman, Jr., 
Levi Sadler, Daniel Leland, Silas 
Forbush, Andrew Adams, Samuel 
Adams. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTORY. 



425 



1800.— Zebedce Redding, Moses 
Adams, John Brigham, Moses Hol- 
brook, Jr., John Whipple, Jr., 
Jonathan Wadsworth, Nathaniel 
Batchcller, Timothy Fisher, Joseph 
Merriam, Ebenezer Wadsworth. 

1801.— Joel Fay, Elijah Brooks, 
Solomon Brigham, Jonas Brown, 
Amariah Hayden, Moses Sherman, 
Samuel Warren, Timothy Fisher, 
Samuel Flagg, Samuel Adams. 

1802.— Edward Lesure, Moses 
Adams, Ithamer Stow, Zebulon 
Daniels, Joseph Whipple, David 
Sherman, Thaddeus Bead, Amos 
Ellis, Jr., Timothy Merriam, 
Ephraim Goulding. 

1803.— Samuel Wood, Elijah 
Brooks, Zebulon Daniels, Phineas 
Leland, Ephraim Sherman, Jr., 
Samuel Wadsworth, Joseph Pren- 
tice, Daniel Thurston, Moses Rock- 
wood, Moses Cutler, Jr. 

1804.— Benjamin Leland, Jr., 
Joseph Despeau, Solomon Brigham, 
Benjamin Lathe, Jr., John Whip- 
ple, Jonathan Wadsworth, Thad- 
deus Read, Silas Forbush, James 
H. Miller, Samuel Warren. 

1806.— Ephramrffarrington, John 
Putnam, Joshua Harrington, Ste- 
phen Holbrook, Amaziah Howard, 
Levi Sadler, James Wheeler, Joseph 
Merriam, Jr., Silas Fay, Daniel 
Thurston. 

1806.— John Warren, Noah B. 
Kimball, Clark Brown, Nathaniel 
Whipple, Ezekiel Brigham, Jona- 
than Wadsworth, Perley Batcheller, 
Jr., Levi Leland, Joslah Fairbanks, 
John Bennett. 

1807.— Perley Goddard, Perley 

Whipple, Stephen Holbrook, Sam'l 

Leland, Ithamer Stow, Samuel 

Wadsworth, Perley Batcheller, 

54 



Jonathan Hayden, Jr., Levi God- 
dard, Andrew Adams. 

1808.— Isaac W. Wood, Moses 
Adams, Benjamin Lathe, Eleazer 
Leland, Charles Brigham, Moses 
Sherman, Royal Keith, Samuel 
Stone, Josephus Willard, Timothy 
Merriam. 

1809.— Silas Wesson, John Put- 
nam, Stephen Holbrook,' John 
Whipple, Lovel Stow, Levi Sadler, 
John Warren, Pardon Aldrich, John 
Bennett, Joseph Merriam. 

1810.— William Lamb, Geo. W. 
Putnam, Benjamin Haywood, Thad- 
deus Whipple, Joshua Harrington, 
Jonathan Wadsworth, Ebenezer 
Leland, Pardou Aldrich, Josephus 
Willard, Joseph Whitney. 

1811.— Elijah Case, Nathan John- 
son, Joshua W. Leland, Samuel 
Leland, Ithamer Stow, Levi Sadler, 
Joseph Prentice, Jonathan Hayden, 
Jr., Ephraim Goulding, Nathaniel 
Adams, Esq. 

1812.— Perley Goddard, Albert 
Stone, Cyrus Leland, David Sher- 
man, Joshua Harrington, James 
Wheeler, Moses Roberts, Aaron 
Kimball, Joseph Merriam. 

1813.— Joseph Dispeau, John 
Putnam, Stephen Holbrook, Amasa 
Roberts, Solomon Brigham, Royal 
Keith, Pardon Aldrich, Ephraim 
Goulding, Oliver Hayden. 

1814. — Jonathan Wheeler, Albert 
Stone, Benjamin Heywood, Charles 
Leland, Joseph Goddard, John 
Batcheller, Enoch Forbush, Antipas 
M. Fay, Timothy Merriam, Jr. 

1815. — Nathaniel Adams, Jr., 
Nathan Johnson, John Phillips, 
John Whipple, Solomon Brigham, 
John Warren, Joel Taft, Thomas 
Axtell, Jr., Tarrant Merriam. 



426 



HISTOKY OF GRAFTON. 



1816. — Pardon Aldrich, Leonard 
Wheelock, Austin Holbrook, Luke 
Leland, Joshua Harrington, Joseph 
Prentice, Moses C. Hayden, Eph- 
raira Gonlding, Joseph Adams. 

1817. — Moses Harrington, Abncr 
Stow, Jr., Stephen Holbrook, John 
Farnum, John Brigham, Isaac 
Southwick, Jonathan Hayden, Levi 
Goddard, Moses Rockwood. 

1818. — Zebina Montague, Albert 
Stone, Joshua W. Leland, Jonathan 
Wadsworth, Charles Brighara, 
Joseph Prentice, Jonathan E. For- 
bush, Ephraim Goulding, Jonathan 
Stow. 

1819. — Oollester Wood, Joel 
Brooks, Silas Chase, Joseph Nich- 
ols, Ithamer Stow, Royal Keilh, 
Joel Forbush, Aaron Kimball, 
Joseph Whitney. 

1820. —Joseph Bruce, John Put- 
nam, Benjamin Lathe, Jr., Samuel 
Sherman, Charles Brigham, Jona- 
than Sibley, Moses Roberts, Anti- 
pas M. Fay, Timothy Merriam, Jr. 

1821 — Pardon Aldrich, Leonard 
Wheelock, Zebulon Daniels, Jona- 
than Wadsworth, Josiah Brown, 
Thaddeus Read, Jr., Enoch For- 
bush, Jr., Levi Goddard, Joseph 
Adams. 

1822. — Samuel Wood, Cyrus Le- 
land, Joshua W. Leland, Luke Le- 
land, Joseph Goddard, Ephraim H. 
Wheeler, Samuel P. Leland, Eph- 
raim Goulding, Jonas Greenwood. 

1823. — Nahum Andrews, Albert 
Stone, John Phillips, Charles Le- 
land, Ezekiel Brigham, John Batch- 
eller, Reuben P. Leland, Elijah 
Kimball, Cyrus French. 

1824. — Samuel Hall, Jr., Leonard 
Wheelock, Stephen Holbrook, Jon- 



athan Whipple, Oliver M. Biigham, 
Royal Keith, Silas Forbush, Jr., 
Holland Greenwood, Joseph Mer- 
riam. 

1825.— Henry Parker, John Wes- 
son, Clark Brown, Jonathan Wads- 
worth, Joseph Goddard, Isaac 
Southwick, Levi Leland, Josephus 
Willard, Moses Hayden, Jr. 

1826. — Charles Cleveland, Cyrus 
Leland, Joshua W. Leland, Luke 
Leland, Charles Brigham, John 
Batcheller, Joel Forbush, Ephraim 
Goulding, Timothy Merriain, Jr. 

1827.— William T. Lesure, Rufus 
Prentice, Joseph Flagg, Silas 
Chase, Jonathan Brooks, Jonathan 
Wadsworth, Holland Greenwood, 
Charles Brigham, Jr., Joel Brooks. 

1828.— Otis Converse,* Cyrus Le- 
land, Henry Parker, Thaddeus 
Read, Oliver M. Brighara. 

1829.— Moses C. Searle, Otis 
Converse, Henry Parker, Doct. 
Thornton, Austin Holbrook. 

1830.— Chandler M. Pratt, Henry 
Pai ker, William Thornton, Austin 
Holbrook, John Wheeler, Jr. 

1831.— Moses C. Searle, William 
Thornton, Otis Converse. 

1832. — Otis Converse, Austia 
Holbrook, Charles Brigham, Jr. 

1833. — Otis Converse, John 
Wilde, Charles Brigham, Jr. 

1834. — Otis Converse, John 
Wilde, Rufus A. Johnson. 

1835. —John Wilde, Rufus A. 
Johnson, Nathan T. Dow. 

1836. —John Wilde, Rufus A. 
Johnson, George N. Sibley. 

1837.— Rufus A. Johnson, John 
Jennings, George N. Sibley. 



* General school committee. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOEY. 



427 



1838.— John Jennings, Levi Raw- 
son, Charles Thurber, Lewis Hol- 
brook, Jonathan M. Warren, Ben- 
jamin Green, Benjamin Kingsbury. 

1839.— John Jennings, Cazaeau 
Palfrey, Thomas C. Biscoe. 

18iO.— Otis Adams, Charles Brig- 
ham, Jr., Chandler M. Pratt. 

1841.— Charles Thurber, Cazneau 
Palfrey, John Jennings. 

1842. — Charles Thurber, Cazneau 
Palfrey, Thomas C. Biscoe, Levi 
Rawson, William C. Richards. 

1843 — Cazneau Palfrey, Thomas 
C. Biscoe, Calvin Newton. 

1844. — Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Eev. B. B. Willson, Rev. Otis Con- 
verse. 

1845.— Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Rev. Edmund B. Willson, Rev. 
Benjamin D. Peck. 

1846.— Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Uev. Edmund B. Willson, Rev. 
Benjamin D. Peck, Benjamin A. 
Edwards, Dr. William Thornton. 

1847.— Thomas C. Biscoe, Ed- 
mund B. Willson, William C. Rich- 
ards. 

1848.— Thomas C. Biscoe, Ed- 
mund B. Will.«ou, Benjamin \. Ed- 
wards, William C. Richards, 
George T. Day. 

1849.— Eev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Rev. Edmund B. Willson, Rev. 
William C. Richards. 

1850.— Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Rev. Edmund B. Willson, Rev. 
George T. Day, Samuel Brirnhle- 
com, William Leverett, Dr. George 
A. Field. 

1851.— Rev. Edmund B. Willson, 
Eev. Thomas C. Biscoe, Rev. Wil- 
liam Leverett. 



1852.— Eev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Eev. Edmund B. Willson, Rev. 
William Leverett. 

1853.— William F. Slocum, T. A. 
Buffum, Samuel Brimblecom. 

1S54.— Wm. F. Slocum, Joseph 
Smith, Rev. Farrlngton Mclntire. 
1855.— Rev. Farrlngton Mclntire, 
Eev. T. W. Brown, P. G. Willard. 
1856.— Eev. Farrlngton Mclntire, 
W. F. Wheeler, Eev. Joseph 
Smith. 

1857. — Farrlngton Mclntire, A. 
M., Charles Bryant, William F. 
Wheeler. 

1858.— Dr. Levi Eawson, Eev. 
Farrlngton Mclntire, William F. 
Wheeler. 

1859.— Eev. Farrington Mclntire, 
Eev. O. Crane, Rev. William G. 
Scandlin. 

I860.— Eev. J. M. Chick, Rev. 
William G. Scandlin, Eev. 0. 
Crane. 

1861. — Eev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
J. M. Eockwood, William Miller. 

1862.— Rev. William Miller, Eev. 
Thomas C. Biscoe, Charles C. 
Wood. 

1863. — Eev. Gilbert Bobbins, 
Eev. William Miller. 

1864.— Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Rev. William Miller, Eev. Gilbert 
Eobbins. 

1865.— Eev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Eev. Gilbert Bobbins, John W. 
Bigelow. 

1866.— Eev. Thomas C. Biscoe, 
Rev. Gilbert Bobbins, John W. 
Bigelow. 

1867.— John W. Bigelow, Rev. 
Gilbert Eobbins, Eev. Thomas C. 
Biscoe. 



428 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 



1868. — Rev. Gilbert Robbing, 
William F. Wheeler, John W. Bige- 
low. 

1869.— John W. Bigelow, Rev. 
A. J. Bates, Rev. J. H. Windsor. 

1870.— Rev. A. J. Bates, John W. 
Bigelow, Rev. J. H. Windsor. 

1871.— Rev. John H. Windsor, 
Rev. A. J. Bates, D. Webster Nor- 
cross. 

1872.— Rev. A. J. Bates, D. Web- 
ster Norcross, Dr. F. A. Jewett. 

1873.— Dr. F. A. Jewett, D. W. 
Norcross, Dr. W. E. Rice. 



1874.— Dr. W. E. Rice, D. Web- 
ster Norcross, E. B. Savage. 

1875.— Rev. A. J. Bates, D. Web- 
ster Norcross, Dr. W. E. Rice. 

1876.— Rev. A. J. Bates, D. Webr 
ster Norcross, Dr. W. E. Rice. 

1877. — D. Webster Norcross, 
Rev. P. T. Smith, Dr. W. E. Rice. 

1878. — D. Webster Norcross, 
Rev. P. Y. Smith, Dr. W. E. Rice. 

1879.— Rev. P. Y. Smith, D. 
Webster Norcross, D. B. Hubbard. 



CONSTABLES 
Thomas 



1736.— Simon Willard; 
Stow. 

1737. — Isaac Harrington, Samuel 
Warrin. 

1738. — Isaac Stevens, James 
Whipple. 

1739. — Nehemiah How, Abner 
Stow. 

1740. — John CoUer, Ephraim 
Sherman. 

1741. — James Moor, Abraham 
Temple. 

1742.— Charles Brigham, Joseph 
Merriam. 

1743. — Phineas Hardy, John 
Sherman. 

1744. — Thomas Pratt, Captain 
James Leland. 

1745.— Jacob Whipple, Obediah 
Newton. 

1746. — Joseph Axtell, Mark 
Batcheller. 

1747. — Noah Brooks, Joseph 
Whipple. 

1748. — Hezekiah Taylor, Nathan- 
iel Sherman. 



1749. — Charles Brigham, Nathan- 
iel Sherman. 

1750. — Solomon Stow, Benjamiu 
Chapin. 

1751. — James Nutting, Ebenezer 
Wads worth. 

1752.— Thomas Axtell, John Hol- 
brook. 

1753. — Ebenezer Wheeler, Moses 
Eager. 

1754.— Benjamin Willard, Joseph 
Perry. 

1755.— Joseph Willard, Thomas 
Drury. 

1756 —Joseph Batcheller, Benja- 
min Winchester. 

1757. — Joel Brooks, James Le- 
laud. 

1758.— Joseph Willard, Aaron 
Brigham. 

1759.— William Holbrook, 



1760.— Abraham Brown, James 
Harrington. 

1761.— Ebenezer Cutler, Thomas 
Drury. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTORY. 



429 



1762. — Aaron Kimball, Nathaniel 
Flagg. 

1763. — Simon Brooks, Ebeuezer 
Cutler. 

1764.-Hezckiah Ward, Peter 
Brooks. 

ITfiS. — Moses Harrington, Phin- 
eas Leland. 

1766. — Robert Leathe, Nathaniel 
Ball. 

1767. — James Whipple, Jonathan 
Hall. 

1768. — Capt. John Goulding, 
Ezekicl Brigham. 

1769. — Elisha Brigham, Elijah 
Driiry. 

1770.— Ephraim Sherman, Luke 
Drury. 

1771. — Moses Holbrook, Benja- 
min Goddard. 

1772. — Nathaniel Sherman, Jr., 
Nathaniel Whitney. 

1773. —Nathaniel S. Prentice, 
Luke Drury. 

1774;.— William Brigham, Samuel 
Flagg. 

1775.— Jonathan Stow, Timothy 
Sherman. 

1776.— Ebenezer Cutler, Phineas 
Pratt. 

1777.- Benjamin Garfield, Daniel 
Willard. 

1778.— Seth Miller, Asaph Sher- 
man. 

1779. — Abner Temple, 



1780. — Nathaniel BatchcUer, 
Timothy Merriam. 

1781.— Jonathan Wheeler, Timo- 
thy Merriam. 

1782.— Perley Batcheller, Abner 
Temple. 



1783.-^ Dr. Joseph Wood, Abner 
Stow. 

1784. — John Whipple, Moses Cut- 
ler. 

1785.— Joseph Warrin, Ephraim 
Lyon. 

1786.— Simon Bruce, Nathaniel 
Adams. 

1787. — Mo.ses Hayden, Eleazer 
Leland. 

1788. — Moses Hayden, Thaddeus 
Read. 

1789.— John Thurston, Andrew 
Adams. 

1790.— Thomas Axtell, Jr., Thad- 
deus Read. 

1791. — Daniel Warren, Benjamin 
Lathe. 

1792. — Daniel Warren, Benjamin 
Lathe. 

1793.— Zebedee Redding, Daniel 
Ilaydeu. 

1794.— Nahum Stone, Ezekiel 
Brigham. . 

1795.— Josiah Fairbanks, John 
Brigham. 

1796. — John Pratt, Elijah 
Brooks. 

1797.— John 0. Pratt, Jonathan 
Warren. 

1798.— Ephraim Sherman, Jr., 
Josiah Fairbanks. 

1799. — Josiah Fairbanks, Timo- 
thy Temple. 

1800.- Joseph Goddard, Samuel 
Wood. 

1801.— Charles Brigham, Stephen 
Holbrook. 

1802.— Moses Harrington, Moses 
Eockwood. 

1803. — Levi Goddard, John 
Whipple, Jr. 



430 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 



1804. — Jonathan Wheeler, Jr., 
Joseph Merriam, Jr. 

1805. — John Warren, Moses Hol- 
brook. 

1806. — Ebenezer Cutler, Jr., Levi 
Sadler. 

1807. — John Warren, Eoyal 
Keith. 

1808. — Perley Goddard, Amariah 
Hayden. 

1809.— Perley Whipple, Elijah 
Case. 

1810 — Solomon Brigham, Itha- 
mer Stow. 

1811. — Joseph Whitney, Silas 
Forbush. 

1812. — Joshua Harrington, Moses 
Sherman. 

1813. — Oliver Kimball, Pardon 
Aldrich. 

1814. — Oliver Kimball, Jonathan 
Hayden. 

1815. — Joseph Merriam, Jonathan 
Stow. 

1816. — Aaron Kimball, Robert 
Lathe. 

1817.— John Putnam, Joseph 
Prentice. 

1818.— Isaac W. Wood, Peter 
Earnum. 

1819. — George W. Putnam, John 
Batcheller. 

1820. — Col. Cyrus Leland, Moses 
C. Hayden. 

1821. — Nathaniel Adams, Jr., 
Tarrant Merriam. 

1822.— Gabriel F. Wheeler, Tim- 
othy Merriam. 

1823. — Benja. Heywood, Charles 
Cleveland. 

1824. — Thomas Axtell, Joshua 
W. Leland. 



1825. — Moses H. Adams, Benja- 
min Heywood. 

1826. — Leonard Wheelock, Jona- 
than Whipple. 

1827.— Samuel Wood, Joseph 
Bruce. 

1828. —John Wesson, Levi Le- 
land. 

1829.— John Wheeler, Jr., Albert 
Stone. 

1830.— John Wheeler, Jr., David 
Jourdan. 

I831.— John Wheeler, Jr., David 
Jourdan. 

1832.— David Jourdan, George 
W. Jones. 

1833.— Ezra K. Pratt, David 
Jourdan. 

1834.— Millotte Baker, WiUard S. 
Wood. 

1835.— 'Millotte Baker, Franklin 
Harrington. 

1836.— Isaac W. Wood, Charles 
Prentice. 

1837.— Charles Prentice, Mat- 
thias Felton. 

1838.— Charles Prentice, James 
S. Green. 

1839.— James S. Green, Charles 
Prentice. 

1810. — Charles Prentice, Leonard 
S. Wheelock. 

1841.— Charles Prentice, John B. 
White. 

1842.— Charles Prentice, John B. 
White. 

1843, —Charles Prentice, John B. 
White, Leonard S. Wheelock. 

1844. —Charles Prentice, David 
Jourdan. 

1845.— Charles Prentice, Leonard 
S. Wheelock, Barnabas Newton. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTORY. 



431 



1846.— Charles Prentice, Samuel 
A. Ualrymple, Leonard S. Wheel- 
ock, James G. Putnam, Joseph 
Willard, Jefferson Bellows. 

1847.— Charles Prentice, Lovell 
Baker, Jr., Ebenezer AUlrlch, Sam- 
uel A. Dalrymple, Barnabas New- 
ton, Nathaniel 6. Whitney. 

1848. — Charles Prentice, Barna- 
bas Newton, Nathaniel G. Whitney, 
Samuel A. Dalrymple, Jefferson 
Bellows, Augustus Slocomb. 

1849.— Charles Prentice, Samuel 
A. Knox, Barnabas Newton. 

1850.— Charles Prentice, Samuel 

A. Knox, Barnabas Newton, Leon- 
ard S. Wheelock, Augustus Slo- 
comb, James G. Putnam. 

1851. — Charles Prentice, Sumner 
Dinsmore, Joshua W. Harrington, 
Henry H. Messenger, Jefferson 
Bellows, Augustus Slocomb. 

1852.— Charles Prentice, Sumner 
Dinsmore, David -Chase, Barnabas 
Newton. 

1853.— Samuel G. Congdon, John 

B. White, John Q. Adams, David 
Chase, George W. Cromb, Jr. 

1854.— John Q. Adams, Lucian 
B. Drury, I. D. Palmer, John B. 
White, J. J. Peach. 

1S55.— George F. Slocomb, John 
B. White, Henry B. Fairbanks, 
George Cummiugs, Charles Moore, 
S. D. Hall, James W. White, W. 
Forehand. 

1856— George F. Slocomb, James 
W. White, Henry B. Fairbanks, 
Willard D. Wheeler, Ezra Church- 
ill, A. W. Rice, Nelson Ferry. 

1857.— George F. Slocomb, W. 
D. Wheeler, J. W. White, H. B. 
Fairbanks, Walter Forehand, Bar- 
nabas Newton, Nelson Ferry. 



1858.— H. B. Fairbanks, J. B. 
Sibley, W. D. Wheeler, Joseph W. 
Lelund, B. Newton, George W. 
Cromb, Jr., Jonathan Carey. 

1859.— J. B. Sibley, W. D. 
Wheeler, George W. Cromb, Jr., 
H. B. Fairbanks, David Chase, W. 
Forehand, George W. Harrington. 

I860.— W. D. Wheeler, H. B. 
Fairbanks, J. H. Wright, S. D. 
Hall, Walter Forehand, David 
Chase, Joshua Congdou, J. B. 
Sibley. 

1861.— J. B. Sibley, S. D. Hall, 
W. D. Wheeler, Walter Forehand, 
H. B. Fairbanks, David Chase, 
Joseph W. Leland. 

1862.— S. D. Hall, George W. 
Cromb, Jr., Barnabas Newton, 
Charles Fowler, L. M. Sargent. 

1863.— S. D. Hall, W. D. Wheeler, 
S. C. Knox, C. C. Willis, William 
G. Palmer. 

1864.— S. D. Hall, H. B. Fair- 
banks, Stephen R. White. 

1865.— S. D. Hall, H. C. Green- 
wood, S. R. White, S. A. Kuowles, 
Henry H. Merriam. 

1866.- S. D. Hall, F. M. Marble, 
Walter Forehand, R. D. Chase, 
James A. Morse, Sumner Packard. 

1867.— S. D. Hall, Silas Vinton, 
Walter Forehand, R. D. Chase, 
Clark C. Willis. R. A. Smith. 

1868.— S. D. Hall, W. C. Bassett, 
Ezekiel Fowler, E. C. Tluirber, 
James W. McKenzie, Aaron Elliot, 
B. Newton. 

1869.— S. D. Hall, H. M. Davis, 
Henry K. Cady, George R. Newton, 
Perley Goddard, Sar^jent Daniels. 

1870.— S. D. HalI,George R. New- 
ton, Lucian B. Drury, E. Fowler, 
Charles F. Sisson. 



432 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 



1871.— S. D. Hall, L. H. Bigelow, 
H. C. Fuller, James Gleason, Wil- 
liam Holbrook. 

1872. — James Gleason, L. M. 
Gassett, H. K. Cady, S. D. Hall, J. 
H. Chickerins, A. J. Ford, L. S. 
Davis. 

1873.— S. T>. Hall, James Gleason, 
L. M. Gassett, Ezekiel Fowler, J. 
H. Chickering. 

1874. —George F. Jourdan, Amos 
G. Getchell, D. W. Norcross, Henry 
Mann, J. H. Thomas, Simeon E. 
Gromb, S. D. Hall. 

1875.— S. D. Hall, Robert Scott, 
D. W. Norcross, Amos 6. Getciiell, 



George F. Jourdan, James Gleason, 
Henry Mann, Simeon E. Ct'omb. 

1876.— S. D. Hall, D. W. Nor- 
cross, S. E. Cromb, Robert Scott, 
J. B. Sibley. 

1877.— M. M. Goodnow, J. B. 
Sibley, D. "W. Norcross, S. E. 
Cromb, Ezekiel Fowler, S. D. Hall. 

1878.— S. D. Hall, D. W. Nor- 
cross, Richard Long, Charles Jen- 
nings, S. E. Cromb, Lucian B. 
Drury, J. B. Sibley. 

1879.— B. Fish, S. T>. Hall, L. B. 
Drury, J. B. Sibley, Alfred Lowell, 
William C. Fletcher, Thomas J. 
Hall. 



TOWN CLERKS. 



Neubmiah How, 1736, '37, '38. 
Samuel Cooper, 1739. 
Charles Brigham, 1740, '41. 

Capt. JOSKPH WiLLARD, 1742. 

Charles Bbigham, 1743, '44, '45, 
•46, '47. 

Abnkr Stow, 1748, '49, '50, 51, 
'52, '53, '54, '55, '56. 

Timothy Darling, 1757, '58, '59, 
'60, '61, '62, '63, '64, '66, '66, '67, '68, 
'69, '70, '71, '72. 
"~ Nathaniel S. Prentice, 1773, 
'74. 
■^ John Prentice, 1776. 

Benjamin Goddard, 1776, '77, 
'78, '79, '80, '81, '82, '83, '84, '85, '86, 
'87, '88, '89, '90. 

Benjamin Walker, 1791, '92. 

Benjamin Goddard, 1793, '94. 

Joseph Wood, 1795, '96, "97, '98, 
'99. 



William Lamb, 1800, '01, '02, '08, 
'04, '05, 'OC, '07, '08, '09, '10. 

Joshua Harrington, 1811. 

Jonathan Wheeler, 1812, '13, 
'14, '15, '16, '17, '18. 

Harry Wood, 1819. 

Jonathan Wheeler, 1820, '21, 
'22. 

Harry Wood, 1823, '24, '25, '26, 
'27, '28, '29, '30, '31, '82, '33, '34, '35. 

^ Charles Prbnticb, 1836, '37, '38, 
'39, '40, '41, '42, '43, '44, '46, '46, '47, 
'48, '49, '50, '51, '52. 

John B. White, 1853, '54. 

Jambs W. White, 1855, '50, '67, 
•58, '59, '60, '61, '62, '63, '64, '65, '66, 
'67, '68, '69, '70, '71, '72, '73, '74. 

A. A. Ballou, 1876, '76, '77, '78, 
'79. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOEY. 433 



LovBLL Baker, appointed Nov. 
19, 1838; May 31, 1841; May 1, 
1844; March 31, 1849. 

Sumner Dinsmohb, appointed 
July 23, 1861. 

LovELL Baker, appointed Nov. 
11, 1851. 



DEPUTY SHERIFFS. 

John Whbblbk, appointed — 
Jonathan B. Sibley, appointed 
Jan. 8, 1857; Jan. 4, 1860. 



S. Davis Hall, appointed March 
18, 1862; Feb. 20, 1863; Jan. 20, 
1866 ; Jan. 15, 1869 ; July 29, 1871 ; 
Jan. 3, 1872; Jan. 6, 1875; Jan. 3, 



George F. Slocomb, appointed — 1878. 

FACTS AND FIGURES. 

In 1865, the value of boots and shoes manufactured in 
this town was $307,208 ; value of cotton goods made the 
same year, $1,180,948, only one other town in the county 
(Clinton) exceeded Grafton in this line ; value of leather 
goods made, $192,000, the second in the county in this 
department. 

MANUFACTURES AND RELATED OCCUPATIONS IN GRAFTON 

IN 1875. 

Manufactures. Number of Capital Value of goods 

Establishments. Invested, made and work done. 

Boots and Shoes 3 $90,000 f 187,000 

Boots and Shoes, Men's .... 1 70,000 160,728 

Boots, Misses' and Children's laced. 1 500 1,850 

Clothing, Men's 2 7,000 17,000 

Cotton cloth 3 317,670 264,830 

Print cloth 1 175,000 110,000 

Shoes, Men's and Women's ... 1 50,000 100,000 

Tools, boot and shoe 2 2,500 8,000 

occupations. 

Blacksmithing 2 825 3,750 

Harness and saddle repairing . . 1 300 1,500 

Tinsmithing, etc 2 1,700 5,400 

AGGREGATES. 

Manufactures (goods made) ... 14 712,670 849,408 

Occupations (work done) .... 5 2,825 10,650 

19 #715,495 $860,058 

In 1875, 1,268,715 pounds of cotton, valued at $194,420, 
was owned here ; leather was estimated at $274,910; shoe 
55 



4r3i HISTOBY OF GEATTON. 

findings, $14,220 ; nnmber of establishments nsed for 
manufacturing purposes, 14 ; value of buildings, |133,300 ; 
value of average stock on band, $151,425; value of ma- 
chinery, $167,970 ; number of steam engines, 1 ; water 
wheels, 8 ; hand motive power, 5 ; foot motive power, 15 ; 
engines, nominal horse-power, 20 ; actual horse-power, 15 ; 
water wheels, nominal horse-power, 563 ; whole number of 
persons employed in manufacturing, 806 ; males, 539 ; 
females, 277 ; married females, 57 ; males between 10 and 
15 years of age, 33 ; females between 10 and 15 years of 
age, 25 ; number of women furnished with work at home, 
5 ; whole number of persons employed for whom yearly 
wages were given, 600 ; wages, $235,852 ; males above 15, 
379; wages, $173,517; females above 15, 196; wages, 
$59,814 ; both sexes under 15, 25 ; wages, $2,521 ; whole 
number of persons employed on boots and shoes, 309 ; 
males, 277 ; females, 32 ; married females, 8 ; males above 
15, 274 ; females above 15, 30 ; males from 10 to 15, 3 ; 
females from 10 to 15, 2 ; hours worked per day, 10 ; days 
that establishments were open, 249 ; number of spindles, 
26,724 ; power looms, 604. 



VALUATION AND PRODUCTS FOR 1875. 

Valuation of personal property, $593,160 ; valuation of 
real estate, $1,292,323 ; products of manufactures and 
fisheries, $860,058 ; products of agriculture and mining, 
$179,259 ; total valuation, $1,885,483 ; total products, 
$1,039,317; population— males, 2,186; females, 2,256; 
total, 4,442 ; persons employed in manufactures — males, 
768 ; females, 237 ; total, 1,005 ; number of manufacturing 
establishments in 1865, 22 ; value of goods made, $1,740,- 
056, the tenth town in the county ; capital invested, 
$547,100 ; value of stock ussd, $1,146,120 ; males em- 
ployed, 394 ; females, 404. 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HI8T0EY. 



435 



Domestic and igrlcnltaral Products, 1875. 

DOMESTIC PRODUCTS. 

For Sale. Quantity. 

Blacking, leather gallons, 11,400 

Butter poumls, 10,124 

Carpets, yards, 21 

Cider, gallons, 19,S42 

Dried Fruit, pounds, 975 

Firewood, cords, 2,561 

Maple Molasses, gallons, 95 

Quilts, 3 

Eailroad Sleepers 1,298 

Shoes (work on), . pairs, 1,500 

Telegraph Poles, 200 

Vinegar gallons, 400 

Wine, gallons, 50 

For Use. 

Butter pounds, 4,880 

Carpets yards, 25 

Cheese, pounds, 168 

Cider, gallons, 3,976 

Dried Prdlt, pounds, 367 

Firewood, cords, 561 

Gloves, pairs, 2 

Quilt 1 

Shoes pairs, 4 

Socks pairs, 15 

Wine, gallons, 57 



Value. 

$1,710 

4,178 

6 

2,561 

114 

6,768 

150 

12 

621 

250 

250 

120 

70 



1,869 

12 

28 

492 

45 

2,677 

2 

5 

10 

11 

55 



AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS. 

Quantity. 

Apples, bushels, 14,700 

Asparagus bunches, 153 

Beans, bushels, 187 

Beans, string and shell, bushels, 36 

Beef, pounds, 44,483 

Beets, table, bushels, 483 

Beets, Mangel Wurzel bushels, 713 

Blueberries quarts, 105 

Buckwheat bushels, 47 

Butternuts bushels, 32 

Ga'»t»age, heads, 24,434 



Value. 

$7,335 

23 

418 

57 

3,559 

219 

177 

11 

59 

25 

1,222 



4:36 HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

Carrots bushels, 1,126 499 

Cherries, bushels, 12 35 

Chestnuts bushels, 11 14 

Chickens, dressed, pounds, 3,615 816 

Corn, green . bushels, 670 688 

Corn, Indian, bushels, 8,215 7,791 

Corn, Pop, bushels, 13 30 

Crab-apples bushels, 16 24 

Cranberries, bushels, 123 323 

Cucumbers, bushels, 418 783 

Currants quarts, ' 296 31 

Eggs, dozens, 5,581 1,674 

Feathers, pounds, 85 14 

Fodder, corn, tons. 111 1,250 

Fodder, oat, tons, 63 950 

Grapes, bushels, 146 198 

Hay, English, tons, 2,641 49,318 

Hay, meadow, tons, 505 6,380 

Hay, clover, tons, 27 457 

Hay, millet tons, 17 296 

Honey pounds, 100 30 

Hops, pounds, 10 6 

Huckleberries, quarts, 1,905 160 

Ice, tons, 120 625 

Lettuce, heads, 100 2 

Mangols, bushels, 30 17 

Manure, cords, 1,883 8,401 

Melons 25 2 

Milk, gal'ns, 223,003 41,480 

Mutton, pounds, 100 13 

Oats bushels, 2,668 1,834 

Onions bushels, 191 286 

Parsnips bushels, 79 46 

Peaches bushels, 20 36 

Pears, bushels, 353 699 

Pease, bushels, 18 30 

Pease, green bushels, 105 171 

Peppers bushels, 47 97 

Plums, bushels, 2 U 

Pork pounds, 25,212 2,521 

Potatoes, Irish bushels, 14,159 9,594 

Poultry, dressed, other than chickens, 

geese and turkeys pounds, 285 64 

Pumpkins, pounds, 33,650 326 

Rye bushels, 718 788 

Shellbarks, bushels, 22 60 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOET. 437 

Squashes pounds, 16,095 820 

Straw, tons, 133 1,739 

Strawberries, quarts, 1,906 300 

Tomatoes, bushels, 214 113 

Trees, Fruit, in Nurseries 2,488 2,728 

Turnips bushels, 4,865 1,260 

Vines, in Nurseries, 105 105 

Wheat busliels, 9 14 

Wool, other than Saxony or Merino, . . pounds, 65 30 



AGGREGATES. 

Domestic Products, for sale, $ 16,810 

Domestic Products, for use 5,096 

Hay, 3,190 tons 55,461 

Other Agricultural Products, 101,902 



$179,259 
This amount stood eighteenth iu the list of the county. 



FARM PROPERTY. 



Farms. Number. 

TTnder three acres 1 

From five to ten acres 2 

Above ten acres, 139 



142 



Buildings. Number. 

Houses, 166 

Barns 155 

Sheds, 31 

Siiops, 13 

Carriage Houses, 16 

.Granaries, 4 

Corn-cribs 22 

Ont-buUdings 9 



Value. 

$750,310 
Value. 



406 



$287,310 



438 



HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 



Land. Acres. 

Land under crops, 3,676 

Market gardens 6 

Nurseries, 1 

Orchards (the land), . . lUoi 

Seed gardens, 1 

Unimproved land, 4,66t 

Unimprovable land, 324 

"Woodland, 3,2024 



ll,777i 



Value, 

$209,912 

410 

76 

13,786 

100 

14.5,888 

92,800 

1163,000 



Fruit Trees and Vines. Number. Value. 

Apple trees 8,674 |11,312 

Cherry trees 12 21 

Peach trees 904 860 

Grapevines, 470 601 

112,794 

Domestic Animals. Number. Value. 

Ass 1 $30 

Bees (swarms of), 17 84 

Calves 261 2,649 

Colts 15 1,450 

Dogs 39 310 

Ducks, 9 7 

Goats, 2 7 

Guinea fov^ls, 6 _ 2 

Heifers, 150 " 8,896 

Hens and Chickens 2,976 1,739 

Hogs, 173 3,292 

Horses 201 19,815 

Lambs 6 40 

Milch Cojvs 736 89,370 

Oxen, 80 6,750 

Pigeons, 53 49 

Pigs, 305 1,891 

Sheep, Merino, 4 20 

Sheep, 3 W 

Steers, 52 2,625 

Turkeys, 2 6 



#83,671 



OFFICIAL AND STATISTICAL HISTOEY. 439 

AGGREGATES. 

Land, $463,000 

Buildings 287,310 

Fruit Trees and Vines, 12,794 

Domestic Animals, 83,571 

Agricultural Implements, 23,889 

$870,564 
The twelfth town in the county in this respect. 



r 



CHAPTER ELEVEJSTTH. 



GENEALOGICAL NOTICES 

OF THE EA.ELIEE INHABITANTS OF GEAFTON, AND THEIE 
FAMILIES, VIZ : 

. Adams. — Aldrich. — Allen. — Andrews. — Axtell.— Baker. — Barnard.— 
Batcheller. — Bigelow. — Bowman. — Brlgham. — Brimblecom. — 
Brooks. — Brown. — Bruce. — Child. — Clark. — Cutler. — Drury.— 
Elliot. — Farnum. — Fay. — Fisk. — Flagg. — Fletcher. — Forbush. 

— Goddard. — Goodale. — Goulding. — Greenwood. — Grout. —Hall. 

— Hammond. — Harrington. — Hey wood. — Holbrook.— How.— Keith. 

— Kimball.— Kingsbury.— Leland.—Leathe. — McClellanp-Mfimani. i 

— Miles.— Morse.— Peirce. — Pierce. — Phillips. — Pratt.-\-Fr entice. — 1 
Putnam.— Rawson. — Reed.— Rice.— Bobbins.— BosboroOgET-Sher- 
man. — Sibley. — Slocomb. — Smith. — Southwick. — Stearnes. — Stone. 
Stow.— Tainter. — Thurston.- Turner. — Wadsworth. — Ward. — War- 
ren. — Wheeler. — Wheelock. — Whipple. — White. — Whitney. — Wil- 
lard. — Wing. — Wood : seventy-nine different families. 

ADESIKE to trace a lineage and to perpetuate its 
remembrance, seems to have been so prevalent 
among enlightened and semi-civilized people, and even 
among barbarians, of all ages, even the remotest to which 
either history or tradition extends, that it may be regarded 
as an instinct of human nature — an innate principle, im- 
planted for wise and benevolent purposes. If so, ought 
it not to be cherished by the wise and the ^ood ?* 

It cannot be doubted that the practice, founded on a 
kindred principle, lately adopted by some of our collegiate 

• Bond. 
56 



442 HISTORY OF GKAPTON. 

institutions, of watching and noting the course of the lives 
of their sons, and placing the prominent points of their 
history on record, will be beneficent to those institutions, 
and exercise a salutary influence upon those whose names 
may be enrolled in their archives. It will produce a more 
lively mutual interest between the Alma Mater and her sons, 
and it may awaken in the latter a stronger desire that their 
names in the record be not followed by a blank or a blot. 
Genealogies, besides gratifying a natural and enlightened 
curiosity, may exercise a similar salutary influence, tending 
to maintain in their social position, families already elevated, 
and to elevate the lowly. When persons affect an utter 
indifference to their lineage, or a history of the past gene- 
rations of their families, and deride any attention to them 
as a foolish weakness and vanity, they are contravening an 
innate principle, and it may be generally suspected that 
they have some knowledge of a lineage wiiich they would 
consign to oblivion, because it is untitled, and without a 
good renown. Some such persons build costly ostentatious 
monuments to procure present distinction, and a lasting 
memorial for themselves, while they never inquire for the 
burial-place of their ancestors, and leave their graves to 
utter and most disrespectful neglect. Let the visitor, who 
has been admiring the costly, tasteful memorials in Mount 
Auburn Cemetery, extend his excursion half a mile farther, 
and he may find graves decayed, and ancient gravestones 
sunken or dilapidated, and overgrown with weeds and 
brambles, where were buried the Puritan ancestors or some 
of the builders of those admired monuments. Some per- 
sons become so engrossed with sordid interests, and the 
indulgence of the animal instincts, so insensible to the ties 
of a consanguinity and the happiness derived from the cul- 
tivation of the domestic affections, that in them this innate 
principle is not merely dormant, but so dead that it would 
require a miracle to revive it. Tlicy will not make the 
smallest sacrifice, nor forego a trifling indulgence out of 



GENEALOGICAL KOTICES. 443 

respect to the memory of an ancestor. They would ex- 
change an old family portrait for that of a danseuse, or a 
popular partisan, and part with the old family Bible for the 
flashy outside of a soulless annual, or perhaps for a dollar, 
if it could he invested at a good percentage. 

In most persons, however, this principle — the affinity of 
consanguinity — does not lack vitality ; it only acts in a nar- 
row sphere, or slumbers for want of incitements to awaken 
it, or the means and opportunities to manifest it. They 
will listen with eager attention and gratification to I'ecords 
and traditions relating to their ancestors, and their interest 
will increase with the enlargement of their information. 
To many such persons, it is hoped, that tiiis work will be 
an acceptable offeriug and service, doing for them what it is 
not in their power so fully to accomplish. Its prosecution 
lias afforded the author a very interesting occupation to 
many otherwise unoccupied hours. This statement will be 
appreciated only by those who have been engaged in similar 
pursuits. 

ABBREVIATIONS. 

b. born, bap. baptUed, m. married, d. died, unm. unmarried, dau. 
daughter, wid. widow, res. resides or resided, rev. removed; all towns 
are understood as being in iMassaohusetts, unless otherwise designated ; 
pub. publication of the iutention of marriage; s. p. (sine prole) with- 
out issue. 



FAMILY GBKEALOGIES. 



ADAMS, (sometimes spelled Addams). 
GEORGE ADAMS, the ancestor, was a glover, and settled in Water 
as early as 1645. He subsequently moved to Cambridge Farms, Le: 
ton, about 1664, for at this time he sold "my dwelling-house in W 
town, and land adjoining." 



NATHANIEL ADAMS, (George, George), bap. June 12, 1698, m. 
20, 1738, Eunice Stearnes, b. Dec. 23, 1715. She was the dau. of I 
Samuel and gr. gr. dau. of Isaac, who came to America in 1630. 
1. Eunice, b. Oct. 7, 1739 ; 2, Maey, b. Dec. 12, 1741. 



ANDREW ADAMS was the son of Samuel, who was b. and i 
Ipswich. He was a descendant of William of Cambridge, who, ao 
ing to Dea. Leland of Sutton, was probably one of the eight so 
Henry. Andrew was undoubtedly of the fourth or flfth gener 
from William of Cambridge. 

Andrew settled here, and ra. Oct. 15, 1741, Elizabeth Hunt, of Con 
d. Aug. 9, 1770; m. 2nd, May 30, 1771, Mrs. Sarah Torry, of Mei 
Children, 

1. Elizabeth, b. March 4, 1744, m. Waters. 

2. Ruth, b. April 25, 1746, m. John Whipple (W). 

3. Mary, b. Dec. 28, 1748, m. Daniel Grout (G), and removed tc 
worth, N. H. 

i. Andrew, Jr., b. Oct. 21, 1751, m. Lucy Merriam. 

6. Sarah, b. April 30, 1754, m. Rand, and resided in Rindge, '. 

6. NATHANrEL, b. Jan. 1, 1756, m. Mary Harrington. 

7. Martha, b. Dec. 23, 1759, m. Daniel Whipple (W;, and resid 
Walpole, N. H. 



1-4 



ANDREW ADAMS, Jr., (Andrew), b. Oct. 21, 1751, m. Lucy Me 
(M), dau. of Jos., b. Dec. 30, 1755, d. March 19, 1842. He d. Au 
1841. Children, 

1. Jasper, b. July 12, 1776, m. Jerusha Sibley, of Sutton, b. May 3, 

2. Lucy, b. March 14, 1778, m. Solomon Brigham (B). 

3. Polly, b. Dec. 8, 1779, m. Joshua Harrington (H). 

4. Andrew, Jr., b., Oct. 6, 1781, m. Susan Leland, rev. to Bostoi 
finally to Phila. 

5. Joseph, b. Sept. 9, 178.S, d. Oct. 19, 1783. 

6. Nancy A., b. Aug. 18, 1784, m. Jonathan Sibley (S). 

7. Joseph, b. Jan. 25, 1787, m. Martha Haven and Mrs. Sarah J. 
riam. 

8. Betsey, b. Dec. 29, 1788, m. Hon. Sherman Leland (L). 

9. John, b. Dec. 1, 1790, d. at Charleston, S. C, July 26, 1812. 

10. Hannah P., b. March 5, 1793, m. Hon. Samuel Wood (W). 

11. Patty, b. May 16, 1795, d. unin. 

12. Nathaniel, b. Feb. 16, 1798, in. Mary Stevens, and res. in Brai 



FAMILY GEifEALOGIES. 



445 



3-7 



NATHANIEL ADAMS, (Andrew), b. Jan. 1, 1756, m. Feb. 28, 1784, 
Mary Harrington (H), b. April 11, 1763, d. Sept. 24, 1845. He d. Jan. 
24, 1829. He was deacon of the Congregational church for nearly 
twenty years, and d. greatly respected. Children, 

1. Nathaniel, Jr., b. March 16, 1785, m. Polly Merriam .and Fersls 
Greenwood. 

2. Maby, b. May 4, 1766, m. Charles Leland (L), 

3. Abijah, b. Aug. 20, 1787, d. Aug. 15, 1791. 

4. Sally, b. Nov. 27, 1789, m. Timothy Merriam (M). 

5. Abijah, b. March 2, 1793, rev. to Alexandria, S. C. 

6. Moses H., b. Feb. 2, 1795, m. Sally Prentice. 

7. Otis, b. Feb. 13, 1798, m. Sylvia King. 

8. Andkew H., b. June 27, 1799, rev. to Alexandria, S. C. 

9. Susannah, b. Sept. 17, 1802, m. Samuel Redding. 



JOSEPH ADAMS, (Andrew, Andrew), b. Jan. 25, 1787, m. Martha 
Haven, b. April 1, 1789, d. Dec. U, 1828; m. 2nd, Mrs. Susan J. Mer- 
riam. He d. June, 1868. Children, 

I. Martha H., b. March 6, 1816, m. May 16, 1838, Lewis W. Dodge. 
Mr. Dodge was born in Swauville, Me., May 16, 1811, and left there 
with his parents for Sturbridge, Mass., in 1818; here he resided for five 
years, and at the end of this time removed to Palmer, where he resided 
for uine years. While in Palmer he worked five years for William Mason, 
and learned the tanning and currying trade. In Dec, 1838, Mr. Dodge 
came to this town and was employed by Bigelow & Paine, and E. B. & 
A. M. Bigelow, for five years. In 1838, he started in business for him- 
self, subsequently purchasing the building owned by Joseph F. Rice, in 
which place he conducted a successful business for nearly thirty-live 
years and accumulated a handsome property. Finding the building too 
small for his increased business, in April, 1873, he erected a large shop, 
in the rear of the Bigelow's, where he is at present located in company 
with his son, Joseph A. Dodge. His children are 

1. Martha E., b. April 25, 1841, m. Rev. George S. Biscoe, the son 
of Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, who was born in Cambridgeport, 
Mass., Sept. 22, 1835. He fitted for college at Grafton Academy, 
and entered Amherst College in 1853; graduated in 1857; entered 
Andover Theological Seminary in 1857 and graduated in 1860. 
He has labored as a Congregational minister at Troy and West- 
field, Vt.,six months, ending April 1, 1861; Cottage Grove, Minn., 
six years, ending April, 1867 ; Tipton, Iowa, eight vears, ending 
Jan. 1, 1876; Shullsburgh, Wis., three years, endingApril I, 1879; 
now laboring at Clarksville, Neb. He was married Oct., 1861, to 
Martha Eliza Dodge, of Grafton, Mass., who died at Tipton, 
Iowa, April 20, 1870, leaving three children : Horace A., Ellen D., 
and Lucy W. Biscoe. Mr. Biscoe married again Sept. 16, 1873 
his wife being Emma R. Ensign, of Tipton, Iowa, by whom he 
has had three children, two of whom are now living 

2. William H., b. May 15, 1849, d. May 14, 1850. 

3. Joseph A., b. April 21, 1846, m. Jan. 20, 1874, Ella G. Wood b 
Aug. 11, 1840, ch. Irving Bigelow, b. Jan. 6, 1876; Kathrina A. ,' 

4. Lucy, b. Feb. 29, 1851, m. Henry M. Riggs, son of Rev. Stephen 
R. Riggs, the celebrated Indian missionary. They res in Fort 
Sullie, Dakota. 

6. Susan H., b. Aug. 9, 1855, nnm. 
Joseph B., b. Aug. 21, 1824, m. Ann Dresser. 
Susan M., b. Aug. 24, 1843, d. Sept. 16, 1843. 




w 
o 

Q 

o 
Q 



o 

w 
u 

M 

Q 

H 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 



445 



NATHANIEL ADAMS, (Andrew), b. Jan. 1, 1756, m. Feb. 28, 1784, 
Mary Harrington (H), b. April 11, 176.S, d. Sept. 24, 1845. He d. Jan. 
24, 1829. He was deacon of the Congregational church for nearly 
twenty years, and d. greatly respected. Children, 

1. Nathaniel, Jr., b. March 16, 1785, m. Polly Merriam -and Persis 
Greenwood. 

2. Mary, b. May 4, 1766, m. Charles Leland (L), 

3. Abijah, b. Aug. 20, 1787, d. Aug. 15, 1791. 

4. Sally, b. Nov. 27, 1789, m. Timothy Merriam (M). 

5. Abijah, b. March 2, 1793, rev. to Alexandria, S. C. 

6. MosBS H., b. Feb. 2, 1795, in. Sally Prentice. 

7. Otis, b. Feb. 13, 1798, m. Sylvia King. 

8. Andrew H., b. June 27, 1799, rev. to Alexandria, S. C. 

9. Susannah, b. Sept. 17, 1802, m. Samuel Redding. 



JOSEPH ADAMS, (Andrew, Andrew), b. Jan. 25, 1787, m. Martha 
Haven, b. April 1, 1789, d. Dec. 11, 1828; m. 2nd, Mrs. Susan J. Mer- 
riam. He d. June, 1868. Children, 

1. Martha H., b. March 6, 1816, m. May 16, 1838, Lewis W. Dodge. 
Mr. Dodge was born in Swauville, Me., May 16, 1811, and left there 

with his parents for Sturbridge, Mass., in 1818; here he resided for five 
years, and at the end of this time removed to Palmer, wheie he resided 
for uine years. While in Palmer he worked five years for William Mason, 
and learned the tanning and currying trade. In Dec, 1833, Mr. Dodge 
came to this town and was employed by Bigelow & Paine, and E. B. & 
A. M. Bigelow, for five years. In 1838, he started in business for him- 
self, subsequently purchasing the building owned by Joseph F. Rice, in 
which place he conducted a successful business for nearly thirty-tive 
years and accumulated a handsome property. Finding the building too 
small for his increased business, in April, 1873, he erected a large shop, 
in the rear of the Bigelow's, where he is at present located in company 
with his son, Joseph A. Dodge. His children are 

1. Martha E., b. April 25, 1841, m. Rev. George S. Biscoe, the son 
of Rev. Thomas C. Biscoe, who was born in Cambridgeport, 
Mass., Sept. 22, 1835. He fitted for college at Grafton Academy, 
and entered Amherst College in 1853; graduated in 1857; entered 
Andover Theological Seminary in 1857 and graduated in 1860. 
He has labored as a Congregational minister at Troy and West- 
field, Vt., six months, ending April 1, 1861 ; Cottage Grove, Minn., 
six years, ending April, 1867 ; Tipton, Iowa, eight years, ending 
Jan. 1, 1876; ShuUsburgh, Wis., three years, ending April 1, 1879; 
now laboring at Clarksville, Neb. He was married Oct., 1861, to 
Martha Eliza Dodge, of Grafton, Mass., who died at Tipton, 
Iowa, April 20, 1870, leaving three children : Horace A., Ellen D., 
and Lucy W. Biscoe. Mr. Biscoe man-led again Sept. 16, 1873, 
his wifebeing Emma R. Ensign, of Tipton, Iowa, by whom he 
has had three children, two of whom are now living. 

2. William H., b. May 15, 1849, d. May 14, 1850. 

3. Joseph A., b. April 21, 1846, m. Jan. 20, 1874, Ella G. Wood, b. 
Aug. 11, 1840, ch. Irving Bigelow, b. Jan. 5, 1876; Kathrina A., 
b. Feb. 22, 1879. 

4. Lucy, b. Feb. 29, 1851, m. Henry M. 'Riggs, son of Rev. Stephen 
R. Riggs, the celebrated Indian missionary. They res. in Fort 
SuUie, Dakota. 

5. Susan E., b. Aug. 9, 1855, unm. 

2. Joseph B., b. Aug. 21, 1824, m. Ann Dresser. 

3. Susan M., b. Aug. 24, 1843, d. Sept. 16, 1843. 



446 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

NATHANIEL ADAMS, Jr., (Nathaniel, Andrew), b. Mar. 16. 1785, m. 
Polly Merriam, and 2nd, Persis Greenwood. Polly, b. 1789, d. Sept. 9, 
1823. Nathaniel, after his second marriage, removed to N. Y. State. 
Children, 

1. Mary C, b. Sept. 2, 1810, d. Oct. 2, 1848. 2. Nathaniel 0., b. 
Sept. 2, 1812. 3. Mosiss K., b. Nov. 27, 1814. 4. Sali.y H., b. Jan. 
19, 1817. 5. Andrew H., b. July 20, 1819. 6. Harriett M., b. Feb. 
6, 1823. 



MOSES H. ADAMS, (Nathaniel, Andrew), b. Feb. 2, 1795, m, Sally 
Prentice (P), b. 1796, d. Nov. 29, 1878. He d. Sept. 3, 1854. Children, 

1. Susan, b. Aug. 25, 1822, d. July 15, 1853. 

2. Sarah, b. Jan. 13, 1824, d. Apr. 14, 1M32. 

3. Moses, b. Oct. 17, 1825, d. Nov. 22, 1847. 

4. Charles, b. May 17, 1827. Res. Ellio, Nev. 

5. Nathaniel, b. Jan. 14, 1830, d. Sept. 22, 1853. 

6. Joseph, b. Jan. 19, 1832, m. Sarah A. Newton. 

7. Abijah, b May 8, 1834. Ees. Walnut Creek, Cal. 

8. Horace, b. Feb. 8, 1837, d. in Cal., 1869. 



Hon. OTIS ADAMS, (Nathaniel, Andrew), b. Feb. 13, 1798, m. May, 
1822, Sylvia King, b. July 30, 1799. He d. May 4, 1860. 

He had recently been on a tour at the West, and returned home with 
a severe affection of the lungs, that resulted in a lung fever and termi- 
nated his life. He never enjoyed the advantages of a liberal education, 
yet by a diligent and persistent Improvement of his leisure time, he at- 
tained a richly stored and well disciplined mind. He was distinguished 
by a large share of common sense. He ever manifested great decision 
of character, and was a firm and unwavering supporter of whatever he 
became convinced was right. In civil life, in which he held many and 
important offices, he proved himself a man of marked probity and hon- 
esty, accuracy and honor. In private life, those who knew him best 
respected him most. Few have excelled him in affection as a husband, 
or in tenderness as a father. His virtues secured to him a large circle 
of strongly attached and firm friends, who, with his bereaved family, 
mourn his loss, and will long cherish the memory of his worth. " He 
was well known to the people of Worcester County, having been for 
several years a member and chairman of the Board of County Commis- 
sioners. Also a member of the Board of Trustees of the State Reform 
School in Westborough, and was twice postmaster here. His prompt 
and constant attendance upon the stated meetings of the Merchants' 
and Farmers' Fire Insurance Company, as one of its directors, from its 
commencement, and also upon those of the State Mutual Life Assur- 
ance Company, of which he was also a director, will render his absence 
from his seat the more painful to his associates in those institutions. 
He also held an important position as a director in a large manufactur- 
ing establishment in the county, where his wisdom and discretion ren- 
dered him a greatly respected and highly valued associate." And in no 
department of his various public services did he fail to secure the re- 
spect and confldence of his constituents and those with whom he 
acted. For thirty-two years he was a deacon in the Evangelical 
Congregational Church in Grafton. He was wise and prudent as a coun- 
sellor, and a liberal supporter of religious institutions at home, and of 
benevolent objects abroad. He was an earnest. Arm and constant friend 
of Sabbath schools, and for fifteen years superintendent of the school 
with which he was connected. He bore the severe sufferings of his last 




^2t^ L^a^Ul.-2^'^ 




Heliotype Printing Co., Boston. 





'^ y/ 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 4:4:7 

sickness not only without a mnrmurlDg word, but the submissive and 
acquiescing spirit which he manifested was most instructive and im- 
pressive. Children, 

1. Charlbs O., h. July 27, 1822, m. Deborah A. Chickering. 

2. John Q., b. Oct. 27, 1830, m. Emeline A. Widdifleld. Res. Boston. 

3. Andkew H., b. Dec. 4, 1832, m. Mary J. Bigelow. 

4. Sylvia K., b. May 14, 1837, m. Charles Bigelow and Dr. Charles E. 
E. Koch. 

5. Henry H., b. Dec. 10, 1843, m. Lizzie Taft. Ees. Chicago. 



JOSEPH B. ADAMS, (Joseph, Andrew, Andrew), b. Aug. 21, 1824, m. 
Jan. 27, 1848, Ann Dresser, b. June 14, 1826. 

He was extensively engaged in agriculture, and was an efficient town 
officer. He rev. to Worcester, where he now resides. Ch., 
1. Ann J., b. June 27, 1858, m. Samuel N. Keith (K). 



JOSEPH ADAMS, (Moses H., Nathaniel, Andrew), b. Jan. 19, 1832, m. 
Mar. 28, 1866, Sarah A. Newton, b. July, 1842. He is an extensive 
farmer, and has held several town offices. Children, 

1. Joseph A., b. Mar. 3, 1870, d. Aug. 13, 1870. 

2. Horace H., b. Jan. 28, 1879. 



CHARLES O. ADAMS, (Otis, Nathaniel, Andrew), b. July 27, 1822, m. 
Oct. 30, 1846, Deborah A. Chickering. He rev. to Chicago, where he 
now res. Children, 

1. Eannhs J., b. Apr. 20, 1848, m. Vincent Menuez. 

2. Otis H., b. May 27, 1853. (Gr. Williams Coll., 1879.) 

3. Emma T., b. May 4, 1859. 



ANDREW H. ADAMS, (Otis, Nathaniel, Andrew), b. Dec. 4, 1832, m. 
Sept. 14, 1855, Mary J. Bigelow (B). 

He res in Chicago, 111. He resided with his father, Hon. Otis Adams, 
on his farm in town most of the time until he was married to a dau. 
of Hon. Abraham M. Bigelow. He was in busine.ss for some time in 
Boston. For the past few years he has been very successful— perhaps 
as much so as any of the boys who ever left Grafton— and solely through 
his own efforts, having received assistance from no one. The " Ottoman 
Cahvey Company of Chicago," of which he is president, and his son sec- 
retary, is a stock company, of which he is the sole proprietor. 
". Ottoman Cahvey " means, when translated, Turkish coffee ; a process 
which he invented whereby all the strength and flavor of the coffee is 
retained in roasting. This house, it is claimed, do the largest ground 
coffee trade of any in the United States, selling goods in every state 
and territory in the Union, and all parts of Canada. He has testimo- 
nials from all parts of the country, which certify to the high apprecia- 
tion in which his goods are held. Children, 

1. Mable E., b. Sept. 16, 1861, d. 1862. 

2. William A., b. Aug. 2, 1859. Res. Chicago. 

3. Minnie, d. young. 



SAMUEL ADAMS, (son of James, brother of Andrew, Senior), m. Nov. 
1,1750, Elizabeth Gould, of Sntton; m. 2nd, June 4, 1786, Elizabeth 
Temple; m. 3rd, June 24, 1794, Olive Jones. Children, 

1. Elizabeth, b. May 3, 1790. 

2. Samuel J., b. Oct. 31, 1795, d. June 6, 1800. 



448 HI8TOET OP GRAFTON. 

MOSES ADAMS, Cbrother of Samuel), b. 1760, m. Mar. 29, 1786, Bllza- 
belh Whipple (W), b. Apr. 2, 1767, d. Feb. 1, 1844. He d. May 2, 1839. 



SAMUEL H. ADAMS, (from Bridgeton, Ct.), m. Apr. 12, 1857, Helen 

A. Newton. Cb., 

1. Frances H., b. Oct. 27, 1857, d. Jan. 1, 1860. 



ALDRICH. 

PARDON ALDRICH, b. in Uxbridge, came from Mendon, m. Rachel 
Drake, b. 1773, d. July 8, 1842 ; m. 2nd, Hannah (Bigelow) Richardson, 
d. July 8, 1842. He d. Mar. 16, 1857. Children, 

1. Charles, b. June 4, 1797, m. Eliza Wadsworth. 

2. Lyman D., b. 1800, m. Sarah Davenport and Mary Neibert. 

He resided with his parents until he was fourteen years of age, when 
he was engaged as a clerlt in a store in Sutton ; at twenty-one he had 
charge of a mill in New England Village; subsequently he was in busi- 
ness in Philadelphia, and removed to Natchez, Miss., about 1837, where 
he engaged in mercantile pursuits, to whi.ch, in later years, he added 
cotton planting on an extensive scale. During the war he retired from 
active business, and when the strife ceased turned his attention to gen- 
eral speculation and cotton planting. He was twice married, first to 
Sarah, daughter of Hon. Benjamin Davenport, of Mendon, Mass, by 
whom he had three children, one dying in infancy: second, a daughter, 
dying at the age of eight years ; the third, Lyman Godfrey. His' first 
wife died in 1842, in Natchez, Miss., of consumption. His second wife, 
a native of Natchez, Mary Neibert, died Feb. 5, 1872, leaving no child- 
ren. He died on the 22d November, 1877. His son, Lyman Godfrey 
Aldrich, was born Jan. 31, 1839, and accompanied his mother to 
Natchez ; fall of same year returned to Massachusetts. After her death, 
in 1842, remained partly in Mendon, partly in Grafton, until fall of 1849, 
then went South. Followed an uneventful life until April, 1861, when 
he entered the Southern army as a private of the Natchez Quitman Light 
Artillery ; served through the war, meeting with various promotions, 
and ending as a major in C. S. A. Subsequent to the war eni^aged In 
cotton planting, to which he added sugar planting in 1873, and In which 
he continues. 

3. Ebenbzer, b. Jan. 1, 1806, m. Hannah Kimball. 

4. Benjamin, b. Dec. 4, 1809, nnm. 

5. Abbib, b. Mar. 4, 1799, unm. 

6. Betsey, b. 1804, d. unm. Oct. 2, 1828. 

7. Emeline, b. Aug. 3, 1814, m. Winthrop Faulkner. 

He was born in Billerica, Middlesex County, June 5, 1817, the son of 
Francis and Ann (Robbins) Faulkner. His education was limited to 
that of the common schools in his native town, with the exception of a 
very short time, when he attended an out-of-town Academy. He left 
home at the early age of sixteen years, for Nashua, N. H. Here he re- 
mained a short time, subsequently removing to Andover, Mass. In 1838 
he engaged in trade in this town as a country merchant, in the " Green 
store," where he remained for six years. In 1844 he erected his pres- 
ent building, now occupied as a store and his resilience. He was en- 
gaged in business here for twenty years, and for a number of years 
past has been out of active business life. He was one of our most suc- 
cessful business men, and retired on the accumulations of a prosperous 
business. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 449 

CHARLES ALDRICH, (Pardon), b. June 4, 1797, m. Nov. 8, 1823, Eliza 
Wadsworth, b. March 26, 1804. He d. June 13, 1847. Children, 

1. Charles E., b. July 17, 1824, m. Caroline Batcheller and Sarah 
Batcheller. 

2. Paudon W., b. Sept. 12, 1826, rev. Worcester. 

3. Cyrus D., b. March 22, 1829, m. Helen B. Whitney. 

4. Hannah E., b. Aug. 13, 1831, d. Oct. 15, 1835. 

5. George H., b. July 14, 1833, d. June 11, 1871. 

6. Lewis, b: May 5, 1«36, d. March 25, 1857. 

7. Albert, b. Nov. 10, 1837,- d. June 27, 1860. 

8. Franklin A., b. April 6, 1841. 

9. Edward K., b. Aug., 1846, unm. 



Major EBENEZEB ALDRICH, fPardon), b. Jan. 1, 1806, m. Nov. 26, 
1829, Hannah Kimball. He d. Sept. 27, 1853. Children, 

1. Ellen B., b. Sept. 2, 1830. 

2. Augustus K., b. Dec. 2, 1832, d. Feb. 15, 1835. 

3. Augustus K., b. April 15, 1835. 

4. William T., b. Oct. 14, 1837. 

5. Samuel W., b. November 28, 1839. 

6. James E., b. Jan. 6, 1843. 



CYRUS D. ALDRICH, (Charles, Pardon), b. March 22, 1829, m. June 
8, 1859, Helen B. Whitney (W), b. Oct. 13, 1838, d. May 4, 1873. He 
res. here and is engaged in business in Worcester. Children, 
1. Marion W., b. Nov. 4, 1860. 2. Charles F., b. Sept. 30, 1870. 



THOMAS ALDRICH, (lineage not ascertained), by wife Cynthia, had, 
1. Ellen M., b. Nov. 11, 1841. 2. Catherine, b. Dec. 25, 1843. 

3. Charles H., b. March 31, 1853, res. Cal. 

4. Frederick A., b. Feb. 8, 1855, ra. and res. in Worcester. 



MARCUS M. ALDRICH, (from Northbridge), by wife Mary A., had, 
1. Charlotte B., b. April 2, 1857. 



ALLEN. 

WALTER ALLEN was of Newbury, 1640, and resided there several 
years. He moved to Watertown prior to April, 1662; at that time he 
was a proprietor, and was one of a coroner's jury, July 19, 1663. He 
was " haberdasher of hats." 



JOSEPH ALLEN, Jr., (Joseph, Joseph, Walter), b. 1709, m. in 
Westborough, Feb. 19, 1732, Mary or Mercy Livermore, b. 1712 (Daniel, 
Samuel, John), d. March 1, 1789. He d. Aug. 18, 1793. 

" He was said to have been b. in Weston, and his mother d. when he 
was very young." They were " both of Hassanamisco," and rev. to 
Hardwick. Chil. 
1. Sarah, b. July 25, 1734. 



ELIJAH ALLEN, (lineage not ascertained), m. Nov. 27, 1744, Mary 
Hunt. Children, 

1. Timothy, b. Oct. 17. 1745. 2. Sarah, b. June 25, 1749. 
3. Jonas, b. Oct. 20, 1751. 4. Elijah, b. July 18, 1755. 
57 



450 HISTORY OF QEAFTON. 

LUKE F. ALLEN (Phineas), b. Sept., 1815, m. April 19, 1839, Elizabeth 
W. Greenwood, dau. of Jonas, d. Jan. 2, 1853; m. 2nd, Feb. 11, 1875, 
Kate Harrington (H). He was born in Oakham, and came to Grafton 
in 1835; he entered the employ of Pratt & Putnam, and subsequently 
worked for J. E. Putnam & Co., at New England Village. In 1842, he 
removed to the Centre and engaged in manufacturing shoes in company 
with Luther Stow, in which business he continued for three years. He 
bought out his partner and continued alone for a short time. In 1846, 
he formed a co-partnership with Samuel C. Flagg, which continued 
until Dec, 1877, when they were succeeded by Allen (Herbert ¥.) and 
Newton. The firm occupied the shop now owned by Lewis W. Dodge 
until 1858, when they removed to the shop built by F. M. Marble; this 
building was enlarged by them in 1871. He was representative in 1856, 
Children, 

1. Hbrbbrt F., b. April 5, 1842, m. Susan P. Hebbard, s. p. 

2. William J., b. Feb. 5, 1846, m. Christine C. Boyde. 



ETHAN ALLEN, (lineage not ascertained), by wife, Mary, had, 
1. Latjrbllb, b. March 17, 1838. 2. Angenett, b. Aug. 19, 1840. 



WILLIAM J. ALLEN, (Luke P., Phineas), b. Feb. 5, 1846, ra. Nov. 24, 
1874, Christine C. Boyde, b. Oct. 2, 1853. 

Chil. 
1. Lizzie Warkkn G., b. July 20, 1876. 



iNDREWS. 

WILLIAM D. ANDKEWS, son of Nahum and Nancy Gale Andrews, 
was born in Grafton, May 23, 1818. The family removed in 1828, to 
Needhara, now Grantville, where his father kept the well-known Hotel 
and Stage House, on the Boston and Worcester turnpike. Here and at 
Newton Lower Falls he attended the district school, entering a country 
store at the latter place and remaining one year; in 1833, he removed 
with his father's family to the city of New York, and engaged in various 
employments, being mainly connected with the iron interests. 

From 1836, his father having opened an iron yard, he remained in his 
employ until 1840, when they became interested in a wrecking company 
then operating upon the ship Bristol, at Uockaway, L. I., in which were 
associated Phineas Bennett, a noted inventor, and his son, Capt. Orlando 
Bennett, long famous as a wrecker; this connection continued until 
1847, and attracted his attention to mechanics and inventions, in which 
and his mercantile pursuits in the city of New York, mainly in connec- 
tion with iron and metal interests, he has since been engaged ; his busi- 
ness having been located for over forty years upon two adjoining 
blocks. 

His first invention, the Centrifugal pump, the pioneer of its class, 
was conceived from necessity, the mother of invention, and changed 
dire failure into success; its use was commenced in 1844, for removing 
sand from wrecked ships, other means having failed, and was patented 
in 1846; it has since been extensively introduced into the four quarters 
of the globe. 

The death of his father, in 1846, caused his relinquishment of the 
wrecking interests and his return and entire devotion to, the iron 
and metal trade. 

His patent was sold to I. Stuart Gwynne, by whom the pumps were 
manufactured in this country and were introduced, during the World's 
Fair of 1851, into England, where they are now extensively manufac- 




yoAAj] ' kJ/Ua/aj 




^ '^L. Wa CouudAju^ 




FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 4:51 

tured, by the Gwynne's, the leading Centrifugal pump manufacturers of 
Great Britain, in the city of London. 

An improved Centrifugal pump, patented in 1854, when put on exhibi- 
tion at the New York Crystal Palace, was tested, and found on trial to 
combine all the advantages of the so-called Gwynne pump, with a con- 
sumption of only one-half the power; this led to the starting of a small 
shop for its manufacture, which soon grew to large dimensions, and was 
carried on by the firm of William D. Andrews & Bro., in connection 
with their iron and metal business, and was exclusively devoted to the 
manufacture of this and other inventions of the senior partner, by 
whom in addition to many unpatented inventions, over thirty patents 
have since been taken out for Centrifugal pumps, force and feed pumps, 
steam engines, boilers, friction gear, safety elevators and kindred 
mechanical inventions, many of which are patented in Europe and have 
a world-wide reputation. 

The culminating success of the Centrifugal pump system was 
attained at the Philadelphia Centennial Exposition, where it supplied the 
waterfall and water for testing turbine water wheels, receiving with 
several others of his inventions the highest awards. 

One of these pumps capable of discharging 2,000 barrels of water 
per minute, the largest ever manufactured in the country, was used by 
Capt. Eads in deepening the mouth of the Mississippi river. 

Mr. Andrews' extended connection with pumps, pumping machinery, 
kindred inventions and enterprises connected therewith, led to his 
becoming interested in the American Driven Well, an invention which 
has revolutionized the methods of obtaining a water supply from the 
.earth, which had previously remained unchanged for centuries ; for the 
past seven years he has largely devoted himself to the introduction of 
that invention, and the prosecution of legal measures for maintaining 
the patent, in doing which, notwithstanding the employment of the 
most eminent patent counsel, it is conceded that the final establishment 
of the patent by numerous decisions of the United States Courts, is 
very largely due to his thorough knowledge of the subject, in its legal 
as well as its mechanical and scientific bearings, which in connection 
with his and a younger brother's business training and qualifications, 
have enabled them to give this invention an acknowledged standing 
among the great improvements of the age. 

Eeceiving only a Massachusetts district school education, finished in 
his fifteenth year, without mechanical education or training, capital or 
influence, always busily employed without even ordinary leisure or 
opportunities, the subject of this sketch during his busy life has 
mastered an amount of mechanical, scientific and legal knowledge that 
few persons have been able to do with the most favorable opportu- 
nities. 

Though in early life always taking an active interest in public affairs, 
and frequently urged by his friends for political preferment, his tastes 
and devotion to business precluded political aspirations, and with the 
exception of some years' connection with the management of the 
public schools, and two years service as a member of the New York 
Board of Education, his life has been strictly a private one, although 
he is widely known through his inventions, which are in use in the 
leading countries of the globe. 



AXTELL. 

The progenitor of the Axtells in America was Thomas Axtell, who came 
over from Burkhamstead, England, about 1642, where he was b. 1619. 
A brother of his, Col. Daniel Axtell, was prominent as a brave soldier 



452 HISTORY OF GRAFTON. 

and officer under Cromwell. He commanded the guards at the trial of 
Charles I., for which he was put to death as a regicide when Charles 
II. was restored. Thomas Axtell settled in Sudbury, where he died, in 
1646, at the early age of twenty-seven. Henry Axtell, his son, took 
land in Marlborough, in 1660, married in 1665, and had several children. 
He was killed by the Indians, April 21st, 1676. Of his two sons, 
Thomas, b. 1672, removed to Grafton somewhere about 1730, and settled 
in the north part of the town, in what is now called the " Farms," and on 
the very land now occupied by his descendants. Tradition reports that 
the earliest white inhabitants of Grafton spent their first winter in the 
town beside a large rock on the Axtell farm. Thomas Axtell had a 
mind of his own in all matters, especially religious, as the old records 
of the church in Grafton show. He is reported to have said of his two 
sons that "one was overmuch righteous, and the other overmuch 
wicked." He died Dec. 18, 1750. The former was Thomas, born 1712, 
who came to Grafton with his father and died here. 



0-4 



1-5 



2-3 



3-2 



THOMAS AXTELL, (Henry, Thomas), b. Aug. 8, 1672, m. Nov. 2, 
1697, Sarah Barker, of Concord. He d. 1750. Children, 

1. Thomas, b. Aug. 19, 1698, d. Dec. 22, 1698. 

2. Sarah, b. Feb. 16, 1703, m. Feb. 7, 1721, Josiah Hayden. 

3. Joseph, b. Aug. 1, 1705, m. 1730, Abigail Hayden. 

4. Thomas, b. May 11, 1712, m. Elizabeth Sherman and Mary Sanger. 
6. John, b. Apr. 15, 1716. 6. Abigail, b. Oct. 8, 1717. 



THOMAS AXTELL, (Thomas, Henry, Thomas), b. in Marlboro, May 

11, 1712, m. May 13, 1786, Elizabeth Sherman (S), b. Oct. 15, 1715, d. 

June 26, 1747; m. 2nd, Oct. 6, 1760, Mary Sanger. He d. 1798. Children, 

1. Sarah, b. Apr. 25, 1737. 2. Elizabrth, b. Apr. 26, 1739. 

3. Haknah, b. Oct. 6, 1741. 4. John, b. June 3, 1744. 

6. Thomas, b. Dec. 16, 1746, m. Deborah Jones, of Wrentham. 

6. Mart, b. Mar. 12, 1747. 7. Phebe, b. Mar. 13, 1747. Twins. 



THOMAS AXTELL, (Thomas, Thomas, Henry, Thomas), b. Dec. 16, 
1746, m. June 10, 1777, Deborah Jones, dan. of Seth, who was killed in 
the French and Indian war. He d. 1819. Children, 

1. Chole a., b. July 11, 1778, d. Mar. 2, 1851, unm. 

2. Seth, b. July 28, 1780, d. 1798. 

3. Thomas, b. May 2, 1783, m. Hannah Walker. 

4. Deborah, b. May 21, 1788, d. June, 1843. 

6. Olive, b. 1790, d. 1869. 6. John, b. July 15, 1792, d. young. 



THOMAS AXTELL, (Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, Henry, Thomas), b. 
May 2, 1783, m. 1808, Hannah Walker. Her father served seven years 
in the Revolutionary war. He d. Oct., 1824. Children, 

1. Adaline H., b. Oct. 7, 1809, m. John V. Leland (L). 

2. Seth J., b. June 26, 1811, m. Lucy B. Stratton. 

3. Thomas E., b. Apr. 20, 1813, d. June 26, 1813. 

4. Thomas R., b. Apr. 23, 1814. 

He went, when a young man, to St. Louis, Mo., where he spent the 
greater part of his life. He held various offices, being at one time col- 
lector of taxes for the county of St. Louis. 



SETH J. AXTELL, (Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, Henry, 
Thomas), b. June 26, 1811, m. Nov. 18, 1832, Lucy B. Stratton. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 453 

With the exception of two years he has always resided In Grafton. 
He had just commeuced the manufacture of boots and shoes when the 
financial crisis of 1837 came and swept away his all. About 1850 he left 
the shoemaker's bench to try manufacturing again. In this he contin- 
ued about twenty years, till failing health admonished him to retire to 
the old homestead, where he now lives. When a young man he united 
with the Baptist Church, of which he has always been a staunch sup- 
porter. In politics he identified himself, at the start, with the Liberty 
party, and labored, under the lead of Wilson and Sumner, for the 
triumph of the doctrines of freedom and equality. In 1862 he was 
chosen to the Legislature from Grafton, and heartily supported all 
measures proposed for the maintenance of the Union. Children, 

1. Joseph K., b. Sept. 26, 1834, m. Julia A. Laws. 

2. Sakah W., b. July 5, 1836. 

3. Jane E., b. Oct. 5, 1838, m. S. H. Hosmer. 

4. Seth J., Jr., b. Dec. 18, 1841, m. Mary C. Fletcher. 

5. Ctrds R., b. Sept. 15, 1845, m. Jane B. Standridge. 



JOSEPH K. AXTELL, (Seth J., Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, 
Henry, Thomas), b. Sept. 26, 1834, m. 1859, Julia A. Laws. He res. in 
Gardner. 

He studied at Monson Academy, and taught school several winters. 
In 1862 he enlisted in Co. E, 51st Mass. Vols., Colonel Sprague, serving 
his nine months in South Carolina. Returning home he engaged in 
business with his father, and is now proprietor of a boot and shoe store. 
Ch. 
1. Walter C, b. Aug. 6, 1860. 



Rev. seth J. AXTELL, Jr., (Seth J., Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, 
Thomas, Henry, Thomas), b. Dec. 18, 1841, m. Aug. 1, 1865, Mary C. 
Fletcher (F). 

He early showed a decided liking for books and study. Passing 
through the district and High schools of Grafton he spent a year fitting 
for college at Pierce Academy, Middleborough, and entered Amherst 
College in 1859. The next year he left Amherst for Brown University 
(his original choice) ; continued there till 1862, when he enlisted in the 
same company with his brother, Joseph K., and served his term in 
North Carolina. Returning in 1863, he resumed his studies at Brown, 
and graduated in 1864. He entered Newton Theological Institution the 
same year, completed the regular three-years' course, and was ordained 
to the work of the ministry in the Baptist denomination, Jan. 31, 1868, 
at Monroe, Michigan. In 1870 he returned to Massachusetts, and 
settled at West Medway, December 1st, where he remained till April, 
1878. Removing thence to Needham, he received an invitation to the 
presidency of Leland University, a school established at New Orleans, 
La., for the education of colored teachers and preachers, which posi- 
tion he accepted. In this work he is now engaged. Children, 

1. William F., b. Aug. 12, 1869, at Monroe, Mich. 

2. Ethel M., b. Aug. 10, 1872, at W. Medway, Mass. 

3. Harold L., b. May 24, 1876, at W. Medway, Mass. 



CYRUS R. AXTELL, (Seth J., Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, Thomas, 
Henry, Thomas), b. Sept. 15, 1845, m. Jane Standridge. 

He also served a short time in the war ; married in Grafton, and now 
resides with his father on the homestead. Children, 



454 HIBTORT OF GEAFTON. 

1. Roland J., b. Mar. 11, 1869. 2. Ada, b. Sept. 4, 1872. 
3. Elsie S., b. Mar. 31, 1877. 



DANIEL AXTELL, (lineage not ascertained), m. Nov. 12, 1754, Eliza- 
beth Whlttemore. Children, 
1. Moses, b. Jan. 11, 1755. 2. Aaron, b. Mar. 23, 1757. 



JOHN AXTELL, d. Apr. 10, 1742. 



BAKER. 

Many of this name have wrongly supposed that at least all the New 
England stock sprung from one common American ancestor or family, 
but the records show that a number came from England prior to 1650, 
and settled in various parts of New England, and if of common origin, 
it dates back of their settlement in America. Among these were Corne- 
lius, of Salem, Mass.; Alexander, of Boston, 163.5; Francis, 1633; John, 
1644; and William, also of Boston; Daniel, of Yarmouth; Ebenezer, of 
Salem; Jeffrey, of Windsor, 1642; John, of Ipswich, 1634; John, of 
Woburn, 1644; John, of Hartford; Nathaniel and brother, of Hingham, 
1635; Nicholas, of Hingham, 1636; Nathaniel, of Watertown; Richard, 
of Dorchester, 1639; Robert and Thomas, of Roxbury ; Samuel and Ed- 
ward, of Lynn, 1630; Thomas, of Milford, 1630; and some others. 
About half of these families have genealogies more or less full, in some 
of the branches extending to the present time. 



CORNELIUS BAKER, m. May 26, 1763, Esther Gold. "Nov. 16, 1753, 
he returned home from soldiering." 



WARD BAKER, b. 1772, m. Phebe Fowler. Children, 

1. SoPHRONiA, b. 1799, m. Zalmon Toby. 

2. Almira, b. 1800, m. Dr. Levi Rawson. 3. Hillbl, b. 1803. 

4. Naucissa, b. 1805, d. 1828. 

5. MiLLOTT, b. 1806, m. Susan Roberts. 

6. Fatinia, b. 1808, m. Job Nelson. 



THOMAS M. BAKER, b. 1777, m. May 1, 1798, Betsey Sherman. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Betsey, b. 1801, m. John Shurtliff. 

2. Thomas M., b. 1803, m. Sophia Morse and Bathsheba Brown. 

3. Mekeill, b. 1806, m. Martha Brown. 

4. Lapulett, b. 1808, d. 1811. 

5. Nancy, b. 1811, m. Stillman Coburn. 



THOMAS M. BAKER, Jr., (Thomas M.), b. 1803, m. Sophia Morse and 

Bathsheba Brown. Children, 

1. Samuel, b. 1820. 2. Susan, b. 1828. 3. BBrsEY, b. 1831. 

4. Thomas M., Jr., b. 1845. 



LOVELL BAKER, b. 1779, m. Mary Legg. He d. July 24, 1857. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Cynthia, b. 1804, d. 1820. 

2. LovELL, Jr., b. 1808, m. Sarah P. Page. 

3. Mary, b. 1813, m. Andrew E. Turner (T). 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 455 

LOVELL BAKER, Jr., (Lovell), b. 1808, m. Sarah P. Page, b. 1805, 
dau. of John. He res. in Worcester. Children, 

1. Cynthia E., b. June 24, 1830. 

2. John L., b. Jan. 7, 1832, m. Sarah B. Warren (W), s. p. 



THOMAS J. BAKER, by wife, Anna, had, 
1. William J., b. Nov. 19, 1825. 2. Mary A., b. Nov. 21, 1827. 
3. Ann E., b. Oct. 12, 1830. 4. Martha A., b. May 10, 1833. 
5. Thomas P., b. Jan. 19, 1835. 6. Ellen L., b. March 15, 1837. 
7. Edward A., b. Dec. 22, 1839. 



HEALEY BAKER, m. Lucy E. Maynard, April 4, 1839. Gideon Baker 
d. Aug. 21, 1751. 



BARNAKD. 

JOHN BARNARD, the ancestor, came from Ipswich, Eng., 1634, and 
settled in Watertown. He was made freeman in 1634. 



ISAAC BARNARD, (James, John, John), b. March 13, 1701, ra. Nov. 
15, 1726, Sarah Stearns, b. May 9, 1708, d. April 9, 1806. He removed 
from Watertown to Grafton, and subsequently to Millbury and 
Worcester. He was a Justice of the Peace, and d. March 18, 1788. 
Children, 

1. Isaac, b. May 27, 1727, physician, and res. in Thomaston, Me. 

2. Sarah, b. May 11, 1729, m. Rev. James Wellman; they had ten ch. 
in all. 



BATCHELLER. (Batchellor, Batchelder.) 

JOSEPH BATCHELLER of Canterbury, England, embarked for New 
England in 1636, "with his wife, Elizabeth, one child and three ser- 
vants." He settled first in Salem, that part afterwards Wenham: was 
made freeman in 1637; was deputy in the General Court at Boston, in 
1644, and the first representative from Wenham. Whether he was 
related to Rev. Stephen Batcheller cannot be ascertained. Mr. Jno. 
A. Boutell, the antiquarian and student of family histories, says, "the 
Batchellers in thiS"country are not connected with each other." 

Joseph Batcheller is the ancestor of the Suttou and Grafton families 
bearing the name. His children were, Mark, John, Elizabeth and 
Hannah. His descendants have remained in Wenham until the present 
time. Mark, probably his son, was killed in the assault made upon the 
stronghold of the Narragansetts, December, 1675. 

The church in Wenham was organized Oct. 8, 1644, and Joseph 
Batcheller was one of the members. His wife, Elizabeth, was admitted 
to membership on the 17th of November of the same year. He died 
about 1699. 



MOSES BATCHELLER, (Abner, Abraham, David, John, Joseph), b. 
in Sutton, Nov. 22, 1784, m. Jan. 7, 1807, Polly Chase, b. Jan. 25, 1791, 
d. Jan. 16, 1871. Children, 

1. Mary, b. Dec. 22, 1807, m. Jason L. Lewis and Robert W. Phillips 

2. MosES L., b. Dec. 3, 1809, m. Sarah A. Phillips. 

3. Alexander, b. Dec. 2, 1811, m. Lucy Dean, Ruth Young and Keziah 
Wallen. He rev. to Minn., where he practised his profession, that of 
medicine, and died much respected. 



4:56 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

4. Jonas H., b. March 17, 1816, m. Rachel Wallen and Kezlah Sayles. He 
res. in Penn. 

5. Charles F., b. March 4, 1823, unm. 



MOSES L. BATCHELLER, (Moses, Abner, Abraham, David, John, 
Joseph), b. Dec. 3, 1809, m. Nov. 13, 1833, Sarah A. Phillips (P). d. 
May 22, 1877. He d. May 22, 1851. lie began the manufacture of 
scythes in Grafton about 1833, and continued some years, subsequently 
moving to Burrillville, R. I., and joining with the " Inmans," who were 
extensive manufactures. The quality of his goods was the very best 
and they found a ready market in all sections of the country. The 
name " Batcheller," which was stamped upon every scythe was a 
guarantee as to quality, etc. Children, 

1. George C, b. Sept. 27, 1834, m. S. Ada Cummings, and res. in New 
York. 

He received his early education at the Grafton High School, and rudi- 
ments of business of Harrington & Wheeler; graduated at Barre 
Academy, 1855. In the fall of 1855 he went to Boston and engaged 
himself as clerk in the well-known house of Turner, Wilson & Co., 
wholesale dry goods dealers; remained with them until the panic of 
1857. He removed to New York in 1858, continuing in the same line 
of business until 1861. He then commenced the manufacture of 
hoop skirts under the firm name of Nichols & Batcheller, and continued 
until Dec. 31, 1864, which firm carried on a successful business. He 
then joined the celebrated house of W. S. Thomson, Langdon & Co., 
manufacturers of " The Crown Skirt and Patent Glove Fitting Corsets." 
The celebrity of their goods is world-renowned, and they find a market 
in every quarter of the globe. The senior member of the Ann retired 
January, 1879, and the business is now carried on by Geo. C. Batcheller 
and his partner, Chas. H. Langdon. 

2. HiEAM W., b. Jan. 25, 1841, m. Mary Reynolds. 

He came to Worcester when quite young. At the breaking out of the 
civil war he enlisted in the 21st regiment as private and served through- 
out the' rebellion, and returned as seargent-major of his regiment. 
After his return to Worcester he joined the Worcester Brass Band, and 
received good musical training from the skilled hands of Thomas 
Richardson. Some years ago he emigrated to Binghamton, N. Y., since 
which time he has made music his chief study ; teaching band music. 
He is leader of one of the principal bands in that place, which bears his 
name. 

3. Mary Louisa, b. Jan. 24, 1846, m. Henry Ainsworth, and d. at sea 
between New York and New Orleans, in 1865. 

4. William H., b. Oct. 1, 1852, res. New York city. 



DAVID BATCHELLER, by wife. Thankful , had. Children, 

1. Thankful, b. Sept. 4, 1735. 2. Pbrrin, b. Nov. 1, 1737. 

3. Dinah, negro servant to David, b. June 16, 1738. 

4. Susannah, b. Jan. 14, 1740. 6. David, b. April 28, 1742. 
6. William, b. Feb. 24, 1743. 



NEHEMIAH BATCHELLER, by wife Experience , had Children, 

1. David, b. March 25, 1739. 2. Mary, b. Aug. 3, 1740. 
3. Nehemiah, b. Oct. 25, 1741. 4. Phebe, b. Oct. 3, 1743. 
5. Lydia, b. Nov. 1, 1745. 6. Elijah, b. Feb. 28, 1747. 
7. BuLAH, b. Oct. 12, 1749. 



JOSEPH BATCHELLER, m. Mary , d. June 21, 1773; 2nd*, Sept. 

* In B. Sudbury. 




AHTOTYPE, H»B»OUN 1 BIERSTAOT .1 . V. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 457 

8, 1780, Sarah Tilton. He d. in 1797, beloved and respected by all his 
acquaintance. His death is sincerely \a.meBteci.— Massachusetts Spy. 
Children, 

1. Mary, b. Aug. 10, 1743. 

2. Pbrlby, b. Sept. 7, 1745, m. Mary . 

3. Susannah, b. Jan. 7, 1747, d. Feb. 1, 1747. 

4. Sakah, b. Aug. 1, 1748. 5. Joseph, b. Jan. 8, 1749, d. Oct. 21, 1751. 
6. Jerbmiah, b. Aug. 31, 1751. 7. Sdsannah, b. Dec. 15, 1753. 



1-2 



2 
8 

2-6 



PERLBY, (Joseph), b. Sept. 7, 1745, m. Mary , d. Aug. 19, 1828. 

He d. Feb. 7, 1812. Children, 

1. Joseph, b. Oct. 9, 1772, d. July 19, 1776. 

2. Moses, b. April 1, 1774, d. April 13, 1774. 

3. Aaron, b. April 1, 1774. 

4. Susannah, b. Jan. 24, 1775, d. July 22, 1776. 

5. Molly, b. April 26, 1777, d. April 26, 1777. 

6. Perley, b. March 10, 1778, m. Lois . 

7. Sally, b. Aug., 1780. 

8. John, b. Sept. 13, 1783, m. Sally . 



PERLEY BATCHELLER, (Perley, Joseph), b. March 10, 1778, m. Lois 
Children, 



1. Mary A., b. Aug. 26, 1805. 2. Julia S., b. March 30, 1807. 

8. Charles H., b. Feb. 19, 1809. 

4. Harriet B., b. Sept. 3, 1810, m. David Packard, and d. March 31, 1838. 

5. Joseph P., b. April 3, 1812. 

6. Martha A., b. June 9, 1814, d. Sept. 10, 1840. 

7. Samuel S., b. June 21, 1816. 8. William A., b. June 30, 1819. 

9. Benjamin W., b. May 22, 1824. 



3-8 



JOHN BATCHELLER, (Perley, Joseph), b. Sept. 13, 1783, m. Sally 
He d. in Millbury, Oct. 9, 1843. Children, 



1. Sarah S., b. Sept. 2, 1809. 

2. Hannah R., b. Nov. 20, 1811, d. Jan. 9, 1835. 
8. John A., b. May 15, 1814, d. Aug. 4, 1815. 

4. John A., b. May 1, 1816, d. Oct. 15, 1821. 

5. Joseph M., b. Aug. 15, 1820, d. March 15, 1822. 

6. Mary E., b. Aug. 16, 1820, d. March 24, 1822. 

JONATHAN BATCHELLER, m. Thankful . Ch., 

1. Margerey, b. April 18, 1771. 



NATHANIEL BATCHELLER, m. Oct. 8, 1778, Betty Wait. Children, 
1. Nathaniel, b. Dec. 14, 1779. 2. Betty, b. March 7, 1780. 
3. Lydia, b. Oct. 9, 1782. 



JOSEPH BATCHELLER, b. June 10, 1791, m. Feb. 18, 1823, Hannah 
Paul Merriam (M), b. Aug. 20, 1798. He d. Aug. 29, 1868. 

He was born probably in this town, on Keith Hill. Soon after mar- 
riage he lemoved to Farnumsville, and resided in an old house about 
half-way between the Baptist Meeting-house and the old Wadsworth 
house; here he was engaged in business. In 1821, he removed to the 
centre of the town and resided in the John Bennett house, afterwards 
in the Forbush house, and subsequently in the old Hannah Pease house; 
here he was in business in company with Hon. Samuel Wood and Paul 
58 



458 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

Farnum. He finally removed to New England Village, and there con- 
ducted the business of the company (Wood, Kimball & Co.). The style 
of the firm was afterwards changed to Batcheller & Kimball (Noah), 
and to Joseph Batcheller. In 1851 he removed to Worcester, where he 
resided for three years, returning lo Grafton in 1854. Two years later 
he purchased the farm now occupied by his wife and son, Charles M. 
Children, 

1. Joseph G., b. Mar. 29, 1824, m., and d. Ang. 13, 1873. 

2. Nathaniel W., b. Nov. 16, 1825, m., and d. June 28, 1868. 

He was educated at the common schools here, and before attaining 
his majority he went to Worcester and was employed as clerk in a dry 
goods store, subsequently engaging in business on his own account. 
In 1850, or thereabouts, he removed to Boston, and was employed by 
Pierce Brothers & Co., in their wholesale dry goods house, as clerk. 
He was at one time captain of the Boston Light Infantry, and later, 
captain of the Sixth Battalion of Rifles. When the late war of the Re- 
bellion broke out the four companies in the Battalion of Rifles formed 
the nucleus of the Thirteenth Regiment, which went into camp at Fort 
Independence, Boston harbor. He was promoted to lieutenant-colonel, 
and served in this capacity until the expiration of his term of service. 
He was at one time provost-marshal under Gen. N. P. Banks, in Mary- 
land. Returning to Boston, he engaged in business, and died there. 

3. Mary C, b. July 10, 1827, m. Charles Aldrich, and d. Mar. 13, 1851. 

4. George L., h. Feb. 25, 1829. 5. Samuel W., b May 1, 1831. 

6. Charles M., b. Mar. 29, 1833. Res. here with his mother. 

7. Sarah E., b. Oct. 22, 1834, m. Charles Aldrich, and res. in Auburn- 
dale. 

8. John D., b. Apr. 22, 1839, d. Dec. 16, 1844. 



BIGELOW, (Biglow, Biglo, Bigulah, etc.). 

JOHN BIGELOW, blacksmith, of Watertown, took the oath of fldelity, 
1652, and was selectman 1665, 1670, 1671. He m. Mary Warren, (this 
is the earliest m. found on the Watertown records) ; m. 2nd, Sarah 
Bemis. This family was early in the country, and may be traced to a 
remote period in England, even to the reign of Henry III., when the 
name was written Baguley, and was derived from the place where they 
dwelt. Richard, at that time, was lord of Baguley, and his descendants 
took the name of the place. In the reign of Henry VII., Ralph de Bag- 
uley was lord of Ollertou Hall. The ancestor, John, descended from 
Ralph, through Randall, Robert, Randall and Francis. 



SAMUEL BIGELOW, Jr., (Samuel, John), b. Sept. 18, 1677, ra. 1705, 
Ruth Warren (W), b. Oct. 15, 1681, d. Apr., 1716; m. 2nd, Dec. 4, 1716, 
Mary Gleason. His estate was settled in 1734. Children, 

1. Mary, b. Dec. 17, 1705, m. Daniel Ward. 

2. Samuel, b. Oct. 16, 1707. Father of Silas, who gr. Harvard Uni- 
versity, 1765; ordained in Paxton, 1767. 

3. Cornelius, b. Mar. 24, 1710, m. Mary Greaves. 

4. Jkdediah, b. Feb. 8, 1714, m. Thamezine Hemenway. 

5. Ruth, b. 1716, d. 1716. 

6. Jason, b. Apr. 11, 1718, m. Abigail Witt, and d. in Brookfleld. 

7. Ruth, b. Dec. 30, 1719, m. Daniel Hemenvi'ay. 

8. Amakiah, b. Sept 14, 1722, m. Lydia Brigham. Was deacon and res. 
in Shrewsbury (Boylston). 

9. Martha, b. Oct. 21, 1724. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 459 

CORNELIUS BIGELOW, (Samuel, Samuel, John), b. Nov. 24, 1710, m. 
Dec. 28, 1731, Mary Greaves, of Westborough. He res. in West- 
borough, and ovpned the covenant in Grafton. He had a family of eight 
children. 



JEDEDIAH BIGELOW. (Samuel, Samuel, John), b. Feb. 8, 1714, m. 
1737, Thameziue Hemenway. Children, 

1. Abigail, b. Nov. 14, 1737. 

2. Ruth, b. Sept. 25, 1739. 

3. Sarah, b. July 14, 1741. 



SAMUEL BIGELOW, (Samuel, Samuel, Samuel, John), b. June 24, 
1731, ra. July 1, 1755, Phebe Rand, b. 1733, d. June 10, 1770; m. 2nd, 
1770, Anna Winchester. Childien, 

1. LavInah, b. Feb. 1, 1756, m. James Wheeler (W). 

2. Mary, b. Apr. 13, 1757. 

3. Vashti, b. May 19, 1758, m. James Wheeler (W). 

4. LucRETIA, b. June 1, 1760, m. Adam Harrington and Capt. Martin 
Newton. 

5. Humphrey, b. Sept. 4, 1761, m. Mary Underwood and Hannah Whip- 
ple. 

6. Serena, b. Mar. 14, 1765, m. Benja. Jennings, Jr., of Brookfleld. 

7. John, b. Dec. 11, 1771. 



HUMPHREY BIGELOW, (Samuel, Samuel, Samuel, Samuel, John), b. 
Sept. 4, 1761, m. Dec. 20, 1786, Mary Underwood, b. 1767, d..Oct. 6, 
1789 ; m. 2nd, 1791, Hannah Whipple. He rev. to Sutton. Children, 

1. John, b. Aug. 12, 1787, d. 1810. 

2. Samuel, b. July 2, 1793, ra. Cynthia Forbush (F). 

3. Cathekine, b. Aug. 12, 1795. 

4. Hannah, b. Oct. 2, 1797, ra. Richardson and Pardon Al- 

drich (A). 

They had three other children b. in Sutton. 



Hon. ABRAHAM M. BIGELOW, (Charles, Charles, Joseph, John, Sam- 
uel, John), b. Feb. 1, 1810, m. May, 1833, Mary E. Bartlett, b. .Jan. 25, 
1812, d. May 2, 1848 : m. 2nd, Mar. 14, 1849, Eliza Jane Whlttemore, b. 
Aug. 23, 1824. 

A special dispatch received at this office,* late Monday night, from 
Boston, announced the sudden death of Hon. Abraham M. Bigelow, of 
Grafton, senator-elect from the second Worcester district, at the Evans 
House, in that city, last evening, f Mr. Bigelow was one of Grafton's 
most prominent citizens, and most influential and enterprising business 
men. At the time of his death he was engaged in the currying bus- 
iness, being the senior member of the well Iinown Arm of A. M. Bige- 
low & Co. As a business man Mr. Bigelow has always enjoyed the con- 
fidence of all with whom he has had dealings, and especially the people 
of Grafton, by whom his advice was frequently sought. As a citizen, 
he was ever ready to assist in any worli for the promotion of the public 
welfare, and was many times elected to positions of trust in the town. 
At the last State election he was chosen senator by a handsome majority, 
and the citizens of the district cougfatulated tliemselves upon liaving 
secured the services of so able and experienced a representative. 
Throughout the Second Senatorial District, and particularly among his 
relatives and personal friends, his loss will be sincerely regretted. The 

* Worcester Daily Spy. t He died Nov. 30, 1875. 



460 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

faneral services were held in presence of a very large and deeply sym- 
pathizing audience, at the West Congregational Chui'ch in Grafton. 
Mr. Bigelow was born in Northboiough, Mass., Feb. 1st, 1810. In that 
town he acquired a thorough and practical knowledge of the tanning 
and currying business, and at the age of twenty-one came to Grafton, 
and soon after began business with his brother, Edward, with whom he 
remained in partnership for nearly thirty years. 

Subsequently Mr. Bigelow went into the leather business in Pearl 
street, Boston, under the firm of A. M. Bigelow & Co., and rapidly built 
up a large and successful business until the great Are. With an uncon- 
quered energy he re-opened on High street, where he was doing busi- 
ness at the time of his decease. In connection with the Boston busi- 
ness he carried on large tanneries in New Hampshire, and was largely 
interested, as he was the wise counsellor and strong helper, in the large 
currying establishments in our own town. 

" His business ability, good judgment, and strong common sense 
which he exhibited, made drafts upon his services in many other ways. 
He had frequently been chosen on the Board of Selectmen of his town ; 
had been elected to both houses of the State Legislature ; and at his 
decease was expecting soon to take his seat in the State Senate, to 
which, for the second time, he had been chosen. At the date of his 
death he was president of the Grafton Savings Bank, and one of the 
Board of Directors of the Grafton National Bank. Of the church that 
mourns his loss he has been a member since 1839, or for thirty-six 
years ; cheerfully prompt to sustain the services of the sanctuary by his 
means and his presence. His death took place suddenly, at the Evans 
House, Boston, where, with his family, he had taken rooms for the 
winter."* The funeral services closed with the hymn " Rock of Ages,' 
sung by a quartette. The casket, containing the remains, was covered 
with rare and beautiful flowers, and crowns and crosses of exotics were 
arranged about it. The church and pulpit were draped in an appro- 
priate manner, and during the services the stores and places of business 
in the town were closed. Among those present were a large delegation 
of bis workmen, who attended in a body, and evinced by their sympathy 
their attachment to one whq was truly the friend of the toiler, a dele- 
gation from the Boston Board of Trade, and a delegation from Keene, 
N. H. The president and directors of the Grafton National Bank acted 
as pall bearers. 

A meeting of the shoe and leather dealers of Boston was held at the 
New England Shoe and Leather Exchange, No. 125 Federal street, yes- 
terday, to testify their respect for the late Hon. A. M. Bigelow. 
Thoinas E. Proctor, president of the association, occupied the chair. 
Remarks, bearing testimony to the integrity of character and sterling 
worth of the deceased, were made by the president and several others. 
Appropriate resolutions were also adopted, and a committee appointed 
to attend the funeral. Children, 

1. Mary J., b. Apr. 18, 1836, m. Andrew H. Adams (A). 

2. Fredkkick, b. Apr. 16, 1838, d. Sept. 12, 18.38. 

3. Helbn M., b. Sept. 5, 1839, m. Arthur G. Biscoe, b. May 26, 1842; 
graduated Amherst Coll., 1862; served in the army from Sept., '62, to 
Aug., '63; practised law in Westborough from 1864 to present time. 

4. Henry B., b. Aug. 13, 1841, d. May 20, 1843. 

5. Frederick H., b. May 2, 1851, d. June 14, 1852. 

6. Ada F., b. Dec. 13, 1853, m. Asa E. Stratton, who graduated at 
Brown University. He is now practising law in Fitchburg. 

7. Walter I., b. Oct. 7, 1855. 
He received an excellent common school and academic education in 



* Rev. J. H. Windsor's funeral discourse. 



FAMILY GENBAL0QIK8. 461 

the schools of his native town. He entered Yale Collese in the fall of 
1873, and graduated with honors in June, 1877. He is a member of the 
well-known Arm of A. M. Bigelow & Co., 98 High street, Boston, in 
which city he resides with his mother. 



Hon. EDWARD B. BFGELOW, (Charles, Charles, Joseph, John, 
Samuel, John), b. July 21, 1807, m. July 17, 1834, Eleanor M. Moore, b. 
1815, d. Feb. 26, 1864. 

Edward B. Bigelow was born in Northborough, Mass., July 21, 1807. 
His early life was passed in the place of his birth, and Lancaster, Mass. 
Ho learned the trade of tanner and currier of Col. Davis of North- 
borough; settled in the town of Grafton about the year 1831. He was 
married in Worcester, Mass., to Miss Eleanor M. Moore, of that city, 
July 17, 1884. In 1832, he established the boot and shoe business with 
his brother Abraham M. Bigelow, under the firm of E. B. Bigelow & Co., 
and continued in this business till the beginning of the war. He occu- 
pied positions of trust and honor in church and town. In the years 
1850 and 1851, as senator, a delegate to the Constitutional Convention 
to revise the Statutes of Massachusetts ; held the office of Treasurer of 
the State Reform School a number of years; a delegate to the Repub- 
lican Convention at Chicago, 1860; one of the Directors of the First 
Banking Institution in Grafton ; also a Director in the Bay State Insur- 
ance Company, Worcester, Massachusetts; for thirty years treasurer of 
the Evangelical Congregational Church and Society; also superintend- 
ent of the Sunday School; before the war that abolished slavery, a 
strong advocate of the anti-slavery cause. He died after an illness of 
four weeks of malignant carbuncle, Sept. 20, 1871. He, like his brother, 
Hon. Abraham M., was much respected by his fellow-citizens. Children, 

1. Gbokgr W., b. Oct. 15, 1835, d. May 14, 1836. 

2. Oeokge M., b. July 13, 1837, .unm. 

3. Jank M., b. Aug. 16, 1840, m. Edward L. Buttrick, res. in Charles- 
' town, W. Va. 

4. Thomas M., b. Sept. 26, 1842, m. Mrs. Louise K. Savage. 

5. Henry M., b. Dec. 29, 1844, ra. Jenette Longworth, res. in Boston. 

6. Alden M., b. March 28, 1848, ra. Isabcai Merrill. 

7. Arthur M., b. Sept. U, 1851, m. Mary E. Merrill. 



ALDEN M. BIGELOW, (Edward B., Charles, Charles, Joseph, John, 
Samuel, John), b. March 28, 1848, m. Sept. 23, 1874, Isabell Merrill, b. 
Dec. 17, 1848, s. p. He is extensively engaged in currying leather in 
company with his brother. 



ARTHUR M. BIGELOW, (Edward B., Charles, Charles, Joseph, John, 
Samuel, John), b. Sept. 11, 1851, m. Oct. 10, 1878, Mary E. Merrill, b. 
Aug. 27, 1868, s. p. He is a member of the firm of A. & A. Bigelow, 
curriers. 



HON. CHARLES BIGELOW, (Charles, Charles, Joseph, John, Samuel, 
John), b. July 15, 1805, m. May 25, 1829, Cynthia G. Warren, d. Sept. 4, 
1841 ; m. 2nd, Dec, 1849, Harriet C. Taft. His first wife was lost at sea 
on board the Cuba, between Galveston and New York. Col. Bigelow, 
b. in Northborough, resided there until he was ten years of age, when 
his father removed to Lancaster. He left home at the age of sixteen 
years ; returning to Northborough, he entered the employ of Col. 
Joseph Davis, with whom he remained seven years. He removed to 
Detroit, Mich., and started the first tan-yard in the North Western 



462 HISTOKT OF GItAFTON. 

country, which he carried on until 1831, when he came to this town. 
For several years he was engaged In business here, in Nortlibridge, 
Oxbridge and Worcester. He then went to Texas, and when the Mexi- 
can war brolte out was appointed colonel of a regiment of Eangers. 
He was stationed on the Rio Grande and took a prominent part in the 
battle of Palo Alto. He was elected mayor of Houston, in 1840 and 
1841. He finally returned north and is now engaged in the currying 
business here. Children, 

1. Sarah W., b. March, 1831, unm. 

2. Agnes L., b. May, 1833, m. William Goodnow, and res. Atlanta, Ga. 

3. Hattib C, b. 1852, m. Robert C. Gerabrant, and res. in Chicago. 

4. Charles, b. Dec, 1854, unm. 



H. D. P. BIGELOW, m. Mary L. ■ , b. June 1, 1814, d. Nov. 11, 

1853. Children, 

1. EM.MA A., b. July 25, 1840, d. Feb. 27, 1857. 

2. Adalaid L., b. Aug. 18, 1844. 3. Willis H., b. Dec. 13, 1847. 
4. Anna A., b. Nov. 1, 1851. 



LUCAS BIGELOW, (Gershom, Ivory, Ger.shom, John, Samuel, John), 
b. Dec. 14, 1808, m. March 31, 1830, Mahala L. Stow (S). 



LEWIS H. BIGELOW, (Lewis), m. April 2, 1844, Rhoda A. Kemp. 

Children, 

1. OsCAK L., d. Aug. 12, 1848. 2. OscAU F., b. Nov. 27, 1854. 

3. Mary A., m. Franklin Bigelow. 4. Ella M., d. May 29, 1850. 



BOWMAN. 

NATHANIEL BOWMAN applied to be admitted freeman Oct. 19, 1630, 
but was not admitted. He was oue of the earliest proprietors. He 
rev. to Lexington from Watertown. 



Hon. JOSEPH BOWMAN, (Major Joseph, Capt. Thaddeus, Capt. 
Joseph, Joseph, Francis, Nathaniel), b. Sept. 10, 1771, m. for 2nd wife, 
Jan. 14, 1846, Mrs., Hannah B. D. Leland. He res. in New Braintree, 
and died without Issue by this wife. 



BRIGHAM is a Saxon word, compounded of Brigg— bridge, and ham- 
house. It was originally the name of a manor, now called the parish 
of Brigham, in the county of Cumberland, near Scotland, to which It 
has at times belonged. Thomas Brigham was the emigrant to this 
country, and settled in Watertown. 



AARON BRIGHAM, (Thomas, Nathan, Thomas, Thomas), b. March 
17, 1720, m. Dec. 1740, Elizabeth Brown; m. 2nd, 1761, Sarah Winches- 
ter. He d. between Sept, 8 and Oct. 31, 1768. Children, 

1. Aaron, b. Aug. 30, 1741, d. unm. 

2. Sakah, b. Sept. 2, 1742, d. unm. 

8. Elizabeth, b. Oct. 30, 1743, d. Aug. 4, 1760. 

4. Dorothy, b. Dec. 24, 1744, d. 1769. 

5. Thomas, b. Feb. 7, 1745, d. unm. 

6. Ephraim, b. March 2, 1746, m. Sarah . 

7. Jambs, b. Aug. 23, 1748, d. unm. 

8. Amamah, b. Jau. 3, }749, d. Jan. 28, 1752. 

9. Lydia, b. Sept. 6, 1753, d. unm. 







< 

X 

c 
2 
m 

s 



o 

K 

H 



FAMILT GENEALOGIES. 463 

10. Lucy, b. Dec. 6, 1754, d. unm. 

11. Kebkcca, b. Feb. 22, 1756, d. April 15, 1759. 

12. Amaeiah, b. Sept. 18, 1757, in. twice, and d. MiUbury. 

13. Rebecca, b. April 26, 1759, m. Smith, rev. to Montpelier, Vt. 

14. Joseph, b. April 28, 1761. 

15. Elizabeth, b. April 19, 1763, d. March 13, 1764. 

16. Moses, b. April 8, 1765. 



EPHEAIM BRIGHAM, (Aaron, Thomas, Nathan, Thomas, Thomas), b. 

March 2, 1746, m. Sarah , and had children, 

1. Aahon, b. March 29, 1771. 2. Betty, b. Feb. 26, 1773. 



EZEKIEL BRIGHAM, (Thomas, Nathan, Thomas, Thomas), b. Feb. 14, 
1723, m. Martha Bigelow, b. 1725, d. Aug. 1. 1764; ra. 2nd, Melicent 
Sherman. She d. at the age of seventy. He d. April 4, 1788. Children, 

1. Abnee, b. Feb. 19, 17.50, m. Molly Emerson, and rev. toHartland, Vt. 

2. Martha, b. April 23, 1753, m. Benjamin Leland (L). 

3. EzEKiEL, b. March 30, 1755, m. Patience Gowing. 

4. Isaac, b. May 30, 1757, m. Betsey Frost, d. in Milford. 

5. John, b. July 3, 1759, d. at Oxford, Nov. 25, 1839, nnm. 

6. Miriam, b. March 10, 1761, m. Joseph Gallop, rev. to Melbourne, Ca. 

7. HuLDAH, b. Dec. 1, 1762, m. Moses Rockwood. 

8. Sarah, b. Aug. 23, 1766, m. Aaron Hall, rev. to Weathersfield, Vt. 

9. Jacob, b. Dec. 6, 1769, m. Polly Dudlev, rev. to Redding, Vt. 

10. MiLLiCENT, b. Dec. 26, 1771, d. 1814, in Weathersfield, Vt. 

11. Lydia, b. Sept. 29, 1774, m. Isaac Stone, rev. to Ward (Auburn). 

12. Anna, b. Aug. 27, 1776, d. April, 1847, unm. in Oxford. 



Lieut. EZEKIEL BRIGHAM, (Ezekiel, Thomas, Nathan, Thomas, 
Thomas), b. March 80, 1755, m. Feb. 5, 1783-4, Patience Gowing, d. 
Nov. 5, 1834. He d. Dec. 14, 1828. Children, 

1. Martin G., b. Feb. 22, 1784, d. April 14, 1790. 

2. Betsey, b. July 6, 1785. d. April 10, 1838, unm. 

3. Polly, b. April 23, 1787, m. John Hurd, res. O.xford. 

4. Ezekiel, b. Feb. 18, 1789, m. Susan Goulding (G), s. p. 

5. Oliver M., b. Dec. 24, 1793, d. unm. Feb. 28, 1861. 

6. Abijah, b. Aug. 20, 1795, d. March 10, 1813. 

7. DiADAMiA, b. July 27, 1801, unm. 



CHARLES BRIGHAM, Esq., (Capt. Samuel, Thomas), b. Dec. 30, 
1700, m. Mary Peters, b. 1716, d. Feb. 19, 1797. He appears to have 
disposed of his lands in Marlborough, and to have settled in Grafton, of 
which he became, in 1727, one of the forty proprietors, under the 
sanction of the General Court. He become one of the most able and 
distinguished of our citizens, held the most important town ofiices, and 
was at one time our Representative to the General Court. He was 
appointed by the Royal Governor a magistrate, an office, in his day, of 
very great dignity, and sparingly bestowed. He settled upon '• Brig- 
ham Hill," on a rich tract of land, lately the country residence of Wil- 
liam Brigham, Esq., of Boston, which still retains marks of his judg- 
ment and taste. A magnificent Elm,* which he planted about 1745, 
.shows but very few signs of decay. He d. March 17, 1781. Children, 

1. Charles, b. Oct. 29, 1732, d. Jan. 20, 1755. 

2. Daniel, b. April 28, 1735, d. at Crown Point, N. Y., a soldier, in 
1759. 

3. William, b. March 26, 1739, m. Sarah Prentice. 

* See Heliotype. 



464 HISTORY OF GEAFTON. 

4. Mary, b. Dec. 12, 1740, m. Moses Parks. 

5. Sakah, b. Apr. 19, 1743, in. Moses Leland (L). 

6. Anna, b. Mar. 18, 1745, m. Samuel Harrington and Henry Pren- 
tice (P). 

7. Timothy, b. Nov. 23, 1747, d. Feb. 9, 1748. 

8. Persis, b. Jan. 4, 1755, ra. Noah B. Kimball (K). 

9. Elizabeth, m. Nahum Warren (W). 



ANTIPAS BRIGHAM, (Capt. Samuel, Thomas), b. Oct. 16, 1706. He 
d. in Grafton, Apr. 23, 1746, unm. He was less distina;uished than his 
brothers. At his death he left a house, and farm of 260 acres. 



WILLIAM BRIGHAM, Esq., (Charles, Capt. Samuel, Thomas), b. Mar. 
26, 1739, m. July 21, 1768, Sarah Prentice (P), b. 1744, d. Feb. 2, 1834. 
He d. Aug. 1, 1833. 

He Inherited the homestead at Grafton, which, in his father's day, em- 
braced nearly or quite the whole tract still known as " Brigham Hill." 
He was a well educated man for his time, and a " great reader," bat had 
no taste for public office or employment.. His intelligence and standing 
secured him the offer of a Justice's commission, then a great honor, 
which he declined. lu his person he was tall, straight, and eminently 
muscular, which, I am satisfied from various sources, must have been 
the original type of the race. Such was his agility that he was wont 
"to jump over fences five feet and even six feet high, without touching 
hand or foot ; and when ninety years old he would rather walk than ride 
one or two miles, and would perform it nearly as soon as a boy." His 
health and tenacity of life were wonderful. He never took medicine 
and so escaped death at the doctor's hand, until his ninety-fifth year, 
when he died with old age. 

Mrs. Sarah Brigham, daughter of Rev. Solomon Prentice, was a very 
active and energetic woman. After the death of her sister's (Mary) 
husband, who was left with a family on a small place in Hull, nearly 
ruined by the war and consequent heavy taxes, and depreciation of Con- 
tinental notes, of which they had a large amount, Sarah Brigham start- 
ed alone from Grafton, on horseback, to visit her sister in Hull, a jour- 
ney of over sixty miles, stopped one night with her friends in Easton, 
and arrived in Hull next day. On her return she took a girl with her, 
tying her behind her on a pillion, stopped over night again at Eastou, 
and reached here the second night by moonlight. Children, 

1. Charles, b. July 27, 1769, m. Susannah Baylis. 

2. Susannah, b. Nov. 27, 1770, m. Ephraim Goulding (G). 

3. Solomon, b. Nov. 26, 1772, m. Lucy Adams, and d. June 7, 1817. 

i. Sally, b. Sept. 12, 1780, m. Benjamin Kingsbury (K) and Jeremiah 

Flagg (F). 
5. Persis, b. Aug. 4, 1786, m. Leonard Wheelock (W). 



Oapt. CHARLES BRIGHAM, (William, Charles, Samuel, Thomas), b. 
July 27, 1769, m. Oct. 20, 1797, Susannah Baylis, dan. of Dea. Nicholas 
Baylis, and sister of Hon. Nicholas Baylis, Jr., some time judge of the 
Supreme Court of Vermont. She was b. 1779, d. June 10, 1837. He d. 
1847. 

He inherited the old homestead on " Brigham Hill," inherited an ex- 
cellent constitution, lived in the discharge of the duties of a citizen 
until seventy-eight years of age, and died with almost his first sickness. 
Charles Brigham was appointed fourth sergeant in Jonathan Wheeler's 
Foot Company In the Second Regiment, Second Brigade, and Seventh 




Capt. Charles Brigham. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 465 

Division, Sept. 18th, 1792. He resigned his commission as captain, 
Jan. 20th, 1809. Children, 

1. Charlbs, b. May 22, 1799, m. Annah E. Brigham. 

2. Susannah B., b. Feb. 13, 1802, d. Mar. 5, 1804. 

3. Susannah B., b. May 24, 1804, m. Dr. Josiah Kitteridge, res. South 
Hadley, s. p. 

4. William, b. Sept. 26, 1806, m. Margaret A. Brooks. 

5. Nicholas H., b. Oct. 2, 1808, m. Dec. 20, 1888, Sarah B. Wood (W). 
They res. in New York city, s. p. 

6. Solomon, b. Nov. 12, 1810, d. Oct. 8, 1841, unm. 

7. Hannah, b. Mar. 11, 1813, m. Rev. Stillmau Pratt. 

8. Sakah, b. May 7, 1815, m. Eev. Charles B. Kitteridge, and res. In 
Geneseo, N. Y. 

9. Lucy A., b. July 25, 1817, m. Francis Merrifleld. 

10. Mama C, b. Jan. 26, 1820, m. William T. Merrifleld, Esq. 

11. Cornelia A., b. Nov. 17, 1823, m. Calvin Taft, res. Worcester. 



Col. CHARLES BRIGHAM, (Charles, William, Charles, Samuel, 
Thomas), b. May 22, 1799, m. Annah E. Brigham, dau. of Capt. Pier- 
pont Brigham, of Westborough. 

He was a farmer on a tract of land belonging to his ancestors' domain. 
He was often engaged in surveying land, settling estates, writing wills, 
deeds, etc., and in doing town business. He died much respected. 
Children, 

1. Josephine M., b. Aug. 1, 1827, d. Nov. 16, 1853. 

2. Ellen A., b. June 25, 1829, d. Feb. 4, 1832. 

3. Charles P., b. July 10, 1831, d. Feb. 13, 1832. 

4. Sarah P., b. Jan. 22, 1833, unm. 

5. Annah E., b. Mar. 6, 1835, m. Hon. Jonathan H. Wood (W). 

6. Susan B., b. May 24, 1837, m. William F. Merrifleld, res. Worcester. 

7. Augusta L., b. Feb. 7, 1841, unm. 

8. Mary E., b. Oct. 31, 1844, unm. 



WILLIAM BRIGHAM, Esq., (Charles, William, Charles, Samuel, 
Thomas), b. Sept. 26, 1806, m. June 11, 1840, Margaret A. Brooks, b. 
July 6, 1817. 

William Brigham fitted for college at the Leicester Academy, in a 
single year, generally passing his Sundays at home, and always walking 
the twelve miles between the two places. He was a diligent student at 
Harvard, held a good rank in his class, and obtained various appoint- 
ments at exhibitions and commencement. After graduation, in 1829, he 
read law with Hon. George Morey, of Boston, was admitted to the 
Suffolk Bar in 1832, and soon had a sufflcient amount of professional 
employment. Later, on motion of Hon. Daniel Webster, he was ad- 
mitted to the United States Supreme Court. He was a representative 
from Boston in the Massachusetts House of Representatives, in the 
years 1834, 1835, 1836, 1841, 1849, and in the Senate in 1866. April 29, 
1835, he delivered the centennial address at Grafton; this was published, 
and gives evidence of thorough research in the town history, as well as 
accuracy of statement, a quality for which he was distinguished in after 
life. In 1836 he was selected by Governor Everett to compile aud edit 
the laws of Plymouth Colony, published the same year. With a strong 
interest in the welfare of his fellow-citizens as in the prosperity of his 
country, he carefully abstained from the allurements of political office, 
so generally fatal in this country to a man's private character, and con- 
fined himself to an earnest and eloquent advocacy of all good public 
59 



466 HISTOEY OF GEAFTON. 

measures. In this way he was always an anti-slavery man, even when 
it was the unpopular cause, and when he stood at his office window in 
Court street, in company with several well-known citizens, and saw the 
iniquitous proceedings when the Court-liouse was guarded by an armed 
force to ensure the rendition of a fugitive slave, he expressed him- 
self with sorrow, not unmingled with bitterness. One of the cart-, 
ridges (loaded with a bullet and three buckshot) served to tlie troops 
that day he kept as a token of that wickedness. He was one of the 
founders of the Republican party. 

Agricultural pursuits, from their connection with his childhood and 
early youth, had great attraction for him, and for many years before his 
death he lived on the homestead at Grafton, during the summer, and 
actively directed all farming and horticultural labors. Several of his 
addresses before agricultural societies have been published. 

The demands of his professional life made careful and extensive 
reading almost a part of his nature, and the results sometimes appeared 
in reviews of books in the North American Review and Christian Exam- 
iner. His knowledge of the early history of Massachusetts was accu- 
rate and extensive, and in 1853 he was chosen a member of the Massa- 
chusetts Historical Society, of which he was one of the most useful 
and valuable members. A lecture by him, delivered the 19th of Jan- 
uary, 1869, on the Colony of New Plymouth and its relations to Massa- 
chusetts, — one of a course before the Lowell Institute, by members of 
the Historical Society, and publislied in a volume called " Massachu- 
setts and Its Early History," — is highly creditable both to his research 
and insight. 

June 11, 1840, he married Margaret Austin Brooks (born July 6, 
1817), daughter of Isaac Brooks and Mary Austin, of Charlestown. 

As a lawyer, his practice was large. He was a safe adviser, and 
enjoyed in a high degree the confidence and attachment of his clients. 
Often was he able by his kind, honest and yet plain talk, to dissuade his 
clients from long and expensive litigation, and he always, when possi- 
ble, strove to prevent aggravating lawsuits, but when this could not be 
done he gave the whole power of his legal knowledge to his client's 
cause. A man of kindly spirit, the friend as well as father of his chil- 
dren, of simple and pleasing manners, he yet worked too hard, and at 
the moment when it seemed possible for him to relax his labors, when 
he was on the point of relinquishing his practice, and devoting his at- 
tention to the care of the many and large trust estates in his hands, he 
was stricken with his fatal illness, the ttrst of his life, and he died July 
9, 1869. His remains rest in Mount Auburn. 

William Brigham inherited, in a marked degree, the physical charac- 
teristics of his race. Tall (six feet and two inches), well-knit, and 
finely proportioned, he was said to resemble the grandfather for whom 
he was named, and like him he put little faith in doctors, of whose ser- 
vices he had indeed little need, as his pure, temperate life, uninflamed 
by alcohol, unstinted by tobacco, was singularly free from bodily ills of 
any kind, and the strong vitality he inherited from his ancestors he 
transmitted undiminished to his children. 

Pure, unselfish, just, wise, cautious yet vigorous, kind and devoted, 
was this man's life. Children, 

1. William T., b. May 24, 1841. 

Fitted for college at the Boston Latin School, and graduated at 
Harvard In 1862. In 1864-5, in company with the late Horace Mann, he 
made a scientific exploration of the Hawaiian Islands, discovering many 
new species of plants. He was professor of Natural Sciences at 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 467 

Oahu College, resigning in Oct., 1865, to continue his explorations in 
China and India. Sept., 1867, he was admitted to the bar. In 1868-9, 
was Instructor in Botany at Harvard University. Served six years on the 
Boston School Board, where he introduced systematic instruction in 
drawing, and was first chairman of the drawing committee. Is a Fel- 
low of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, California Academy 
of Sciences, Philadelphia Academy of Natural Sciences, etc. Is engaged 
in the practice of law in Boston. 

2. Charles B., b. Jan. 17, 184.5, gr. Harvard University, 1866. 

3. Edwaud a., b. Feb. 23, 1846, m. Annie DeW. Bartlett. 

4. Mary B., b. Dec. 26, 1851, m. McPherson LeMoyne, of Montreal. 

5. Arthur A., b. Jan. 8, 1857. Studied at the Boston Latin and Chauncy 
Hall Schools and Institute of Teclinology. He has sought a practical 
knowledge of mill engineering, in various mills in New England, and 
is now in business with his brother Edward. 



CHARLES BROOKS BRIGHAM, (William, Charles, Williara, Charles, 
Samuel, Thomas;, b. Jan. 17, 1845, m. April, 1879, Alice W. Babcock, 
of San Francisco. He graduated at Harvard University in 1866. Studied 
anatomy with Prof. Jeft'ries Wyman, until November, 1866, when he 
entered the Harvard Medical School. In April, 1869, he was appointed 
liouse surgeon to the city hospital, Boston. Obtained his medical 
degree in 1870, and continued his studies in Europe. In August, 1870, 
he was chosen surgeon-in-chief of the " Ambulance Internationale 
Fran9aise de I'Ecole Forestiene de Nancy," a position he held during 
the seven months of the Franco-Prussian war. President Thiers 
decorated him with the " Legion of Honor," and the Emperor of Ger- 
many with the "Iron Cross," in consideration of his distinguished 
services as a surgeon. He has also been presented with the cross of the 
" Internationale Society," and with a diploma for exceptional services 
during the war. He has published a number of surgical cases both in 
French and English. In 1872, lie removed to San Francisco, Cal., where 
he was elected surgeon to the French hospital. 



EDWARD AUSTIN BRIGHAM, (William, Charles, William, Charles, 
Samuel, Thomas), b. Feb. 23, 1846, m. April 5, 1876, Anne DeWolf 
Bartlett. He studied at the Boston Latin School. Went into the store 
of Geo. C. Richardson & Co., commission merchants, and in 1868, went 
to Lewiston, Me., to learn in the mills cotton spinning. After three 
years careful study and practice in these mills, he went to Europe to 
examine mills, and was appointed agent in this country for William 
Higgins & Co., manufacturers of cotton machinery in Manchester, Eng. 
In 1875, he was sent by an English company to Samnugger, near Cal- 
cutta, in India, to build and fit up a large cotton mill. Ch., 
1. Caroline W., b. May 21, 1877. 



ELISHA BRIGHAM, (Thomas, Nathan, Thomas, Thomas), b. Nov. 25, 
1726, m. Sarah . She " very aged." Children, 

1. Elisha, b. April 12, 1758, d. Feb. 28, 1776. 

2. Charles, b. Oct. 9, 1761, d. Aug. 6, 1776. 

3. Sarah, b. April 19, 1767, m. Apr. 18, 1782, Zebulon Daniels, b. in 
Medway, 1758, d. Feb. 14, 1825. She d. June 6, 1826. Children, 

1. Liismy, b. May 2, 1783, m. P. Parker, and d. in 1825. 

2. Otis, b. Sept. 28, 1786, d. 1869. 

3. Philena, b. Sept. 30, 1788, d. 1878. 

4. Emory, b. Mar. 10, 1792, m. Mary Hastings, and d. in Ohio In 
1861. 



468 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

5. Sarah, h. Mar. 27, 1796, m. A. Crosby, and d. Sept. 6, 1870. 

6. Charles, b. Aug. 16, 1798, m. Eliza Hastings. He d. Sept. 11, 
1874. Children, 
Horace, b. Mar. 15, 1828, m. Metilda Card, d. Jan., 1876. He 

res. in Rhode Island, where he was General in the militia; d. 

Dec, 1876. 
Lewis, b. Sept. 19, 1824, ra. 1849, Alice Bnswell. 
Henry, b. Apr. 22, 1826, m. H. L. Branjan. Res. Troy, N. Y. 
Joseph, b. June 11, 1827, m. Martha F. Leland and S. M. Hall. 
Louisa, b. Aug. 20, 1829, m. Charlas Taft. 
Elisha, b. Oct. 13, 1830, m. Hannah Wood. 
Mary, b. May 27, 1832, m. Sumner Fifleld. 
Martha, b. June 15, 1834. 
Aaron, b. Feb. 26, 1836, m. Mary J. Bowman. 
Lucy, b. May 22, 1839. Marcus, b. May 30, 1842, m. J. M. Carr. 

7. mncy, b. Feb. 26, 1801, d. Oct. 10, 1834. 

8. John, b. Nov. 22, 180G, m. Nancy Chase. 
Molly, b. March 18, 1769, d. Aug. 29, 1823, unm. 



JABEZ BRIGHAM, (Benajah, Benjamin. Dr. Gershom, Thomas, 
Thomas), b. March 12, 1781, m. Jan. 1799, Sophia Hunt, b. 1782, d. Feb. 
6, 1837; m. 2ntl, 1849, Phila Wheeler. He was by trade a mason. He 
rev. to Bangor, Me., where he built the first brick edifice in that city. 
Children, 

1. Fkancis, b. Feb. 22, 1800, d. Sept. 13, 1819. 

2. Mary A., b. Dec. 29, 1801, m. Robert Prentice. 

3. Jabez, b. Aug. 29, 1804, d. Aug. 26, 1805. 

4. Sophia, b. June 7, 1806, m. Daniel Wheelock (W). 

5. Abigail D., b. Oct. 24, 1807, m. Ezra R. Pratt. 

6. Phbbb, b. Aug. 2, 1810, m. William Hoklen. 

7. Jabez, b. March 7, 1813, d. March, 1839, s. p. 

8. Warren, b. March 24, 1815, m. Persis Carlton. 

9. Emelinb F., b. March 7, 1820, m. Andrew Holden. 

10. Sakah E., m. James Allen. 



BRIMBLECOM. 

Rev. SAMUEL BRIMBLECOM, was born in Lynn, Essex County, Mass., 
Feb. 11, 1799, the son of Samuel and Mary (Mansfield) Brimblecora. 
He was graduated at HarvardJJniversity inthe class of 1817, and studied 
Theology at the Divinity School in Cambridge, from which institution 
he graduated. He was first settled over the Unitarian Society in Sharon, 
Mass., and afterwards at Norridgewock, Me., from which place he 
removed to Westbrook, Me., where he was pastor of the Universalist 
Society. While here he took an active and leading part in the establish- 
ment of the Westbrook Seminary, which became a thriving institution 
of the Universalist denomination. He was afterwards settled over the 
Universalist Societies in Danvers, and Barre, Mass. He resided 
here in 1847 and afterwards. He married October 22, 1822, 
Harriet Buttrick. She was born in Concord, August 27, 1798, the 
daughter of Col. Jonas and Lucy (Mason) Buttrick, and granddaughter 
of Major John Buttrick, who commanded the militia companies which 
made tlfe first attack npon tlie British troops at Concord North Bridge, 
April 19, 1775, and who gave the first oflicial command to fire upon the 
British in the Revolutionary war. The following i.? taken from an 
inscription on a cannon in Doric Hall, in the State House : " The 
Xegislature of Massachusetts consecrate the names of M»j. Buttrick 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 469 

and Capt. Isaac Davis, whose valor and example incited their fellow- 
citizens to a successful resistance of a superior number of British 
troops at Concord Bridge, April 19, 1775, which was the beginning of a 
contest in arms that ended in American Independence." She inherited 
the spirit of her ancestors, with their integrity of character. She died 
in Santa Clara, Cal., in 1878. Children, 

1. Samuel A., b. Nov. 2, 1823, m. Sarah Holden, res. Santa Clara, Cal. 

2. Charles, b. Feb. 10, 1825, studied law with W. A. Bryant, Esq., of 
Barre, and admitted to the bar in 1848, m. Harriet C. Houghton, dau. 
of Luke Houghton, of Barre, where he has since resided and practised 
his profession. 

3. Fkedkrick, b. Jan. 21, 1827, m. Abby Harrington, res. 111. 

4. Fkancks a., b. Aug. 1, 1828, unm., res. Cal. 

5. Edward, b. June 13, 1830, unm., res. Cal. 

6. William, b. Feb. 1, 1832, unm., res. 111. 

7. Henry, b. Feb. 8, 1834, ra. Anna Huntington. He was graduated at 
Dartmouth College, in 1869, and at once began the study of law, which 
he relinquished and removed to 111. 

8. Jambs L., b. March IG, 1836, d. young. 

9. Albert G., b. April 20, 1838, m. and res. in Nebraska. 

10. Lucy A., b. Jan. 21, 1840, unm. res. in Cal. 
Ch. by second wife, 

11. Ellen, b. Aug. 20, 1858, d. young. 

12. Samuel, b. Feb. 8, 1860, d. young. 

13. John, b. Sept. 12, 1861. 



BROOKS. 

THOMAS BROOKS first settled in Watertown, and was one of the 
"townsmen then inhabiting," to whom the Beaver Brook plowlands 
were granted in 1636. He was admitted freeman Dec. 7, 1636. He rev. 
to Concord, where he was captain, and he received various other 
appointments of honor and trust. He was constable, appointed by the 
General Court, and Representative in 1642, '43, '44, and from 1650 to 
'54. 



EBENEZER BROOKS, (Noah, Dea. .Joshua, Thomas), b. Feb. 14, 1690. 
m. June 17, 1714, Sarah Fletcher, of Concord. He d. 1770. Children, 
1. Noah, b. Sept. 25, 1715. 2. Samuel, b. Oct. 18, 1717. 

3. Simon, m. Rachel . 

4. Joel, b. July 25, 1721. 

5. Peter, m. Rebecca . He had five daughters. 



SIMON BROOKS, (Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, Thomas), m. Rachel 
, and had children, 



1. Simon, b. Aug. 22, 1748. 2. Rachel, b. Dec. 18, 1752, d. Feb. 1,1753. 

3. Benjamin C, b. March 19, 1755, d. Dec. 9, 1759. 

4. John, b. Aug. 11, 1757. 5. Jonah, b. June 25, 1759, d. July 22, 1759. 
6. Dorothy, b. June 12, 1760. 7. Mettey, b. Dec. 27, 1762. 

8. Benjamin, b. March 10, 1765. 9. Jonah, b. Aug. 16, 1767. 
10. Lucy, b. Oct. 26, 1769. 11. Sarah, b. Sept. 9, 1771. 
12. Thomas D., b. Aug. 5, 1774. 



JOEL BROOKS, (Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, Thomas), b. July 25, 
1721. Children, 

1. Sarah, b. Aug. 14, 1744, d. March 13, 1779. 

2. Maky, b. Feb. 8, 1746, d. Nov. 2, 1752. 



470 HISTOET OP GEAFl'ON. 

3. Elizabeth, b. Feb. 13, 1748. 

4. Pkter. 5. Maktha, b. April 11, 1750, d. June 30, 1806. 

6. Lucy, 1). July 21, 1752, d. Jan. 13, 1818, 

7. Mary, b. Feb. 4, 1755, m. Rev. Joseph Farrer, and rev. to Petersham, 
where she d. Oct. 24, 1855, over 100 years old. 

8. Elijah, b. Jan. 21, 1757, m. May Hall. 

9. Joel, b. Feb. 19, 1760, rev. to Peter.sham. 

10. Aaron, b. July 27, 1762, m. Sally . 

11. Lydia, b. Aug. 5, 1764. 



PETER BROOKS, (Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, Thomas), m. Rebecca 
He d. Jan. 26, 1779. Children, 



1. Solomon, b. May 5, 1754, m. Lois 

2. Rebecca, b. Feb. 16, 1756. 3. Hannah, b. July 13, 1758. 
4. Ebenezer, b. Jan, 26, 1763. 5. Sarah, b. Oct. 3, 1765. 

0. Ephuaim, b. Jan. 9, 1768, d. Aug. 27, 1847. His vjridow, Azubah 

, d. Dec 27, 1848. 

7. Molly, b. Feb. 10, 1770. 8. Peter, b. Feb. 27, 1772. 
9. Joseph, b. Feb. 14, 1776. 



ELIJAH BROOKS, (Joel, Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, Thomas), b. 
Jan. 21, 1757, m. Mary Hall, b. 1761, d. July 21, 1828. He d. Nov. 18, 
1843, of quick consumption. Children, 

1. Polly, b. Sept. 10, 1787, m. Joel Knowlton. 

2. Joel. b. July 21, 1789. m. Fanny Bennett. 
8. Sarah, b. Oct. 5, 1792, m. Abner Stow. 

4. Betsey, b. May 24, 1798, m. John Barker. 



JOEL BROOKS, (Elijah, Joel, Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, Thomas), 
b. July 21, 1789, m. May 13, 1813, Fannie Bennett, b. Jan. 14, 1793, 
d. Feb. 8, 1860. He d. Oct. 7, 1828. Children, 

1. S.\lly, b. Mar. 19, 1815, d. Nov. 10, 1824. 

2. Nancy, b. Sept. 6, 1818, m. Kendrick Hunt and Samuel B. Dolliver. 

3. Eli.jah B., b. Feb. 21, 1820, m. Emeline Stratton. 

4. Mary H., b. June 11, 1822, d. Aug. 30, 1827. 

5. John T., b. Oct. 8, 1825, m. Augusta Hunt. 



AARON BROOKS, (Joel, Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, Thomas), b. 

July 27, 1762, m. Sally . Ch., 

1. Oliver, b. Apr. 12, 1790. 
He had three other children b. in Petersham. 



SOLOMON BROOKS, (Peter, Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, Thomas), 

b. May 5, 1754, m. Lois . Ch., 

1. Daniel, b. Oct. 1, 1778. 

ELIJAH B. BROOKS, (Joel, Elijah, Joel, Ebenezer, Noah, Dea. Joshua, 
Thomas), b. Feb. 20, 1830, m. Emeline Stratton, b. Oct. 17, 1821. He 
d. June 25, 1879. Children, 

1. George F., b. June 16, 1843, d. July 7, 1845. 

2. Henry E., b. Mar. 29, 1845, m. Irenena Humes. 

3. Elijah, b. Sept. 26, 1847. d. Oct. 13, 1847. 

4. George B., b. Apr. 21, 1849, unm. 

5. MaryL., b. Aug. 18, 1853, m. Alfred Lowell. 

6. Susan M., b. Jan. 11, 1856, m. Dean W. Macker. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 471 

AUGUSTUS W. BROOKS, (Jonathan, of Upton), b. June 4, 1826, m. 
Aug. 27, 1845, Sarah J. Hatch. He d. Feb. 20, 1852. Ch. 
1. Sarah A., b. Oct. 15, 1848. 



BROWNE. 

ABRAHAM BROWNE, the ancestor of tliis family, was a very early 
settler at Watertown, perhaps one of the first, as he was admitted a 
freeman Mar. G, 1631. He was land surveyor, and from the early 
records of the town, was an important person, and more trusts were 
conferred upon him than upon any other man. He was selectman from 
1636 to 1643, inclu.sive. He was one of the seven appointed to divide 
every man " his propriety." 



Lieut. ABRAHAM BROWN, (Jonathan, Capt. Abraham, Jonathan, 
Abraham), b. Nov. 23, 1726, m. Apr. 25, 1753, Mary Livermore, b. 
Sept. 5, 1731. (Oliver, Daniel, Samuel, John). He res. in Water- 
town, and was dismissed to the church in Grafton in 1764, and rev. 
later to Alstead, N. H. Children b. in Grafton, 

7. Elizabeth, b. July 27, 1765, d. Sept. 17, 1767. 

8. Samuel, b. June 30, 1767, m. Abigail Pike, of Cornish, N. H., rev. 
to Danville, Vt. 

9. Oliver, b. Sept. 21, 1769. 

10. Elizabeth, b. Jan. 24, 1773, d. Jan. 26, 1786. 

He had ten children; the first six were b. in Watertown. His eldest 
son, Abraham, Jr., m. Lucy Goulding, dau. of Colonel Goulding, b. 
Dec. 22, 1756, d. Sept. 2, 1819. They rov. to Alstead, N. H. 



CLARK BROWN, (Jonas), b. Aug. 13, 1773, m. 1797, Sally Sher- 
man (S); m. 2nd, July 27, 1829, Julia Dupee. He d. Nov. 23, 1844. 
Children, 

1. John S., b. Nov. 17, 1798, d. In Sutton, Feb. 17, 1844. 

2. Sally S., b. Aug. 27, 1800, m. Capt. Jonathan Warren (W). 

3. Clakk J., b. Dec. 27, 1802, d. Jan. 20, 1839. 

4. Horace P., b. Mar. 13, 1805, m. Eliza J. Whitney. 

5. David W., b. July 12, 1807, m. Abigail Sloane. 

6. Susan G., b. July 11, 1809, m. Jared Williams. Res. Pomfret, Ct. 

7. Nancy H., b. Jan. 5, 1812, d. Mar. 12, 1818. 

8. Hannah W., b. Mar. 26, 1814, m. George A. Dresser. Ees. Pom- 
fret, Ct. 

9. Martha P., and 10, Mary P., twins, b. July 23, 1816. 

11. Joseph G., b. JFeb. 19, 1821, d. unm. 

12. Charles P., b. Aug. 30, 1823, m. Melissa Sloane. 

13. Jonas F., b. Apr. 23, 1830, m. Emma Stevens. Res. Minnesota. 

14. Smith D. D., b. Nov. 27, 1831. Res. Kentucky. 

15. Sophkonia M., b. May 28, 1833, m. Alvan Colvin. Res. 1-Iolden. 

16. Ira, m. Henrietta C. V. Buckley, res. Philadelphia; and 17, Armenia, 
m. James Gee, res. Philadelphia; twins, b. May 3, 1837. 

18. Clark, b. Apr. 27, 1839, d. July 20, 1839. 

19. Alvika H., b. Oct. 29, 1840, m. Thomas. Res. Brattleboro. 

20. Clark; H., b. Apr. 23, 1843, d., unm. 



DAVID W. BROWN, (Clark), b. July 12, 1807, m. Oct. 19, 1834, Abigail 
Sloaue. Children, 

1. Daniel C, b. Oct. 26, 1837. Res. Binghamton, N. Y. 

2. Martha J., b. Nov. 1, 1839. 3. Hannah, b. Mar. 19, 1843. 



472 HISTOKT OF GEAFTOlf. 

HORACE P. BROWN, (Clark, Jonas), b. Mar. 13, 1805, m. May 27, 
1832, Eliza J. Whitney, b. 1812, d. Feb. 25, 1873. Children, 

1. Sarah J., b. Oct. 12, 1833, unm. 

2. Horace C., b. May 21, 1836, m. Annie Kenney. Res. Attleboro. 

3. Henry A., b. June 18, 1838, d. Oct. 10, 1838. 

4. Mary A., b. Jan. 19, 1840, d. June 9, 1843. 

5. John A., b. Aug. 14, 1851, m. Agnes Crober. 



JOHN A. BROWN, (Horace P., Clark, Jonas), b. Aug. 14, 1851, m. Sept. 

18, 1874, Agnes Crober, b. Oct. 31, 1851. Children, 

1. Arthur C, b. Sept. 12, 1875. 2. George H., b. Feb. 13, 1877. 



LEONARD BROWN, by wife Susan, had, 

1. AusoN S., b. Jan. 7, 1845. 2. Amelia W., b. Oct. 31, 1846. 



ANDREW BROWN, by wife Hannah, had, 

1. Dardana, b. Aug. 10, 1783. 2. Lucinda, b. Mar. 27, 1786. 



BRUCE. 

GEORGE BRUSH, (whose descendants have long since spelt their 
name Bruce), is said to have been a Scotchman. He m. Elizabeth Clark, 
and resided in Woburn. His son resided in Mendon. 



JOSEPH BRUCE, from Mendon, (George, Georgel, b. 1729, m. Eliza- 
beth , b. 1728, d. Mar. 9, 1810. He d. May 15, 1799. Ch., 

1. Simon, b. 1750, m. Sarah Whipple. 



SIMON BRUCE. (Joseph, George, George), b. 1750, m. Jan. 14, 1787, 
Sarah Whipple (W), d. Oct. 27, 1817. He d. Mar. 20, 1796. Children, 

1. Joseph, b. Mar. 13, 1790, m. Harriet Fay. 

2. Eliza, b. Aug. 21, 1792, m. William Eager, rev. to Boston. 

3. Sarah, b. Sept. 1, 1794, m. Hon. Samuel Wood (W). 

Hon. JOSEPH BRUCE, (Simon, Joseph, George, George), b. Mar. IS, 
1790, m. Nov. 23, 1813, Harriet Fay (F), b. Oct. 22, 1793, d. May 20, 1847. 
He resided on the old place occupied by his father and grandfather, 
and is now in his 90th year, retaining all his faculties. He has been one 
of the prominent citizens of the town, was at one time a member of 
the Board of County Commissioners, and also a representative to the 
General Court. Children, 

1. Sarah W., b. Apr. 4, 1815, m. John M. Davenport. 

2. William S., b. May 20, 1817, m. Friendly Wood and A. S. Flagg. 

3. Harriet F., b. Aug. 3, 1819, m. John Whitney (W). 

4. Elizabeth E., b. Julv, 1822, m. William C. Tenuey. 

5. Joseph E., b. Oct. 6, 1835, d. Dec. 22, 1846. 

6. Delia A., b. Nov. 16, 1828, m. D. Webster Norcross.* 



* DANIEL WEBSTER NORCROSS, (Otis, Daniel, Peter, Rlchurd, Richard, 
Jeremiah), b. Aug. 17, 1826, m. Mar. 24, 1853, Delia A. Bruce. Children, 

1. Webster, b. Apr. 9, 1855. Res. San Antonio, Texas. 

2. Clara G., b. May 18, 1858. 3. Harry B., b. Dec. 25, 1860. 
i. Joseph E., b. Sept. 6, 1862. 




w 



o 
u 
o 

Pi 

w 

H 



U 

w 

Q 
W 



3-2 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 473 

WILLIAM S. BRUCE, (Joseph, Simon, Joseph, George, George), b. 
May 20, 1817, m. Friendly Wood, and 2nd, A. S. Flagg. 

He died in his barn while in the act of milking. His widow resides 
in Dayville, Ct. Children, 

1. George E., b. Mar. 19, 1842, m. Emily Allen, and resided in Boston. 

2. Harkibt F., b. Mar. 15, 1844, m. George W. Peters, and res. in 
Farnumsville. 



CHARLES BRUCE, by wife Martha, had, 
1. Abnbe, b. May 6, 1754. 



CHILD. 

DBA. EPHEAIM child came to America in 1630; was admitted free- 
man May 18, 1031, and was probably one of the first deacons of the 
Wateitown Church. He was Representative twelve years. Selectman 
fifteen years, and Town Clerk a number of years. He repeatedly re- 
ceived important appointments from the General Court. He d. Feb. 13, 
1662, aged 70. 



JONATHAN CHILD, (John, John. Ephraim [?]), b. inWatertown, Apr. 
26, 1696, pub. Oct. 5, 1729, Abigail Parker, d. Mar. 3, 1736. Children, 

1. JosiAH, b. Oct. 17, 1730, m. Elizabeth'Ball. 

2. Abigaii., b. Aug. 28, 1732. 3. Elizabeth, b. Oct. 28, 1735. 

4. Jonathan, b. Feb. 14, 1737, ra. Apr. 16, 1767, Eunice Smith. 

5. Ruth, b. Oct 2, 1740. 

6. Solomon, b. Jan. 31, 1743, m. Martha Rice. 

7. Sarah, b. Aug. 13, 1746, m. Daniel Rice. 

8. Joseph, b. Jan. 29, 1753. 



JOSIAH CHILD, (Jonathan, John, John, Ephraim), b. Oct. 17, 1730, m. 
Apr. 24, 1755, Elizabeth Ball. Children, 

1. Abigail, b. May 3, 1756. 2. Stephen, b. Oct. 18, 1757. 
3. Elizabeth, b. June 21, 1759. 



SOLOMON CHILD, (Jonathan, John, John, Ephraim), b. Jan. 31, 1743, 
m. Apr. 16, 1767, Martha Rice, b. Oct. 1, 1747, in Westborough. Ch., 
1. Elijah, b. Oct. 10, 1768. 



EPHRAIM CHILD, of Westborough, m. Nov. 6, 1794, Katy Whitney, 

and had, 

1. Lucy, b. May 27, 1797. 2. Hannah, b. Oct, 16, 1798. 



CLARK. 

This name is one of great antiquity, having been used in Great 
Britain in the 11th century. HUGH CLARK was the ancestor, and 
settled in Watertown; b. 1613, d. July 20, 1693. 



JEREMIAH NORCROSS, the ancestor, settled in Watertown as early as 
1642, where he was a large proprietor, owning a homestall and twelve other 
lots of land. He was admitted a freeman, Feb., 1652, and was Selectman in 
1649. He was often styled, " Mr. Norcross." He d. in 1657. 

60 



474 HISTOET OF GKAFTON. 

HENRY A. CLARK, (Addison, Joshua, Ephraim, Isaac, John, John, 
Hugh), b. Dec. 13, 1839, m. Nov. 23, 1859, Harriet C. French. He rev. 
to Holliston. Ch. b. here, 
1. Frbdbrick H., b. Eeb. 21, 1861. 



JAMES SULLIVAN CLARK, (Oliver, John, Capt. John, Isaac, John, 
John, Hugh), b. July 23, 1807, m. Aug. 8, 1830, Elizabeth E. Walker. 
Children, 

1. Appleton, b. Dec. 3, 1832, d. Sept. 5, 1835. 

2. Twins, b. Apr. 6, 1835, d. Apr. 6, 1835. 

3. James S., b. Nov. 3, 1836, d. Apr. 2, 1859. 

4. Edward S., b. Sept. 3, 1839, m. Sarah 6. Pratt. 

5. David, b. Oct. 6, 1840, d. Oct. 20, 1840. 



EDWARD S. CLARK, (James S., Oliver, John, Capt. John, Isaac, 
John, John, Hugh), b. Sept. 3, 1839, m. Nov. 21, 1861, Sarah Goulding 
Pratt (P). Children, 

1. Eddie S., b. July 8, 1866. 

2. Sadie M., b. Sept. 14, 1868, d. Dec. 18, 1868. 

3. Chaklie W. F., b. Jan. 26, 1871. 4. Leo A., b. Jan. 1, 1877. 
5. Bennie M., b. Feb. 21, 1878, d. Aug. 6, 1878. 



CUTLER. 

JOHN CUTLER, of Norwich, Norfolk County, England, the ancestor, 
settled in Hingham, where he d. early. 



EBENEZER CUTLER, Jr., (Ebenezer, Samuel, John), b. Oct. 1, 1695, 
m. Apr. 27, 1726, Abigail Felch. 

" He res. nigh to Grafton, and worshipped there." He was one of 
the petitioners to the General Court to be set off from Shrewsbury to 
Grafton. [See elsewhere]. In 1729 he res. in Sutton; iu 1736, in 
Shrewsbury; then of Hardwick; and finally of Grafton, where he made 
his will, giving to his wife, Abigail, and daughter, Abigail, his in-door 
movables, the occupancy for life of half his house, cousistiug of three 
lower rooms, a chamber, garret and cellar, and to this daughter £300, 
to be paid within one year after his decease, binding his sons Moses 
and Ebenezer to pay the legacy and provide for them while they lived. 
To Jonathan he gave £20; to David, £150; and Ebenezer and Moses the 
remainder of the estate, In equal shares. He had five children. Jona- 
than was constable at Oxford, in 1756. Their daughter Elizabeth died 
Apr. 24, 1765. 



EBENEZER CUTLER, Jr., (Ebenezer, Ebenezer, Samuel, John), b. 
1766, m. Nov. 28, 1764, Meriam Bennett. He d. Aug. 23, 1819. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Ebenezer, b. Sept. 28, 1765, m. Elizabeth Brown. 

2. Elizabeth, b. Nov. 28, 1768. 

3. JosiAH, b. Mar. 15, 1775, d. Aug. 29, 1775. 

4. Joseph, b. Aug. 7, 1776. 



EBENEZER CUTLER, Jr., (Ebenezer, Ebenezer, Ebenezer, Samuel, 
John), b. Sept. 28, 1765, m. Mar. 27, 1788, Elizabeth Brown. Children, 

1. Ebenezer, b. Jan. 10, 1789, m. Milley . 

2. Isaac, b. Aug. 13, 1791, d. Apr. 16, 1839. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 475 



3. JosiAH, b. June 6, 1797, d. Aug. 23, 1839. 

4. Samubl, b. Mar. 10, 1801. 

5. Amos, b. Aug. 25, 1805, d. May 24, 1834. 



EBKNEZER CUTLER, Jr., (Ebenezer, Ebenexer, Ebenezer, Ebenezer, 

Samuel, John), b. Jan. 10, J789, m. Mllley . Ch., 

I. Elizabeth, b. Dec. 28, 1817. 



JAMES CUTLER, (lineage not ascertained), m. Jane 10, 1729, Mehlt- 

able Fay. He d. May 13, 1740. Children, 

1. Mkhitable, b. Apr. 21, 1730 2. TabitHa, b. Mar. 9, 1731. 

3. Susannah, b. May 1, 1734, d. Dec. 5, 1734. 

4. James, b. Oct. 19, 1735, d. Apr. 25, 1741. 

5. Elizabeth, b. May 13, 1738. 

6. Maky, b. May 30, 1740, (posthumous). 



STEPHEN CUTLER, of Grafton, d. in 1797. He was graduated at the 
Rhode Island College, in 1795.* 

DRURT. 

HUGH DRURY was the ancestor of this family ; b. in England, 1616; 
in 1659 he res. in Boston, and was lieutenant of the Ancient and Hon- 
orable Artillery company. 



Capt. THOMAS DRURY, (Thomas, John, Hugh), b. Aug. 29, 1690, m. 
June 10, 1719, Sarah Clarke, b. Aug. 5, 1701, d. Apr. 10, 1743; m. 2nd, 

Mary , d. Nov. 3, 1752. He d. Dec. 2, 1783. 

He res. in Framingham, and after the birth of his first child rev. to 
Grafton. He was Selectman, and often engaged in other public busi- 
ness. In 1743 he was styled lieutenant; 1751, captain; and continued 
to take an active part in military affairs until his death. Children, 

1. Thomas, b. Jan. 12, 1721, m. Elizabeth . 

2. Sakah, b. Oct. 13, 1723. 3, Abigail, b. Dec. 16, 1725. 

4. Eachbl, b. Oct. 11, 1728. 5. ThanKfol, b. Nov. 25, 1730. 

6. Elijah, b. July 19, 1734, m. SariHTStow. 

7. Mary, b. Jan. 2, 1735, d. Dec. 5, 1751. 

8. Luke, b. Mar. 11, 1737, m. Lydia Sherman and Mary Howland. 

9. Martha, b. Feb. 16, 1738. 

10. Benjamin, b. Apr. 10, 1743, d. Jan. 2, 1752. 

11. Manuaii, b. Dec. 30, 1746, m. Martha Sherman. 

12. Mary, b. Feb. 23, 1748, d. Dec. 5, 1751. 

13. Elizabeth, b. Sept. 13, 1750, d. Nov. 25, 1751. 



THOMAS DRURY, (Thomas, Thomas, John, Hugh), b. Jan. 12, 1721, 

m. Elizabeth . Children, 

1. Thomas, b. Dec. 21, 1747. 2. Sarah, b. Mar. 22, 1750. 

3. Elizabeth, b. Oct. 23, 1754. 4. Susannah, b. June 2, 1763. 



ELIJAH DRURY, (Thomas, Thomas, John, Hugh), b. July 19, 1734, m. 
Dec. 11, 1760, Sarah Stow (S), b. Sept. 27, 1738. He d. 1797. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Elijah, b. July 1, 1764, d. Dec. 15, 1769. 

2. Sarah, b. Sept. 3, 1766. 3. Mary, b. Sept. 14, 1768, d. July 8, 1769. 
4. Twins, b. Nov. 1, 1762, lived a few days. 

* Massachusetts Spy. 



476 HISTOKT OF ttRAFTON. 

5. Sakah, b. May 1, 1763, d. Sept. 4, 17fi3. 

6. Elizabeth, b. Dec. 30, 1770. 7. Maky, b. Mar. 25, 1773. 
8. Susannah, b. July 23, 1775. 



Col. LUKE DRURY, (Thomas, Thomas, John, Hngh), b. Mar. U, 
1737, m. July 26, 1759, Lydia Sherman (S), b. 1736, d. of consumption, 
Sept. 11, 1793; m. 2nd, Mar. 25, 1795, "the beautiful and accomplished 
Miss Mary Rowland, of Jamestown, R. I." * He d. Apr. 1, 1811. 

He was possessed of good natural abilities, with strong powers of 
mind little improved by early education, and he had everything of the 
practical in his composition. . He was brought up at a time when the 
actual grievances of the Indians, magnified to their eyes by the design- 
ing French, created a border warfare which spread through the land, 
the reports of which, constantly ringing in his ears, were made none 
the less horrible by their having been related again and again at the 
winter's fireside. In constant expectation of being turned out as sol- 
diers to protect themselves from tlie tomahawks and scalping knives of 
a ruthless foe, it is not strange that the youths of that day should have 
had less of polish than a more congenial time would have elicited. It 
was in this kind of .school young Drury began his tender age; and the 
impressions, thus early made, were not likely to have been otjliterated 
by the times following in his subsequent life. He otllciated in his town 
as constable, deputy sheriff, collector, assessor, selectman, and repre- 
sentative ; often as moderator, as which he was Sept. 5, 1774, at a meet- 
ing of the town, in open, hostile rebellion, bidding detiance to the 
obnoxious acts of the British Parliament. As their captain, on the ever 
memorable 19th of April, 1775, he led the Grafton Minute Men to Con- 
cord and Lexington. Under the orders of the committee of safety, of 
April the 24th of the same year, he enlisted a company, received a com- 
mission from them, and immediately joined the forces at Cambridge, 
in the regiment of Col. Artemas Ward, of Shrewsbury. With a part of 
this regiment, on the 17th of June, he was with his company in the bat- 
tle of Bunker Hill, where they had been " ordered immediately to assist 
at the engagement." Here he lost one man. From some reason their 
major did not reach the battle with others, and it gave Captain Drury 
cause to prefer charges against him. May 19, 1777, he was appointed 
by the committee and selectmen to take command of the company to 
guard the State stores then in the town. He represented the town in 
the General Court. During the last years of his life he res. in Marl- 
borough, and d. there. Children, 
1. Luke, b. Dec. 22, 1759. 2. John, b. Sept. 19, 1761. 

3. Lydia, b. Dec. 3, 1763, m. Joshua Turner. 

4. Mary, b. Dec. 16, 1765. 5. Ephraim, b. Apr. 3, 1768. 
6. Aldbn, b. Sept. 11, 1770. 7. Adstin, b. Jan. 21, 1773. 

8. Lucy, b. Oct. 26, 1775. 

9. Thomas, b. Sept. 12, 1779. He was lieutenant, and d. in Nov., 1815. 



MANOAH DRURY, (Thomas, Thomas, John, Hugh), b. Dec. 30, 1746, 
m. Martha Sherman (S), b. Oct. 8, 1750. They rev. to Walpole, N. H. 
They had four sons and three daughters. The only one b. in this town 
was Elijah. 



SAMPSON DRURY, (Manoah, Thomas, John, Hugh), b. in Walpole, 
N. H., m. Ruth Sherman there. Children, 

1. LuciAN B., b. May 19, 1812, ra. Martha N. Drury and Mary G. Blake. 

2. Thomas J., b. Aug. 21, 1814,' m. Jane Morse. 

* Massachu$etts Spy. 



5-1 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 477 

3. Nancy, i. Amanda. 5. Sakah. 6. David. 7. Andrew. 
8. Percy A. 

LUCIEN B. DRURY, (Sampson, Mauoah, Thomas, Thomas, John, 
Hugh), b. May 19, 1812, m. 1837, Martha N. Drury, b. Dec. 13, 1812, d. 
July, 1845; m. 2nd, Aug., 1846, Mary G. Blake, b. Mar. 5, 1826. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Ephraim L., b. Mar. 15, 1838. Res. Worcester. 

2. Nathan B., b. Nov. 23, 1841. Res. Lynn, 
a. Luke T., b. Feb., 1843. 

4. Martha N., b. July, 1845, d. June 28, 1849. 

5. Edward B., b. Dec. 30, 1847. 

His three oldest boys served in the war of the late Rebellion. 



6-2 



THOMAS J. DRURY, (Sampson, Manoah, Thomas, Thomas, John, 
Hugh), b. Aug. 21, 1814, m. Feb. 7, 1841, Jane Morse, b. Feb. 10, 1822. 
Children, 

1. Adelia p., b. Dec. 11, 1841, m. George W. Howe. Res. Marlborough. 

2. Nancy J., b. May 5, 1844, unm. 

3. Helen A., b. Aug. 16, 1845, d. Dec. 30, 1846. 

4. Helen A., b. Apr. 28, 1848, m. Thomas H. Andrews, Kes. Marl- 
borough. 



GEORGE W. DRURY, of Boston, m. Oct. 21, 1827, Mahela S. Prentice. 

Children, 
1. George T., b. Dec. 29, 1832. 2. Emma S., b. Sept. 5, 1837. 
3. John H., b. Nov. 12, 1843. 



ELLIOT. 

AARON ELLIOT, (Aaron, Aaron, Joseph), b. Mar. 5, 1801, m. Maria 
Putnam, b. June 28, 1796. Children, 

1. Fkancb J., b. 1824, m. Minerva Warren. 

2. Maria A., b. 1826. 3. Marias M., b. 1826. 4. Stephen D., b. 1828. 
5. SoPHLi B., b. 1831. 6. Aaeon, b. 1833. 



JOSEPH ELLIOT, (Joseph, Joseph), b. in Sutton, Aug. 19, 1775, m. 
May 25, 1808, Polly Wheeler (W), b. June 17, 1787. They rev. to 
Leicester. He d. in this town, Jan. 3, 1860. She d. here, June 8, 1859. 
He was one of the earliest cotton and wool card manufacturers, and 
cotton manufacturers of the land, owning and running a cotton mill in 
Oxford, Mass. He resided at different times in Oakham, Oxford and 
Leicester. 



JOSEPH D. ELLIOT, (Joseph, Joseph, Joseph), b. July 27, 1809, ra. 
Mar. 16, 1840, R. Jane Bidwell, b. Apr. 16, 1811, d. Jan. 10, 1841; m. 
2nd, Nov. 29, 1849, Sarah M. Hey wood (H), b. Dec. 13, 1828, s. p. 

He was born in Oakham, and resided in Grafton from 1849 to 1872, 
when he removed to Newton. He was for many years a dentist, but in 
late years has been a manufacturer of cloth folding machine.s, and has 
taken out more than a dozen patents for various successful inventions. 



FARNUM. 

PETER FARNUM, (came from Uxbridge), b. 1765, m. Susannah Wads- 
worth (W). He d. May 6, 1832. Children, 



478 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

1. Paul, b. Doc. 7, 1788, m. Sally Wadsworth, Mrs. Mary D. Tiffany 
and Mary Staples. 

2. John, b. 1790, m. Elizabeth Davi.s. 

3. Elizabeth, b. 1793, m. Sylvanus Holbrook. 

4. David, b. 1796, m. Betsey Parkhurst. 

5. PisTEii, b. 1798, in. Louisa Nichols. 



PAUL FARNUM, (Peter\ b. Dec. 7, 1788, m. 1814, Sally Wadsworth 
(W), d. Apr. 9, 1829, in Boston; m. 2nd, Mrs. Mary D. Tiffany; m. 3rd, 
Mary Staples. He d. Oct. 18, 1859. 

He remained on his father's farm until he attained his majority, and 
for a year or more thereafter he undertook its entire management. 
During the embargo, previous to the war of 1812, in partnersliip with 
his father, he built a large woolen mill at Farnumsville, in Grafton 
township. His brother John was afterwards admitted to the Arm, 
which was known as " The Grafton Manufacturing Company." A large 
number of sailors, thrown out of employment by the embargo, were 
employed by the company, which secured for it good labor at very low 
wages. 

In 1814 he married Sally Wadsworth, by whom he had two children. 
She died shortly after the birth of the second child, a daughter, who 
bore her name. 

In 1823 he retired from the firm, and his brother Peter was admitted. 

Mr. Farnum removed to Grafton Centre, and in co-partnership with 
Samuel Wood and Joseph Batcheller, he engaged in mercantile pursuits. 
He was also largely interested in manufacturing at Fitchburg. 

In 1825 he removed to Boston, and for many years conducted a large 
commission business in company with Daniel Kimball. His health fail- 
ing, he retired, and about 1841-2 he made an extensive tour on horse- 
back through the Southern States. 

In the meantime he had again married. His second wife was Mva. 
Mary D. Tiffany, by whom he had one son. 

In 1844 he settled in Philadelphia, and for some years carried pn a 
large commission business there. Subsequently he retired from busi- 
ness, and located himself at Beverly, N. J., where he built and endowed 
the Farnum School. This school was afterwards transferred to the 
custody of the State, as a preparatory school, and is still flourish- 
ing. 

Mr. Farnum died at Beverly on the 18th day of October, A. D. 1859. 
His son, George W., was born in Grafton, Apr. 7, 1818. 



DAVID FARNUM, (Peter;, b. 1796, m. Betsey Parkhurst. He d. Feb. 

29, 1844. Children, 

1. Ithiel p., b. Feb. 20, 1825. 2. Elizabeth, b. Mar. 29, 1828. 



PETER FARNUM, (Peter), b. 1798, m. Louisa Nichols. They rev. to 
Philadelphia, Pa. Children, 

1. John W., b. Jan. 16, 1822, d. 1835. 2. Charles H., b. Jan. 19, 1825. 

3. Joseph Francis, b. Mar. 25, 1827, d. Mar. 28, 1832. 

4. James H., b. Oct. 31, 1829, d. Feb. 27, 1832. 



CALVIN FARNUM, m. Jan. 4, 1798, Mrs. Bathsheba Jewell. 



MOREY FARNUM, by wife Eveline, had children, 

1. Charles W., b. June 14, 1826. 2. George S., b. Jan. 16, 1828. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 479 

3. David G., b. Mar. 9, 1830. 4. Henry C, b. June 12, 1832. 
5. Daniel W., b. June 26, 1834. 6. Evelina J., b. Sept. 2, 1836. 
7. Sarah E., b. Apr. 26, 1838. 8. John D., b. Feb. 22, 1841. 
9. Mary A., b. Dec. 8, 1843. 



FAT. 

The Fays were not among the earliest settlers of New England. 
Though they have become somewhat numerous in the country, it is be- 
lieved that they mostly sprang from one common ancestor, viz., JOHN 
FAY, who was b. in England about 1648. He embarked May 30, 1656, at 
Gravesend, on board the Speedwell, Robert Locke, master, and arrived 
at Boston, June 27th. He d. in Marlborough. 



1 
2 

1-1 

2-3 
3 



JEDUTHAN FAY, m. Persis , b. 1753, d. July 11, 1843. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Silas, b. Sept. 16, 1773, m. Ruth Rice. 2. Annis S., b. Feb. 16, 1775. 
3. Antipas M., b. Dec. 14, 1778, m. Margaret . 



SILAS FAY, (Jeduthan), b. Sept. 16, 1773, m. Dec. 2j6, 1793, Ruth Rice. 

Children, 

1. Elias, b. Mar. 23, 1794. 2. Clarrecy, b. Mar. 5, 1800. 



ANTIPAS M. FAY, (Jonathan), b. Dec. 14, 1778, m. Margaret — 
He d. Sept. 25, 1839. Children, 

1 Benjamin W., b. Apr. 15, 1804, ra. Martha . 

2. Nancy M., b. June 2, 1805. 3. Eliza C, b. Mar. 13, 1807. 

4. Harriet L., b. Mar. 23, 1809. 

5. Charles J., b. July 21, 1811, m. Mar. 26, 1833, Irene E. Stow. 

6. Dexter M., b. Sept. 21, 1813. 7. Edward J., b. Jan. 13, 1816. 

8. Franklin L., b. Aug. 21, 1818. 

9. Margaret S., and 10, Martha M., twins, b. Oct. 22, 1824. 
11. George A., b. Feb. 16, 1828. 



3-1 



BENJAMIN W. FAY, (Antipas M., Jonathan), b. Apr. 15, 1804, m. 

Martha . Children, 

1. Jasper, b. June 26, 1834. 2. Jane, b. Oct. 16, 1837. 
3. Nancy, b. Nov. 4, 1839. 4. Martha, b. June 17, 1841. 
5. Sarah C, b. Jan. 14, 1843. 

JOEL FAY, m. Sept. 4, 1788, Anna Harrington, d. Mar. 13, 1798. Chil- 
dren, 
1. Anna, b. Nov. 7, 1789. 2. Maria, b. May 28, 1796. 



JOEL W. FAY, by wife Lucy D. , had, 

1. Lucy A., b. Oct. 7, 1829. 2. Elvira, b. Oct. 17, 1831. 

3. Albert E., b. Oct. 14, 1833. 4. William W., b. Apr. 30, 1836. 

5. Martha W., and 6, Lucy D., twins, b. May 7, 1838; the latter d. 

May 7, 1838. 
7. Ellen M., b. June 6, 1840. 8. Charles M., b. Apr. 16, 1844. 
9. Waldo L., b. Jan. 30, 1847. 



LOWELL FAY, by wife Emily, had, 

1. Elizabeth S., b. June 22, 1832. 2. Emily M., b. Dec. 27, 1833. 



4:80 HISTORY OP GEAFTON. 

3. Hannah I., h. Jan. 9, 1837. 4. Henry B.. b. Feb. 25, 1840. 
5. Aaron, b. Oct. 8, 1841. 6. Elbanor, b. Sept. 13, 1843. 



CHARLES H. FAY, by wife Lydia B. , had, 

1. Francbs M., b. Mar. 24, 1843. 



DAVID FAY, m. May 20, 1832, Harriet Pratt, b. 1806, dan. of Sylva- 
nus, d. 1843. Ch., 
1. Harriet, b. 1843. 



FISK, (Fiske and Fflsk). 

There was a considerable number of early emigrants of the name of 
Fisk, who settled in Massachusetts ; and there is good reason to sup- 
pose that they were all descendants of ROBERT and SYBIL (GOLD) 
FISK, who lived at Broad Gates, Loxfleld, near Fraulingham, County 
Suffolk, England. 



PETER FISK, m. Sarah Perry. Children, 

1. Petek, b. July 1, 1758, d. July 2, 1758. 2. Moses, b. June 11, 1760. 

8. Nathaniel, b. July 16, 1762. 4. Peter, b. Dec. 6, 1764. 

5. Sarah, b. Feb. 1, 1768. 



HORATIO FISK, by wife Susan, had, 

1. Sarah J., b. Nov. 1, 1833. 2. Mary S., b. Jan. 10, 1835. 

3. Harriet A., b. July 25, 1836. 4. Samuel J., b. Dec. 29, 1838. 

5. Susan E., and 6, Horatio E., twins, b. Dec. 29, 1841. 

7. William H., b. Oct. 18, 1843. 



JONATHAN S. FISKE, (David, of Shelburne), m. Mar. 5, 1838, 
Georgiana M. Keith (K), b. Aug. 19, 1803, d. Aug. 21, 1851. He d. Apr. 
9, 1872. Children, 

1. Sarah J., b. Dec. 22, 1833, m. Henry K. Southvvick, s. p. 

2. David L., b. July 19, 1840. 

3. Rebecca A. K., b. Jan. 15, 1843, m. Orlando J. Davis. Res. Upton. 

4. DoRiNDA L., b. Aug. 27, 1845, m. Charles H. Ballard. Res. East 
Charleraont, Mass. 



EBENEZER FISK, by wife Dorcas, had, 
1. John, b. Sept. 27, 1757. 



WILLIAM FISK, (lineage not ascertained), m. Jemima Adams, dau. of 
Obediah, of Mendon, 1737. Children, 

1. Jemima, m. Enoch Bateheller. 2. Lydia, m. Torrey. 

3. MARY,m. Lewis. 4. Rodah, m. Silas Forbush. 

5. Levi, m. Jane Taft. 6. Elisha, m. Betsey Forbush. 
7. HuLDAH, m. Daniel Fisk. 8. David, m. Sally Slowe. 



FLAGG. 

The oithography of this name has been adopted, it being the most 
prevalent, almost the universal usage, for the last few generations. 
There is, however, very little doubt but that it is erroneous, and that 
the correct orthography is Flegg. In the flrst place, the name Flagg is 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 481 

not found in Burke's Encyclopedia of Heraldry, which is a pretty good 
dictionary of well-known early English names, but Flegg is found there, 
with a coat of arms. 



THOMAS ELAGG, the ancestor, settled in Watertown, as early as 1643, 
and was probably the ancestor of all families bearing the name in this 
country. He was selectman in 1671, 74, 75, 76, 78. He lost his left 
eye by a gun-shot accident, previous to 1659. 



ELEAZER FLAGG, ( , Eleazer, Thomas), b. 1710, m. Huldah 

, (I. Dec. 16, 1753; m. 2nd, Dec. 8, 1763, Sarah Chandler, of Con- 
cord. Children, 
1. Huldah, b. Dec. 14, 1732. 2. Er.BAZER, b. Nov. 12, 1734. 

3. Simon, b. May 25, 1736, d. May 26, 1736. 

4. John, b. Aug. 2, 1737. 5. Maey, b. May 19, 1740. 

6. Samuel, b. Dec. 5, 1741, m. Lydia . 

7. Submit, b. Sept. 5, 1744. 



SAMUEL FLAGG, (Eleazer, , Eleazer, Thomas), b. Dec. 5, 1741, 

m. Lydia , d. Oct., 1824. 

He resided on the old Peter Hunt place, in Merriam District. He 
carried on the farm, and during the winter time he manufactured malt 
in large quantities, and thus acquired the sobriquet, " Malster Flagg." 
He d. Oct. 17, 1822. Children, 

1. Huldah, b. Sept. 15, 1770, d. Oct. 21, 1778. 

2. Samuel, b. Aug. 9, 1772, d. Nov. 7, 1778. 

3. Sally, b. Sept. 24, 1774, m. John Bennett, "the hatter." 

4. Abel, b. Apr. 16, 1776, d. Oct. 15, 1778. 

5. Jere.miah, b. Dec. 26, 1779, m. Lydia Drury and Mrs. Sally Brigham 
Kingsbury. 

6. Chandler, b. Jan. 1, 1782. He res. in Marblehead, where he became 
quite skilled and noted as a physician. 

7. BisNjAMiN, b. Apr. 25, 1784. He also, like his brother, was a noted 
physician, and died in Athens, Me., in 1816. 

8. Joseph, b. Dec. 2, 1786, m. Olivia Milliken. 



JEREMIAH B'LAGG, (Samuel, Eleazer, . Eleazer, Thomas), b. 

Dec. 26, 1779, m. Lydia Drury (D); m. 2nd, Mrs. Sally (Brigham) 
Kingsbury (B K), b. Sept. 12, 1780, d. Aug. 22, 1870. He d. Aug. 27, 1843. 
He res. here until after his first marriage, when he rev. to Boston, 
where he resided a short time, when he returned to Grafton and settled 
upon a portion of the farm which he and his brother inherited from 
their father. Children, 

1. Lydia D., b. Nov. 27, 1802, m. George W. Hale. 

2. Charles A., b. Nov. 25, 1804, rev. to Boston, where he died. 

3. Sarah A., b. Jan. 11, 1807, d. Jan. 16, 1832. 

4. Jeremiah, b. Nov. 3U, 1810, m. Eliza W. Turner. 

5. Samuel C, b. Oct. 19, 1819, d. May 25, 1841, 



JOSEPH FLAGG, (Samuel, Eleazer, , Eleazer, Thomas), b. Dec. 

2, 1786, m. Olivia Milliken. 

He came into possession of a portion of the farm, owned by his 
father, at his death. He occupied the old homestead. He d. Dec. 5, 
1841. Children, 

1. Benjamin L., b. July 12, 1822, d. Oct. 17, 1832. 
61 



482 HISTOEY OF GBAFTON. 

2. Maria O., b. Feb. 21, 1824, m. Peter Hunt (H). 

3. StrsAN Caroline, b. Oct. 23, 1826, m. Chester Forbush (F). 

4. Samuel Ben.iamin, b. Aug. 6, 1828, m. Anna B. AUcott. 

5. Jane A., b. Sept. 17, 1830, m. Krouse. 

6. Joseph C, b. June 15, 1832, m. Frances Bigelow. 



JEREMIAH FLAGG, (Jeremiah, Samuel, Eleazer, , Eleazer, 

Thomas), b. Nov. 30, 1810, m. Jan. 2, 1838, Eliza W. Turner. 

He res. on the old Dr. Grout place, on the old Upton Road. He is a 
cordwainer. Children, 

1. George E., b. Apr. 26, 1838. He is married, and res. in Boston. 

2. Chandler S., b. Jan. 28, 1844, unm. 

3. Charles A., b. Oct. 16, 1846. He is married, and res. in Boston. 

4. William T., b. July 25, 1848, unm., res. in Boston. 

5. Emma L., b. Mar. 21, 1856, m. Thomas J. Hasty, and res. in West- 
borough. 



Rev. SAMUEL BENJAMIN FLAGG, (Joseph, Samuel, Eleazer, , 

Eleazer, Thomas), b. Aug. 6, 1828, m. Dec, 1869, Anna B. AUcott. 

He was born in Merriam District, on the farm which was formerly 
owned by his great grandfather, Eleazer. He pursued his preparatory 
studies principally at Leicester and Warren Academies. In 1846 he 
entered Brown University, and was graduated in 1850. Soon after this 
he began the study of medicine, attending. lectures at Woodstock, Vt., 
Boston and Pittsfield, at which latter place he received a diploma. 
After practising his profession a short time in Boston, he began the 
study of theology at the Meadville Theological Institute, in Meadville, 
JPa. After going through the regular course, he ministered a few weeks 
to a society in Toledo, Ohio, and then went to Kalamazoo, Mich., where 
he was invited to remain and take charge of a new religious interest. 
Returning East, he was ordained in the Congregational Church in this 
town, Oct. 26, 1858, on the occasion of a meeting of the Worcester As- 
sociation of Ministers, with Rev. Wm. G. Scandlin, then pastor of the 
church. He returned to Kalamazoo, where a church and society were 
soon organized. Here he remained six years, and saw the society 
firmly established and at home in a house of worship of their own, and 
resigned his charge to return East in 1864. The following spring he 
was installed over the First Parish at Waltham, where he remained 
about three years ; then supplied the pulpit of the First Church in Sand- 
wich a year and a half; subsequently preaching in various places, till 
April, 1873, when he went to Bernardston, where he is now settled. 
Children, 
1. Charles A., b. 1871. 2. George Channing, b. 1873. 



ROBERT FLAGG, (lineage not ascertained, probably brother of 

Eleazer), by wife Miriam , had children, 

1. Sarah, b. June 13, 1737. 2. Esther, b. May 4, 1739, d. Feb. 17, 1740. 
3. David, b. Mar. 13, 1743. 4. Jonathan, b. Mar. 21, 1745. 

5. Nathan, b. Mar. 19, 1747, m. Mercy . 

6. Miriam, b. Aug. 20, 1752. 

7. Robert, b. June 12, 1755, m. Ann Batcheller. 



NATHAN FLAGG, (Robert), b. Mar. 19, 1747, m. Mercy . Chil- 
dren, 
1. Rachel, b. Apr. 4, 1776. 2. Esther, b. Mar. 17, 1777. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 483 

ROBERT FLAGG, (the town records say Robartus, probably an error 
of the town clerk's), (Robert), b. June 12, 1755, tn. Oct. 31, 1787, Ann 
Batcheller, b. 1764, d. Dec. 26, 1838. He d. Oct. 20, 1828. Children, 

I. Joel, b. June 7, 1788. 2. Sarah, b. Sept. 6, 1789, d. June 1, 1792. 
3. Hannah, b. Dec. 11, 1790, d. Oct., 1825. 

i. Anna, b. Dec. i, 1793, d. Mar., 1817. 

5. LuoY, b. June 10, 1792. 6. Robert W., b. Feb. 28, 1795. 

7. Elizabeth, b. Sept. 8, 179fi. 8. Joseph B., b. July 3, 1798. 

9. Jonathan, b. May 21, 1800. 

10. John, b. Aug. 25, 1802, d. Dec. 14, 1802. 

II. Mart Pierce, b. Sept. 20, 1804. 



NATHANIEL FLAGG, (probably brother of Robert and Eleazer), m. 
Elizabeth . Children, 

I. Hannah, b. Feb. 13, 1744. 2. Eleazer, b. Aug. 28, 1746. 
3. Lucy, b. Apr. 28, 1747. 4. Elizabeth, b. Sept. 8, 1748. 
5. Mary, b. Aug. 28, 1751. 6. Deborah, b. Sept. 2, 1754. 
7. Sarah, aud 8, Martha, twins, b. Apr. 5, 1756. 



SAMUEL C. FLAGG, (Aaron, Col. Benjamin, Capt. Benjamin, Benja- 
mlu, Thomas), b. Oct., 1813, m. Nov. 23, 1836, Elizabeth W. Merrlam 

(M). 

Mr. Flagg was born in Worcester, and came to New England Village 
in 1831. He resided with Jasper Putnam, of whom he learned his trade, 
and then went to Northborough, where he remained a short time, re- 
turning to New England Village. He resided here for twelve years. 
During a portion of this time he was employed by J. B. Kimball & Co., 
of Westborough. In 1846 he removed to the Centre, and entering into 
company with Lulie F. Allen, began the manufacture of shoes, which 
he continued until December, 1877, when he retired. He was represen- 
tative in 1854. Children, 

1. Ann E., b. Jan. 17, 1839, m. Edmund P. Capron. 

2. Caroline A., b. Mar. 5, 1843. 

3. Ida F., b. Dec, 1849, m. George R. Newton. 

4. Jennie C., b. Jan., 1857. 

Samuel 0. Flagg's grandfather was Col. Benjamin Flagg, of Worces- 
ter, b. Aug. 23, 1723 ; commanded the company of militia who marched 
with Col. Timothy Bigelow's company of Minute Men for Lexington, 
on the alarm, Apr. 19, 1775; afterwards colonel in the Revolutionary 
service; filled important town offices; d. in Worcester, Oct. 8, 1818, 
aged 95. Capt. Benjamin Flagg, the colonel's father, was the second 
sheriff of Worcester County, aud held the office at his decease. 



FLETCHER. 

(This name was originally written Pledger). Robert, the first emi- 
grant, settled in Concord in 1630, and d. Apr. 3, 1677. 



ELEAZER FLETCHER, (Samuel, Samuel, Robert), b. Apr. 19, 1704, 
m. Elizabeth Robbins; m. 2nd, Aug. 10, 1741, Mehitable Cutler; m. 3rd, 
Dec. 20, 1759, Martha Gould. He d. 1768. Children, 

1. Eleazer, b. 1735, m. Lucy Leland. 

2. Samuel, b. Sept. 30, 1744, m. Hazeltine, and rev. to Town- 
send, Vt. 



484: HISTORY OF GKAFTON. 

" No person occupied a higher position, or enjoyed a larger share of 
public confidence, than Samuel Fletcher." 
3. James, b. Jan. 17, 1747, m. Margaret Wood. 

He had other children b. elsewhere. 



ELEAZER FLETCHER, (Eleazer, Samuel, Samuel, Robert), b. 1735, 
m. Lucy Leland (L), d. 1814. He rev. to Sutton. Children, 

1. L"iDiA, b. 1761, m. Samuel Goldthwait. 

2. Tabitha, b. 1763, m. Emerson Hall. 

3. Ebenezer, b. 1765, m. Polly Goldthwait. 



EPHRAIM FLETCHER, (Ephraim, Timothy, Samuel, Francis, Robert), 
b. Nov. 23, 1767, in this town. He rev. to Newport, N. H., where he 
died in the house in -which he had resided for sixty years. He had ten 
children. 



TIMOTHY FLETCHER, by wife Hannah , had children, 

1. Hannah, b. Jan. 31, 1776. 2. Polly, b. Jan. 11, 1778. 



NOAH M. FLETCHER, (Joel), b. In Bradford, Vt, Dec. 25, 1810, m. 
May 25, 1840, Caroline E. Chickering, d. Feb. 21, 1846; m. 2nd, May 25, 
1850, Almina Greenwood, d. Mar. 18, 1857; m. 3rd, Aug. 18, 1859, Mary 
H. Gates, d. Dec. 2, 1875. Children, 

1. William C, b. Aug. 21, 1840, m. Feb., 1878, Hattie Allen. 

2. Mauy C, b. Nov. 25, 1841, m. Rev. Seth J; Axtell, Jr. (A). 

3. Chakles a., b. Aug. 16, 1842, d. Aug. 18, 1842. 

4. Noah, b. Feb. 21, 1846, d. Feb. 21, 1846. 



FORBUSH, (Furbush, Ffarrabas). 

This name, it is believed, does not appear on record in New England 
prior to 1681. In that year is found, on the Marlborough records, the 
name of Daniel Forbush and Deborah, his wife. Daniel Ffarrabas and 
Rebecca Peunitnan were m. at Cambridge, Mar. 26, 1660. He was prob- 
ably the father of Daniel, who m. Deborah . 



DAVID FORBUSH, (Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), b. in Westborough, 
Oct. 20, 1721, m. May 4, 1749, Annah Whitney. She was the daughter 
of Nathaniel and Mary Whitney, of Westborough, baptized Mar. 29, 
1730. She was sister to Eli Whitney, the inventor of the cotton gin. 
Died Jan. 4, 1785. Children, 

1. Annah, b. July 7, 1750, m. John Warren, and res. in Westborough. 

2. John, b. Dec. 20, 1751, d. Sept. 7, 1757. 

3. David, b. Apr. 18, 1754, m. Mar. 20, 1778, Deliverance Goodell, and 
rev. to Royalston. 

4. Jacob, b. Feb. 20, 1756, d. Mar. 3, 1756. 

5. Abigail, b. May 2, 1757, m. A. Brigham. Res. Shrewsbury. 

6. Lois, b. Sept. 27, 1759, d. unm. 

7. Jonathan, b. Feb. 22, 1762, m. Betsey Hayden. 

8. Jkmima, b. May 21, 1764, m. Sylvanus Morse. 

9. Silas, b. May 19, 1766, m. Rhodah Fisk. 

10. Joel, b. July 29, 1768, d. Sept. 20, 1776. 

11. Ruth, b. Nov. 15, 1770, d. young. 

12. Beulah, m. Silas Hardy. Res. Shelburn. 

13. Mary, b. Sept. 2, 1776, m. Daniel Leland. 




Silas FoRBUSH, Senior. 



Heliotype Printing Co., Boston. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 485 

JONATHAN rORBUSH, (David, Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), b. Feb. 

22, 1762, m. Betsey Hayden. Children, 

1. Sybil, m. Levi Leland. 2. Betsky, m. Moses Marsh. 

3. Eki, m. Sally McClellan, and rev. to Southborough. 

1. LoviNA, ni. Nathaniel Barnes. 5. Cynthia, m. Samuel Bigelow. 

6. LoRiNDA, d. unm. 



SILAS FORBUSH, (David, Thomas, Thomas. Daniel), b. May 19, 1766, 
m. Rhodah Fisk, b. 1767, d. Sept. 23, 1825. He d. July 5, 1840. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Prudence, b. Oct. 26, 1789, d. Apr. 13, 1865, unm. 

2. JoKL, b. Oct. 29, 1791, m. Ruth Fames. 

3. Rhoda, b. Oct. 20, 1793, m. Judson Southland, and rev. to James- 
town. N. Y. 

4. Silas, b. Nov. 17, 1795, m. Clarissa Fames. 

5. Nancy, b. Nov. 15, 1798, m. Nathaniel Smith (S). 

6. Jonathan, b. Mar. 10, 1802, in. Louisa Wood and Carrie Waters. He 
now res. iu Lancaster. 

7. Calvin W., b. Sept. 8, 1805, in. Flizabeth Fisk. 

8. Mary A., b. July 8, 1810, m. Leland Batcheller. 



JOEL FORBUSH, (Silas, David, Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), b. Oct. 29, 
1791, m. Feb. 9, 1815, Ruth Eames. Children, 

1. Joel Dexter, b. Jan. 16, 1816. Res. La Prairie, 111. 

2. CoRTis, b. Oct. 28, 1818, m. Rhoda Taft. 

3. Justin, b. Jan. 24, 1820, m. Rhoda A. Sears. 

4. William A., b. June 10, 1822, d. Mar. 23, 1826. 

5. Jane E., b. Oct. 27, 1824, m. Russell Collier. 



SILAS FORBUSH, (Silas, David, Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), b. Nov. 
17, 1795, m. Aug. 14, 1821, Clarissa Eames, b. Nov. 11, 1795, d. Sept. 
26, 1865. Children, 

1. Silas A., b. May 23, 1823, m. Julia A. Bullard. 

2. Jonathan Chester, b. July 14, 1826, m. Caroline Flagg. 



CALVIN W. FORBUSH, (Silas, David, Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), b. 
Sept. 8, 1805, m. Nov. 19, 1827, Elizabeth Fisk, dau. of Abijah, of Up- 
ton, b. Nov. 18, 1805. 

He resided with his father, on his farm on George Hill, until he was 
eighteen years of age, when he removed to Chaile.ston, S. C, and 
entered the employ of Forbusli & Green (Jonathan Fobush). Here he 
remained for two years. In 1825 he returned to Grafton, and for a short 
time was engaged in shoe manufacturing on George Hill. He sub.'ie- 
quently removed to Boston, where he remained for about seven years. 
In 1832 he again returned to Grafton, and purchased the Stun'l Wood 
house at the head of the common, in which he resided for twenty-five 
years. During this time he was engaged in manufacturing shoes, and 
a portion of the time was in company with Hon. Samuel Wood and 
Noah Kimball. He finally removed to Boston, where he now resides. 
Children, 

1. Elizabeth A., b. Aug. 20, 1828, m. Jonathan C. Warren (W). 
t2. Sarah W., b. July 24, 1831, m. Willard D. Wheeler (W). 

3. Calvin, b. Apr. 8, 1833, m. Eliza J. Gates. Res. Winona, Minn. 

4. William, b. Mar. 30, 1836, m. Gertrude Whitin. Res. N. Y. City. 

5. Harrison, b. Nov. 6, 1839, d. Nov. 8, 1869. 



486 HISTOET OF GEAFTON. 

6. HORACB, b. June 13, 1843, m. Adelaide Lines. Res. N. Y. City; In 
the employ of A. T. Stewart & Co. 



JUSTIN FORBUSH, (Joel, Silas, David, Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), b. 
Jan. 24, 1820, m. Nov. 27, 1849, Ehoda A. Sears, b. Feb. 27, 1827. He 
d. Nov. 4, 1859. 

" Dundee was thrown into no little excitement on Friday evening of 
last week, in consequence of a melancholy accident which befel Mr. 
Justin Forbush, of the firm of Forbush, Brown & Co., boot and shoe 
manufacturers, of Bufl'alo, N. Y. Mr. F., in attempting to get upon the 
cars as they were leaving the depot for the North, by some mishap was 
drawn in between the passenger car and the platform of the ft-eight 
house, where he was turned around some three times before the train 
could be stopped. The space between the platform and the car was 
only about five inches, and his injury was ot such a character that he 
survived only a little over two hours ftom.the time of the accident. He 
was conscious nearly the whole time, and bore his misfortune with un- 
common fortitude, not a murmur escaping his lips, or a frown over- 
shadowing his countenance. * * * jjjs wife, we learn, 
started for Massachusetts at the same time that Mr. F. started on his 
Western tour, and they were to meet there on Thanksgiving day. The 
meeting will take place sooner than anticipated, and under far different 
circumstances, the results of which meeting the readers can easily pic- 
ture for themselves." — Dundee, 111., Advocate, Nov. 12th, 1859. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Emma J., b. Dec. 28, 1854, gr. State Normal School at South Fram- 
ingham, in 1875. 

2. Susie C, b. Dec. 29, 1858, gr. State Normal School at Buflfalo, N. Y., 
1879. 



CURTIS FORBUSH, (Joel, Silas, David, Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), b. 
Oct. 28, 1818, m. Sept. 23, 1839, Rhoda Taft, b. 1816, d. March 17, 
1879. He d. May 12, 1876. Children, 

1. Elizabeth, b. Feb. 8, 1843, d. Feb. 8, 1843. 

2. William C. 

Captain Forbush was born on George Hill, on the 21st of May, 1845. 
He received his early education in the public schools of Grafton and 
Worcester, and the private school of Rev. M. C. Stebbins, in Lancas- 
ter, Mass. In 1859 he entered the High School at Worcester, Mass., 
graduating in 1863, with the intention of entering Yale College, at New 
Haven, Coun. 

From the time of his graduation at the High School till March, 1864, 
he was connected with the editorial department of the Worcester Daily 
Spy, when he received his appointment as a cadet to the United States 
Military Academy at West Point, N. Y., from the Eighth Congressional 
District of Massachusetts, the Hon. John D. Baldwin, of Worcester, 
Mass., being the Congressman from whom he received the nomination. 
He graduated on the 15th of June, 1868, and received his commission as 
second lieutenant in the Fifth United States Cavalry, reporting for duty 
with his regiment iu Kansas, then in the department of the Missouri, in 
the early part of October, same year, participating in the campaign 
against the Cheyenne Indians, under Roman Nose, and for gallantry in 
action with said Indians, on the 25th of October, 1868, at Chalk Bluffs, 
on Beaver Creek, Kansas, he was recommended by his commanding 
officer. Gen. E. A. Carr, now colonel of the Sixth United States Cavalry, 
to receive a commission of brevet first lieutenant. He also took part 




T^t^r^ ^Y^-^i 





//^^ 




z 






FORBUSH & BROWN'S BOOT AND SHOE 
MANUFACTORY. 



[FORMERLY HANCOCKS BLOCK.] 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 487 

in the engagement with hostile Cheyennes on Spring Creek, Nebraska, 
in May of the succeeding year. In the early part of July, 1869, he was 
appointed regimental adjutant of the Fifth Cavalry, a position which he 
retained for nearly eight years. 

On the 19th of March, 1870, he was appointed first lieutenant in the 
Fifth United States Cavalry, serving in the department of the Platte 
for three years, and the department of Arizona for four, being trans- 
ferred with his regiment to the department of the Missouri in 1875. In 
1876 he was with his regiment in the campaign against the hostile 
Sioux, under Sitting Bull, the regiment forming a part of the Big Horn 
and Yellowstone expedition, ■ under Gen. George Crook. He served 
here as acting assistant adjutant-general of the cavalry command, and 
finally as acting assistant adjutant-general of the expedition, which 
comprised twenty-five companies of cavalry, and ten companies of 
infantry, besides volunteers and Indian scouts. He was present in the 
afikir at Slim Buttes, Dacotah Territory, in September, 1876, in the en- 
counter with Sioux Indians. 

In October, same year, after the campaign was finished, he was 
stationed in St. Louis, Missouri, for two years, ou recruiting service, 
and on the first of May, 1879, was appointed captain in his old regi- 
ment, and is now stationed at Fort Washakie, Wyoming Territory. 
During the time he was on recruiting service in St. Louis — two years — 
he studied law at the St. Louis Law School. 



SILAS A. FORBUSH, (Silas, Silas, David, Thomas, Thomas, Daniel), 
b. May 23, 1823, m. Julia A. BuUard. 

He worked for his father, Silas Forbush, Jr., on his farm, until he 
became of age, when he removed to the Centre, and entered the employ 
of C. W. Forbush, his uncle. In 1856 he bought out the business, in 
company with Willard D. Wheeler. They manufactured in the same 
shop, and in the vestry of the Baptist Church, and also conducted the 
grocery store known as the " White Store." The co-partnership was 
dissolved in 18S1. In 1865 Forbush & Brown, of Buffalo, N. Y., pur- 
chased the building known as " Hancock Block," and immediately began 
the manufacture of boots and shoes. Mr. Forbush has had charge of 
the company's interest here since that time. Children, 

1. Silas A., b. Feb. 12, 1848, m. Hannah Schenck. 

2. Ida, b. Aug. 27, 1849, m. F. M. McGarry (graduated Antioch Col- 
lege, Ohio, 1872), one son. 



JONATHAN CHESTER FORBUSH, (Silas, Silas, David, Thomas, 
Thomas, Daniel), b. July 14, 1825, m. May, 1848, Caroline Flagg 
(F). 

He resided with his father on his farm, on George Hill, until he was 
twenty years of age, when he removed to the Centre, and entered the 
employ of C. W. Forbush, in his shoe manufactory. In the fall of 1852 
he formed a co-partnership with Nathaniel Brown, and began the manu- 
facture of boots and shoes in the " Old Arcade." In the spring of 1853 
they removed their business to Buffalo, N. Y., where he has since re- 
sided. In 1865 the company removed their manufactory to this town 
(their oflSce in Buffalo remaining as before), and purchased Hancock's 
Block. Children, 

i. Florbnck C, b. Mar. 14, 1854. 
2. Gkack C, b. July 25, 1873. 



488 HISTORY OF GEAITON. 

SILAS A. FORBUSH, Jr., (Silas A., Silas, Silas, David, Thomas, 
Thomas, Daniel), b. Fub. 12, 18-18, m. Feb. 17, 1873, Hannah Schenck, b. 
in Franklin, Ohio, Aug. 7, 1851. She is a relative of Hon. Robert C. 
Schenck, once prime minister to England. Ch., 
1. Chester S., b. Sept. 8, 1876. 



ENOCH FORBUSH, b. 1756, ra. Sept. 14, 1780, Mary Batcheller, d. 
Mar. 27, 1791 ; and m. 2nd, May 28, 1793, Mrs. Esther Hills. He d. Nov. 
16, 1825. Children, 

1. Joseph F., b. Dec. 4, 1795. 

2. Seneca, b. Sept. 9, 1797. 

3. DiADAMA, b. Oct. 24, 1798, m. Antipas Wheeler. 

4. Stephen, d. Sept. 20, 1798. 



SAMUEL FORBUSH, m. Oct. 18, 1795, Sally Nichols. 



GODDARD. 

WILLIAM GODDARD, a citizen and grocer, of London (seventh son 
of Edward and Doyley God^ard, a wealthy farmer of Norfolk), m. 
Elizabeth, daughter of Benjamin Miles. He came to America in 1665, and 
his wife and three surviving sous came the next year. They settled in 
Watertowu. 



BENJAMIN GODDARD, (Benjamin, William), b. 1705, m. in Cam- 
bridge, Deo. 9, 1731, Mary Kidder, d. Apr. 4, 1792. He d. Dec. 9, 
1759. He was a housewright by trade. Children, 

1. Elizabeth, b. Oct. 31, 1732, d. Jan. 12, 1733. 

2. Elizabeth, b. Nov. 1, 1733, m. Benjamin Goddard, and rev. to Peter- 
sham. 

3. Josiah, b. Sept. 14, 1735, m. Huldah Batcheller, of Sutton. 

4. Benjamin, b. Nov. 15, 1737, m. Mary Flagg. 

5. Nathaniel, b. Mar. 17, 1738. He m. and rev. tfi Conway. 

6. Jambs, b. Apr. 24, 1740. He rev. to Athol. 

7. Samuel, b. Dec. 27, 1742. He rev. to Sutton, and then to Eoyalston. 

8. Mary, b. June 7, 1746, ni. Thomas Griggs, of Sutton. 

9. Hannah, b. Aug. 25, 1749, m." Josiah Chase, of Sutton, and rev. to 
Worcester, N. Y. 



JOSIAH GODDARD, (Benjamin, Benjamin, William), b. Sept. 14, 
1736, m. Mar. 5, 1761, Huldah Batcheller, b. May 1, 1741, d. Feb. 9, 1792. 
He d. Feb. 12, 1784. Children, 

1. Anna, b. Feb. 23, 1762, m. Joel Goddard, of Petersham. 

2. Asahbl, b. Feb. 10, 1764, d. May, 1776. 

3. Joseph, b. Jan. 30, 1766, m. 1796, Susanna Sherman; and m. 2nd, 
Thankful Hersey. 

4. Josiah, b. May 11, 1768, m. Elizabeth Tobey. 

5. Pbkley-. b. Aug. 28, 1770, ra. Lucy Harrington and Widow Chase, of 
Barre. 

6. Benjamin, b. Oct. 11. 1772, d. Feb. 1, 1791. 

7. Huldah, b. Oct. 29, 1777. 

8. Polly, b. June 80, 1782, m. Asa Wheeler, of Leicester. 



BENJAMIN GODDARD, (Benjamin, Benjamin, William), b. Nov. 16, 
1737, m. Dec. 8, 1763, Mary Flagg (F), b. Mar. 30, 1740. He d. Mar. 11, 
1816. 




'C^t^i.^^^ 



'^y)-c:^x:l-/:,y^-^ 



Heliotype Printing Co., Boston. 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 489 

He was a justice of the peace for Worcester County for twenty-flve 
years, from 1789 to 1814. He was town clerk here eighteen years, from 
1776 to 1793. Children, 

1. Elizabeth, b. Nov., 1764, d. 

2. HuLDAH, b. Nov., 1767, d. Jan., 1790. 

3. Abel, b. Jan 28, 1771, d. Mar., 1775. 

4. Mary, b. Oct. 20, 1776, m. Levi Goddard. 

6. Sally, b. Aug. 16, 1777, m. Stephen Hoibrook (H). 



Rev. JOSIAH GODDARD, (Josiah, Benjamin, Benjamin, William), b. 
May 11, 1768, m. Aug. 19, 1796, Elizabeth Tobey, b. May 22, 1772. He 
res. in this town until 1801, then moved to Conway, and in 1814 to 
York, N. Y. 

He was a Baptist clergyman. He published in 1798, in Conwav, a 
work of 400 pa^es, entitled "A New and Beautiful Collection of Select 
Hymns and Spiritual Songs." 



PERLEY GODDARD, (Josiah, Benjamin, Benjamin, William), b. Aug. 
28, 1770, m. Nov. 8, 1795, Lucy Harrington (H), b. July 13, 1773, d. sud- 
denly in a fit of apoplexy, Dec. 14, 1815 ; m. 2nd, 1818, Widow Priscilla 
Chase, of Barre, who d. 1867. He d. 1856. Children, 

1. Polly, b. Aug. 3, 1796, d. Nov. 13, 1798. 

2. Lucy H., b. Sept. 16, 1798, m. Vernon Stiles, and rev. to Thomp- 
son, Conn. 

3. Charles, b. Nov. 5, 1800, m, Susan Heald. 

4. Nancy, b. May 5, 1804, m. Henry Mills, of Millbnry. 

5. Mary P., b. June 3, 1812, m. Rev. Silas Bailey, D. D., LL. D. 

He died in Paris, France, June 11, 1874, where he was buried. He 
was born in Sterling, Mass., and was for some time principal of the 
Worcester Academy, and afterwards president of Denison University, 
and of Franklin College. Subsequently he was professor of theology, 
at Kalamazoo, Mich. He was an able man, and made his influence 
strongly felt in educational interests. 

She was a rare woman. At her death she had become endeared to a 
wide circle of friends in LaFayette, Ind., where she had resided some 
time. She died Feb. 23, 1873. 



CHARLES GODDARD, (Perley, Josiah, Benjamin, Benjamin, William), 
b. Nov. 5, 1800, m. Dec. 2, 1824, Susan Heald, b. Apr. 5, 1804. He d. 
July 14, 1865. Children, 

1. Susan A., b. Jan. 20, 1826, d. Aug. 27, 1828. 

2. Josiah, b. Aug. 14. 1827, d. Sept. 10, 1828. 

3. Esther, b. Nov. 26, 1828, m. George Benson. Res. Northbridge. 

4. Charles, b. July 31, 1830, m. Sarah Moore. Res. Westborough. 

5. Lucy, b. Dec. 17, 1832, d. May 20, 1849. 

6. Perley, b. Aug. 6, 1834, m. Ellen A. Dudley. 

7. Josiah A., b. Sent. 20, 1836, m. Susan M. Pratt and Leona W. Fisk. 

8. Harriet B., b. Nov. 3, 1838. 9. John H.. b. Sept. 20, 1842. 



LEVI GODDARD, (Edward, Hon. Edward, William), b. July 25, 1772, 
m. May 16, 1799, Mary Goddard (1—2=4). Children, 

1. Benjamin, b. Mar. 14, 1800. 

2. Sally, b. Nov. 29, 1801, m. John H. Merriam (M). 

3. JoHnF., b. Dec, 1803, rev. to Brookfleld. 
62 



4:90 HISTOET OF GEAFTOlir. 

4. HuLDAH C, b. May 1, 1805, in. Charles I. Warren (W). 
B. Levi, b. May 2, 1807. 

6. Mart E., b. Apr. 10, 1809, m. Hollis Chamberlln. 

7. Louisa, b. Apr. 10, 1811. 8. Claeinda, b. Feb. 24, 1813. 
9. Maetha E., b. July 4, 1817. 10. Susan Z., b. Oct. 3, 1820. 



JOSIAH A. GODDAED, (Charles, Perley, Josiah, Benjamin, Benjamin, 
William), b. Sept. 20, 1836, m. Apr. 3, 18fi2, Susan M. Pratt, b. Sept. 6, 
1836, d. Dec, 1863; m. 2nd, Apr. 3, 1865, Leona W. Fisk, b. Jan. 31, 
1842. Deacon of the Baptist Church, and an extensive farmer. Chil- 
dren, 

1. Makia a., b. Feb. 10, 1866. 2. Silas B., b. Feb. 2, 1868. 

3. Arthur F., b. Aug. 26, 1869. 4. Hkebeet A., b. Mar. 24, 1871. 

5. Albkrt H., b. Mar. 21, 1875. 



PERLEY GODDAHD, (Charles, Perlev, Josiah, Benjamin, Btnjnmin, 
William), b. Aug. 6, 1834, m. Feb. 28, 1864, Ellen A. Dudley, b. Feb. 
28, 1838. 

He served in a Grafton company during the war of the late Rebellion, 
and is now an extensive farmer, residing on and owning the " Hassa- 
namisco Farm." Children, 

1. Emma J., b. Dec. 21, 1864. 2. Nellik A., b. Oct. 28, 1866. 
3. Joseph D., b. Apr. 28, 1868. 4. Lillie M., b. Mar. 14, 1870. 
5. Edwin P., b. Feb. 27, 1872. 6. Ella F., b. Nov. 4, 1874. 
7. Brigham L., b. Dec. 30, 1878. 



GOODALE. 

ROBERT GOODALE embarked at Ipswich, Ensland, with Katherine, 
his wife, April, 1684. He was b. 1603, She was'b. 1605. 



JOSEPH GOODALE, by wife Elizabeth, had, 

1. Joseph, b. June 18, 1735. 2. Elizabeth, b. Dec. 21, 1736. 
3. AzuBAH, b. Apr. 22, 1738, m. 17G5, William Thomas, Jr. Ch., 

Bohert B. Thomas, b. Apr. 24, 1766. 

William Thomas, Sr., was a native of Wales, England, and bom 
there of an opulent family, and received a liberal education at ChrLst's 
College, Cambridge. It seems he emigrated to this country somewhere 
about the year 1718. Tradition says he, with other brothers, came first 
to Stonlngton, Conn. It is well known that he came to Marlborough, 
Mass., sometime about the year 1720, and married Lydia Eager, a 
daughter of a respectable farmer of Shrew.sbury, and resided in Marl- 
borough until he died, in 1733; two years after which, in 1735, his wife 
died. He had two sons and four daughters. The eldest, William, Jr., 
was bom in Marlborough, in March, 1725. After his mother's death he 
went to Shrewsbury to live with his grandmother Eager, where, and at 
Jonas Morse's, in Marlborough, he resided some years. He attended 
the town school in the winter,' the limited time it kept. Being of a 
studious turn of mind, and fond of reading, he purchased many books, 
and soon became quite a scholar for tho.«e days. In the year 174+ he 
began keeping school in Brookfield, at the age of nineteen years, which 
he followed winters, more or less, for upward of forty years. The 
same year began in Haidwick, being the first schoolmaster of the 
town. In April, 1747, he left this country for England, to obtain a 



FAMILY GENEALOGIES. 491 

patrimony, justly belonging to his fatlier, in Wales. And on the 8th of 
May, in going north was taken by a French privateer out of Dnn- 
Jtirk, and stripped of all. Afterwards was ransomed, and arrived at 
Boston in October. In August, 1749, he made another voyage to 
London, where he staid some time, and visited Wales, with the expec- 
tation of obtaining his right of inheritance, but was unsuccessful, on 
account of the lapse of time since his father left Wales. During the 
next fourteen years he received a lieutenant's commission in the army; 
not pleased With a soldier's life he left the army, and followed his former 
vocation- at intervals, of school-keeping, and as an assistant in a store, 
and finally went into a small way of trade himself, until the year 1764, 
when he bought a small farm situated in the North Parish of Shrews- 
bury. In 1765 he married Azubah Goodale, daughter of Joseph 
Goodale, born April 22, 1738. 

Her father was a respectable farmer of Grafton, at whose house 
Robert B. was born.* He removed with his parents, while quite young, 
from Grafton to the farm in Shrewsbury North Parish, now West 
Boylston. The farm was situated in that district then locally known by 
the name of Shrewsbury leg.f He resided in four incorporated towns, 
and two distinct parishes, and one precinct, yet never moved from tlie 
same farm. His mother died in 1781. He studied arithmetic under the 
inspection of his father, who was well versed in this science. In 1786 
he taught school in Grafton, in the Fairbank District, so called; subse- 
quently returning to his father's, he worked on his farm. He attended 
school in Boston, In Merchants' Row, and while here he made all the 
calculations for an almanac for the year 1793, being his first number. 
This almanac has been published since this time by him, until his 
death. Charles L. Flint, Esq., of Boston, secretary of the State Board 
of Agriculture, Is the present editor and compiler. 

4- John, b. Feb. 9, 1740. 5. Thankful, b. Sept. 12, 1741. 
6. Solomon, b. Aug. 11, 1743. 7. Sabah, b. Oct. 28, 1745. 

8. Mary, b. Jan. 13, 1747, m. Jonathan Pierce (P). 

9. Timothy, b. Sept. 24, 1749. 10. Nathan, b. May 7, 1751. 
11. Hannah, b. Mar. 25, 1753. 



SAMUEL GOODALE, m. July 25, 1734, Thankful Robbins. 



GOULDING. 

This is an English name, and pronounced Goolding in distinction 
from Goiding, a name common to the Celtic Irish. It was originally 
local, and borrowed from Goulding on the borders of Wales, anciently 
Gouldingham, derived from goal (a bound), and ham (a hamlet or 
town), but relieved of the last syllable before the first publication of a 
catalogue of English towns. 



PETER GOULDING was of Boston, in 1665. He acted as an attorney 
in the Court of Sessions. He was prosecuted and fined for charges 



* See Thomas Old Farmer's Almanac, 1833 and '34. 

t This strip of land was united to Lancaster Second Parish, by an act of 
incorporation, February, 1768. In 1781 tliis parish was incorporated into a 
town, by the name of Sterling. In 1796 certain inhabitants of Boylston, 
Sterling"and Holden, formed themsilves together into a precinct, and in 1808 
they obtained an act of incorporation by the name of West Boylston. 



4:92 HISTOET OP GEAFTON. 

that -he had dirnlged against the Court and clerk of Suffolk County. 
The occurrence not improbably disgusted him into a resolve to remove 
from Boston. A second attempt to settle Quinsigamond (Worcester), 
was undertaken In 1683. Besides his town right, which he purchased of 
Thomas Hall, he owned 3,020 acres in Hassanamesit, which were 
valued at only £4. In 1694, when the settlement of Worcester was 
broken up, he removed to Sudbury, and died there in 1703. 



Col. JOHN GOULDING, (Capt. Palmer, Peter), b. Oct. 3, 1726, ra. 
Feb. 22, 1753, Lucy Brooks, of Concord, b. Sept. 30, 1733, d. Nov. 22, 
1771. He d. Nov. 22, 1791. 

Col. John Gonlding was the son of Capt. Palmer Goulding, originally 
of Sudbury, and afteiwards a prominent citizen of Worcoster, and the 
grandson of Peter Goulding. The latter is the earliest lineal ancestor 
who can be certainly traced. Peter Goulding and his sou Palniei' were 
men of strong chaiacter, and evidently took a conspicuous part in the 
communities in which they lived. The name occurs fiequently in the 
annals of the colonies, and is not without some distinction in Engli.ih 
history. The death of Captain Goulding, commander of the ship 
Diamond, on board which he was killed April 10th, 1665, in a victorious 
engagement with the Dutch, qualified the joy felt at the victory in the 
frivolous court of Charles the Second, (apt. Koger Goulding, of 
Rhode Island, master of a vessel, rendered such eminent services in 
Philip's war as to receive recognition and substantial reward from the 
authorities of Plymouth Colony. 

In 1665, William Goulding, with others, purchased of the representa- 
tive of James, Duke of York, a large part of the territory now com- 
prising the State of New Jersey. 

Capt. Palmer Goulding, the father of the founder of the Grafton 
family, commanded a company from Worcester County at the capture 
of Louisburg, in 1745. 

Col. John Goulding was born October 3, 1726. He engaged in the 
business of tanning, which his father prosecuted extensively at Worces- 
ter. In early lite he settled in the northeasterly part of Grafton, in the 
midst of a wilderness, and there cleared up and cultivated the farm 
which his descendants occupied down to the present generation. He 
established a tannery th